Skip to content

Don’t ask…

October 8, 2008

Me to comment, respond, or articulate on the comments made by Dr Morgan. I have not spoken with Craig in two weeks since our last ‘check up’ but the comments he made were his own. He, unfortunately, like me has little to no filter when asked about things he feels comfortable with knowledge wise. My arm and pitching, and shoulders, are certainly topics he is smarter than anyone I’ve ever met on.

However, like so many times before, the timing is horrific. I apologize to anyone being asked to respond or comment, this is not the time. The team is and will be focused on beating Tampa, as it should be.

Regardless of how anyone feels about the ‘what ifs’ involved here, they are irrelevant. What’s done is done and even though I’d kill to be able to take the ball right now, I can’t. No one gains from looking back and wondering what if, most of all my teammates or the organization.

My arm feels fantastic, I’ve thrown quite a bit over the past month to know if I wanted to get ready for camp I most assuredly could. The bigger task will be to get my ankle ‘fixed’ or ‘right’ again for the first time in 5 years.That, along with the immense amount of work needed to strengthen my shoulder/arm and all that goes with that.

The comments made by Craig were done in context I have no clue about. I don’t know who/where or what he was speaking about or to, and don’t care.

If I make the decision to return it will happen when/where and how it needs to and no one will know about it until I’m actually ready to pitch. If I don’t then I’ll continue steering the 38 Studios ship as best I can, help Shonda raise our 4 kids and continuing enjoying the hell out of being a dad that is actually home more than a month or two a year.

53 Comments leave one →
  1. phils4vr permalink
    October 8, 2008 10:27 pm

    Curt,If it was me I would retire,but as a Phillie fanatic…COME BACK TO US!!!Please?In all seriousness though-being or doing the best 4 your wife and children has to be weighed against any other consideration.Meanwhile,Sox/Phillies WS is any fan’s most fervent wish,you can throw out the 1st pitch in BOTH parks.I have been waiting 15 yrs.–wow,that seems so long ago but only feels like yesterday…well, whatever your decision…remember the game(Sep.1,’97)when you struck out 16 Yankees?It was like 115F on the turf at the Vet.Later 4 now,Paul

  2. October 9, 2008 3:58 am

    The Mighty 38
    I humbly wait to hear the newest things you produce, info and all that jazz. I’m very impressed with what you have done so far and cant wait to see the future to come of it!
    Take it easy my AIE Brother
    – Hagardly

  3. jimmykc permalink
    October 9, 2008 8:00 am

    Don’t know Dr. Morgan. I’m sure he is a great physician and excellent surgeon. However as a physician myself for the past for the past 40 years, one of the first things we are taught in medical school is to divulge medical information (such as a patient’s condition and progress) only with the permission of the patient. In non medical terms, he should shut his pie hole. And I agree with you that this is a topic best left for the hot stove league. Best of luck with your health, I’ve previously expressed my opinion on your retirement decision. Now let’s get those (Devil) Rays.

  4. jay8338 permalink
    October 9, 2008 10:32 am

    Curtis you are a loser that held up the Sox. You will never be in the HOF you stupid piece of cow crap. I hope that the Sox and the Dodgers make it to the Series so that Manny the Man can kick your stupid, racist, trailer trash, loser, face. You are a joke.

  5. jay8338 permalink
    October 9, 2008 10:37 am

    White woman are stupid and you know why. how in the world that you can call yourself proud to be a woman and vote for Mccain when all he did was leave his wife who had waited for this jerk for a drug addicted slut who was half his age. Wake up you stupid blondes he is a ADULTERER. That means he left his kids and his sick wife. Cindy McCain is a DRUG ADDICT

    Making Democrats everywhere proud…

  6. schilisfat permalink
    October 9, 2008 11:52 am

    hey schil- if manny’s dodgers make it to the world series and play boston, and he hits a buncha bombs and single-handedly beats the sox; winning a world series mvp- will you give him his props- and comment on how EVERY single high (or kinda high) profile player leaves boston angry at the management? or will you suddenly get into politics or online video games and forget about baseball every time your old rants and opinions are proved wrong? ..just wondering

  7. emmit066 permalink
    October 9, 2008 12:15 pm

    What I love about you is that you don’t hide anything, and you don’t hold back (whether you are right or wrong). You need to do what is best for you at this stage of the game. If that’s retire, so be it. If it’s come back next season, so be it. While I along with countless other members of Red Sox Nation would love to see you back in a Sox uniform pitching, we would understand if you didn’t. You have left your mark in Boston as one of the greats, and I thank you for that.

