Skip to content

Just Vote

February 5, 2008

Regardless of your political affiliation, get out and vote today if you are in one of the states holding their primary. If you want to come here and scream bloody murder about politics or opinions on politics at least bring the credibility of having voted with you.

FYI I cast my vote for one John McCain at 7am this morning and was happy to see quite a few people at the polls.

For anyone that just is not sure who to vote for, I urge you to get a chance in the coming months to at least hear Senator McCain speak. If you cannot back him after hearing him speak that’s cool, but I’d ask to at least give him that much.

Anyone that can rile up members of both parties in some ways tells me that’s a good thing. While he’s considered a Republican in many cases, he’s not a dyed in the wool politician, which I love.

Mistakes? Yep. Missteps? Yep. Passion? Check. Common Sense? Check. Integrity? Double check. Ability to cross party lines to get things done? I believe he’s the ONLY one in this election capable of doing that and beyond all things that’s what I want from our next President. Someone with the ability to get things done regardless of personal agenda or party affiliation.

If you are a McCain supporter check out this piece, if you are undecided check it out as well

33 Comments leave one →
  1. thewallyllama permalink
    February 5, 2008 8:55 am

    Thank you Curt. Your logic in your support of McCain is the exact same as mine, and unfortunately something I cannot get many friends and family to understand. I’m voting today in AZ as well, and I can proudly say I’m voting McCain in ’08!

    And he’s right, folks…get out and vote, regardless of your candidate of choice. It’s your right to gripe later!

  2. rodmac permalink
    February 5, 2008 10:05 am

    I’ve been a life long democrat, but at this stage I no longer care about party affiliation. In 2000 I switched to republican for the primary so that I could vote for McCain. I was really exited about him, and it was looking good till Bush’s crowd and Bob Jones University derailed him with innuendo and lies. Now after nearly 8 more years of lies and deception, history’s worst administration is finally coming to an end. We’ve been left with a horrible mess, maybe an insurmountable mess. So I’m going to give McCain another shot. I disagree with many of his views. But he is upfront with them and above all, he’s honest. That’s what’s so refreshing. Honesty. A rare commodity in this or any presidential election.
    rod

  3. ichikawa permalink
    February 5, 2008 10:20 am

    Hi Curt, I’m just curious: when you say McCain is “the ONLY one in this election capable of” crossing party lines to get things done, are you talking only about Republican candidates, or do you mean to be including the democratic candidates, too?

    I’m off to vote for Obama…

  4. bosox4eva permalink
    February 5, 2008 10:23 am

    Just got back from my local polls. They are packed. McCain, is my man and has been from the beginning. I loved the speech he gave in Boston yesterday. What does everyone think aboutMcCain/Giullanni Ticket? I watched a program on the Military Channel, last night about the POWS in Nam, and although, I knew all along (I’m only 35), he was a POW, I never knew for how long and the absolute strength he had to make it through. If we had more McCain’s in this Country, we would be much safer. He is looking out for the best for this Country, not for personal gains or another notch under his belt. If anyone can catch that Scumbag Bin Laden, it’s McCain. By the way Curt, loved your comments in the Herald, today about the Pats. You are a Class Act, always have, always will be. Just promise us, you will stay in MA, after your retirement. Shonda and yourself have given so much and we need people like you to stir up the political pot here in Democratic MA (arghh…..) See you in 2 weeks, you look great and all us Constituents of Red Sox Nation, can’t wait for Spring Training to start.

  5. February 5, 2008 11:34 am

    Thanks Curt… even if I didn’t agree with you, you’re honest and passionate about what you believe. And you have the morals and convictions to back you.

    I’m off to the polls, fellow McCain voter!

  6. bugmn permalink
    February 5, 2008 11:38 am

    Dear Curt,

    You have NO credibility on this issue with your lousy record of picking candidates. Need I remind you of Go Big and Go Bush? How’s that working out for you? Let’s see, 911, Katrina, Enron, unnecessary wars, Daddy issues out the wazoo, and a looming recession.

    So please shut up and pitch.

    Sincerely,

    America

  7. February 5, 2008 2:00 pm

    Hey Curt –

    McCain is the man, I hope he can get it done. It’s a tough election for Republicans without a doubt, but it will be interesting to see what happens. I am so glad you support McCain so much. Although you may not have a huge impact on his election, many sports fans are NOT politically active. And to have an athlete so wholeheartedly endorse a candidate is a wonderful thing.

    I posted a link to an article I wrote the other day in your first Sean Casey Is A Sox post, I would really love to hear your feedback on it. It deals with whether or not an asterisk should ever be used in sports (for records etc…) I personally feel it should not, but the article is how or why you would use one. I think honestly it opens up Pandora’s box in baseball. Please read it and let me know what you think though, it’s the first time I have posted on a baseball site, and my first ever “published” article. I am currently working on a piece about hosting collegiate baseball players for summer ball, (we host 3 each summer). That should be on the site in coming weeks.

