Skip to content

1st Annual Medfield 4 the Military, 1st Annual Massachusetts Game Challenge…..

December 14, 2007

On December 22nd the town of Medfield will host the 1st Annual Medfield 4 the Military Christmas event.

The event has been organized to give Christmas to families who have lost loved ones during the war, have had loved ones injured, or have family currently serving overseas. The corporate response has been absolutely overwhelming. From Microsoft to Reebok, to Electronic Arts, Hasbro and many many others we’ve received a ton of support.

Any Massachusetts based families interested in attending please contact us at the email address given below. We are nearly full and limiting the amount of participants this first year to insure that Santa has enough presents and we have enough time to create a truly memorable and fun holiday experience for families who truly deserve to be given a great Christmas.

We are asking anyone that would like to give, from 1$ to 1000$ to donate if they want to.

Anyone wishing to make a cash contribution please mail to the following address

Medfield 4 the Military  c/o the Curt and Shonda Schilling Foundation

5 Clock Tower Place, Suite 140

Maynard, Mass

01754

Anyone wishing to donate gifts please contact

Medfield4theMilitary@yahoo.com

Additionally please check out http://www.38studios.com and clink on the “Contest” link in the lower portion of the main page to get details on the 1st Annual Massachusetts game Challenge that was announced today.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. tntrivers permalink
    December 14, 2007 12:38 pm

    Hooray for you!

    We are a military family stationed in NC, originally from MA. It is so touching to me to see all that you do for the military and their families.

    Merry Christmas and God Bless you and your family!

  2. brendinater permalink
    December 14, 2007 1:08 pm

    I think Jay Gibbons is one of the only ones to man up appropriately on the subject of steroid use. Here is what he said: “I am deeply sorry for the mistakes that I have made. I have no excuses and bare sole responsibility for my decisions”. I only wish others would do the same.

  3. December 14, 2007 1:23 pm

    Awww, a great thing you’re doing. Proud to have the Schilling family as a member of the New England community. Prouder of our military families, and the sacrifices they make for all of us, each and every day.

  4. gunslinger0722 permalink
    December 14, 2007 1:28 pm

    As a die-hard Yankee fan, you’ve been driving me crazy for years! But there isn’t a player in baseball that I respect more than you. With a brother preparing to deploy to Iraq in the next few months, it puts family in perspective. Events like this can really help these families in a deep and profound way. Thank you for supporting this event, and good luck next season…

    p.s.

    Enjoy that title while you can, because it will be in New York next season.

    Gunslinger0722

  5. December 14, 2007 4:23 pm

    Curt, look at this! Very cool stuff… Read the entire article as it pertains to something that could help patients with ALS! http://www.cnn.com/2007/HEALTH/conditions/12/14/locked.in/index.html

    This is exciting stuff!

    ToofarawayfromBoston
    (Chaiah)

  6. loveyanks permalink
    December 14, 2007 4:30 pm

    hey curt,

    i agree with donating also, i always donate $ evey year, and even though its affiliated with the redsox, i’ll put the rivary to the curb, for the time being, and donate to a good cause……………best wishes.

  7. December 14, 2007 6:25 pm

    Very cool!

    I think it’s fantastic that you and your family dedicate so much of your very precious, and valueable time to charitable organizations. 🙂

    I’m so glad you guys are staying here. 🙂

  8. mikea82 permalink
    December 14, 2007 8:21 pm

    Curt,

    As a current member of the US Army who has extensive service in Iraq I want to say thank you so much for what you are doing. It is nice to see that folks back home are trying to help our families. As someone who was injured in Iraq and has experienced the anguish that can occur when you are in transition from the war zone to the US, I want to say that your support is greatly appreciated. My family and I thank you for your generosity.

    CPT Michael Allard

  9. bri2513 permalink
    December 15, 2007 2:12 am

    You totally did steroids. Proof will be coming shortly in Canseco’s new book. Its time you and your bloody sock pay.

  10. poltroop permalink
    December 15, 2007 2:15 am

    Mr. Schilling,

    Thank you for supporting the troops.

  11. kevinspatriots permalink
    December 15, 2007 10:07 am

    Curt,
    I know this is off topic but I really wanted to say this.

