Skip to content

3's vs. 14's!

March 20, 2009

Off to the next round, but before we go let’s look at the 15’s vs. the 2’s:

Jim Palmer (96 percent) over Dave McNally (4 percent)

Bob Gibson (95 percent) over Chuck Finley (5 percent)

Randy Johnson (88 percent) over John Tudor (12 percent)

And in the closest race to date, Roger Clemens 4,199 votes (53 percent) over Dave Stewart’s 3,696 votes (47 percent)

(And, in case you missed it, here were the 16’s vs. 1’s)

Now comes a great round with some fantastic pitchers!

Cy Young Region

3. Nolan Ryan vs. 14. Dean Chance

My Take: Eight Cy Young top 10’s, six top fives, 324 career wins and more strikeouts than Adam Dunn in a decade! The definition of power pitcher, in my opinion the greatest ‘power guy’ to ever take the mound. His neck-rope and subsequent pummeling of Robin Ventura (great guy in his own right!) was stuff of legends. Dean Chance will get laughed off but his career was shorter than it should have been and he was good when he played. Sub three ERA in a career spent entirely in the AL speaks volumes. But this might be the biggest mismatch to date.

[poll id=”9″]

Walter Johnson Region

3. Pedro Martinez vs. 14. Bob Welch

My Take: A .684 lifetime win-loss percentage, eight top 10 Cy Young finishes including three wins, two seconds (I think there are a ton of seconds that are wins in literally any other season), one third and a fourth. Should have won an MVP if George King wasn’t a hypoicritical idiot as well. Also, 3000-plus strikeouts. And in my opinion his 1999 and 2000 season are two of the top five pitching seasons in the games history. Now I’ll inject some personal bias. Bob Welch, sure he doesn’t match up with Petey, few can, but he was a damn good pitcher and a better person. My pitching coach in Arizona in 2001.  I learned as much from him as anyone I’ve ever been around and thank God he was someone I got to know in life. Personal issues aside, he can’t match up with Petey in a competition like this, but in real life I’d take him in a one-on-one matchup!

[poll id=”10″]

Lefty Grove Region

3. Whitey Ford vs. 14. David Wells

My Take: What should be the closest matchup to date. Whitey was seen as a stud and post season horse with an incredible .690 lifetime win-loss percentage, far higher than Boomer’s. Boomer has three more lifetime wins and played on teams that were not nearly as good on a consistent basis. ERA is where Whitey pulls away, though a strong argument can be made for the era these guys pitched in. Whitey was 10-8 with a 2.71 and Boomer was 10-5 with a 3.17 when he didn’t have gout in the post season. I gotta give that edge to Boomer. I’m voting Boomer.

[poll id=”11″]

Christy Mathewson Region

3. Sandy Koufax vs. 14. Rick Reuschal

My Take: The mismatch of all mismatches. Sandy Koufax, despite only winning 165 games in his career, has to be considered when talking about the best of all time. In a career cut way too short he did some things that to this day have yet to be repeated. Three Cy’s, one 3rd, a 2.76 career ERA, more than a K per inning. His 1963 to 1966 four year run has four seasons that could be in the top 5 of all time. In that 4 year span he went 97-27 with an ERA of 1.86, OVER FOUR YEARS! Add to that a post season record of 4-3 with an ERA of 0.95. In my opinion he’s a STRONG candidate to find a spot in the Final 4, with ONLY his short career being a drawback.

[poll id=”12″]

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob permalink
    March 20, 2009 7:58 am

    Dang it!
    I must have voted like a thousand times for Stewart, too bad.

  2. March 20, 2009 8:18 am

    I figure there’s two ways to look at the results of the Clemens/Stewart matchup.

    1.) Roger Clemens has the lowest percentage win of anyone so far.

    2.) Roger Clemens has the most votes of anyone so far.

  3. March 20, 2009 8:33 am

    Per Whitey and Boomer – you can always look at ERA+ instead of ERA to adjust for how these guys pitched compared to the rest of the league. Whitey’s career ERA+ is 133 and Boomer’s is 108, and he only had one season as a starter with an ERA+ better than Whitey’s career mark. Hard to argue about the quality of teams that Whitey pitched on though. That certainly made it easier for him.

    Good stuff.

  4. Rhayader permalink
    March 20, 2009 9:18 am

    I was glad to see Koufax here. The sad thing is that when he broke into the league with Brooklyn, he was a fireballing lefty with little control or nuance. By the time he learned to back off a little and pitch instead of throw, he had already basically ruined his arm (he took regular cortisone shots for the rest of his career). One has to wonder what he could have done had he avoided damaging his arm so badly early in his career.

    Still though, if I were picking one pitcher to start one game, I would pick mid-60’s Sandy Koufax. He made the game seem unfair, which is a hard thing to do in baseball.

  5. BCC permalink
    March 20, 2009 9:27 am

    Wow, a public (implied) slam on Petey. One usually doesn’t say that person A is a better person than person B unless person B is thought to be a… (insert your own term here). I look forward to how this will play out.

