Skip to content

Honoring them.

January 3, 2008

Returned from our family vacation last night. To say that walking off the plane to 14 degrees after leaving Puerto Rico and it’s 75 degree weather was a system shock would be an understatement. Was planning on posting a yearly wrap up at some point and I will get to it when I can.

One of the things I’ve had the honor to participate in as a member of the Board of Directors of the D-Day Museum in New Orleans is many different discussions and panels that discuss the members of MLB that served during WWII and in the conflicts that followed. A man I’ve gotten to know who’s made his life’s work the recognition of these men, Todd Anton, has recently written a fantastic book that covers the lives of these men on and off the field.

I am providing a link to the book for anyone interested.

It’s a great read on a fantastic topic for anyone that loves baseball.

And here is an unedited version of an interview I did last month for the local paper here in Maynard for any baseball fans or people interested in 38 Studios.

Pretty good insight to where we are here at 38 right now

47 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2008 8:18 am

    Welcome back to sunny, but not as warm, New England. Right now on Thursday morning, it’s ALMOST 1 degree! I can’t wait for ’08! Peter N. from Farmington, CT.

  2. jmtohline permalink
    January 3, 2008 8:20 am

    Ah, and a new year begins.

    Let’s win another World Series, RSN!

    Thanks for everything you’ve done for us, Curt — we’re glad you’re sticking around. (BTW, your Steelers look a bit banged up. Go Pats!)

  3. bostonbakedbean permalink
    January 3, 2008 9:07 am

    Curt,
    Well as usual another wonderful insight to your personal passion, and a business literally built from the ground up, i find myself checking your blog more often hoping to see something new, your persona is admirable and i wish more sports figures would take your approach and open up to the public as you do. Anyways hope you and your family had a wonderful New Years and take care of yourselves. Its like 30 degrees down here in Fla. so everyones wrapped up like Mass. in Feb., its kinda funny.

  4. syphax permalink
    January 3, 2008 9:19 am

    Looks like a great book.

    Let’s see if you have any Oprah-like ability to sell books- it’s currently at #595,865 at Amazon.

    It looks like this book was written too late to include interviews with Ted Williams, which is a shame.

  5. mrclutch34do permalink
    January 3, 2008 9:45 am

    Welcome back, Curt! Hope your Holidays were exciting and you got to relax with your loved ones. Im always up for a good read, especially a good sports book. I have been fascinated with the stories of players who lost time serving the country since I read Ted Williams’ biography. Its wonderful to know that even though time has gone by, people are still putting the information out there so the younger generations will know what times were like and what heroes we have had standing up for the country. Cant wait for the spring! Happy Holidays.

  6. mikeymomo permalink
    January 3, 2008 10:12 am

    Great link for that book.Good luck on your pre-season workout goals;looking forward to 2008 season.

  7. irishmafia permalink
    January 3, 2008 10:46 am

    you need to retire so Wakefield can come back into the rotation
    you are a has been and will be for as long as you conitnue
    So how many times did you use the clear in Puerto Rico Curt

    how many times will Mitchell save you Red Sox’s from coming out with the truth

  8. vtwick permalink
    January 3, 2008 10:57 am

    Curt,

    This post is a general one. Just wanted to pass along a thank you for starting this site. It has been a great read.

    I’ve been a Sox fan since ’78 (when I was 7) and work in the tech sector with some time in the sports industry as well. I’ve also been personally touched by ALS as my Grandmother passed away from the disease about 15 years ago. Your commitment to battling ALS is what I admire most about you, and wish I could do more.

    I realize this is a shot in the dark, but I would love to do an email Q&A with you for a blog I run that is focused on the entrepreneurial spirit in the fields of technology, sports, and music. It just launched, and we plan to do a lot of Q&As with many different individuals. I won’t share the URL publicly because I am not looking for free hits from your readers. If you are interested, shoot me an email at todd.wickersty at gmail.com.

    Happy New Year and (of course) Go Sox!
    Todd

  9. waldrand permalink
    January 3, 2008 11:36 am

    Now, I don’t really feel comfortable harping on trivial points like these, but the top pic in the gaming article..

    Blatant Deadspin fodder until 2012. I can’t stop laughing.

  10. beenthereb4 permalink
    January 3, 2008 11:52 am

    Bob Feller might have won way over 300 games for Cleveland. But he wanted to serve immediately after the Pearl Harbor attacks. Baseball was such a minute thing when put against the reality of war. Also, there were a couple of Negro League players who did the same.

    Hail to them!! We’re very grateful.
    (This does not mean I agree with this current war we’re in)

    Also, why is it that if you scroll down the Amazon link, the people who bought Todd Anton’s book would very well buy the “Three Stooges” DVD???? See for yourself.
    Kinda strange, huh.

