Skip to content

Jon Lester…

July 23, 2007

There are days in life when the Lord shows himself as clearly as he can, and today was just another one of those. We all know what we want, few of us ever know what we need.

Today was something incredible on so many levels beyond the baseball field. Watching Jon all day was an experience I won’t ever forget. Going through what he has gone through, beating it, and coming all the way back to the big leagues and then throwing 6 strong innings, wow. I can’t imagine how proud his mom and dad are given how proud we all are of him. What a man and what a performance. Great to see our offense clicking also.

A few things to note. First off, Peter Despain had around 12 hours of surgery today and anyone that’s following along please drop by his blog and offer well wishes or prayers. I hope this is his last tough stretch. I am waiting to hear back from his dad on how he is doing. You can reach them at http://www.peterdespain.com/blog/index.php

Also, Shonda’s Shade Foundation just launched another summer program to help give kids something to do during the extreme sun exposure times, it’s called Skate in the Shade and you can find it at http://www.shadefoundation.org/

 Lastly, R.A. Salvatore is doing an E-Signing of his newest book called The Orc King (it’s awesome btw) and you can get your copy by going to http://www.rasalvatore.com/

 Slated to go 4-5 innings on Wednesday and throw around 65 pitches in Toledo. Everything is going well and the arm feels great. The team is starting to hit a stride we haven’t seen in months. Our bullpen is flat out on fire and has been our saving grace for months now, great to see the offense getting to a place we all felt it could be.

60 Comments leave one →
  1. pennstater89 permalink
    July 23, 2007 11:31 pm

    Curt – WELL SAID about Jon’s return … I had to partake in a golf outing at work today/tonite and there I sat tonite with my blackberry in hand watching the game pitch-by-pitch on my phone (thank goodness for modern technology).

    I couldn’t be prouder of this entire team right now. Curt – good luck in your start in Toledo.

    GO SOX!
    Amy / Burlington, NJ

  2. July 24, 2007 12:19 am

    Good luck on Wed. my man, you’ll do well. Also, R.I.P. Mike Coolbaugh, my thoughts go out to his family.

  3. pexhex311 permalink
    July 24, 2007 2:39 am

    Curt-
    What a story with the return of Jon tonight. Not just a baseball story, but the story of a man. To be as positive and upbeat as he has been the last 11 months and come back and beat it as well as be successful on the field, could not be better. With that said, what a place for our Sox to be in. A surplus of great arms and the offense coming to life. We will be tough to beat down the stretch. I personally like Julian Tavarez as a person, he has been nothing but fun and nice to me the few times I have met and talked with him in person, and what a professional to have on the team as far as him moving back to the bullpen, he hit a rough stretch there on the mound and I think it is best for him and the team right now to have his “rubber arm” in the bullpen. Good luck in Toledo Curt and we will wait for your next blog and Q & A session.

  4. mrmako permalink
    July 24, 2007 5:51 am

    Curt,

    You are speaking to the thousands of cancer survivors out there who had to overcome such a horrific disease. I appreciate your thoughts, becasue there is nothing better than beating this disease.

    My brother was diagnosed on his 15th birthday with bone cancer (osteogenic sarcoma). Doctors told him that keeping his leg was a slim chance. Well, he not only kept the leg, he has gone on to have a very successful life. I know what its like to see a family member go through this ordeal. And knowing he had all the support of family and friends helped immensely.

    I hope the team uses this as a step towards the pennant. How about Coco and Lugo getting it together? You’ll be back and the Yanks will just eat your fumes……..Go Red Sox

    Vinnie

  5. July 24, 2007 7:10 am

    Well said Curt.

  6. July 24, 2007 7:10 am

    “The team is starting to hit a stride we haven’t seen in months. Our bullpen is flat out on fire and has been our saving grace for months now, great to see the offense getting to a place we all felt it could be.”

    Indeed. This is starting to seem eerily like 2004.

    Everything old is new again!

  7. dfwelch permalink
    July 24, 2007 7:17 am

    Mr. Schilling:

    It is strong evidence for how hard of a worker you are that you actually update your blog more often when you are in the rotation than when you are on the DL. You must be working your butt off to get back to the starting 5. Of course, it helps that when you’re pitching, you have something to write about every 5 or 6 days!

    Could you comment on how your state of mind changes when you have to spend time on the DL vs remaining in the rotation? I’m sure it’s a drastic change of routine for you, and depending on the extent of the injury and the length of the DL stint, there may or may not be days when you are not with the team.

