Skip to content

Update

February 19, 2008

The situation warranted addressing the media at some point, yesterday was that day. Given what’s happened over the past three months the discussion was not going to go anyone’s way in the end.

Suffice to say it’s over, and I am rehabbing and doing everything possible to get healthy and pitch again. Were there disagreements? Sure. Does that matter now? Absolutely not. The course of action has been laid out and I am dead set on making this work.

I will pitch again, and win, but it will be on a timetable I just don’t know yet.

Anyone looking for an angle, and by the posts there are quite a few, other than what the situation really is are wrong and getting more wrong every post. There was no $$ angle, there was no deception. I’ve done many dumb things and said even dumber things in my life, but I’m ok saying I’ve been a man of my word my entire life. When I screw up, and that’s not a rarity, I have never had issues with being called out.

I negotiated the deal healthy, and in good faith. Things went south, that sucks, but that’s also life sometimes. If it does turn out that I don’t pitch again there is not one regret in the world I could have. What the Lord has allowed my family and I to see and experience over the past 22 years exceeds immeasurably what I could have dreamed up at the beginning.

The Red Sox were never in the dark and knew the first day there were problems. There have been many lengthy discussions and a lot of dialog. I wish to God I wasn’t where I am, but that’s not going to change anything, to call this unfortunate or unlucky is a stretch I think, there are millions of people with true problems in life a lot worse off than I am, or we are. The club will certainly survive, I just hope I can get back and help at some point.

At the end of the day this really is and was a business decision on their behalf, and regardless of what you think that’s the way it is, and has been. At the moment they are out 8 million dollars for a guy that cannot pitch, that can’t be a good thing. I’d bet that I’ll figure out some way to validate this entire thing when it’s all said and done. If you don’t like that, or believe that, then feel free to bet against me, it won’t be the first time.

As far as life now, the day is pretty standard. I am at the park between 6-6:30 each morning and starting at 7 am on a regimented shoulder program followed by strength/cardio work with our strength coach Dave Page. Not really pushing the shoulder hard right now as Mike builds some foundation through exercise that will allow us to strengthen areas that must be addressed before we move to the next steps.

As far as the team goes, I will post a few early observations and some daily/weekly stuff as we start to move into full squad stuff and games.  I don’t question for a second that this team is fully loaded to repeat as World Champions, now it comes down to getting ready, staying healthy and maintaining that chemistry that has formed with this great mix of guys.

144 Comments leave one →
  1. pattijor permalink
    February 24, 2008 10:03 am

    Curt,

    Pitch, wrap it up by October w/ a World Series, and then….

    McCAIN / SCHILLING 2008!!!!!!!!!!

  2. pattijor permalink
    February 24, 2008 10:21 am

    WAIT, I LIKE THIS BETTER…

    MCCAIN / 38

    IN ’08 !!!

    Go Sox! Keep this up and the pain of ’86 will almost subside.

  3. pattijor permalink
    February 24, 2008 10:26 am

    Actually, w/ regard to McCain-Feingold, you’ll have to announce your VP candidacy before the WS is over – w/in 60 days of the general election.

    See y’all at the convention. I’m out.

  4. tracylynn88 permalink
    February 24, 2008 1:38 pm

    happy birthday mike lowell and bronson arroyo

  5. game6sockwasfake permalink
    February 24, 2008 4:49 pm

    Curt – how is that 2 year NL deal looking now? nice red state? could have made your office run? respect of a team that was grateful to have you?

    gotta love new england kicking one of their own favorite sons…er hired guns in the teeth…

    from a land of corrupt senators, cheating videotapers, and 25 lettahs in the alphabet, would you expect anyting less?

  6. frwelcjr permalink
    February 24, 2008 4:57 pm

    Dear Curt, I hope you read this.
    I just want to say thank you. Thank you for coming to Boston. Thank you for giving your all and powering the Red Sox to two World Championships. Thank you for deciding (potentialy )to end your amazing career with Boston.
    I am 57 years old and I never thought I would see the Red Sox win a World series in my lifetime. I started following them when Dick Williams was a back up first baseman to Dick Stuart(R.I.P.)
    Your arrival changed everything. It gave us hope, real hope, and you came though for us with flying colors. You changed the history of a historic franchise.
    I hope your rehab goes well and that you pitch once again in the post season, but should we not see you in a Red Sox uniform again, I thank you and your wife for all the special things you have done for the Red Sox, the City of Boston, and for Nation fans everywhere.
    You’re one in a million Curt,
    so glad we got to know you……

  7. bonsai2314 permalink
    February 24, 2008 6:36 pm

    Curt,

    Just get better, your presence alone will be good for the younger guy. I don’t think any real fan or person thinks you knew you were hurt. We need you more in the second half of the season. Plus it would be political suicide for you to do that. You have not convinced me yet to vote for Mccain but I will hold a sign for you when you retire from baseball and take on John Kerry for Senator.