    I just wish I could spend as much time with my 2 year old daughter as you get to with your kids. Hopefully they realize how lucky they are to have you home and healthy, relatively speaking.

    Bring on the Devil Rays! (Heck, I still call the Comcast Center by it’s original name, Great Woods, and it hasn’t been called that in years!)

  8. jamann permalink
    October 9, 2008 1:03 pm

    dude…come back to the sox!!!! We need you!! If you retire, then I wish you the best of luck but if you don’t and you sign with anybody BUT the sox, please don’t go to the freakin jacka$$ yankees. Anyone but the yanks!!! thx…John

  9. metaphase permalink
    October 9, 2008 1:35 pm

    Curt-
    I would love to see you come back to the Sox at full strength, but that’s something only you can decide. As a mom of two toddlers (who I am indoctrinating to love the Sox!:) I know that time with your family can never be replaced. Yes, when you’re old those rings will still look great, but the love of your family still will shine brighter than anything else.

  10. dimmak42 permalink
    October 9, 2008 2:05 pm

    Curt,

    You have nothing to prove. If you come back great, but if its family time, take care of them first. No one has the right to criticize you for making a decision like that.

    Do what’s right for you while hurting as few and helping as many people as you can along the way. It’s all anyone should do.

  11. des25 permalink
    October 9, 2008 6:05 pm

    It amazes me every time Dr. Morgan grandstands with his opinions. No doctor can divulge patient-related information without the patient’s written authorization due to HIPAA privacy laws. If you really felt uncomfortable about him speaking out you would simply disallow him. His timing is unfortunate at best as he is pretty much criticizing the Red Sox right in the middle of the playoffs. Reclaim your right to privacy, Curt, and save us all from any more of his rants.

  12. gmac1979 permalink
    October 9, 2008 7:18 pm

    If your up for it Boston fans would love to see you dominating in Fenway again (for us, not against). But i will have to agree with jamann that if you decide to return and not play for the Sox please DONT play for the Yankees. You know making a move like that would turn alot of fans against you. And as i’m sure you’re aware we’re passionate about our teams.
    If you get a free second check out some more of that passion, check out http://www.realbostonsportsfans.com.
    Theres a list of the Top 100 Boston Sports Icons right now at #72 is Curt Schilling. Maybe some more postseason magic can get you move up or you making your argument why you should be higher (or lower) could help also.

    Thanks for all the great posts Schill and maybe i’ll see some more on http://www.realbostonsportsfans.com

  13. tigersox1 permalink
    October 9, 2008 11:08 pm

    Bad timing for this story to come out, no matter who’s responsible. Kinda reminds me of the whole A-Rod “opt out” story during the WS, which was a total distraction to some outstanding baseball. Not to mention that it made him look like a (Bor)ass!!!

    At any rate, if your gonna pitch, great! It should be for the Sox at a discounted rate, considering you got a free $8 mill this year for doing nadda… If your not gonna pitch, thanks for everything you’ve given to the sox, the championships woudn’t have happened without ya!!!

    As far as the whole Manny thing… It makes me sick that someone so talented could be such a creep and not really care about what other people think… Manny being Manny?, how about Manny being a FANNY!!!Though he put up some great numbers while he was with the Sox, I’ll always remember him for Quitting on his teammates and bad mouthing Sox management on his way out of town, because he couldn’t get his way!!! Good Riddance!!!

  14. hospicern1963 permalink
    October 9, 2008 11:17 pm

    Curt,

    I have so enjoyed watching you play over the years. While I hope you are able to return to the Sox, you need to do what is best for you and for your family.

