Skip to content

Have been ridiculously busy of late.

May 29, 2010

Haven’t really had an opportunity to post here much, certainly not to write anything substantial. I do like this article, which I know will get its usual flame war reaction….

Shonda’s traveling to Chicago for a book signing and an event for Asperger’s tonight, so I am daddy dearest this weekend with games and sleepovers all over the docket.

We finally had the entire company under one roof this week at 38 Studios, which was a pretty fantastic day. Threw some pics up on facebook, suffice to say I think both studios had a blast.

Both games continue to roll along, with Mercury getting farther into production every day. Copernicus is looking fantastic, huge week this past week with some major things coming online in the next few months.

With the ESPN stuff my time writing here has been severely curtailed, but I’ll get back to it ASAP.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2010 3:07 pm

    Curt,

    We’re going on four years since you formed 38 Studios (formerly Green Monster Games), right? If I recall correctly, you started the company during the 2007 baseball season.

    Nevermind, ‘About’ states late 2006. Anyway.

    Aren’t you at a point in your Copernicus development cycle (your initial product begun well before the acquisition of BHG) where you need to start spitting out something more than concept art? Like I said, the clock’s ticking on four years now and we have yet to see a single digital image of ingame footage. While I understand MMO’s have a grossly larger development curve than other games… we’re near the four-year mark. I’m starting to think you’re the George R. R. Martin of development houses ;p

    I’m not going to make any Duke references. Not yet. But are there any sails on the horizon, here?

  2. hokita permalink
    June 2, 2010 1:10 pm

    Great article. The madness in the media knows no bounds.

  3. June 6, 2010 7:12 pm

    Curt, I have a daughter who has special needs. She belongs to the North Kingstown Special Olympics team in Rhode Island. We are having a golf tournament for the kids, all the money goes directly to them, on July 11th at Triggs Golf Course, Providence RI. I would really love to pass out a few copies of the book, the Best Kind of Different, to some of the groups. I was wondering if you would be willing to donate a few copies for me to pass out. I would also like to invite you to come to the tournament and play as my guest if you like ! We’d love to have you there. My daughter is a huge fan of both the Red Sox and the Celtics. If you think either are possible I would love to hear from you. My email address is joe@joedelsesto.com. Thanks a bunch for your consideration of this request. Sincerely, Joe Del Sesto.

  4. hof24 permalink
    June 9, 2010 9:24 am

    Curt – Do you know anything about Neuralstem?

  5. June 9, 2010 1:36 pm

    Curt, my name is Darrin and this message is of a personal nature. Last year the father of a friend and coworker passed away from ALS. Another coworker in my office contacted you to let you know how much of huge Red Sox fan both father and son were and what great fans they were of yours personally. You took the time out of your obviously busy schedule to call my coworker Todd and offer your condolances to him and his family. Curt I’m not usually in the habit of asking for anything but my sense of compassion for a friend has lead me to asking something of you. The father of my dear friend Lisa is suffering with ALS, he’s a strong person who has asked for nothing other than for his family to be healthy and happy. Curt, I’m not sure to what extent this terrible desease has taken hold of him, I do know that my friend Lisa has been traveling from our province of Nova Scotia to the province of New Brunswick more and more frequently to see him. As a matter of fact she is there with him now and has invited myself and my girlfriend up to visit this weekend. I would believe it to be one of the kindest acts if there was a way that you would contact him to say hello and offer some sort of good wishes. Curt, I’m not sure if you receive requests like this regularly or not. If you do than please accept my sincere apologies for being just another one of many. I do know that your call to Todd at my office is still talked about to this day and how it made him feel. I can give you his contact info if you feel you could touch base with him. His name is Mitch Cassie. My email address is darrin.provost@dl-eng.com if you would like to know how to reach him.

    Sincerely
    Darrin

  6. June 17, 2010 12:52 pm

    Curt,

    I know this is totally off the subject but I am trying to get word out. I am a die hard Red Sox fan but also a fan of baseball in general. I am very disappointed with MLB right now with the announcement of the 2012 All Star game being held in KC. I have nothing against KC but I think that was the wrong choice. In 2012 Fenway will be turning 100 and as a basbeall fan I truly believe that is where the 2012 All Star game should be held. I have created an online petition, hopefully I can garner enough support. http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/2012mlballstar/

  7. ewingbi permalink
    June 20, 2010 8:57 pm

    Horrible performance on the Sunday Night ESPN game. You were used. We know Manny is a jerk, but you betrayed clubhouse protocol by throwing him under the bus on national television…what is next? a tell all book. I admire what you did as a player, but you have a lot to learn about graciousness.

