Skip to content

It's all over…

November 4, 2008

The rhetoric, the BS, the white noise. Get out and vote. Vote for whomever you choose to, whomever you believe will lead this country over the next four years, but just vote.

When standing in line please say a thank you to the men and woman who’ve sacrificed so much for us to have this right.

Whether ‘your guy’ wins or loses, there will be a new President of the United States tomorrow and we need to turn the page, move on, and fix this thing.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. 54knishes permalink
    November 4, 2008 9:03 am

    Voted already – and in every election + primary since I turned 18 in 1972 (the first year that voting rights were given to 18-year-olds).

    One of the first lessons I learned was that for every opinion/belief/conviction I had, many other people saw “reality” a starkly different way. I also concluded that we’re all swayed by our emotions and opinions, and we sometimes go too far out of our way to validate those by the way we consume and filter the world and other opinions around us.

    You are outraged. I am outraged. We land on different names in the voting booth. In person, I would challenge you on plenty that you have said in your posts; but I’m so thankful we live where you and I can peacefully and publicly disagree.

  2. alansky permalink
    November 4, 2008 9:50 am

    “When standing in line please say a thank you to the men and woman who’ve sacrificed so much for us to have this right.”

    Couldn’t agree more and very well stated!

    I did hear a story that more than 70% of our soldiers fighting overseas won’t have their votes counted due to rules and technicalities.

    http://www.honoluluadvertiser.com/article/20081102/NEWS08/811020370/1018/localnewsfront

    For all that they do this is the most pathetic thing I have heard. I am at a loss of words.

  3. tinisoli permalink
    November 4, 2008 9:58 am

    Curt,

    When the dust settles, you might consider the possibility that Obama won this thing in part because your hero John McCain ran his campaign like a desperate, base-coveting idiot rather than a straight-talking man of integrity and seriousness and experience. The selection of Palin was catnip to the hardcore base but noxious to everyone else. The polls don’t lie: American found her unqualified and unlikable. And even if you, for some reason, think that a VP nominee shouldn’t feel compelled to have at least one press conference before election day, it was plainly stupid for McCain and Palin to think that the press—and a great many Americans—wouldn’t feel very differently. Seriously, on what planet do you think it’s okay for a VP candidate to not appear before the press and field questions? Dan Quayle did so the day after his selection. Palin’s refusal (or the campaign’s odd sequestration of her) made her look even more unqualified than she is. But it also made her look weak, scared, and phony. Had McCain acted like the steady hand at the helm, rather than someone who thinks ACORN “threatened the very fabric of democracy” or Russia’s actions in Georgia represented the most serious international incident of the new century, he might’ve stood a chance because we might have taken him seriously. Instead, every move he made smacked of desperation, hyperbole, theater, and tiresome negativity about his opponent rather than positivity or consistency about his own vision for America. It was a terrible campaign, plain and simple. The wind was at the Democrats’ back, yes, but McCain basically burned his own sails and played “WTF, let’s just go ball’s-to-the-wall!” with matters that deserved more seriousness and respect. Palin is and was a terrible pick, one that could only excite the Christian fundamentalists (like you?) and the racist xenophobes while alienating the millions of independents and small-c conservatives that McCain really needed. He played the wrong cards, over and over again.

  4. redsoxnana permalink
    November 4, 2008 10:00 am

    I can thank a person who has “sacrificed” (i.e. served in the military in wartime) right at home. He and I both agree war is insane and not the way to solve problems — and that glorifying combat is wrong.

    I admire your forthrightness, what you’ve given to the Red Sox, and your comments about a wide range of things.

    I do not agree with you politically — I was raised a Republican, voted R for the first few elections and then realized that my spiritual and moral philosophy didn’t really match. I strongly believe in the injunction to help “the least of these” and though Democrats are certainly not without fault, I think they do a far better job of trying to equalize opportunity for all of us.

    I respect McCain for his courage and service – I believe him to be an honorable man (though he has made some questionable decisions and ads in this campaign and less-than-honorable actions in his life — first wife, Keating mess …) but I could not vote for him.

    I will be proudly voting for Obama – and I sincerely pray that the color of his skin has nothing to do with the outcome of this election.

