Skip to content

To be clear

January 8, 2009

I am not sure some people are seeing or realizing how this whole blog thing works. At the top of this page it says “38 Pitches”, not “39 Pitches” or “Yoda’s Blog”, this is 38 Pitches, my blog.

Now that doesn’t mean anything other than this is a blog where I post my opinions and thoughts. Don’t take this personally but there is literally nothing in the history of my blog I have ever posted to please you, or meet your expectations. If something I say, or an opinion of mine is something you agree with, cool. If not, that’s fine too.

I don’t, and never will, post for either of those reasons. I post what I think, I post what I believe. Neither of those makes me right or just, they make me, me.

If you don’t like me, or you disagree with me, or you are so bent on the fact that I voted for John McCain you can’t sleep, don’t come here. Why on earth would you?

I am 100% positive I’ve made more than 1 mistake on this blog in the past. I am more than 100% positive I’ve said something that offended someone and I had no intention of offending when I said it.

Case in point. Ya it might be trivial to some, but my epileptic frog jog apparently offended some readers who suffer from epilepsy. That or someone who doesn’t like me posted as such to make the comments. Either way this is not a forum for that and if anyone was offended I apologize, that was obviously not my intent.

Many of you have commented “Stay above the fray”, “Don’t sink to his level” and more, and you’re pretty much spot on. However that’s not what I chose to do. I am flawed, just like every single one of you and speaking my mind and talking ‘off the cuff’ are somehow deemed great qualities and nasty traits at the same time by different people.

I can’t stand someone who makes a big deal about ‘telling it like it is’ or ‘saying what’s on their mind’ to emphasize their assertiveness or toughness. Neither of those is a ‘tough’ quality to me.

I do say what I think, I do tell it like I think it is. Neither of those makes me right, they make me, me.

It’s not that hard and sure as hell shouldn’t be that disturbing to people. Not to mention be that big of a deal.

If you don’t want to hear me, can’t stand my opinion, why the hell are you clicking on this link? Better yet, not only are you clicking on the link, you’re signing up for a WordPress account to leave a comment on a persons blog you can’t stand?? Who does that speak more about?

I don’t care if my opinions popular or unpopular, it’s mine. I do enjoy the back and forth here especially when someone calls me out and I learn something I didn’t know or my opinion changes upon further research, that’s cool.

CHB doesn’t permeate my thoughts or bother me. I get annoyed from time to time and to be honest I laugh like hell at you people talking about “Let him be” and “Why do you care?” when you cannot imagine what it’s like to have someone you have no respect for write demeaning and false things about you or your teammates publicly, most especially when you know them to be untrue.

You learn to deal with it, but there are times when you don’t feel like just ‘dealing with it’ and that’s the times when I say something. That’s certainly not been the best course of action over time for me and I’ve learned a little in the past 23 years.

The thing is, we don’t know each other. Short of meeting me in person, shaking my hand and talking, we never will. What you know about me, my thoughts, my family, my faith in the Lord, my love of the game, all of that, you know because people I don’t know told you.

This blog was a way for me to change that, and I like that. I can write what I want, when I want. Under the blog banner what I write is what I want and how I want. I don’t ‘work in the media’ as a few would like to think. The stuff I do for the column is writing on topics Rob and I think are relevant to sports but I’ve been given complete freedom to write whatever I choose to.

That’s what’s going to make EEI and this site so unique as the writers get more into the flow and the content gets fresher.

So in short, if you are interested in something I say, cool, if not, fine, go to someone’s blog you do like, or better yet start your own. I have no problems with people liking or disliking me, being human I’d prefer people didn’t dislike me but hey, that’s life.

38 Pitches will be blog posts of my thoughts, my opinions, my family and my career. If none of those are of interest to you then by all means please delete that bookmark.

