Skip to content

Q & A VIII, short one

March 25, 2007

The only response I have to the Curly Haired Boyfriend is this.

“First they ignore you, then they mock you, then they fight you, then you win”

Putting his inherent ‘toolness’ on display for all the world to see did far more than I could ever hope to do by trying to explain what a dope he is.

A large group of kids from Dana Farber were down today and I had a chance to see the always beautiful Holly again. I had a chance to meet her last year, at a time when she made a headband as pretty as a woman can make it. So hello to Holly! Hope to see you during the season!

It was a great time, getting a chance to see the smiling faces. A lot of teammates made it out as well and I know we probably had more fun than the kids did.

Spring Training 2007

Just wanted to take this chance to say hello to all of them that are stopping by and that they are enormous inspirations to all of us that come in contact with them.

http://www.dana-farber.org/

If the mood strikes, feel free to click on the link above and along the left hand side of the page you’ll see a “Want to Help?” section, from making a gift to giving blood, you can do it right from there.

On the topic of cancer, if you haven’t checked yourself lately, there is a quick do it yourself test you can administer for skin cancer that I urge you to check out at

http://www.shadefoundation.org/self_exam.php

Check it out, and more importantly check your kids out please.

Q-Do you take any responsibility for today’s children getting the proper exercise they need when developing a company that makes video games, or are you in the belief that it’s up to the parents to see that children don’t play your games for endless hours at a time?

A-Absolutely not. I do believe people have certain obligations to society when they are in a position to impact others through actions or words, but your kids are your responsibility. What they do with their time, until they are 18, is your business, not the governments, not your neighbors, not your nanny, not your parents, yours.

Q-Taking into consideration some players’ less than chizzled bodies, the “slow” pace of the game, and frequent snacking of baseball players, what points would you make to her so I can legitimize the baseball athlete in the eyes of my amazing, but confused girlfriend?
A-I guess the bigger question would be, does it affect your ability to watch baseball? If she doesn’t like baseball, and she doesn’t want to watch it, or go to games with you, then leave well enough alone.

Q- How *do* you communicate to set the infield defense the way you want it? The communication to Varitek is easy to see. I’m just curious how you get the right message to the defenders pitch-to-pitch

A-There are position players that I setup communication with during spring training, who I will have handle moving the defense when I need to make changes. Otherwise, during my pre-game meeting with Tek, the infield and outfield coaches will sit in and based on my history with a hitter we will determine where they will play that night..

Q-My question is, when you come off the mound after the first and feel like you don’t have your best stuff, do you hope or expect it to show up? Or do you feel like it’s just not happening that day and you have to battle through?

A-The goal is to never have one inning affect the next, because unless you let it, it doesn’t. What I did in the first inning the other day had nothing to do with pitch one of inning two, so dwelling on it, or letting it linger, would be something I could blame on no one but myself. Every pitch, out, inning, is it’s own ‘game’, and when you can focus on winning the game, pitch to pitch, you get to another level of focus and concentration. Then you can start throwing pitches and working a game plan in advance. Throwing pitch x because of what happened last at bat, and because so and so is on deck and runners are on the bases, knowing you have that same hitter again in 5 days, and what you’ve done prior and how it affect this sequence in this at bat. Lots of that kind of stuff goes into each pitch when you are focused.

208 Comments leave one →
  1. joefoy67 permalink
    March 27, 2007 10:18 pm

    Re: CHB

    Are there sportswriters out there that you (or MLB players generally) respect? Roger Angell?

    Re: the Gandhi quote: “First they ignore you, then they mock you, then they fight you, then you win”

    This has me worried. I don’t think Gandhi was a baseball fan, but somehow I don’t think he’d approve of pitchers “using the whole plate.”

    You’re still going to protect your teammates, I hope . . .

  2. jcksmc permalink
    March 28, 2007 9:48 am

    Has anyone read Shaughnessy today? I was so frustrated, I sent him this email…since we’re on the topic of writers building hate toward the athletes in this town.

    Dan,

    I’m writing hoping you can provide me some explanation on why you constantly create your stories by bashing an athlete in this town?

