Skip to content

Curt Schilling Discusses Pedroia, Bay on D&C

December 3, 2009

Curt Schilling checked in with the Dennis & Callahan Show on Thursday morning to discuss Tiger Woods, global warming, Jason Bay’s free-agent foray and the idea of moving Dustin Pedroia — a Gold Glove second baseman — to shortstop. To listen to the interview, click here. Highlights are below:

If you’re still pitching, do you want Pedroia at shortstop or second base?

I don’t care. The one thing you know about Pedey is Pedey’s going to catch the ball. And if I’m going to give up a little bit of range at shortstop, which I might do, and I’m not saying I would, because I know Pedey’s on a program this winter to drop a lot of weight and create some more range, more flexibility, and all things that go with that – the guy could probably be a Gold Glove shortstop. I mean, he’s that good.

Can he create arm strength to make the throw?

Listen, David Eckstein played short for what, 10 years, and David Eckstein and Shonda could throw somewhat similar. And I loved him. It’s about making accurate throws probably as much if not more than making strong throws. And Dustin could play shortstop in the big leagues. I would argue he’d be up in the top four or five of all the defensive veterans at the end of the year.

How about adding Orlando Hudson to the mix, another gold glove at second base?

I love Orlando Hudson. And if you check out why I love him, just check out his numbers, I don’t know if I ever got them out, but the guy can play. He’s a game changing defensive player too.

Were you surprised that they let Alex Gonzalez walk? You loved him too.

Yeah, I don’t know if they let him walk. I don’t think they were expecting him to sign that quickly. I think that if you had assessed everything coming out of Toronto’s situation, you would have known they weren’t going to sign him. And I don’t that they expected them to address that problem first and foremost with everything else going on and them signing Alex that quickly I think kind of caught everybody off guard.

This requires speculation, not knowledge. Is Jason Bay the kind of guy that chases every last nickel?

No, I don’t think so. I think he gets paid, I don’t think he takes a 20% home-team discount, I think the extra year matters. And I don’t think it’s going to be chasing that extra nickel as much as it’s going to be getting that extra year. And I don’t think Boston will be on the table.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Joe permalink
    December 3, 2009 7:55 pm

    Schil I hope you are wrong. I would rather they give Bay the extra Year, Than give us 10 years of looking for a power hitting left fielder Like we have been looking for a SS.. Sign him allready.

  2. empirelady permalink
    December 4, 2009 11:03 am

    Curt,
    I think for people to “lump” all public figures together and compare them is as about as disgusting as what Tiger Woods has done. Yes,it is rather surprising and stomach turning to think of what Tiger Woods has done,is doing. But for someone(I heard the radio show)to say that perhaps you did it as well truly makes me ill. Just because another athlete did it does not mean that you would do it as well,and I totally agree with you in terms of the athlete putting themselves in a position where something could happen. I truly believe that you have a great marriage,that you have never done anything of this sort,I was thrilled to hear you say so as well,and I applaud you for standing up on the radio to defend yourself,your marriage. The comment that was made against you is just pure ignorance and should not be allowed to just slide. For the record,my father is an attorney who has travelled all over the world on business,usually for two weeks at a time. Just because he was away on a business trip did not mean that he was going to cheat on my mother. He never did have an affair,my parents still have a great marriage after 55 and a half years,and he still travels on business to the Orient three times a year. Good for you Curt! and I look forward to celebrating your 50th wedding anniversary.
    Donna Blanc,NYC.

  3. Sign Johnny Gomes permalink
    December 13, 2009 1:54 am

    We need to pull the offer off the table with Bay and go sign Johnny Gomes as a platoon player with Hermida in LF…Gomes mashes LHP and would also make a great DH against LHP while Ortiz rides the pine against LHP…

    A Gomes/Hermida platoon in LF could see a production of over 40 HR’s and 100+ RBI’s at a faction of the BAy price…

    Gomes does strike out a lot but so does Bay…Hell Gomes may hit 50 HR’s in Boston…

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

