Skip to content

Newest member of the Schilling family

December 16, 2008

I swore I’d never own a poodle, but I caved. This is Ellie, the newest member of the Schilling clan. Unbeknownst to both Patton (Rottweiler) and Rufus (Oro-Pei) this 2lb 4oz terror is now running the house.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2008 9:11 am

    Okay, I’m a chick – and I’m not ashamed to say:
    “OMG!”
    She is such a cutie!!

    What’s an Oro-Pei? Thinking something mixed with Sharpei? Not sure what the Oro is…?

    Shar-pei and pug mix

  2. Richard permalink
    December 16, 2008 9:13 am

    Curt, you have no problems I’m stuck with 3 Bichon’s. On another note. I want to Thank you for visiting the Troops in IRAQ. My son has not stopped talking about your visit. even stated it was better then the Jessica Simpson visit. He
    loves baseball, Myself being retired Military it is a big for Morale on the Visits you and other celeberties make over there. Again Thanks and good Luck with
    the new Dog. Richard. Middletown Rhode Island

  3. Murphy permalink
    December 16, 2008 11:04 am

    Keep that thing inside or you’ll lose it in the snow. Nice to see you still have your Sox hat on.

    Have a great Christmas!

  4. sdl1 permalink
    December 16, 2008 1:24 pm

    I have a male Westie and a female Beagle. Thing with Teddy (short for Ted Williams) is that he thinks he’s a Great dame….whenever we take him to the dog park, he only plays with the big dogs. He and Blossom (the beagle)will always share the bed with us and we wouldn’t have it any other way. Of course our cats aren’t crazy about the dogs…but they’ve learned to accept it.

    Pets are great and at most times, they’re more human than most humans we may know.

  5. ToofarawayfromBoston permalink
    December 16, 2008 2:05 pm

    Aw!!! I am a large dog-type person, too. However, I grew up with a poodle who looked very similar to the puppy in your pic, except he was an apricot. Poodles are GREAT small dogs. They are very bright (considered to be the second most intelligent dog with the Border Collie being #1). What most small dogs lack in size, they make up for in spunk – especially around larger dogs. LOL (My dogs, of course, consider smaller dogs to be snacks. j/k ) Enjoy this little bundle. You are going to have to watch all sorts of things you never had to keep an eye on before as poodles can figure a lot of things out that you would never expect. : ) Have fun! ToofarawayfromBoston

  6. Debbi permalink
    December 16, 2008 7:39 pm

    ……..”and the small and meak shall inheirt the Earth….” starting with the Schilling’s Home first.

    Don’t forget to get her a christmas treat, Curt.

  7. Mark permalink
    December 16, 2008 10:24 pm

    LOL, I said the same thing about the ankle biting dogs, I would never have one. But one day my wife took in a Maltese rescued from a bad home. Like yours, this Maltese was soon bossing around the Lab probably 8 times his size and at one time went after my neighbors Mastif.

  8. December 17, 2008 7:43 am

    Nothing like a new addition at the holidays! My girlfriend just picked up a new kitten at the pound the other day… more life is a good thing.

    Thanks for posting.

  9. December 17, 2008 10:30 am

    My cats bigger than that………..Kealoha’s and meli keliki maka

  10. December 17, 2008 9:51 pm

    SO cute. You never know when a little one will capture your heart. Congrats on the new addition. Hope you can find a Sox hat small enough for his itty-bitty head.

  11. Sheryl Sussman permalink
    December 18, 2008 10:27 am

    I’m not a dog person, but that’s a cute little fluff ball! I also got a new feline addition to my household 2 weeks ago. At her Vet check, she also weighed 2 lbs. 4 oz. At a follow-up yesterday she weighed 3 lbs. 2 oz. That’s nearly a whole pound in 10 days! Enjoy the little one while she’s still little (takes lots of pictures!). She’ll be grown up before you know it. My little one thinks she rules the house, but my 6 year old deaf cat only puts up with it briefly before she gets pissed off. 🙂

  12. December 18, 2008 11:29 pm

    YAY!!! Good Dog Choice!!!

    I swore I would never want a poodle either, but I am the proud owner of two toy poodles, a black one and a brown one. They are the best dogs!!! (AND THEY DON’T SHED!!!) I love my little angels! I have pictures of them up on my blog, so check it out!

  13. sdl1 permalink
    December 19, 2008 3:06 pm

    To Sheryl Sussman..

    Only two?

    There’s a great saying: “If you know how many cats you have, you ain’t got enough!”

    (We have 4 here and two dogs…a quiet hous it isn’t!”

  14. Brenda Godwin permalink
    December 21, 2008 1:00 am

    We have four hundred pounds of dogs: two golden retrievers (our big red male is named Schilling), a great Pyrenees and a Pyrenean Mastiff (looks like a grey and white St. Bernard). Small is for cats (ours are Bruschi and Hobbs).

  15. December 21, 2008 2:23 pm

    geez…between my two dogs we only have…about 12-13 lbs of dog lol. We used to have two really fat cats but they’ve gone and passed on. My dads a vet though and he lovessss his doggies. =)

  16. December 24, 2008 1:22 am

    I’m a Yankees fan, but that’s a cute dog. Good luck with her.

  17. Bob Bragg permalink
    December 31, 2008 3:56 pm

    Curt, I think you may, if the dog truly is running the house and the other canines in it, give a call to the Dog Whisperer, Cesar Milan. He is able to change the manageability of all the dogs in the pack and make life easier and simple. He has made the trip to many of Hollywoods famous dog owners and many others that have had problems. I don’t personally know him, if it sound like I do, but I do watch his tv show on the National Geographic Channel and have one of his books. My dog has become a wonder dog after doing what Cesar professes. Good luck with the pack, and I am glad to read your enjoying family so much.

    Bob

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