    Good luck and take care

  8. dodgerblue04 permalink
    February 25, 2008 7:33 am

    dear curt,

    i dont even know where to begin with you. your love for the game is somethimg special. you truly are one of tne good guys in the game. Especially at a time like this. If more players would step up like you, we could give baseball a good name again. Though i am a tremendous dodger fan, u will go down as one of my favorite players of all time. Not just because you are a dominate pitcher but you played the game of baseball right. Good luck with your shoulder. I know you will be back.

    ps you would look fantastic in dodger blue! (just a thought)

  9. maryannandmike permalink
    February 25, 2008 1:54 pm

    Dear Curt, We are huge fans of yours and have been since your Philadelphia days (we’re from there). We wish you the very best and thank you for everything you have done for the Red Sox. May God bless you.

  10. February 25, 2008 4:20 pm

    Curt:

    Good luck. I’ll certainly be watching when you step back on the mound this season, whenever that may be.

  11. chrystal4 permalink
    February 25, 2008 4:53 pm

    Hey Curt, how are ya? Hope all goes well for you. Rochester is thinking of you. You’ve had a great run with your career. Take care and God Bless!! Chrystal

  12. bosoxgirl permalink
    February 25, 2008 8:28 pm

    Curt,

    I just want to say that I have admired you for years, and I want to thank you for your dedication to that uniform, You are by far to me one of the most respected pitchers that I know of.

    I am glad that you will retire in a Red Sox uniform. Thank you for your years of dedication, loyalty, and the heart and soul you have put into every pitch you have thrown for the team.

    I was hoping to get a chance to meet you at Spring Training before you retired, thats not going to happen, but I am happy I got to watch you play a part in not one, but two World Series…

    I wish you well with your shoulder and I pray that it will let you play a part in the back to back that will happen this year… God Bless and we love you..

  13. jeterisplayinggolf permalink
    February 25, 2008 9:09 pm

    Curt,
    The situation sucks but stay strong as you always have. I doubt Red Sox fans are ready to turn on you. (if they are..blah blah blah playoffs 04 blah blah blah). I also find it amazing how many yankees fans actually spend time on your blog. You have caused them so much pain they actually feel the need to rip you on your blog. All I know is your uniform is still dripping in champagne and theres have been dry for years. (not to mention like half of their 2000 championship team appeared to be on steroids).
    Good Luck with getting back to the field.

    yankees suck.

  14. kathleenhansen1 permalink
    February 26, 2008 10:50 am

    I am writing on behalf of my father. He has written a study about a relationship between dentistry and sports medicine. He has
    successfully treated patients with painful disorders such as:

    •Headaches (including migraines)
    •Neck pain
    •Shoulder pain
    •Ear pain including: Meniere’s syndrome (ringing in the ears and vertigo)
    •T.M.J.
    •Restricted opening of the jaws
    •Bruxism (grinding of teeth)
    •Clenching
    •Poor sleeping habits

    He writes…..
    Clinical experiences have led me to the conclusion that these disorders can be triggered from a dental origin. For example shoulder problems may be contributed to an anatomical connection between the lower jaw and the shoulder. The connection is a large thin, muscle, the Platysma, which extends from the chin, corner of the mouth, across the lower jaw and neck to the upper part of the thorax and shoulder. An imbalance in the jaw system can tighten the muscle and predispose it to muscle strain or even tears. By balancing the jaws, the muscle can be relaxed.
    These disorders have been classified under the heading of Temporo-Mandibular Joint (T.M.J.), or more recently Temporo-Mandibular Disorder (T.M.D.). Athletes, because of their skeletal structure, are most affected by an imbalance in the jaw system. These structures include strong teeth with long roots and dense jaw bones.
    For many years I have been able to diagnose and successfully treat patients with these painful disorders. Results can be obtained with conservative treatments that are non-invasive and not painful.

    It is worth a conversation about your dental history and current symptoms……he has the most amazing stories of people he has helped that came in for routine dental cleanings…were probed about general health……next thing they new….they were forever changed. Please let me know how I can get you on the phone with my father….give him a chance, he has done so much for so many people.