56 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2009 6:56 pm

    Well said! You speak your mind and there is nothing wrong with that. Not many athletes, or people in general can truly say that they are honest people. It takes a lot of integrity and I admire that. I hope you continue your run with the Red Sox

  2. DeniseSoxFan permalink
    January 8, 2009 7:08 pm

    Hey Curt! I, for one, think you are refreshing! How’s the shoulder feeling? Hope it’s much improved.
    Denise

  3. JoeC75 permalink
    January 8, 2009 7:24 pm

    Well said again… Some people just don’t understand what a blog is for. Its funny as I read down the list of the comments to yesterdays posts at the people who totally disagree with your opinion and realize how hypocritical some can be.Yes, you wrote a piece that totally attacked CHB (who sucks anyway) but you have your own personal reasons for doing so. So they go right ahead (after taking the time to read the whole post, and sign up for an account) and say how its not right and thats not right. Don’t they realize they are doing the same thing??? Get over it people….

    I have always enjoyed your blog for what it is. I have had my moments where I agree and disagree but hey, no one is going to be happy all the time right? I again thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinions and being a person in spotlight who is willing to share their self with the masses.

  4. Chris permalink
    January 8, 2009 7:27 pm

    Well said, Curt. Much respect.

  5. January 8, 2009 8:15 pm

    Curt this is your blog and your opportunity to let people know that “famous” people aren’t really all that much different than the rest of us…ya just got more money :). But really I keep you in my RSS feed because you are interesting to read, honest in your opinions and I get to learn a side of one of the games that I love more than I ever would anyplace else.

    Your disagreement with CHB is well founded and don’t put up with crap that isn’t accurate.

    Besides if I don’t like what you write that day, I can either skim it then trash it and go on to my next feed article or else post a comment to tell you why I disagree with what you wrote. 🙂

    Harold

  6. January 8, 2009 9:23 pm

    I love your blog…you have the howard stern paradox..he became big by people listening to him that hate him and then they yelled about what he said..BUT THEY LISTENED… Curt keep on keepin on I agree that CHB is a douche….Zman sends

  7. Dana permalink
    January 8, 2009 9:32 pm

    Curt,
    I signed on to this blog because I thought you were talking about Dan Shaughnessy. So I’m assuming that CHB is an alias, something like “carrot headed bitch”.
    This is my take. I don’t know Dan Shaughnessy from a hole in the wall, but everytime I’ve listened to him speak, and everytime I’ve read his columns, I’ve thought this: He thinks he’s the Irish chieftain who carries the torch for Southie. There is a Belfast mentality in his columns. But he’s not in Belfast. He’s in Boston, Massachsetts. If he doesn’t realize this, he will continue to be someone who only models Irish culture. The real Irish would eat a guy like him for breakfast.

  8. Darren L. Pare permalink
    January 8, 2009 9:42 pm

    O.K. so basically you just want people to kiss your ass, tell you that you are right, and feed your ego.

  9. January 8, 2009 10:28 pm

    You don’t need to blog this stuff. Most people understand what this type of blog this is. It is not like you have a cause specific to this blog like Zionism, Open Source software, or Constitutional Law where you are trying to persuade people something ALL the time. If you like blogs check out:

    http://2008.weblogawards.org/polls

  10. Joe F permalink
    January 8, 2009 10:43 pm

    It’s getting ridiculous with these website comments anymore. Every website I go to their are a bunch of negative no-it-all’s. I believe it was on this site were someone was giving Curt pitching advice haha. Prob a little league coach. The funniest is when you log onto YouTube to watch a video and in the comments people debate which country was most responsible for winning World War 2. Meanwhile the video playing is something like “How to marinate a Ribeye Steak”. It’s been 63 years let it go already.

    But well said Curt. People should speak to you as if you were talking face to face.

    Seriously though I think that if you pitch next year maybe you should focus on keeping your landing foot more square to the target. I noticed you started to throw across your body which could of led to your shoulder problems. J/K.

  11. Patrick permalink
    January 8, 2009 10:52 pm

    The whole reason I read this is because you don’t try to please anyone and just post your honest opinion. What sense is ANY communication without that honesty? It’s why I quit reading the local paper or watching most of the newscasts I used to follow.

