Skip to content

I was right about one fan, just one…

September 10, 2008

I was right about one Yankee fan. They guys honest if nothing else. On the field in Yankee Stadium this is the fan that made life VERY different as an opposing player.

The thing is there was NO better place to win as an opponent, and no worse place to be when you got hammered. They are not nor have ever been shy about how they feel about visiting players.

Ya, it’s a sick world out there. How does this read? Can it read anything but sickening?

61 Comments leave one →
  1. chuck345 permalink
    September 10, 2008 9:34 pm

    It’s amazing. You have just a couple of big games against the Yanks in your entire career and you spew so much trash. It’s never a surprise to hear you sound like you’re above the Yanks because of a few postseason wins. Must you always open your mouth and say some of the most ignorant comments? “Yankees suck”? C’mon, I expect those statements from high school students gabbering to each other in the hallway before they go to class. Not from an adult who has played in the majors for over a decade. Shameful.

  2. sooners76 permalink
    September 10, 2008 9:46 pm

    I too was right about one thing. It took you 15 years to finally say the Yankees suck. And I won a 5000$ bet that you wouldn’t win 5 games this year.
    Don’t put ketchup on a sock and try to make me lose my bet.

    As a favor to Yankee fans you might want to post your lifetime stats on your littlle blog page and everyone will found out how bad you “owned” or were “owned ” by the Yanks !

  3. chasep2001 permalink
    September 10, 2008 9:54 pm

    My dad and I are going on our first ever father/son trip this weekend. We are going to New York so I can see a game at Yankee Stadium while I still have a chance. Since its the last year for Shea, and we’ll be in town, AND they are playing my favorite team, the Braves, we are going to go to the Mets game as well. Anyway, my 3 least favorite teams, in order, are the Mets, Phillies (but my favorite AL team is by far the Red Sox!), and the Yankees. I’m gonna risk it and wear a Braves jersey to Shea, but I’m not gonna even try and cheer for the Rays when we go to the Yankees game.

    I’m really excited though. I was 10 years old during the 1991 Braves season. It was such an awesome environment. I was at the game in 1992 when “Sid Slid.” I was at the game a few years ago when Randy Johnson pitched his perfect game. I’ve never been to Yankee Stadium though. Even though I don’t like the team, I love the history and everything that the stadium represents.

  4. dglass48 permalink
    September 10, 2008 10:02 pm

    Curt,

    You have a talent for baseball that few will ever possess.

    Your prowess in the postseason is near unparalleled.

    That said:

    1.) You’re hurt this season. And doing nothing to help your team.

    2.) Your political views are wayward and terrifying.

    AND

    3.) Your mouth makes you come off sounding less like a tough guy and more like an idiot.

    -Dave

  5. pjr1 permalink
    September 10, 2008 10:16 pm

    Mr. Schilling needs a lesson on New York fans rooting interests. Most JET FANS are MET FANS. Most YANKEE Fans are GIANT FANS.

    The Met/Jet fans are from Brooklyn/Queens/Long Island. The Yankee/Giant fans are from the Bronx/lower New York state/Northern New Jersey. Not all fans, but a majority of them. Manhattan people mostly get on the bandwagon of whoever is hot.

    Personally, I haven’t met anyone who is celebrating over Brady being hurt. There may be some Jet fans more optimistic now that he’s out of the lineup, but I haven’t met anyone with glee. In addition, the Jet fans I know hate the Patriots. Giant fans don’t hate the Patriots, they hate the Eagles and the Cowboys.

    Besides, I’m A Giant/Yankee fan who has nothing to be bitter about. The Giants won last year’s Super Bowl and have won two others. The Yankees have won six World Series since I became a fan in 1965. Check out the Yankee record in the late 60’s. Those teams “sucked'” as Mr. Schilling likes to say. The current Yankee team doesn’t “suck.” Average, yes, but they don’t “suck.”

    Face it, this is my 44th year as a yankee fan and we’ve won six World Series, but it also means there have been 38 years where the yankees haven’t won a World Series.

    He talks about Red Sox fans treating the Yankees with respect. Yeah, I’m sure they’re very encouraging at Fenway when Jeter, Giambi,or ARod walk by (sure they are). Before 2004, the Red Sox fans were as bitter as anyone.

    I’m not bitter and I think the Red Sox and the Angels are the two best teams in baseball. The Red Sox will be better than the Yankees for at least 2-3 years. You just move on and hope for better days.

  6. Jeremy Ghez permalink
    September 10, 2008 10:48 pm

    I admire how persistent your contempt is for sport fans thanks to whom you exist. Tell me, how many rings do you have on your hand? Celebrate the end of the Yankee dynasty all you want – I’m not sure it will last and who will be bitter and miserable then…

  7. eugiethegreat permalink
    September 11, 2008 12:08 am

    Why are you bringing up Yankee fans and talking about Tom Brady of the Patriots? Shouldn’t you bring up the WORLD CHAMPION NEW YORK GIANTS fans? I mean, for one thing, they EMBARRASSED the Patriots last season. The so called “Team of Destiny”. They humiliated that team.
    It sounds to me, like some FORMER pitcher is a little disgruntled against Yankee fans and wants to que them into anything negative that comes out of NY. Grow up buddy.

  8. lionking1 permalink
    September 11, 2008 12:11 am

    Curt, the Phillies management has failed again. It’s time to chat with Michael Barkann on DNL at 5 and voice your true assessment on their management team there.

  9. phishingphreak permalink
    September 11, 2008 1:46 am

    Seriously, the Giants beat the Patsies with Brady, why would they care if he’s still around or not?

    If the Sox win the Series will you accept a ring even though you have contributed NOTHING this year?

    As for the Yanks dynasty? They’ve won 26 titles in about a hundred years. Not even close to over Kurt. The Yanks have won more big games than the Sox ever will. It’s hard to swallow, but nevertheless true.

