Skip to content

Why it’s different….

August 19, 2008

I was going to title this one “why we’re different” but I’m not from here.

This past week the New England area once again put itself on a pedestal with the WEEI Jimmy Fund Auction. Hoping beyond hope to raise an incredible 4 million dollars, you blew by that and almost topped 5 Million. When you consider ESPN does a nationwide fund raiser for Jimmy V that raises around 1 million dollars, well that’s just crazy.

Now you add the ‘little things”.

I’ve been a member of the SOSH community for a few years and a while back they took it upon themselves to raise money for a charity I am deeply involved in. This past week I had the honor of meeting the winners of the auction for a clubhouse tour as well as saying hi to the people that helped raise a stunning $63,091.80! This was basically done on an internet baseball fan forum.

Clears Cleaver and Kremlin Watcher both bid insane amounts of money on an auction to tour the clubhouse and chat for awhile. It was initially supposed to be one tour but the bid was high enough that both parties agreed to ‘share’ the tour, so ALS won.

It’s what makes this place so different. I don’t know how much of a rush hanging out with me could honestly be but in the end that is not what matters. What mattered was that hard working Red Sox fans and good people ponied up their hard earned money to change the lives of people diagnosed with ALS, in much the same way hundreds of thousands of ‘fans’ ponied up 4.8 million dollars for the Jimmy Fund.

There will come a day in our lifetimes when cures are found, and being involved with these charities is a way to try and make sure that day is found before I have to hear those words “Your child has”, every parents nightmare.

Thanks again to everyone in NE and all of you rabid, obssessed and insane Sox fans at SOSH!

GOD BLESS EVERY ONE OF YOU!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2008 9:31 am

    It’s great that you take the time to thank the fans for this. It’s because of the great personalities, like yourself, that us fans become so vested in the Sox and in all things surrounding the team. If the Sox want our money for the Jimmy Fund, we’ll do it. If Curt Schilling wants our money for ALS, we will do it. Because you invest so much time, money and commitment to these causes it rubs off. Goodwill and charity are contagious, thanks for spreading it around.

    Bethany

  2. jay8338 permalink
    August 19, 2008 9:45 am

    Curtis you are a Big Mouth Loser. The Sox don’t need you anymore so stop stealing money to fund your whole family. Hall of Fame you have got to be kidding me. CANCER You should retire and go away. You and not Manny are a JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. mespejo permalink
    August 19, 2008 10:10 am

    SoSH is most definitely a strong and generous community. It is a credit to the people on the site that they were able to raise over $63,000 for the cause.

    Hopefully someday soon, a cure will be found for this vicious and deadly disease.

  4. August 19, 2008 10:11 am

    Good work WEEI listeners and SOSH members. And thank you Curt for everything you do for ALS and the Red Sox. On the field and off.

  5. celticswin permalink
    August 19, 2008 10:15 am

    Wow jay 8338 you’re a pretty angry person. If you think Curtis (as you call him) is a big mouth, don’t read his blog. He’s trying to do good for the community by helping to raise money for a worthy cause. What have you done in your life to help someone besides yourself?

  6. nazznomad permalink
    August 19, 2008 11:11 am

    As a Yankee and Mets fan, I hate you as a player. However, you are a class act and your efforts toward’s raising money to cure diseases and publicizing other people’s efforts are wonderful.

    Now, PLEASE RETIRE!

    ps- My son made me buy him a Schilling jersey when we were in Boston last month. The apple falls WAY FAR from the tree.