  15. frodo1962 permalink
    February 26, 2008 12:19 pm

    Well Curt, I can certainly empathize with any frustration you may be feeling as I had similar issues when I had shoulder problems years ago, but instead of a corporate management I was dealing with my health insurance provider. They made me try several different treatments, including cortisone shots, over a 6 month period before they were finally convinced that surgery (which my orthopedic surgeon had suggested early on) was the answer. During that period I was miserable because most nights I could only sleep by sitting up in a chair. Within a week of having the surgery I was feeling great, though it took me nearly a year to regain my strength.

    I will be keeping my fingers crossed that your strengthening program does the trick and we see you back on the mound soon.

  16. February 26, 2008 3:47 pm

    hEY CURT!!!

    The sox look great this year!!!!

    I hope you come back and start pitching again soon!

    GOOD LUCK WITH THE REHAB

  17. eng2lt permalink
    February 27, 2008 9:17 am

    First to BBB77 – YUCKTHEFANKEES !
    Curt – Hope your back on the mound sooner than later, but, I would like to ask you, since this is probably your last season, what would be the chances of you staying with the Red Sox in a coaching capacity. With your resume who better to help the young kids coming up in the Red Sox system, or the currant staff for that matter. Anyway good luck with the rehab and GO SOX!

  18. eng2lt permalink
    February 27, 2008 10:02 am

    I couldn’t let this go – it might just be me but all you pinstripe fans seem to be a tad jealous, or frustrated (especially when you pay all that money for an A-Rod and after a monster season he – falls apart in the playoffs), anyway, being a firefighter, whenever we have a fire we good naturedly bust the other shifts that if they want to they can smell the smoke in our turn-out gear (We don’t wish tragedy on anyone, but you train for such emergencies when “the big one” presents itself you want to be the ones there answering the call), I was just wondering if any of you Yankee fans would like to come to Boston and touch the trophy!?

  19. yankeesonshine permalink
    February 27, 2008 5:23 pm

    Hello Curt,

    Since this may be your last year pitching, I would love to see you come back strong. But if the Sox are out 8 million smackers for nothing, I can live with that as well.

  20. theclassofbasball permalink
    February 27, 2008 10:40 pm

    hey jeterisplayinggolf

    redsox fans like your self really give the rest of you fans a bad name,i talk to alot of redsox fans, 9 out of 10 hate curt so stop sucking up to him it won’t get you any where, yanks will never go 85yrs without winning a ws. you would think after winning a few ws you would be happy but again you BORN losers always find bad things to say about the yanks.why don’t you enjoy you’re championship this year,and quit blaming yankee history for all you’re misery.if you would have done then what you’re doing now maybe you would have won more than 2 ws, i’m glad the yankees showed you’re franchise how to win.but you know it won’t last for long yanks will be on top sooner or later.

    and to end this with more thing in 2000 when we won, it takes more than 2 or 3 players to win a ws.it’s just a poor loser redsox fan finding fault with the most successful team in history.so go take a long walk around you’re loser city of beeaston.and remember yankees have 26 rings how many do you have?

    redsox suck

  21. warbler44 permalink
    February 28, 2008 2:37 am

    hope your well soon Curt….I hope God gives the strength to tell the truth next time you speak in front of the American people in testimony to Congress and not make you lie like last time…

  22. February 28, 2008 1:27 pm

    Curt,

    I was upset the Sox wouldn’t let you have the surgery. I thought it would be better for you AND the Red Sox in the long run.

    Not that my opinion matters. I’m just saying that I’m with you. :)

    Sending my absolute best,

    Julia

  23. schillingishgh permalink
    February 28, 2008 7:21 pm

    Curt, last time I wrote something mean about you and you did not let it appear on your site. So today I just want to say that you are probably not such a bad guy. However, still nobody likes you outside of Boston and I can’t change that. I say you just retire and dont come back. I think the bloody sock thing kind of did you in. Alright, have a good life.

  24. diehardyank permalink
    February 28, 2008 10:41 pm

    hey eng2lt

    people who live in glass houses shouldn’t through stones,get the point?how much money did you spend on dice-k? don’t worry about a-rod.we both know if you would have signed him in 03 you would be singing a different tune, wouldn’t we? to bad you’re owners were to cheap then.he could be playing on you’re team now.
    .why don’t they spend some money and build a new stadium?and tear down that broken down shack you call fenwaypark,thats because they have fans like you, that go there.you think you all would wise up, but like the fools you are you keep going back every year,maybe you can come to ny and touch are 26 trophys,trust me yankee fans will never be jealous, afterall we showed you how to win. you finally started to spend some money i’m glad YANKEE UNIVERSE showed and taught you how to be a winner.

    and one more thing,any time you want to come to ny and touch are most recent SUPERBOWL TROPHY let us know.how much more sweet it is,when a ny team beats a beaustin team just a little more icing on the cake………………..sweet dreams.