  8. xxstephaniexx permalink
    July 24, 2007 8:48 am

    Good luck to you tomorrow, Schill. Jon looked awesome yesterday, and you looked completely stoked to see him back on the mound. I’m sure emotions were running high. It was great to see him healthy and back doing what he loves to do.

  9. perryj permalink
    July 24, 2007 9:01 am

    Watching Jon on tv last night was a delight. He pitched well.

    By the way, can you verify which day you’ll be pitching here in Toledo? Mudhens website lists Thursday as the day you’ll be starting.

  10. ilovebigpapi permalink
    July 24, 2007 9:17 am

    It was so inspiring to watch Jon last night, and great to see you smiling while watching him. I know he doesn’t like the attention or the constant focus on cancer, but he deserves the accolades. I am impressed by someone that age being a major league pitcher, let alone all the other stuff. Can’t wait to see him back at Fenway-and you too.

  11. hallowell permalink
    July 24, 2007 9:35 am

    Jon looked great . . . such a great story there. And at a time when we can certainly use more good starting pitching, beginning to tune up for the fall, etc. Hope Toledo outing goes well. Everybody wants to see you with new life for the stretch-run, especially in the key Yankee games upcoming.

    Saw you pop out onto the field Sunday with Shonda, prior to the Chi-Sox game, which was nice — those kids must have had a blast.

    Wake pitched well, but Del Carmen and Paps made me nervous . . . not sure if the locations were off, or the hitters were just ready to hit fastballs, Uribe especially. Seems like we need a few more save opportunities for Paps to keep him sharp. Doesn’t he have a straight change? If he does, he never throws it. I would have loved to watch Pierzynski over-swing at one of those Sunday afternoon.

    Take care . . .

  12. July 24, 2007 10:09 am

    Watching Jon Lester last night was incredible and really great to see his family there cheering him on. His return to Fenway will be even more exciting.

    Curt, hope you are back soon and interested to see what happens to the rotation when you do return.

  13. a38soxfan permalink
    July 24, 2007 10:17 am

    Curt- some of us are lucky to fight the battle and win and we realize how precious life actually is, it gives us a second look/chance at life. After being diagnosed with a very treatable form of Cancer in 2004, I consider it a miracle that it was caught early because I went to see the doctor for something completely unrelated and there were no symptoms of the Cancer. During some of my treatments I saw all types of people old and young and a lot of the children had so much courage and they were so strong my prayers go out to those who have faught the battle and won, to the families of those who have faught the battle and lost and those who are fighiting the battle every day.

  14. gretchenaro permalink
    July 24, 2007 11:27 am

    I was at the game last night and couldn’t have been more thrilled for a young man. I was particularly pleased to seem him get out of the jam in the fourth; what a fighter. Congratulations Jon Lester! Best of luck to Peter.

  15. July 24, 2007 11:50 am

    Amen, Curt.

    What a great game last night. I had goosebumps when Lester took the mound. To me, as a baseball fan first and foremost, his comeback was on par with Lance Armstrong and his battle with cancer. You could tell how moved everyone was, and there was nothing better than seeing his parents sitting behind the dugout cheering on their son. I thought to myself “how many games have they watched between tee ball and this moment?” wow.

    Also, thank God for MLB Extra Innings. I know the game last night was on ESPN, but it’s much better to watch any and all Red Sox games on NESN. Being in Chicago, I love what home town coverage brings to a game.

    Looking forward to your next start in Toledo Curt, I’ll be listening on the laptop.

  16. bffff permalink
    July 24, 2007 1:50 pm

    The Lord didn’t show himself. Science showed itself. The same science that proves evolution.

    Much love to science, but more love to Lester’s victory over this terrible disease.

  17. slozito permalink
    July 24, 2007 2:01 pm

    Truly an amazing story, and puts it all in perspective, doesn’t it? Regardless of how Lester pitched, it would have been an achievement. The fact that he pitched so well was just an added bonus. Glad to see the Sox offense start to match the pitching performances. Good luck with your recovery! Go Sox!

    Stephanie/NYC
    soxinthecity.wordpress.com

  18. soxfanindan permalink
    July 24, 2007 2:05 pm

    What a great night for Jon and his family, the RedSox and the fans! Lets hope this is a hightlight of a championship season! Good health to you all!

  19. July 24, 2007 4:05 pm

    Curt –

    I can’t imagine what Jon’s teammates were thinking last night; the emotions that his parents must have felt are completely beyond my comprehension.