  12. DD1767 permalink
    January 8, 2009 11:40 pm

    You certainly seem to have a far greater dislike of “CHB” than I. Over the years I like to go to various sports outlets and follow my favorite sports/teams. I have, in my meandering read and enjoyed(some more than others) articles/commentary by him. Also, I have rooted for the Sox and you. Following from afar as my team courted and signed you. I knew it was a huge addition to a team that seemed to have made a move that could certainly have put them over the top. I remember how in the ’04 ALCS, you helped show me what it meant to sacrifice and push yourself to achieve something worth achieving. You seem to match the passion many of us feel about a sport/team we love. And maybe, taught something we can use in our own lives. I respect alot of what I’ve seen from you. I sometimes wish, however, your feud with CHB was not a public one. If it’s out there, we’ll look, it’s human nature. Good luck, God bless.

  13. BostonRob permalink
    January 9, 2009 12:14 am

    Well said as always. Personally, I love when you poke the CHB. You obviously know that he’s not exactly a well-regarded figure in RSN, and I, for one, always get a good laugh in your favor and at his expense when you call him out. He’s a joke, and you’re all class!

  14. January 9, 2009 12:43 am

    Curt-

    You said it all. Much respect.

    Stick around in 2009!

    Still owe you beers for the win in ALCS Game 6 in ’04.

    Stick around in 2009!

  15. Babe Ruth permalink
    January 9, 2009 12:55 am

    You just contradicted yourself. You’re telling people that they shouldn’t come here if they don’t like your opinion yet at the same time you’re ranting and raving about some reporters opinion that you don’t like. How does that work?

    Also, learn your own blog. You don’t have to register for an account to post here.

  16. Babe Ruth permalink
    January 9, 2009 1:04 am

    Oh and you do “work in the media”. They pay you to do this. I know you may have forgotten but that does qualify as a job.

  17. January 9, 2009 7:34 am

    I don’t think there’s a larger community of idiots who think they know everything and who’ve achieved nothing of substance in their lives than people who call into sports radio or comment on sports blogs.

    Curt keep doing what you’re doing – those of us with lives appreciate it.

  18. Dan permalink
    January 9, 2009 9:45 am

    WOW!! I can’t believe I just read this. Schilling apologized?!?!?! What next, we find out who really shot JFK? UFOs do exist? Seriously, seeing Schilling apologize for something has got to be the most unusual thing to happen this decade. After all, one doesn’t need to apologize when they are always right.

    Curt- you are a media member now and get paid as one, albeit one who has no true experience, as evidenced in your writing and lack of knowledge. Good for you for getting another similar job this year, getting paid for practically doing nothing. That’s back to back years for you. I definitely see you running for political office too, if you run next year and win (hopefully not in Massachusetts), that will be THREE years in a row that you get paid to do nothing!! Good for you Curt, have to admit, I am bit jealous, wish I was paid to do nothing all day.

    And the only reason why I read this blog? The good people at Boston Sports Media (http://www.bostonsportsmedia.com) (Bruce) linked this and said that you were going after Shaughnessy again (you can say his real name you know, when you are writing those other initials, it really shows how much he gets under your skin and *gasp*- that means Shaugnessy is WINNING). I wouldn’t have read this otherwise because I don’t care for your opinion, but wanted to read how much Shaughnessy got to you again. Stay retired please; the Sox are better off w/o you. You did notice that they have more SP then they need for a 5 man rotation, right? And that is w/o you on the team. Maybe that’s a sign for you? I don’t think you are going to be the Red Sox closer, I think they have someone already who got paid to actually do something last year.

    In summary- please leave the state of Massachusetts. Thank you

  19. shb permalink
    January 9, 2009 10:30 am

    well said.

    i’m a big fan and i like your blog.

    but by acknowledging him, you validate his existence as a member of the media. sometimes what you don’t say may be a more powerful tactic…

    fwiw, i think he’s a blathering idiot as well, and refuse to read his stuff….

    s.

