Skip to content

I can pack…

January 4, 2009

We were sitting around yesterday, packing for the trip back home and I started thinking about packing, moving, traveling. Twenty-three years after I hopped on a plane to Elmira, New York I tried to see if I could even contemplate the mileage I’ve traveled, and the times my wife and I have had to move.

I can’t calculate the mileage but was going to take a stab at how many times we’ve packed up our things and moved. I consider four weeks or more in one spot a ‘move’ since we toted everything with us.

1986

Arrive in Phoenix after driving from Yavapai JC (on the heels of losing in the JC World Series in one of the funnest and best years of baseball ever) and the following morning I hop on a plane.
1. Phoenix to Elmira (Elmira from June to August). BTW that was all for a whopping $750 a month – pre taxes – which I made it on by renting an attic room for 99 bucks a month!
2. Elmira to Sarasota for Instructional league (September to early October)
3. Sarasota to Phoenix for the winter.

1987

4. Phoenix to Winter Haven (March to early April).
5. Winter Haven to Greensboro, N.C. (April to August).
6. Greensboro to Sarasota for Instructional league (September to October).
7. Sarasota to Phoenix for the winter.

1988

8. Phoenix to Winter Haven spring training.
9. Winter Haven to New Britain, Connecticut (April to July). Traded from Sox to Orioles (Brady Anderson and I for Mike Boddicker).

10. New Britain to Charlotte, N.C. (August)(10)

Called up to the Major Leagues
11. Charlotte to Baltimore (September).
12. Baltimore to West Palm for Instructional League.
13. West Palm to Hermisillo, Mexico for Winter Ball (my only no-hitter!)
14. Hermisillo to Phoenix for the winter.

1989

15. Phoenix to West Palm Beach for spring training.                                    

16. West Palm to Rochester, NY (April to Sept 1).

17. Rochester to Baltimore (September).
18. Baltimore to Santo Domingo, D.R. for Winter Ball.
19. Stayed in Baltimore that winter.

1990

20. Baltimore to Sarasota for Spring Training.
21. Sarasota to Rochester (April to June).
22. Rochester to Baltimore (June to September).
Stayed in Baltimore that winter (also met Shonda the day the season ended)
Traded to Houston that winter (Pete Harnisch, Steve Finley and I for Glen Davis)

1991

23. Baltimore to Orlando for spring training.
24. Orlando to Houston (April-May).
25. Houston to Tucson (sent to AAA, June to early July).
26. Tucson to Houston (July to Sept).
Spent the winter in Houston

1992

27. Houston to Orlando for spring training.
Traded final day of ST to Philadelphia for Jason Grimsley, flew to Miami for one day to meet the team then to Philadelphia. (Shonda was driving to Houston with the wives and heard about the trade on the radio, she pulled over to the side of the road, went to Houston and packed up, headed to Philly.)
28. Philadelphia April to Sept, lived in Marlton, NJ in the off season.

1993-1999

35. Seven straight years of Living in Philly, Clearwater every January through the end of March, back to Philly for the season. We started to go down January 1st every year to workout in the warm weather much earlier. Gehrig was born in 1995, Gabby in 1997, Grant in 1999.

2000

36. Philly to Clearwater.
37. Clearwater to Philly until July.
38. Traded to Arizona for Travis Lee, Omar Daal, Nelson Figueroa and Vincente Padilla
Philadelphia to Arizona for August to October 1st. Spent the winter in Arizona

2001-2003
41. Winter and season in Phoenix and eight weeks apart while we ST in Tucson. Garrison is born in 2002.
Traded the winter of 2004 to Boston for Casey Fossum, Brandon Lyon, Jorge De Larosa and Michael Goss.

2004

42. Phoenix to Ft Myers for spring training.
43. Ft Myers to Boston for the season.
44. Boston to Phoenix for the off season.

2005

45. Phoenix to Ft Myers for spring training.
46. Ft Myers to Boston for the season.
47. Boston to Phoenix for the off season.

2006
48. Phoenix to Ft Myers for spring training.
49. Ft Myers to Boston for the season. Settled into Boston as residents for good, that winter.

2007 and 2008
51. Boston to Ft Myers for spring training.
Ft Myers to Boston for good…

Fifty-one moves. Damn. It’s certainly not a normal number but I wonder how many is “a lot”? Even taking out spring training since it was 6-8 weeks (but it was still a full fledged move, even more so once the family made the trips every year) that’s still a crap load of moving.

