Skip to content

Please read.

January 25, 2008

Not sure how many of you here have been following along since the blog began back in Spring Training.

If you have, and you remember the beautiful young woman who visited us from Dana Farber, you’ll remember I posted a picture of her and I.

Holly Young was her name, and she passed away last night at the tender age of 22.

One of those people you meet that no matter how beautiful they look on the outside you get a glimpse of the inner strength and fortitude, and it blows you away.

Her parents are asking that in lieu of other memorials, her friends consider donations to:

Solid Tumor Research, Jimmy Fund Clinic, 44 Binney St. , Boston MA 02115, 

or to

Holly Young Volleyball Scholarship Fund, c/o Guidance Dept, DY Regional High School, 210 Station Ave, S. Yarmouth MA 02664.

The members of the Red Sox send our deepest sympathies and condolences to the Young family.

God Bless you and yours in this horrible time, may the Lord give you the strength you need and the wisdom you seek.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2008 12:35 am

    It’s always so sad when someone dies at a young age. I didn’t know this lady personally, but I wish her family the best.

  2. Tom Field permalink
    January 26, 2008 4:05 am

    So sorry to hear the sad news, Curt, but thanks for sharing it.

    I lost my Mom to cancer nearly three years ago, and it’s just the cruelest disease. You keep hoping we’re closer to winning the battle, but then you get news like this, and … I don’t know.

    Condolences to Holly’s family and friends.

    best,

    Tom

  3. kpklauer permalink
    January 26, 2008 4:26 am

    I’ve known Holly for a number of years through lifeguarding on the Cape, I knew she was battling cancer but was under the belief she was on the upswing.

    I wanted to thank you for noting her both in her struggle and her passing. Your involvement in the lives of those who battle daily means a tremendous amount. Please continue getting the stories of others out there so that people are aware. Thank you for all of your work.

  4. redsoxnum7 permalink
    January 26, 2008 6:36 am

    Curt, Thank you so much for remembering Holly and her strength. It’s amazing to know how many peoples lives she has touched. She will forever be in many peoples hearts.

  5. jctilman permalink
    January 26, 2008 9:38 am

    The following link is a good article from Foster’s and gives us a small glance at her fortitude:

    http://www.fosters.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20080126/GJSPORTS_01/683301767/-1/FOSSPORTS

    Curt,

    Thanks for your contributions to the community.

    I remember corresponding with Ted Williams’ secretary a few times when he was in declining health, and I mentioned that not enough people gave importance to his tireless efforts for The Jimmy Fund without any fanfare. For me, it was the one thing I read about his life that swayed my opinion on whether he was really a jerk or not because of all the negative press.

  6. ilovebigpapi permalink
    January 26, 2008 3:16 pm

    I’m so sorry for the loss of Holly

    When you think about her you can know how much happiness you must have brought into her life by giving some of your time to her, and the other players who did as well. All the bs that can be around baseball becomes completely irrelevant when you think about that impact that you can have by just taking that time, and about what these kids go through.

  7. groccery28 permalink
    January 26, 2008 5:36 pm

    If we have to ask Mr. Schilling a question. How do we do that?

  8. jibebby59 permalink
    January 26, 2008 5:40 pm

    Hi Curt,
    I would like to thank you for your post about Holly. My daughter, Nicki, is a patient at the Jimmy Fund Clinic and is a good friend of Holly’s. We love her very much and will miss her terribly. She was a remarkable young lady that touched many lives.
    Rest in Peace sweet Holly, you will never be forgotten!!!
    Thank you

  9. January 26, 2008 10:04 pm

    I appreciate your heart.

  10. January 26, 2008 11:50 pm

    Rest in Peace, Dana.

  11. rwc77 permalink
    January 27, 2008 12:08 pm

    Curt,
    That was a nice piece about Holly. I lost my mom to cancer almost three years ago. You never realize sometimes how special someone is until they are gone. My advice to people. NEVER TAKE LOVED ONES FOR GRANTED!!!!!!!

