Skip to content

Congrats!

October 7, 2008

What a win, what a series. 4 games that could have gone either way on one play or one pitch, each night. Mike Scioscia is a class act. He has NEVER been anything but classy in victory and defeat.

They earned this one and I can’t wait until Friday. I like the fact that this team and it’s advanced scouts now have 4 full days to prep for the Rays. Seeing them 19 times and scouting them during the season is nothing like spending 4 full days putting game plans together. This pitching staff will be 100% prepped on how to approach each and every hitter. If they can execute we’ll be watching the Sox in their 3 World Series in 5 years.

One little thing. It has happened many times before but I wanted anyone wondering, and it may be nobody, about the ‘news’ released by the Sporting News today. Their issuance of comments made by me about ‘retiring’ are certainly nothing new to anyone around here but the timing sucks. Every ounce of energy and coverage deserves to be spent on the 25 guys that just completed their first round win. I was asked by the SN about a month or so ago to respond to a readers question about next year, and I did, literally that same day. That ‘news’ was in their hands for an extended period of time and I am not sure why it was ‘news’ today. It’s not.

There is nothing new on that front and what I’ve said has not changed. If I did decide to come back I’d pitch the 2nd half of next season only, and that would only be after an extensive and extended program to get back to the point that I could do it.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. jasonejh permalink
    October 7, 2008 1:10 pm

    come on back for a victory lap, to boston that is. if not, you should probably go out a la troy brown – you can be immortal here if you want to be…..

  2. ajroberts10 permalink
    October 7, 2008 1:16 pm

    Heard you’re not planning on pitching until middle of next year? What’s up with that? I agree about the “could have gone either way on one play or one pitch, each night” because the Angels definitely had a ton of opportunities, especially that Howie Kendrick clown….when are they going to pick up a legit 2nd baseman?

  3. wickedworld123 permalink
    October 7, 2008 1:35 pm

    OHHH YEAH!!! BRING ON THE RAYS!!!! Scoscia is a class act for sure… Lackey had some interesting comments after the game though… I’ll chalk it up to being angry about being sent home early again.

  4. brianval62 permalink
    October 7, 2008 1:46 pm

    Curt,

    What do you think about Lackey’s comments, saying the better team didn’t win, and being upset about Pedroia fist pumping when Torii Hunter was pretty demonstrative himself? Even the commentators were remarking how Lackey was showing up his infielders after errors. Do you know which Angels infielder he was talking about when he said he wanted to throw someone through a wall?

  5. bwsmith25 permalink
    October 7, 2008 1:49 pm

    I figured the media was trying to get something started. That’s why I didn’t put too much stock in the reports.

    I hope you are well enough to pitch next year (for the Sox of course), but you have to do what is best for your health. Best wishes to you as you recover!

    Go Sox!!!!

    Bradley Smith
    Moncks Corner, SC

  6. yagru permalink
    October 7, 2008 2:18 pm

    Curt we’ll miss your playoff presence.. this is some great baseball.. best of luck on your recovery and decision.. take care.

  7. mainermarsh permalink
    October 7, 2008 2:21 pm

    Well you know how some of the media types are Curt. If they can’t find a story than they make their own.

    In any case I hope you decide to listen only to yourself and your family when deciding whether or not to return next year. I never understand those who think they have the right to tell an athlete when it is time for them to hang up their uniform for good. You know better than anyone else what your body can handle and should take the opportunity to enjoy every second you can pitch at a major league level.

    It would really be interesting to see a Dodgers-Red Sox World Series, especially the games in Boston. I can only imagine all of the storylines. East Coast vs West Coast. The Boston return of Manny being Manny. Joe Torre making the World Series while the team that cast him out sits at home.

  8. denisesoxfan permalink
    October 7, 2008 2:45 pm

    Hey Curt! I, for one, would love to see you in a Red Sox uniform at this time next year. Here’s hoping!
    Denise

  9. okajimaangle permalink
    October 7, 2008 2:46 pm

    And congratulations to minorities, who, despite what Ann Coulter and our esteemed blogger say, weren’t at fault for the subprime loan crisis.

    Dare you to read it. It’s from Business Week.

    Where did I say that? Cool, you must be a member of the media…

  10. tenorsackbuteer permalink
    October 7, 2008 3:09 pm

    As I stated in a blog in today’s Boston Herald, Curt Schilling deserves a PASS for EVERYTHING he’s done.

    The Bloody Sock incident caused the resulting championshipS. There would be NONE without Curt Schilling’s contribution both in 2004 and 2007.

    For these accomplishments, there deserves to be a corner reserved in every home in New England for a shrine dedicated to Curt Schilling. Each shrine should come equipped with a Curt Schilling bobble-head doll and with votive candles to be lit on his birthday and on the anniversary of the Bloody Sock.

    I am MOST SORRY that he feels that fans have actually questioned HIM in the past 12 months.