Those first few years it was a nightmare on the money I made. Starting at $750 a month I think the most I made in the minors was $2,500 a month or so, pre-taxes. I didn’t sign for much either so I know I made the most of every dollar back then.

Oh, and welcome to 2009. Over/under on how many times you sign or date something 2008? For me I’ll go 10 …

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2009 1:18 am

    That, is a LOT of mileage. I’d say a lot of moves, would be equal to 1 per 2 years. So ’86-’08 would mean…mmmm…12 or more moves would be a lot. Although, some may say 1 per year…which would be 23 or more moves equaling a lot. So either way, you’re way over the “a lot” line LOL

    You know, I grew up on Elmira’s southside, watching the Pioneers in the mid-80’s. I was 12 in ’86, and I’d often ride my bike to the dike before games and watch everybody warm up and practice. I had this black 10 speed and wore a Detroit Tigers jacket a lot at the time. I wondered who might make it to the majors every year. Only in hindsight I’d know I saw future stars. I guess I’m just saying this to say… hey cool, I saw you back then.

  2. January 4, 2009 2:44 am

    curt your funny man!!LOL that is funny how you can remember all that..i have moved a few times my self..I noticed you lived in winterhaven, well i just moved from there last month..That use to be sox old ST site. as we all know. Seems the small little town has let go of the Indians now too.not a good idea for the little guys over there now. I have a little funny story for everyone . I would go catch a few ST Indian games you know living there it was only 5 min. from my house, well anyway i went to the Indians against the yankees and you know how the visitors bullpen is right there. …well arod was done playing his 3 or 4 innings and he was sitting in the bullpen ,well i then leaned over and said kinda softly “you should opt out of your contract and get out of New York more people would like you” no soon as those words came out of my mouth he came out of his seat@#$%#$$^% screeming at me like he wanted to kill me yelling at me like a crazy man.. well i then just put my tail between my legs and walked out of the park a little embarassed. However , i think he took me the wrong way…it was funny thou he was going to jump over the rail and beat me up if someone didnt stop him it seemed….and that is the exact words i used i did not say anything else at all other than those words … i did not mean it in a bad way.

  3. Richard permalink
    January 4, 2009 7:38 am

    Looks like the worst of the travelling was when you were in the minors, but that’s still an awful lot of moving around. At least you have ended up making some serious money out of it – imagine what it must be like for someone who hung around in AAA until they were 35.

  4. DrJeff permalink
    January 4, 2009 3:45 pm

    Curt,
    One of those airline maps would be a good image to go with the blog – seeing all the cross-country trips. What was your favorite airline? Thanks – hope to see you again in a uniform and on the mound.
    DrJeff

  5. Jeff Mills permalink
    January 4, 2009 11:42 pm

    Curt,

    I don’t know what your future plans are career-wise, but personally I hope you don’t do the Roger Clemens thing by coming back and only pitching half a season. With all due respect to the Rocket Man, I really don’t think following his example would be a good precedent.

    I’d love to see you come back in the spring and try to make it back, but if it’s over, you’ve had a wonderful career. And I don’t care what anybody says, you’re a Hall of Famer as far as I’m concerned. I say that because I believe that a Hall of Famer is someone who was among the best in the game at his particular position during the time he played. So many analysts and “talking heads” are caught up in numbers. Had Roberto Clemente finished his career with 2,999 hits wouldn’t he still be in the Hall of Fame? Why then does it matter if someone gets 3,000 hits, 500 homeruns or 300 wins?

    Curt, you are one of the best big game pitchers in the postseason of all-time, but you have been very good in the regular season, too. Throughout the 90s and 2000s you’ve been consistently one of the best pitchers in baseball. And I know some people might disagree with me on this, but I think you are the #1 reason why the Boston Red Sox won the World Series in 2004. You were the missing ingredient. You had no fear of the Yankees and your confidence and leadership skills were integral in making that championship possible. I only wish that my Chicago Cubs had a guy like you on the team. We could have used someone of your caliber last fall.

    Even if you don’t make it to Cooperstown, I’ll be able to tell my kids and grandkids that you were one of the best pitchers I ever saw. I know I’m not alone. When I read this blog it made me think that maybe you were hinting at possible retirement. If so, I wish you all of the best. If not, then I still wish you all of the best.

