Skip to content

Does it matter?

October 21, 2008

If your flight lands 5 minutes early and you sit at baggage claim for an hour waiting on your bags?

Spinnakers in San Francisco has the best Crab Alfredo in existence.

I have bias both ways for the teams in this World Series. I still am in touch with a few folks from the Phillies organization and am hoping like hell they win, and at the same time I am pulling for Eric Hinske to be on the Roster and do something special as well as hoping Kazmir throws a gem or two. Add to that Joe Maddon, whom I met when I was 14 years old and who was hugely instrumental in becoming a professional baseball player is someone I’ve always had immense respect for and thought the world of. This guy, much like Don Zimmer, is a baseball ‘lifer’.

So I’ll make my prediction for game 1. Starting with Cole Hamels, who I think is one of the 4-5 best pitchers in the game now. He’s on and to me a guy that good being on in October means bad things for the other guys. I think he’s going to spin a gem and I also think Burrell goes deep at least once. That’s as scientific as I can get on this. Phils win game 1 7-2 behind Cole’s strong 7. Going to be very interesting to see how Kazmir handles Utley and Howard. I always project how I’d use other guys stuff in facing them and I know what I would do their first AB’s to setup the game, and the series and I’ll be interested to see how Scott approaches them.

That 7-2 score could be 15 runs off in Philadelphia when they go there. There are a lot of fly ball hitting guys in both lineups and I’ll be interested to see if the cold mitigates the park in any way, however I don’t see it.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. dixiech1ck permalink
    October 21, 2008 7:21 pm

    I’m very sad, depressed even, that the Red Sox aren’t in the World Series. It seemed like the year that they could’ve gone back-to-back. With that said, I will be rooting on the Phillies as I was an employee of the organization from 1996 through 2002 and have met you, Curt, through several ALS functions (I worked with Tom, the Phillie Phanatic). I’m hoping they can pull this one out and that it casts a shadow over 1993 (when I nearly threw myself out of a 1st floor window from the pain). Can’t tell you how many of my then classmates wanted Mitch Williams head on a platter for that… oh why why why give up that home run to one Joe Carter, the “shot heard round the world.” Let’s just hope the lay-off didn’t kill their enthusiasm or spirit. Hope to see you back with the Sox next year Curt. The mound needs you!

  2. chasep2001 permalink
    October 21, 2008 7:22 pm

    As a Braves fan, the Phillies are my enemy 😛

    The ALCS was tough for me. I LOVE the Sox. Favorite team in the AL for sure. But, part of me wanted to see the Rays succeed because of how far they’ve come.

    In the end, I guess I was pulling a little more for the Sox, but I am definitely cheering for the Rays over the Phils. However, its going to be tough. Everything you mention above is right on. Besides maybe the Cubs, the Phillies were the best team I saw Atlanta face all year (and it hurts me to say that!) Unlike the Cubs, I saw the Phillies throughout the season, and felt that way the entire time.

  3. October 21, 2008 10:39 pm

    I definitely feel like the Tampa guys on the field deserve to be in the big show and I’d be happy if either team won. However I am entirely sick and tired of the Tampa fans. Watching the home games at “the Trop” was painful. I wish the commissioner of baseball would execute a temporary 40-man trade with Baltimore so that the guys on the Rays got their opportunity to play for a series but the people in Tampa got nothing.

  4. flsoxfan76 permalink
    October 22, 2008 6:40 am

    “However I am entirely sick and tired of the Tampa fans.”
    I have to say I agree with that. Tampa is a very solid and deserving club……… this year. To attend any of their games, though, you would think they have a storied history of total domination, which they do not. It might just have been the sections I sat in for the 3 games I attended this year, but there was a completely undeserving arrogance, elitism and rudeness among the fans that made being in the stands rather un-enjoyable. That being said, I will be pulling for them to win (although I would much rather see the Sox there), since they’re not only an AL team, but an AL East team. It only makes the division better that the Rays are there this year and would make the Sox NOT being there much easier to swallow if the Rays won it all. At least if they did, we, as Sox fans, could sit back and say “well, at least we lost to the world champions.”