  20. Chris permalink
    January 9, 2009 10:56 am

    You weren’t really clear at all, so try again. If you expect those of us who disagree to not click the link, you should probably not pick up the Globe. What’s the difference? You obviously despise Shaughnessy and disagree with everything he says, so why do you read it? The same reason those of us who can’t stand you decide to click on 38 bitches. The only difference is DS might have insulted you personally, while you’re just insulting every hardworking individual who enjoys WEEI.com. It would be one thing if you retired after 2007 or actually contributed in 2008, but you have done NOTHING in over a year yet we still have to hear from you.

  21. January 9, 2009 11:32 am

    Yep, I agree with you. It’s called common sense, and sadly most people still don’t get it.

    I’d like to get your thoughts on the Smoltz signing. He’s an awesome guy (and my favorite player) whose career speaks for itself, but as a Braves fan I think it sucks. And sadly I think he’s partly to blame, since both offers were good but the Sox was just a bit better. So why leave the town where you are a living legend for a few more dollars? I’m super disappointed in Smoltz right now as a lifelong Braves fan.

  22. Dori permalink
    January 9, 2009 11:34 am

    Just from reading a few of the comments on this entry…seems like no matter what you say the airheads aren’t going to get it. A Blog is an opinion and yours is interesting to read to me as a fan who loves baseball and the Sox and likes to hear from a player still involved in the game. You can relate circumstances and anecdotes that a reporter just can’t…so here’s what I don’t get. Why are the rest of them reading it? My guess is just to have the opportunity to whine back at you because somewhere along the line in your career you pissed them off by losing a game or some other nonsense.

    Get over it people…read another blog. I don’t always agree with you either, Curt, but I do find it good reading. Lots of people voted for McCain…I didn’t. Don’t think I’m going to stop speaking to them anytime soon. Silly…silly..and juvenile.

    Dori

  23. January 9, 2009 11:34 am

    You unleashed the epic “this is what it means to blog” post from hell! LOVE IT.

  24. January 9, 2009 11:49 am

    Amen.
    Though, personally – I don’t think you need to defend yourself.

    (From Dictionary.com)
    Main Entry: blog
    Part of Speech: n
    Definition: an online diary; a personal chronological log of thoughts published on a Web page; also called Weblog, Web log
    Example: Typically updated daily, blogs often reflect the personality of the author.
    Etymology: shortened form of Weblog
    Usage: blog, blogged, blogging v, blogger n
    ***************************

    I’ve often commented on other blogs that just because a person is a “celebrity” or “athlete” – they are people, first and foremost. People are human and are entitled to their thoughts, opinons and above all – privacy. (As in the cases with stalkerazzi media.)

    Just because you are a baseball player, that does not mean that you need to “rise above” and not speak your thoughts. We all voice our opinions – and clearly people don’t hold back on telling you how they feel on subjects, so why should you have to stifle yourself as well. So long as everyone knows how to joust and verbally spar in a non-violent manner – what’s the issue? (When I say non-violent, I’m referring to the literal threats, not the figurative ones.) Besides, the interaction is truly what makes a blog a blog – versus a static posting of one’s thoughts.

    I think everyone needs to just lighten up. Enjoy the blog, agree to disagree sometimes — or move along. Seriously.

  25. Sean Laird permalink
    January 9, 2009 11:54 am

    You don’t have to sign up for a WordPress account to make a comment here.

  26. January 9, 2009 11:58 am

    Curt, anybody can go to this site for any reason they so choose, just like you can make fun of epilepsy if you so choose. And before anyone gets on me for not understanding epilepsy, just know that some of my best friends are black.

  27. January 9, 2009 12:17 pm

    Stop taking yourself so seriously. We need more guys likw Tim Wakefield. They do the same charity work but QUIETLY!

  28. January 9, 2009 12:20 pm

    @Curt – Fair point, which you’ve made once or twice already.

    But also realize that since you have comments enabled then the blog is only “yours” until you get down to the comments section. If you don’t want to hear other opinions on “your” blog, then turn off the comments. There’s an option for that. Otherwise, stop complaining.

  29. cesar Paez permalink
    January 9, 2009 12:53 pm

    I think you are right and I totally agree with you. It’s good to know that you accept other peoples opinion and respect them, even if you don’t agree with them.