  8. mrsquigley61 permalink
    June 20, 2010 11:49 pm

    Take a Time out Mr. Schilling from your busy busy schedule. I have just made a pledge for the COVERING ALL BASES Hitting Challenge in honor of my Dad who suffers from ALS presently. At this time in his fight against this terrible disease, 3 years, he is completely bedridden unable to move or speak. We (brother and two sisters) take turns helping my Mom care for him at home. I will be watching the game on July 4th with my Dad, cheering for every hit we can get! I would like to invite you to watch the game with us! It would be a thrill for him, and a wonderful intrusion to his hum-drum everyday routine of watching TV, if you could make it. Thank you for all you are doing in the fight against ALS, keep up the great work! With much admiration and appreciation, Carol Quigley

  9. June 21, 2010 11:48 am

    Enjoyed you last night on ESPN (Redsox/Dodgers). My wife and I also enjoy your commentary on things. Most of the commentary we agree with and some we disagree…but respect your insight and the thought you put into your commentary. I learn something every time I hear you speak. I added a link on my website/blog to 38pitches. If you get a chance…checkout my blog….www.mybabyr0c.blogspot.com (the “0” in r0c is a zero)…Again, really enjoy your blog. Shawn

  10. greenhomenh permalink
    June 21, 2010 9:36 pm

    I want to start by letting you know I have also forward this email to the Hall of Fame, MLB, The Boston Red Sox, and Curt Schilling.

    On the weekend of June 18 to June 20, 2010, my first father’s day with my 8 month old son, I brought my dad, and my mom and wife, to the Hall of Fame Classic weekend in Cooperstown. The only enjoyment we had was the actually Hall of Fame. I will insert my list of complaints below:

    We emailed the chamber of commerce to see if they could help us find a hotel, as vacancies were hard to come by. They gave us only one hotel, The Red Carpet Inn in Oneonta. We were told by the Inn on the phone that they had a pool, clean rooms, and boat rentals for the lake. When we arrived at the hotel, we were shocked and disappointed. The front desk explained they have no pool, and there was one boat available for rent, and it had a missing plug for the last 2 years. When we arrived in our room, we noticed that the floors had not been vacuumed, there were blood stains on the chairs, the bedrooms were filled with large spiderwebs, the sheets were stained yellow, and there was left over food in the cabinets. We complained to the front desk, to which they replied, there was no one to clean at this hour. We immediately asked for a refund and searched for another hotel. We were then shocked to find that almost every hotel had vacancies. In Cooperstown, and Oneonta. We found a clean room, and went on with our weekend.

    We had a nice Friday and Saturday. Visits to Howe’s Caverns, among other places. The restaurant selections were poor, but that was not why we were there anyway.

    Then came Sunday, and the Hall of Fame Classic. We started the day in the Hall, and it was magical. Then we arrived at Doubleday Field for the 12PM gate opening. This is where the trip went very sour.

    The seats were in no way accesible for people with a baby. The security and help were rude and not helpful at all, and then came the game itself. As avid baseball fans, we were outraged by the game. Filled with lack of effort, jokes, and just plain insulting play. It made a mockery out of our beloved game of baseball. We left in the 2nd inning. After the game was over, there was no opportunity to meet the legends, or get autographs. We did notice there was a table set up on main street where Goose Gossage, Rollie Fingers, and Harmon Killebrew would be signing autographs. We waited for them to arrive, as my dad loves Goose Gossage, and had hoped to meet and get his autograph over the course of the weekend.

    When the players arrived, I shook Mr. Gossages hand, and asked for his autograph, to which he replied, we had to pay 50.00. I was speechless. I explained to him that he should be pleased that he is still remembered by fans, and that fans appreciate what he did in his career. I then told him my father traveled from NH, hoping to get his autograph. He apologized and said we had to pay. I was shocked, disappointed, and the look on my father’s face on father’s day is a look of sadness that I will never forget.

    We will never be returning to Cooperstown, and have posted this email on my business’s facebook page. You can see the posting on the page of Tim Currier of Bow, NH on facebook.

    Thank you,

    Timothy J. Currier
    President
    Green Home Energy Systems, LLC
    42 River Road
    Bow, NH 03304
    1-877-98-DECRA
    (603) 670-4768
    http://www.GreenHomeEnergySystems.com

  11. republicans4nuclearwar permalink
    June 22, 2010 8:02 pm

    You are disgraceful Curt. Have you ever REALLY read the words of Jesus Christ? You promote war with iraq who never threatened us in any way, ever. Have the balls to google pictures of limbless and blind Iraqi children who suffer from our bombings. What a friggin hypocrit you are. Then you promote the anti-semite, hate-filled tranny Anne Coulter. Please run for political office…in Alabama you jerk. You destroyed so much good will and fond memories of your career- with your big mouth. you should be ashamed. Jim – Milton

