Skip to content

Update from Schilling farms

September 5, 2015

The girls are all growing.

This past month saw some down times. I lost a 2nd Frenchie, and I am unsure how. I know she’d started to lay, and done so outside the confines. I found her 5 eggs but no bantam, a few days ago. I am praying she finds her way back but I am pretty sure something around her got to her given her personality and closeness with her two sisters.

I also had to send Chibbs (Jersey Giant) and Dan (White crested black polish) to a new home.

I have too many roosters, and they are all starting to ‘talk’. Only fair to them to get them to a place they can roam and find new ladies. Still sucks.

But the town is coming along, geese and ducks are growing. Here’s some photos from the last few weeks.

 

Wee Wee and Bonjour

Wee Wee and Bonjour

IMG_3858 IMG_3859 IMG_3861 IMG_3798 IMG_3800 IMG_3803 IMG_3804 IMG_3811 IMG_3814 IMG_3815 IMG_3817 IMG_3823 IMG_3824 IMG_3827 IMG_3829 IMG_3832 IMG_3833 IMG_3834 IMG_3835 IMG_3840 IMG_3841 IMG_3842 IMG_3844 IMG_3847 IMG_3849 IMG_3851 IMG_3852 IMG_3854 IMG_3855 IMG_3856

IMG_3777 IMG_3613 IMG_3615 IMG_3619 IMG_3623 IMG_3638 IMG_3644 IMG_3645 IMG_3646 IMG_3650 IMG_3654 IMG_3656 IMG_3657 IMG_3658 IMG_3661 IMG_3662 IMG_3666 IMG_3687 IMG_3689 IMG_3693 IMG_3780

IMG_4035a IMG_4039a IMG_3991 IMG_4008 IMG_4040a IMG_4011 IMG_4024 IMG_3942 IMG_3944 IMG_3948 IMG_4130 IMG_4128

These next 5 are all from the young pen, these gals, and some guys, need a few more months I think before I join them

These next 5 are all from the young pen, these gals, and some guys, need a few more months I think before I join them

IMG_3962 IMG_3965 IMG_3966 IMG_3967 IMG_3957 IMG_3958

 

 

Next up, thought I’d mix in some personal things. I’m trying to grow sunflowers, and here’a collection of pics from what I have been able to do this year.

IMG_3702

 

And here’s a pic at my, and let me be VERY clear on this, WORLD WAR II Collection. That’s what it is, what is has been, and what it always will be.

Grandpa Lyndsey hit the beach with the 29th and was wounded on D-Day. He made this charcoal self image as he lay on his stomach for almost 2 months in the hospital

 

Nothing needs to be added

Nothing needs to be added

 

 

German TNT vehicle. This was remote controlled, packed with explosives and a cord ran out the back on a spool. It was sent up to fortifications or into minefields, creating an MASSIVE explosion to clear the obstacle or the mines.

German TNT vehicle. This was remote controlled, packed with explosives and a cord ran out the back on a spool. It was sent up to fortifications or into minefields, creating an MASSIVE explosion to clear the obstacle or the mines.

 

US 3rd Armored Division

 

This is a snipers hood to a camo outfit. That's Garrison "under the hood"

This is a snipers hood to a camo outfit. That’s Garrison “under the hood”

Japanese Order of the Rising Sun

Waffen SS Camo parka

Waffen SS Camo parka

This document was submitted as a recommendation for one of the largest war criminals inside a German combat unit. Jochim Peiper was recommended for the Diamonds to his Oak Leaves on the Knights Cross. The hows and why are spelled out in this document, which bears some amazing signatures.

This document was submitted as a recommendation for one of the largest war criminals inside a German combat unit. Jochim Peiper was recommended for the Diamonds to his Oak Leaves on the Knights Cross. The hows and why are spelled out in this document, which bears some amazing signatures.

Division Pennant from the 21st when they were serving Rommel and the Afrika Corps They were completely wiped out, rest and refitted with a ton of older German and French armor and attacked the British 6th Airborne at Pegasus Bridge on D-Day and D+1.

Division Pennant from the 21st when they were serving Rommel and the Afrika Corps
They were completely wiped out, rest and refitted with a ton of older German and French armor and attacked the British 6th Airborne at Pegasus Bridge on D-Day and D+1.

IMG_0063

Crete Campaign (top) Afrika Corps Fallshirm Jager Rgt. Marinehelerin (Navy I am assuming)

Crete Campaign (top)
Afrika Corps
Fallshirm Jager Rgt.
Marinehelerin (Navy I am assuming)

British home guard air viewer, Russian Maxim rounds case.

British home guard air viewer, Russian Maxim rounds case.

The "New" Panther enters the war with a few other new behemoths, at Kursk, the largest tank battle in history. The Germans suffer HUGE losses, many armor units losing more than 50% of their armor to breakdown alone. Vehicles never even enter the battle. This was the death knell, the war was 'over' after this battle ended, the Germans just didn't know it yet.

The “New” Panther enters the war with a few other new behemoths, at Kursk, the largest tank battle in history.
The Germans suffer HUGE losses, many armor units losing more than 50% of their armor to breakdown alone. Vehicles never even enter the battle. This was the death knell, the war was ‘over’ after this battle ended, the Germans just didn’t know it yet.

Amazing artist Brian Fox has done so many great works. This is my favorite, catching Winters still leading Easy through Normandy. It's signed too.

Amazing artist Brian Fox has done so many great works.
This is my favorite, catching Winters still leading Easy through Normandy. It’s signed too.

Major Winters prepares to lead Easy out of their C-47 under insane FlaK That's Winters in the door. This painting was signed by all the living members of Easy some 15 years ago.

Major Winters prepares to lead Easy out of their C-47 under insane FlaK
That’s Winters in the door. This painting was signed by all the living members of Easy some 15 years ago.

A treasured gift from the brave soldiers that were in this epic battle, and survived.

A treasured gift from the brave soldiers that were in this epic battle, and survived.



2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2015 12:37 am

    Looking good, Curt

  2. empirelady permalink
    September 9, 2015 2:58 pm

    Curt,
    Wow! Thank you so much for sharing the mementos of World War 2 and for keeping the memories alive,never to be forgotten. Many young people do not know enough about it(at age 55 I am not young,so I do know about it) and I think it is great that you are keeping what happened in the forefront.
    As I know you are very much military oriented,I will just add one personal note. My father was in the Korean War,drafted because instead of being in college one day,he instead went to a baseball game(long story that I think you would enjoy but will not bother you with it on this post-email me if you want to hear the rest). Sadly,my father unexpectedly died this past October. He was not buried at a military cemetery but we did have the honor guard at the cemetery,which was extremely moving(they saluted the casket the minute it arrived,even before it was out of the hearse,they presented my mother with the flag,etc)and the certificate that we received signed by the president,thanking my father for his service to his country(the family of anyone who served in the military can request it and get it,as my family did-were given 4 for each member of the remaining family)was so moving,and deeply touched me beyond words. I am still hurting,am in more emotional pain than I thought possible over my father’s death(I know that you felt the same way when your father died,so if anyone understands,I know that you do)but having you keep mention the people who served in the military and show things that happened gives me a connection that helps me. So I thank you very much for that as well.
    I hope that you are doing well physically-are you?-and I look forward to many more of your posts. You are welcome here in New York City anytime.
    Best Wishes,
    Donna Blanc
    empirelady87@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