    I’ve commented on some of your opinions (and I don’t agree with you politically at all!) when I feel like my opinion might shed some light on the subject and I visit this blog because I admire you as a baseball player and as a intelligent person whose willing to share his opinion with the world.

    I had the chance to see you up close during your warm-up in pacific bell park in San francisco and you seemed so focused. I knew this would be the only chance I’d get to get an Autograph or maybe shake your hand, but you were so centered I didn’t dare distube you. You won that game and struck out Barry Bonds once.

    I could’t desagree with you more in politics and some other things, maybe because I’m just a Colombian young man whose finishing film school and lives in a country that has always been in the shade of the U.S. but I can always remember that day and admire a man so focused on what he does that everything he does seems correct. Know I wish i had asked you for your autograph but that time has passed. And now that I’m in Colombia, this is the only contact I can have with you, so It’s good to talk to you and I do hope you read all the replies to your comments.

    Maybe we can talk politics, even if we don’t agree.

  30. BTTG permalink
    January 9, 2009 1:31 pm

    “If anyone was offended, I apologize”

    Nice non-apology apology. What a stand-up guy you are. Enjoy the $8 million you made off with last year and have a second trip to the buffet on me.

  31. Greg permalink
    January 9, 2009 2:19 pm

    Thanks, Curt. If I have time I’ll post to my own blog about my thoughts on the nature of blogging, the paradox of open comments, why I read your blog, and exactly what I think of you–which in a nutshell boils down to respect.

    I respect the hell out of your athletic ability and the spirit that allowed you to push yourself beyond the normal limits of joints, tendons, muscle, and bone. I respect your work to help eliminate ALS and care for those afflicted. I respect and envy your video gaming mojo. I respect that you choose to be outspoken even when you know it won’t win you any popularity points. I respect that your faith is between you and God alone. I respect your politics even when I completely disagree with you.

    I just hope you’re not lumping in those of us who offer respectful disagreement and constructive criticism with others who spam your comments with disrespect and hate.

  32. January 9, 2009 3:20 pm

    Yes, Curt, we know what a blog is. We know what the internet is. We know what it is used for, and what we are allowed to do. When you leave the little button at the top that says “comments” active, then people are going to click on it and comment.

    Lets be clear. Nobody accidentally makes fun of epilepsy. You wrote that sentence with deliberate intent, much the same as you do any other sentence you blog. That being said, some of the people on this blog who read you clearly have no sense of humor.

    By the way “If anyone was offended, I apologize” is perhaps the weakest, most half assed apology since OJ penned “IF I did it”. Work on that buddy.

    The next piece of “fresh content” you write will be your first.

    And since we are making unfunny medical related jokes, I wish you contract AIDS.

  33. Chris permalink
    January 9, 2009 3:49 pm

    I wager that most people who reply to your posts with disagreements have a better understanding and appreciation of what they are entitled to than you do.

    If people disagreeing with your opinion brings you to make posts defending your right to have an opinion, than perhaps you shouldn’t be writing a blog with comments.

  34. Dan permalink
    January 9, 2009 6:45 pm

    I think Schilling got what he was looking for. He was looking for hits on the web site and by insulting people, he and WEEI got what they want. I am sure there are more commets on this and Shaughnessy’s post then all of the others combined. I certainly won’t look to read that garbage. I refuse to read any more of his comments and will not view WEEI.com any more until Schilling is gone.

    He is awful, overrated, and just not a good writer/blogger. WEEI- please let the public know when you get rid of Schilling so some of us can start reading some of the good things on this web site again.

    You posted 4 times in 2 days already… Don’t go away mad, just go away if you really want to.