    Steel-town.

  11. waldrand permalink
    January 3, 2008 11:53 am

    My first comment isn’t going to be approved, I’m sure, but I’d love to hear about the PC games you first got into.

    Now that you’re in the games business, I think you should find a way to bring the designers and studios of great old games, that are by now forgotten, back to some kind of electronic distribution service. Gametap and Steam are a nice start, but for some reason, the pioneers seem to be forgotten. Games like Lemmings, Wizardry, Pushover, MULE, etc. should be easily available to the gaming youth of these days without them having to resort to abandonware of questionable legality.

    Use your star power. And a little bit of your money. Online distribution is exactly what we need to preserve a bit of gaming history and culture. I’d gladly pay five or ten dollars to the devs so I could play Lemmings again without feeling bad about stealing IP (although I paid for it like fifteen years ago).

  12. Tom Field permalink
    January 3, 2008 1:27 pm

    Welcome home, Curt! And Happy New Year to you, Shonda and the kids.

    Hey, today’s temps were a shock to those of us who *weren’t* in Puerto Rico, too. Don’t feel like you’re alone!

    Couple off-topic questions:

    1) Have you watched Ken Burns’ “The War,” and if so what are your thoughts on the miniseries? I missed it on TV, but would buy it on DVD if it came recommended.

    2) Thoughts on the NFL playoffs? Who do you like advancing to — and winning — the Super Bowl?

    best,

    Tom

  13. January 3, 2008 4:36 pm

    Happy New Year to you and your family!
    45-ish days until Spring Training, no? đŸ˜‰

    That was so funny to read about you finding your spot for the business; it kind of does really work that way; sometimes so randomly. I’m in the process of opening a business myself, and finding the location was so accidental. I was looking elsewhere, and just happened to stumble across this particular location – right down the street from my house! Sometimes life just happens that way – and often I think that’s when you step back and say “ahh, that was meant to be”. đŸ™‚

    So, did you get to see the Patriots in Puerto Rico?

  14. rkenwhit permalink
    January 3, 2008 8:14 pm

    Happy New Year, Curt!

  15. ajninaava permalink
    January 3, 2008 10:51 pm

    Curt
    Best wishes for a happy, healthy, and successful 2008. It’s cold here in Phila too. Always fun to read your thoughts and to think back when you were just getting all of your charaties/initiatives started. For those of you who don’t know, this man stepped to the plate for me and my organization when he was in Phila. Asked him once to attend something and not only did he attend, he brought some of his teammates and a box of autographed balls that were auctioned off for a very good cause. For many of you Bostonians, he is very similiar to JR a true Bostonian—always good to the fans!!
    In your interview you understate the fact that you are indeed “misunderstood”. If people got to know you, they would see what many who have spent a bit of time with you sees that is, a person who puts his family first and his faith very close behind it. They would also see a person that has character that is based on values that are solid and fundamental.
    It is strange how many of your critics claim you are “envious, jealous, spiteful,etc,etc…” Many of these people should take their own inventory before they take your inventory or my inventory.

    By the way, have you learned how to keep your drives straight? You still owe me a driver from the time you used mine at Chester Valley!!

    Stay well. Drop me a line.

  16. conigscorner permalink
    January 3, 2008 10:57 pm

    Curt,
    If you REALLY want to honor a WWII hero, he’s been kicked out of the Sox dugout, Mr. John Michael Paveskovich, Number 6 on your scorecard.
    There will always be war heroes (unfortunately there will always be war) , there will always be fragile baseball heroes…but very few that will be both.
    Spahn & Williams are two of the Boston WWII and baseball heroes…but they are gone. Honor the living, put him back in the dugout…retire his number.
    Johnny Pesky belongs in the Hall of Fame.

  17. TheNorEaster permalink
    January 3, 2008 11:29 pm

    Curt:

    Hope you enjoyed that vacation.

    By the way, my grandfather served in the Pacific during WWII and my father was on the JEFFERSON during the Cuban Missile Crisis. And I was born on the sub base in Groton so I just wanted you to know that I appreciate your efforts.

    Thanks Again,
    ~TheNorEaster

  18. mannyramirez1 permalink
    January 3, 2008 11:53 pm

    Hey Curt,
    Welcome back!
    Interesting article about 38 Studios. The fact that you leave a ticket for your Dad at every game you pitch makes me adore you that much more.
    I hope your training is going well because you have about 1,008 hours until catcher’s and pitcher’s report …. but who’s counting?
    Peace

  19. priscillapitman08 permalink
    January 3, 2008 11:59 pm

    Well, Puerto Rico sounds nice, and a lot warmer than Florida was last night. I know I am from Mass., but 20 degrees in Florida is not warm and not normal. At least we got some snow out of it. Hope your New Year’s eve was good. Mine involved a death in the family.
    We hope to spend Christmas in Puerto Rico in a couple of years. Next year is freezing in Northern Nevada.

