Skip to content

I am moving…

November 26, 2008

To WEEI.com. I am going to begin working with Rob Bradford and the folks over at EEI to blog going forward. I have way too much going on to keep up here without some sort of push, and help. I have immense respect for Rob and am comfortable that he’s a fan first and a writer second. He has yet to write anything that I didn’t know to be true, which in and of itself sets him apart from many.

So I started a write up about Thanksgiving, 5 years ago, and it will be posted there.

Check out WEEI.COM for all the latest.

Oh and just know that there are some conditions to moving. One of them is that I don’t get edited (though that might be a good thing in the end) and the content I write gets posted as written. That won’t change. I’ll also continue to keep the forum open to responses and posts, but will hopefully move to doing some more interactive Q&A stuff as well as more interesting baseball and 38 Studios stuff as time goes by.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. soxfanindan permalink
    November 26, 2008 8:03 pm

    I cant wait to read the rest. I hope when you retire from baseball, You will write an autobiography!

  2. November 26, 2008 9:12 pm

    Ugh! I enjoyed coming here and reading… Bummer, Curt.

  3. November 27, 2008 8:29 am

    This page will still stand as a milestone in celebrity / fan interaction, and I applaud what you did here. Hopefully more of our favorite entertainment personalities will follow the trail you blazed.

    Sorry to see you go; I’ll try to catch up at EEI.

    Huh, that reminds me. On this day, five years ago, you and Theo changed the course of Red Sox history. Happy Thanksgiving, dude.

  4. November 27, 2008 8:59 am

    What an amazing 5 years it’s been. I thank you very much for allowing the fans a glance behind the curtain so to speak.

    I look forward to read more in your new virtual location.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

    -Diane.

  5. mannyramirez1 permalink
    November 27, 2008 10:36 am

    If that’s the way it is then that’s where I’ll go. I love your blog and have enjoyed coming here to get your take on many issues. See you there!
    Happy Thanksgiving to you, Shonda and the kids!

    Peace

  6. lionking1 permalink
    November 27, 2008 11:03 am

    Curt don’t have no time to write his autobiography. He’s busy writing his Hall of Fame speech.

  7. 46ers27 permalink
    November 28, 2008 9:07 am

    Curt,
    That was one of the best articles I have ever read. Thank you for the article and what you brought to the Sox the last 5 years. It is a time in my life that I will never forget. Someday I know that I will tell my grandchildern about the time that I was in Utica, New York on a business trip sitting a bar watching you pitch the most amazing game I have ever witnessed. I will also talk about the time I was late taking my daughter to soccer tryouts because you had taken a no hitter into the ninth and I had to see the outcome. I truly believe you were the missing piece that put the Sox over the top in 04. That team will always be special to me and I want to say Thank You from the bottom of my heart for bringing peace to Red Sox nation. I look forward to reading your articles.
    Thank You,
    Jason

  8. Hugh Jass permalink
    November 28, 2008 9:56 am

    Kurt, you are the best pitcher I have ever seen in my lifetime.

    Thanks for making me push myself harder in my over-40 league. Thanks to your keen workout example and watching you pitch in big games and your encouragement, I have lowered my ERA and cut down on my pitch count.

    May God bless you and yours on this Holiday Season!

    Stay safe, Kurt – but beware of certain backstabbers at WEEI. Rob is good people, but other folks there bear watching.

  9. November 28, 2008 1:31 pm

    Well, I won’t delete the link…just in case. đŸ˜‰

    Anyway — I’m off to WEEI which is where I read daily anyway — and I hope you and your family had a lovely holiday.

    It’s been fun…..

    Rebecca đŸ™‚

  10. soxsweepagain permalink
    November 29, 2008 1:47 am

    I’ve saved the link. Good luck, buddy!

    Jim

  11. theomnipotentq permalink
    November 29, 2008 11:04 am

    Thanks for five great years, Curt. I love the fact you circumvented the sportswriters, angered them, and brought your thoughts directly to the fans. I’ll always respect you so much for that.

    Good luck over at WEEI and I hope you and your family are having an enjoyable Thanksgiving.

    I will also be keeping the link to 38 Pitches up at my blog, just in case!

    All the best
    John Quinn
    Brooklyn, NY

  12. empirelady permalink
    November 29, 2008 12:51 pm

    I will continue to keep up with WEEI,as I am always interested in hearing what you have to say and what is going on with you. That said,I know that it will not be the same as it was,will never again have the personal touch that you have given in the past,which has made this link so great. I also know that we will not be able to have the same personal contact with you,comments back and forth,as we have had in the past. I am very sorry,as this posting shall be missed very much,and I truly regret that you feel that you do not have the time to continue with it,with us. For the record,you added a great deal to our lives,gave us great insight into your thoughts and feelings about everything,baseball and otherwise,and regardless of what you say about WEEI,I know that we will not be a part of that again. I will not delete this link as I am not only hopeful that someday it will return but also will keep it for the memories,at times reading over things that you have said in the past,things that will never grow old or that I will tire of. Thank you for everything that you have done in the past,will continue to do in the future,and I wish you all the best,always.
    Final posting from:
    Donna in New York City,empirelady87@hotmail.com.

  13. thepfunk permalink
    November 29, 2008 4:57 pm

    Schill:

    What a ride it has been reading 38 pitches over the past few years. I will never forget the excitement when you first launched this blog, and the interaction between fans and athlete that have occured here is groundbreaking, as many has said.

    That said, your first post on WEEI was one of the best sports stories I have read, getting the events as they took place directly from you is powerful stuff. Thank you for sharing this story with us, and more importantly, thank you for EVERYTHING you have done for Red Sox Nation. I know you now hear this all the time, but there is no way to possibly describe how much the past 5 years has meant to Red Sox fans, and there is no denying that you are the catalyst for this change.

    It has been a pleasure watching you be a Red Sox, and pleasure reading your thoughts over the past few years. I wish you the best of luck in the future, as a player, with 38 Studios, and as a writer and blogger. Happy Holidays to you and the entire Schilling family, and again, Thank You.

  14. thedoctorx permalink
    November 29, 2008 9:52 pm

    This will make you a baseball writer then?

    Congratulations for ruining CHB’s Thanksgiving . . . and providing RS fans with another great holiday!

    Keep on it!

    –J.D.

  15. November 30, 2008 3:09 pm

    See you over at Weei

  16. truthbetold11 permalink
    November 30, 2008 11:04 pm

    Curt, You have a passion for the truth. As a truth seeker we can always find out something new everyday. For instance your friend john mcain sacrifice for this country in so many ways not only in the past, but what he did for his country in the present, by allowing himself to become a sacrifice again for the good of his country and only a truth seeker would know this. take care and god bless

  17. mew3782 permalink
    December 1, 2008 2:37 pm

    Get Bradford a WoW account so that he has some idea of what you’re talking about when you need to post regarding MMORPGs. He looks like he could be a gamer, anyway.

  18. wally97 permalink
    December 2, 2008 1:35 pm

    Good luck, man! WEEI just got better!

  19. December 2, 2008 2:01 pm

    So this is it???

  20. bill in staten island permalink
    December 7, 2008 12:28 pm

    Curt:
    Sox fan since 1966, you are one of the top Sox inspirations, along with Yaz, Tony C., Jim Rice, and many others. You guys gave it all on the field and us fans appreciated it. You certainly earned your paycheck and did the Franchise proud.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

