Skip to content

Update incoming.

July 16, 2008

I’ve been busy, sort of, and apologize for neglecting the blog. I’ll post an update this week and talk about the teams first half as well.
As far as rehab goes, it’s coming along, albeit slowly. There is/was a lot more pain than I expected after this one and these first few weeks bring 1995 back in a big way. Basically the daily program right now is using a pulley 3x a day to raise my right arm in 3 different angles as well as beginning to address ankle mobility issues Coop believes are at the root of all the other problems. I was told that when I was under they did a mobility test on my right ankle and it’s literally ‘frozen’ in place.
I was planning on posting pics and a break down of the surgery for those that can stomach it.
Needless to say my bicep was ‘rotting’ in the canal and actually was split in two, with pictures to show of all.
So I’ll get post an update later this week.
Congratulations to JD on the MVP and to the AL for once again securing home field. Love to see that home field turn into Fenway again.

36 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2008 1:21 pm

    Curt,

    I am sorry you are going through this pain, and I wish you well in your long rehab ahead. I hope that your selfless acts in ’04 aren’t the root cause of your continued ankle problems. Please do what is best for you now. I can’t believe you went along with the Red Sox plan so willingly. You’re such a “trooper.”

    Curt, I’m not a young guy. What you did in ’04 putting your career at risk to help bring a championship to my team is something I have never seen before and will never be forgotten. Whether or not you go into the MLB Hall of Fame, you’ll always be THE BEST in my heart and in the heart of “Red Sox Nation”.

    When I was growing up, I never had “a hero” outside of my parents. When I was 42, you became my first. How does one say thanks to his hero? I guess the ONLY thing I can do is say “Thank you,” but that feels so inadequate…

    Wait, I know.

    Thank you and may God continue to bless you and your family.

  2. gosox4115 permalink
    July 16, 2008 1:25 pm

    Nice to hear from you Curt!

    What did you think of the treatment Pap got from those New York thugs?

    Get well!

  3. slammermike permalink
    July 16, 2008 1:48 pm

    Curt,
    It is good to see you back on the blog.

    I know how you feel about the healing process being slow. I am recovering from ankle fusion surgery. It was back in February and I am hopefully on almost done. Hang in there and do what the doctors say.

    The All-Star game was exciting it was a good thing I was off the next day because it didn’t finish until 1:50 A.M.

    I’m friends with your wife’s family back in Baltimore and have followed you through your career. Hopefully all heals well quickly. Good Luck

  4. seantanu permalink
    July 16, 2008 1:49 pm

    Bring on the gruesome photos! That sounds fun. Thanks for updating us.

  5. Tom Field permalink
    July 16, 2008 3:07 pm

    Nice to hear from you, Curt! I wondered how the rehab was going.

    Hey, from your perspective as an interested observer … what are the key trends you’re seeing in baseball this year? Which teams and individuals stand out to you? Any surprises?

    best,

    Tom

  6. July 16, 2008 3:53 pm

    Hey Curt –

    Glad to hear things are coming along. And glad to see your avid involvement in ALS continues. I actually underwent MRI’s last week to determine and hopefully rule out the possibility of ALS, MS or a couple of other muscular ailments and diseases. It’s been a little scary but makes me even more appreciative of those living their lives so fully while suffering from these debilitating diseases.
    My wife and I are planning another attempt at viewing a Red Sox batting practice from the field with our little daughter Teagan and August 12 against the Rangers. Hopefully we will see you there! Anyways hope the rehab continues in the right directions and we will anxiously await your next post. Thanks Curt…take care.

    Brian, Sarah & Teagan Sparhawk

  7. nembkm permalink
    July 16, 2008 4:03 pm

    Curt,
    Thanks for all you have done for Red Sox Nation and ALS!

    I had a brainstorm the other day that I think has some real legs!

    I hope you can help push this along!

    To benefit ALS, auction off the rights to be the one that pushes the demolition button on old Yankee Stadium! It would be a media circus at the live event, and you could sell out numerous large venues in New England (Fenway, Gillette, Boston Garden, etc.) for exclusive Live TV coverage, plus some potential Pay-Per-View TV revenue. I know some crazy Red Sox fan (or his company) would likely bid multi-million $ for the rights! Yankee fans would like better if it were marketed to benefit “Lou Gehrigs Disease”.

