Skip to content

ESPN commercial….

May 15, 2008

Is funny. Can’t help but laugh at it. They asked me to be a part of the shoot but it was done during spring training and I didn’t think flying up to Orlando for the day and back was the smart thing to do when not being able to play and going through rehab. Love Peter Gammons as Tito, rubbing his head.

After everything that’s happened and all that has been said and done I laughed. I have yet to see one they have done that wasn’t funny.

Much needed day off for the guys. This has to be one of the weirdest schedules I’ve ever been part of.

Watch out for the Rays. People made all kinds of fun of me last year when I mentioned that would be a place to consider, luckily for them I didn’t, but that’s a good young team. Joe Maddon is one of the men responsible for my career and I think the world of the guy, and I think they’ve got immense amounts of young talent. Troy having a bit of a revival has certainly helped too. Great to see him back in the game and doing fantastic, couldn’t happen to a nicer guy. They’re going to be good for a long time, and in a tough division, and from what I understand they’ve just scraped the surface on the wealth of young pitching talent they’ve got coming up.

My rehab is going well. We’ve increased the workload and distance in my throwing program and so far so good.

38 Studios has made a few more hires recently and I just cannot grasp the talent level we have, team wide, in the company at this stage. Lots happening and still so much to do.

Doesn’t look like we’ll have the desired (by me anyway) coming out party at SD Comic Con this year, for about a billion reasons. The main one is that we just aren’t ready to do it and if we were to go through with it, we’d be intruding on development as well as pushing things that aren’t ready. We’ll still be there and we’ll certainly have something to show, but it won’t be the ‘lift our skirts’ to the world I said it might be last year.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. natchiq permalink
    May 15, 2008 9:31 pm

    Do you have a link to the commercial online? Thanks!

  2. danquinn78 permalink
    May 15, 2008 11:33 pm

    Hi Curt,

    Hold on one sec, brah. The Rays have tipped an iceberg? Ummmmm…what?

    Is this a typo?

    Is this a failed metaphor?

    Young pitching talent = the action of tipping an iceberg in the past tense. Let’s think about this Professor Schilling. You are comparing a noun (talent) with a verb (have tipped). Sorry, that doesn’t work buddyboy. Stay in school, kids.

    I think what you mean to say is “from what I understand, this is just the tip of the iceberg for the wealth of young pitching talent they’ve got coming up”

    Oh…and is Troy (Percival) a nice guy or not?

    I can’t understand this illiterate garbage you post. This is the kind of crap on the internet that gives bloggers a bad name.

    Buzz Bissinger is rolling around in his grave.

  3. twhobert permalink
    May 15, 2008 11:46 pm

    Dannquinn78, You are a Loser.

    Curt,

    Glad to hear your rehab is continuing to go well. Is there an updated date as to when you may make it back?

    Go Sox!

  4. jimmykc permalink
    May 16, 2008 7:54 am

    Good to hear from you again Curt. I also find the ESPN spots humerous. And it must be flattering to know there are schoolmarms out there sharpening their red pencils as they parse every word of your grammer. Methinks you must have tipped the iceberg to uncover old dannquinn. I’m looking forward to seeing both you and Colon play a roll before playoff time so stick with the program and keep checking in from time to time.

  5. May 16, 2008 8:45 am

    Is this the commercial? The bloody sock?

  6. soxfaninil permalink
    May 16, 2008 8:54 am

    I totally agree, Dannquinn78, you are an idiot. You are what is wrong with blogs. Didn’t your Momma ever teach you if you didn’t have anything nice to say-Shut your mouth!

    Curt, good stuff, thanks for the update. Can’t wait to see you pitch again so it is good to hear that the rehab is going well. Keep up the good work.

    I agree the ESPN commercial is very funny, and I thought Peter Gammons as Tito was great.

    One other note, I tought that Masterson was pretty impressive for the start he had. Very happy we kept him, he looks like he is going to be very good, and soon.

