Skip to content

How does this end?

July 8, 2016

I was sitting here listening to NFL great Ben Watson talk tonight. He said something so simple yet so profound it staggered me.

He was referencing earlier guests and their ‘bickering’ back and forth when he said:

“Nobody was actually listening to the other”.

BOOM! Our news cycle is now 24/7 365 opinions. Right, left, extremist, conservative, liberal, racist and so on. Everyone has an opinion yet the next time I hear someone offer a solution it will be the first.

I’ve said it a few times before and I will say it again. I have NO IDEA what it means to be a man of color, a young black man growing up in this country. I have no idea of the hurdles, I have no idea of the fear of police officers that I’ve been told every black man is inherently born with. I don’t now, and I never will.

None of that means I don’t or cannot empathize. I have, and I do. None of that means it cannot begin to get better, or change for the positive. It’s about how badly we as a nation want “Life Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness” to be real.

Now what?

For every person I see stood up by a minority movement as persecuted or oppressed I now see someone else with a “Kill pigs” slogan of some sort.

Why, if I am not supposed to believe all black teenagers are Crips or Bloods, is it ok for you to say all cops are racist? Does that include the Black officers? Latino? Chinese? Japanese? Or is it just the white ones?

Why can I see strong successful black men like Dr Ben Carson, Col Allan West, Sheriff David A Clarke, Herman Cain, and so many others sit in front of a camera and talk about ways other than violence, to move this nation forward? Men who came from abject poverty, rose above all this and became people who changed the world?

Then I can turn on any social media site and see citizens of this nation tweet the most despicable racist commentary possible.

“Nobody is actually listening to the other”

It’s true, so very true. So in my little corner of the world I’d love to hear ANYONE offer a step forward. A legitimate step forward for all of us to make.

No racist bullshit, but honest to God thoughts about how on earth we move past this, and begin picking up the pieces?

“Hold cops accountable” isn’t an answer. That’s not a solution that’s an idea. Our justice system attempts to do this for the most part but there are cracks, like anything else there’s flaws and holes. The problem is they make up 1% of the total, but 99% of the news cycle.

But what can we physically do?

Our officers need to know that even if this administration doesn’t have their backs, most of us law abiding citizens do.

And somehow, some way, we need to bridge a gap between local citizens and their officers.

Is it a meeting? Is it a “town hall” with leadership voices, NOT POLITICIANS, screw them, they are a big reason why we are here. No frauds like Sharpton, Jackson, Pelosi, McConnell, Reid, or any of the ones who’ve helped us get to this chasm we’re perched on the edge of.

Televised? No print media, they’re another big reason why we are here. It’s 2016, “We the  People” can do far more now than we ever thought possible when it comes to social issues.

5 families kissed their dads goodbye before work Thursday, and they’ll never see their fathers/husbands again. These men had nothing to do with the events in Minnesota, Louisiana, but they paid for it. All while protecting “Black Lives Matter” protesters.

Ideas? Real tangible legitimate ideas? Anyone?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2016 11:19 am

    I saw rappers like Snoop on the news giving vocal support to police. I saw people of all colors giving hugs to Dallas police. These aren’t solutions, but they are something… A beginning to the end of needless hate and violence.

  2. Tom Carey permalink
    July 11, 2016 5:23 pm

    Thanks Schill.

    Date: Sat, 9 Jul 2016 02:39:06 +0000 To: tom-carey@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