    Nick Morrow
    Roswell, GA 30075
    nemorrow@bellsouth.net

  8. July 16, 2008 4:48 pm

    “I was planning on posting pics and a break down of the surgery for those that can stomach it.”

    Woo, that’d be neat.

    Hope all continues to be well with you, going forward.

    Also, now that AoC has committed sepukku and WAR seems well on its way to a similar fate, 38 would seem to have a real chance to establish itself in the market. Any updates on that front?

  9. carms1979 permalink
    July 16, 2008 4:49 pm

    Hey Curt,

    Can’t wait to get the update. Love ya always.

  10. techsoldaten permalink
    July 16, 2008 7:18 pm

    Curt –

    Ugh. My father is dealing with Planter’s Foot right now and the situation is similar to your ankle. He can barely get around, the front of his foot doesn’t really move that well.

    Good to hear that you are working out and getting some reps in. If only people in the front office would have listened to you in the offseason and you had gotten the treatment you needed sooner. Releasing some photos may go some way to dispelling the myth of players as being overpaid jocks who care little about the fans. What you have put yourself through as a pitcher over the years is… inspirational is not the right word, but it shows how much you care for the game.

    I wear your jersey to every Sox game I attend. Get better soon!

    M

  11. July 16, 2008 7:59 pm

    Curt: I am glad you are doing better. I am disappointed that you are not pitching this season, and hope to see you back at Fenway by this time next Year. What will CHB do without you?

  12. ricknp permalink
    July 16, 2008 8:08 pm

    Great to see you back on the return trail. I’ll admit to checking almost daily for a new blog entry, and tonight, my tenacity was rewarded. We all look forward to your insights as the team makes its way towards October. Maybe, if you can’t pitch in Game 1 of the Series, you can throw out the first pitch.

  13. eric1414 permalink
    July 16, 2008 8:40 pm

    Hey Schil,

    The All-Star game was phenomenal. JD has now joined a very short list of Sox All-Star MVP’s – good for him, thrilled to see he’s continued to play at such a high level. I’m just glad Francona didn’t have to resort to sending him to the mound as well if the game had gone much longer :o

    I’d be game for seeing surgery pics, maybe put some sort of disclaimer on the link emphasizing the point to those w/ weak stomachs. Good luck in your recovery, this season hasn’t quite been the same w/o you.

  14. wdt5bball permalink
    July 16, 2008 9:03 pm

    I had posted this response on your previous message but I don’t know if anyone will look at it, so I posted it again. I hope that the surgery is going well. My name is Wyatt and I’m 12 years old. I am playing in the 4th Annual CytRx Strike Out Lou Gehrig’s Disease All Star Tournament. It is a baseball tournament that helps to raise money to find a cure for ALS. I’ve played in this tournament for three years and this is my final year playing. This year Easton is sponsoring a Hit-A-Thon that allows me and other players to raise money for ALS. Your jersey is one of the prizes for the top earners, as you might already know. I am a Red Sox fan and hope to see you playing again soon. Last year we helped to raise $80,000. This year we are hoping to raise even more. If anyone could help to support me that would be great.
    Here’s a link to my site
    http://web.alsa.org/site/TR/ALSEvent/GreaterLosAngeles?px=1919876&pg=personal&fr_id=5070

  15. fadedhour permalink
    July 16, 2008 11:05 pm

    Glad to hear from you and looking forward to the update! My family and I send you best wishes on your rehab. We’re hoping for Fenway to be the home field again, too :)