  5. kimpa7809 permalink
    October 22, 2008 9:33 am

    Heck yeah it matters. I’m a Phillies fan and proud Philadelphian who has been fortunate enough to witness a Phillies World Series victory and a near miss in 1993. Yep, I remember Curt hiding his head beneath a white towel while Mitch Williams pitched. But I also remember rooting for Curt when he was pitching for the Sox with a bloody foot. I never stopped rooting for Curt after he left Philly because while he was here he did great things and proved to be a great person (he did some fantastic things for organizations in our community when he was here; quietly and without fanfare) and as a pticher. You don’t forget that kind of player because he has moved on to another team; he still mattered.

    Tonight when the Cole Hamels stands on the mound to pitch the opener of this World Series that first pitch will represent the hopes and dreams of a long-suffering, much maligned city of people who live and die passionately for their sports teams. It might not matter to most but it matters to them, to us, to me.

    I know that most people were hoping for a Dodgers/Red Sox match-up for the WS if not for the fans but for the huge TV revenue that it would generate. You can’t always get what you want according to the Stones but I am hoping that, just once, Phillie fans get what we need.

    It matters.

  6. david1678 permalink
    October 22, 2008 10:22 am

    I am all for the Rays winning. Joe Maddon has not been able to get the respect he deserves until now. Now that he is in the spot light I think people are really starting to notice how great of a manager he is. I am a Braves fan, so of course I am not pulling for the Phillies. Either way I think you have to cheer for the Rays a little more just because they are the cinderella story. I agree with your prediction of the Phillies taking game 1. Hamels has been dominant and I doubt will slow down for the World Series. If you get some spare time would you mind checking out our site: http://www.sportsfanboards.com , we have quite a few curt schilling fans :).

    Nice post, I enjoyed reading it.

  7. kimpa7809 permalink
    October 22, 2008 10:44 am

    As a Braves fan, the Phillies are my enemy Come on cheap2001! I remember the days when the Braves sucked back in the late 80’s and remember when they started to blossom in the early 90’s! I rooted for them when they were underdogs and when they became great. I even felt bad when they dismantled that fantastic (though old) pitching rotation (how weird is it to see Maddux in another uniform). Yeah we’ve had a love hate relationship, the Braves and the Phils, but when it comes down to it we’re NL togehter. Aren’t you sick of the AL winning! Go Phils!

  8. empirelady permalink
    October 22, 2008 12:24 pm

    Thank you once again for your thoughts and opinions,in this case with the World Series,which are very insightful as always. It is always really great to hear what you have to say,your valued opinion,and I look forward to your future postings. I still maintain,as I always will,that the Boston Red Sox is the best team and although the team is not in the World Series,the team’s greatness cannot be measured by just the one game that they lost in the end. It is the whole “picture” that has to be looked at,the whole season of play,and not just the one game. The Boston Red Sox will be there once again next year. By the way,I cannot happen to notice what happened last year when you were out there pitching,and what happened this year when you were not out there pitching. More than sheer coincidence. So I know that I have said it before but it bears repeating that I hope that you will consider pitching again next season,even for half a season. I saw your reaction when you threw out the first pitch last week and this was the look of a man who is not finished playing baseball,that is not ready to just walk away. Besides,not only will both you and the team finish on top once again,but for one more “brief shining moment,there will be Camelot”…And for the record,I am hoping that Tampa Bay wins because my other “favorite team”,other than the Boston Red Sox,is the New York Mets(I am in New York City)and given the history that the Mets have with the Phillies,it stands to reason why I would not want them to succeed. Wishing you continued good health and please keep those postings coming,even in the off season.

  9. robinrowell88 permalink
    October 22, 2008 1:51 pm

    Tampa Bay Rays grades:

    Team: A+
    Lots of youth with a no-fear attitude. No longer the whipping post of the Yankees and Red Sox. Hats off to them.

    Manager: A+
    Maddon did a perfect job of inspiring the team and letting them know that they were contenders from the word ‘go’ this season.

    Fans: F
    For the most part, fair weathered losers who only decided to show up for the home games once the team was in the playoffs. They should be ashamed of themselves. Hats off to the true few fans who did show up. We’ll see if the obnoxious noisemakers show up to the games next season.