    Listen I just want to thank you for all that you have done for the sport of MLB. I am a very happy and proud Boston Redsox fan and have enjoyed following your career. I think I can say for certain that you have had nothing to do with contributing to the steroid era and that seems pretty appearant by things like normal wear and tear breakdowns of a 40 yr old body. Your recovery time has not been excessively fast nor has your fastball in recent years. These are things are SUPPOSED to occur as you get “baseball” older. I think the likes of Ken Griffey Jr., Randy Johnson, yourself and others that have played the game with integrity are going to suffer or be held back from the Hall of Fame voting because there is so much uncertainty that brings suspicion to every eligible player. It’s unfortunate but it’s real. So in closing just know that some of the “older” guys still have many appreciative and thankful fans out there that still love watching the game as much as the players love to play it. Thank you for everything Curt Schilling.

    Kevin

  12. crowlebb permalink
    December 15, 2007 10:54 pm

    This is fantastic. Keep up the good work. It is extremely important. My wife and I will be in New York that weekend, but will still donate. This is more important than any ball you’ll throw. Thanks again.

  13. skipjack47 permalink
    December 16, 2007 12:26 am

    As a Viet Nam vet, I thank you for your support of the troops. I am very pleased that even people who are opposed to this current war are separating their feelings about the policies that send troops into harms way from the troops who serve so valiantly. To everyone out there, please thank every military person you see for the service they do. It is so important in helping them readjust after their experiences in combat.

  14. danno82501 permalink
    December 16, 2007 12:16 pm

    Curt,
    From Redsox Nation in Central Wyoming, we all wish you and your family a Happy Holidays. There are 4 card carrying members in this small oil field town (Riverton, WY 82501) , we had the utmost confidence in you and the Sox’s during the playoffs. We appreciate your candor and hard work at making 2007 an awesome season. I appreciate you accepting your incentive based contract and wanting to come back for another great year, I also appreciate Mike Lowell for his return. Those Yahoo’s that left, good riddance.
    As an active duty Sergeant First Class in the US Army, I was touched to know what you are doing for the families of service members. After 13+ years in the Army and tours in Panama and Kuwait, I can assure you that our military truly appreciates your support. I am currently on recruiting duty and when I’m out and about I tend to get mixed emotions from our fellow citizens. Its sad to say that the majority of Americans confuse Patriotism and Politics. The majority claim they support our troops but really what do they do? Most of the time they actually discourage fine young men and woman from serving. Curt your calling was obviously baseball and mine was being a solider. I hope that our citizens can realize that there is nothing more noble than serving our nation in a time of war. FYI, nearly 150,000 men and woman enlisted into the military last year, they didn’t join for college money or even to just get a job, they joined to defend our freedom. So, from the bottom of my heart, I greatly appreciate you and all the other “TRUE SUPPORTERS” of our military.
    On a lighter note…, I was blessed to be at game 3 of the World Series in Denver. I was one of the Army guys holding the huge American Flag in the outfield. I gotta be honest, its quite the thrill to be on the field with 50k screaming fans, I can see why you all love the game. I took my 14 year old son to a Rockies game this summer and was privileged to see Maddox pitch, he was given the privilege of seeing me at the World Series.
    Curt, keep up the good work, you are a fabulous baseball player, Redsox and true American.

    GOD BLESS AMERICA
    Dan

  15. danno82501 permalink
    December 16, 2007 12:40 pm

    RED SOX RULE

  16. soxfanontheroad permalink
    December 16, 2007 2:37 pm

    Hey Curt,
    I’m not sure if you remember but last month sometime at your sons football game my mother approached you for an autograph for my brother and I. I can’t thank you enough for your generosity and being such a stand up guy. She doesnt have alot of money but she does what she can for us, those shirts you signed were our xmas presents. We are both currently out of Mass due to military and work reasons, and getting those autographed shirts made our day. Thanks again, and Happy Holidays to you and your family.

    Aaron

  17. dcorny permalink
    December 16, 2007 7:08 pm

    As a Red Sox fan since I was 8 years old (now 60), and also a U.S. Navy Vetran I will add my ten cents to your accolades. I can honestly say that I have never favored one player over another , but that came to an end when you and your family came to Boston . It gives me such a thril to follow all that you do for our state and community.
    I’m sure that the good Lord will bless your efforts . May you enjoy a blessed and joyus Christmas and a happy New Year .
    I hope that the fact that you have started your business here in Mass. is an indication of your commitment to staying here when you retire from baseball . Just Thank You for all you and your family do .