  16. pagosacaywood permalink
    July 17, 2008 4:33 am

    Why Hello Curt, I just wanted to know if you remembered me…. I am Kevin Caywood of Hells Hip Pocket Ranch of Pagosa Springs. Your mom lived next door to my sister in Pagosa and you rode horses on my ranch in Pagosa with your sister (now in Florida) but you came to my house and to my family ranch back in 1990 and had a few fosters lagers. ha ha. I am a hypnotherapist and could help your recovery and help you pitch into your mid 40’s. Our paths met once and should again to make your recovery from surgery go as fast or faster than Clemets on “roids” just kidding. I remember you saying how he helped you back in the Houston astros years. I still have the rookie card you gave me in pagosa. Tiger has a hypnotherapist and so should you my friend. Remember when I called you in Houston? Well, call me back now that I can repay you for the time we hung out on the ranch. You said you would put me in your book when you wrote about the time you spent on the ranch. Call me buddy.
    Take care,
    Kevin Caywood

  17. mannyramirez1 permalink
    July 17, 2008 4:54 am

    Hey Curt!

    Sorry you had so much pain, that’s the worst.
    I can’t wait to see the pics and breakdown of the surgery, sounds interesting. Continued success with your rehab!

    Peace

  18. empirelady permalink
    July 17, 2008 6:42 am

    Curt-
    First of all, please do not ever feel that you have to apologize for not writing,and please do not ever apologize for not writing.Yes,we are all thrilled to hear from you,especially me,and we all want to know how you are doing,but anyone who is a caring human being will understand what you have been going through,will understand that you have not been able to post as easily as you have been able to at other times in the past. For once, you have to do what is best for you,physically and emotionally,and do whatever it takes to get yourself better. This time around,which will be absolutely,totally unlike you,you have to put yourself first.. That said,it is greatly appreciated that you have updated those of us who care about you so much and I do look forward to your sharing the pictures,your experience,with us. It means a great deal that you want to include all of us in what you have been dealing with..I am so very sorry to hear that you are having so much pain and that the ankle is giving problems as well. When you hurt,I hurt and when you have pain,so do I. As for the rehab,there is nobody in this world who understands what you are going through more than I do. As I have stated previously,when I had my accident that almost cost me my life,my ankle was so shattered that I now have a metal plate and nine screws holding it together(I am forever screwed). For two months,I was in a wheelchair while the ankle mended,thinking that I would never walk again(and there was that possibility). After months of rehab and going from wheelchair to walker to cane,one slow painful step at a time, I slowly learned how to walk again. At another time in my life,I broke a bone in my elbow,down the length of the arm and had to have rehab to regain mobility in the arm,which I was unable to straighten out(I can now,thanks to rehab). Yes,your rehab will be slow,as well as painful at times,and I totally sympathize with what you are going through,but do not ever give up on it, keep fighting, and in the end,the results will make all the pain and suffering of rehab worthwhile. You will be great,as you always have been,once again. While due to my ankle injury(which was different from yours),I will never be the same as I was,I am walking again,something that I thought would never be possible,and I know that you will be pitching again(the important thing is that you are well and free of pain,for every day life,but at the same time,I do want to see you pitching once again,for at least one more season). Hang in there(you have never been a quitter,or given up on a fight,so do not start now,keep fighting and you will win),keep fighting,remember that you are never alone-I am with you every step of the way- and I know,with time,you will be well once again(and do not use age as an excuse because I am 48 now,so I was about your age when I had my rehab so it can be done,you can still climb that mountain). You may not think so now but you will get better, you will be free of pain,and in the meantime,keep taking those Advil(my orthopedic surgeon,top doctor here in New York City, had told me that Advil works the best)…By the way,just to switch gears for a moment,I read what you did at the supermarket the other day for ALS,which is so moving and touching. Despite what you are going through at the moment,once again you were giving of yourself for others,physically and emotionally, and this was just one more example of what a beautiful,caring,special human being you are(and it had extra special meaning because your wife made that great comment that you never go to a supermarket otherwise). Thank you for what you constantly do for others and my only regret is that being here in New York City,I am not able to buy the “baseballs” at the supermarket,as they do not have them here in New York(let me know if there is a way to buy them from out of state). A mere thank you is not enough but thank you,thank you,thank you for what you have done in the past and continue to do….Which brings me to my final thought. You do so much for others,always thinking of what you can do to bring happiness and less suffering into the lives of others,as well as fighting to bring an end to horrendous disease,and I only wish that there was something that I could do for you. I am aware of the difficult time that you are going through right now,physically and emotionally(and you cannot deny that,not to me who has been there),so if there is ever anything that I can do for you,even just to talk(or if you just need to yell,scream,cry,rave,vent,whatever,I will listen,always-and I never sleep,so you can even do it in the middle of the night) I am here for you always. In the meantime,I wish you all of the best and I hope that you feel better soon. My thoughts are with you,always….
    Donna Blanc,New York City,empirelady87@hotmail.com
    *hater of the New York Yankees and their fans.