    BTW, what are your plans for next year? You running for office? Just gonna sit on the bench again?

  10. justinrocket6 permalink
    September 11, 2008 2:29 am

    Curt,

    You and I must be kindred spirits. We apparently share the gift of perspicacity – for your uncanny clairvoyance has allowed you to determine that ALL New York sports fans are rejoicing over a man suffering from a painful, torn ACL. Bravo. I am equal parts amazed and horrified that your powers are so expansive so as to allow you to so accurately understand what each and every sports fan in the tri-state area thinks, believes, and feels. Use your powers wisely, Curt.

    I too possess this power of acuity. And astoundingly, I have managed to tap into your psyche. Deep down, below that bloody sock and that offensive paunch, you are insecure. You mask your insecurity with false self-assuredness and bravado. You constantly crave attention. You lash out when it is not lavished on you. You smell. Bad.

    You have grown restless while recovering from shoulder surgery. You miss reporters swarming over your locker like vultures during a post-game interview, hungry for any morsel of regrettable stupidity that spills out of your mouth. You take self-loathing glee in labeling New York sports fans, “bitter and mad and miserable.” Yet you are painfully aware that for 86 years, Red Sox fans were defined by bitterness, madness, and misery. You are subconsciously aware that you are a hypocrite. Your favorite movie is “Happy Gilmore,” and you uncontrollably laugh yourself into a giddy frenzy every time that midget in Adam Sandler’s “happy place” gallops by on his hobby horse. Ah, midgets. Just like real people. But smaller.

    And to conclude, I already know what you would say in response. You would say that I had no idea what I was talking about. That like Pedro Gomez, my insights lacked integrity. You would say that everything I said was disingenuous and was a fabrication. You would say these things because the bottom line is that I do not know you, and I do not know what you are actually thinking/feeling/believing. You would tell me to accordingly shut the hell up. And then you would wonder, “why does this all sound so familiar?”

    Best,

    Justin

    P.S. SHUT THE HELL UP.

  11. Tom Field permalink
    September 11, 2008 5:19 am

    I’ve gotta laugh, Curt.

    All these fans who beg and whine for you to please shut up … they seem to hang on every word you say! I mean, was all of New York lined up to listen to you on EEI the other day?

    Keep talking, my friend.

    As much as I’ve admired your athletic accomplishments, I’ve also appreciated your candor, insights and availability. I wish more athletes spoke out as smartly as you have. You’ve been right more often than not, and when you’ve been wrong, you’ve been stand-up about it.

    Thanks for sharing the Yankee fan’s blog entry. It was a good piece that seems to capture the true fan’s perspective.

    So, how about some insight on the teams heading into the playoffs? Who do you like and why?

    best,

    Tom

  12. spiderman0031 permalink
    September 11, 2008 5:43 am

    Schilling you overhyped blowhard, do you just talk to hear yourself? Seriously, most baseball fans consider you a joke when you are not on the mound heaving baseballs (which by the way (these days) is all of the time). You offer opinions when no one asks you for any. It’s as if you realize the press doesn’t really care what you think so you need this blog as your outlet because you’ve fooled yourself into thinking people are waiting to hear what you think.

    You would think with your limited success you would just be happy and thrive off of your minor accomplishments. No, not you. You are a typical person with low self-esteem. You can’t feel good about yourself, so you have to cut down other people and teams to make them look smaller just so you can look bigger.

    You know your reputations is in trouble when compared to “The Big Unit” he looks like the good guy (the man has the personality of a Milk Dud ™).

    Honestly, as someone you cares about people (even you), I would seek professional help. Trust me, with your toxic personality, you are going to have problems when you retire. You couldn’t deal with ever being out of the limelight WHILE you were playing baseball. That’s why you created this blog. I can’t imagine how self destructive you will be WITHOUT baseball. See a shrink and get your issues figured out. Have a Zen moment or 2 and maybe you’ll realize you don’t need to keep shooting your mouth off to feel better about yourself. I know many people who will be happy when you come to that realization.

  13. bob12mac permalink
    September 11, 2008 6:28 am

    There goes Mr. Has Been again…. WHO, Curt, are you talking about. On this day, September 11th, you again hurl your arrows at New Yorkers. Please GO AWAY. Your feeble attempts at slamming NY’ers makes you come off as an insufferable lout. Perhaps you could do SOMETHING positive, anything. Oh yeah, I almost forgot. WHEN you do something good you have to have a sound bite from some tv/radio station, or use this patetic blog to broadcast to the world how “giving” you are. I’ll bet today you have on your American flag lapel and your “Never forget” t-shirt. Go ahead Curt, give yourself a BIG pat on the back. Just don’t “blow out” your rag arm doing it.

  14. dsknight64 permalink
    September 11, 2008 7:12 am

    Again, the mouth of Boston shouting out many untrue facts. I don’t think he realizes there are two major league teams in NY. There is a division for th emost part along the lines of most Yankee fans follow the New York football Giants. That was a team that played their home games in Yankee Stadium until the remodel after the 2003 season. The Jets, who used to play at Shea stadium, the home of the Mets, for those of you who no nothing of New York like Curt, I should retire, Schilling. The jets are in the same division as the Jets they are the ones happy Brady is out for the season. Get your facts right Curt before you spout off that big mouth of yours. I am a Yankee fan, living in Boston, and proud of it. I am a N.Y> Giants fan and proud of that too. I do root for the Patriots and will always do so except when the play the Giants.

  15. torres123 permalink
    September 11, 2008 7:20 am

    Schilling what a cowsrd you are! I don’t even think he will be a Hall of Famer. Schilling is a total piece of trash a shame to the Red Sox.

  16. joke08 permalink
    September 11, 2008 7:32 am

    Feeling irrelevant lately Curt? What better way to inject yourself into the news than to trash Yankee fans 10 days before their final (meaningless) game. For someone who is a born-again Christian you sure have a lot of anger and hate in you. You should know better than to kick people when they are down.

