Skip to content

For parents of Autistic children, and kids with Aspergers

January 30, 2010

Shonda’s book is now available for pre-order. Obviously I am incredibly proud of her desire to share her story and attempt to help people dealing with this difficult affliction. Grant has a heart the size of Texas but day to day struggles are things only a mother can understand. Yes I’m biased but Harper Collins did a fantastic job and I think she did an incredible job in relaying her story. So much of it I was gone for, and helping her write this story revealed so many things I never knew, about her, our home, our kids and our life.

If your interested, here’s the link to pre-order!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 10:41 am

    I’ve been searching the web and just came across this blog. As a mother of a 9-year-old with Asperger’s Syndrome, I’ll be very interested in reading this book. My guess is that although are lives are very different we’ll share the struggles and blessings that come with raising a child with an autistic spectrum disorder.

    The reason I’ve been searching the web today is because my son with AS, Chad, is doing a school report on Curt Schilling. He is reading a biography on Curt and needs to do a creative project, like a life timeline – NOT a preferred activity for a child with AS. Chad needs images from throughout Curt’s life. Are they any images on line anywhere from Curt’s childhood? Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I’m sure people are always asking for something from you.

    PS Chad plans to play for the Red Sox someday too!

  2. murphymp23 permalink
    March 10, 2010 10:14 am

    Curt and Shonda,

    I have an 11 year old son who was diagnosed several years ago with Asperger’s. My wife and I are still learnng about this disorder. Michael, like myself is a Red Sox fan (Iwas born and raised in MA.) I am currently in my 22nd year of active military service and I am stationed in FL. During my research of Asperger’s I have been amazed at how many famous/successful people also were diagnosed with Aspergers. The key, as you already know, is proper diagnosis and intervention/treatment. My son is very bright academically speaking. the challenge is finding out how he learns best. For him it is one on one.

    I have chosen to view this disorder as simply meaning my son learns differently, but he learns. Recognizing social norms or acceptable social behavior is difficult for him and must constantly be reinforced, that is what parents are beforemy wife and I decided to have a child we accepted that raising our children would be the single most important task in our lives. There is nothing more important than the responsibility of raising children to become respectful, contributing members of society. I accept this responsibility with pride.

    My son will not be a victim or use Aspergers as an excuse. He is not a burden to his family, but a labor of love like all children. I do not expect nor want the government to treat, raise, or coddle my child. He is my responsibility and when he graduates from college, that’s right, college, he will take responsibility for his own life and decisions just like I expect anyone else to do. Certainly Aspergers will be his mountain to climb, but we all had mountains to climb to reach our goals.

    I beleive Aspergers is what makes my son who he is. He would not be the same person if he did not have this “syndrome”. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Shonda, I look forward to your book as just one more tool to help my son and family persevere. Thank you for sharing and God Bless Grant and the Schilling family.

  3. ncaaohref permalink
    March 11, 2010 2:01 pm

    Curt,
    I am the chairman of a charity wrestling tournament called Wrestle Against Autism
    website is http://www.wrestleagainstautism.com
    Last year’s tournament raised $17,000
    All the officials that work are volunteers
    It is sponsored by the Ohio National Guard and hosted by Ohio State Wrestling and Mad River Wrestling Officials Association. If you happen to be in/near Columbus OH on May 16th, please stop in.
    Last year we gave $10,000 to the Ethan Foundation for Autism
    We gave $3,000 each to two families in need of Autism Service Dogs from 4pawsforability.org
    and we gave $500 each to ASA Central Ohio Chapter and ASA Greater Akron Chapter.

    We also hold a sports memorbilia auction during the tournament.
    If you would like to send anything for auction it would be greatly appreciated.

  4. caring4aspies permalink
    March 12, 2010 10:17 am

    Dear Curt, Shonda, and other parents who deal with the challenges and triumphs of children with asperger’s – Only parents in the unique position of raising these children can fully understand what asperger’s is like. Everyday brings something special. The web is a wealth of resources for finding the right programs for your kids. I found this article about a sleepaway camp for kids with asperger’s. Its such a great opportunity for these kids. Thought you all would be interested too. http://www.summitcamp.com/pdf/media_march2010.pdf

  5. gouldiesox permalink
    March 12, 2010 6:34 pm

    Dear Curt, Shonda, and the entire Schilling family,

    My name is Rebecca and I am a 24 year old girl, from Massachusetts who has Asperger’s Syndrome. I was wondering if you’d like to hear the things I have accomplished despite having this disability. I would love to hear about Grant and his achievements. I can also give you some insight into the world of a female with AS and the challenges I have overcome.

    Let me know if you are interested. I would love to hear from you.

    Thank you,

    Rebecca G

    • March 15, 2010 9:11 pm

      Hi,

      My son also has AS and he is 19. I am finding it so hard as a parent to find physicians that are experts in treating adults with AS. He was just diagnosed 2 years ago as his mild tourette’s always was the cause of any symptoms he had. I live in Massachusetts and have access to the best hospitals in Boston but finding a physician has been difficult. Well if you have any resources I would appreciate any suggestions.