    Over the last 11 months, the entire Monaghan family has included Jon Lester in our evening prayers. I called my 6-year old son while driving home to tell him to turn the game on. “See the pitcher, Matt?” “Number 31?” “Yep. That’s Jon Lester. He’s the guy we said all those prayers for.” “He made it back? Wow!”

    Later after I got home, my wife and I watched Jon through the 6th inning and when he got that third out in the inning I looked over at her. Her eyes had filled with tears as she watched Mrs. Lester’s reaction to her son’s accomplishment.

    Good luck with your own progress, too. This season has contained a bit of magic to it. It would be so nice to see it continue.

  20. ravishingron39 permalink
    July 24, 2007 4:11 pm

    Curt,

    What a great thing to see Jon Lester returning and looking sharp!! Praise the good Lord He is recovering from his battle and what a way to kick off the road trip in Cleveland. He is an inspiration and I believe it has carried over to the team. I mean the bullpen is lights out and Coco has caught fire and Manny has too. It seems that the team is playing with an attitude now and it is great to see. I wish you well on your next start and hope to see you back with the Sox soon. Go sox!!! Jon Lester, glad to see you back and healthy…………………..

    Ravishingron39

  21. jeffhew permalink
    July 24, 2007 4:32 pm

    Curt,
    What you said about Jon… Amen! I wish that more attention were paid the good things in the game rather than the negatives. The only thing better would have been to see it at Fenway rather than Cleveland.

    You’ve got to love a team with a name like the Mudhens. Glad to hear all is going well with the rehab. When you’re on a rehab stint at this stage in your career, what are your thoughts on what it’s like to be “riding the bus” now as opposed to working up to the bigs for the first time? Do you experience any deja vou or intense flashbacks?

    Looking forward to seeing you back in the rotation. Looks like the guns are reloaded for the stretch with Kason, Manny D, and now Jon going strong. To bad about Joel P. Do the Sox really need to actively pursue a trade before the deadline or do you like where things are at?

    Regards,
    Jeff

  22. jimmykc permalink
    July 24, 2007 4:53 pm

    I also watched Jon last night and was amazed by the poise he was able to achieve at age 23. As a cancer survivor (so far six months) myself I can testify as to the mental as well as physical toll made by the diagnosis. It is most difficult to discipline your thought process to not dwell continuously upon your “problem” and to regain some semblance of a “normal” life. It gave me personal satisfaction just to watch him perform. Jon, his family, and all his caregivers should take pride in this victory. With that said, I’m sure he would rather never hear the “C” word used in connection with his name again. This is one time the uniform he had on made no difference to me.

  23. July 24, 2007 4:58 pm

    Even if you are not a believer in the Judiac forms of religion (Judiasm, Islam, Christainity) you can’t help but feel a spiritual connection with Jon. He is the man.

  24. firedannyainge permalink
    July 24, 2007 6:46 pm

    I am glad Jon is healthy and wish him continued success

    http://firedannyainge.wordpress.com

    http://www.firedannyaingenow.com
    (not my site)

  25. heath13 permalink
    July 24, 2007 6:46 pm

    Curt,

    You said it all. I don’t know how anyone could have not been rooting for Jon Lester last night. What a brave young man and what an inspiration to others.
    Thank you for taking the time to make some of your fans day so special by
    signing autographs last Saturday at McCoy Stadium. God has given you a special talent, and you have shown your appreciation by most generously giving back. I believe you will pitch a no hitter before you end your career (and I hope and pray it is in Boston uniform). It will be when Shonda and your
    children can share the moment with you.
    Wishing you a healthy return to Fenway…
    God Bless you and your beautiful family.

  26. mcrocks permalink
    July 24, 2007 11:05 pm

    Curt,
    I found this blog thanks to Bob Costas’ interview with you on HBO. As a transplanted Bostonian living in VA, I am too far removed from my beloved BoSox and the ability to watch the games. But I stayed-up long enough to catch Sports Center and was amazed at Jon Lester’s comeback. Incredible.

    Anticipating your return to the Red Sox line-up.
    Thanks for taking the time to share yourself and experience with your fans!

