Skip to content

OH so close!!!

November 11, 2007

North Attleboro and Norfolk squared off today for the Division C Hockomock Super Bowl today. My son Gehrig is playing his first year of football. I can tell you that watching football, especially at this age, 12, is as fun as anything I’ve ever watched.

The 5 days a week practices were taxing I am guessing, since at 12 you’d prefer to be anywhere but school or practice, but it was awesome to watch him learn, mature and get more of a grasp on what it means to be part of a team.

The game was all you could ask for. Through 40 minutes and 4 quarters they battled on every snap. I want to send a HUGE congratulations to both teams, it was a great game to watch. #40, Arthur D’angelo, the coaches son, played as clutch and determined 40 minutes in a title game as any kid I’ve ever seen. He was in the opponents backfield more than their QB.

Gehrig recorded a tackle as well, late in the 2nd half.

Regulation ended with the score at 0-0. To OT it was. They use collegiate rules so NA won the toss and scored on the 2nd play, converting the extra point. In this league it’s reversed, running in or passing, gets you a 1 PAT, kicking gets you 2.

Norfolk answered with a TD on Kyle Carnase’s run on the first play from scrimmage. In true win or go home fashion, Norfolk sent out Brian D’amore to kick the extra point. This kid kicks, runs, passes, plays defense as well. Norfolk has him as a secret weapon because I think he’s the only 12 year old in the country that can kick a 25 yard FG!

Snap was perfect, and Brian CRUSHED the kick, my bet was it would have been good from 30+. Sadly, NA penetrated and BLOCKED the kick! Game over, NA wins.

It was as exciting an event as I’ve been a spectator at since I can’t remember when. I’m proud as hell of my son, who stuck with his team the entire year, worked his tail off and I think enjoyed every minute of it.

Hats off to the coaches not only of his team, but of all the teams in the league. The hundreds of hours dedicated to kids not their own speaks volumes about their commitment to helping our kids grow up outside our homes. It was a blast to watch and no one has anything to be ashamed of, they played their hearts out.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. ike6116 permalink
    November 11, 2007 3:08 pm

    You send your kids to Public School?

    That’s pretty admirable.

  2. soxfanindan permalink
    November 11, 2007 3:47 pm

    I have no doubt your son has the same work ethic as his dad! I love the Red Sox, but FOOTBALL RULES!

  3. November 11, 2007 5:36 pm

    ohhh Schill.. your son is soo cute.. all of your kids are. There was an article in the boston globe I think on you, your wife, and the kids. I clipped it out and it’s in my 2007 Sox scrap book.

    I’m so glad you’re back in Boston.. I was going to cry if you left haha.

    It’s now my goal of 2008 to attend a game that you pitch, and it’s also my goal to ger you freaking autograph!!

    We love ya Schill..
    SOo glad to see you back

    Now let’s hope Lowell follows..

  4. pennstater89 permalink
    November 11, 2007 7:17 pm

    I remember seeing Gehrig at the Vet when he was a toddler – I feel old!

    My how time flies…

    Amy

  5. xycosox permalink
    November 11, 2007 7:57 pm

    Hi Schill! Good luck next season!

    XycoSoX

  6. November 11, 2007 8:10 pm

    I had taken a trip back to Minnesota with my wife a couple of weeks ago and decided to walk up to the old football field I played on as a kid. Low and behold there was the rivalry that was present when I was a kid. Morgan Park Wild Cats against West Duluth. At half the kids came running onto the field chanting Cats Cats Cats and it brought me back to the day I played. What a joy.

    Thank God I didn’t go home in the middle of winter…..It would have meant standing in 2 foot snow banks in 30 below weather to remember the old hockey days.

  7. bhubis permalink
    November 11, 2007 8:28 pm

    Hi Curt-
    I agree…this level of sports can be some of the most exciting games one can watch. I have a younger brother now in the high school level who went through those ranks and it gets more and more exciting..
    Congrats to your son, I hope he sticks with it and enjoys it!
    -Brian

  8. duffyscliff permalink
    November 11, 2007 9:55 pm

    Curt

    I think a number of fans would like you to clarify something in your contract. If you win the Cy Young you get 500,000. But if you get a single vote, even 1 vote for third place you get 1 million. This doesn’t make sense. I am not a fan of CHB, but he has a point this time. It does seem fishy, can you explain?