    Thank you for all the memories. Thank you for all that you do for ALS as well. I currently have a patient (as a hospice nurse) who is nearing the end of his ALS battle. It is a heart-breaker. But that man has a strong spirit and is so loved by his family. Maybe one day this disease won’t be a death sentence, thanks to people like you.

    Blessings to you. Cindy from Oregon

  15. lionking1 permalink
    October 9, 2008 11:48 pm

    Curt, Doc Morgan is right. He never left you down. DiceK is taking YOUR start!

  16. boscoe123 permalink
    October 10, 2008 12:39 am

    Curt, maybe you can pitch batting practice.

  17. October 10, 2008 2:10 am

    I too would like to see you came back and pitch for the Red Sox. But your health and your wellbeeing is much more important.

  18. skidoosh permalink
    October 10, 2008 5:25 am

    Curt,

    As much as I’ll hate seeing you back in a Sox uniform next year. I really hope you decide to come back. I’ve always been a Dodger fan (born and raised in LA), and I’ve certainly noticed a lot of Red Sox fans come out of the woodwork in the last 5 years or so.

    But I’ve always enjoyed watching you pitch. I think you are easily one of the best pitchers that I’ve had the pleasure of watching. I just wish you could have piled up those wins for some different teams.

    But here’s to you coming back and having a few good years left in you.

    Tim from So Cal

  19. wally97 permalink
    October 10, 2008 8:08 am

    Best wishes to you and yours in whatever course you choose to take. I didn’t put much stock in the Dr.’s comments and I doubt most people did. Doesn’t matter. Good luck to you.

  20. mannyramirez1 permalink
    October 10, 2008 9:03 am

    Hey Curt

    What can you do, Curt. Everyone wants their 15 minutes. It’s not like he’s way off base. Had they listened, you may be taking the mound tonight.

    I really look forward to seeing you pitch again. I’ll even settle for seeing you in one of those snazzy purple sports coats giving us your opinions. Now THAT would be must see TV!

    My husband and I were talking about who they may have throw out the first pitch at Fenway in this series. We were throwing out names and he says ‘Curt Schilling’ WOW, I got chills! How cool would that be Sox fans? I vote for you Curt!

    Anyway, it starts tonight. Stomp on their necks and don’t let them breathe!

  21. gosox79 permalink
    October 10, 2008 10:40 am

    Curt,
    I would love to see you come back next year, but only with the Sox. You have become an iconic figure with the Red Sox. Coming back to a contender who gives you a lot of money tarnishes who you are, the monumental figure you’ve become, and what you stand for.

    Hope the shoulder is feeling good.

  22. game6sockwasfake permalink
    October 10, 2008 3:14 pm

    dear a-rod:

    cant wait to hear more news from you during the WS… great job!

    ps… your contract is done, you robbed your 8 million, further validated your “hired gun” status and i doubt the sox will waste their time with you in 2009

  23. grecoroman permalink
    October 10, 2008 3:27 pm

    Curt:

    If you were pitching for the Sox now and got to face Manny in the World Series, would you consider drilling him? I know, if I were in such a situation, I would have a hard time not!!! Do you think any of the Sox pitchers would feel the same way and get the green light, so to speak on doing it, or even do it alone?

    Just watching him, draws more ire and rage from me than The Right Wing Fascist Fraud Machine ( I couldn’t resist), for some odd reason. I think he stands for everything against what the beauty of sports represents and the world hence, undeniably saw, that rare, overt, ugly, cancerous, despicable display firsthand. He needs a good ass kickin, but the next best remedy would be a ball to the back, followed by a roundhouse to the head. Wouldn’t it be funny to for the first time to see a batter get drilled, then have the pitcher charge the batter box!! We know Manny doesn’t have the sack to charge the mound!!!

    I know in my heart the reason why he snapped at Youk. was because Youk. must have called him out for clearly hanging back in or near the dugout as the rest of the Sox defended each other in the Cocoa Crisp melee against Tampa Bay, that we keep seeing time and again now. Look for Manny, he is not anywhere to be seen. Had elderly Johnny Pesky been in the dugout, even he would have not sat as idly, meekly and cowardly as “The Greatest Right Handed Hitter in the History of the Game” did. Good for Youk. for not pacifying such a fraud any longer.