  25. monsterman22 permalink
    February 29, 2008 8:13 am

    Big guy,
    You have already spoiled us with some of the best postseason starts in the history of baseball. If your guys get you there, I’ll take any action on anyone betting against you. Don’t rush things. I’ll be looking for you in September/October. The months you always shine the brightest! Best of luck. You win one more series and McCain takes the presidency. 2008 could be a great Year!!

  26. linksjinx permalink
    February 29, 2008 10:40 am

    As John Wayne once said, “Never apologize–it is a sign of weakness!”. You don’t need to explain your physical situation to anyone. Curt Schilling is a warrior, a war hoss who has given his all to the Sox and was instrumental in bringing us two world championships. I, for one, appreciate the toughest competitor in baseball.

    I’ve got an idea. Why don’t you just lay out until the playoffs begin–then come on like you always do and blow the other teams away–all the way through the World Series!! Crunch time is Schilling time.

    God bless you and your family.

    Jinx Hoover

  27. eng2lt permalink
    February 29, 2008 1:16 pm

    To diehardyank
    We in Red Sox Nation will take Mike Lowell over A-rod any day.
    Fenway Park is not a shack – it’s a classic ballpark full of great
    tradition – and of course the currant world champions, and if your trying to reach me because of the Partriots losing the SB to NY – you would be better off talking about the NFC Champ. game.
    I have lived in RI all my life – 50 yrs – and I am not a patriot fan.
    At all!. It was extremely tough to watch the SB at the my fire station (I was on duty) w/ 7 Pat’s fans, a NY Jet fan, and 1 Giant fan. Being a Cowboys fan since ’70 it was very tough to root for the Giants – I am not a Pat’s fan. Sorry NE.

  28. ampinoy13 permalink
    February 29, 2008 7:55 pm

    Curt:

    I’ve observed your career since you were with Philadelphia. I know you’ve tried to do the right thing, as when you reached out to help teammates not as financially secure as you during a player’s strike.

    If you say, with the help of God and the Red Sox medical staff, that you will return to the team you WILL do it. You will again be able to be a quality pitcher. With quality pitching being at such a premium throughout baseball, even at 75 or 80 percent of your ability, you will be more than capable.

    All the best with your rehabilitation and the best of success in your video software business venture you spoke off earlier this year.

  29. diehardyank permalink
    March 1, 2008 10:47 am

    dear mr eng2lt

    first of all let me say this, i love the rivary the best in all of sports:)but as far as mike over a-rod, lets start by being honest i love mike also.but he’s only had a few good years compared to a-rod.and come on dude.there’s no way he will ever compare to a-rod.and if you’re team would have signed him in 03 you would be saying how much you love him i will admit he’s not my favorite player.but there’s not a better offensive player in the game today.

    and being honest 2nd debate don’t even go there when it comes to that broken down dog house there’s not a good seat in the place, i know iv’e been there plenty of times. the best seat i had was in the mens room.maybe they should add a few seats there you might get a better view of the game.did you say lots of years of tradition? of what 85 yrs of losing? don’t make me laugh,dude the only good traditions in that s— hole are only the last four yrs.before that i’d say misery not traditions. want to see traditions? come to yankee stadium lots of traditions there.

    3rd debate i only said that about the super bowl because of what you said about the redsox trophy you rubbed it in, just returning the favor.so you’re a cowboy fan? that even makes it more sweeter, i hate them more than the redsox anyway iv’e said what needs to be said lets just hope both teams stay healthy and it’s a dog fight until october. being the good sport that i am good luck to you’re team as long as you wish the best for mine…………..peace.

  30. eng2lt permalink
    March 2, 2008 1:16 am

    To diehardyank
    You got it – may the best team win, baseball and next fall – and by the way, even though I like the Bruins, I’ve always been a Ranger fan starting back in the days of Eddie Giacomin – but your probably an Islander fan:) Good Luck!

