Skip to content

Just doesn't make sense right now.

September 23, 2009

It may never make sense for me to do it, but right now it certainly does not.

Given the amount of things going on, I cannot in good conscience even consider running for the open Senate seat here in Massachusetts.

While I sincerely appreciate the outreach and the kind words I’ve received, I think at the end of the day it would be the wrong decision for all involved for me to attempt this.

I wouldn’t have even considered it if I didn’t think I could win. I don’t think I possess the experience I would want, or the time needed, to commit to doing this.

This state is in desperate need of someone new, someone fresh, someone completely dedicated to the constituents of the Commonwealth. While I think I would be all three, it’s a 24-hour-a-day, 7-day-a-week, 365-day-a-year job, and 38 Studios, my family, ALS and Shade are the things that I need to commit my time to right now.

To those that have extended offers of help and encouragement, I sincerely appreciate it all.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. mike permalink
    September 23, 2009 11:11 am

    Curt, this state needs someone like you representing us in Washington. Its very sad to hear your not up for the task!

  2. superbowljets permalink
    September 23, 2009 12:37 pm

    *bloody*

  3. John permalink
    September 23, 2009 12:41 pm

    Great job on Joe Buck Live last night. Are Boston pronunciations are rubbing off on you? I’d never heard anybody pronounce “hyperbole” as “hyper-bowl” before.

  4. Son of Bunny permalink
    September 23, 2009 1:44 pm

    Dear Curt:

    Let me preface my comments by thanking you for what you did for my family and all of Red Sox Nation in 2004. Your persona and performance, from the Spring Training Dunkin Donuts commercial, all the way through the “bloody sock” were truly heroic. It was Schilling’s will, Sox Nation’s greatest thrill, no more Brokenheartsville!

    I saw your recent appearance on HBO with Joe Buck last night. Great decision not to run for Teddy’s seat. No friend of Ann Coulter’s belongs in public office. Comparing her to Bill Maher is, pardon the pun, way off base. Bill Maher is an entertainer and commedian. Ann Coulter is an entertainer masquerading as a serious commentator. Their views may be equally extreme, but their intellectual integrity is miles apart.

    Also, if you’re going to continue using your celebrity to speak out, which is certainly your right, you may want to work on your vocabulary. Then again, you could do us all a favor and say nothing, just like you did before Congress. The word hyperbole,(hi-per-bowl, as you pronounced it) is not some New Year’s day game for retired jocks. The word is pronounced, hi-per-bo-lee, and is what you’ll be using to embellish your accomplishments as you lobby the sportswriting establishment for induction in to the Hall of Fame.

    Thanks for all your great work on behalf of ALS and Shade. Based on your appearance last night, a Nutrisystem endorsement may be in your future as well.

  5. Jason Bradley Miller permalink
    September 23, 2009 4:42 pm

    Curt, you are a good man, a family man, and obviously a fantastic, legendary big game pitcher.

    You are right about the candidates running for political office in America today.

    I wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    Jason Bradley Miller

  6. Rocky Bruno permalink
    September 23, 2009 6:27 pm

    I think you should check out Get out of our house, that’s GOOOH.com
    Screw the Republicans & Democrats, All they want is power & our money. I think you’ll find GOOOH very interesting.

  7. Rich Longstreth permalink
    September 23, 2009 6:59 pm

    Curt, I am a native of Seattle and I will be happy donate to your campaign if and when you decide to run. We need common sense, straight-talking conservative-thinking people look you in DC. I don’t think I’m alone among your supporters outside of Mass. Put me on your list of potential contributors/supporters.

  8. walter wilson permalink
    September 23, 2009 7:31 pm

    thank god.

  9. David permalink
    September 23, 2009 9:04 pm

    That is some great news, you made the right move.

  10. September 23, 2009 9:58 pm

    Happy to hear it. Keep visiting the troops and veterans and running Curt’s Pitch for ALS-these are your best (and probably most fulfilling) contributions to your country. We love these things about you.

  11. September 24, 2009 1:41 am

    I think you made a great decision despite all the pressure you had on you.

    Now on to a completely unrelated subject. I don’t know much about you or your gaming company but I do know you are a great pitcher. As a Rockies fan, lets just say I am really glad you are not pitching anymore…but if you did pitch again please pitch for the Rockies.

  12. Brian permalink
    September 24, 2009 9:01 am

    Curt, I’m sorry to see that you don’t plan to run. I think that you would have made the dialogue of the campaign more interesting and made the other candidates more accountable for their words and promises.

    I don’t agree with your politics, but I certainly think that you would have made the campaign better. That you realize your other commitments and family take a higher priority in your life is commendable.

  13. Tom Field permalink
    September 24, 2009 9:04 am

    I support your decision, Curt.

    You running for Senate would probably be good for you and for the state, but certainly not for your business or — most important — your family. Your kids need more of you, not less.

    Maybe another time …?

    best,

    Tom

  14. Nelson permalink
    September 24, 2009 10:27 am

    You obviously made the right decision with all of your other commitments to think about. There will be time in the future for politics when the children are in college and your company is successful enough to run itself. How is 38 Studios doing if I may ask? Is it making a steady profit?

  15. PerryC permalink
    September 26, 2009 9:04 am

    I told all my friends you were too smart to run.

  16. Scott Corliss permalink
    September 30, 2009 5:12 am

    Curt, this is off topic, but I couldn’t find another spot to post this for you. I just returned from a year long deployment and wanted to say thank you for your visit last fall. For many Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen and Marines in the Middle East, the greatest treat is to be honored by the visits we get. I rank your visit alongside the 1 1/2 hour show that Charlie Daniels played for us during my deployment. Those small moments make the totality of being away from family bearable.

    God Bless you.

    SC

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