  17. billyball15 permalink
    September 11, 2008 7:41 am

    What is the difference between Schilling, Damon, and Affleck? If you put them all on an island not one of them would get a word in. And they cannot get out of the way of there mouths.

    As a Yankee fan and a Jet fan (which is rare), I did not hoist a party for Brady going down. This is not a Red Sox / Yankee battle. The Giants beat the Patriots last year and that has nothing to do with the Jets. Personally, I think more Jet fans would have been happier beating Brady than Cassell. Most Yankee fans are Giant fans, I happen to be a Jet fan. I know Giant fans can care less about Brady going down as well (unless you have him on your fantasy team that is) since they beat them and embarrassed them in the Super Bowl.

    My question for Curt is this, why all the hate for everything NY? Take your sock that everyone on ESPN and in Boston made it to be bigger than it was and add in the fact that your career and your millions were not in jeopardy and be happy for what you achieved and become a classy champion, not a bitter Boston icon trying to get the love that all NY sport stars such as Ruth, Gehrig, Dimaggio, Mantle, Munson, Mattingly, Jeter, Namath, Manning, Simms, LT, Messier, Leetch, Richter, Seaver, Bossy, Trotier, and Smith have received. Be classy Schill! I do agree with some of your politics but cannot believe how you’ve become a blowhard obnoxious athlete. Remember, the Yankee dynasty was full of Classy hard nosed true Yankees. Most Yankee fans realize that we cannot always win, and the fact that Boston has finally won kind of ends the bitter pity me mentality of there fans and we can all move on happy to love our teams. Your slowly destroying your legacy and the great season that produced a championship in over a billion years.

    Oh yeah, one more thing, can you tell all those blowhards in Boston such as Damon and Afflack that we do not need to hear there political view points and rage against Sarah Pallin. Give it a rest. If Pallin is a Disney movie, what is Obama with his 173 days in office? I wonder what Hillary was? Lately all we find in Boston is blowhards, liberals, and bitter resentful athletes.

    Enough with Politics! Good luck Boston in the playoffs. I will be rooting for the Cubbies this season as I would like to see them end there 100 billion years of aggravation.

    God Bless America, and be happy and safe. And Curt, take it easy on the rants and keep it republican my man!

  18. twisster76 permalink
    September 11, 2008 7:54 am

    As a Boston sports fanatic, and certified hater of all things New York, I’d like to ask that you refrain from calling out the New York sports fans. You guys that take the field in uniforms are the professionals, those of us that have put in a lifetime of ups and downs with our teams are the fanatics. That is why I expect to see Brett Favre saying it’s a real shame about Brady getting hurt as much as I expect to see Jets fans dancing in the streets at their greatly improved odds of actually being competitive against the Pats. Let me remind you, that us “respectful” Sox fans are the same people who relish in the annual metamorphosis of A-Rod going from Mr. April to Miss October. We’re the crowd that shows up in blonde wigs waiving $1 bills. We’re the same group that won’t hesitate to cheer “Who’s your dealer?” when Giambi steps to the plate or the all time classic for Darryl Strawberry “Just say no!”. We’ve given Bucky Dent, Mookie Wilson, and Aaron Boone middle names that begin with “F”. We’re the fans that irked Albert “Joey” Belle so much that he’d prefer to toss a 3rd out into the screen over the Monster then to the fans in left field. We’re the guys who pelt Jets fans with snowballs when provided the ammunition. I guess if the Jets were competitive, I’d have more analogies for them. My point is Boston sports fans are miserable and bitter as much as New York fans. Boston hates New York, and they hate us. It’s a balance that keeps the world turning.

    I’m not trying to stifle your freedom of speech, as you certainly have the right to speak your mind, as evidence of the fact that you’re the biggest Right Wing in Boston since Cam Neely laced them up (can you skate by the way?). I also certainly appreciate the contributions you’ve made to our championship glory in Boston and commend you for all your outspokeness in your charitable endeavours. I’m just asking that you leave the venom to us. It’s what we do best.

  19. September 11, 2008 8:18 am

    wow…suddenly you have all these haters who care enough about you to leave a comment on your blog? i sense some bitter bitter yankees fans…i think you were right about all of them Curt.

  20. September 11, 2008 8:22 am

    Good grief, people! If you don’t like his blog, then get out! No one is forcing you to stay. It is his right to say whatever he wants to, and it is your right to not read it.

    Keep on posting, Curt. These people can make snide comments all they want, but that doesn’t change the fact that they continue to read everything you have to say.

    Oh, and Joke08: I’m a Christian. Does the Bible say not to bash Yankee fans when their team is suffering? Because if it does, I’m in trouble!

  21. wolfeman42 permalink
    September 11, 2008 8:30 am

    The Yankees do suck. Their fans are horrible, mean, and downright pathetic at times. I mean, they boo their own team day in and day out, so what does that say about them? I have heard many say they would sell their mothers for a chance to win, and I think that fits their persona perfectly. You know what, I’m a Colts fan, and I think its terrible that Brady went down. Because the man is in outright pain! Forget the game for a second, forget anything else about the Jets or winning or crap, the man A) is in so much pain he can barely walk B) is being taken away from the job that he loves and C) is not asking anyone to feel sorry for him. I think, Curt, that you hit it spot on. The fans need to get over their ribbing and crap and just focus on their own teams. New York has every right to be skewered for their childish crap.

  22. coletrain164 permalink
    September 11, 2008 8:42 am

    Curt, will you ever shut up about things that have nothing to do with you? Ever gonna stop the incoherent ramblings that have no point or reason whatsoever? I guess not. Like hearing the sound of your own voice too much it seems.