    I just don’t understand how you think what you do is a reflection of talent, professionalism or real entertainment. It’s amazing to me that you find pleasure in poking fun at anything and everything an athlete says or does in order to stir up controversy. I’ve grown accustomed to what you write about Schilling, and I’m less defensive about that because I also think he should just play the game. I’m not interested in his political opinion or thoughts on how the team should be managed. At the same time, I appreciate the fact that he holds himself accountable to fans and to the media, especially since you, the media, are most fans’ avenue to information about the team. (funny that after sending this email to you I intend to post it to his blog)

    After reading your article on Coco Crisp this morning, my frustrations mounted to the point where I actually spent 10 minutes writing this email. I really don’t understand how you interpret what Crisp said to Gordon Edes over the weekend into the ignorance displayed by Keith Foulke in his comments two summers ago. Ever seen Bull Durham where Kevin Costner teaches Tim Robbins how to speak with the public? What Crisp says could be substituted for Nook Laloosh’s words! All he is saying is that he’s more concerned about team performance than the reaction he gets from fans (which tends to be influenced significantly by the writers like yourself in this town). He also says your opinion and fan reaction does not affect his preparation. Remember Edgar Renteria? His former manager predicted he would struggle in this town because he did EXACTLY what Crisp says he won’t do – took fan reaction to heart. I just don’t understand how you spin C risp’s words into something negative. Yes, Gordon Edes wrote the initial story, but I didn’t get the sense reading his piece that he was against Coco or that he was looking to stir something up….

    Maybe that’s why he gets more respect than you.

  3. malicedoom permalink
    March 28, 2007 4:06 pm

    Regarding Dan “Tool-Time” Shaughnessy, it amazes me that anyone is surprised by his column. That, unfortunately, is what ‘sells’. That is the ‘norm’. Don’t even BOTHER to be offended by it, because it’s not going anway. Just ignore it and continue to ask the uber cool Mr. Schilling what questions you have. That’s my advice…

  4. subjectivebruce permalink
    March 28, 2007 9:40 pm

    This will be come apparent soon enough if he sticks around here, but for those not familiar with “objectivebruce,” know this: This is someone who seems to spend all of his free time going from Red Sox-related blog to Red Sox-related blog offering knee-jerk responses to every single criticism of anything that appears in the Globe sports section. It becomes painfully apparent in short order that objectivebruce works for the Globe as either a writer or an editor.

  5. fireguy611 permalink
    March 29, 2007 10:52 am

    Good Morning Curt, Some talk on ESPN The Sox may acquire Ichero, what are your thoughts on that and where would he play? Unless Coco part of the deal I can’t see how it works. Sure would make for some great table setting for the Big Guys though. Can J.D. play center?Looking forward to you having another great year. I think your best play is what you do for those kids from Dana Farber, keep up the good work on and off the mound.

  6. redsox24 permalink
    March 30, 2007 8:44 am

    In no way would I want a media that makes its only goal to glorify the players, or make them demi-gods. I am a huge Sox fan; and there fore am very biased to our team members.

    Players have faults, and I do not think there is anything wrong with pointing that out. However, Shaughnessy takes it too far over and over again, even when there is no “story”. His latest article about 38 pitches served absolutely no newsworthy purpose; it was a complete smear campaign on one of the Sox’s most important players (Schil) and the fans who love the Sox and are invested in the team’s success. Even if you think Curt is a persona in Boston and must be open to criticism (this would still be over the line); why are Sox fans being insulted the way Shaughnessy went about it?
    Shaughnessy wants to be the story; its not enough just to report the happenings.

    I just think often the Boston media in general looks to put down people on the Sox. Manny is yet another perfect example. Does Manny act lazy? Yes – Are some of his actions disrespectful to his team and the fans – Yes These points have been made over and over again. I am not saying that his production on the field should erase some of his lazy actions (although you could make that arguement) – rather, I would like to hear more about Manny the baseball player and his impact on the team; rather than people automatically criticizing him.

    Finally Coco – I get what his point was last week – but I do think it’s a bit bold, considering last season, for him to go out on the line like that. There is some work to be done before he makes statements like that.

    Go Sox – 3 days til show time

  7. pab1964 permalink
    April 4, 2007 7:58 am

    Speaking of the Curly head boyfriend. I couldn’t believe that Big Dan (AKA Raggedy Dan or Raggedy Dandy if you prefer) actually has a twin sister. Check out the likeness, it’s uncanny!

    Darn I could not post the pictures!!

    It’s apparent that Raggedy Dan suffers from acute envy of Mr. Schilling. Was it Shaughnessey who wrote the book “I never played the Game”? Hmmmmmm

  8. fireguy611 permalink
    July 26, 2007 10:42 pm

    Curt, Nice rehab in Toledo tonight, waiting your return to solidify the rotation. Anyway listening to those guys on eei hammer you today and it came to me, they can’t stand that you can operate in thier arena but they can’t operate in yours, Keep up the good work on als and shade see you out there in the playoffs when your realy needed. I know those scribes have had bloody socks but jumprope shouldn’t count. In closing I say keep speaking your mind it’s the American Way, and lets strike out als

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 893 other followers

