Skip to content

Quite possibly the most epic win in internet history.

March 4, 2015

My 15 year old son is on the spectrum of autism.

Can we just change that word from Autism to world changing brilliance?

I am unsure of any way I could be more proud of any of my kids, ever.

He just put this on his FB page…

**********

I explored every social media site I possibly could to see if anyone could have any possible portrayal of what happened to my sister ( Gabriella Schilling ) that made her or my father ( Curt Schilling ) like the bad guy. Oh god how wrong i was, i wanted to see if anyone had the audacity to defend these trolls but no, for every single post about what happened with my father about stupid religious rants or his apparent “whining” ? About the hall of fame, there were so many posts that spoke about how he acted as though a father should.

If I ever saw a post that tried to defend them it was shut down almost IMMEDIATELY by those who clearly had more information and research about the topic rather than the air-headed kid acting like some higher authority and saying how wrong my father reacted. Never really have i seen so MANY people agree with my father and no matter who it was, White, Black, Jewish, Christian, Athiest, Yankee fan, Red Sox fan, 15 year old to 30 year old! I was so amazed with how much unity can amount when everyone realizes what really is important. Keeping family safe and sound when someone thinks they can just have their ‘fun’

I say this not just as a supporter of my father but a proud son and brother of both of them.

P.S : to those dudes who think that those ‘jokes’ were funny, have fun without a girlfriend, job and education because the lord knows you’ve learned more from my father than you have at school you illiterate monkeys. Threaten my sister, brothers, mom or dad and you can be well assured that I don’t just know my way around my computer but I’ll find a way into your’s to.
Love : The Autistic child who still knows how to act acceptably on social media and to other human beings ( Unlike yourselves ) and who dares you to come near my family with the same courage you had on twitter and say whatever you want to me because cowards have no place here, or anywhere for that matter.

39 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2015 9:17 pm

    We need to see much more of this from the public. Sexual degrading, humiliating, and threatening acts of violence against innocent people have absolutely no place in any society, regardless of the times. Just because this is the 21st century full of internet anonymity opportunities does not excuse the lack of basic human decency. This whole incident involving your daughter, Curt, has had my blood boiling too. Many years ago my daughter was sexually assaulted and molested by a sick, deranged animal who stole her innocence and childhood away. Thank god to this day she is so strong and is living a full and successful life, because their were times I did not think she could make it through the trauma this punk and others inflicted on her. I swear to this day if I ever have the opportunity to encounter any of the punks face to face who treated her like an object and a piece of meat, to this day and beyond, the results will not be good for any of them. I would absolutely have no shame in going to jail for putting the hurt on any perpetrator who thinks they can vocalize their intentions and get away with it, or even have the balls to actually carry out their sick deranged acts. Every time I read another social media post from some lunatic who thinks they are being just one of the guys or another stupid dumb jock who thinks that kind of attitude and behavior are acceptable, the more sickened I get and want to see harsher and tougher penalties put in place for these scum. Thank you for bringing this to light and for standing by your daughter. Dads all over should be proud for what you did. I know I am.

  2. Catherine Heller permalink
    March 4, 2015 9:23 pm

    Curt,

    Talk about getting a lot of “good” out of a bad situation!

    Of course you should be proud of those children. They are wonderful, upstanding young adults. You should also be proud of the excellent job you and Shonda have done under circumstances that “regular” people can’t understand.

    May you all live long, and happy lives together!

    Catherine Heller

    ps: Thanks for 2004!

  3. March 4, 2015 9:25 pm

    Nice job, well said. Nobody with a conscience thinks those jokes were funny. We stand with you, your dad and your sister Gabriella.

  4. March 4, 2015 9:25 pm

    Gives me hope for my little man to show compassion and to just ‘get it’. Great brother, great son.

  5. March 4, 2015 9:36 pm

    Well said. The world can learn much from your family’s example. God bless!

  6. March 4, 2015 10:19 pm

    This is great! No father should have to see that kind of stuff wrote about his daughter, I don’t care if you are some backwoods nomad from Kentucky or a high profile dad! Good post young Mr. Schilling!

  7. March 4, 2015 10:31 pm

    This says it all. God bless your amazing family.

  8. March 4, 2015 11:11 pm

    When I read this blog, I cried. I am not a father but a mother of 3 three girls ages 23, 22, and 20. Two of my daughters played softball there whole lives. My youngest is playing at a division II school in NH. My middle child was a walk one at a D1 school, but had to withdrawal after a horrid accident that was not her fault. She went back to community college and was selected as NFCA as NJCAA Div II first team All American. She faced adversity and it made her even stronger.Those tweets were a horrendous assault on your daughter, Those assholes need to be held accountable. What they did is a sin and made me sick. Thank you for being a stand up Dad and calling what it is. i pray your daughter will be able to put this behind her. I know you did the right thing. If anyone ever said such bull about my girls, I don’t think I would have had the same restraint as you did.