  35. DONNA BLANC permalink
    January 9, 2009 10:22 pm

    Right on! or should that be Write On!(sorry about that attempt at humor). It is about time that you said something,and I am so glad that you said something in response to Dan today(posting above). I read your blog every day because I am very interested in knowing what you have to say,what your thoughts are on a variety of subjects,and while we may not agree 100% of the time(most of the time),I respect your opinion,value your opinion,always want to hear what you have to say. I also love the fact that we can respond to what you have written and that you allow us to do that. Nothing would give me more pleasure than to someday be able to meet you in person and converse with you,on a great many topics,but in the meantime,this is as good as it can be. I,for one,appreciate the fact that you take the time to do this,despite everything else that you have going on in your life,and doing so much for other people as well as yourself. So I absolutely totally agree with you that if people have a problem with this blog,they do not have to read it and should not respond to it. Why should they read it in the first place? As I said,I get great enjoyment from it and I thank you for doing it,for giving us your perspective,insight,and comments on a great many different subjects. Keep doing what you are doing for those of us who appreciate it and ignore the rest of them who cannot appreciate it;they are not worth it. By the way,as for the epilepsy comment,whether it came out sounding offensive to people or not is not the real issue. The real issue is that a human being who is as caring and compassionate as you are,and I see all of the great things that you do for the people with ALS,would never intentionally or knowingly say something that would hurt the feelings of people with a physical condition. I cannot believe or imagine you ever doing anything like that. So,regardless of whether it may have been insulting to some,anyone with half a brain who knows about you,knows what you do for others,and knows the type of human being you are should realize that you never would have said somwthing like that to hurt others. They can point it out to you that it may have offended some but should not make it sound as if you did it on purpose….SO for this post and for all others that you have written in the past,as well as in the future,I once again say Right On!

  36. Pilatesgirl permalink
    January 9, 2009 10:43 pm

    Wow, TT, aside from diareah of the mouth, you really should not wish upon someone a disease you live with!

    Stay cool Curt.

  37. Sheryl Sussman permalink
    January 10, 2009 10:41 am

    No apologies or explanations needed. It is your blog to do with as you see fit. As long as you stay true to yourself, that is what matters. Anyone that doesn’t accept that doesn’t need to be here. I don’t have to agree with every stated opinion to enjoy a bloggers comments. Intelligent writing makes good reading.

  38. Matt permalink
    January 10, 2009 12:23 pm

    I feel like I should point out to some of the commenters that there is a difference between disagreeing with someone’s opinion and insulting them simply for having an opinion. Curt said in this very post that he welcomes disagreement. Now, is he 100% correct in every he says? No, of course not. Was the epileptic frog comment tasteless? Yeah, I think it was. None of that means you should attack him for his character. If you want to disagree, that’s great. Just don’t be a douche about it.

  39. January 10, 2009 1:23 pm

    Curt

    I agree entirely. I enjoy reading your blog because you have strong opinions. I do not always agree, especially politically, but I like your thought processes. Its a problem now that every disagreement is personal. We should be able to argue and discuss without making it too personal. Also you and everyone else has the right to have an opinion. As for CHB I read him at times. Used to read him all the time. I do think he is overboard. Hid column is not a blog, if he wants to attack people be more honest about it.

    Remember Curt in this day and age chatting and blogs are like talking to friends. People do feel like they know you even though they do not. As for me if I am ever to meet you I would shake your hand, thank you for the pleasure of watching you play and for the pleasure of reading your blob

  40. January 11, 2009 12:06 pm

    So you just used, roughly, 20 paragraphs to tell people not to bother to comment on your blog unless they agree with you or are coming here to give your ego another boost?

    Duly noted.

  41. Varitekchick permalink
    January 11, 2009 5:09 pm

    It will never cease to amaze me how many people go to someone’s personal blog and proceed to tell them what they should or shouldn’t say. Not agreeing is very different from saying ‘You’re wrong!’ Unless, of course, you’re actually wrong. Heh.

    Curt, I think you’re awesome. One of my best friends can’t stand you. Oh well. The world would be pretty boring if we all thought the same way, wouldn’t it?

    I’m glad you’re here and will continue to enjoy your blog.

    ~Kay from snowing Minot AFB, ND

  42. Varitekchick permalink
    January 11, 2009 5:11 pm

    Snowy. It’s snowy here, not snowing. But give it a couple of hours and I’m sure it will be.

    When does the “edit” feature get added to this blog? Sheesh!

  43. Tru permalink
    January 11, 2009 7:50 pm

    So, you and CHB at the Fleet Center sitting on barstools is out…

    Bummer. I would have bought tickets.