  19. caliri191 permalink
    July 17, 2008 8:30 am

    Hi Curt, Let’s see those photo’s!!! Can you write a blog to shut up all these Varitek bashers???? The guy’s been here 10 years, 2 World Series, 4 no hitters, all star games and because he’s hitting .220 half way through. ” We have to replace him”. I’m embarrased to be a Sox fan when I hear these idiots. Amazing how many “experts” there are. It doesn’t matter what you, Josh, Jon or any pitcher the last 10 years have said. What matters is he’s hitting .30 points below what he should.

  20. July 17, 2008 8:49 am

    Thanks for the update Curt, I hope you feel better soon.

    As for JD winning MVP int he ASG, that was pretty sweet, especially at Yankee Stadium. That 2 run homer was clutch!

  21. Hugh Jass permalink
    July 17, 2008 12:21 pm

    Kurt, you are my hero. Props and prayers to you and yours. We’ll show that Shank Shaughnessy who’s who and what’s what. He still lives the dream of hitting homers in LL, the mope. Meanwhile, you are in the top 10-15 of clutch pitchers of your era at the MLB level! I hope Shank gets carpal tunnel syndrome from strumming on his keyboard!

    Good luck in rehab, big guy!

  22. July 17, 2008 1:29 pm

    Bring on the pics Curt! I hope the remainder of your rehab goes well.

  23. July 17, 2008 2:40 pm

    thank you thank you thank you for the update! and i would love to see pictures/hear more about what the surgery entailed…i am glad to hear you are doing well, and i hope that continues for you.

    on a side note, i appreciate the helpful information provided on the SHADE website. i recently had a biopsy on a mole and subsequently had to have the mole and margin excised due to them finding malignant cells, thankfully i just got the call and they were able to excise all of the cells. But, after reading more about Shonda I realized that my scar is almost an exact match to hers. i know it’s kind of a weird thing to have in common, but thank goodness we are both okay.

    take care and keep up the blogging!

  24. mvislegurl permalink
    July 17, 2008 7:09 pm

    Hi Curt,
    Ive been thinking about you alot lately and saying pryers for a speedy recovery for you.I hadnt heard anyone speak of how you are doing but knew at one point you had a blog online so came here to find out for myself.
    I have been a sox fan since age 8,am now 49 and still living in my birthplace with my family amoung me on the Vineyard.Ive always as a child watched the sox on tv.It always seemed to difficult to go to a game from here,until last month and we sat behind the bullpen,I got to see all the guys who have given me many nights of entertainment and laughter.Xcept you weren’t there and it didnt feel right.I went back again last weekend to see the orioles game and sat behind the bullpen.Big fan here of Mike T and Jonathan,but still couldnt help but wonder how you are.So I’m really hoping you are ok.I fell off my bike a few summers ago and broke the bone in my rotater cuff but got a kayak and rowed and even though my doctor said Id never be able to lift my arm again.I do, and straight up over my head.You have pain now but you will heal.I know you will come back,you are such a part of the Red Sox as Babe Ruth was, so chin up, and have complete faith.God be with you Curt!

  25. July 17, 2008 7:31 pm

    Ewww. Rotting bicep?
    Sounds gross when you put it that way. Probably not so gross to see.
    I’m game. :)

    Anywhoo…
    I did not get to hear you on the radio this a.m., though I’m sure you were grilled about the Manny/John Henry scenario. Flippin’ media. They know Manny is Manny. They’ve gotta bait him NOW?