  7. empirelady permalink
    August 19, 2008 11:29 am

    This is in response to jay8338,and I also address this to Curt,who I hope will give a response to it. If you have a personal problem with Curt,and I do not know what it is,that is your problem. But do NOT post it here,especially after what Curt was writing about. He is speaking of giving of himself,which he always does,and of other human beings also giving of themselves to help people who are suffering with horrendous diseases. Do you have any idea what cancer and ALS does to people? Cancer,I am sure you know,or maybe you do not,causes tremendous suffering and and then kills. Do you know what it is like to watch someone you love have tremendous suffering and then die? I know because I have been there. As for ALS,I wrote about this in March but I think that you need to hear it again(and I apologize to those of you who read it in March-March 22 posting). I have a friend who was once a very prominent businessman-he owns his own company. Now due to ALS not only is he in a wheelchair,unable to walk,he cannot even go to the bathroom by himself-he needs help in doing a basic body function. For awhile he was able to speak but lately he has been losing the ability to speak,to the point where it is now hard to understand him. He does use the computer to email but lately there have been a lot of mistakes,which is all due to the physical condition,as it never happened before. Yet,while all of this physical stuff is going on,his mind is completely intact,his brain is functioning perfectly,and what is worse,his mind knows exactly what is going on with his body. His body is being stripped of every possible function yet the mind remains functional. I do not know about you but that is a horror I would not wish on anyone. And as for your thinking that this will never happen to me,he first showed symptoms,which are now much worse,when he was an adult and was first diagnosed as an adult,so the scary thing is that it can happen to anyone of us-until the symptoms started,he had no idea he had the disease. As for Curt,what he does is something so beautiful and moving;he gives of himself,not only financially but otherwise and regardless of what is going on in his life,physical and emotional,he is always there for others(in the middle of painful rehab,he was still out raising money,including going to a supermarket). It is a very rare human being who would do something like that and while I do not think that you should trash him at all,after his posting of today,it was certainly not the time or the place for you to trash him. As for your stating that he is “stealing” money,nothing could be farther from the truth,and by the way,I do hope that he returns to playing baseball for at least another part of a season. I honestly truly hope that one day there is a cure for these horrendous diseases and if what Curt does puts us closer to making that happen,then good for him; I,for one,stand and applaud him for what he does. One final note,and this is to you Curt,you totally underestimate yourself,and I wish that you would give yourself credit. When you say that you do not know what kind of a rush it is to be with you,you are so wrong;because of what you do,both off the field and on,many of us,including myself,would be thrilled to be with you. To you,Curt,I say that it would be an honor and a priveledge to be with you,anywhere,anytime,
    and I only hope that someday I have that opportunity(and you are welcome here in New York City,anytime). In the meantime,for what you do off the field,as well as on,thank you with all of my heart for being the beautiful human being that you are,for doing all that you do,and although not all clearly feel that way,the words that you wrote in this posting have touched me deeply. Thank you for caring and for being there,always.
    **Donna Blanc,New York City,empirelady87@hotmail.com

  8. pm4444 permalink
    August 19, 2008 12:31 pm

    Just when the actions of many reconfirm your faith in mankind, there has to be a heartless coward hiding behind the anonymity of his keyboard like jay8338 to make you question it again.

    Congratulations to everyone who contributed to the Jimmy Fund and Curt’s Pitch for ALS. I don’t know how you can read about those who are touched by cancer or ALS like the Trias family and not be moved. Thank goodness there are more of you in this world.

  9. robleeds permalink
    August 19, 2008 1:36 pm

    Curt, just an FYI. My company is throwing a fundraiser down in Dartmouth, MA. to benefit the ALS. This is a yearly event, and includes live bands, volleyball, camping, grills, pony rides etc… This year, I have taken it upon myself to organize a dunk tank to benefit ALS specifically. Our goal for ALS will be a cool $8k. Let’s hope we can make it. And, of course, you are invited. I know you won’t be able to make it because of your busy schedule & such, but I guess I just don’t want you to think you are not invited. lol. Anyway, the event is called “Gidley Stock ’08” and this will be the 6th annual event. Let’s see what we can do to meet our goal. Thanks for your continuous commitment to ALS Curt. I only hope to invest as much as you have. Rob Leeds

  10. fortmyersglenn permalink
    August 19, 2008 1:50 pm

    Please excuse the loser jay8338–loser he is

    Curt! Go for one more year!!

  11. soxfanindan permalink
    August 19, 2008 2:25 pm

    WOW! jay8338 is an angry person! Wonder why he/she even reads your blog if he/she feels that way? Anyway, It’s funny how what you said about maybe retiring is all over the sports websites. It is funny how they run with it. Anyway whatever you decide, Thank You for all the fun and excitement you gave us rabid, obsessed, and insane Red Sox fans

  12. dudu25 permalink
    August 19, 2008 4:33 pm

    schill, nice work! its the guy from las sendas who spends a lot of time with one five. wanted to say hey. I was also the gay guy in atlanta with my partner ballgame.

  13. philliegal permalink
    August 19, 2008 10:53 pm

    What is special is how someone like you, Curt Schilling, can use the name and fame to help so many people who otherwise may be left forgotten. We have a man who goes to our church who was recently diagnosed with ALS in an advanced stage. He is going down fast and it is so sad to see this before your eyes. God Bless you for what you do for ALS and without you they may be just another charity trying to raise money. With YOU they have more exposure and support of your fans. I try to attend the Phillies ALS charity event yearly. It was founded when Curt played there and it just gets bigger and bigger each year. God Bless you for all you do for ALS and all the charities that you support and work so hard for. Curt Schilling-A classy man!

  14. August 20, 2008 5:22 am

    Hey Curt,

    Thanks for helping out in society as much as you can. many professional athletes out there really don’t care about much more than have their rims keep spinning when they pull up to a red light. You have been given a path in life to do great and you are playing your part. For that we give you thumbs up!