    I look forward to not having to hang my head in shame if abroad, because as an American I’m associated with W’s attitude toward the rest of the world.

    Like many others, I’m hoping somehow you stay with the RedSox if you decide to try to play next year but wish you well whatever you decide, and thank you for what you’ve given to the team

  5. stewiegriff permalink
    November 4, 2008 11:10 am

    I am a red sox fan and will forever be grateful for your pitching and helping the team win. That said, you, Curt, are the BIGGEST tool in the history of sports. Shut your freakin’ pie hole. Just because you are a brainwashed moron of the hypocritical religious right doesn’t mean we need to hear your crap. Shut your mouth. Stop trying to stay relevant. Your career is over. Enjoy your ritches and stop telling us about your horse crap religous and political beliefs.

  6. empirelady permalink
    November 4, 2008 1:22 pm

    To stewiegriff,(and Curt please read as well),

    I am a Democrat but that does not mean that I do not want to hear what non-Democrats have to say. In fact,I welcome the opportunity to hear what people who have different political views from me have to say(I watched the Republicans debate as well as the Democrats debate). That said,if you do not want to hear what Curt has to say,you do not have to read his blog -he posted it for those of us,myself included,who want to see it but just because he posted it does not mean that you have to read it,or even go to his blog in the first place. The first thing that I was taught as a child was freedom of speech,that everyone has a right to speak their mind,voice an opinion,and what Curt is doing is not only expressing that right but also sharing his point of view,opinions,with those of us who want to hear it-and I,for one,want to hear it,always. I always want to hear what Curt has to say,regardless of whether I agree with him or not;most of the time I do agree with him but not always,which is fine with me,as I value his opinion. So I suggest to you that you follow the advice of a saying that I once saw on a placque in someone’s home: “Better to remain silent and thought a fool than to speak up and remove all doubt”. I believe that you are the one who should remain silent!

  7. November 4, 2008 1:51 pm

    Done and Done – I did however tell the people outside the polling place that my vote was up for grabs to the candidate who held the door so I could heave my 2 boys and their double stroller inside….. oddly no takers!! :) Chivalry is DEAD!

  8. bethwasanexposfan permalink
    November 4, 2008 2:20 pm

    Hi Mr Schilling.

    Sorry this is a little off topic, but since it’s all over, maybe it’s time to move on to other important things like ALS research. I saw this article at Newsweek.com by a man with ALS about ALS research, baseball fundraising, and making the 70th anniversary of Gehrig’s farewell speech an “ALS day” in MLB. I dont know who the author is, but it sounded like a great idea and made me think of you and your wife and your foundation. Just thought I would pass it along. (You may have already seen it ) Thanks. bdanesco@aol.com

    http://www.newsweek.com/id/166832/page/1

  9. julian4239 permalink
    November 4, 2008 3:11 pm

    LOVED YOUR INTERVIEW With Michael Smirconish!

    Curt,

    You did a great job advocating ASL awareness and John McCain. I know the Michael questioned your interest in politics. If you ever consider running for Congress, come back to PA. The Chester county area needs you. We have a democrat in the 7th district I’m sure you can beat.

    Or, come back to the Phillies! You coming back would solidfy our chances to get back to the World Series.

    By the way, are you still playing EQ?

    -Julian

  10. jonnyjbones permalink
    November 4, 2008 3:14 pm

    While we are voting today lets all remember the innocent men, women and children dying needlessly in Iraq.

    Here is Yesterday’s violence:

    ‘ Baghdad

    - A bomb detonated near the house of the under secretary of the oil ministry in Atifiyah neighborhood (north Baghdad). The secretary, Sahib Salman, was injured with one of his guards .

    - Two roadside bombs targeted the homicide department near the Tahriyat intersection in Karrada neighborhood (downtown Baghdad).The two IEDs detonated in sequence, one was near a concrete fence and one near a tea vendor. Six people were killed and 20 others were wounded, including ten policemen.

    - An adhesive bomb detonated under a white Lumina sedanin Zauna neighborhood (downtown Baghdad). Two people were injured including the driver.

    - An adhesive bomb detonated under a Hyundai sedan on Palestine street (east Baghdad). Three people were wounded including the driver.