    And as for pitching part-time next year, why not?? Roger Clemens did it for 3 years, and while last year was a bust and a colossal waste of Yankee money, it worked out OK in his first 2 years of part-time duty.

    Roger earned it by dint of Lifetime Achievement and so too has Schilling.

    Would it be for the Sawx? As of today, it might be tough for Curt to crack the Red Sox starting 5, but who knows what could happen by the time Curt’s willing and able to re-enter the big leagues next summer.

    James A. Nollet; Milkowice POLAND

  11. p23w permalink
    October 7, 2008 3:17 pm

    Timing is tool used by a media with an agenda. You should be used to it by now. Hope you feel well enough to come back in 2009. We’ll need someone to match up against Jamie Moyer in the 2009 World Series .

  12. soxfaninil permalink
    October 7, 2008 3:48 pm

    Curt, I agree, great win, but in my opinion a very lucky win. Gotta ask, why do you think Tito pulled Lester for the 8th? I thought he still was great and I beleive he was only at 107 pitches. I know he hit 97 MPH in the 7th and I really expected to see him back out there for another couple of outs. Either that or Delcarmen.

    Anyway, great win and I am glad to hear you are considering coming back next year. I will be happy to see you out on the mound again even if it is for another team. Good luck.

    Sean in Illinois

  13. metaljaybird permalink
    October 7, 2008 4:44 pm

    And congratulations to the commenter, okajimaangle, for being a troll.

  14. stevebeckett permalink
    October 7, 2008 5:09 pm

    Curt – Can you explain the rule on why the call on Willits was changed once the ball rolled free? I know the argument about the catcher initiated the contact not the runner (in reference to a collision at home plate), as well as the “ground can’t cause a fumble argument”….but this is baseball not football so that seems irrelevant.

    My take is that in baseball, if you don’t hold the ball all the way through a tag; whether it’s when you’re swiping a guys foot as he slides into second, are getting run over at the dish, or if you’re falling down tagging a guy on the baseline; if you don’t hold the ball all the way through the tag (even if that means as you hit the ground) the runner is safe.

    Even though the “out” call had already been made, I have seen some umpires call someone out, see the ball free (after a collision) and reverse their call. Did I miss something here or was it just a judgement call and the ump felt Varitek had “enough” control during the tag and “long enough” after the tag that Willits should be out?

  15. 38cantpitchnemore permalink
    October 7, 2008 5:21 pm

    Hi Curt,

    I heard you on D and C this morning talking about how you would like either presidential candidate to specifically spell out his economic plan as to how to get the economy out of its current doldrums. Since your boy McCain has pretty much been reduced to slinging mud and hoping something sticks, out of a sense of desperation, I suspect, since he is trailing so badly at this time. Can you email that advisor friend of yours and see if HE knows anything?

  16. jonstaples permalink
    October 7, 2008 6:13 pm

    Lester is nasty! He’s the only good thing to come out of Tacoma.

    Jon in Seattle

  17. October 7, 2008 6:31 pm

    “What do you think about Lackey’s comments, saying the better team didn’t win [...]”

    I know what I think, heh.

    Consider:

    Rundifferential is a widely accepted, and generally reliable indicator of a team’s performance, especially when taken over a full season. A team’s RD will generally correspond closely to its final W-L record. Team’s with really great RD numbers are generally playoff-quality contenders, although there has to be csome consideration of the division they play in, given the “uneven schedule” we have. That said,

    The Red Sox had the best RD in the American League, at plus-151. They managed this excellent season playing in tthe toughest division in the majors, too – three other teams in the division posted very good RD’s, two of them over 100. Only one team “Orioles” could be considered a ‘pushover’, with a negative-87 RD. This made the total RD for the division plus-343.

    The Angels, on the other hand, managed only a plus-68 RD (less than 4th-place Toronto) playing in a weaker division. No other team in the AL West had a positive RD, and Seattle, the West’s bottom-feeder, ended with a league-worst minus-140. The division finished with a ridiculous minus-182.

    Bottom line is that even though the Angels were able to fatten up their record on some of the League’s weakest teams, they still only played their way to the 6th-best RD of the 8 October teams. Did the Angels deserve their postseason berth? Of course. Were they demonstrably better than the Sox? Obviously not.

  18. October 7, 2008 7:38 pm

    Pls come back. We miss you. I’m having a hard time identifying with the team right now. The current players have masted the “answer the question but say nothing” technique to a degree that is beginning to disenfranchise them to me (I can’t believe I spelled that right the first time).

    This is something I’ve always admired about you Mr. Shilling – real answers. I’ve told a TON of people about your “When is it okay to ask for a signature” answer you gave me a few years ago – it was perfect – I anticipate it has relieved a ton of players from awkward moments with their families or while enjoying a meal.

    So here’s another question: How do players learn this “answer but don’t answer” technique? It’s been touched in a couple of baseball movies – but lately the SOX have been playing it too much I think.

