Skip to content

Why writers write, coaches coach, and players play.

August 11, 2011

Someone forwarded me a piece in the Washington Post about comments I made regarding Stephen Strasburg and his rehab, last week on ESPN. I wasn’t sure of the angle the writer was after until the next to last line of his column, which ended up being the motivating piece for the title of this blog post.

I don’t know why it matters if he’s facing the instructional leaguers or the Astros.

Holy crap. To me that’s exactly like saying “I don’t know why it’s different benching 25 pounds or 500 pounds? Those two settings are about as different as you can possibly get for a pitcher. Yes you exert effort and try to pitch your best in a rehab, you work to do the things you do normally, but the setting, the environment are such strong impacting forces for any good pitcher that it cannot help but be insanely different. 21 people (if it’s a good day) at extended spring in Florida vs. 50k+ people in a major league stadium? Ya, it’s very different, and it takes a very different toll on your arm and body.

I was blessed to be taken care of by someone I think has earned a reputation as the premiere shoulder physician in the world, Dr Craig Morgan out of Wilmington, Delaware. I also was one of the earliest cases and fixes of a SLAP repair on my throwing shoulder. My surgeon and my PT, along with Jeff Cooper and Mark Anderson (trainers in Philly), Paul Lessard (trainer in Az and Boston) set me up to pitch over 3000 innings AFTER I had this major surgery. I did it because they drove my rehab, they allowed me to get back on the mound, at the right levels, with a combination of input.

I don’t think for a second the Nationals will or would do anything to jeopardize this kids future, because it’s theirs too, but you show your ignorance of the game making dumb statements like the one above.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. legionred permalink
    September 15, 2011 9:40 pm

    Any follow-up thoughts about his return?

  2. September 28, 2011 7:38 am

    Good post, Curt. I love how you still call out the media after all these years.

  3. October 1, 2011 6:23 pm

    How about some of your thoughts on Terry Francona? The gossip hounds were all over him at his press conference last night, trying to get him to say — on TV — exactly who was drinking beer in the clubhouse during the game, who was running his mouth, who was the poison. The manager, with his usual class, wasn’t talking. I’m sure all the names will be in the paper in the next few weeks. We can be sure it wasn’t Pedroia, but everybody else is suspect.

    It is surely a true-blue cast-iron bitch that Francona ended up wearing the dunce cap in this classroom full of clowns.

  4. October 5, 2011 8:05 am

    Curt,

    May I have your permission to copy this blog onto my website at http://www.sportsmedadvocate.com? This epitomizes the importance of athletes of all ages finding and utilizing the proper medical professional when an injury occurs. It also places into perspective the challenges of different levels of competition, and the stresses placed upon the body regarding increased competitive lkevels, something most people dont understand!

    Thanks,

    Vinnie Hudson
    vinnie@sportsmedadvocate.com

  5. October 22, 2011 12:39 pm

    Saw the major ALS breaking news today, figured a pat on the back would be in order. Looks like you may see a working treatment for the disease in a decade. You must be happy!

  6. April 5, 2012 12:58 pm

    I dont really have a comment. I was watching todays opening game , thinking a lot about all of the baseball I have seen over the years, thinking no hitters and listening to the commenters on the game talking about the connection between pitcher and catcher. I would like to hear Curts take nowadays when he thinks about the no hitter he had going with 2 outs and shaking Varitek off after a couple of years of thinking about it.

  7. July 20, 2012 10:44 am

    How someone could say something so stupid is beyond me. Way to put something that must of us vaguely understand into something we can all comprehend!

Trackbacks

  1. The Ridiculous State of Sports Social Media | Geoff Livingston's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 638 other followers