    I have a feeling, despite the media’s Dodger-affection, that, now with them trailing, for the first and only time in the Playoffs, their blemishes will only deepen. Unless their team chemistry is Fort Knox-like, (which Torre is a strong fortifier of) Manny will only aid and enable in their ultimate defeat to the Phillies, whom look like a team with championship-like makeup, if not talent. I could easily seeing the Dodgers getting swept or losing meekly in 5!!!

    Anyways, its fun, isn’t it?! Tonight should be great – two iron clad teams in the truest sense of the word, squaring off. For purists, this series doesn’t get any better. Wish you were there Curt, but in many ways, you are.

  24. October 10, 2008 6:40 pm

    Wow, that is lousy timing, eh?
    What can you do — you can’t control other people and what they do or don’t comment on.

    The good news is, that your shoulder is getting better. And that is all that matters for you.

    Personally, I’d love to see you pitch in Boston another season. And I’d be crushed if you went to another AL team. I think if you were to play elsewhere, alot of us would prefer it was NL, if anyplace at all.

    But you’re absolutely right — not the time to address the issue today.

    AND – totally laughed out loud about the “making democrats everywhere proud” comment.

  25. warbler44 permalink
    October 10, 2008 9:53 pm

    Phils v Sox Curt? Would be fun.

  26. fafisan permalink
    October 11, 2008 2:19 am

    Curt,
    Let life dictate your necessities. You have done wonders for the Red Sox, and that whole bloody sock incident, well, I loved every single second during that game (and shed a tear or two at the irony). Bled red as my Sox have been. We finally won, twice, maybe even 3 times now, this decade, and that damn curse is erased off that overpass on Storrow Drive, finally! All greatly thanks to you!

    Today, those same Sox may not be of need of another veteran pitcher as a starter, ya’ know? You are great, but have to realize it’s time to let the next generations come through. As such, you should be there, as a mentor or teacher, giving the greenhorns your Hall of Fame – worthy experience!

    Thank you for the wild wins (and wicked crazy nights) you brought me, my friends, and our team. I do hope you stay in New England.

  27. empirelady permalink
    October 11, 2008 4:50 am

    To Curt and to jay8338,

    To jay8338,I do not know why you keep returning to this posting if you hate Curt and what is said here so much,but at least be accurate in what you say. For the record,Curt did not hold up the Sox(they did win the World Series,with a MAJOR part being thanks to him)and he will get into the HOF(there is no doubt about that). Curt,as for your comment saying that this idiot makes Democrats proud,he does NOT make us Democrats proud,he is a disgrace to the Democratic party(actually he is a disgrace to all humanity,period)AND I hope you do not believe that all Democrats are like him. Speaking for myself and on behalf of other Democrats like myself,I apologize for what he said and tell you rather strongly that this is unacceptable behavior-we Democrats do NOT speak out or behave in this manner. I hope that you believe that we are not all like that,Curt,because we are not. Do you believe that? So,no we are NOT proud and I,for one,am totally ashamed to say that he is a member of my political party….As for what Dr. Morgan said and did,I agree that it is totally unethical for him to have done that. While my name has not been mentioned specifically,the manner in which I had my life-threatening horrendous accident a few years back(my ankle forever has a metal plate and nine screws holding it together) has now made national headlines,it is talked about in the news all of the time,and if I ever found out that my orthopedic doctor/surgeon,the best top doctor here in New York City were speaking out about what happened to me,be it to the news media or anyone else,I would be very upset. Be it when I thought that I would never walk again(spent two months in a wheelchair)or now when I am walking,he would have no right to mention anything about my condition at all,to anyone(only I have the right to speak about what happened,if I choose to). You have every right to be upset about what he said,and that would be the case,regardless of the timing of it. He certainly has done right by you physically,and I am thrilled that you are doing so well,but perhaps you should consider switching doctors(if you need the name of the one here in New York City,who has done surgery on my ankle and elbow,and treated my knee,let me know). The oath of patient/doctor confidentiality-your medical condition is nobody’s business other than yours,and the only person who has the right to speak about your medical condition is YOU….Wishing you continued good health,I do hope that you will return next year,for whatever team(and my New York Mets sure could use pitching help!),and congratulations to the Red Sox on the win Friday night. This team,deservingly so,is going to go all the way once again,and you will hear my cheers from here in New York City(I am in New York but support the Red Sox,always)…
    Donna,in New York City at empirelady87@hotmail.com

