Skip to content

Life rolls along

June 12, 2015

To say I’ve been blessed could be the understatement of the century. I am at an amazing place in life. My only daughter just graduated (not ready for that one..) my oldest son is at Ron Woolforth’s camp in Texas, two younger boys are here doing their thing and Shonda and I are doing different things together which has been fun.

See her and I move at 2 different speeds. I go light speed, she goes the speed limit, sometimes slower (metaphorically speaking of course. She’s always taken real life speed limit signs as suggestions rather than law).

So when she mentioned late last year that she thought it might be cool to get the kids chickens for christmas, one for each, and one for us. So she’s talking six, and I am picturing the poultry warehouse for KFC (speed limit vs light speed).

I managed to make her idea of six turn into more through my strong power of persuasion. “Come on honey, they’re flock animals, you can’t seriously expect less than a dozen to survive ‘alone’ can you?”

She fell for it/didn’t listen/didn’t care/or maybe I whispered the suggestion, but however it came to be that flock of 6 is now 24 in the coop, and a number more in the baby brooder.

We haven’t gotten here without some sad days, bumps in the road and cuts, bruises, bites and aches.

The idea was to start at the beginning and bring anyone reading up to speed on how I got here, and where I am. Maybe even where I am headed.

I’ll likely sprinkle in other stuff just to keep the flow and hopefully interest going.

A few words of thanks first. The guys at Bay State Structures were awesome. They built this:

A great looking and structurally awesome coop with a small enclosed run…
IMG_0282IMG_1088 IMG_1089IMG_1098IMG_1090 As well as a cool looking storage shed (A)

I also want to mention 2 important, well 3 important folks in addition to my wife and kids.

First off, the Chicken Lady, Gretchen. Gretchen works here and this is where it all began months ago! Gretchen is my chicken lady and advisor.

Her hubby Steve? He’s responsible for a ton of post coop work. He’s got a carpenters gift and I am sincerely appreciative of everything he’s helped to get done!

And last, but certainly not least! There’s the “Chicken Chick” Kathy Shea Mormino!  Kathy has the best website I’ve ever seen on raising Chickens for any reason. When you see my photos starting tomorrow you will see her influence around the coop and amongst the ladies.

Will post more later, until then here’s a sneak peak at one of the girls before they are introduced!

IMG_2214

Anyone new to this want to guess why this Chicken presents a problem in a coop with ALL laying hens?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kathy, The Chicken Chick® permalink
    June 12, 2015 8:11 am

    I love that you mastered “chicken math” before you even got your first chickens, Curt! LOL! Looking forward to tomorrow’s article!

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