    Unbelieveable All Star Game. What a great story about JD Drew -totally his Cinderalla Man year. Just goes to show that us fans can’t cast stones so quickly… ;)

    Sorry your recovery isnt feeling as good as you’d hoped, but hopefully you’ll feel so much better in the long run. Oh, and I have to say – every time I hear the name Coop – I can’t help but think of Robert Deniro in the “The Fan”, kidnapping his LL coach! CREEPY. ;)

    Gil Renard: We could’ve been teammates. We were teammates. Man, we could’ve made it to the Bigs.
    Coop: It was Little League! We were 12 years old!
    Coop: No one calls me Coop anymore, you sick son of a “BLEEP”

    LOL! :)
    Be well,
    Rebecca

  26. fanfromfalls permalink
    July 17, 2008 7:39 pm

    FYI….you are missed when you don’t post.

  27. lowellchick4ever permalink
    July 17, 2008 8:45 pm

    Hey Curt-
    Wishing you the very best of luck-I’m a PT at St E’s in Boston and remember your sacrifice for the team. Let those bloody sox deniers rail on-WE KNOW THE TRUTH!!
    It would be quite interesting to see the photos of your surgery-a fond reminder of Gross Anatomy lab in school…
    Anyway, I hope your recovery is steady, and we’ll see you in the dugout some time soon!

  28. beccalpmc permalink
    July 17, 2008 10:13 pm

    Hi Curt,
    I’ve been following your recovery very closely as well- having had almost the same surgery as you (biceps tendon reattachment/ labrum tear repair) just a week beforehand!I sustained a similar injury rowing on a torn-up shoulder for two years.

    I have been a big fan of yours since you joined the Red Sox, and have been a diehard member of Red Sox Nation since my dad let me skip school to go to Opening Day in 2001.

    In addition to being a rower, my athletic pursuits have also included riding my bike in the Pan Mass Challenge since I was 15, for the last 5 years. I had hoped to ride this year as well but just got out of my sling this week so am unsure if I will be medically cleared to do so. I know that your wife is a repeat rider in the event,and that raising money for cancer research is very important to the Red Sox Foundation. I was wondering if you would be involved with the ride this year at all, since unlike in past years you won’t be pitching over that weekend? You have done great work with the ALS foundation.

    Anyway, best of luck with all your rehab, too!

    Sincerely,
    Becca L.

  29. fenwaynationchief permalink
    July 18, 2008 7:58 am

    Curt-

    Thanks for the update. Please go here and take a look at the scores of people who have wished you well on our petition:

    http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/thank-you-curt-schilling

    Best,

    Ernie Paicopolos
    Editor-In-Chief
    FenwayNation.COM

  30. billyerin permalink
    July 18, 2008 10:09 pm

    curt, first i would like to wish you all the luck with your rehab. second i would like to thank you and your curts pitch staff for all their hard work. Last week my wifes aunt had lost her battle with ALS. All over her house is pictures of you and her. She like everyone else is a huge fan.

    Her name was mary, she was a wife, mother of 3 boys, a nurse at MGH and had a love for life. Up until her death she was very optomistic that there will be a cure. with your help and awareness there will be.

    good luck and god speed

    billy

    BTan99@aol.com

  31. July 19, 2008 10:52 am

    Its all good Curt! hang in there and nurse those muscles.

  32. oligohome permalink
    July 21, 2008 10:34 pm

    Curt,
    Glad to hear you’re doing better. I had shoulder surgery 3 years ago at 40. I got hurt playing catch with the kids next door. They wanted “super duper pop-ups”. I never felt anything, other than my shoulder getting tired quickly, but boy did it hurt the next day. A week of rest produced more pain. Wiffle ball while drinking beer was doable, but the price paid the next day was nasty. The MRI showed only an impingement (we all get that eventually, it’s the calcium build-up on the top of your shoulder…the tendon rubs against it causing pain).

    Rehab helped a little, cortisone did nothing but cause more pain. The lack of a response from the shot prompted my doc to determine my injury was labrum and surgery was needed. I lasted through the ski season and had the surgery that spring (I have my priorities…I don’t need no stinkin’ poles!).