  12. warbler44 permalink
    January 27, 2008 12:12 pm

    very sad, my best to her family

  13. txmastar permalink
    January 27, 2008 2:32 pm

    Curt,

    I am an avid reader of your blog…

    Thank you for telling us about Holly. My deepest sympathies go out to the family.

    I am a teacher, and my Special Education class runs the school store. We put money aside from our weekly sales for charitable needs. I will speak to them this week about making a donation in Holly’s name.

  14. ryssee permalink
    January 27, 2008 4:53 pm

    oof. 22. wow. life is really unfair sometimes.

  15. lwilliams05 permalink
    January 27, 2008 5:02 pm

    I remember hearing about Holly while listening to WEEI. My thoughts and prayers go out to the Young family. I know this might not mean much, but Holly is in a much better place now. God Bless!

  16. niecee3 permalink
    January 28, 2008 7:52 am

    Curt, I also knew Holly. I was her volleyball coach for the Baystate games in 2003, and she stayed in my life thereafter. She was an amazing athlete and incredible woman. There are so few people in the world like her with the strength and courage that she had. She was a tough fighter. Cancer is a tough disease. I lost my dad 3 years ago as well, and know how tough it is on the family. But I know how close it brings your family as well. My prayers are with Holly and her family during this time. I will truly miss her.

  17. January 28, 2008 10:26 am

    Please remove the above comment, I accidentally put it in the wrong thread.
    Thanks

  18. frodo1962 permalink
    January 28, 2008 12:58 pm

    Sad news.

    My wife has been battling cancer for a year and a half … the treatment she got from the folks at Dana Farber didn’t exist 4 years ago. Thanks to them and everyone who has given money to help them with research & development of drugs and treatments, she is now a survivor.

    So please consider heading the families plea to donate.

  19. bdimon80 permalink
    January 28, 2008 8:56 pm

    Curt,

    As a friend of Holly I would like to thank you for this piece. She touched so many with her always happy, always smiling attitude. I know the campus of UNH and especially the field house will not be the same without her around. I know how much she loved the Sox and enjoyed meeting you and becoming friends. Thank you for all you do for cancer research and in the community, Curt. We need more athletes like you.

    Brendan

  20. beaches25 permalink
    January 28, 2008 11:24 pm

    Curt,

    I would like to say thank you – and all Red Sox players – for your support of the Jimmy Fund and their activities. Holly was an amazing young woman who I have known for many, many years. At her wake this evening, they had on display a scrapbook that Holly had made of all her Red Sox trips and games and memories of her times spent with Sox players. It was truly remarkable to look through and see how many people you all touch with each visit they had and what your friendship meant to her.

    Thank you for remembering the important things in life…

  21. kdespain permalink
    January 29, 2008 2:15 pm

    We will keep Holly’s family and friends in our prayers.

  22. captainsad permalink
    January 29, 2008 8:41 pm

    My three daughters (Jacqui,Aimee & Karen) know Holly. They all played with her on the Dennis Yarmouth Volleyball team. I knew her as a Volleyball parent who enjoyed watching her spike the ball on her opponents. She always smiled and said hi to me when I showed up at the Gym. I remember her as a JV player that didn’t have that vertical jump that you needed to have as a hitter. But she continued to better herself. She was an All-Star her Junior & Senior Years. I know during her Senior year I wouldn’t want to be on the receiving end of her spikes. Man could she jump & hit. She was something to watch. I got a kick out of seeing her up in the booth with Jerry Remy and Dan Orsilo this past summer. She really looked good. I am saddened she is no longer with us. I know my daughters will miss her. My wife and I send our prayers to the Young family.

    Rich and Marti Dauphinais

  23. martyb56 permalink
    January 30, 2008 8:26 am

    I went on the blog to see a Clemens response. The information on the blog was far more important than the trivialities associated with a baseball icon.

