Skip to content

THANK YOU!

December 22, 2008

I wanted to post an excerpt or two from a letter I received this morning, to say thank you to everyone that has visited this blog. At the end of the day I don’t give a rats ass whether you have a (R) or (D) next to your name, what you think about the war in the middle east, or much of anything else. If you are a citizen of these United States of America I think you owe it to our troops abroad to wish them a safe return and safe and Merry Christmas, and so many of you helped in doing just that.

From:
SFC Michael L Peterson
Event Coordinator MWR
Forward Operating Base Bucca
1st Squadron, 102nd Cavalry Regiment

“Curt
The boxes are flowing in on a regular here at Camp Bucca. We have gotten the ones out to visitation for the kids and also the boxes for the soldiers have gone out to the different units also. The kids have been loving the gifts coming in with the different toys and school supplies. Their faces just seem to light up when you give it to them.
The soldiers were shocked to get the boxes with actual gifts already wrapped in them. We sent them out to various units here and I suspect that the senders will be getting a letter written back showing how much they appreciate the gifts. I was going to wait until we they slowed down but it has lifted so many people spirits already I wanted to send you this email on behalf of Camp Bucca just to say thank you…………..
…….Enough people cared enough to read you blog and then cared even more enough to send anything for a small care package up to a large box full of wrapped gifts.”

So thank you to everyone that contributed, for helping to make someone you don’t know, smile this Christmas season. You people are awesome.

Curt

13 Comments leave one →
  1. sdl1 permalink
    December 22, 2008 4:33 pm

    I just want them home…NOW!

  2. groovy permalink
    December 22, 2008 7:09 pm

    Curt, you were a great pitcher. But you are a lousy cheerleader and even worse at telling me what I ought to do.

  3. December 22, 2008 9:13 pm

    Hey there’s no need to badger Curt’s politics in this thread. No matter what your view of the war, getting the troops care packages or xmas gifts is a genuinely good thing.

  4. true red blooded sox fan permalink
    December 22, 2008 9:57 pm

    Curt
    As you said “I DONT GIVE A RATS ASS”. Your not the only one that does not care what view of politics poeple have when it comes to the troops. They all deserve everyones thanks for what they have done for our Country. If is was not for them simple things (like this blog) would not be possible. So just know I stand proudly beside you in wishing the fine men and woman of our military a MERRY CHRISTAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR.

  5. KeithW permalink
    December 22, 2008 10:34 pm

    I don’t give a rats ass whether you have a (R) or (D) next to your name, what you think about the war in the middle east, or much of anything else.

    WEEI must be *thrilled* to hear you talking to their customers like that.

  6. DONNA BLANC permalink
    December 23, 2008 6:33 am

    Curt-
    And you are awesome as well. You have contributed a great deal as well,including going in person. As for what you said regarding whether there is an R or a D after the name,you are so totally right on! I may not agree with you in terms of politics(I am a Democrat)and I may not always agree with you as to where the troops are located(I think that it is great what we are doing for the people of Iraq yet at the same time I am here in New York,which was attacked on 9-11-2001 by Osama and feel that we should have more troops going after him in the mountains of Afghanistan,where he has been living and laughing for the last seven years since the attack)but regardless of all of that,I still do support the troops,the men and women who are over there,who are a part of what makes this country great. My father,by the way,was drafted into the army during the Korean war,and although he did not go by choice,to this day he is still very proud,not only of his uniform which he saved but also proud that he is a member of the VFW(Veterans of Foreign Wars). Anyway,in response to what you said,all I can think of is the song Proud To Be An American by Lee Greenwood. We sang it a lot here in New York after 9/11(they destroyed our twin towers but not our spirit)and it still holds true today. I will not quote the whole song but for those who do not know,the song,in part,goes: “And I’m proud to be an American,
    Where at least I know I’m free,And I won’t forget the men who died who gave that right to me,And I gladly stand up next to you and defend her still today,cause there ain’t no doubt,I love this land,God Bless The USA”. So yes,although we do not agree on everything(some things but not everything)I do stand up next to you and support the troops right along with you. Absolutely does not matter what political view when it comes to this. Really great what you said,and thanks for everything that you have done as well.

  7. December 23, 2008 9:18 am

    Wow, I guess I will never cease to be amazed at how critical and judgemental people are of another individual exercising their freedom of speech.

    We ARE in America, right??

    Happy Holidays to everyone….

  8. Rob A. permalink
    December 23, 2008 2:02 pm

    Curt-
    How dare you express your own views on your own blog. How dare you, a baseball player, discuss topics other than baseball (but it’s still okay for fans like me, who haven’t played anything professionally, to discuss baseball). And why should I admire, without hesitation, those who are willing to sacrifice their lives, without hesitation, for my freedoms? And why are those soldiers even in the middle east, given the obvious fact that America can be defended quite well without interfering in the affairs of the peace-loving world citizens who occasionally (and accidentally) kill Americans with their explosives and our airplanes? Good thing I have it all figured out.

  9. December 23, 2008 3:09 pm

    hey curt,

    thanks for a great blog.

    would be even more fun to have you on the milwaukee brewers next season.

    have a safe and happy holidays!
    jamie…

  10. December 23, 2008 3:12 pm

    hello Mr schilling I wrote from spain a country with nothing to say in baseball but the problem is that I m cuban that living in sapin and this is another thing so I want to say to you that for us all the cubans you are one of the best pitcher in all times in the world we remenber in cuba the 2004 season and the years before in phillies. we have in cuba very strong group of persons called hot corner in diferent point of the havana city where we talk about baseball with very passion and then when the people talk about you all people take off the cap in respect to you one of the best of the all times so we want only one thing I hope you undestood my bad english. thankyou for all good things that you gave to the baseball.

  11. PerryC permalink
    December 23, 2008 7:24 pm

    Thanks for helping lead this effort, Curt.

    I was glad I could be a part of it.

  12. Julie permalink
    December 24, 2008 3:15 pm

    Thank you Curt. Our church organized a CARE package drive for Christmas and our family took 2 boxes. I went wild at the local dollar store buying supplies to fill them up (that was in addition to the 2 Salvation Army “Angel Tree” children we bought presents for).

    Unlike poster #2, I appreciate your efforts on behalf of our military. Back in the day, athletes and entertainers of every stripe went out of their way to support the military and to travel to the ends of the earth to do it. But now, it seems that politics has gotten in the way and people who yell the loudest about how much they support the troops don’t seem to want to do much to show it. Bless you and others like you who put their money where their mouths are.

    I hope you and your family have a joyous and blessed Christmas.

  13. Anna permalink
    January 16, 2009 7:22 am

    Hello Curt!
    THANKS! Some of our fighting men and women are certainly happier thanks to your efforts by posting on this blog. As a supporter of AnySoldier.com who graciously dedicate much time and effort to helping make the lives of these warriors just a bit more comfortable, know that YOUR effort has certainly been a huge hit. We, the AS Junkies, applaud you.

    And thank you to those who posted here who realize that, yes we will never forget 9/11; and yes, we are in America where we have the freedom to express our viewpoint without fear of reprisal and imprisonment. It is THE freedom that has helped to keep America GREAT!

    Curt, I’ll be watching for a terrific 2009 FUNtastic baseball season after we finish celebrating the Super Bowl!

    From RAVENS town!
    Again, thank you!

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