    Keep updates coming, I am also curious about a timeline for your return.
    Thanks, GO SOX!

  7. danquinn78 permalink
    May 16, 2008 9:06 am

    Much better. Don’t feel bad though, they don’t teach correct grammer and spelling until after Junior College.

  8. 18thstreet permalink
    May 16, 2008 10:35 am

    I created an account JUST so I could point out the tool above me (No. 7) misspelled “grammar.”

    Good luck with the rehab, Curt!

  9. bosox4eva permalink
    May 16, 2008 12:13 pm

    Hey Prof. Quinn since you seem so knowledgeable about English can you please explain to me what a “brah” is ? I love idiots like yourself, who believe they’re smarter then everybody else, and then say something dumb, that proves otherwise. You are definitely a dime a dozen, Brah…

  10. gator39 permalink
    May 16, 2008 12:21 pm

    “grammer” — so when do you graduate from junior college?

  11. May 16, 2008 2:30 pm

    CURT!!!! Way to long of a break between blogs! KEEP’EM COMIN!!!

  12. erikmerk permalink
    May 16, 2008 3:49 pm

    Curt,
    You should consider the New York Con for 2009 then. It’s earlier this year (First weekend in February), and it drew over 60,000 people this year. Plus it’s close to your home, has the New York media involved, and if you chose to pitch one more year, then you could still appear yourself prior to Spring Training.

    Good luck and get healthy!

  13. azseafan permalink
    May 16, 2008 3:52 pm

    Danquinn, did you really just poke fun at someone else’s spelling and grammar while spelling “grammar” incorrectly? How’s Junior College treating you pal?

  14. hardcoreraysfan42 permalink
    May 16, 2008 4:17 pm

    Curt, thanks for givin some love to Tampa. I’m lovin how this season is goin for us, and I cant wait to see you get back on the mound and how you can handle this lineup.

  15. nyredsox24 permalink
    May 16, 2008 4:21 pm

    Good work danquinn78. Perhaps you should have run the spell check on yourself. Your “grammer” is terrific.

  16. ss2markkoenig permalink
    May 16, 2008 7:07 pm

    Dan: If you’re going to be a syntax cop, try to spell correctly.

    Curt, good call on holding off on the dog-and-pony-show. Distractions from promotional builds are one of the worst enemies of successful development. Kudos for resisting.

  17. jojo126 permalink
    May 16, 2008 7:47 pm

    danquinn78 – You’re the one who needs schooling – it’s GRAMMAR not grammer.

    Curt – hope to see you pitch very soon! Go Sox!

  18. May 17, 2008 7:41 am

    Just a reminder Curt, there are Science Fiction conventions in Boston as well. Conventions that happen during the baseball off season.

    It would be so much simpler to bring your dog and pony show to Cambridge or Boston, then all the way across the country.

  19. eng2lt permalink
    May 17, 2008 8:01 am

    As soon as I read DQ I had to respond – until I read on ! I would like to say ,
    “Well said TWHobert!”, though I would have included the age old saying “Get a life”, but , “Well said all!”. To number 14 – HCRF42, since we are givin love how ’bout reining in that foolish mascot of yours – it’s one thing going after Wally and Remdawg but he ran into one of players last year with an ATV – is the guy under that suit a nitwit or what!? Last but not least – I’m going to pick on Manny. I read in the paper this morning that Manny claims he is the best left fielder in Red Sox history…I guess he’s never heard of a guy named Yaz. If he didn’t make this claim my apologies. Curt – good luck in your continuing rehab – hope to see you on the mound soon!

  20. jimmykc permalink
    May 17, 2008 8:30 am

    I would like to apologize to danquinn78 and anyone I may have offended for misspelling both grammar and humorous in one post. But I am just a simple country blogger, not a brain surgeon. And ,dan, you did cause me to look up Buzz Bissinger, thereby making me a wiser individual. My point in making this reply is to point out that it has nothing at all to do with the good Dr.Schilling,who teaches this course and brought us all together. What I would really like to know is exactly what his rehab day is like. How many hours per day are devoted to what activities? How is progress measured? How much of the rehab is shoulder specific and how much is general aerobic conditioning? How about his weight? Is he totally pain free now? Perhaps he will take the time to fill us in on a later post. This would interest me a lot more than his syntax or how he decides to tip his iceberg.