  10. plunger0021 permalink
    October 22, 2008 4:23 pm

    If Curt Schilling spent less time blogging and more time in the gym, he would’ve been able to pitch this year. Quit looking like Philip Seymour Hoffman, and get in shape.

  11. mossy56 permalink
    October 22, 2008 8:38 pm

    I agree that the long ball will be important but I think the DH’s will have more to do with this series than people know. Watching this game, I am amazed how much Scott Kazmir has gotten out of trouble. I don’t know if the Phils or the Rays have a pitcher like a Curt Schilling or a Andy Pettite who have ice in their veins and nothing will faze them in the postseason. If that person can be found from either starting pitching or relief, that players team will be victorious. Every team in the postseason finds that one pitcher who stands out. Who will it be for this world series?

  12. sdl1 permalink
    October 23, 2008 12:04 am

    I live about 10 minutes from The Trop. That said, I can say that I absolutely HATE the Rays and their front-running fans. Doesn’t help that there’s this assclown on the air here named Steve Duemig that actually encourages this garbage.

    April 27 the wife and I were at the Sox/Rays game. We’re in Section 139 in LF…mostly Sox fans there. This one usher decides he’s God and asks to see everybody’s tickets….five times in the first two innings. Then this guy comes back and starts to hassle a guy for allegedly swearing. We told this clown that the person was not swearing; in fact he was hardly talking to anybody. He responds by saying that he was following up on a complaint and that if he came up again he was going to have *everybody* tossed. Evidently you can now make anonymous complaints by text message to Rays security and some Rays fans see it as a way to harrass visiting fans. When we got home, I e-mailed the Rays complaining about what I saw. Still haven’t heard back. Needless to say, I will NOT attend a game there ever again. Let them take somebody else’s money.

    Nothing like going out to eat while wearing a Sox cap…trying to enjoy your meal and having some of the locals come up you and ORDER you to “get the f*** out of this restaurant and go the f*** back to Boston!”

    A few years years agom Bucs-mania was the rage here. Nothing like putting a Bucs game on TV these days and seeing a lot of empty seats…the local Fox/CBS ststions have to buy the rest of the tickets so the game can be shown

    Believe me..I’m glad to be rooting for the Phillies in the Series!

  13. denisesoxfan permalink
    October 23, 2008 7:21 am

    Hey Curt! Do you think you can convince Jerry Remy to import Spinnaker’s Crab Alfredo as a new menu item at RemDawg’s? 🙂 GET WELL SOON AND COME BACK NEXT YEAR!
    Denise

  14. October 23, 2008 9:00 am

    I am now convinced Mr. Schilling is the reincarnation of Ben Franklin.

    ©2008 Jukeofurl
    •http://jukeofurl.wordpress.com

  15. jonnyjbones permalink
    October 23, 2008 9:21 am

    Go Rays!

  16. rdsxfn permalink
    October 23, 2008 9:50 am

    As a “wicked” red sox fan, I would also like to comment on the obnoxious fans at Tropicana Field. My husband and I attened a Rays/Sox game in September. While the experience of being in a domed field was nice (no rainouts or freezing your butt off at Fenway) we found it to be incredibly loud….mostly because of those idiotic “cowbells”. We sat just over Tampa’s bull pen, and there were a few Red Sox fans scattered about. Just behind us was a Rays fan with his cow bell in hand, and he took much pleasure in making sure he rang it directly in my ear everytime a Tampa player so much as walked onto the field. Needless to say, we will not go to another game there ever again.
    RAYS fans take note, if you want a new stadium, you need fans from ALL teams there to bring in the cash flow….and you need to support your team through the good years AND the tough ones. RED SOX NATION is a prime example of how to do it! Good Luck in the World Series Tampa, the Red Sox would like home field advantage next year!!!!

  17. October 23, 2008 6:53 pm

    I look at it this way: if not us, why not Tampa?
    It’s always good to see the underdog come out on top – and even though they weren’t the underdog so to speak all season because they played phenomenally; everyone still expected them to crumble under the pressure and come up short.

