Skip to content

Part 2: HOF 2009

January 12, 2009

Congrats to Jim Rice and Rickey Henderson. Well deserved. Following Part 1, here is Part 2 of our Hall of Fame talk …

Tommy John – Discussion: Wow, how do you win 288 games and strikeout less than 5 per 9? Never realized his career was that long and he threw that many innings. Explains the Tommy John Surgery! Even more, didn’t have a 2-1 BB/K ratio, more hits than IP, and still managed to win 55 percent of his games. That’s pretty impressive. Another pitcher who was really really good.

Jay Bell – Discussion: First  Jay Bell memory … I think it was 1986, instructional league in Florida and this shortstop for the Indians is supposedly really good. We play them one day, the next day he gets called up from IL to the big leagues and hits a HR. That got me to thinking I was always one day away from being in the show. A great teammate and all around great guy. I loved Jay because I thought he was a position player that might actually run slower than me:) Jay played fundamental baseball as well as anyone I ever played with.

Don Mattingly – Discussion: Faced him two times, to the tune of about 1000 feet worth of home runs. Gets my vote! Kidding. I always remembered this guy as a pure force on offense. Looking at his career I think it’s clear that he’s a first ballot lock HOF’er if he wouldn’t have had the back injury. He was a nightmare to watch. I never liked the Yanks growing up (due to being a Pirate fan) but I loved to watch Donnie Baseball hit. Seemed like a very quiet guy who just showed up and played his ass off. Even with the back problems the latter half of his career he put up awesome numbers for the time he was healthy.

Mark McGwire – Discussion: Dreaded this one. Mark is one of the kindest and nicest men I’ve ever known. Both he and Sammy put baseball back on the map after the ugliness of 1994-95. That being said I couldn’t do it. Had he stood in front of Congress and flat out denied ever using steroids/HGH then I think I’d feel vastly different. The fact that he didn’t gave me an answer in and of itself. I think the world of the guy and his massive amounts of work off the field speak as much about him as anything else.

For the rest of the list – Jack MorrisDale MurphyDave ParkerLee Smith, and Mo Vaughn – I’ll have to get back to you on. Until then I’ll refer you to WEEI.com’s Kirk Minihane’s list for a pretty good reference.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2009 8:52 pm

    “I loved Jay because I thought he was a position player that might actually run slower than me” LOL …I love that.

    You were a Pirate fan? Bet ’79 was exciting for you! You don’t hear of many people admitting to be Pittsburgh fans anymore.

  2. January 12, 2009 11:10 pm

    jeff ur a idiot curt nice blog bert blyleven was a 19 year old prodigy for twins.
    the only thing i disagree with you curt is tose teams werent crappy they just didnt hit. those twins teams had several seasons over 500. That was due to jimmy perry katt and the ace bly leven: 15 seasons of a sub 3.18 era 8 sub 3.ooera seasons .
    He would have won 320 easy. Take into account his first 6 seasons his era was in the 2.7s with 5 200k seasons but he had 2 17-17 years a 16- 15 season and the year he won 20 he lost 17. For 10 year streth his era was below 3 and 2000 ks. Longevity in his 16th season 1985 he was 17- 16 293 inn led the al in ks and cg24 sho 5 yes 24 cg the most since that year 4 seasons later his best and he did it with finesse 17-5 with 2.73 era and a league leading 5 sho. so in closing 1998 first ballot hall of famer in my eyes bert blyleven.

    eddie chandler Says:
    January 12th, 2009 at 4:25 pm
    oh yeah send this to the big show seeing those homers no nothing about any thing but there own teams the fact that dont recognize blys aceievements show how biase they are. Iam not even a big bly, fan despite my last blog but those guys make me sick they are over rated if it wasnt fo ther laptops they wouldnt know crap by the way i knew all of blys stats cuz i studied them i sugeest you do the same. iam not the only that cant stand these guys they talk over every one and if you dont agree with them they blow you up how orginal . if or when i get my foot in the door iam gonna rip you clowns down. I know more than they will ever know. sorry curt i love you bro you were a gamer thanx for the memories if you dont give it another go.

  3. January 13, 2009 1:08 am

    I am so Happy for Jim Rice For Getting into the Hall Of Fame!!!!! Congradulations Mr. Rice. Curt Have you had a chance to talk to Jim Rice? What did you say to Him? I hope you get into The Hall Of Fame Curt. You did a great Job for the Red Sox.

    Jeff
    Beaufort,SC

  4. January 13, 2009 11:24 am

    I feel great for Jim Rice. And I think Dawson and Raines will be there soon enough. Blyleven is the great atrocity. His name comes up every year from supporters more than anyone else, and I think that lets us know he should be there.

    My favorite all-time player is Dale Murphy, and his credentials make for a really interesting discussion. The biggest thing in his favor IMO is the back-to-back MVP’s. So few players have done that, and he proceeded to dominate the early and mid 80’s. The guy’s reputation off-the-field might be better than anyone’s, and if that has any merit whatsoever (which I think it should), he needs to be in the HOF. Honestly I understand both sides of the argument on Murphy, but I just know that whenever I think of baseball, I think of him.

  5. January 13, 2009 3:46 pm

    Gracie did drive in over 1100 runs. but what about garvey and buckner two of the better defensive 1b and garvey one of th e best

    buckner garvey grace
    game 2517 2399 2245
    abs 9397 8835 8065
    hits 2715 2599 2445
    dbs 498 440 511
    hr 174 272 173
    ave .289 294 .303
    rbi 1208 1308 1146
    fieding 99.2 99.6 99.5
    k/bb 453\450 1003-479 647-1075 obp383

    the similarities are great to me garvey is a hall of fame with these two just behind just what the stats show. Garvey was a dirt dog and the best def. 1b in history hit for power and 7 200 hit seasons 5 time fielding champ including errorless in 84′ . He didnt play full time till he was 26 and 5times in the postseason. Buckners eye was nuts he just made contact striking out close to 1\20 abs And in 1985 struck out just 25 in 629 abs . bucky falls short cuz of lack of power he needed 3000 hits that wouldve been the only way

  6. Jeff Mills permalink
    January 13, 2009 8:12 pm

    Here is another name to add to the list of guys who should be HOFers: Thurman Munson.

    In the 1970s the 2 best catchers in the American League were Carlton Fisk and Thurman Munson. Jim Sundberg was arguably the best defensive catcher of that era. I don’t know how many Gold Gloves Sundberg won, but I know it was more than Fisk and Munson ever won.

    Munson didn’t have the power that Fisk had, but he was Rookie of the Year and MVP not to mention being the captain of the Yankees. By most, if not all, accounts, he was THE leader of that Yankee clubhouse in the mid to late 1970s. I was only 7 when Munson died, but I remember him playing hard every inning of every game and he was one of the reasons why I initially wanted to be a catcher.

    On a final note, Dale Murphy should be a HOFer. Not only is he a class act on and off the field, he was very durable and I think he played 3 or 4 consecutive years without missing a game. He also won a few Gold Gloves and when the Braves were really bad in the mid to late 1980s, Murph was the #1 reason to go watch a Braves game. He was traded to the Phillies the year before the Braves went to the World Series and he left the Phillies to play for the Rockies the year the Phillies went to the World Series. Bad timing and a shame, too. He was total class and a helluva ballplayer.

  7. April 28, 2009 6:03 am

    My favorite all-time player too Dale Murphy

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