    The reason I ask is because there’s a debate in about 23min and I’m personally sick and tired of the candidates using the same techniques.

    Go Sox! (Go Obama!)
    M@

  19. thedoctorx permalink
    October 7, 2008 10:22 pm

    GO SOX! (FAIL Obama!)

    Waves to jonstaples

    Had some nice fans congratulate the Sox and then relate the “Tek for Slocumb” trade.

    Very good and exciting games. Fortunately the “good guys” won. I am sorry for Mike Lowell–trying to play through injury. Hope he can heal up well after surgery.

    An English friend who is a Pirates fan–”Anyone can be a Yankees fan”–since theirs was the first stadium he visited, predicted that RS fans would LOVE Jason Bay.

    I keep thanking him. Good for Bay. Good for Jed. Good for all of them!

    Now . . . for some hard playing.

    –J.D.

  20. carms1979 permalink
    October 7, 2008 10:41 pm

    Go Sox! and Go McCain!!

  21. rodfromholyoke permalink
    October 8, 2008 12:55 am

    Yes! What an exciting series it was. But then again, aren’t all the Sox playoff series exciting? Who’s more exciting in the playoffs than the Redsox?

    I agree, Scioscia is a class act, he says all the right things, and I’m sure this can’t be getting any easier for the guy. Too bad some of his players didn’t get some pointers from him on how to react to losing. I guess its hard to blame them totally, but it just makes them look bad.

    I am so looking forward to Friday too. I wonder what the rotation will be. Terry has a bit of a challenge here. Personally I would go Josh, John, and Dice K in that order. They all having great years, so no matter the choice I feel confident.

    It would be nice to see one more last go for you. Go for it, make it your best finish :)

    Rod

  22. empirelady permalink
    October 8, 2008 2:49 am

    Curt-
    In reference to what you said about the release by Sporting News,I thought that you might be interested to know what was printed here in New York City. I am in New York City and in one newspaper,they have a column called Sports Shorts;it briefly gives news updates about various things in sports. In the column for Tuesday,October 7,this is what was written and I quote it exactly: “Schilling mulls comeback: Curt Schilling is considering coming back next year-for half the season. The Red Sox right hander,who underwent season-ending surgery on June 23,said in an interview with Sporting News that he might try to pitch in 2009 under the right circumstances”. End quote. You are so absolutely right. The newspaper made it sound like you just said it this week and not that you said it a month ago. I thank you for clarifying that,for pointing out when you actually said it,and you have absolutely every right to be upset with them for their timing of the release. One thing that I would appreciate if you would clarify is to tell me if you actually said “under the right circumstances” or if that is their wording. I am very interested to know what the right circumstances would be but I am not going to ask that,as I know that it is a personal decision(if you do want to say,though,I would be interested). I do want to know,however,if that was your wording or their wording(I would much rather hear it from you than from them,as I do not believe a lot of what is written,apart from what you write-you always speak the truth). I do hope that you return in 2009 but also respect that you have to do what is best for you. In the meantime,I thought that you would want to know what was printed here in New York City and am wondering how much of that statement,particularly
    the right circumstances part, was your actual words or what they just chose to print.
    Donna in New York City,empirelady87@hotmail.com

  23. October 8, 2008 8:06 am

    Schill –
    I know you are a big Josh Beckett fan…so do you think he should start game 1? What do you make of his Sunday performance and what can we expect from him in this series with the Rays?
    I don’t care if you pitch half an inning next year, I think it should be in Boston. Finish it here Curt. As jasonejh said, you could become an immortal in Boston…We love you here Sir.

    Take care,
    Bethany

  24. chickee74 permalink
    October 8, 2008 12:44 pm

    Hi Curt, first time poster here but long time die hard Sox fan. Congrats to our amazing 2008 Sox! I am so looking forward to meeting the “hungry” Tampa Bay Rays, and beating them, and I KNOW we will do that!

    Curt, I am so proud of Jon Lester, what a warrior he has been. I was sad that he didn’t get 2 wins out of the post season so far, but all’s well that ends well, right? When I think of what his career with the Sox has been thus far, I always see the face of his mother in the stands the first time Jon pitched after his battle with cancer. When they announced his name for the first time that day, his mother just could not contain her pure joy/enthusiasm and she spontaneously stood up and began to cheer for her son, remember that day? and when he got his first out that game (I think it was a strikeout), his mom and dad stood up with unbridled happiness, cheering on their son. It was just sheer bliss to watch them; and something I will never forget. Every time Jon takes the mound now, I think of their faces that day, and can only imagine how proud they are of him at this moment. I can relate cause I am the mother of 2, and there is no joy that can compare to witnessing your own kids’ success.

    We miss you on the mound Curt, you were a warrior in your own right in October.

    Can you please relay my sentiments to Jon and/or his family for me Curt? I don’t know how to “contact” Jon (no blogging site that I know of). Thank you so much, and my best regards to you and your family. GO SOX!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 638 other followers