    Go Sox!
    Mac

  27. james62 permalink
    July 25, 2007 1:07 am

    Curt…..I saw you on Costas tonight………2 things: Whereas, you did not say why you would not go to N.Y. and I shouldn’t presume, but I’d like to think it has something to do with you being a man of principle, (got right out of my chair and did a little dance in your honor) and #2…..I agree with your comment about what baseball has become today, sometimes it is hard not to be thoroughly disgusted. However, I believe the line in “Field of Dreams” that actor James Earl Jones delivers. He said “all through the years, when everything in this country was in disarray the one constant was/is baseball”. (not an exact quote but close enough) And now, today, baseball is still great because it is still populated with principled, honorable men (sorry, ladies) such as yourself. I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you.

    sincerely, jim

  28. mcrocks permalink
    July 25, 2007 6:00 am

    I’m sorry to add my own “ditto,” but Jim is right; you are truly a man of integrity to extend your loyalty to the Red Sox and Red Sox Nation perhaps even after your contract in Boston expires.
    Many former Sox players have betrayed us and migrated to the Evil Empire just for the sake of money.
    When I was a kid, we could always count on our team to stick together. Kids today see the players chasing the money trail and think that pro sports are all about that – versus team loyalty. Teddy Bruschi is an excellent example of a loyal team player.
    No matter where you end-up (hoping you’ll stay in Beantown) I’ll always be a fan.
    Many thanks,
    Mac

  29. bostonsueb permalink
    July 25, 2007 9:09 am

    I was in tears the entire game. Just seeing his mom and dad rooting for him (and being interviewed by Tina on NESN) was quite an experience. I have never felt so moved by a game (except the bloody sock game that you pitched during the World Series, Curt), and I never will forget it. I also had on my “beat cancer, Jon Lester” red bracelet I bought for the Jimmy Fund. My mom is going through radiation treatment for breast cancer, and should be cancer-free by next week, I pray to God, so this hit home even more. I will do the Susan Komen Walk in the fall and hope others will as well. Thank you, Curt, for this post, and good luck with your rehab!
    Sue in Boston

  30. kekich permalink
    July 25, 2007 9:12 am

    Curt–
    Saw you on teevee in the dugout last night. I hope its true that television adds 10 pounds. Good luck in Toledo.
    –Kekich.

  31. pbasken permalink
    July 25, 2007 11:44 am

    Best of luck. As for the “six terrific starting pitchers dilemma” we will soon have (and Tavarez did pretty well too, so not to exclude him), I’ll throw out my idea: Make Wake the designated “starting pitcher” for every game, or most games, sort of the way we have a designated “closing pitcher” for most games. The idea is that Wake would go an inning or two, get most or all the way through the lineup, then have that day’s “normal” starter come in and take over in the second or third, both cutting down the game by an inning or two, and hopefully messing up the timing of the opposing hitters. Wacky idea maybe, but it just seems like something that might work.

  32. hammerhead permalink
    July 25, 2007 2:00 pm

    Curt, of course it was great to see Lester not just pitching, but pitching great. Unfortunately I live in an area of CT where my cable provider won’t carry NESN. So I’m limited to FOX games, YES games when you play the Yankees and the occassional game I cover. Thank God for XM radio. Reminds me of my youth when I was glued to the radio, constantly tinkering with the dial to improve the reception. No such problem with XM….it’s not TV but it’s better than nothing. I like the way the team is gelling especially against a very good Indians team. Of course the Yankees are getting fat on poor competition at the moment which just means you guys can’t let up. 12 division titles in a row for them is quite enough.
    I wish there were a spot for Jon to stay when you get back but I believe Gabbard has earned his spot in the rotation. And if Theo trades Lester, Bucholtz or Ellsbury, I’ll personally find him and choke him.
    Dice K looked incredible ( or sounded incredible since it was radio). Good pitching always almost always beats good hitting and your staff just looks flat out amazing this year. You coming back strong with your experience and ##### of steel, Beckett becoming a stud, Dice K, the young fellas and Wake’s being an innings-eater (I’ve always loved Wake)…..and that bullpen….Timlin coming back strong like you, Delcarmen coming into his own, Okajima and Papelbon owning the 8th and 9th inning. What’s your record now with the lead after 6 innings….something like 50-3….WOW!
    Just keep it up guys….this team is special. Come back strong Curt!

  33. ctsoxfan68 permalink
    July 25, 2007 6:29 pm

    Curt-I just read your comments regarding the steriod problem in baseball on “Costas Now” (HBO). I’m glad you’re vocal about this problem! So many players, managers, owners are afraid to say anything about it and are hiding their head in the sand. It’s nice to see that someone has the “balls” to tell it like it is!