  9. March 5, 2015 12:04 am

    not a baseball fan and really did not know who you were. I think you did what every parent should do and you did. You are a great example of what a good parent does to protect their kids.

  10. March 5, 2015 4:49 am

    Kudos to Curt Shilling for defending his daughter! As someone who has also experienced harassment from trolls, I thought I would leave a few links for others who encounter these problems. Please note that the link to the FBI site is, of course, only for serious matters.

    the first two links give a good overview

    Internet Trolls – A Practical Guide

    http://www.teamtechnology.co.uk/troll.htm

    Recognising and Dealing with Trolls

    http://www.teamtechnology.co.uk/troll-tactics.html

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    two links below, Wired Safety and the Internet Crime Complaint Center are groups that address aspects of internet safety….

    Wired Safety – the world’s largest Internet safety, help and education resource

    http://www.wiredsafety.org/

    ++++++

    for criminal behavior (United States) this is an official site of the FBI —

    Internet Crime Complaint Center
    Federal Bureau of Investigation
    J. Edgar Hoover Building
    935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
    Washington, D.C. 20535-0001
    http://www.ic3.gov/

    +++++++++

    Internet Trolls:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Troll_%28Internet%29

    +++++++++

    Sock Puppets

    (multiple identities)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internet_sock_puppet

    +++

    flame baiting:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flamebait

    +++++++++

    NY Times Article:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/08/03/magazine/03trolls-t.html?_r=1&hp&oref=slogin

    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

  11. rdwinthrop permalink
    March 5, 2015 5:08 am

    Let me be the millionth voice thanking you for crushing the cyberjerks who threatened your daughter …”For they have sown the wind, and they shall reap the whirlwind: it hath no stalk: the bud shall yield no meal …”

  12. March 5, 2015 6:26 am

    I couldn’t agree more. I have been impressed with the support from so many people of different backgrounds and beliefs. Many of us will disagree about politics, religion, etc. but it’s hard to criticize a father protecting his daughter. Here’s hoping more ‘twitter trolls’ get what they deserve. Let’s all hope more people think twice before they hit ‘send’.

  13. russellrob2013 permalink
    March 5, 2015 10:11 am

    Well written. I’m just sad that your family has to go through this.

  14. March 5, 2015 10:14 am

    Thank you for taking a stand. My daughter is also a softball player, in middle school, and I would be just as angry and offended by those disgusting comments. This is another lesson for our children to learn. Thankfully, my children are young enough that I am able to impress upon them the permanence of the internet. We monitor their internet usage pretty closely and I am aware that they can still hide things from me as they are more computer savvy than mom, but my husband and I try to maintain open dialogue with them so there is hopefully no feeling of needing to hide things from us. It is obvious to me, that you are a wonderful parent.
    Congratulations to Gabby for her college acceptance and making the team!

  15. March 5, 2015 10:32 am

    This is awesome! I know you’re a very proud dad and rightly so!

  16. March 5, 2015 10:49 am

    This filthy liberal (but not a chafee voter) Rhode Islander loves your response to those jackasses. Bravo to your son too for his insight.

  17. March 5, 2015 2:08 pm

    You keep at this, Curt. You’ve started something that should have been started a LONG time ago. The general public needs to understand that for this generation of kids born into it, social media is not just a harmless, intangible, online playground. As a father of two teenagers, I’ve found out the hard way. No, you can’t prevent someone from acting like a tool, but you can certainly hold them accountable for their actions.

  18. March 5, 2015 4:14 pm

    Yeah, smart kid. You have ample reason to be proud. But then, your kids are lucky to have a father like you.

    I too have ASD. The terminology I like is “neurologically atypical”.

  19. March 5, 2015 4:17 pm

    As a father of a daughter myself, I applaud you for being an outspoken champion of the correct way to respect and treat a woman. This has been quite evident in your upbringing of your son. You and Shonda have raised a boy on the verge of becoming a man that I have grown to like a lot. He is always more than welcome in my house (as he and I have lots of gaming talk to enjoy together!). He has always treated K with respect, it’s no wonder they’ve remained “friends” for as long as they have. Thank you for always making her feel comfortable in your home. Someday I will have the opportunity to meet you and I will shake your hand with pride at how well you are a dad. Thanks Curt.

  20. March 5, 2015 5:44 pm

    Reblogged this on Empathy Deserves a comeback and commented:
    I am absolutely loving Curth Schilling’s Blog. Relatable and meaningful material on here. I suggest you take a look.