  15. denisesoxfan permalink
    August 20, 2008 5:58 pm

    Hey Curt! You should consider that you are from here. Love ya, man! God bless you right back!
    Denise

  16. jschipani permalink
    August 21, 2008 3:18 pm

    Greetings Mr. Schilling,

    I know this may not be the appropriate medium, nor the appropriate post to mention this on, but I am willing to take what I can get right now.

    I just applied to your company – 38 Studios – and I would appreciate your personal attention to my application. I think my cover letter speaks clearly about just how exciting an opportunity it would be to work for 38 Studios and for you. Your philanthropic endeavors are a source of significant gravity in consider what company I work for and I commend you on the work you do each year along with WEEI, SOSH, and the Jimmy Fund.

    I can be reached at joseph.schipani@gmail.com if you do not have access to the internal job applications listing.

    I assure you, your time will be well spent in reading my brief application.

    Lastly, my apologies to the folks on here for using this as a means to speak with Mr. Schilling. I assure you I’d save myself the embarrassment of posting the publicly if he were an easier man to get in touch with.

    Many thanks for your warm heart and your strong consideration,

    Joe Schipani

  17. rkrjourway permalink
    August 21, 2008 9:59 pm

    Curt,
    You have done as much as anyone can be expected to. I wish I had the courage to give so much of myself. I hope you are proud of yourself.
    I hope, for so many reasons, that you will play again next year. I would love to be able to bring my two boys to Fenway just one more time to see you pitch. You really define what a great pitcher is, the old school way.
    Yes, you will ask for whatever you get get in the way of salary. Our Lord knows that you have earned it. Baseball NEEDS you to pitch for the Red Sox next year. Not just for the fans, but the young Red Sox pitchers NEED you to be there for them.
    I know I do not want to remember your last year as one of such a great baseball icon being on the disabled list. I am not sure if that seems selfish, but we love you, Curt, and we certainly know that having you back next year would do wonders for the Red Sox, the fans, and especially the pitching staff. Baseball will be better with you in it, not watching, and wondering.
    Curt, PLEASE pitch for another year. And PLEASE pitch for the Red Sox. My boys are 15 and 13. I really would love to see you again next year, and my boys will never forget. This is a sentiment which all of RSN echos. Retirement can wait just ONE more year, you will not regret it.
    If you should retire, Best of luck, we will surely miss you.
    FROM: Robert in Chicopee

  18. August 22, 2008 5:10 pm

    First off, you are just as much a “from here” kind of person as someone like myself that was born and raised here. You are forever ingrained in the culture that is Boston – and Red Sox Nation.

    And yes — us New England types do kick butt with genorousity.
    It also doesn’t hurt that the ball team leads by example; it’s no secret that the Sox organization is by far the most generous ball club with regards to financial contributions – and most importantly – emotional contributions that are made on a regular basis.
    :) Rebecca

  19. mrmako permalink
    August 22, 2008 5:20 pm

    Curt,

    You’re a class act and do the right thing. I’d like you to come back to the Red Sox for another year, but if health dictates otherwise, then so be it.

    Do you plan on staying in the area when all is said and done? Because I think it shows class when people like you and Ray Bourque stay.

    VJ in Okinawa

  20. August 25, 2008 5:34 pm

    Curt,

    Doont listen to retards like Jay 8338, they are the bottom of the barrel loosers

  21. jespah permalink
    September 3, 2008 12:39 pm

    Curt, thanks for doing what you do.

  22. nysuperfan permalink
    September 9, 2008 10:38 pm

    Yankees fan here and I donate to the Jimmy Fund every year….have since college. Curt, you might want to thank everyone who donates, not just Sox fans. There are a lot of people out of the Boston area that know what the JF is about and donate. I went to school in the NE and have supported it ever since….been about ten years now….time flies…haha

  23. bebenina permalink
    September 11, 2008 7:26 pm

    interesting how u polute such a wonderful thing as the jimmy fund with comments about how wonderful u are. shouldnt it be about the auction? i, also, dont live close to the new england area and actually am a yankee fan but donate faithfully for my father who has ALS. so is it fair that only boston fans or new englanders “put themsleves on a pedestal?” no, but i shoulnd expect u to care. ur kinda close minded.

  24. FireDannyAinge permalink
    September 11, 2008 10:05 pm

    SOSH is an elitest group of snobs. Nice that they raise money for charity but it doesn’t change the fact that they act like superior because they don’t allow anyone to join.

  25. bostonhawkeye permalink
    October 8, 2008 9:59 pm

    Curt, I just want to say thanks for bringing so much attention to ALS. No matter if you come back next year or not, I think what you do as a result of having a podium are fantastic. My sister is in her last stages of this horrible disease and for those who want to critize any attention given to it is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 638 other followers