  9. mustangsmom permalink
    November 12, 2007 8:29 am

    We cannot tell you how excited we are that you are back with the Sox!
    We are SO glad that you and your wonderful family are staying here in Massachusetts..not only for your amazing job on the baseball field…but SO much so, for your incredible generosity that you give to your community as well as your kindness. It is so much appreciated…more than you can ever imagine!
    And parents of an (ex) football player (till he got to High School) and a cheerleader, of a town not too far from you, We share your incredible excitement. This is a big time for football kids and their families and the towns wrap up their seasons. It is a wonderful sport that offers so much to everyone and big congrats to your son and your family for a great season!!! And how wonderful for you to tip your hat to the coaches as well. Please tell Gehrig to keep up the great work…there’s lots of awesome times to come…!
    I will wrap this up by telling you that you have changed our lives, by showing us not only 2 amazing championships, but also by setting an example to our kids what a true sports hero is all about-an honest, kind, hard working man who gives back to his team, to his community and who cares about what is most important in life. To this, we tip our hat to you and say THANK YOU!
    Sharon and Dick Jones

  10. November 12, 2007 8:38 am

    hmmm. I just posted something and not sure if it made it to moderation?? Very weird.

  11. November 12, 2007 8:42 am

    Well, if this is a duplicate, I apologize.

    What I had said was, it’s funny – when I was younger I always said if I had a boy, he’d play hockey and football.

    But then I had my boy, and now…I’m thinking that I don’t want him playing those sports. Like, those are the things that we girls think before we have these little dolls that we call children. 🙂

    My 6 year old plays soccer and baseball. He likes watching football, but isn’t quite excited about playing it just yet. Which is perfectly fine by me. But I bet watching when they’re older, as in 12 and up – must really be fun because they “get” the game, and the rules, etc. So it must be great to see the teams play.

    I just don’t know that I’d get over the worry of him getting hurt? Maybe I’m not supposed to though. Maybe that’s a “Mom” thing!

    PS: The really funny thing about this is that my daughter, is such a physically aggressive little girl — she’ll probably be my football player!!! Go figure! 🙂

  12. gceccari permalink
    November 12, 2007 10:26 am

    Hi Curt,

    Saw you on Jeopardy the other night. No offense, but I think you should stick to Baseball…..lol

  13. rightstuff permalink
    November 12, 2007 10:29 am

    Curt I was so proud Last weekend. I played unifed golf in Anderson SC for the fall Special Olympics State games. I ended up winning a gold Metal. This was my first time playing golf in the Special Olympics and after I won the Gold I was very proud that I won a Gold Metal and our coaches did a great job. I can not say enough words that the coaches for golf helped us prepare us for that. Curt I hope sometime I get to go to the National Games for the Special Olympics. That would be cool!!!!!!!!. I don’t know why Special Olympics does not pick anyone from Beaufort South Carolina to go to the National Games for Special Olympics.

    Jeff

  14. easternballer12 permalink
    November 12, 2007 10:59 am

    Do all the kids know Gehrig’s your son? Do they treat him different on the field?

    You have guts (bloody sock lol) to send your kids to public.

    Good job.

  15. philliesschillfan38 permalink
    November 12, 2007 1:37 pm

    It’s hard to believe he is 12. I can remember seeing you before he was born.
    Time flys.

    KIM

  16. brycen permalink
    November 12, 2007 2:30 pm

    Hey Curt-

    You’re son sounds adorable…I know how cute it is to watch them all (and Gehrig’s tackle must have been intense). My cousin’s in 2nd grade, he plays baseball, and taking him out to the backyard to play catch gives me such a thrill. Given, im only 15, and soon he’ll be able to throw harder then me…well, he’s cute for now.

  17. soxbratt permalink
    November 12, 2007 4:08 pm

    Hi Curt– oh indeed these kids are the funnest to watch ,they are having such a blast even when the are working so hard to learn the sport . Our POP-Warner league is not that big so the kids all get a large amount of playing time and the love it . Thank -you for staying in the Boston area and I look forward to seeing you in the spring on the mound good luck !

  18. botch permalink
    November 12, 2007 5:06 pm

    Curt,

    Congrats to your son. Now please call Mike Lowell and tell him to sign already. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family and thanks for coming back.

