Skip to content

I love inspirational people

April 9, 2009

I receive daily quotes from athletes all around the sports world through a pro-athlete website service. Some of them are very good. The best ones are usually the most simple. Today’s was a particularly good one.

The most rewarding things you do in life are often the ones that look like they cannot be done.~ Arnold Palmer

Off of that someone at 38 Studios sent me one from a book on Teddy Roosevelt that I thought was not only spot on, but pretty powerful.

It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2009 11:44 am

    I personally love inspirational quotes- and use them frequently in my own blog. The Teddy Roosevelt one I’ve used both personally — and professionally in retirement programs for military folks who have ceremonies on base.

    Love the one from Arnold Palmer. It’s so very true…..
    Thanks for sharing.

    Rebecca 🙂

  2. Yawkey Way Bum permalink
    April 9, 2009 12:05 pm

    wow this is deep. Palmer has some of the best and most insperational quotes of all time

  3. Sean permalink
    April 9, 2009 12:21 pm

    Pretty much our motto here at Mission Control Houston.

  4. Shindig permalink
    April 9, 2009 12:25 pm

    Not sure if this is the forum to do it, but just wanted to say how tragic it is that baseball has lost a young, talented pitcher like Adenhart. His death just seems like an incredible waste.

  5. earlraybillybob permalink
    April 9, 2009 12:33 pm

    Take that media!

  6. mitch williams permalink
    April 10, 2009 4:51 pm

    Wow. That was great. For someone to call another inspirational you really need to have a vision. It takes a special person to see that. Takes one to know one. Thanks Curt!

  7. john d permalink
    April 10, 2009 6:40 pm

    Hello Mr. Schilling. If you are going to continue to blog then I want you to step it up. You can be a very inspirational person and a “difference” but I want you to mean it and really step up your game sir. This has nothing to do with having an “R” or “D” next to your name. I always consider myself one that floats above on a magic carpet in my life and taking everything in if you will (an observer). I am a day trader on Wall Street and some days I am an “R” for tax purposes and other days a “D” because thats what shapes the companies/stocks I trade. But why? As a person who played sports you know how important it is for all parts to be clicking. I wish you would be an “I” (independent) not I as in you for self fulfilling reasons. Why did Mr. Bush go to war with Iraq and say we were fighting terrorism? Why did he smirk at the American public when gas prices were at record highs? Why does Mr. Obama tell us all banks pass a “stress test” (its all junk- they tell us all passed and now Americans should have renewed confidence in lending?) Why does Mr. Obama spend our money like a drunken sailor? Spend and TAX! Our government needs to be accountable! We need an online system. Put your video game knowledge to the next level. Why can’t someone step up and be a real inspiration and not make decisions based on a political party? Is it that out of the box? You are a rookie in your baseball retirement…..we need you to step up and lead- don’t give us all this rhetoric or what you think people want to hear…..come on Mr. Schilling you have a couple more innings in you… give us real inspiration…Please step up your game.

  8. Petrocelli6 permalink
    April 10, 2009 7:58 pm

    The Teddy Roosevelt Quote is from a short stroy called “A Message to Garcia.” It is a really inspiring story. Thanks Curt for reminding me of it… its something everyone should read at least once a year. Best Regards – Mike

  9. Zadok F. permalink
    April 11, 2009 12:14 am

    Of course, Teddy Roosevelt’s statement was referring to those “doers,” who actually work for a living–not people who have spent their adult lives playing a kid’s game. Yet we need our baseball heroes just as much as churches need their preachers.

  10. Matt Thomas permalink
    April 11, 2009 9:33 am

    love the inspiration! BTW…when is the next bracket coming out?

  11. Dougie "Dude Ranch" Mirabelli permalink
    April 22, 2009 1:58 pm

    C. Montague:

    Once again, you have brought me to tears. I haven’t wept this much since the ending of “Ernest: Scared Stupid.” If only you were here to hold me with your calloused longshoreman hands. But I digress…

    While I ready my temple of a body for the inevitable pennant-race calls from scores of catcher-deficient GMs, I too have been collecting inspirational quotes. Sometimes the best ones come on bumper stickers, like “Forget World Peace. Visualize Using Your Turn Signal!” I tell ya, that one got me through a really tough weekend — the deli was out of meatball parm sauce, my wife kept telling me I needed to put on pants when we have guests…it just never ends with that woman.

    Anywho, keep up the good fight, and if you need an opening act or a hype man for any speaking engagements that might come your way in retirement, think of Ol’ Douglas. Church groups, Elks clubs, Boy Scout dens…they all adore me. They think I’m a righteous dude. And they’re effing-A right.

    Dealt it,
    Doughie “Dude Ranch” Mirabelli

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