  6. Eric permalink
    January 5, 2009 6:47 am

    Just a rough guess using Microsoft Streets and Trips, but that looks to be over 50,000 miles of moving. *ugh*

  7. Kim permalink
    January 5, 2009 7:03 am

    Happy New Year!

    That’s a lot of moving by any standard, although a military family might be right up there with you. Shonda must be very organized in order to pull that off so much.

    With my job I have to date my work. I’ve signed 2008 about 6 or 7 times already and that was only one day at work since the new year! I’ll give myself until the end of the month to get it straight.

    Peace

  8. G-Man permalink
    January 5, 2009 9:46 am

    Man that is a lot of mileage. I knew your career required travel, but it isn’t entirely realized how much until you write it all down like that.

    I’ll give myself 5 times on writing 2008 instead of 2009. I don’t hand write too much, so I should be safe with that number.

  9. January 5, 2009 11:44 am

    Aha. So one of your New Year’s Resolutions must be: Less travel, unless it’s strictly recreational! 😉

  10. sdl1 permalink
    January 5, 2009 5:52 pm

    Since I hate flying, I can tell you all the long-distance moving I have done..ALL by car.

    1985:

    March: Newton to Ft. Lauderdale (was moving mother down; 5 days)
    May: Ft. Lauderdale to Bridgewater (had to officially graduate from BSC and wanted to be back with GF; 4 days)
    September: Bridgewater to Ft. Lauderdale (split with ex, was getting burned out. 2 days…drove on pure adrenalin; hurricane was coming up I-95. First leg of trip was B’water to Skippers, VA [VA/NC border])

    1991
    August: Ft. Lauderdale to San Diego (did a sem of grad work @ SDSU..6 day drive..planned around minor-league games in San Antonio, El Paso and Tucson)
    December: SD back to Lauderdale (6 days…thing I hated most was the 13 hours between San Antonio & El Paso each way..thank goodness for a TAPE DECK in car!!!)

    1994: Lauderdale to Pensacola and vice versa January, May, August, December (grad school @ UWF…11 hours each way)

    2000: Lauderdale to St Pete area 5 hours (try driving with cats who insist on being back-seat drivers 😉 )

    Sure driving takes longer, but at least you’re in control in your car…

  11. DONNA BLANC permalink
    January 7, 2009 8:41 pm

    Wow! That is a great deal of travelling,packing,and moving around the country. I hate packing for even just a few days,so I can imagine how difficult it was. The
    important thing to remember,though,is that you loved doing what you were doing,which made all of the travel worth it. You were also fortunate enough to be able to take your family with you most of the time,and when not,made up for it with quallity time with your family,which means everything. For many years,
    when I was much younger(in four weeks turning 49,so we are talking a long time ago!)my father travelled often for business(he is an attorney). He would go away for two or three weeks at a time,sometimes in the country but most of the time overseas. It was difficult,leaving behind a wife and two children,and sometimes not being able to be there for important things in the lives of his children(like missing a high school or college graduation). People sometimes asked me if I was angry that he was away so much of the time and I said that while I missed him,was sorry he was not home all of the time,I understood that he was doing work that he loved,in a position that he had worked very hard to achieve. I was,still am,very proud of him for having gone through what he did to get to where he was at and as he adored the work that he was doing,I would not have asked him to give that up for anything. Besides,the times that he was not travelling were quality times spent with the family and we had many memorable times together,including an annual family vacation. So while it was difficult for you to travel as much as you did,and I will not diminish the fact that it is hard to pack so often,and move for an extended period of time,you were doing something that you loved and you should be proud,as I am,of everything that you have accomplished,continue to accomplish. It was difficult for you but in the end,absolutely worth it. By the way,I was watching the TV program Jeopardy tonight,as it sharpens the mind,and I absolutely knew one of the answers to a question because the answer was you! Congratulations on being one of the Jeopardy clues. ONe final thought and that is that I hope your travelling days,for baseball,are not over. I still want to see you out there again for one more season,at least,ending your career on the field and not by an injury(and if you are improved since the surgery,you will be dynamite because you were incredible before the surgery). So regardless of what team you play for,I look forward to seeing you back out there. As for travelling,you are welcome here in New York City anytime!(and don’t worry-I am for the Mets,not the Yankees who I totally despise).

  12. January 15, 2009 3:33 pm

    Hola from Sarasota!

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

