Skip to content

What it's like to be traded

July 31, 2009

I was traded five times during my career – four times as a major league player, only once as a minor leaguer. There is nothing like the first time, and being traded as a minor league player was far different than any of the other times.

I can remember it like it was yesterday. There were ironies abounding that day, as well…

Dan Gabrielle, Mike Carista, Todd Pratt and I were sitting in the Double A clubhouse in New Britain. That morning (we had a doubleheader vs. the Mariners that day) we talked about the rumored trade for MIke Boddicker for the first and only time. I don’t think any of us ever considered being part of a trade, but we openly talked about that very thing for the first and only time that morning.

Gabe was a No. 1 pick, incredibly talented and a great guy. Mike Carista was the most talented pitcher I had played with to that point, and Todd was catching, coming off a Rule 5 spring with the Indians.

It was both funny and ironic that we went around the room and talked about everyone’s chances… but mine. I never even considered being included, nor did anyone else. We thought we knew Brady was going, but we were trying to figure out which guy would make the other piece.

We talked about Gabe, but that he was a No. 1 pick we didn’t think they’d trade him. We all thought Mike was one of, if not the best prospect below AAA. No way they’d trade him. Todd was coming off a Rule 5 draft and seemed a logical choice if there was going to be another big prospect.

It was a simple 15-minute conversation, nothing more really.

I was slated to start Game 2 of the doubleheader and was in the clubhouse watching TV. The Double A clubhouse had the square footage of a mini refrigerator so there weren’t many options for roaming while waiting to get ready for Game 2. A big screen TV, training room table, a table for the hot dogs (post game spread) and not much else.

So I am sitting on the chair watching ESPN, and along the bottom of the screen scrolls

“Red Sox acquire Boddicker……..”

“Boston acquires RHP Mike Boddicker for minor league OF Brady Anderson and minor league RHP Curt Schilling”

Um, what?????

Talk about stunned, shocked, reeling, everything you can imagine.

That’s how I found out. That was how I was informed.

I walk out of the clubhouse to the dugout, Todd Pratt is on deck, I call him over, he leans to the screen and I whisper

“Dude I just got traded to Balitmore”

“No f’in way dude!”

“Yep!”

“Ok bro, watch, I’m going to hit a bomb for you”

I laugh. He proceeds to walk to the plate and launches a 450 foot homer to dead center (for anyone that doesn’t know the field at New Britain only Hercules and the Lord himself go dead central at that park).

I laughed, went inside, got a phone call I cannot for the life of me remember, and pack my things.

I flew to Orlando to meet the Charlotte Knights, the Double A team for Baltimore.

I ended up starting the next day. I was nervous as hell thinking “Man they are going to release me if I don’t pitch well, they are going to think they traded for a pathetic player!”

I got my ass handed to me, Chip Hale took me deep, too.

Not a great story, but man I remember every bit of the little stuff surrounding that morning. Little did I know 16 years later I’d get a shot at wearing the uniform of the team that had drafted me.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. DLandry permalink
    July 31, 2009 6:13 pm

    Mr. Curl Schilling Im a fan of yours for years throughout your career with the red sox from Ma. Congratulations with your retirement! but I read up on a subject that you indeaver on 38pitches.weei.com about your support on ending the federal reserve corp. well you know the importance in that well perhaps you can step up to the plate again to help in support with Ron Paul’s h.r.1207 bill and senator Mr.Demint’s bill S.604? please see this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1FiaUpeJxcA http://socyberty.com/law/times-of-chance-and-times-of-measure/

  2. GlennJoel permalink
    July 31, 2009 7:44 pm

    Funny, I’m from hard hittin’ New Britain, but since I’m about your age I used to go to the Bristol RedSox games (before they moved to NB) used to watch the games. Saw Jim Rice, Dwight Evans and Jerry Remy there when I was a kid. I live in Providence now and I bget to see many of the Red Sox players (including you, once) rehab there and enjoy watching the talented young guys. Anyway…thanks for sharing.

  3. August 1, 2009 12:55 am

    Mr. Schilling how hard is it for players to be traded after beinging on one team for a long time and then you get told you got traded. How hard is that for a young player? How long does it take that player to get used to his new team mates? I hope the RedSox Retire your number at Fenway. That would be cool!!!!!. You are the Best Mr. Schilling!!!!!!!!! I like all your entries in your blog you post.