    Amy in CT

  34. uthcoach permalink
    July 25, 2007 6:46 pm

    Curt,
    This is a post in response to your recent interview with Bob Costas and some past interviews on WEEI. I am a Christian and a huge Red Sox fan (God is a Red Sox fan isn’t He?). For a while now I have been troubled by some things you have said, how those things reflect on you, the team and yes, the Lord. Although I can’t completely understand how difficult it must be to live your faith in front of so many people, I do feel as though I appreciate your situation. All of us struggle at times to represent Jesus properly to those around us (I am the chief of all sinners) however to whom much is given, much is required. You have been given a stage that comes with great influence and with that gift comes immense responsibility (which I’m sure you already know). The Word of God is filled with instruction, and caution, about how careful we need to be with our words. Proverbs 12:18 says “Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing”. We also read in Proverbs 10:19 “When words are many, sin is not absent, but he who holds his tongue is wise.” So as a brother in the Lord, and a big Red Sox fan as well, I would just ask that you ponder prayerfully how you are currently using your words and see if you feel as though any changes need to be made. Good luck with your shoulder recovery and may God richly bless you, Shonda and the children.

    Shane

  35. lefty9er permalink
    July 25, 2007 7:03 pm

    Hey Curt,

    I am sorry, but this reply is for your ignorant remarks on the steroid issue. How come its ok to nail Bonds or McGwire, but not the pitchers?!

    Also, do you ever cheat? I mean use scuff marks or foreign substances?

    My point is that every athlete looks for an edge and you have as well. If Bonds cheated on his taxes or lied while under oath, then he will be punished accordingly. He has been advised not to talk about the issues until the grand jury thing is over. Sure is funny that the Feds can’t indict Bonds after all of this supposed evidence, but they indicted Vick in what 3 months? You like speaking your mind, and I will point out all of your faults as well.

  36. gnader permalink
    July 25, 2007 7:03 pm

    128 runs, 57 home runs, 142 runs batted in, and .325 batting average.

    Those are Luis Gonzalez’ stats for 2001 (which he never came close to either before or after), the year you won the World Series and 20 games for the first time in your career.

    I just don’t understand why you feel compelled to trash certain players in the media for alleged steroid use. It does nothing for your image, nor the game. You can’t re-write history, it is what it is.

    Thank you for your many contributions (and those of Shonda) to Red Sox nation, and best of luck in your return.

  37. supes2334 permalink
    July 25, 2007 7:10 pm

    Curt-

    I’m a big Yankees fan but I found myself watching Lester’s game on tv rooting for the Sox. I often disagree with a lot of what you say but I think that everyone can agree that what lester did was truly remarkable. I’m a 2nd year med student and I don’t think people truly grasp how destructive lymphoma is. In addition to that…non-Hodkins lymphomas (there are many many types) tend to be a lot worse than Hodgkins lymphoma. For Jon Lester to be back on the field, let alone in the majors and pitching really well, is just remarkable. As a Yankees fan I’m rooting for you guys to collapse down the stretch but I hope that Lester can keep pitching well and never has to deal with that terrible disease again. It’s one of the few “good” stories going around sports with all the bad stuff going on and you guys must feel great to be apart of it. Wish Jon good luck from a Yanks fan.

    One other thing I’d like to say…Curt, while I disagree with you about a lot of stuff, I wish more athletes would have the guts to come out and speak against steroid users. McGwire, Canseco, Bonds, Sheffield, Giambi etc… should all be embarassed by how they disgraced the sport. I love how some of these guys say “steroids don’t help you hit a baseball.” Well, if that was the case, why do they use them? Everyone knows that steroids allow athletes to recover faster, especially older athletes. It lets these guys swing a quicker bat. There is no way Barry Bonds is catching up to major league fastballs without steroids. Also, how many of his “HRs” would be pop flies if it wasn’t for steroids or HGH. I wish that pitchers throughout baseball would intentionally walk Bonds the rest of the season to keep him from breaking the record. Spread the word Curt!

    ~A Yankees fan, but a baseball fan first.

  38. willclark4hof permalink
    July 25, 2007 7:23 pm

    Hey Curt,
    Shut up about steroids. You had your chances to speak up during the ’90s and put pressure on the union leadership to take meaningful steps to protect the clean players. And, oh yeah, during your Congressional testimony.