  20. warbler44 permalink
    January 4, 2008 12:19 am

    WW2….when Americans fought the wars they said they supported, even the ballplayers……they were the greatest generation willing to sacrifice for their country rather than give lip service and self rightous religious diatribes about how Jesus would support war…

  21. ethanmichaels permalink
    January 4, 2008 6:08 am

    Welcome back Curt! I hope you and your family had a great holiday season!

    Ethan Michaels

  22. senatorski permalink
    January 4, 2008 8:21 am

    Hey Curt,

    Thank you for all your insight. Especially for supporting the Troops. I am leaving for Basic Training in February. I am not your typical recruit, 37 years old. But I want to give back to this great Country for all it has given me. Good Luck in 2008!!!!!

    Keith

  23. ethanmichaels permalink
    January 4, 2008 10:20 am

    From Peter Gammons:

    “after the Cleveland series, the Indians front office, coaches, and player personnel people had a meeting and it was unanimously agreed that after Josh Beckett, the best pitcher on the Red Sox was Lester. That doesn’t include Papelbon, different category”

    Lester’s a great story. Shocked me to learn that he still ways himself routinely to make sure he isn’t relapsing.

    There’s enough to think about when pitching, even for those without fear of cancer.

  24. January 4, 2008 3:56 pm

    It was nice in Puerto Rico, eh? Anyways, hope you guys had a great flight back. I know Spring Training starts soon enough, so enjoy your time off and we are counting down the days ’til we see you again!

    I love reading about that time period, and I’m glad you recommended this book. I recently read “The Teammates”, which was also amazing. Thanks for the tip!

    Ciao from New York,
    Brycen

  25. January 4, 2008 7:36 pm

    Curt, I don’t know if you read Andrew Olmsted’s blog entries from Iraq. He was killed yesterday and a letter he had written to be published posthumously, and it was, here. It is extremely, extremely sad and touching.

  26. sdl1 permalink
    January 5, 2008 12:55 am

    Curt…I plan to look for the book, as a History major at FAU, my specualty was US history and i took a clas about WW2, so this book will be a great read. Is Lou Brissie metioned in it? For those who don’t know, brissie losy a piece of his leg and hat to wear a prosthetic plate on it and still pitched in the bigs after the war.

    I’m a dinosaur when it comes to games..i play the old 80s games like Centipede, PacMan, Tempest, Q-Bert, etc…glad they have them for the PC.

    Guess I’m showing my age here đŸ™‚

  27. cmac1973 permalink
    January 5, 2008 5:06 pm

    Curt, Just wondering if you plan to reply to the comments Tracy Ringolsby made in his weekly baseball notes column on Friday, where he wondered why you have been alleging steroid use by other players while your stats, according to him, improved as you aged. As I noted in a reply to him, your highest strikeout season came at age 25 and your lowest ERA was at age 30. He said that you could be accused because you played with Dykstra and Incaviglia, both of whom were in the Mitchell Report. Ridiculous.

    Here’s his reply when I questioned his integrity by saying what he did:
    I am not saying he used steroids. I merely said it would be interesting that while he is pointing his fingers at people and demanding accountablity if for once in his selfish life Mr. Schilling would be accountable. Why, after what should have been te physical prime of his career, was he suddenly able to find a miracoulous method to become so domianting. I don’t know. It’s why I said it would be nice if he would provide an explanation instead of spending all his time challenging others.

  28. mpc5150 permalink
    January 6, 2008 10:36 am

    Curt,

    Why call your blog 38pitches?

    Here are two ideas for better names:

    “38stitches” as in the fake bloody suck you wore and duped all of baseball into thinking you were such a touch guy. Why would your catcher lie Curt?

    or

    “38bitches” since you always have something to bitch about, sticking your nose into everyone’s business, you are so holier than thou, aren’t you Curt, you big phony….

  29. po8crg permalink
    January 6, 2008 3:23 pm

    Curt, you might wanna pop over to soxaholix.

    There’s a young lady who lost her home in the fire on New Year’s Eve and friends and Sox fans are getting together to get her some replacements for her Sox memorabilia she lost.

    Her comment was that something signed by ‘Tek would be ideal, as she suspected that his wife wouldn’t sign off on any of the things she really wanted.