    I’m a Yankee and Jet fan also, and at first what you said made me angry but then I found it great comedy because you obviously have no idea what’s spewing outta your mouth. About Brady, I was hyped up for “Brady vs. Favre”. Instead, it’s “Cassel vs. Favre”. Still could be a good game, but not the big match-up everyone wanted to see. Jet fans (at least most of them) wanted to see that because it would be more exciting. I’d rather try to beat the Pats with Brady on it than Cassel. But what does that matter to you? Probably don’t even care.

    Because apparently, everyone who disagrees with you is a mindless imbecile right?. And every NY fan is a worthless peon. And every Red Sox fan is a classy, intelligent individual always. You’ve had a great career Curt, maybe even a HOFer. But your attitude and overall demeanor is like a cartoon character. It’s almost hard to believe. I’d never want you on my team, never in a million years.

    I have a great friend who is a huge Red Sox fan Curt, and even he can’t stand you anymore. That should show you that no one cares Curt. Just collect your pay check and go home. Relax and chill. Because when you don’t, you keep looking worse and worse.

  23. tinom24 permalink
    September 11, 2008 8:50 am

    Curt your anger screams in everything you write about Yankees or Yankee fans. Why so much anger? I do believe at one time you wanted to become a yankee…… are you just bitter because they did not make a deal with you?…..The Yankees don’t suck. Its true they have played poorly this year, but as every mlb fan knows, they have had too many MAJOR injuries to key people this year. Do you recall the 2006 season? where Boston ended up 11 games back? I do believe you guys had some big injuries that year too. I was wondering if there are any players on this present Yankee team that you like and admire? As a yankee fan I do not loathe every Boston player. There are players that I don’t like very much because of their cockiness, and I do admit that now that the Yankees are out of it for this season, I hope Tampa sweeps us to make it harder on you guys. They own you guys this season don’t they? I’ll pray for a sweep in Tampa with Boston too.

  24. cpamikie permalink
    September 11, 2008 9:17 am

    First of all, while a lot of people apparently disagree with Curt’s outlook on things, they do care, since they take the time to comment on his blog. If they really didn’t care, they would ignore this blog.

    Second, since injuries are a part of all games, it is only natural for fans to assess the chances their teams have to win based, in part, on other teams’ injuries. With Tom Brady down, the Jets’ chances of winning the division have increased – which makes Jets’ fans, like me, happy. Likewise, when you were hurt, the chances of the Yankees winning the division increased and, as a Yankee fan, that made me happy as well. At least with me, it is not a personal thing – I hope you and Tom make full and complete recoveries, can compete again and go on to lead productive lives. But you cannot deny that if Derek Jeter or Brett Favre went down that Boston/New England fans would react the same way.

  25. juanmo212 permalink
    September 11, 2008 9:36 am

    Wow! what great comments! Curt, your fans are so much smarter than you are! I’ll add my two or three cents as well… One, you are Phillie (the worst fans in the universe) and simply a hired gun at Boston. Second, the Red Sox WILL NOT win without our New Yorker and from my ‘hood, Manny – fugghetaboutit. Third, your 18-1, video-taping, cheatin’ Patriots are going to get there asses whooped on Sunday. Check on Moss in the coming weeks and see if he still the great team player. Wait, one more thing… You are right, you don’t know anything about Basketball.

  26. linds22 permalink
    September 11, 2008 10:11 am

    Tom Brady is a Yankee fan…

  27. ggtm permalink
    September 11, 2008 10:31 am

    The person with a mouth, but no brain, strikes again!

  28. schilisfat permalink
    September 11, 2008 11:25 am

    ok- to all the sawcks fans saying yanks fans dont have anything better to do than read schillings blog…ummmm, no. we just heard about his little anti- ny rant on sprtscenter or whatever, and then googled it so we could put our 2 cents in. typical boston remark. dont give facts to support your argument- just take a wanna be- low blow at whoever is challenging your opinion. i hate people like that. And to curt: do you think people like jeter, pujols, mariano, cal ripken, (CLASSY) players; even big papi- would ever bash a whole city?? no. they are above that and better than that- and more respectful than that. hell, jeters been in this rivalry longer than you have- and he’s got nothing but positive things to say about boston. curt- we really dont take you seriously- we just laugh at your overly- childish remarks. make a valid point- and i will recognize it. until then- you are just a self richeous immature man and even boston fans dont take you seriously (except the ones 30+ living in moms basement playing your little war online video games)

  29. irishsoxfan permalink
    September 11, 2008 12:33 pm

    It amazes me how people who accuse one person of being big mouth, while at the same time, they can’t seem to shut theirs…hmmm

    Also, I don’t know about you, but I’d rather be washed up blow hard with 3 world series rings, then a never was blow hard who last played in little league.

    Just to avoid confusion and in the interest of full disclosure I fall into the latter group not the former :)>

    Brendan Smith
    Dallas, TX

  30. gmen4life permalink
    September 11, 2008 1:08 pm

    Curt.. why try to start arguments for… just get back into form and thats it. Come on man. You’re a great player but why comment …. i mean you know you will get a reaction…. geez man…

  31. nymawa permalink
    September 11, 2008 2:38 pm

    You loudmouth conservative windbag. Your comments linking Jets fans to Yankees fans are foolish. Historically Yankees fans are Giants fans. Do your homework before running your mouth. Second, Jets fans are not dancing in the streets. Just b/c another conservative right wing piece of trash (NY POST) prints a story does not mean they speak for an entire city or fan base. Does it give the Jets a better chance to beat the Pats..yes. Does it enter into Jets fans minds when Brady went down that they have a better chance of winning now…yes. But if you ask fans from both sides 99% would rather win on the field then on the trainers table.

