Skip to content

A look a wild day in baseball

December 14, 2009

Holy #$!&!

Just read the news … busy day.

They obviously feel John Lackey possesses the stuff to succeed over the next five years pitching at Fenway. I don’t think this precludes them from signing a LF, maybe they’ll say that but they have the money if they want to sign Jason Bay or Matt Holliday.

Five years, especially for a pitcher — one that came into the year unhealthy — is a huge change for them. I am thinking they just didn’t want to part with the prospects Toronto was asking for. Be interesting to hear the TRUTH about the players Toronto might have been asking for.

As far as first base goes, Nick Johnson is out there, right? Theo has always loved him. Casey Kotchman could certainly play first and be a good player if they go that route. Not going to hit for power but certainly lengthens the lineup for opposing pitches when thinking about hitters and working counts. He’s a guy that can grind out some lengthy AB’s.

Surprised at the length, and the dollars of Lackey, to be honest. If it is $85 million that’s $17 million a year if it’s all guaranteed. Certainly makes you wonder what their plans are for Josh Beckett, because he certainly can sit at the table, look at this deal and expect the very same offer from them on an AAV basis.

Man, I can’t understand the Philly angle though. Yes I think Roy Halladay is far and away better, by a lot, than any of the guys being mentioned here, but I would have given up the players to have Lee and Halladay in my rotation for at least a year, and worked a deal to extend Lee as well. That’s, with that lineup, guaranteeing a post season trip for the next 3-4 years.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Bill permalink
    December 14, 2009 9:27 pm

    I hear ya Schill. Now Mike Cameron? Hard to doubt Theo since he brought you to town but Cameron, Boof and Hermida? Glad to have Lackey. Reminds me of the 04 rotation but a little deeper. What are your thoughts on acquiring Gonzalez, Miguel Cabrera or Prince?

  2. Steve permalink
    December 15, 2009 1:10 am

    I cannot understand giving Lackey the 5th year. He has had health concerns in the past and will be 36/37 at the end of the contract. I would have instead like to have seen us part of the 3 way deal that brought Cliff Lee to boston in excange for what appears to be mid level prospects.

    I hope the news of the day means the front office has a plan to land a big bat (AGon) or something else in the works.

    keeping my fingers crossed,
    Steve

  3. Mike permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:00 am

    Curt –

    I like the signing of Lackey – great rotation top to bottom (assuming above average Dice-K).

    But can you help me get excited about Mike Cameron? He’s a 37-yr old journeyman outfielder with a lifetime .250 average and we want him to replace Jason Bay. In 15-MLB seasons, Cameron has never hit over .275, has hit 30 HRs once, hit over 100 RBIs onces (a decade ago), strikes out as much as Wily Mo Pena.

    I think the Sox will now be on his 7th team in 15-years … unless it’s part of a larger move, I don’t like it.

  4. Andrew permalink
    December 15, 2009 9:51 am

    I don’t think the Lee Halladay thing makes sense at all…

    You literally can’t pitch better than Lee did throughout the playoffs… Maybe Halladay will give you more innings throughout the course of the season but when it comes to the postseason Lee’s got a leg up on Halladay given his years playing with a team that hasn’t made the playoffs since the 90’s!

  5. Ben permalink
    December 15, 2009 1:58 pm

    Agreed! I like how Schilling pointed out that info about Kotchman. Everyone has been shaking there head over this. I liked the move from day 1 and to be honest i’ll be saying i told ppl so in October 🙂 Go SOX!!!

  6. December 15, 2009 2:01 pm

    Curt would you have ever considered to pitch for the Yankees? I ask because I find it hard to believe that Lackey would be willing to go toa team thas has been such a thorn in the side of the Angels over the years. I guess I’m naïve in my thinking, but this one just doesn’t sit well with me.

  7. December 15, 2009 2:03 pm

    Curt would you have ever considered going to pitch for the Yankees? I ask because I find it hard to believe that Lackey would be willing to go to a team that has been such a thorn in the side of the Angels over the years. I guess I’m naïve in my thinking, but this one just doesn’t sit well with me. I understand his going for the best possible contract, but to an arch rival?