  28. bambamkitty permalink
    October 11, 2008 10:30 am

    Hi Curt:

    I know that you are recovering – best wishes during the process. Are you able to hang out with the team during their post-season games? We haven’t seen you on the bench or with team during some of the celebration. You are a big part of the Red Sox success and hope you are able to be apart of this year as well. We miss your presence.

  29. warbler44 permalink
    October 12, 2008 12:21 am

    Curt, I may have missed it but I’ve always wanted to hear what your reflections are concerning you testimony to congress regarding steroids.I don’t know if you were under oath or not but in my opinion and from living in Philly in 1993 I find it nonsenseical that you didn’t know about the steroid usage going on under your nose. The joke was whose head was going to explode from the effects of the juice. Not you by the way, it was the “macho” guys.

    You almost won that seris by yourself. Curt, your the best big game pitcher I ever saw but I lost respect for you that day you testified to congress.

  30. lovethesocks permalink
    October 12, 2008 8:30 am

    Is it too late to replace Beckett on the roster with Curt? OK I understand you may not be able to go 5 yet but heck neither can Josh.

    Sounds like you are making great progress with the rehab. All the best to you.

  31. britredsoxfan permalink
    October 12, 2008 9:27 pm

    Good luck with the rehab,hey good luck in the future.

  32. 38cantpitchnemore permalink
    October 13, 2008 5:56 am

    Why return to the game Curt? You commented that you spend about 2 months a year with your family. You’ve made enough money in your career that, if invested properly, your grandchildren will not be able to spend it all. Our time on earth is finite and your kids will only be young once. I say call it a career and go enjoy your family full time. I would definately take advantage of the unique opportunity you have if I could.

  33. yanksrdaclassofbball permalink
    October 13, 2008 12:46 pm

    All of you Curt lovers that are begging him not to sign with the Yankees, save your breath. As much as we like to sign has beens sometimes, Curt will never be signed by us. Hes THAT washed up, was years ago. As much as he has talked trash about the Yankees and their fans just to stay ingratiated with you Boston losers has assured his place in the Yankee fans most hated list. Curt had some good years, big victories, but will not be a HOF’er, because if you look at his whole career, he wasnt all that great. His shining moments were 2001 playoffs and the B.S. bloody (ketchup) sock. Thats it. He thinks he’s gonna get a Clemens-type deal next year and pitch half a season for big $$? HA! By next August Curt will be over 300 pounds, looking like Elvis circa 1977. Curt, take your loot that you didnt earn from Boston and call it a career. Look on the bright side, you’ll have plenty of time to do little paper cut-outs with “McCain” written on them. Bye Loser.

  34. empirelady permalink
    October 13, 2008 5:23 pm

    Hey yanksrdaclassofbball-
    I would not talk if I were you about how great the Yankees are,as compared to Boston,because if you look at who is playing right at this moment,as I write this,Boston is and the Yankees are not! You talk about Curt from 2001 but do you have such a short memory that you forget 2007? Look at who won that year,and look at how CUrt did. Believe me,I am here in New York and if your Yankees do not want him(and the Yankees do not deserve him),then my New York Mets will be more than happy to have him,as will Boston or any other team. In case you have noticed,most people who write on this posting WANT him back and would be thrilled to have him pitch,even for half a season(it is much to his credit to want to pitch again). As for your comments about Curt,if you look at his record,even prior to coming to Boston,it speaks for itself and he will be in the HOF. Any team would be happy to have him for even half a season and as for his being in shape,I have seen pictures of him recently. He looks great,as he always has,if you read this posting you would see that he says he is doing great,and I have no doubt that he will be in great shape as always,should he decide to pitch again(and I hope that he does). I am a Yankees hater,I will admit that,but if you love the Yankees and hate Boston as much as you say,then why does it bother you that Boston paid him the much deserved money. He absolutely deserved what he was paid,worth every cent. Quite frankly,after reading your comments,Curt is not the loser but you are. Curt is a beautiful human being in many ways and unfortunately after your trashing of him on his site,I cannot say the same for you.