  32. boilednuts permalink
    September 11, 2008 2:47 pm

    Curt, (aka Mr. Schelling :-))

    Show some respect to the Yankees. I’m an avid Yankees fan, however, I respect the Red Sox. The Yankees are the #1 sports dynasty in the history of sports..more Championships than all of New England’s collegiate and professional sports teams combined. Yeh, they’re having a a bad year, all teams are entitled to “off” years. Brady and the Pat’s are overrated cheaters and will be lucky to break .500 this year…the Jets will own them. Do your “talking” from the mound….instead of the pine

  33. dougsfc97 permalink
    September 11, 2008 3:07 pm

    1. Most Yankee fans don’t care about Tom Brady or the Patriots, except that he plays a prominent supporting role in the SuperBowl DVDs we all bought last February. If I remember correctly, he’s the guy getting absolutely destroyed on every play by the Giants Defensive Front.

    2. Aren’t you from Alaska? When did you become the Mayor of Boston sports? Sounds like your love for the Patriots is pretty typical for front-running Boston fans. You’re like these people I meet from Pittsburgh and what-not wearing Sox hats and claiming that they’ve been Sox fans since Freddy Lynn was patrolling the OF at Fenway, but their hats look reeeeeeeeally clean and new. Some of them are even pink! Fun! I’m sure you’re on the Celtics bandwagon, but perhaps you’re not so into the Bruins?

    3. You are absolutely correct in your analysis of Yanks’ fans. We are really mad. You probably don’t know this because you weren’t “Captain Boston” until a few years ago, but Red Sox fans used to be pretty angry around this time of year as well. Those of us with class didn’t kick Sox fans when they were down because we remembered how lame it was to watch them and the Mets be pretty good in the mid-80s, including that World Series from hell in 1986, while Steinbrenner was ruining our team with Ed Whitson and Alvaro Espinoza et al. My sox fan friends have been very kind in avoiding the topic of baseball, including a few I’m hosting at The Stadium so they can tell it “goodbye.” Wish you could be more like them. What goes around comes around, my friend.

    4. You are basically going to go down as the anti-Bucky-Dent of your generation. 2001 AND 2004 you were brilliant in runing Yanks’ fans dreams. The difference between you two is that Bucky Dent is well-loved by fans and players alike, and he was always humble about his role in this great game and rivalry. Your hubris about all this keeps you from being a universally loved player like Mariano Rivera, Derek Jeter, Mike Lowell, Trot Nixon, or any of those guys. You obviously don’t care. I hope you’ll some day either chill out and be mature and gracious about all this or, if not, that some journalist out there will be annoyed enough with you to cast the vote that keeps you out of the Hall of Fame.

    5. Since you’re such a Pats fan now: 18-1 my friend. Hahahahahahahaa. We love that, by the way.

    6. Re: your politics, I remember you cheaply using your World Series run in 2004 as a srpingboard for convincing New Englanders to vote for Bush/Cheney. Those guys are so poorly regarded by the nation, and in particular by the Republicans, that the McCain camp had to come up with reasons to keep them away from the RNC. So, I’m not sure that folks should be putting all their poltical eggs in your basket again. I don’t see you proclaiming how great Bush/Cheney are these days.

    7. And to Sawx fans everywhere: As I’ve heard many of you say to me for many more years than I’ve had to say it to you, “The Yanks will get you next year. Next year.”

  34. tcool316 permalink
    September 11, 2008 3:19 pm

    What a stupid idiotic thing to say!

    To generalize any group of fans as one thing, is completely idiotic. That’s like saying all Red Sox fans are idiots because they wear their hat backwards and can’t hold their liquor. We all know that’s not EVERY Red Sox fan, some wear their hat properly.

    Just because Jets fans in general, may feel better about their chances to win without Brady in the game, does not mean any single one of them is happy, or remotely pleased that Mr Brady is injured. Once again Schilling has to run his mouth to point the attention to himself.

    Classic “Curt in a car” if you ask me.

    I would hazard to guess, Jets fans would rather beat the Patriots with their best on the field, as opposed to a back-up. That’s not to say they will win, just that a victory would be sweeter beating Brady and his team, not Cassel and Brady’s team.

    Curt must be sick of sitting on his stationary bike for the whole season, he needs to draw attention to himself. He hasn’t seen a microphone or a camera since spring training.

    How about you turn your attention to the realities of September 11th? Instead of trying to inject your venom into something that has nothing to do with baseball. Idiot.

  35. yanktank permalink
    September 11, 2008 3:55 pm

    I think you were “right” about quite a few. They were cheering. But not for the malicious reasons you purport:

  36. mrfadedglory permalink
    September 11, 2008 4:40 pm

    Gee Curt, where was the Boston outcry when Osi Umenyiora went down for the season? You’re been playing too long in cities that only have one sports team in each league and define their lives by them.

  37. September 11, 2008 5:36 pm

    LOL, What I’d like to ask that guy is “how’s those sour grapes tasting?”
    Seriously.

    Listen, it’s tough being on top. Everyone wants to see you fall down.
    Though I do think all of this anger towards the Patriots is waaay out of line.

    The Yankee/Sox rivalry – you know what, it’s old time ragtime trash talk between two of the oldest rival towns in history. The fans take it to an extreme but that one writer that you highlighted probably speak on behalf of many as to why they’re cranky and miserable. We get it.

    But the ferocity with which people have expressed joy at Brady being hurt just blows me away.

    My answer to NY most especially those Jets fans is this –and it’s something that their own media has posed to the team: “NO EXCUSES”.

    If the Jets lose this weekend, what could possibly be their reasoning….?
    No “cameras”, no ‘hidden plays”, no star quarterback…..
    Put up or shut up. ;)

  38. bebenina permalink
    September 11, 2008 6:51 pm

    honestly mr. schilling…
    i read ur “sickening” link about steelers and jets fans and it certainly didnt mention the yanks once let alone the yanks celebrating tom brady’s problems. so why, i ask, would u go out of ur way to mention them and take the rivalry off the field into a petty place of nonsense? (i suppose ur most recent injury has prevented u from doing or saying anything of importance) but really, u take the fun out of everything with ur comments. by the way..maybe the yankees did “suck” this year but lets not forget the red sox SUCKED WORSE for 86 years and will suck again very soon im sure.