    We can’t wait to see you guys in Spring Training, we are headed down the 1st of March to watch some college ball, and come see the Sox a couple of times. Hopefully we’ll see you there, last time we saw you McCain won our votes in Manchester. Thanks a lot.

    Brian, Sarah & Teagan Sparhawk

  8. texbosoxfan permalink
    February 5, 2008 2:36 pm

    Thanks for backing McCain Curt. He was my write-in candidate in 2000 and 2004. IMHO, the guy spent 5 1/2 years in a rat hole for all of us….the LEAST we can do is support him for President. The only thing I disagree with you on Curt is this whole notion of ‘just get out and vote’….I really believe we all have an obligation to educate ourselves on each candidate’s position, voting record, etc. before voting……If you’re going to vote for someone because of how they look or how well they speak, then please just stay home……..each vote DOES matter, but only if exercised for the right reason.

  9. theneedler permalink
    February 5, 2008 6:28 pm

    Way to go, Curt! Whomever you vote for, just vote!

    Red Sox Fans for Obama

  10. February 5, 2008 6:43 pm

    I said the same thing at my place! Your first paragraph and my whole post go hand in hand..

    🙂

  11. lughlamfhada permalink
    February 5, 2008 8:04 pm

    Curt,

    You’re really blowing my mind here. As a conservative, born-again Christian who once supported President Bush, HOW can you support McCain??

    Look at what happened in West Virginia today, that is a flagrant abuse of the voting system. Allow me to paraphrase. Romney lead the first ballot with 41% to Huckabee’s 31%. After this first round of voting, since no candidate reached the required 50%, McCain threw all of his votes to Huckabee, thereby handing the state to Huckabee and preventing Romney from winning the primary.

    Integrity? That does not sound like integrity, that sounds like cutting a backroom deal. I wonder what Huckabee got out of it? A cabinet seat if McCain wins? Perhaps a shot at being the vice president?

    Call it what you want to call it, but that doesn’t show integrity on the part of McCain or Huckabee. The people of WV voted for Romney, and McCain presumed to speak for them and throw his support for Huckabee.

    This is a problem endemic to Washington insiders like McCain. Here are some of McCain’s other so-called conservative credentials:

    IMMIGRATION: he wrote the bill granting amnesty to illegal immigrants (co-sponsored by Ted Kennedy)
    -SOCIAL SECURITY: he voted to give your social security money to illegal immigrants
    -TAXES: he voted against the Bush tax cuts multiple times (he has since flip-flopped and has campaigned as a lifelong tax-cutter)
    -RHETORIC: he routinely engages in Democratic class warfare against big companies in America, particularly the “evil” drug companies who research cures to debilitating diseases for a profit
    -ECONOMY: as recently as December 2007 he admitted “he does not know the economy very well” and needed to get better at it
    -1ST AMENDMENT: he wrote the McCain-Feingold campaign finance bill that was declared to be an unconstitutional infringement of the 1st Amendment (co-sponsored by ultra-liberal Democrat Russ Feingold)
    -2ND AMENDMENT: he was called the “worst 2nd amendment candidate” by the president of the NRA
    -ENERGY TAX: wrote a bill (co-sponsored by his buddy Lieberman) imposing a massive tax on energy which, according to the Department of Energy, would drastically raise the price of gasoline and put 300,000 Americans out of work
    -GLOBAL WARMING: supports radical global warming legislation which involved him voting with every Democrat; think only America is responsible to take action, not other superpowers
    -JUDGES: he joined forces with Democrats (Gang of 14) to block the Senate Republican’s attempt to confirm conservative, strict constructionist judges
    -WAR ON TERROR: fought with Hillary Clinton to demand that terrorists be given a full American trial
    -GAY MARRIAGE: he joined liberals to fight against a federal marriage amendment supporting the institution of traditional marriage
    -CHRISTIANS: campaigning in 2000, he famously described Christian leaders as “agents of intolerance”
    -PRO-LIFE: he filed an amicus brief against pro-life advocates in Wisconsin
    -BI-PARTISANSHIP: he met with leading Democrats in 2004 to discuss the possibility of being John Kerry’s Vice-President
    -PROFESSIONAL ETHICS: ringleader of the infamous Keating 5 ethical scandal which cost US tax payers $160 billion

    I just don’t get it Curt. I agree the man was a true American hero, but that doesn’t mean that every soldier who does something heroic is fit to be President…

    Best,

    Lugh

  12. hudsonvalleyslim permalink
    February 5, 2008 11:01 pm

    Hey 38, voted this morning for Obama, but McCain’s my second choice. Glad yer encouraging us! — Hudson Valley Slim

  13. February 5, 2008 11:25 pm

    Where are all the Huckabee supporters???