    - A roadside bomb targeted an army check point under the highway bridge in Jamia’a neighborhood. Three people were wounded including one soldier.

    - A gunman opened fire using a silencer on a man, killing him instantly in Zafaraniyah neighborhood (east Baghdad).

    - A roadside bomb targeted a police patrol in Raghiba Khatoon neighborhood (north Baghdad). Six people were wounded including three policemen.

    - Police found one dead body in Habibiyah neighborhood in Risfa bank in Baghdad today.

    Mosul

    - On Sunday night gunmen killed a man and his wife in Baaj (about 20 miles south of Mosul).

    - A roadside bomb targeted an Iraqi army patrol in the 17th of July neighborhood in Mosul city. Two people were injured.

    - A roadside bomb targeted an Iraqi army patrol in the Intisar neighborhood downtown Mosul city. Two soldiers were killed and two others were wounded.

    Diyala

    - A roadside bomb targeted the park of the governorate building in Baquba city. Nine people were injured including three policemen.’

  11. metaphase permalink
    November 4, 2008 3:23 pm

    Last I looked, this was Curt Schilling’s blog. I believe that gives him the right to write about anything he wants. You aren’t forced to read it. That’s the beautiful thing about living in America. Freedom isn’t just about what you can do, it’s also about what you don’t have to do.

    Oh, and riches doesn’t have a “t” in it..

  12. mikel123 permalink
    November 4, 2008 3:26 pm

    #3 expresses my sentiments pretty well. McCain just made so many poor decisions, in terms of the way he acted and approached things. He went from the guy who bucked party trends 8 and 4 years ago, to the guy who just seemed cut from the same cloth as Bush and the rest of the hard-core republicans.

    What scares me as an independent is that the democrats had every advantage I can think of, going into this election. One of the lousiest presidents ever, just finished 8 years of embarassing himself and casting a negative light over his party. A miserable war with ephemeral purpose. Economy in the toilet, and the belief (rightly or wrongly) that it’s somehow Bush/Republicans to blame.

    And to top it all off, McCain ran one of the worst campaigns I could have imagined. Of course, this is hindsight bias, but jeez. I think if he was more of the guy who ran in years past, he probably could have overcome the crap in the previous paragraph and had a 50/50 shot of winning today. To most people, I probably lean to the left, but he’s been by far my favorite republican from 2000 to 2006 or so. But he completely changed for this election, I think.

    And it’s terrifying, as I’m someone who would like to see reasonable competition each year, from multiple parties… and seeing how close McCain came this year makes me think that had the candidates started on “equal footing” (i.e. McCain did not have Bush’s garbage heap to clean up), McCain would have crushed Obama no matter how he ran his campaign.

  13. November 4, 2008 3:30 pm

    Curt,

    It’s all over and what a relief that is. Regardless of the outcome, I’m eager to turn the page on the current administration more than anything else.

  14. edmovieman permalink
    November 4, 2008 3:46 pm

    stewiegriff…………………If you don’t like his posts, then don’t go to his site. It’s his site so he can write whatever he wants!

  15. metaljaybird permalink
    November 4, 2008 3:56 pm

    Curt,

    I voted today. No lines to wait in. Ah, the luxury of small town living.

    Anyway, I disagree with both McCain and Palin, but I respect your opinions. Otherwise, I wouldn’t bother coming to your blog.

    Tinisoli, you seem to have a problem with Palin. Where is the evidence that she’s a racist?

    Stewiegriff. You’re irrelevant to whether or not Curt decides to write about politics.

  16. metaljaybird permalink
    November 4, 2008 3:57 pm

    P.S. I also disagree with Obama and Biden. I wrote in Ron Paul.

  17. tinisoli permalink
    November 4, 2008 4:43 pm

    metaljaybird,

    Here’s where the word “racist” came up in my comment: “Palin is and was a terrible pick, one that could only excite the Christian fundamentalists (like you?) and the racist xenophobes while alienating the millions of independents and small-c conservatives that McCain really needed.”

    As you can see, I didn’t say she’s a racist; I’m saying she appealed to the racist/xenophobic elements in our society, mainly among hardcore GOP voters who McCain already had in the bag. I have no idea if she’s racist or not. Likewise, I don’t suspect that McCain is a racist, but at various times in the later months of his campaign, he was gunning for their vote. Hillary did the same thing in Appalachia.