    So good on them! 🙂

  18. theclassofbasball permalink
    October 23, 2008 7:30 pm

    To all Red Sox nation

    Don’t start whinning about this and that how the best team didn’t win. Because obviously the Red Sox weren’t this year, Sometimes a little luck here and there makes a whole lot of difference who gets to the WS, The Angels and the Cubs were the best teams, But it didn’t work out that way, Sometimes the best team dosen’t always win, If the Red Sox were healthy things would have been different, And if the Yankee’s were healthy i think the Ray’s wouldn’t have even been there, Wong alone was atlease 10 to 15 wins add those up and Soxs being healthy, The rays would be at home this year, Look at all the 1 run games they won, And walkoff homers, There just having one of those years that happens every so often ( 03 Marlins 01 Dbacks) I alone think the Rays season was a fluke, Will see what they do next year, It hurts when you team is not there dosen’t it Red Sox fans? How do you think a feel ? Its been 8 yrs for the Yankee’s, I don’t like the Rays either Red Sox fans, So hopefully Philly will kick there butts, I look forward to next year, When the RS and Yankees dog fight in the american league east to the end and the Rays are in last place where there used to being.

  19. peterdouglas permalink
    October 23, 2008 7:49 pm

    Hi Mr. Schilling,

    Can you talk to us a little about Jason Varitek, contract negotiations in general, and the potential to bring him back. I’m wondering if there’s a way to bring Tek back with the flexibility to shift him to a coaching role if his body starts to break down dramatically. We’d all really like him back, and I think you of all people understand why he’s so respected. Is there a contract under which he could play for a while and then continue to be paid Boras numbers for a “Hall-of-Fame” involvement?

  20. sdl1 permalink
    October 23, 2008 8:33 pm

    rsdxfn…

    I take it that telling an usher did no good at the Trop?

    They don’t need a new stadium, but if they want to be stupid enough to have a stadium that’ll be open-ended to let in humidity. let ’em..

    They are jerks down here…not sure if it’s sad or scary…

  21. yanksrdaclassofbball permalink
    October 25, 2008 8:25 pm

    I am still basking in the glow of the utter ass whuppin that Tampa put on the Sawx. I love it that there will be no repeat for Boston, thus solidifying my claim that while a good team, Boston will never be a Dynasty team like the Yankees. True we didnt make the playoffs. Im not too concerned after 13 straight years. We will be right back in the mix. What I loved was the chinks in Boston’s line up…Papi- done…Lowell older and with injuries, Beckett- also a question mark because he is injury prone. Ellsbury proved that his post season last year was a fluke. Vari-wuss is so done its pathetic. What did he have 14 RBIs this year?? And mid 30s in his horrible walk year? Hes done…Getting rid of Manny was a mistake, now we have the curse of the Man-bino!!!I wish nothing but more futility for boston and their fans.

  22. sdl1 permalink
    October 26, 2008 12:55 am

    To post #21 “yanksrdaclassofbball”

    So how great did the Yanks do in the post-season? At least you didn’t suffer a 8th straight post-season choke.

    Kind of miss Torre now, don’t you…?

    Papi ain’t done, neither is Lowell and ‘Tek. I know you wish it, tho…

  23. theclassofbasball permalink
    October 26, 2008 7:29 pm

    To post 22

    let’s not talk about chokes, Nobody has done it more times than the the Red Sox, When you’re team can get to the post season 13 yr’s in a row and win 26 WS AND 39 Pennants until then, you can be cocky, Granted it’s been awhile for the Yankees but it will never be 89yrs, There’s alot of teams that haven’t won it awhile, But Red Sox fans will always have something bad to say about the Yankee’s because we own you’re ass and always will.

  24. rijess14 permalink
    October 30, 2008 10:48 am

    I can’t wait to hear your comments and reflections on last night’s game and the World Series in general. Don’t keep me waiting too long…

    Philly Phan for life!

  25. kimpa7809 permalink
    October 31, 2008 11:13 pm

    Phillie = 2008 World Series Champions!

    Would love to see us play the Red Sox in 2009! Go Phillies!

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