  44. Paul permalink
    January 13, 2009 5:48 pm

    Curt,

    I appreciate your candor and availability to the public via the media. But as for this blog post, like any of us, your opinions will be at times provocative, at times incendiary and at times half-baked. But if you publish your thoughts onto the web for all the world to see, the responses too will be at times provocative, at times incendiary and at times half-baked.

    That said — keep it up!

  45. ModerationIsKey permalink
    January 21, 2009 8:13 pm

    Schill you were a great ball player and seem to be a pretty good human being. The only reason I’m posting is to respond to some fool posters.
    Babe Ruth he did not contradict himself. On his blog he does not attack you or anybody you care about, while CHB has attacked him and people he cares about…. HUGE DIFFERENCE!
    Dan why would you want Schill to leave Massachusetts? You must be one of those hardcore liberal Massachusetts nutcases. Schill has accomplished more with the Massachusetts community than anything you’ll ever accomplish in your life…. and he hasn’t even been here that long! It’s cool if you don’t agree with his politics and thinks he opens his mouth too often, but one can’t deny he’s a good person and you take delight in him suffering… what does that say about who you are? I’ll tell you and maybe it will broaden your horizons. Your comments dictate you are a terrible person for finding pleasure from the suffering of a good man. Your post also suggest that you are not and never were a Sox fan, because if you were, regardless of personal issues, you would respect and appreciate what Schilling did for the team while he wore the uniform.

    In summary – do not reproduce, because your offspring will have to fight a lifelong battle of trying to become a decent human being while having the unfortunate cross to bear of you being their father. And please do stay in Massachusetts… at least your vote doesn’t count here.

  46. January 22, 2009 8:19 am

    Well Curt,
    you’ve just answered what everyone askes me about why and what I do. Very well done!
    Please let me know if I can be of assisntance in the future with your ALS org again!
    Best to you and the family!

  47. Ken Cuneo permalink
    January 22, 2009 11:35 am

    Curt,

    I have always agreed with 98% of what you write….and enjoy receiving your insights on players and the game I most love. I have never quite understood the seeming antipathy toward you in some quarters….CHB being a primary exponent.

    I absolutely understand your occasional frustration and anger at CHB….its welling over and the desire/compulsion to respond. People who write saying that you should ignore the guy may be right in the ideal/absolute sense but most of those same people either have not experienced being attacked/having your friends attacked similarly or, if they have, would have the same feelings you do. Your reaction is entirely human especially when CHB’s actions/writings are egregious. Sometimes the decibel level or injustice gets high enough that it can’t be countenanced or dismissed. I don’t read CHB because I often have found his columns negative, unfair and venomous. It’s as if he were commissioned to speak to an angry segment of society whose purpose it is to tear down. Maybe that’s his designated role, “hit man”, at the Globe. Regardless, he embraces it with uncommon fervor.

    Anyway, I am in your corner.

    Sarasoxer

  48. Bibbin permalink
    January 22, 2009 11:53 am

    Curt, whenever you post on your blog it gives me a boner.

  49. Teddyballgame permalink
    January 22, 2009 9:32 pm

    Why would anyone believe a word you say after your “performance” in front of congress. CHB writes things that aren’t true? Like “I’ll pat guys on the ass, and they’ll look at me and go, ‘Don’t hit me there, man. It hurts,'” Or “You sit there and look at some of these players and you know what’s going on,” he says. “Guys out there look like Mr. Potato Head, with a head and arms and six or seven body parts that just don’t look right. They don’t fit. I’m not sure how [steroid use] snuck in so quickly, but it’s become a prominent thing very quietly. It’s widely known in the game.

    “We’re playing in an environment in the last decade that’s been tailored to produce offensive numbers anyway, with the smaller ballparks, the smaller strike zone and so forth,” “When you add in steroids and strength training, you’re seeing records not just being broken but completely shattered.

