Skip to content

2013 Draft, a look at some of the top arms…

June 6, 2013

One of the things I enjoy most is talking with, and watching, pitchers. I had a look at some of the top arms in this years draft and put some stuff together for some people, and thought that with some redacting, it would be ok to share.

The only report I couldn’t get cleaned up in time to post was my look at a kid I really like, Braden Shipley. If I can I’ll post it later. I also had a pretty lengthy document explaining how I look at pitching, where I think the important stuff exists and what I think about projecting and going forward.

Mark Appel report 2013

Chris Anderson report 2013

Jon Gray Report

Kohl Stewart

Ryan Eades report 2013

Sean Manaea

Ryne Stanek

OOPS! Forgot this kid!

Trey Ball report 2013

 

Think I cleaned this one up enough, lots to like on this one.

 

Brade Shipley report 2013

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2013 6:25 pm

    Wow, welcome back…think you’re be posting more regularly? I saw this post come up on my blogger reading feed, and realized how much I missed your insight on the sport. Cheers!

  2. June 7, 2013 5:20 pm

    This analysis is interesting. I’ve never seen pitching mechanics broken down like this with video stills. Would you be willing to post some analysis like this of current MLB pitchers on your blog? Like who has the best mechanics in baseball right now?

  3. June 11, 2013 1:47 pm

    This analysis is great. Glad you included Ball who looks like a great HS prospect for the Sox.

    Curt–I represent the Military Affairs Council (MAC) which is affiliated with the North Suburban Chamber of Commerce in MA. We want to recognize you as our Person of the Year for all that you do and have done for our military forces. If you accept, we will plan an awards ceremony sometime in September based on you availability. It will be a dinner where we and local military leaders can properly recognize you. Please let me know. Thanks for all that you do.

    Joe
    jbisognano@msn.com

  4. September 10, 2013 12:45 pm

    Curt,

    Great analysis and I really like how you speak to what kids should look out for in their arms and technique, I also love when you talk about studying hitters and what you are thinking versus them. I dont think most people get that pitchers v hitters is as much a mind game as a physical one. You mentioned a report on what you think is important I would love to see/read that. Thanks and keep posting especially about pitching!

  5. September 27, 2013 9:04 pm

    Hi Curt,
    Not sure if this is the best place to ask for a favor. I know you’re no longer playing ball, but my brother-in-law is a die-hard Red Sox fan, and I’m wondering if any of the players could pay him a visit while they are in Baltimore this weekend? He was injured on September 7 and is paralyzed from the neck down. He will likely not recover any mobility. He is at the University of Maryland Medical Center in Baltimore in the Shock Trauma Unit (room 405). This hospital is just a few blocks from the stadium. If any of the team that is there in the city this weekend could pay him a visit it would mean the world to him. His name is Brent Blickenstaff and he is on the 4th floor. Thank you for all the good work you do.
    Blessings,
    Rea Berg

  6. April 11, 2014 7:04 am

    Curt, how’s the cancer coming along?

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