  39. alaskaboardrider permalink
    July 25, 2007 7:58 pm

    Wow. Curt you are my alltime ideal pitcher, professional athlete, and roll model. I love what you have done outside of baseball but i would like to talk a little about baseball. I was born in Anchorage, Alaska and found out a long time ago that thats where you were born. I was wondering how long you lived there? I moved to Jacksonville, Florida about 6 years ago. I am 15 years old right now. I play baseball for my school an am a pitcher. As a pitcher, i model everything mainly from you and Josh Beckett (not just because you are two red sox guys but because of your all around pitching skills and personality). I love your fluid mechanics and your ability to remain calm under tight situations. I work and take lessons from a former pro catcher Rick Wilkins who is good friends with Tim Wakefield (ask him about him) and he has a program that goes in slow motion the mechanics of any professional pitcher and then takes my mechanics and compares them on a computer and I always pick you to model. Sorry for this long note but this is my first time using this site and was wondering if you respond to personal letters? If you do i would definetly like to get to know you a little.

    Thx- Sam W.

  40. michaelostlund permalink
    July 25, 2007 8:07 pm

    Hey Curt,

    Is 38 Studios going to need game testers? I’ve got nearly a lifetime of video game experience and will work cheap!

    Thanks,
    Mike

  41. spencecr permalink
    July 25, 2007 11:02 pm

    Curt,
    Just watched you on Costas. Good to hear comments from a modern day hero of baseball. Also, glad to hear you won’t play for the Yankees. Team loyalty is often lost these days.

    Chris

  42. us207lct permalink
    July 26, 2007 12:10 am

    Best wishes in your own recovery. Lester’s recovery has been one that gives cancer patients hope.

    Cancer is like fighting a war. You have your advances and setbacks. Fortunately today we have a much improved arsenal to back us up in our fight.

    We’ve always had the faith in God, and thankfully there are those who have dedicated their lives to seeking out the horizon of one day relligating cancer to the relm of a very treatable disease. God has undubtedly imbued within these warriors who strive for such a day a mission of hope.

  43. hartlee permalink
    July 26, 2007 5:14 am

    curt,i thought you was injured? i see you are steal talking about barry bonds and that steroid stuff even after terry told you to shut your mouth! everytime you loose two games in a row,you need and mri or a catscam, you need to listen to terry because if you look behind your back my big bad yankees are on your heels, jon i am a yankees for life but beleive me us yankees love you man!

  44. reverseswing permalink
    July 26, 2007 7:47 am

    Curt

    Didn’t the medical staff treating Jon Lester have anything to do with his recovery? Or maybe the fantastic advances in medical research and technology that have been made over the past twenty years? Or maybe the courage of Jon himself – and the strength he got from his family?

    Or was it all, as you seem to suggest, simply down to ‘The Lord showing himself clearly’?

    Rather insulting to the physicians who treated Jon don’t you think? And the guys who have laboured for years and years to find a cure, to suggest that it was purely down to ‘The Lord’ and nothing to do with them.

    As a Red Sox fan, I’m as pleased as you are that Jon Lester is now pitching in the Majors again – but credit where credit is due – surely?

  45. scambodian permalink
    July 26, 2007 7:50 am

    Curt the hypocrite. Wasnt it roughly around 2 months ago where you made one of your “stupid idiotic” statements on EEI about bonds? After that you aploogized and said you wouldnt talk about him anymore?

    Well here we are a couple months later and as soon as you see the camera you cant resist can you? You and Kevin Millar have the same disease or something when it comes to giving interviews you two just cant help yourselves.

    Everyone knows Barry is/was taking steroids we dont your genius mind to shed light on that information. If you havnt noticed Barry is PLAYING RIGHT NOW hes actually on the field breaking records while your throwing 75 mph in AAA.

    Why would you apologize and say you were wrong for talking about someone on a public forum, when it only took two months and you couldnt resist??

  46. Brock Landers permalink
    July 26, 2007 8:55 am

    He is without a doubt the man. I absolutely love stories like this. Really makes you want to get off your ass and do something about your life.

  47. rclane permalink
    July 26, 2007 9:05 am

    Dear Curt,

    Thank you for taking the time out of your rehab to go on “Costas Now” and inject yourself into the steroids “situation” again. As a Red Sox fan, it really warms the cockles of my heart to know that you’re more concerned about being heard than getting healthy and in shape to help this team compete down the stretch.

    You’re really cementing your legacy in Boston, though, as the athlete who said the most without ever actually saying anything.

    But thanks for ’04. That was pretty special. But it’ll only get you so far in this town.

  48. sandman4 permalink
    July 26, 2007 12:44 pm

    It is unfortunate that on the day you post genuine comments about a good dude named Jon Lester, you have to get in front of a camera and expose your deplorable side (See Costas Now). It is amazing to watch you lose the handle on your addiction and run to the nearest microphone to quench it.