  14. FireDannyAinge permalink
    February 6, 2008 1:11 am

    The US deserves better then any of these candidates. Which ever one of these people gets into office we will have someone unwilling to fight back when this Country needs it.

    I know the majority of people in the US want us to just leave Iraq but leaving that Country alone to handle this mess themselves is only going to put us back in the middle of another dictator ten times worse then the last one they had in charge.

    Health care for all is never happening. It’s a dream. The state of Massachusetts is forcing us to get health care (thanks Mitt) that I can’t afford. So right now I have no health care and thanks to Mitt I’ll have no tax refund either because the state wants to take that away because I can’t afford health care. The state will get my money, I’ll be living on the streets and I still won’t have health care. (Did I thank Mitt enough yet?)

    McCain wants to let every illegal immigrant into the Country and give them everything for free all the while he doesn’t give a damn about the current legal residents this great Nation has. Way to award me for paying my taxes since I was 15

    At least Bush won’t back down. I have no faith that any of the above will be able to protect this Country any better then he did.

  15. soxnation permalink
    February 6, 2008 1:19 am

    So, I live in California and I voted McCain at 6:00pm. I am excited to see now, at 10:00pm, that my vote was part of a big win! This is only my second presidential election I have been able to vote in (says something about my age) and I have to say I am so proud I was there and I let my vote count, no matter the outcome.

  16. 2004fan permalink
    February 6, 2008 6:42 am

    Just wanted to say that I always thought you were slime … well now I know for sure you are, if you are backing McCain.

  17. February 6, 2008 7:32 am

    Hey Curt,

    Keep up the good work. Even the people that don’t agree with your politics take the time to voice their opinion in comment form. That means that people are talking about and are passionate about the next president.

    Take care!

  18. syphax permalink
    February 6, 2008 12:16 pm

    Lugh,

    Man, except for the last one, I think everything you mentioned (with some different interpretations) are reasons I would consider voting FOR McCain.

  19. hollandmariner permalink
    February 6, 2008 1:53 pm

    Curt,

    I applaud your advocacy of getting out to vote. Even if we don’t agree on the candidates, it is still our right and privilege to vote.

    Off topic of this post, I want to thank you for your work in supporting ALS. I was diagnosed with ALS 14 months ago and I am learning the hard way how difficult things are, particularly when negotiating our system of healthcare here in the U.S. This makes voting even more important. Electing people who are willing to work together to make our country even better should be a priority.

    If you are interested I have a blog http://www.learning-how-to-live.blogspot.com

    Holland

  20. February 6, 2008 3:44 pm

    curt,

    i can’t believe people come here, to your blog, and pick apart your political views (bugmn)! anyways, i gotta say, when i was at the polls it seemed very busy. lots of cars pulling in and out. BUT NO YOUNG PEOPLE! my wife and i were the youngest ones there (both in late 20’s). it’s such a shame that people don’t go out and vote. now, i’ll admit, i wasn’t pollitically inclined until 2000 when i was 20 yrs. old, and that’s a little late, but come on people. there are so many REALLY IMPORTANT issues out there i find it hard to believe that anyone in this country couldn’t find the passion to go and try to do something.
    props to everyone who went out and tried to change the country for the better.

    OBAMA 08′!!!!

  21. sdl1 permalink
    February 7, 2008 5:38 pm

    I voted last week here in Florida. As a registered Independent I would not have been able to vote in the promary; instead I was able to vote of a state-wide iniative and a county-wide iniative.

  22. vinnycugino permalink
    February 7, 2008 9:28 pm

    Schilling is right. No matter who you like get out there and vote. Or we are all going to be stuck with that succubus Hillary Clinton! and then we can watch our country continue to slide down the tubes.

  23. capwizards permalink
    February 8, 2008 9:08 am

    I am registered Ind….I have voted for both Republicans and Democrats. However, this election – there is an obvious need for change in our country. I will be pulling for Obama, and I also encourage others to get out and watch him speak as well. I have respect for Mccain, but that is not enough to sway me. The damage that has been done by the current administration is obvious, and I hope that our country can be saved with some positive change in administration.

    Either way…..I hope your shoulder heels up and the Sox can take away some of the sting from the Pats loss.