    • charliemae permalink
      July 27, 2010 4:46 pm

      The war in Iraq is necessary….Saddam Hussein thought he was calling our bluff when he refused to let NATO inspectors tour his facilities where suspected WMD’s were thought to be. Satellite images showed the Iraqis always one step ahead of the inspectors. Only after things were cleared away, were the inspectors allowed inside these buildings. Did you know that a WMD isn’t always a huge bomb or missile? Did you know that a very potent chemical can be stored in a vial that is small enough to fit into someone’s pocket? Have you not seen the film footage of the small village that was wiped out by one of Hussein’s dirt bomb type weapons? Our soldiers DO belong in Iraq, and many of the Iraqi people are grateful that they are there. After Hussein called our bluff, we had no choice but to carry out our promise to go to war. All he had to do was to comply with our NATO inspectors and there would have been no war, but to defiantly look us in the eye was his big mistake, and thank God, his downfall. Anne Coulter, Sean Hannity, and many others, can see the real picture. Curt Schilling is a lot smarter than you might think, and he does not have to lower himself to name calling. I am so sorry that you really have no inkling of what is going on. I’ll bet you even voted for obama, didn’t you. I cannot wait until the next presidential election to vote him out of office. As far as I’m concerned, this is the first time America has been without a real president. Even Clinton was a little better than this one, and I don’t even like Clinton. Maybe you will wake up before it’s too late for our country.

  12. June 24, 2010 8:02 pm

    I am writing to ask your assistance in finding a publisher for an inspirational book, “Patrick & the Giant,” written by my husband, David, who has been battling ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease) for the past 14 yrs. He has typed it with one finger over the past year, containing 21,600 words. David is now preparing to enter a Hospice program, as his condition has deteriorated so badly. His wish is to get the book (which is about ALS) published. Is there any way that you could help me to have him realize his dream? David had worked in the World Trade Center for 16 yrs for the Port Authority medical dept. His book is a story, which is both poignant and unexpected, with plenty of laughs and tears along the way. “Patrick and the Giant” is a fast paced, inspirational, fantasy adventure, with the genre of magical realism. There are a number of factors that together help to make this book unique. It is an allegory with the giant representing ALS.
    I would appreciate any help you can provide. Many, many thanks!

  13. July 13, 2010 3:18 pm

    Curt, fist time blogger. I just want to thank you for the World Series Titles in 2004 and 2007. You are the greatest pitcher. I wish Beckett and Lackey would man up like you did. I find it ridiculous that we are behind by 5 games. You would be pitching right now if wasn’t for Rhonda and you know it. I have a dream and I’m 37 never made it not even college, but I compete I pitch all my life how many under Minor league system games I’ve played.

    I am going to try out next year, I’m currently have a small tear in rib and still as a pitcher you got to want that ball. You get your but out there and not Pelosi off that chair. Curt … I see you want to run for office … you speak your mind sometimes with your package but that’s what pitcher’s do. Clemen’s is an idiot. He would be getting paid to the highest bidder … but cheated and won’t get off his high horse. Curt I think you need to think about what is important to you … studio 38 is all good … running with ESPN … you don’t get to speak your mind. You are #38 in my heart and I miss seeing you compete. I think you need to be a pitching coach if you are done being a bad ass … or be like Bret Farve and get your but back to that mound and make that come back baby.

    I must have missed that retirement party seeing that I’m unemployed and haven’t seen #38 be retired by the RedSox, last I looked Pedro still trying to throw like he has half the skills as you.

  14. dude58677 permalink
    July 18, 2010 7:03 pm

    Curt,

    What is the worst arm injury you ever suffered while either on the mound or working out in the gym and how did you recover?

  15. arwturner permalink
    July 22, 2010 8:10 am

    Curt:
    Congratulations to you for doing good in the community. I have a friend who is “Suffering” from ALS and is trying to do good. We are in the process of planning a MusicFest with all proceeds going to ALS. He is a former high school baseball coach, and a former Red Sox. He played in the minors back in the 80’s. Now he is battling the biggest challenge of his life with ALS. He owns a screen printing business and has given so much back to our community. Now it’s time that we rally around him. I realize that you have a very important and busy schedule, but I would love to discuss something that you could help us with in recognizing Terry’s efforts to provide a cure for this horrible disease. Please notify me if possible. It would be a thrill and a honor for you to recognize Terry in some way! Thanks so much for your time!

  16. July 31, 2010 6:16 am

    Curt,

    As you know, it was a great week in MA for families and children effected by Autism. The Governor is signing the Autism Insurance Bill (ARICA H4935) into law on Tuesday August 4th at 2:30.

    drumroll…

    At Fenway Park!

    Can you join me for the signing… I am going to try to bring my 5 year old son and also ask my State Rep. (R) Jeff Perry, who was extremely active and supportive of this Bill..

    Best,

    Boomer,
    Sandwich, MA

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