  30. pemliza permalink
    January 6, 2008 3:30 pm

    Curt, I hope you and your family enjoyed a wonderful Christmas and New Year holiday! What a wonderful time of year this is. The book you talked about sounds great–I’m going to look for it.

    My nephew just headed off to spend a couple of years in Puerto Rico for our church. I’ve never been able to travel there, but am hoping to save the money to be able to pick him up when he’s ready to come home!

    I know you’re enjoying your off time with your family but I am counting down til Spring Training starts!

  31. kirby333 permalink
    January 7, 2008 1:02 pm

    I will do the 2007 recap for you:

    [img]http://library.thinkquest.org/04oct/01013/images/World_Series_trophy.jpeg[/img]

  32. splendidsplinter409 permalink
    January 7, 2008 8:03 pm

    Welcome back to the states Shill. Hope you had a great New Year LOOKING FOWARD TO MARCH!!!!!!!!!! Pitchers and catchers knock’ em dead this year best of luck and remember go sox!!!!

  33. 4murray permalink
    January 7, 2008 10:42 pm

    Curt,

    This is my first post … ever … for anything. I have never written a blog post, not because I have never been interested but simply because I have never thought I had anything interesting to contribute. I am writing this post tonight because of a promise I made almost 5 years ago to a dying man, my grandfather.

    This may be a bit sentimental and not what Curt’s blog is all about and I apologize to all of you that could care less but sometimes a person just has to get some stuff off his chest.

    My grandfather died May 29th 2003, one week before I married my wife. He had battled ALS for 6 years and during those 6 years he not only lost his motor functions but also had to watch helplessly as his wife, my grandmother, lost a 4 year battle to cancer.

    Shortly before my grandfather passed away I promised him I’d involved. To speak up and try to be a voice in my community. I have to admit that I have not lived up to my promise.

    Curt, I’m a life long New Yorker. A die hard Yankee fan who’s father raised him to love the pinstripes. I could not stand the sight of anything Red Sox Nation oriented but I recently took my first trip to Beantown and absolutely loved the city and it’s people. You all represent what is good and pure about baseball, the game itself. Regardless of what team we root for, which players we love and whatever is said about them in the press, we are all kids at heart. We are all fans of the greatest game ever played. You play the game the way it is supposed to be played but more importantly, to me, you are an example of talking the talk and walking the walk. The work that you have done for ALS is not only important for those who have this awful disease but it is inspirational for those who have sat around and done nothing to raise awareness, people like me. You represent a great cause and a great town.

    I’m sorry “pops”. I’m sorry for not following through on what I promised I would …. I will ….. and thank you Curt. Thank you for speaking out and helping to keep my grandfathers cause going.

    And thanks to all who read this and let me speak my peace…….

  34. vinny52 permalink
    January 8, 2008 3:12 am

    Curt-
    I am a die hard Yankee fan from New York. But, before you pass over my comment immediately i’d like to say that after reading some of your latest blogs, i have become addicted. I have admired you for so long, knowing your caliber, poise and character. I completely agree with your beliefs on the steriod epidemic. Further, it is hard to find, in this day in age, a sports figure (or any famous person for that matter) who is such a great American; for young men, like myself, to look up to and tell great stories about to my sons. And I have to say, before comming to my own conclusion about the Mitchell report, and those named, i had to check your great blog. I’d like to thank you for actually utilizing your 1st admendment in a positive and productive way. You’re the best- so when the hell are we gunna see you in Pinstripes? (just kidding).

    SCHILLING ’12!!!!(call me if you need a runningmate)

    -Vinny

  35. January 8, 2008 9:40 am

    Hello Curt,

    Hope you and your family had a great Christmas and an enjoyable New Years celebration.

    Thank you for sharing the great links.

    Looking forward to seeing the team have a dominant 2008. Good luck and be safe and well.

    ~V S F~
    Mike

  36. kerry8 permalink
    January 8, 2008 12:00 pm

    Curt – love the blog – I think you are a great asset to this whole region, not only as an active sports legend, but also as a *real person*.

    I was looking at 38 Studios and saw the monster contest and was going to tell students of mine about it (I work for a university in Rhode Island) as I know some would be very interested in entering. However, when reading the legal “stuff” I noticed that in order to qualify, students have to be attending college in Massachusetts. While I understand the need and desire to limit the competition, I’d like to request that in the future, consideration might be given to students from Rhode Island and other New England states.

    Thanks, keep up the good work on and off the field!

  37. bdpdcded permalink
    January 8, 2008 7:48 pm

    Does Curt reply?