  24. manix8276 permalink
    February 8, 2008 10:00 am

    Mr. Schilling,

    Wow John McCain a war hero? If Americans knew what their government was doing in Iraq the senseless killing of people trying to force their democracy down the throats of the Iraqi citizenship who could care less about government and are just trying to survive and not get in the cross fire. McCain will continue this illegal war and Iran will be next. It’s all about the OIL!
    Your problem Curt is that you think you are well informed, do you think the national media is telling you the whole story about what this government does in the name of democracy? They only tell you what they want us to hear, never the whole story. The roadblock to learning is not ignorance, it is the ILLUSION of KNOWLEDGE.
    You need to research McCain a lot closer and see his record and his lack of intellegence. He will just be another Bush and lead us into more conflict. I believe he will lead us to attack Iran. The people of this country for the most part, just vote on the way a candidate looks or sounds not what he or she has done in the past. McCain’s biggest asset, He was a WAR HERO, in another war we should’ve never been in.

  25. mick60a permalink
    February 8, 2008 10:50 am

    Sorry I can’t vote in primary, I am a registered independent voter. I have to wait till all the smoke clears. See who speaks the lesser of two evils

  26. Abe permalink
    February 9, 2008 6:17 pm

    I can not vote since I am 13 , BUT CURT YOU DO NOT KNOW CRAP! MOST SPORTS PLAYERS AND COACHES AND ENTERTARINERS ARE LIBERALS BESIDES YOU AND BRUCE WILLIS!!!!

    We have had 8yrs if neo-cin running things NOT ANYMORE!
    HILLARY08!

  27. eric0710 permalink
    February 10, 2008 9:39 pm

    Hey Curt,
    I have admired your ability to be out spoken and proud of who you are (politically and athletically). I can relate to your ability to say what you believe, even if it gets you in some hot water. I am curious though, what do you feel about McCain’s stance on embryonic stem cell research?
    Good luck with your shoulder. I am a PT and ATC as well and have had surgery myself for baseball related injuries, so I can empathize to a certain degree.
    Eric

  28. dropthemike permalink
    February 13, 2008 2:08 pm

    I would like to personally thank you Curt Schilling for taking the time out of your busy schedule to do an interview for me and my site htt://www.dropthemike.com.

    It says a lot about a guy in his position who takes the time to talk with the fans.

    For those who are unaware of the interview, visit http://blog.dropthemike.com/2008/02/12/pass-the-mike-curt-schilling/

    -Mike Muise

  29. splendidsplinter409 permalink
    February 15, 2008 10:16 pm

    Curt, i am very upset about the injury but things happen. I hope you make the best discion for you and your family. i hope the Spring goes good in the Ft.Meyers and hope you come back to be our # 2 and be as good as possible. You will allways be my dads hero. Good luck Big Shill and hopfully i will wake up one morning and hear on nesn that your back in the rotation.

    Best of luck to a smooth recovery!!!!!!!!!!

  30. splendidsplinter409 permalink
    February 15, 2008 10:17 pm

    Go Jhon Mcain, I know your a huge rebublican i hope he gets the nomination

  31. dhaines permalink
    March 28, 2008 1:42 pm

    Dear Curt,

    I am praying for you and hope you will be able to pitch again during the 2008 season. We really enjoy watching you. Where can I find out the Red Sox traveling schedule? It would be so nice to see you again. You and your family mean a lot to us even though I lost track of you. Stay strong through all the talk and criticism that I know you hear. That is all it is “talk”! Your Father would tell you not to let it get next to you and stand up for what you believe in. He sure did have a strong will and I know you did not fall too far from that tree. It is very obvious just watching you on the mound and walking off the mound. I’ve seen that walk before.
    Sincerely,
    Di

  32. mavandect permalink
    April 1, 2008 1:01 pm

    Dear Curt,
    I have been a long time die heart of the Red Sox since 1968. I am so angry at what the owners and management did to Doug Mirabelli. No one is perfect at everything. Over the many years I had watched The Sox, and I have seen some pretty horrible stuff owners and management had done to players. I watched them set Doug up for the last three years. It was disgracefull what they did to him.
    Why did they not dock Jason pay when last year he through the ball into left field and then into right field? Why did Cocoa not get docked when he broke his finger or missed catching some of the fly balls yet went surfing on his stomach? Now, do you really want to discuse Manny and his stunts just to get attention? And you don’t want me to get started on athletes pay!!!
    Last year I bought 3 ultamate fan packages In Redsox Nation. Yet mlb.com gave me 2 membership packages and the third one took my money ans did not give me my 2 free tickets that went with it. I just love being screwed. When you ask for help and find out no one wants to help. President Jerry Remy did not respond either.
    After these thing happened, do you really want me to be a Red Sox Nation member or support the Red Sox?
    May

  33. theredsoxsuck permalink
    April 3, 2008 1:25 pm

    the redsox suck.

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