  21. radiowriter16 permalink
    May 17, 2008 9:51 am

    Curt,

    As I don’t know where to put this, I will put this here.

    I had the opportunity to meet your wife at National ALS Advocacy Day in Washington and couldn’t have been more impressed. Her dedication to the ALS Association and the compassion she shows for PALS is simply amazing. Her down to earth nature made her easy to approach, and I had a very nice, albeit short conversation with her.

    I commend the work you and Shondra do for the ALS Association. Hopefully one day we will finally find a cure for this horrible disease.

    Chris Munson
    ALS Association of Northern New England–South Burlington Walk Chair/Vermont representative to National ALS Advocacy Day

  22. May 17, 2008 5:29 pm

    Hey Curt,

    thanks for addressing the ESPN commercial.

    Wow I hadn’t even noticed that Gammons was playing Tito. That puts the humor back in it. It would have been funnier if you were in it too.

    GL with rehab.

  23. May 17, 2008 9:47 pm

    It dies not take very long for a jerk like Danquinn78 to have his foot in his mouth now does it? Curt I agree with your theory on the Rays, that pitching staff is going to be something to see in the next few years. I would love to see Kashmir in the Sox rotation. Good luck on the rehab bro.

  24. kathiemkm permalink
    May 18, 2008 5:07 am

    The first time I saw the ESPN commercial my husband had the TV muted and I laughed so hard. Knowing that Tito was Gammons but I had no idea who played Curt. The next time it was on I made sure to have the volume on and loved it more.
    Almost as funny as the Pap’s DD commercial. Another on of my favorites.
    Good Luck Curt!! Hope to see you on the mound soon.
    Keep us updated on your progess.
    GO SOX!! Repeat in 08!!

  25. Kevin Dickerson permalink
    May 18, 2008 11:31 am

    Hey Curt, this is my first time I have left a comment on here but I just wanted to say that I think it’s great whenever you can laugh at yourself or at a very annoying debate. Anyway, I hope your rehab continues to go well!

  26. May 19, 2008 4:18 pm

    Seriously, I don’t think I’ve ever seen an ESPN commercial that doesn’t make me at a minimum, chuckle out loud. Of course dry, sarcasm and snarkiness is sort of up my alley for humor anyway.

    As far as the coming out event, well you know what they say about the best laid plans. The good news is clearly your organization is growing – thriving – and that is exciting. So many business ventures can’t quite say the same.

    Hope the shoulder is feeling well with the increased workouts! :)

  27. kathiemkm permalink
    May 20, 2008 5:52 am

    Congrats to Lester!!!

  28. joshuamerrill permalink
    May 25, 2008 3:18 pm

    Curt,

    Looking for prominent SMHS Alumni, check out matadorfootball.org
    Post on Bulletin Board.

    Get Well Soon!

    Josh & Rachelle Merrill
    Class of ’83

  29. 2244slayer permalink
    June 18, 2008 4:10 pm

    Just retire and stop inflicting pain on Americans.

  30. grayjonv permalink
    August 21, 2008 3:41 pm

    Dear Curt:

    Would you please post your public appearances on your web site.

    This would help fans to find out where and when they can meet you to provide greater support to your causes and/or to get an itemed autographed.

    Sincerely,

    John Gray
    Kennebunk, Maine
    e-mail: grayjonv@aol.com

    P.S. – Thanks for the 2 World Series Trophies. My life is complete after 30 years of agony as a Red Sox fan.

    PSS -Where in Pittsburgh is your father from? I am from Sewickley and Upper St. Clair. 5th generation P-burgher. Great grandfather, who I never met, died in a steelmill even.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 638 other followers