    Jeff Riley

  4. bostonmig permalink
    August 1, 2009 11:18 am

    Curt, thanks for your time with the Sox and for this insight. Mr. Landry; Ron Paul? Really? One rung below Palin in the nutjob pool.

  5. tem2 permalink
    August 1, 2009 3:41 pm

    Thanks so much for posts like these, Curt. You have such a great way of showing what baseball feels like from the perspective of a player and the little moments on and off the field that make the game so much more than just a game. As a fan, it’s easy to get lost in the stats and forget that it’s all about the people.

  6. Mark permalink
    August 1, 2009 4:56 pm

    Still waiting for the brilliant explanation of two facing the PED news. Clown.

  7. August 2, 2009 10:54 am

    Great sports site man. I look forward to reading some more. I have a sports blog myself and I would like to exchange links with you. Let me know. Take care.

  8. Tom permalink
    August 2, 2009 3:12 pm

    Curt, no reaction to Ortiz? Why, cause hes one of “our guys”?

  9. Rachel C permalink
    August 2, 2009 7:54 pm

    To Tom and Mark….please read more than the first paragraph of a blog before chastising the writer. Good Lord, people!!!! He posted about Ortiz and Manny the DAY BEFORE this was posted. It is right there on the first screen! You are the ones late to the game here..not him!

    Anyway, before being blind-sided by more hate-mongerers who can’t be bother to actually READ, I actually came in here to comment about how great this post was. I love these insights!! They’re the kind of thing the fans don’t normally get to hear. Thanks, Curt!

  10. Suds permalink
    August 2, 2009 11:24 pm

    Curt, Great story I enjoyed it and your time here. I can’t stand these fing clowns that want you to be the moral savior of the Boston Redsox or major league baseball. I appreciate what you did for this town, and I would bet my yearly salary that you did not stick any needles in your body. I think you should write a book on your experiences in baseball and in life. Keep up what you do and say what you feel. I don’t agree with everything you say but I respect you for what you have done and I enjoy how you represent yourself.

  11. August 3, 2009 1:54 am

    I really like this recount.

  12. Josh permalink
    August 3, 2009 7:46 am

    Curt,

    That was WAY too short of a story. I need that in novel form. I could have kept reading. Hook up with Mike Holly and write one!

  13. sdl1 permalink
    August 3, 2009 9:10 am

    Curt…

    I think it was Ron Fairly who said in ’69 when he was traded from the Dodgers to the Expos that you know when you sign your first pro contract, you know you’ll eventually be traded.

    I wwas surprised that you had to find out from ESPN that you were traded in the Boddicker deal. Nobody from the Boston/New Britain front office informed you first…wait…Lou Gorman was the Sox GM then. That explains it.

    I know getting traded the first time when you least expect it is a shock, but was the “shock” still there when you were sent to Houston in the Glenn Davis deal?

  14. John permalink
    August 3, 2009 10:00 am

    Curt, we’re all just glad that the Red Sox eventually got you back! Never should have traded you in the first place, but the people running the organization in the 1980s didn’t have much of a clue.

  15. Doctor X permalink
    August 3, 2009 11:41 am

    You need to type more slowly for them Rachel C: they are MFY fans.

    Also, do not use big words like “blind-sided” and “read.” It confuses and angers them.

    –J.D.

  16. August 4, 2009 7:51 pm

    Thank you so much for such a personal take on the trading “game” from one who has lived and breathed it many times over. Geez, I can’t even imagine what you and all players go through as far as waiting for their immediate futures to be decided for them. Never mind, you have the immediate game and how you are playing to be thinking first and foremost about, but the trade stuff HAS to creep into anyone’s mind.

    Still, I think it’s a tragedy that they can’t or won’t notify players FIRST, and in private, sparing them the potential embarrassment or humiliation or outright shock of finding out as you and so many others have. I mean, in the grand scheme of things, that shouldn’t be too difficult for the “higher ups” to pull off, don’t ya think?

    To say I am a fan of yours would be an understatement (I’m a HUGE Boston sports fan, especially the Red Sox), thanks to my hubby!!!! Your courage and professionalism and old-fashioned goo guy personality continues to speak volumes, and will always do so!

    Go Sox!

  17. August 5, 2009 7:22 am

    Great story and it’s definitely interesting to see some of the inner workings of the league and the big announcements from a player’s perspective.

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