  21. March 5, 2015 11:03 pm

    Dear Mr. Curt,

    I’m Jessica. I’m 12 years old and I was born special too. I was born with a cleft lip and palate and have had 7 surgeries on my face. 3 years ago I started the We Care Bears Project to help kids in unbearable situations. Some kids don’t see that part of me they only see the scars on my face. Kids still tease me about my face. But you know what? Almost every time someone says something mean to me about my face or my scars they also say “I was just kidding” or joking around or something like that. But it’s NOT funny so I’m not sure why they think that makes it any better at all? I work hard everyday to be nice to other people, especially people that some kids think aren’t cool, not because I’m a good person but just because I am a PERSON…just like everybody else. If we all tried to find a way to be nice to each other the world word be a much better place, but at the very least we should all make it a goal not to be mean to anyone.

    Big Bear Hugs,
    Jessica

  22. March 5, 2015 11:29 pm

    I have recently embarked on a mission to establish a non profit organization “parents @gainst cyberbullying” My first goal is to create an icon which children can post to their social media profile indicating that their parents have access and regularly view their messages, etc. It is not enough to follow or friend your child. Most bullying takes place via private or group message. Please contact me via Facebook private message if you are willing to discuss and offer support for this very serious issue.

  23. March 5, 2015 11:46 pm

    <<>>

    Curt Schillings- I found the other guy you were looking for Jacob Robbins from Florida. https://38pitches.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/tweets-10.jpg

    .— Jacob Robbins- @DigLifesTree
    He from Orlando,Florida -around Neptune/St.Cloud/Kissimmee

    https://instagram.com/bigtree.78/

    https://instagram.com/p/nyI3bIkBlL/?modal=true current Instagram @bigtree.78

    https://myspace.com/tree94/mixes/classic-italy-2008-577059/photo/293885554
    his myspace -not a kid anymore

  24. March 6, 2015 12:55 pm

    I want to thank you so much for doing this and raising awareness, so sorry for the circumstance. When my daughter was a freshman in high school a classmate and her mother told my daughter that she should kill herself. My daughter has suffered years with depression from this incident and actually had a suicide attempt that year. I am so glad that you are raising awareness and are pressing charges against these horrible people. Many people do not have a clue how these comments can affect people. Thank you again for raising awareness, sorry it had to happen to your daughter. I hope that she is able to recover quickly from this incident!

  25. March 6, 2015 4:20 pm

    WOW….just WOW

  26. March 7, 2015 8:57 am

    I am printing this out and posting it on the wall of my middle school classroom. Thank you.

  27. alpha4centauri permalink
    March 7, 2015 11:22 pm

    I’m sure your son is perfectly capable of being a greyhat avenger, but please let him know that the penalties can be very, very severe for attacking a “protected computer,” which is basically defined as any computer hooked up to the internet.

    Pea-brained trolls like these guys leave plenty of evidence lying around where it can be obtained legally, without your son putting himself at any risk.

  28. March 13, 2015 8:39 pm

    More power to you and your son! Thank you for standing up for your daughter who was sexually threatened. You have stood up for all women and girls who have experienced this. Thank you, both, for your bravery and courage. Real men need to take a lesson from you both. I applaud you! 🙂

  29. March 16, 2015 3:20 am

    Dear Sir,
    I am a resident of Sydney Australia and had never heard your name before…but I certainly know it now…full respect to you…what a great man…excellent….I admire you greatly…and I know nothing about baseball…but I know know about being a man…and you are a man…live long and prosper brother

  30. March 18, 2015 6:08 am

    Well Schilling, you’ve always said “say what you will about me, but leave my kids out of it”. Since I’m not a heathen, mouth-breathing douchenozzle, that’s what I’m going to do.

    “To those whom much is given, much is expected.”—Anonymous

    You have been given much in life Curt Schilling. God gave you an arm with the power of a rocket launcher and the accuracy of a finely tuned precision rifle. You were also given the health and longevity to use that arm to carry yourself and many teammates to glory over the course of two decades. Hard work and determination were no doubt a factor but those are ineffective without the necessary raw talent to perform at the highest level. I’m a football/basketball guy so I’ll spare you any effort to demonstrate knowledge of the nuances of your success.

    During your 2 decades of glory you were paid an incredible sum of money to play what is essentially a child’s game. You and your family procured more financial resources in one season than many lower middle class families will gather in a lifetime. As a dedicated and loving father you used these resources to provide the best for your family: the best schools, coaches, medical treatment, equipment, therapists, etc. The sum of these resources are well beyond the reach of the average American whose pursuits are no less noble than yours: the nurses, teachers, firefighters, police officers, social workers and men and women in our armed forces. Your children are beginning to blossom and show that your efforts and resources have yielded what will no doubt be outstanding contributing members to society AS THEY SHOULD BE when considering the tools you and your wife had at your disposal.