    I know Kurt, you’re just being yourself. Newsflash: yourself is not appealing to anybody, especially not your peers. Intelligent people know exactly why you swim in the middle of the steroid controversy. Could it be that you want to make very clear that your accomplishments were during the steroid era? Hmmm, maybe you think that that will help you get the HOF votes that you will undoubtedly be missing. Why don’t you just beg to be considered one of the best. I would rather see you on your knees than subject us to the mis-direction. You are a self described honest and genuine person so this should be a simple adjustement.

    Keep your opinions off of my TV and salvage your reputation with your teammates and the public in general. By the way, the teammates that say they like you only do so to avoid the media circus if they said otherwise. Take a lesson.

    Table for 1, right this way.

  49. john87111 permalink
    July 26, 2007 1:06 pm

    Curt,

    Great comments about Bonds on the Costas show… keep being honest about the cheats & perhaps someday we’ll have a clean game to follow!

  50. toomanyhumans permalink
    July 26, 2007 1:10 pm

    Dear Curt,

    I’ve read you’re weblog for a while now, and find your writings on how you prepare for a game, your game analysis and other related matters really insightful. I totally respect what you’ve done in your career and anything you write concerning the actual game.

    But after reading your comments with Bob Costas and a few others over time, I really start to wonder when you should start actually thinking about what you say concerning other players (Bonds, McGwire etc) regarding steroid use. No doubt players have used them left, right and centre (probably still) but I have to question who you start throwing pitches at when as a player in the major leagues for a long time (and a member of a team whose clubhouse allegedly had leaded and unleaded coffee) you must known or suspected members of your own team were using.

    Bonds, Canseco, Palmeiro and McGwire are definitely easy targets for you, especially seeing they’re targets for pretty much any baseball writer and/or fan who has the energy to draw breath. I understand your stance on the problem, I even applaud it, but to me (and this is entirely personal), my mum could do exactly the same thing without any knowledge of what’s going on except for the measley newspaper article we get in our local paper here now and then (and trust me, its very measley, Western Australia hasn’t the greatest baseball focus).

    All is fair in love and war, but as such an outspoken entity you appear to be, why don’t you dedicate a post to people you think or know have used them instead of just targeting the easy ones.

    Good luck with your rehab,

    Glen in Perth, Western Australia

  51. damonh1992 permalink
    July 26, 2007 1:46 pm

    Jon Lester, congrats on the comeback.

    Curt, you really should think before you talk.
    I am assuming that in the “bloody sock” game you pitched, you didn’t get any kind of pain medication administered to your ankle. If you did, and it made you able to pitch, shouldn’t that be considered performance enhancing? Would you of been able to pitch without a shot in the ankle?

  52. redsox1804 permalink
    July 26, 2007 1:53 pm

    Hope your comments about never being a Yankee are true and not just “posturing”. I’ve grown up as a cynical sox fan and have seen statements like his made and 2 days later you hear the person who said he “never would be”… suddenly is what he supposedly said he never would become. I have seen this used as a means of upping the ante for salary or other benefits and hope this isn’t what’s going on.

  53. notlenny permalink
    July 26, 2007 3:10 pm

    Hey Curt –
    Just wanted to thank you and Shonda for all the work you do promoting sun safety. I just found out today that a friend, only 32 years old, has stage 3 melanoma. Hopefully they’ve caught it early enough, and she’s a really tough cookie, so I’m sure she’ll be fine, but it just goes to show how important it is that people take care of themselves. You guys are doing a real service – keep up the good work. Great to see Lester back and looking forward to your return too – best wishes on your rehab and here’s to a World Championship in 2007!
    – Mike

  54. bigmouthcurt permalink
    July 26, 2007 3:14 pm

    After watching Bob Costas, a few thoughts.

    You certainly do love the sound of your own voice, but everyone knows this already. But what I can’t even believe is how much of a hypocrite you are. You had every opportunity to blow the lid off this thing, if you “knew” certain guys were on the juice, you should have said something, it’s alot easier to name names in front of Bob Costas right? Give me a break Curt, you had your chance, nobody for one second sees anything altruistic about your little speech for Costas.

    I’ll give you one point though, there is no chance you’ve ever touched the stuff, based on how you’ve looked throughout your career and especially how you looked in the dugout the other night. Whew!