      Thank you!

      • gouldiesox permalink
        March 16, 2010 8:54 am

        Hi there,

        I know of a variety of excellent doctors in Massachusetts. I have been to so many. If you would like to e-mail me directly my e-mail is RebeccaLynGould@gmail.com

        Hope I can help.

        Rebecca

  6. drew1014 permalink
    March 17, 2010 3:55 pm

    Looking forward to the event in Madison next Thurs.

    My son Nate is 15 & is AS.

    Look forward to having him share with you where we were during your last game for the Sox (CF bleachers) – granted I’ll have to prompt him…

    Will also want him to share with you his mutual friends, Uncle Phil & Aunt Judy! We watched 2004 WS with them in PA.

    This is a wonderful thing you & your wife are doing (maybe even more wonderful than the 2 WS titles you helped bring to Boston).

    Regards.

  7. March 24, 2010 7:37 am

    Hello Curt,

    I work in this field and would love to talk to you guys about asbergers.

  8. 1bigfamily4ever permalink
    March 24, 2010 11:31 am

    The spot of you and your wife on Today made me cry. I have a 13 year old son who was diagnosed with Aspergers at age 11. I wish we had know what we know now when he was younger. Maybe if we had he would have been saved from so much pain. So far my son’s story has not had a happy ending. I pray that one day my family can inspire others with a story of overcoming odds. Thank you for sharing your story with the world. People need to understand what Aspergers is and accept people for what they are instead of making them fit what they think they should be.

  9. boomsoon permalink
    March 25, 2010 12:24 am

    Dear Curt and your family. As a lifelong Red Sox fan it is an honor to be leaving you a message. Our son Austin has the Autism disorder of PDD-nos. He also has a genetic bone disease called Osteogenisis-Imperfecta. He has had over 25 broken bones including his back twice and has had open-heart surgery to fix several defects. He is an amazing kid. Your interview on Hannity tonight was surreal for it sounded like me and my wife, especially talking about the type of discipline you HAD been doing. What guilt. That really hit home. I have been writing our story and recently went online with overwhelming response. I would again be honored if you looked at it sometime.
    http://www.austintistic.blogspot.com
    Any pointers on the publishing would be terrific. As we move forward, everday I see that the NEED for advocacy in these areas is in heavy demand yet with short supply. I am being led that way. God Bless you and yours. Thank you very much.

  10. vwmusum permalink
    March 26, 2010 10:50 am

    Curt – Saw you on Imus. I have extraordinarily important new information to share with you regarding Autism, Asperger’s and ALS! How would I be able to speak to you personally at your earliest convenience?

    Science  Innovation  Chronic Illness  Solutions
    http://www.neicenter.com/home.htm

    Veny W. Musum
    Senior Vice President
    John Paul Mitchell Systems

    Chairman
    NEI Center

    11 Gelsey Lane
    Basking Ridge, NJ 07920-3062

    Office: #908-580-0302
    Cell: #908-227-5209
    VWMusum@verizon.net

  11. March 27, 2010 12:16 am

    As a Yankee fan, I have to say that in 2001, you broke my heart. In 2004, you gave me an ulcer. However, today, after hearing your interview on Colin Cowherd’s show, you gave me hope. My 5 year old son was diagnosed with Autism when he turned 3 and that turned our lives upside down and we went through a lot of what your wife and you spoke about today on the radio show. Thank you for raising awareness and thank you for your courage to get in front of the public and be vulnerable regarding your son.

  12. eag7us permalink
    March 27, 2010 2:38 pm

    curt and shonda,

    i heard your interview on NPR today. I am always glad to hear about anypassed away in 1994 one who is working on behalf of children with special needs. I am a Special Education Teacher of student of students with severe and profound disabilities. Coincidentally, I also have an interest in ALS. My dad had ALS and passed away in 1994 from this disease and so I thank you for all you have done to raise awareness of ALS. I wonder if you have contact with Doug Flutie? He has a son who has autism. I met him on a flight to Boston in January. I again, I appreciate it when Sports figures and other famous folks are real people and do so much to make life better for others.
    Curt, On my wall, I have a framed Time magazine cover ( The Joy of Sox!) of the Red Sox World Series win

    Sincerely

  13. April 6, 2010 11:15 am

    Curt and Shonda,

    I recently became aware that your son has asperger’s. I work at a restaurant in Northboro, MA called Romaine’s. Richard Romaines oldest son Connor has Asperger’s. Last year he started his first BBQ for Autism. This Sunday April 11th will be his second. I wanted to extend an invitation to you and your family if you would like to join us in raising money for the cause. The details are in the link below.

    http://www.bbqforautism.org/

    Thank You,
    Kimberly Reed

  14. hof24 permalink
    March 6, 2013 7:45 am

    regarding ALS…has anyone here ever heard of Neuralstem. Check them out and also do a search on recent articles about them over the past couple years (ALS, paralysis, depression.etc etc etc). AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