    A few weeks ago you made a Twitter post celebrating the accomplishments of your daughter as any proud father would, what you fail to realize is that you aren’t just any proud father. You’re a Hall of Fame caliber retired athlete who was often the vanquisher and sometimes the vanquished. As if years of fierce competition and rivalry wasn’t polarizing enough for the general public, you also use your platform as a celebrity to espouse highly controversial political views from a party which is increasingly exclusionary in their rhetoric and policies toward the middle class.

    Those who posted vile statements about your daughter are nothing more than vermin. When a fly lands on your arm you can shoo it away and let it carry on its short, inconsequential, parasitic existence whilst secure in the knowledge that you are the superior being or you can abuse your position and smash it, stamping out its existence entirely. I will not defend the indefensible, Mr. Schilling. Twitter trolls are vermin, I expect lowbrow behavior from them. However, I expect you to demonstrate your superiority as a citizen and human being by offering a measure of mercy to those who may not deserve it.

    So now I guess you’re a cyberbullying crusader, eh? Tell me what these names mean to you Curt: Tyler Clementi, Megan Meier, Jessica Logan and Amanda Todd. Those are the names of teens and young adults who killed themselves after being cybullied beyond what their individual constitution could handle. Never a peep about any of them in your past rhetoric or cyberbullying in general for that matter until the Twitter incident with your daughter. That’s the funny thing about those who share your political stripes Curt: It never matters one damn bit until it affects them or someone they love. Unwanted children only matter until delivery, right Curt? Who cares about finding them a loving family after they’re born rather than being possibly subjected to a childhood of psychological, physical, and/or sexual abuse; neglect and poverty, right Curt? “It doesn’t matter until it happens to me, cuz I rep the GOP.”

    You’re a great dad, Curt Schilling, but you’re far from the person I expect you to be considering what you’ve been given.

    • June 8, 2015 12:18 am

      You might possibly be one of the most ignorant human beings I’ve ever read a post from. As a celebrity I should expect it? As a celebrity, given what I earned, I should just roll with it? As a Republican? You are a complete fool. You did what so many liberals do, found a discussion you could make a u-turn with and blamed shit and blamed things that have nothing to do with this. Just be accountable, nothing more nothing less.

  31. March 18, 2015 11:06 am

    Bravo to you and your family, Curt Schilling!!! I have been researching this topic for a college paper because of your daughter’s story. It is one of the most vicious things on the internet and way too common. Bravo to you for putting this out for the world to see.

    Mr. Schilling, I loved you on the field. I love and respect you even more after this. Hang in there Gabby! you are amazing! (and i’m just a little bit…no, a LOT…jealous of you!)

    Randi Musser

  32. March 23, 2015 11:16 pm

    Curt:

    Just saw the post by your son. Wow! Can’t say enough. Great family. More power to you.

    I heard about the initial incident on Mike & Mike. As I read your post, I can’t tell you how much I was rooting for you. Well done for the hurt you put on those trolls.

  33. March 24, 2015 8:37 am

    If more people took a stand like Curt Schilling and fought back at these morons, perhaps we could see a swing toward a little more civility online. Well said by your son, Curt. You should rightly be proud.

  34. March 27, 2015 2:22 pm

    I was at a wedding a few months ago where the groom’s father said what makes him proudest is that his son is a better man than him. The same of course can be said about many daughters, You should be very proud of your daughter and son!

  35. March 29, 2015 12:18 pm

    More power to him!
    Standing up like he should.

  36. April 2, 2015 6:14 pm

    My brother was autistic back when there was no particular word for it. Renaming it “world changing brilliance” certainly works for me and so many others. He obviously has a great family influence. We are all very proud of him and the entire family! Keep up the good fight!!

  37. joe bisognano permalink
    April 30, 2015 7:05 am

    Curt– Several years ago when you were in Maynard, you were nice enough to sign some baseballs and jersey for our golf tournament benefitting deployed military personnel and their families. We’re still going strong, planning for a July 30th event at Stow CC. Would you be willing to sign some things for us again? If so, please offer a way to accomplish the logistics. Thanks. Joe Bisognano, Lt Col, USAF (ret)

    Joe Bisognano Date: Thu, 5 Mar 2015 02:02:28 +0000 To: jbisognano@msn.com

  38. August 13, 2015 3:04 pm

    Kudos to your son. These bullies lack empathy and need to hear directly how their words affect others to understand the damage they are really doing.

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