  8. Bill Gilman permalink
    December 15, 2009 4:18 pm

    Good take Curt,
    I feel the red sox should keep Lowell (this makes sense because you could sign him when Papi’s contract expires after this year), and Elsbury (move him to left. They should also sign Becket to at least the extension they signed Lackey for…I don’t understand what the problem is w/ the front office… They are going to have to move on from Papi after this year, if not what are their plans for Papi? you got the inside scoop don’t you? Don’t trade Elsbufrry for any circumstance… when was the last time we had 70 stolen bases… The team as it is now can easily compete or win a world series title …. don’t bleep it up by trading Elsbury.

  9. Mike Jacobs permalink
    December 15, 2009 6:53 pm

    If I’m Theo, I put Mike Cameron in center. Re-sign Bay for LF. Finish trade of Lowell and sign Beltre for 3B….package Buchholz and Ellsbury to San Diego for Adrian Gonzalez.

    Cameron
    Pedroia
    Victor
    Adrian
    Bay
    Beltre
    Papi
    Drew
    Scutaro

    Awesome freakin lineup. The Sox have 2 stud outfield prospects that will be ready by 2011 or 2012. Ellsbury is expendable and Drew’s enormous contract will finally be up in a couple years. Guarantee this will be our opening lineup. Cameron won’t play LF…he was signed for CF and my gut says San Diego’s GM said he wants Ellsbury to patrol the giant centerfield at Petco Park along with Buchholz and that is why Theo signed Cameron.

  10. Julia permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:49 pm

    Schill, I couldn’t agree with you more. I’m not sold on Lackey since he has health issues and a crappy attitude to the sox in the past and the fact that he cannot pitch well in Fenway. I would’ve rather had Lee or Halladay and given up Westmoreland and/or Buchholz. They better sign Beckett to at least a 5 year extension. We NEED him. No matter what the cost. $18/5 years is fine with me. I wish they would’ve signed Lackey to only 3 years bc i have a feeling we will be paying someone to take him off our hands by then. Now spend the money to get Bay back and then trade for A. Gon! Now that’s a World Series team!

  11. December 16, 2009 5:36 am

    I definitely don’t love the Lackey deal — and I’m not overly enthusiastic and/or confident in the reports about DiceK. Even at the top of his game and condition, his style is frustrating and risky. I would’ve preferred Halladay personally, and I would’ve definitely traded to get him. Our pitching was less than consistent last year, and I don’t know how they see that changing without making some strong changes and additions. Not sure what they’re thinking, but we all know what happens when there’s an infatuation with certain players….. hence our rotating short stop position.

  12. Julia permalink
    December 16, 2009 2:05 pm

    PLEASE DO NOT TRADE JACOBY!!! We need him! More than we need Cameron. Give em whoever else for A. Gon but don’t you dare trade our lead off hitter and #1 base stealer in the MLB!!! That would be one of the stupidest things for Theo to do. He does that, then who knows if Lester, Youk, and Pedroia are safe after next year!

  13. pat permalink
    December 17, 2009 11:26 am

    Curt, I didn’t know how else to contact you.
    I remember the ALS benefits you used to have in Philly & I have a friend with ALS and she is deteriorating rapidly. We have an auction set up to try to raise some money for her care. If you can help please email me and I’ll send you a link to the site.

  14. Adam permalink
    December 23, 2009 8:24 am

    Mr. Schilling, I know you have vehemently denied ever using steroids in the past. What do you have to say to the critics out there that say you had your best two years in the middle of the steroid era (01,02) at the age of 34 and 35? You had 45 wins with over 500 innings pitched in those two years. Doesn’t that sort of production at that age warrant some questions? Not to mention successfully pitching into your 40s?

    As I’m sure you know the game in that era was tainted, what makes anyone believe that the two best pitchers in the national league in 01 and 02 were clean? (Randy Johnson at age 37 and 38 being the other) As well as having suspected users in Matt Williams and Luis Gonzalez on that roster?

    I have always respected the way you played the game and any thoughts would be appreciated.

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