  39. yanksrdaclassofbball permalink
    September 11, 2008 7:13 pm

    Let me start with this statement…I HATE THE BOSTON RED SOX. Sounds like a simple statement but it is not. I hate their fans more than the organization. I do however, have respect for some of the Red Sox players. They are Lowell, Papi, Francona, Wakefield and Pedroia. These individuals are the class of your team.. Curt Schilling, however is a disgrace. I dont come here to hang on his words, I come here simply to state my opinion. Curt Schilling has done absolutely NOTHING for the Red Sox other than run his mouth. He is fat, injured and for some reason, bitter. You would think that a flash in the pan who only had a few really big moments in a long career would be happy to take his hardware and fade into retirement. But no, Curt Schilling must find a way, any way to stir up a controversy and call attention to himself. I think he bashes the Yankees and their fans to try to ingratiate himself with the Boston fans since he is taking their money and not earning it. And Boston has a good shot at repeating as champs this year. How unfair would it be for Curt Schilling to receive a ring, get to spray champagne and ride the parade? The batboys have contributed more than he has. Please Boston fans, dont fall for this fools act any longer. He will only tarnish and embarras your guys’ team.

  40. FireDannyAinge permalink
    September 11, 2008 10:00 pm

    NY didn’t even know the NJ Giants existed until they got lucky and won a Superbowl last year. I know plenty of Yankee fans and all of them bi_tched and moaned about how bad the Jets were. The Giants weren’t even a blip on their radar.

    NY whines. This isn’t new. I hope they enjoy watching the MLB playoffs with all that cheese.

  41. FireDannyAinge permalink
    September 11, 2008 10:01 pm

    Hey Curt, You seem to have hit a nerve.lol A very whiny nerve.

  42. yankeepride247 permalink
    September 11, 2008 10:28 pm

    Hey Curt maybe you should “educate” yourself before passing judgement on New Yorkers. I think you should take a stroll around Fenway when the Yanks come up and peruse the T-shirts your beloved sox fans are selling. They are just as obscene and disgusting as the shirts celebrating Brady’s injury. In no way do I condone the shirt however I feel the need to remind you that those who live in glass houses should not throw stones. I have been to Boston and I can tell you honestly that New Englanders are hardly a hospitable crowd. I was never so harassed in my life. I love the rivalry and it seems to have poured over into the stands more in recent years and less on the field. I also find comments you have made in the past about shutting up the new york crowd in 2001 and being witness to the end of a dynasty distasteful.

  43. wickedworld123 permalink
    September 12, 2008 12:37 am

    these yankee fans couldn’t live without your blog, curt. gives them something to do since there’s no use in watching their team anymore.

  44. beatlejuice72 permalink
    September 12, 2008 12:44 am

    I’m not even a Yankees or Red Sox fan, but it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to see why the Red Sox have won 2 out of the last 4 World Series championships and the Yankees haven’t won any since 2000. The New York Yankees organization is running around like chickens without heads while the Red Sox are primed to be AL East contenders every year. I know that Steinbrenner’s health is one of the reasons and that is understandable, but even before he got sick the Yankees showed signs of decline. You want proof, Yankee fans? Here you go:

    1) Signing “stars” like Giambi, A-Rod, and Sheffield to replace guys like Tino, Brosius, and O’Neill. Yes, I know that Brosius and O’Neill retired after the 2001 World Series, but those two guys were able to do two things that A-Rod hasn’t done yet: hit in the clutch and win a World Series championship.

    2) Hitting philosophy shift from taking pitches and drawing walks to swinging for the fences. The Yankees used to be a team that was patient at the plate and played aggressive, “National League”-style ball. In recent years, however, they tend to have 7 or 8 guys who go up there hacking for the longball.

    3) Pitching (or lack thereof). The Yankees had a shot at Johann Santana last year, but refused to part with Phil Hughes and Ian Kennedy. I can understand their reluctance to trade those two talented pitchers, but when you’re a team that wants to win championships you go to win now and make the deal to get Santana. Instead they held on to Hughes and Kennedy and look how they’re doing compared to Santana. Think they made a bad call?

    4) The dissing of Joe Torre. I’m a huge fan of Joe Girardi and I’ve been for a long time, but the way Joe Torre was treated over the last 5-6 years was awful. When Steinbrenner wasn’t berating his coaches Zimmer and Stottlemyre who both left, he was berating Torre and constantly making threats to fire him although he never did. Then, last year the Yankees show their appreciation for Torre by offering him a one-year contract. Last time I checked the Dodgers are in first place. But, to be fair, Torre probably wouldn’t have fared much better than Girardi this year. The difference is that Girardi will be back next year and he isn’t criticized nearly as much as Torre was. As much as I respect the Yankees, they do have a track record for stabbing their own in the backs especially the ones who gave so much to the organization. Babe Ruth anyone?

    5) Chemistry. You can say it’s overrated, but I can say you’re crazy. Look at the chemistry on the 2004 Red Sox even when they were down 3-0. They were a tight, confident bunch and they were able to advance all the way to the World Series. It’s hard for an outsider to ascertain these things, but I don’t think the Yankees have a tight, confident bunch in that clubhouse.

    Bottom line: the Yankees will miss the playoffs for the first time since 1993. Expect major changes in the offseason.

  45. wickedworld123 permalink
    September 12, 2008 12:46 am

    and it never ceases to amuse me when people say “stop cramming your opinions down our throats”… when anyone who reads your blogs does so of their own volition

  46. rantingmark permalink
    September 12, 2008 9:14 am

    Curt – you’ll make the Hall one day and I respect your career greatly, but you are nuts. Most of us actually respect Brady. While we aren’t exactly upset by his injury, most of us aren’t elated either. Remember Drew Bledsoe??? Also, don’t assume all Yankees fans are Jets fans. Many are Giants fans… The Giants in case you didn’t know defeated Brady and the Patriots in the SuperBowl last year.