  31. tigersrulebaseball permalink
    March 2, 2008 5:20 pm

    being the tiger fan that i am, its hard for me to believe why you redsux fans call it redsox nation,when we both know that the yankees are most popular team in baseball,

    so maybe you should call you’re self redsox loser creation, and let the yankees be called yankee nation.

    that sounds alot better to me i don’t like the yankees, but i like them better than you chowder heads from baaaaaaaaaston……….go tigers

  32. ump93 permalink
    March 4, 2008 6:25 pm

    Hi Curt.
    I hope your rehab is going well.
    But most of all I hope you are doing well as a professional ball player
    and as a person. I have always respected you for having the courage
    to say things as you see them, because most of all time you back
    that up, that is what makes you my favored player.
    Unlike most of today professional athletes they play both sides of the fence. Case in point you made a correct statement about Roger Clements
    and you got mostly killed for it, and accused of beeng jelous. I do not understand that reasoning. You have in a short time accomplished goals as a Sox pitcher than no other since the turn of the century was able to do and that includes Roger Clements, Pedro ect, ect.
    Well I do not see any apologies from those irated people now.
    Especially Yankee fans.
    Curt I come to Fenway to see about 6 to 8 games per year, and I always
    try to time it when it is your turn to pitch, I look foward to see you pitch
    this year, but God forbid you will not be able to, to me you will always rank at the top, along with YEZ, PUDGE, EVANS and RICE as my favored.
    Ps. I was at the 2nd game of 07 World Series, AND THAT WAS THE GUTTIEST GAME I EVER SEEN PITCHED BY A RED SOX PITCHER.
    GOD BLESS. Have a fast recovery, I will be in the stands rooting for you.
    S. Coppola North Haven Ct.

  33. baseballindc1968 permalink
    March 5, 2008 9:43 am

    A few things. First, like tigersrulebaseball, I’m a Detroit Tigers fan, although I now live in the Washington, DC area.

    The name Red Sox nation refers not to the US, but to the large region of the US (the Northeast) that roots for the Red Sox, which is the geographically closest team. Anyone growing up in that region that was a baseball fan rooted for Boston – even when they move away (like me with Detroit). This creates a fan base far greater than the Boston region, hence the apt name Red Sox nation. There is (or was) also a Cardinal nation based on the fact that for many years anyone living in the middle of the country could only get the Cardinals’ games on their radios.

    Next, the reason that Curt doesn’t have to give the money back (and shouldn’t) is because the Boston Red Sox, who have the best lawyers in the country, didn’t negotiate an out clause for this case. They could have, but they would have had to given something in exchange, which they didn’t want to do.

    Finally, everyone knows that given a choice, Curt would be on the mound throwing his arm off. It’s not his choice. The notion that he should give the $$$ back is absurd. He contracted to pitch to the best of his ability, whatever that was.

    Here’s the flip side. Joanthon Papelbon was lights out last year. Did the Red Sox say “hey! you’re worth million more than we paid you – here’s the difference”? No. And they’re not renegotiating his contract now (see today’s MLB.com story on that). A deal’s apparently a deal.

    The bottom line is the same in both cases – the Red Sox offered a set $$$ for best efforts by both men. In one case they will get less than they had hoped due to Curt’s injury. In the second, they got a LOT more than they paid for (and probably will again this year unless Papelbon tanks). That’s the business of sports.

  34. phil8 permalink
    March 6, 2008 8:44 pm

    Curt,

    There’s no doubt in my mind you WILL be back. I love the fact that your getting doubted right now, the more doubters the better! As far as I’m concerned when you come back it will be like trading for someone else’s ACE! And I can’t wait to throw it in my friends face that I had a little argument with about your situation. Everything you just wrote proved my points!

    And Curt please check out my new blog, I was going to be a Sports Artist until MLB bent me over after working to be my own publisher for 7 years so I wouldn’t have to give away 50% on top of MLB & the Players union’s cut. Instead of giving up 22% I would have had to give up 72%. They said I’m good enough but they made a new rule as of 2005 to not grant individual licenses (after they gave me all the info and had me make a detailed business plan with 2 years projected cash flow sheets etc.) :( At the time I was working on a game six full color drawing of you with your sock front and center! I was so pissed I stopped drawing it, it’s still only half done. If I ever finish it I promise you I will give it to you because you have a certain situation in your life that I very much admire unrelated to baseball. Thank you and I look forward to seeing you kick some as* once again!

    philsimagination.blogspot.com

  35. pilatesgirl permalink
    March 7, 2008 4:48 pm

    Shame on the small handful of people that post negative thoughts on your blog during this rough patch. You and your family passionately give back to the community. You have so much love and respect for your family and the game. It is truely inspiring. Miss you all here in AZ. We will be thinking of you this season and hope for nothing but the best.

