Skip to content

What am I up to …

February 3, 2009

Well, besides being at 38 Studios pretty much every day around 10 a.m. — after visiting with Eric — I’m filling time with the kids homework (never had much of a chance to stay on top of that before), and trying to actually DO something around the house besides just live in it.

Starting to mess around with some old hobbies. Had an affinity for model railroading that my dad gave me when I was young, which has been fun. Also playing a lot of different new, and older games. There are a few I am hooked on right now, but the one eating most of my time is this! which, btw, you can download from Valve. Valve will soon be the way to get every game you want. Why drive to the mall or store, or order online, when you can get it cheaper, and immediately via a download service?

“>Also into this facebook thing. It gets addicting. Getting all my photos up and connecting with family all over the world is pretty cool. For you parents of teenagers, it’s a fantastic way to ‘snoop’ and keep abreast of what they are up to.

Two other cool links are Twitter and Flickr.

On Twitter and Flickr I am under gehrig38. Twitter is an instant messaging service you can follow friends on, a mobile instant messenger really, and Flickr is a free photo holding site you can upload photos to store for use around the web. Both of the sites you can control access to who can and cannot view your pages and material. Very cool stuff.

As far as baseball goes, I have taken the reins of the All Time Greats Pittsburgh Pirate Team here.

Off to a 16-6 start riding a hot Willie Stargell to a one-game lead over the Brooklyn Dodgers.

The league is being managed by some diehards and there are some cool blog reports on the league action so far. I only just heard about Musial going down:) Poor Cards …

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob Gaudreau permalink
    February 3, 2009 8:24 pm

    Thats some good technology your using. I really do appreciate you following Veronica Belmont on twitter. Kudos!

  2. February 3, 2009 10:22 pm

    Facebook is insanely addictive!!!! My friends and I are incredibly riveted to each other’s every move, LOL. But truthfully, its been a wonderful tool to reconnect with family I haven’t seen or spoken to in years. Now, we talk all the time. It’s good stuff.

    I haven’t been using Twitter as much anymore. FB is far more user friendly. Tweets become a pain, and you end up with stalkers. At least I did anyway… JMHO.

    Yes, the Cards…. 46 seconds out from victory. Aaagh…

  3. February 3, 2009 10:58 pm

    Always wondered if you played OOTP

  4. February 4, 2009 12:42 pm

    Curt i find Myspace alot better you can do a lot more with your page then you can with FaceBook… But great post

  5. February 4, 2009 1:48 pm

    Curt, Since you getting back into model rail roading you might be interested in checking out the club my brother is a member of. http://ssmrc.org

    So glad to see your still blogging. Your one of my favorite bloggers to read. Not just during baseball season, but all year round. I’m also on facebook and twitter. I friended you on both, hope you return the friending. Will understand if you do not. Jan

  6. February 4, 2009 2:45 pm

    It seems your link to Facebook is broken. I’ll go search for you the old fashioned way. LOL.

  7. Edgtho permalink
    February 4, 2009 10:26 pm

    Does this mean we’ll see Copernicus distributed via Steam? That would be awesome and a great business strategy. SOE started offering their MMOs through Steam and I hear the server populations jumped pretty high following that.

  8. Tucker permalink
    February 4, 2009 11:26 pm

    Curt:
    Love reading your blog and what you and the fam are up to. Curious as to how much the baseball blood sticks in your veins- if you find yourself standing in your living room, going into the stretch position targeting the ice maker on the fridge. Just wonder how much you stay in touch with your old teammates who have moved to other teams and where you see yourself in the game later on.
    Keep up the blog man!

  9. Joe permalink
    February 4, 2009 11:54 pm

    I don’t get that baseball game. Sometimes when I google random players their stats from 2015 come up. I’m like what the hell is this, and its that game all the time.

    If you like stat games play BaseballMogul2009. I’m not associated with the company, I’m just addicted to it. You can manage teams from as far back as 1900.

  10. Rick H permalink
    February 6, 2009 9:32 am

    Curt,

    Don’t know what scale you are into, but there is (or was) a pretty cool n scale shop in Sudbury called Kens. We moved from the area about 10 years ago but I believe he is still there.

  11. Adam Fitzgerald permalink
    February 7, 2009 1:45 pm

    Hey Curt,

    The historical baseball league looks interesting. How did you get involved and how to you sign up to play? Thanks a lot and I enjoy listening to you on The Big Show.

  12. Joe permalink
    February 8, 2009 10:31 pm

    Curt,

    I agree digital distribution is the clear future. Check out GamersGate. Its a platform easily as good as D2D and Steam, they just launched a client-free offering, and have a massive catalog.

  13. sdl1 permalink
    February 19, 2009 10:22 pm

    I’m behind on the times…MySpace is my limit đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