  35. bgreene9369 permalink
    October 14, 2008 11:27 am

    Curt – Baseball is what you do, not who you are. I’m a big fan of you, your blog and the Red Sox, but I hope when you pass on this earth your legend is “He was a great husband, dad & friend, and oh, by the way, he played baseball too”. I think you’ve got your priorities straight – family first.

    Now, as a baseball fan, I hope that you can make it back to the level that you’re accustomed to. Take care.

  36. lionking1 permalink
    October 14, 2008 2:57 pm

    The Sox are havin’ a hard time winnin’ cause they don’t have the great Schill to get them that must win. No doubt about it. Heck, Beckett and Llester already are close to Curt’s total playoff losses in his career. Best to re-sign the Schill for another year or two.

  37. c130jj permalink
    October 14, 2008 8:04 pm

    Curt,

    I admire your willingness to be outspoken. For many people, their message is lost in their inability to communicate effectively. You are in the minority in this case, and I believe those who can express their views in a coherent and calculated manner should do so. Especially when there are many who look up to those individuals. It doesn’t matter if your opinion is controversial–if your case is strong and well versed, it is an important message because controversy is usually the result of a mix of incomplete information and strong bias. So… When is Big Papi going to catch on fire? When is Pedroia’s sudden decision to hit lights-out going to produce multiple runs? How is Jason Bay going to erase the memory of the loss of Manny in the postseason? Why did Lester stay in so long? Who decided to play Wakefield after not pitching for 16 days? If you’re laughing now, ok. But my message remains–we haven’t forgotten what you did for us, and we truly value your blog.

    JJ Casey
    Virginia

  38. 38cantpitchnemore permalink
    October 14, 2008 9:04 pm

    Been watching the political commercials lately, Curt? Obama is FINALLY advertising on TV that McCain wants to tax my 9k in annual benefits as income. 3k more out of joe 6packs pocket and tax breaks for corporations. You SERIOUSLY see nothing wrong with that philosophy in this economic climate?

  39. boscoe123 permalink
    October 14, 2008 11:34 pm

    Yah suck it you Red Sox fans!

  40. soxmissschill permalink
    October 15, 2008 11:04 am

    This is not a direct response to you latest bog entry Curt. I just listened to Amalie Benjamin breakdown the Sox game 4 loss. She mentioned that Varitek had stated that someone will talk to the team before game 5. I realize your injury has not allowed you to physically be part of this team, however, I think your inspiring spirit can be a much needed inspiration at this time. I believe it is you that should address the team before Game 5. Not to toot your own horn, but rather, to remind them what each man can do if they leave everything on the field as you did in 04′ bloody sock and all. I strongly believe you have the ability to inspire men to take it to another level as you did in 04′ What do you say? Can you do it Curt?

  41. nemeamy permalink
    October 15, 2008 10:17 pm

    While Curt hasn’t pitched all year because of an injured shoulder, his wife was happy to pitch John McCain and Ms. Palin at Salem High School. She compared supporters of Barack Obama to that most heinous of hardball partisans, Yankee fans (”Boooo”).

    “They’re good people,” Mrs. Schilling said graciously of Obama supporters. “They just root for the wrong team.”

    Mrs. Schilling ended on a less gracious note, relaying a personal message from her husband. “Yankees suck,” she said, to cheers.

    **********************************************************

    Honestly? C’mon! Now people say mean and hurtful and wrong things during election years. But comparing ME to a Yankees fan hurts worse than anything. I support the Red Sox and I support Barack Obama and you should know that it is a knife to the heart of any Sox fan to be compared to Yankees fans, especially by someone I have always respected.

    Talk about the candidates, don’t attack the voters!

    (I understand your wife said this, but I don’t know where her blog is.)