  36. yanksfan21 permalink
    March 13, 2008 10:20 am

    you’re full of crap schilling. i bet you signed the contract with the same red sharpie you drew on that sock with. the red sox are the best thing that ever happen to your career and this is how you repay them? if you’re a real man you’ll donate the entire $8MM to your ALS charity.

  37. ump93 permalink
    March 15, 2008 9:26 pm

    TO YANKSFAN21
    If you read what you just submitted, if you have the ability to use
    common sense YOU will understand why you Yankee fans are hated so
    much. Curt Shilling sox or no sox has backed up all the statements he
    ever made, has beaten your Yankees when it counted on the biggest
    stage, THE WORLD SERIES and all of you Yans fans C’ANT HANDLE IT !
    If Curt does not pitch ever again he, has done more for the Red Sox
    than any of your over rated Yankee players have done for your team.
    You are maybe second best in the division AND YOU CANNOT HANDLE IT.
    If you do not like the man, at the very least have respect for the player.
    If you do not, you sound just like all the rest of your poor loosers
    Yankees fans.
    UMP93

  38. lovethesocks permalink
    March 16, 2008 9:38 am

    Curt-

    Haven’t heard how the rehab is going.
    How ’bout an update?

  39. diehardyank permalink
    March 17, 2008 9:58 pm

    to ump93

    wow! what do we have here another suxsox fan running his mouth about things you know nothing about, you have to be the biggest idiot sux fan of them all,get real dude lets talk about losing,85 yrs without winning anything? and you’re being cocky? you just started getting you’re first taste of winning,and it’s quite obvious you don’t know how to be a real champion still finding things to bitch about the yankees, never happy even
    when you’re winning still crying whaaaaaaaaaaaa!
    sucking up to curt isn’t gona get you know where and you and i both know if he was playing for the yankees you would hate him to,so quit wining who’s overpayin for players?lets think about that goofy statement,what about dice k?how did you pay for him? it’s funny since you LOSERS have started spending money, you’re starting to win ws i’m glad yankee universe showed you’re team how to win,so let’s not start throwing stones at us, before you know what you’re talking about and will see who finish 2nd place, if you had half a brain( i doubt it) you would know how hard it is to repeat, and it’s already happening to the sux sox schl, beckett hurt.

    will never be jealous of the redsox like you fans because we know how it is to be winners for decades and decades, and in case you forgot, we have 39 pennants and 26 rings how many do you have?………….

  40. neet76 permalink
    March 18, 2008 9:58 pm

    Why are the Sox carrying a useless piece of luggage who goes by the name of Schilling to Japan.. I mean you are ON 60 day DL with no shot of pitching for more than 2 months..

    Are you going there to campaign for McCain in Japan fopr the US base there? what is the use of schilling on this trip and how come the Sox brass agreed to carry your expense on this trip when they know he is not going contribute even 0.0001 % on this trip ???

    Care to shed any light ? I just do not get you wasting a seat.where you can rest here and recover faster and do your rehab

  41. dhaines permalink
    March 30, 2008 7:06 pm

    Curt

    This is that sitter again. Glad to hear your spirits are up and you keep them that way. Nevermind the knuckleheads out there that put you down as they are just jealous. Your Father would be so proud of you and your family and you just remember that. Be faithful to God, Family and Friends. He would want it that way. You come from tough stock and you will prevail.
    Always,
    Di

  42. jimhig permalink
    April 15, 2008 10:17 pm

    Curt…
    My family went to Winter Haven with the Red Sox…to team functions with the ’75 guys…Yaz took me home from games because he lived in Lynnfield and Cara was my little sister’s pal…I live in CT with my wife, 4 kids and a Boston Terrier named Bosox…so go to the Yankees…be a 9-12 pitcher for 14.6mm dollars…Ray Bourque was given Boston’s blessing to win a Cup in Colorado…and a hero’s welcome when he did…Bobby Orr….Russell…Havlicek…Cousy…NY has the attention span of a gnat- they’re booing Santana after 3 games…Boston – love that dirty water my home town !

  43. jimhig permalink
    April 15, 2008 10:26 pm

    oh yea..at the pennant clinching Jim Longborg game 1967…age 5…Bobby Orr winner vs St.Louis Blues 1970….this is Boston..we don’t mess around !

  44. jimhig permalink
    April 15, 2008 10:28 pm

    Game 6 Carlton Fisk too…c’mon..the Yankees…you definitely haven’t met Junior Steinbrenner yet…holy crap !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 767 other followers