    “I know guys who use and don’t admit it because they think it means they don’t work hard. And I know plenty of guys now are mixing steroids with human growth hormone. Those guys are pretty obvious.”

    and then:

    “As I stated before Congress, I’ve never seen someone inject themselves or ingest PED’s, so for me to have any value to this investigation would have meant I would have had to name people I ‘thought’ were doing them, or in my opinion ‘were clearly doing something’ and I think that would have been incredibly stupid and harmful,”

    So did you know plenty of guys or did you make that up? You look pretty stupid trying to discredit Conseco now don’t you? So spare us the we don’t know you and your god crap. And spare us the if you don’t like me don’t read my blog nonsense. That’s not how it works big guy. No free lunch just because you need to be loved. You put yourself out there as some kind of a public figure expert the rest of us get to call you on your crap. Kind of like the right wing nuts you support so much. You know the ones who talk the talk but don’t walk the walk. Kind of like what you did when you had a chance to really do the right thing and you bailed. Yes we know you Curt.

    Speaking of frauds and idiots, welcome to the club. Read what you wrote, read what I said. I THOUGHT I knew some guys that did, I THOUGHT I had an idea of others, but to make a factual statement to either would not have been true would it? Idiots like you think, unlike me, because you THINK YOU know, you know. Sure ruining a career or life is cool by dopes like you, not me. I didn’t know for a fact anyone had, nor had I ever seen anyone inject or inject anyone myself, short of that everything else is speculation right? Only frauds like you, and Jose, are ok with ruining a career or life for the sake of being the ‘smart guy’.
    What I did in front of Congress was what I took the oath and swore to do, tell the truth.
    Oh and speaking of frauds, don’t mix and match my quotes CHB, nice try though. One of those comments was made in front of Congress, the other was not.

  50. Gazza permalink
    January 23, 2009 1:22 am

    Have you retired as a baseball player? Because you just put 8 million into your pocket and didn’t throw a single pitch. So stop blogging and do your real job. Get yourself better and pitch. I love you Curt but let’s get real…

    Save the bitching for a topic you are informed on

  51. Don permalink
    January 23, 2009 6:19 am

    Curt thank you for everything you have done for this community. I hope you don’t lose too much sleep over the a-holes they are just trying to get under your skin, most of em are probably yankees fans.

    Good luck in the future with whatever you decide to do.

  52. Mike permalink
    January 23, 2009 1:33 pm

    not sure of the dates, but I remember the chronology like this:
    Schilling negotiates/signs new contract (or extension….or whatever)
    Team then tells him he cannot follow his own Dr.’s advice which would have put him on the field around the All-Star break.
    Schilling abides by the teams recommendations/order and sees team Dr.’s
    Team Dr.s tell team & fans that Schilling “cannot pitch this season”

    Too bad the team & team Dr.’s didn’t listen to the “patients” Dr.
    As an aside, the teams Dr’s owe their loyalty to whom??? the team that pays them or the patient that they are forced, by a third party, to administer too ??

    Ask yourselves…if you were all required to see and abide by the recommendations of a Dr. that you are forced to see against your will and are told you will be financially punished if you follow the advise of your personal physician, what would you do????

    Explain to me how this translates into Schilling “screwing” the team or the fans ???

    just saying…

  53. Teddyballgame permalink
    January 23, 2009 5:08 pm

    Spin it anyway you want Curt. You made your typical grandstanding statements to SI and then got called into Congress based on your quotes and you didn’t stand by any of those quotes and you went right in the tank for the union and tried to attack and discredit Canseco. Boy do you look foolish now. Can you imagine the perceived character of the other 4 players on that panel including you when the majority of the general public believes Canseco was the only one who was credible. You had a chance to make a difference and you took the easy way out. No different then McGwire or Sosa. Nice to see your generation exiting the stage.

  54. stevo permalink
    January 23, 2009 10:29 pm

    Curt, we love you man, dont let a couple of idiots ruin your blog, just ignore them and delete the posts. Only idiots with no life would read a blog of someone who they hate and waste their time writing on here. Dont worrt about it!

  55. April 27, 2009 9:05 am

    If you don’t want to hear other opinions on “your” blog, then turn off the comments. There’s an option for that. Otherwise, stop complaining

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