  6. Bill Manson permalink
    March 20, 2009 11:14 am

    Glad to see Pedro and Koufax in the three seed slots. I think an argument could have been made for putting either in the two seed. It will be interesting if they face one another. I think they may be the two most comparable pitchers on the list. That would be a real coin-flip.

    As for Dean Chance, why not Bo Belinsky?

  7. Bruce Berger permalink
    March 20, 2009 12:04 pm

    Poor Rich Reuschel – it’s such a mismatch with Koufax that his name didn’t even get spelled right (;

  8. Rhayader permalink
    March 20, 2009 1:33 pm

    @tony: Yeah this is a real appropriate place for stupid internet chain mail.

  9. Bob S. permalink
    March 20, 2009 5:17 pm

    I voted for Boomer Wells too. I think he is by far one of the most underrated LHP’s ever. He had a pretty darn good career. I always liked him and was thrilled when he came to Boston. One of my all-time faves.

  10. March 20, 2009 8:38 pm

    I just couldn’t bring myself to vote for Clemens, because I’m convinced he cheated to get some of his wins…don’t know how many of them. I can’t go with someone I think is a cheater, even if he cheated to win.

  11. March 23, 2009 11:20 am

    Your a loser Curt never had a good thing to say about anyone!!!! Glade I wont see you pitch ever again!!! I wish you would have left MLB a year after you started… every game you played i wished you would get hurt so i didnt have to see your stupid face!!!! GO YANKEES!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. BYE permalink
    March 24, 2009 4:13 am

    BYE!!!!!

    WHAT A BLOW HARD !!!!

  13. Andy permalink
    March 24, 2009 7:33 am

    Geez Curt, and I thought you had talent all these years, didn’t know that good old Jesus helped you. That’s incredible. Exactly what did he help you with? Did he teach you how to pitch? I didn’t think so. Did he teach you to be an obnoxious, self-centered idiot? No, I didn’t think so. So what exactly did “he” do for you that you’re so thankful? Believe me, you won’t be missed.

  14. March 24, 2009 12:05 pm

    Curt,thank you for bringing us our first championship Ithink it was mostly your presence alone in the clubhouse aside from your pitchinng that gave our 04 team the confidence and desire to win. you are a winner on and off the field sorry to see u go but the real boston fans will never forget u thanks mike d in RI

  15. David R. permalink
    March 24, 2009 9:05 pm

    Curt, YOU ARE DA MAN ! I’m a huge huge huge baseball fan. I’ve loved watching so many teams and players, from Brett to Yount to Ripken to Gwynn to …

    Anyway, you will always be one of my favorites. You’re one of the clutchest athletes I’ve ever seen. I also love the fact that you speak your mind. I’ll miss seeing you play.

    You deserve to be in the Hall of Fame, 1000 %, no doubt in my mind.

    David R.
    Goose Creek, SC

  16. big a permalink
    March 25, 2009 1:30 pm

    there are actually 97 people out there that think bob welch is better than pedro? i guess curt’s “he’s a better person” spiel really got to you people. wow.

  17. Doug permalink
    March 25, 2009 7:26 pm

    Curt, loved your game, but don’t take gutless stabs at Pedro on your blog. For a classy guy, it’s classless and you know it.

  18. Yankee fan 1949 permalink
    March 25, 2009 7:37 pm

    Good luck Curt. Thanks for the memories, even though some hurt.

  19. Donna permalink
    March 28, 2009 6:48 am

    To Rich and to Andy,
    Considering that when Curt posted that he was retiring,1,230 people responded(as of this writing)and almost all of them in a very positive way,I would say that you are very outnumbered. Curt has done a great deal, both for the game of baseball and off the field as well,is clearly a well loved man by many,is what I consider a beautiful human being,and if you do not share that sentiment,then you do not belong on Curt’s blog. For the record,anyone who wishes another human being physical harm,regardless of how you feel about him personally,makes me violently ILL. To say that you WISHED he would get hurt so you would not have to see him play should be considered a crime and is totally cruel and inhuman,a physical attack on a another human being. As for the religion part,and that of Jesus,we may not all agree on the same religion or have the same beliefs,but to attack a man’s religious beliefs is unthinkable to me as well. I believe that some of the things that have happened in my life had to do with God,happened for a reason known to him,and while everyone is entitled to their own beliefs,you may not agree with my way of thinking,do not ever trash someone for what they believe in. You are the one that I feel sorry for,for being so cruel and insensitive to others,and may I never see your postings on this blog again. This is a site for caring intelligent human beings,including Curt,which you are not,and clearly you do not belong here. For the record,it is not GLADE you will not be pitching again-Glade is a scented air spray. Curt,please keep up the postings and being on the radio,regardless of what these two say-and for the record,do not pay attention to them. They are just not worth the time or effort.

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

