Skip to content

Curt Schilling on D&C Discusses Decision Not to Run

September 24, 2009

Curt Schilling went on the Dennis & Callahan Show on Thursday morning, and discussed his reasons for electing not to run for the vacant Massachusetts Senate seat. A transcript of that part of the conversation follows. To listen to the complete interview (in which Schilling also discussed the state of the Red Sox heading into the final days of the regular season), CLICK HERE:

Was the decision to withdraw personal or was it related to Scott Brown?

Totally internal. I didn’t even get a chance to push the outside pieces and figure out where they fell. I can’t commit the time. At the end of the day, if I wasn’t going to have the chance to be literally all-in from a commitment standpoint, there was absolutely no chance I was going to do it. Maybe it’s naïve or ignorance, whatever you want to call it, but I was going in with the thought that I was going to win this thing and what that would mean. I don’t think that would have made my marriage and my relationship with my children better. If you want to talk about external forces, first of all, I could care less who’s running. If I was running, I was running with the thought that I could kick everyone’s ass who’s in it. I’ve got some friends who are going to be out and about and involved in the next round of elections, both in state and in government. I’ll do what I can do when I can do it.

I talked to Sen. McCain. I had a really good chat with him. I wanted to make sure he heard it from me first, because he’s been someone I’ve talked to repeatedly through the process. He’s been somewhat of a mentor over the last couple of months. It’s interesting, because I was going to announce it and then I was going to follow it up immediately by talking about potential people I was interested in being involved in, and he said, ‘Do me a favor, and do yourself a favor. Do not mention anybody else’s name until you’re 100 percent sure that you’re going to support that person and that person stands for the things you believe in.’ I took that piece of advice to heart.

What were the family considerations?

If you really sat down, and I did this, and started to write down what it might mean, you’d quickly come up that you’d better have an open slate for the next couple of years. Open meaning: you’re not committed to raising kids, you’re not committed to being at home, you’re not committed to being around for your wife and family. We did that for 19 years.

Did you figure out the cost of running?

I was led to believe it probably wouldn’t cost me anything if I wanted to [run]. There was enough support financially. That was one of my big dilemmas. There was enough support financially for me not to run on my dime. I talked about this earlier. I don’t know the intricacies of campaign financing from the standpoint of what you can and can’t do. I know you can’t take checks from special interests – or you can take checks from special-interest groups, but you just can’t let people know about it. I was going to be able to do this probably without cutting a check for anything. In this day and age, with the financial situation both locally and nationally, I wasn’t sure that would have been the responsible thing.

Were you concerned that fundraising for your campaign would lead to tradeoffs with fundraising for ALS research and the SHADE Foundation?

I posted on my blog yesterday, one of the concerns and one of the things Sen. McCain said, was maybe down the road you’ll decide to do this, but right now focus on the things you guys are committed to, which is your wife and your kid, and ALS and the SHADE foundation. That’s about 24 to 28 hours of work a day already. So it becomes easy when you start to lay those cards on the table and realize what playing them means.

Thank you to everyone who reached out to me and voiced their support of my potential bid. I received just an enormous amount of support. I’m incredibly appreciative of that. I think it was legitimate, in the amount of hate mail I received, that people were honestly concerned and worried. That made me feel good as well.

Will you campaign for and support Scott Brown?

I have intentions of supporting somebody. Right now, I’m doing my due diligence. I have received the information I’ve asked for from the people I’ve asked it from, to go through their platforms, to understand what they’re trying to get done. When my choice becomes clear, I’ll make that public.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Todd permalink
    September 24, 2009 12:39 pm

    As someone who is afraid that there could be enough stupid people to elect you, I thank you for this decision, although the loss in potential blunder clips will be painfully felt by news stations, comedy show, bloggers, and media outlets.

  2. John Vettel from Nevada permalink
    September 24, 2009 11:59 pm

    I sure agree with your implication that we need plain speaking, ordinary folks with good, common sense and a desire to protect and defend this nation and our constitution to run for office at all levels, and especially the federal. If I were to run for Congress, I would serve no more than two terms and would offer the following legislation (for starters)
    1. Congressmen and senators would be limited to two terms period.
    2. The number of staffers would be limited to one secretary who would be paid no more than $40,000 a year (adjusted for inflation)
    3. Congressmen and Senators would be required to contribute to Social Security, and could invest in any other retirement program they wished.
    4. Congressmen and Senators would receive $100,000 a year pay plus a reasonable expense account. They would have unlimited travel between their home state and Washington on commercial airlines.
    5. They would be provided with a washington DC home while in congress that would be the property of the citizens of their home state. This would be in an apartment or condominium type building and would be walking distance from the legislature.
    I would hope that we can elect people to federal offices who would consider these or similiar measures. We need to get this country rid of professional politicians and back on track.. It’s about freedom.
    Good Luck
    John

  3. Bill M. permalink
    September 25, 2009 6:50 am

    Curt, Do us all a favor and just shut up.Face the facts,you have reached the washed up,over the hill, ex jock stage of your life. Nobody wants to hear your mouth anymore. Go away!

  4. Rob Fulton permalink
    September 25, 2009 10:05 pm

    Curt, with your history and your celebrity, I am confused as to why you would not try and make a difference. I understand the priority you have with your family, but you could help.

  5. Babe Ruth permalink
    September 26, 2009 11:48 am

    How many posts do you need on this Curt?

    Of course you shouldn’t run. Everything you’ve explained has been about YOURSELF and not MA.

    We need leaders who care more about the people and the laws of the land than “I” “I” and “I”.

  6. Jeff Mills permalink
    September 27, 2009 12:59 am

    Rush Limbaugh said last week that Independent votes would mean a vote for the Democrats and would hurt Republicans. I disagree. I think that this country is slowly but surely moving towards being an Independent nation and a third party will be a factor by the year 2016. You’re right, Curt. The majority of people in this country are sick and tired of the way the Democrats and Republicans talk a lot yet do so little. They spend most of their time attacking each other that they lose sight of who they’re supposed to be representing-the people.

  7. September 28, 2009 6:42 pm

    It’s a shame you’ve decided against running, Curt. I personally think you would do awesome in office. Good luck for the future!
    – Yuugi, a loyal fan of yours, the Orioles and the Fightin’ Phils for life.

  8. Keith permalink
    October 1, 2009 7:58 am

    Stand-up thing to do. Despite my misgivings about some of Sen. McCain’s policy positions, I do have great respect for him and what he has to say. Sounds like you got good advice.

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