  38. bdpdcded permalink
    January 8, 2008 7:54 pm

    Curt – from recent posts, I get a picture of you politically and personally… What do you think about saving the world? Sports (and politics, entertainment, etc) could conceivably save the world or at least America… There are many athletes and others out there who contribute a great deal of money and time to specific charities or their own causes, etc. What if they centralized it and created larger scale social resources? Whaddya think? What we are lacking is a leader, an organizer, or at the very least an agitator (all of which I think you’d be good at). Throw the challenge out there to the masses of the sports world, see what happens. I have lots of thoughts on this and am looking for someone with some clout to help… This is my first blog and am interested to see if you actually read these and reply…

  39. soxygrl permalink
    January 8, 2008 9:25 pm

    how do you feel about john mccain?

  40. artieshultz permalink
    January 8, 2008 9:33 pm

    Don’t worry Curt. Just 36 more days until you’re in sunny Fort Myers! GO SOX! Oh…and one more thing The Mack Is Back! McCain in 08!

  41. goldfalcon51 permalink
    January 8, 2008 11:11 pm

    Mr. Schilling, first let me tell you I am a native new yorker, true blue, diehard yankee fan so obviously I have to consider you an adversary, however, I am first an American, retired paratrooper who’s son is getting ready to ship out to Afghanistan with the 82D Airborne and along those lines I consider you a Great American. It is heartwarming to see prosperous americans take not of our military and appreciate their efforts. Since I have long considered you a nemesis to my pinstripers, I look forward to cheering your successes, even against my Yankees. Dont think I’ve gone over the deep end – Pap, Tim, Josh, Dice-K, Clay, Big Papi, Manny etc will still receive my jeers!

  42. goldfalcon51 permalink
    January 8, 2008 11:16 pm

    Ok I am a computer idiot – whai is awaiting moderation? and oh yea I meant “take note of our military” not “take not”. My brain and fingers don’t match on a keyboard!

  43. mischurch permalink
    January 9, 2008 1:20 pm

    Welcome Back Curt! I enjoy reading your blog. You are insightful, well-written, but mostly someone who shoots straight from the hip (which is something a girl raised in the heart of farm country appreciates!).

    I apologize if this violates this blog, but I have a simple request. I know that you and your family are religious and I know that you pray. If you have any spare time, would you please visit the following blog and read about Jaiden? People of different faiths all over the world are praying for her, but as with any tradgedy, there can never be too many prayers. Trust me, I know the family personally, this is absolutely NOT a hoax.

    http://www.jaident.blogspot.com/

    Thank you Curt for taking the time to read this and thank you especially for showing the world that you can be a super-star athlete and still be a wonderful human being! Best wishes for a succesful 2008 season!

  44. dycerulz permalink
    January 9, 2008 4:50 pm

    Hey Curt welcome Back. Looking at the figure in the background – do you think that guy visited Canseco?

    Just kidding, Um looks like Horde if I’m not mistaken

  45. jamiemlima permalink
    January 9, 2008 10:37 pm

    Hi Curt,

    I know this may be a late response to your comments here but I immediately thought of your blog when I read a particular article about our military today. You may have read it but if not, MSNBC.com posted an article entitled “I died doing a job I loved…” This article really hit home for me and I thought you would appreciate it. There is a direct link to the Milblogging website, a collection of blogs of those serving us, which I also thought you and everyone that frequents this blog may enjoy. It would be nice if we could all take two seconds out of our safe and secure day to thank those who are responsible for making it so. I am not sure what may come out of it, but as I said, I immediately thought of you and the work you do to spread this message when reading it.

    Here is the link to the MSNBC article: http://worldblog.msnbc.msn.com/archive/2008/01/09/563202.aspx

    From a long time follower of this blog; first time commenter; and, of course, a lifelong Sox fan.

    All the best to you and yours,

    Jamie Lima

  46. jamiemlima permalink
    January 9, 2008 10:48 pm

    Sorry, Curt. I just realized I failed to include a direct link to the soldier’s blog:
    http://www.andrewolmsted.com/

    I am reading it again for the second time, and it is no less amazing the second time around.

    Again, thank you for taking the time to share this.

    Regards,

    Jamie Lima

  47. jrafy permalink
    January 10, 2008 3:08 pm

    Hi Curt,

    Congratulations on last year championship. I enjoy your posts and the comments from the fans.

    As a puertorican I’m glad that you enjoy our weather during your visit. I hope you had the chance to travel around the island.

    To those of you who have never visited Puerto Rico let me tell you we have a nice warm weather year round, great night life and a lot of beautiful beaches. There are a lot of Yankees fans in the island but Red Sox nation is growing with Lowell, Cora, and Javi on the team.

    Looking forward to another great year in 2008.

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