  18. mannyramirez1 permalink
    December 17, 2007 10:09 am

    You’re a good guy, Curt. I hope your event went well.

  19. December 17, 2007 2:51 pm

    Curt: my family and I are looking forward to the dinner Saturday, and want to thank you for your support for our sons and daughters.

    In that vein, I thought your readers would be interested in contributing to a charity, Soldiers Helping Those in Need — Iraq, that one of my son’s team created in Iraq (my son, an Army major who’s training Iraqis, is running it now that Steve Stephens, who started the program, has returned to the States).

    For a measly $6.75 including shipping!, people can buy the blankets online, which soldiers then volunteer to deliver to poor Iraqis (yes, it does get cold there at night this time of year!).
    Here’s what I blogged about the program: http://tinyurl.com/3xk4xz

    W. David Stephenson
    Stephenson Strategies

  20. kfish62 permalink
    December 17, 2007 6:26 pm

    Kurt first time at your site. I hope this reaches you. I heard over Armed Forces radio last week that you are a really big history buff and are looking to get in on a trip to Normandy before Spring training. If so drop me a note and I can assist you, totally my pleasure as I did a battle staff ride this summer with my battalion. I know the area like the back of my hand.

    I am a big BoSox fan and former neighbor to Dick McAuliffe the former 2nd baseman for the 68 Tigers and later a Red Sox’player and manager

    Thanks for your support of us in the military,we do appreciate all that YOU do too, especially this year and 04

    Fishman
    kfish62@Hotmail

  21. happyhayes42 permalink
    December 21, 2007 12:00 am

    Hey Curt,

    I am the underpaid and overworked custodian (the same overworked custodian that did everything in his power to help out the night of the DVD showing) that gets to clean up sat. night after the 1st Annual Medfield 4 the Military dinner at Medfield HS…and I will do it with gifts in hand..god bless

    That’s awesome and thank you! God Bless you and all the other volunteers helping out! We just finished organizing for the event and hope to complete the kids wish lists by shopping tomorrow.

  22. grafx1 permalink
    December 21, 2007 8:09 am

    Curt,
    Thank you for supporting this cause. I am a Iraqi freedom vet from Medfield and appreciate your help. I lost a friend over there and know how hard it is. Thank you for all of your efforts. We need more people out there like you voicing your opinions and giving help to those in need. Thank you…

  23. kbksoxfan permalink
    December 21, 2007 9:51 am

    Curt, you are such a great guy, and there’s nobody else in the game of baseball I know of who helps people more than you. All the things you do for the community is so much more important than any pitch you throw or any record you break!!! You are a great baseball player and more importantly a great person!

    Jen

  24. hugsforheroes permalink
    December 22, 2007 11:00 am

    Curt

    Thank you for supporting the troops! It was a great piece on NESN this morning. I am involved in a local group that sends care packages to troops stationed in harms way. Anyway interested in finding more about the organization should check out http://www.hugsforheroes.com which is based in Dover MA. Over 4 tons of packages have been sent in the last 3 years.

    Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all, especially to the families of troops stationed away from home this holiday season.

  25. crlnhaley permalink
    December 28, 2007 10:44 pm

    I just have to tell you how you made my daughter, husband and my son in laws mother year. they had a great time at the dinner and were thrilled that they were invitied. they will cherish the time that you and your wife spent with the baby. what a great thing you put together, i know first hand that you did lift their spirits during this difficult time with our loved one in iraq. keep up the great work and they hope to attend again next year.

  26. wgagne2448 permalink
    February 20, 2008 2:00 am

    First let start by saying. We the Red Sox nation owe Curt Schilling the world for playing a major part of bring TWO World Titles home to Boston. I feel that you are not being treated the way that you deserve to be by the Red Sox orginization. We the citizen’s of the Red Sox nation owe you more then we could possibly give you in return. In regards to supporting Senator McCain. I am also a supporter. I am a member of the Senator’s steering committee for the city of Nashua NH. Like yourself he is truly a hero. You as one of the greatest baseball players that ever played that wonderful, game. Senator McCain is truly an American Hero, not only his military record but his dedication to this nation as a US Senator. I have come to realize just how much of a hero he is more as the election draws closer. When I first started supporting Senator McCain, I felt that he deserved his parties nomination. The more that I have learned about him, I totally believe he should become the next President of the United States.

    Thank you for everything that you have given the Red Sox nation!

Trackbacks

  1. Eric

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