    I have run five Boston marathons with Dana Farber to raise money for cancer research. Giving to cancer research has got to be one of the best investments we can make in our future.

  24. bflosox permalink
    January 30, 2008 12:30 pm

    All the best to Holly’s family. Some people accomplish more in 22 years the others do in a lifetime. God Bless!

  25. January 30, 2008 4:45 pm

    I am so sorry to hear of Holly’s passing. It’s always so sad to hear of someone losing their battle with Cancer….and it’s that much sadder when it’s such a young life!!

    My thoughts and condolences go out to all those who’s lives Holly touched….

  26. rufokathcar permalink
    January 30, 2008 5:33 pm

    Oh my, how truly sad. My deepest condolences to Holly’s family and everyone else who knew and loved her.

    Now will someone explain to me how you can possibly believe in a benevolent god?

  27. bdpdcded permalink
    January 30, 2008 7:38 pm

    Curt – from recent posts, I get a picture of you politically and personally… What do you think about saving the world? Sports (and politics, entertainment, etc) could conceivably save the world or at least America… There are many athletes and others out there who contribute a great deal of money and time to specific charities or their own causes, etc. What if they centralized it and created larger scale social resources? Whaddya think? What we are lacking is a leader, an organizer, or at the very least an agitator (all of which I think you’d be good at). Throw the challenge out there to the masses of the sports world, see what happens. I have lots of thoughts on this and am looking for someone with some clout to help…

  28. priscillapitman08 permalink
    January 31, 2008 8:22 pm

    It is definitely sad when a young person dies. My sympathy and condolescenes go to the family and her friends.

    This week, another young life was taken from me, from her family, and friends. Her name was Kelly Paradise Brackley. Her family and children and friends will truly miss her. She had a wonderful heart and her life was violently taken.

    Parents shouldn’t have to bury their children.

  29. smallishangel permalink
    February 6, 2008 10:42 pm

    I also knew Holly and I am a fellow young adult Ewing’s Sarcoma survivor. Her death is so hard-she touched so many people and was so amazing! Thank you for putting her story out there in order to touch others. She mentioned to me that knowing you was special to her.

    Rachel

    iamobsessedwithlife.blogspot.com

  30. dropthemike permalink
    February 13, 2008 2:10 pm

    I would like to personally thank you Curt Schilling for taking the time out of your busy schedule to do an interview for me and my site htt://www.dropthemike.com.

    It says a lot about a guy in his position who takes the time to talk with the fans.

    For those who are unaware of the interview, visit http://blog.dropthemike.com/2008/02/12/pass-the-mike-curt-schilling/

    -Mike Muise

  31. twinmom3289 permalink
    April 27, 2008 5:43 pm

    Thanks for your wonderful words about Holly. My daughters, Becky & Sammi, played volleyball in high school with Holly, and I, as a volleyball parent, sat in the bleachers, watching in amazement as Holly spiked ball after ball. Not only was she a wonderful athlete, she was a wonderful example of grace under fire. My daughter Becky has been involved with the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life for several years, and this year, she has formed “Holly’s Team”. This year’s Relay takes place on June 20-21, at Dennis-Yarmouth Regional High School. We would be proud to have you as a member of our team. I know, I know, it’s right in the middle of the Red Sox season, but you are still welcome to join our team, even if only in spirit! We relay in memory of Holly, to fight this horrendous disease. As you know, Holly may have lost her battle with cancer, but she never lost her spirit. And we want to carry that spirit on.

    My daughters will forever miss Holly, as will I.

    Thanks for everything you did for Holly!

    Donna Melville

  32. twinmom3289 permalink
    April 27, 2008 5:45 pm

    An addition to the previous comment – the site for our team page is:

    main.acsevents.org/site/TR/RelayForLife/RelayForLifeNewEnglandDivision?pg=team&fr_id=7151&team_id=275004

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

