Skip to content

Raise money, and run a looooong way…

January 23, 2008

Shonda’s charity, the Shade Foundation (www.shadefoundation.org) is looking for people to run the Boston Marathon and raise money for SHADE. Runners must raise $3,500 or more to qualify. You can find all relevant information at the website and thanks in advance to anyone taking up the fight for such a worthy cause.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. browns83 permalink
    January 23, 2008 3:49 pm

    Curt, this sounds like a wonderful opportunity for a 41 year old pitcher with fitness clauses in his contract!

  2. chrystal4 permalink
    January 23, 2008 4:07 pm

    Howdy!! How are you? Since I won’t be in Boston to run the marathon, is there just a way I can donate to the foundation? Hope all is going well for you and your family. Rochester says hi….you’ll have to stop and visit sometime. 🙂 Chrystal

  3. theillien permalink
    January 23, 2008 8:14 pm

    To qualify? So if I ran and only raised $2000 the foundation wouldn’t accept it?

  4. misterguido permalink
    January 23, 2008 11:48 pm

    Re: theillien… Typically athletes must qualify to run the Boston Marathon by running a previous marathon in a very fast time. These qualification standards, as well as the race’s tradition & history, make official spots in the marathon very coveted.

    A limited number (~1200) of spots are reserved for charity runners who do not need to run a qualifying time. Instead, they raise money for one of the dozen or so charities that are affiliated with the marathon. Since there are a lot of people who would like to run, but a limited number of spots, all charities use minimum fundraising limits to ensure the runners on their team are making good use of the opportunity.

    I ran a few years ago for a different charity and it was undoubtedly one of the highlights of my life. I hope to do it again someday… until then, good luck runners & don’t forget your sunscreen!

  5. shhendo36 permalink
    January 24, 2008 8:19 am

    Curt,

    If I was trying to raise awareness for the East Providence Central Little League…http://www.epcll.com so they might be able to build some dugouts and a score board, where would i post it.

    Additionally, I spent my whole life in the military and now am trying to give back.

    Thanks

    Scott H.

  6. johnnymac813 permalink
    January 24, 2008 11:28 am

    Sorry Curt.. This comment has nothing to do with your entry but I need to post this where people may actually see it. I am fed up with the San Diego Chargers and their baby like comments. The latest news about Richard Seamore head butting a coach is utterly dumb! It makes me so mad to see this junk in the news. The Chargers are the sorest losers in professional sports. This kind of stuff just adds to this illusion that the Patriots are this evil team and franchise and it hurts to hear it. Those guys need to just grab their golf clubs and vanish for a few months. They are lucky the get as much respect as they do because they deserve very little of it.

  7. January 24, 2008 12:15 pm

    I cannot run the marathon but am more than happy to make a contribution to help someone else participate. It is a goal of mine to eventually be able to run it… but not this year. So, I will be looking at the link you provided to see if there is a way I can contribute.

    (Btw, thank you, Shonda. ; ) )

  8. kypselos permalink
    January 24, 2008 1:02 pm

    theillien, I think the point here is that the Boston Marathon does not have open registration (i.e. you can’t just sign up and run it if you feel like it). One must either run a qualifying time at another sanctioned marathon first, or raise a specified amount of money for certain charities. This is a great thing that Shonda and the Shade Foundation are doing.

  9. January 24, 2008 3:36 pm

    Good luck with it curt, unfortunately I live to far away and plus I can’t run… lol

  10. groccery28 permalink
    January 24, 2008 5:31 pm

    If we have have a baseball quesion but in involves more than baseball, how do we ask?

  11. warbler44 permalink
    January 24, 2008 11:59 pm

    you and your wife do a nice job charity work Curt…

  12. kevinjudd permalink
    January 27, 2008 5:16 pm

    Mr. Schilling,

    I hope you will run as a team member after your playing days are over. This is a great thing that your wife does and I totally respect that. I have run NYC a few times and it is a very intense training schedule that you must follow in order to be able to qualify for Boston. I was about 3 minutes shy one year. That year I ran Boston ” bandit” because I knew I would never be able to devote the time it requires to come close again. It would be a very respectable thing to do after you retire from baseball. I wouldn’t think you would have the ability to train for it while your playing, not to mention it occurs during the season.

  13. January 30, 2008 4:46 pm

    I would LOVE to do this…but I’m a shorter distance runner. I so wish I could say that I can do it – but 10K is my longest thus far.

    I know a few people who are planning on training for longer distances/marathons – and I’ll forward the info along.

    If there are shorter distance races, I’d love to know about them!

  14. nysoxfan permalink
    January 30, 2008 5:49 pm

    Curt,

    This has nothing to do with the marathon, but this seemed like a good place to ask this. Many Sox fans have suggested that the Red Sox should hand out small packets of sunscreen at the gates at Fenway. Is this something that you and Shonda and the Shade Foundation could get behind and push for? Thank you.

  15. bsatherton permalink
    February 29, 2008 9:44 am

    To all SHADE supporters,

    If you cannot run this year’s marathon but would still like to support SHADE, you can visit my donation website at

    http://www.active.com/donate/shadebostonteam2008/brianatherton

    I will be running with Shonda and the rest of the team. This is my second Boston Marathon and I am thrilled to be doing it for charity this year.

    Curt, I would love for you to donate!!!

    Thanks all.

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