    I plowed through the rehab and had a great recovery. I continued w/ the exercises on my own, but started to slack off (plus my form wasn’t correct on the ones I WAS doing). A little over a year after the surgery I played in a company softball game…2nd base. After fielding a grounder I locked and loaded towards 1st base…I felt like my shoulder popped out of it’s socket (it did, but it kindly went back into place…a subluxation). I had the MRI-arthrogram (the dye injection). Very painful as the doc hit scar tissue from the surgery and bent the needle on the first try! Nothing showed up, so I went back to rehab. However, I still have pain from the bicep tendon if I don’t keep up w/ the exercises…and sometimes even when I do!

    It’s a tough surgery to come back from, especially at our age. Listen, I loved watching you pitch…I grew up a Mets fan but baseball lost me after the strike/lockout. The Red Sox won me back just before you joined up, you cemented it (the Dunkin’ Doughnuts commercial helped!). It was wonderful being sleep-deprived during the 2004 run…watching your magic. As much as we fans would like the magic to continue, you need to think long term. I hope you and your family stay in the area and you find a way to stay involved in your passion…maybe through coaching at the kids level.

    No matter what happens, I wish you the best of luck. Thanks for the memories.

  33. revived0103 permalink
    August 9, 2008 2:36 pm

    Imagine how good our rotation would be if we had you Curt! I know you’re pulling for the sox

  34. jonh2b permalink
    August 13, 2008 10:04 pm

    curt you are probably my favorite player on the sox im ten years old and im going to baltamore to go to a sox game i wish i could see u there would be so happy if i could see u pitch again well good luck curt i hope to see you on the field one day soon

  35. dean69 permalink
    September 11, 2008 2:33 pm

    Hey Curt,

    I noticed your latest anti-New York diatribe where you said New York fans are in a euphoria over Tom Brady’s season-ending injury. You also stated that the sad part will be when the Patriots beat the Jets. While I won’t disagree with you on the Patriots beating the Jets, you had to go farther by saying that one of the reasons they are happy over Brady’s injury is because we’re bitter over the Yankees sucking this year. I’m sorry, maybe you can remind me, but WHO WON SUPER BOWL XLII? If I remember correctly, it was the NEW YORK Giants who beat the New England Patriots 17-14 in that game. Perhaps next time you should engage your brain before opening your mouth, lest you stick both feet in it again. Then again, sticking your foot in your mouth is a specialty of yours, what with you being a right wing Bushbot who thinks that John McCain is the right man to lead this country, but somehow was not the right man eight years ago. I find it funny that you head up the National ALS Committee, and your wife suffers from that disease, yet four years ago you chose to support a man who opposed funding for Stem Cell research, research which could possibly bring a cure to this dreaded disease. But like I said, I don’t expect you to understand. Hopefully America gets it right this time and elects Obama for president. In the meantime, since you’re not pitching this season, maybe you can inspire your teammates in the post-season by painting fake blood on their socks like you did in 2004. Remember that? Have a nice day, idiot.

    Dean Zachariades

  36. rileytriggs permalink
    September 19, 2008 2:06 pm

    Curt,
    Been following your injury/rehab as I suffered a similar story, only stretched out over 30 years when I believe I first suffered a slap tear. Over the intervening several decades, I would go to the doctor when the pain got bad and kept me from playing baseball and later softball. After returning to “real” ball (in a soon-to-be-famous sandlot baseball league where I play with the Texas Playboys Baseball Club in Austin), I tried the doctors again and had my first MRI which finally revealed what had kept me from enjoying ball to the fullest all those years -a labral slap tear. I had my surgery a couple of weeks after you had yours.

    Rehab for me has reached a plateau at the moment, and I alternate between discouragement and determination to overcome. My goal is to travel to Newbern, AL next May for our 3rd annual 2 game series with the Newbern Tigers. Don’t know if that is realistic, but my reading that you are wanting to be back pitching by the middle of next season certainly gives me hope for my more modest goals.

    So, thanks for sharing your progress and the details of your surgery – it really helps to hear others are going through similar challenges. We are all rooting for your recovery (as well as your computer game endeavors).

    Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead, and hit those pulleys!
    Cheers,
    Riley

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 638 other followers