  55. firedannyainge permalink
    July 27, 2007 2:45 pm

    Is WEEI letting all the losers out of their mothers basements to attack Curt or
    do you people really have no lives?

    Curt Schilling lives in the United States of America. He has a right to his opinion. Who the hell are any of you to tell him that he isn’t allowed an opinion.

    WEEI was bashing you yesterday Curt and even tried to start world war 3 by having cheater Jose Canseco on the show repeating to him the words you said on the HBO special (which I have not seen. HBO is too expensive to have on anyone cable when you consider they play the same 20 movies over and over again)

    Last thing. The Red Sox are finally winning again and the best things these so called fans can do is come to this blog and act like children. Either Red Sox Nation is slowly dying (which I know is not true) or these people attacking you are Yankee fans or WEEI brain dead Ordway or Shepard clones. I sure wish the afternoon programming on WEEI had men on its show because its obvious they don’t. They send their lackey’s or hide behind other names to post on this blog.

  56. pemliza permalink
    July 27, 2007 10:44 pm

    What an amazing thing to watch Jon Lester make his comeback the other night. It was emotional sitting here watching it. I can’t imagine how it was for the team, being a part of it.

    Terrific year so far! I look forward to you guys continuing it on through the end of the season & into the post-season!

  57. primussucks626 permalink
    July 28, 2007 3:41 pm

    STFU to the people attacking Curt. He has a right to voice his opinion, and just because you don’t agree with it doesn’t mean he’s an idiot.

    I think the big moment during Lester’s return was getting out of that bases-loaded jam. He clearly has the mental toughness to dominate in thie division, and I’m really looking forward to seeing what successes his future will bring.

  58. lisancal permalink
    July 30, 2007 2:09 pm

    This is what really bothers me about you ~ You speak about the Lord, you always claim to be a Christian but YET, you have GOT to be the most JUDGEMENTAL person i’ve ever witnessed. And , you do it on such a big stage. Maybe you missed the part in the Bible that says “JUDGE AND YOU TOO WILL BE JUDGED”…..Again, you claim to be a Christian YET when you visit opposing teams stadiums , you get all ANGRY when things don’t go your way & break toilets off walls ( How so very Christian of you)… Also, the way you accuse Barry Bonds of steroids , yet you don’t even have solid proof….I’m sorry , Shilling , but it’s so-called Christians like yourself that make christianity appear hypocritical….It’s obvious you don’t care what people think and you actually take GREAT PRIDE in letting everyone know that…You’re one of the greatest pitchers ever but it’s gonna take more then that to get you into heaven…Kinda like making a curve ball right through the eye of a needle. Good luck with that.
    PRIDE – ANGER – JUDGEMENT
    WOWWW, What a great guy you are!

    ( I apologize if I come off mean. That’s not who I am ~ Just watched your interview on Bob Costas got me all fired up )

    Lisa~*

  59. August 7, 2007 12:27 am

    Red Sox Nation West heading out to support Lester in Anaheim on Wednesday!

  60. redsox08 permalink
    October 7, 2008 8:57 am

    Hey Curt! Haven’t posted in a LONG time on 38 pitches but after last night I was inspired to drop by and say hello.

    Now tell me… from a pitchers perspective, does Jon Lester not remind you of Andy Pettite, except with even more potential? That cutter up and in on righty’s gets up there at 92-93 (which is 1-3mph faster than young pettite), he’s got that POWER fastball that almost looks effortless but somehow gets up to like 96. I mean, all the hype around Clay and I think even with all Clay’s potential, Lester is the next #1 for Boston. He came out of the shadows this year and just SHINED. from that no-no on, i think he got touched up for like 5 or 6 runs twice in like 3 months.

    I really hope you come back to Boston for one more year. I remember you and Josh going back and forth last year trying to “outperform” each other almost as a game… I think Jon may surprise you both and sneak into your little competition and win! But then again… you and josh both rise to the occasion beautifully!

    By the way, don’t feel bad about your contract this year. I’m a full sympathizer with you and I feel that whether you are pitching or not, what you have to offer the youngsters as far as knowledge goes and just watching your form and such helps greatly.

    Hope you see you for one last HOORAH in boston in ’09. hopefully add 1 more ring to that priceless hand eh?

    Damonh1992: grow up. Mirabelli even came out and said the whole thing was blown way outta proportion. Let me guess you are 16 and think you know anything about baseball? Cortozone shots are NOTHING like steroids or HGH. they simply cover up the pain.

Leave a Reply

38 Pitches

Curt Schilling's Official Blog