  42. nemeamy permalink
    October 15, 2008 10:41 pm

    Ya know what? I have more to say on that subject!

    I am always promoting SHADE, telling other mom’s about the great summer programs, and urging people to donate, even though I don’t agree with Shonda’s political beliefs!

    And she compares me to a Yankees fan!!

  43. yourteamsux permalink
    October 16, 2008 3:43 pm

    You know something Curt has a natural ability to pitch better than many who have played MLB. The problem is he is, in my mind, considered in the same club as Barry, Manny, Arod, T.O. Clemens and all the other crybaby superstars that contaminate our planet with their ego’s and attitudes. He should fade away to sports trivia like all the never were “stars”. Curt, give it up, the body can’t do want the mind wants to and your fear is no one will remember you unless you parade around with that stupid bloody sock on your head. Oh boy you beat the Yankees so did alot of people. You won’t live long enough to see the Sux win more championships than the Yanks. How will you survive?

    Why don’t you fix welfare, the economy, racism, hatred (that might be hard for you since you have proclaimed your “love” for New Yorkers, and all the other issues that plague society. Who really cares about you coming back to pitch when there are so many other important things that need to be done in this world. Maybe then we would be spared about hearing the good life you have and you can see things as the average man does. 38 pitches is about all you have left so catch the “T” go out and get a real job.

  44. skidoosh permalink
    October 16, 2008 7:09 pm

    Curt,

    this is the only place i could find to leave you a little note. That was an awesome ceremonial pitch you through out tonight =P. I hope the shoulder is doing well.

    Tim

  45. sashadro permalink
    October 16, 2008 11:46 pm

    I thought it was great seeing you throw out that first pitch….And we won!!! Coincidence?

  46. redsox733 permalink
    October 17, 2008 12:45 am

    Curt,

    I think you need to travel with the team to Tampa you were definitely the good luck charm. Hope you are feeling better. get well soon and go SOX

    Karolyn

  47. Hugh Jass permalink
    October 17, 2008 7:45 am

    Nice pitch last night, Kurt! Tee-hee! I think you bounced that pitch on purpose to give the crowd some entertainment. Am I right?

    I think you brought some of that ol’ Schill magic to the hometown nine! Please, please, please travel with the team to Tampa to complete the comeback mojo! We can do it, Kurt.

    We love you, Kurt, and the only thing that could make this impending comeback sweeter is (a) if you were on the roster and (b) if you were coming back next year!

    I will have my #38 shirt on (size XXXL, as I am a kinda large guy). I have not washed it since 2004 as I don’t want to wash the good luck out of it. It has some salsa stains here and there, but overall it’s in good shape.

    God bless. And good luck with all your charitable endeavors, ol’ pal.

  48. mannyramirez1 permalink
    October 17, 2008 7:59 am

    First pitch! HA! My husband was right! (for once)
    That was awesome, Curt! You’re still helping the Sox win!
    What an amazing comeback!
    You better have been on the plane with the team to FLA. We need your comeback karma!

  49. harrymstevens permalink
    October 17, 2008 10:25 am

    Awesome to see #38 on the mound at Fenway last night!

    Hope you make it all the way back… Go Sox!

  50. marcomarco permalink
    October 17, 2008 12:32 pm

    Shanknessy just can’t get over you.

  51. October 17, 2008 1:25 pm

    GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GAME LAST NIGHT!!!

    AND SO AWESOME TO SEE YOU IN A SOX JERSEY AGAIN, CURT!!!

    By the way, would it be okay if we started calling you “Mr. Red Sock Himself”? After your historic efforts in 2004, of course!

    (Hey, last night was great, but we will NEVER forget the team that set the tone for all of this!)

    GO RED SOX!!!

    (And Yeah, I gave a “GREAT” for every The Sawx scored last night!)

  52. October 17, 2008 1:26 pm

    Every RUN** The Sawx scored

    (I’m so excited about Game 6 I can’t even type!!!)

  53. wally97 permalink
    October 17, 2008 2:27 pm

    Hey I LOVED hearing you on the D&C show this morning! Glad you put CHB’s comments in perspective! GOOD LUCK!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 636 other followers