  19. ryssee permalink
    November 12, 2007 7:00 pm

    Very cool post. Nice to read about the “home” side of your life.
    Congrats to the kids on a great game well played.

  20. soxknation permalink
    November 12, 2007 7:13 pm

    Curt: Good to see your settling in to your new (same as the old) home! I hate moving, even if it’s across the street, so I’ll say you do sound happy… now go work out, buddy [;)], we need you healthy!

  21. freddie152 permalink
    November 12, 2007 9:50 pm

    Curt,

    Fenway foot long Hot Dog…$5.00
    Ice cold beer at the game….$8.00
    Parking for a game……$32.00
    2 good seats in Fenway….$200.00
    1 year mlb contract to pitch in Fenway…. 13-14 million

    Watching your son compete in school athletics….. PRICELESS!!!

  22. pwls permalink
    November 13, 2007 10:04 am

    Curt-

    We’re delighted to hear of 1) your son’s very positive, fun experience in Pop Warner, and 2) your sincere enthusiasm for his and your experience. Over 400,000 boys and girls participated in Pop Warner football, cheer and dance this year, and the number is growing.
    Thanks for your very upbeat remarks!

    Jon Butler
    Executive Director
    Pop Warner Little Scholars, Inc.

  23. coachtwt permalink
    November 13, 2007 7:11 pm

    Hi Curt,
    I am the coach of the North Attleboro team that beat your son’s Norfolk team.

    I have been coaching youth football for over 20 years now and have seen a lot of coaches and teams come and go.

    I have seen a lot of poor sportmanship displayed by teams, fans and coaches and some pretty low class coaches.

  24. coachtwt permalink
    November 13, 2007 7:24 pm

    Sorry didn’t finish the note.

    Your Norfolk Coach D’angelo is one classy guy and I have a lot of respect for him and the Norfolk organization.

    After a not so good first performance when we played them 3 weeks ago, he was able to not only prepare them but get them believing in themselves and put them in a position to win the game.

    That was one heck of a game by both teams and surely a tough loss to take for either team.

    I know I would not have had the guts to go for the win the way he did but it showed a lot of class and faith in the boys who have been doing it all season for him

    Again, I have a lot of respect for him, and hopefully have made a friend for the future.

    By the way, I am a life-long Yankee fan, having grown up in NYC. However, my team, being from this area are mostly all sox lovers, so I took my share of ribbing from them throughout the playoffs. And having lost a bet even had to wear a Sox hat for a while.

    Good luck to your son and the Norfolk team in the future.

  25. myrawalker permalink
    November 14, 2007 8:49 pm

    Hi Curt,

    I believe today is your 41st birthday, hope you are enjoying it.

    Happy Birthday!!

    You are still very young and a belated Happy Birthday to Shonda.
    She has to be a special person….behind every successful man is
    a very strong wife supporting him.

    God’s blessings on you and your family for the coming year.

    Myra

  26. yank12 permalink
    November 16, 2007 10:44 am

    Hey Curt I was the Yankee (diehard) Norfolk coach who coached Gehrig (former Yankee Great) for the last 3 1/2 months in Pop Warner Football. Gehrig along with 9 other players on our 32 player team made for an exciting and challenging year. Through out the year Gehrig and other players on the team jabbed at me about the Yankees going down, on one occasion when teaching about history (after a tough loss 6-0 to KP) and how we should learn from it one player shouted out History is when the Sox’s sweept the Yanks in 2004! Coaching Gehrig and Kevin Faulk’s son Kevin Jr. was super for all kids, initially there was a “WOW” feeling and then after days of football hitting it was “he is just like us.” My son Kevin enjoyed hanging with Gehrig just messing around. Towards the end of the season when we practiced at 25 degree temp, Gehrig came to practice with his football cleets wet and he was cold! Out to my car we went and turned the heat on and he was a new man back to hitting on the field after some warming up. On the way back to the field on a mid November cold night he said in a low tone Yankee fans aren’t all that bad Coach Byrne. Your locker room speech to us before the superbowl was inspirational to all kids and coach’s and that is what makes you a super human being. The support you and Shonda gave to us thru out the season makes you who you are outside of a great Yankee killer baseball player! My dad who was a NY Police Officer passed away 10 years ago from ALS if you need help count on me. Hope to have Gehrig playing football with me next year and dealing with the “Tough Love” we as coach’s get excited about as a coach. Stay great!!!

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