    I do, however, know that Palin equates actual racism with some kind of anti-Alaskan sentiment, or something…

    What the hell is she talking about?

  18. November 4, 2008 4:53 pm

    My wife and I both voted and canceled each other out, but we felt it important to partake. (my 14 month old daughter by the way voted McCain by the high five method left=McCain and right = Obama) So at least dad felt good.

    I don’t think McCain can get it done, just because I feel media really bashed McCain / Palin and fairly unjustly. I want him in but basically to keep a level of bi-partisanship in our government. Obama doesnt seem that bad. And both candidates have run their campaigns with a fairly centralist attitude. What scares me is that after election (if Obama were to win) that he may drift further and further left, boosting spending and liberal ideals with no level of government able to keep things in check.

    I am a republican, and spent much time contemplating both candidates (although nothing new has really been said in months). I do feel however that the concept of change in this country is mandatory. And I know that no matter who wins this election change is this country is imminent. I just really hope whoever takes over in the White House insures that the change that occurs is for the best.

    Brian Sparhawk

  19. November 4, 2008 8:21 pm

    Actually, we won’t have a new president tomorrow. We’ll have a new president when someone takes the oath of office in January.

    I’m surprised nobody caught that yet, heh.

    As another aside, I can’t cease to be amazed at the frothing partisans screaming about Sarah Palin’s lack of experience while extolling Barack Obama (who, unlike Palin, is actually running for the presidency) in the same breath.

  20. brittanyshull permalink
    November 4, 2008 9:53 pm

    I’m so glad the election is going to be over after tonight. I can’t wait to watch TV and not see Obama or McCain’s face for that matter. At least in commercial form. It’s going to be fun to not see that.

  21. skinnyman2007 permalink
    November 4, 2008 11:00 pm

    Hi Curt I am A REPUBLICAN and I live in Beaufort SC and I Voted For John Mcain. He is the right man for the JOB and I KNOW WHAT EXCEPT FROM HIM. HE Cares about all our troops and he cares about AMERICA!!!!!!. Obama He Will Raise taxes, he wants to end the war and I don’t think it is not right to end it so fast. I VOTED FOR THE RIGHT MAN CURT!!!!!!!!!. I AM GLAD YOU ARE A REPUBLICAN CURT!!!!!!!!!!!. GO JOHN MCAIN GO JOHN MCAIN!!!!!!!. Your BLOG IS NUMBER ONE CURT!!!!!!!. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT FOR THE FREEDOM OF SPEECH!!!!!!!!!. KEEP UP YOUR GREAT BLOGS CURT!!!!!!!. YOU ARE A TRUE AMERICAN!!!!!!!!!. I enjoyed seeing you on Fox News a couple of weeks ago supporting John Mcain!!!!!!!!!!. If You Get a Chance to talk to Jon Lester wish him Condradulations on His wedding next Janurary!!!!!!. I know the pastor that is going to Marry Him. He is going to be our New Pastor at the Baptist Church Of Beaufort. His name is Dr. Jim Wooten. He is really cool and he is coming from Greenville South Carolina.

    DUDE!!!!!!!!

    From, Jeff Riley

  22. November 6, 2008 5:45 am

    “When standing in line please say a thank you to the men and woman who’ve sacrificed so much for us to have this right.”

    All the time, Curt. Especially my grandfather and my father. And though my grandfather has gone Home now, I still thank him and think of him all the time, especially on Veterans’ Day. So I guess this year I’ll just have to spend some more time talking to my Dad.

    Heh.

    What a great night, indeed.

  23. warbler44 permalink
    November 7, 2008 9:09 pm

    do we say a thank you to Jerimiah Wright for his military service to the US?

  24. soxsweepagain permalink
    November 19, 2008 3:23 am

    Just reading this through, but… skinnyman, dude, you represent exactly what we voted against.

    Sheesh.

  25. April 28, 2009 9:27 am

    I can thank a person who has “sacrificed” (i.e. served in the military in wartime) right at home. He and I both agree war is insane and not the way to solve problems — and that glorifying combat is wrong.

Trackbacks

  1. Jack

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 639 other followers