  47. dsknight64 permalink
    September 12, 2008 1:56 pm

    Curt – I am a Yankees fan living outside of Boston. I am married to a Red Sox fan and we make the rivalry fun. The only time I was happy to see a player go down injured was you. I have hated you since you were with the Phillies. You have always thought yourself as being well above and mightier than anyone else. Your opinions don’t matter. You can spout your mouth off all you want on a wide variety of subjects you know nothing about. The only thing they are good for is wiping down the toilet seat.

  48. brooklyn87 permalink
    September 12, 2008 6:21 pm

    Hey Curt remember that Bomb that Soriano hit against you in the 2001 one world series?? if i remember correctly Clemens out pitched you in that game and if it wasn’t for a broken bat bloop by Gonzalez you would’ve been the loser in that game. As a Yankee fan all i remember is how randy Johnson killed us in that world series. you on the other hand we had you beat in game 7. And Curt nobody cares about Tom Brady getting hurt Remember the Lombardi Trophy resides in NEW YORK. The NEW YORK GIANTS ended the patriots “Dynasty”. lets not forget that you didn’t make the playoffs in 2005 boy did the Redsox “suck” that year lol. Don’t bother coming back next year unless you learn how to throw left handed nobody wants to see you throw 85mph fastballs with flat splits even though it would be sweet to see you get hammered in the new Yankee stadium. RETIRE CURT!! your DONE!! washed up!! go home old man. Lets Go YANKEES!!!!

  49. 26worldchamps permalink
    September 12, 2008 6:30 pm

    What’s your favorite number Curt? Mine’s 26, as in:

    WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS FOR:

    NEW YORK YANKEES: 26
    BOSTON: 7

    …..ouch………!

  50. FireDannyAinge permalink
    September 13, 2008 2:07 am

    LMAO the best you’ve got is “we have 26 titles” lol

    Now that Steinbrenner is brain dead and has turned the team over to his dumb son because his son in law divorced the daughter you will never win another title.lol

    I would rather have the 7 titles we have right now most recently last year than any of the titles NY bought.

  51. redlightgo permalink
    September 13, 2008 10:49 am

    I’m a Yankee fan and a New Yorker and the thing I remember about the 2001 series is how crucial it was after 9/11. My family lost a member, a gifted athlete, and a family man of 41, who was also a firefighter as his day job. He left behind a wife and two young children. The home runs, comebacks, by the Yankees in the home games during that series gave all New Yorkers something to cheer about during a dire time.

    And if I remember correctly, instead of ‘hero’…you were in the dugout CRYING…weeping like a girl…after the Yankees went up 2-1…while you team-mates were on the top step of the dug-out during the improbable comeback against Mariano.

    I don’t remember Mariano Rivera crying. He is a man of dignity and maturity.

    I remember YOU crying over your spilt milk. And NOT supporting your team.

    To me, Schilling’s remarks, gloating about ‘being there’ at the 2001 series, the end of the ‘dynasty’…shows that he is a narcissist. He has no feelings for anyone that was about to take the time to remember the tragedy. No, he only felt the urge to blurt out what is really in his head: a personal ‘hero story’…hate. Look, there is no sports endeavor that will ever equal the heroism of NEW YORKERS on 9/11. To even discuss sports in terms of making ‘heroes’ is really a joke. A way to sell beer.

    The only place he ‘was’ was inside his own head, his ego, and time timing of, and depth of his self-professed hatred for the people of an entire state…speaks for itself.

    Curt, you are and have always been the blowhard that can throw hard. You are a hater, an egomaniac, and you have dis-respected the people of New York, the memory of 9/11 and anything you say that tries to deflect the way your words and actions have spoken is just a lie. And that would make you a liar. A washed up former athlete with a big mouth.

    I feel sorry for you.

  52. sportslifer permalink
    September 13, 2008 5:31 pm

    Dear Curt,

    It finally hit me. Your problem. It’s a common malady, suffered by many New Englanders, especially members of the Commonwealth. It’s called New York envy.

    It’s been going on for more than 200 years, this jealousy. Ever since New York became the center of the universe, the heart of fashion, the capital of the financial world. Boston? Well it’s still the capital of Massachusetts. And home to some great American history.

    Look I know you were born in Arkansas and grew up in Arizona, but admit it, you’ve always fancied yourself a Yankee killer.

    So Big Mouth, guess you felt the need to lash out, to say the Yankees “suck” this year and call out Yankee fans. And even worse, New York fans.

    Well check out your record against the Yankees. It ain’t all that impressive.

  53. nyhooch permalink
    September 14, 2008 10:20 pm

    I’m not bitter. You try and make the playoffs 13 years in a row and win 125 games in one year. Just because you beat the yankees in one pivotal game, you think you have the right to toot your own horn. I don’t remember you mouthing off when you gave up 6 runs in game 1 of the 2004 ALCS or when you gave up that bomb to Soriano in game 7. You didn’t win that game. You lost it. And I’m psyched about Tom Brady going down and the Giants winning the Super Bowl. Boston sucks, but not as much as you.

  54. metaljaybird permalink
    September 15, 2008 4:27 pm

    Why does everyone mention politics in sport’s related entries?

    Curt, I love you more as a Red Sox fan because you tell it like it is. I’m a New Englander living in Northern NJ, and believe me, the Yankee fans are starting to face reality: Money can’t buy you every WS.

  55. FireDannyAinge permalink
    September 15, 2008 10:25 pm

    redlightgo,
    Are you serious. You think you deserved to win a world series because of September 11th? Give me a break. The team that earned that win deserved it and for you to think that NY was the only state effected by September 11th is exactly why everyone can’t stand Yankee fans. People from multiple Countries died on that day. It happened to everyone and we all needed healing from what happened.

    I am sorry but the self entitlement of many Yankee fans is disgusting.

    I have never heard the Jets fans. Giants fans, Mets fans, Islander fans or any other team from NY act like they needed a win that year(or the next) because of what happened on September 11th. Yankee fans live in their own fantasy world.

  56. bostonstillsucks permalink
    September 18, 2008 10:58 pm

    This is for all you Boston fans….you are all front runners…where were you guys in 2006 when you didn’t make the postseason? Oh that’s right, you guys were probably too busy watching the “pats.” I love listening to Celtic fans, they are probably a step below a red sox fan. Where were you guys two years ago when you couldn’t win more than 40 games in a season.

    Blah blah blah, New York this and New York that, please, get real Boston. I’m the one of the biggest Yankee fans and I will say you guys had a good year last year and are having a good one this year. But really, why are you talking crap about NY? Is that all you have to do up there is complain? Sure seems like it. We haven’t won a championship in 86 years boo hoo. Well you won. We haven’t won in three years boo hoo. Well you won. Stop complaining. That goes for you too Curt, stop talking crap about NY and about Manny when you can’t even pitch. Get out on the mound and having a “mediocre year.” Stop writing in your blog and get out on the mound and maybe then I might care what you have to say. Think all that time you spent up in Boston is starting to rub off on you. Stop complaining.

    Like my name? Was thinking about you guys when I made it…

  57. manny00 permalink
    September 19, 2008 10:56 am

    Shouldn’t you be rehabing!!!!!!! man o man you sure have a lot to say I mean new yok sucks manny sucks what your the spokesman for Major League Baseball!!! why not just retire please i beg you its amazing the stuff you can come up with when you are not on the mound!!Wait I’ll take that back please get back on the mound so you dont have time to open your mouth and focus on keeping your ERA at 4.50!!!!!!!
    You want to talk about new york well lets talk about you and the boo hoo Boston fans!!!
    First off you guys cry about everything since when do you belong to the National Football League or have become tom bradys agent how about who cares injuries happen and i am not a Jets fan!!!
    As for us being bitter about the Yankees season hey you win some and you lose some but there is always next year and i hope you will be there next season so the yankees can continue to hit homers of you in tight ballgames like Soriano did Jeter did Cano did Giambi did Posada did and if Micheal Kay played he would to!!!
    Tell Francona when you come back to make sure you play every series against new york and not against the team prior or after the series and dont come up with a hang nail either or bloody pants or bloody wrist bands or anything like that!!!!!!!!!! As a Yankee fan you are the best without you who would we make fun of !!!! And here is to to mvps i like Manny in 04 and the real MVP of 01 Randy Johnson the big unit have a nice day!!!!!!!!

  58. chasep2001 permalink
    September 21, 2008 3:23 pm

    I was comment #3 earlier in the post, I mentioned that we were going to New York in order to catch a game at Shea and Yankee Stadium while we could. I thought I would pass on this story.

    Saturday was the day that both teams had double headers. Our Yankees tickets were for the Sunday game, and our Mets tickets from the rain out the night before we no good for the Mets game that day thanks to Fox.

    Anyway, we were on the 7 train heading back from Manhattan to Queens, and I noticed a kid, around 10, with a Yankees shirt on. I didn’t think much of it until I saw him talking to an adult, obviously his father, in a Red Sox t-shirt. I jokingly asked if they were allowed to talk to each other, and his father replied, “He has a Schilling jersey on underneath that. The Yankees fans were kind of rough on him. Someone told him to F-off.”

    I couldn’t believe that. Countless times in the stands at games in Atlanta, there have been people using rough language, only to have an adult lean over and tell them “There are kids around, can you watch your language?” In every case, no matter how drunk those fans were, I never once saw them argue, but always saw them comply with the request. Yet, in New York, there are fans that don’t care about whether kids are around when using bad language, but actually direct it at them?

    I had a pleasant experience at both stadiums. I wore my Braves jersey to the Mets game, and no one was rude to me at all (granted, the game was never played, which might have changed things). I also had no problems at the Yankee game either, but I also wasn’t wearing anything to mark me as a traitor to other fans.

  59. bostonfan6666 permalink
    September 21, 2008 6:25 pm

    The Yankee Fans are crying. They boost about all they’re championships and a so-called dynasty but the dynasty was over in 1962. It is fun to watch them whine and cry and be a Red Sox wannabe. NO PLAYOFFS FOR YOU!

  60. bostonstillsucks permalink
    September 23, 2008 10:28 pm

    Boston Sucks. Grow up Boston. Grow up Peter Pan and stop complaning…geez…its too bad the pats aren’t that good this year…I’m sure we are all going to hear someone from Boston saying how unfair it is that Brady got hurt on such a “dirty play.” I know its really unfair that the Patriots have been stealing signals from the opposing team…stop complaining and grow up Count Chocula

  61. marvstarv permalink
    September 25, 2008 12:22 pm

    I just want to add that Ive been to several games to Yankee Stadium as a Red Sox Fan and never had a problem. In 2004 I took my son and we saw the last 2 games of a three game series in May(maybe april) but the Sox won all three games. I was wearing my newly accuired(at the time) Schilling shirt and my son was in full Sox gear. The whole time in and outside the stadium we had no problems. Even after the final game and we had swept the seriest,there was normal jarring but I heard no swearing. We were almost afraid to show our sox clothes,at first because we know what it can be like. Those games were a real joy and something my son still talks about. With what it costs to see a game at Fenway (getting hold of the tickets is the hardest) We enjoyed two games for what we would have paid for one(our seats were pretty good to). I know there are some fans that ruin it for people, but from my expierences the New York Fans were top class. It’s not the same without them this year.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 639 other followers

