Skip to content

Getting the ‘go ahead’.

May 6, 2008

Well that day is here, finally. Today I’ll be ‘allowed’ to play catch for the first time since January. A lot has happened and there is probably even more left to do, but it’s a step.

As we were talking through things the other day a point I was trying to make to anyone involved was this. Not only do I need to get moving and throwing now, but everyone just assumes that we do X, which leads to Y, and we end up at Z. The “Z” being me pitching again. The thing is, we’re good, real good. I not only need to get healthy, but I need to be good as well…..

Just because I am healthy doesn’t mean I get the ball. I feel very confident about how I’ll be throwing when I come back, but I still have to “DO IT”, and be good at it.

I think we are all very happy with where I have come and how much improvement I’ve made, but at the end of the day we really are at the bottom of the mountain at this point. Throwing, bullpens, long toss, rehab games, those will start the clock ticking on the health of my shoulder and where it is at. The last few weeks I’ve been pushed extremely hard and in my mind if there were significant injury issues the fallout would have been pain, enough pain to notice and hinder our work. That hasn’t happened and that is obviously a great sign.

Having said that it still comes down to how the arm bounces back once we start putting a heavier load on the shoulder. We won’t be able to get there for a few weeks of throwing at least.

If we can get through that part, long toss and into bullpens, and the feel remains the same, then I think I’ll start getting excited about what might be.

To all of you that have offered support here I want to extend a sincere thank you.

For all of those that donated and were in attendance for the unveiling of the Schilling Fields this past week at Blake Middle School, thank you as well. It was a very special time and a day of memories that will last a lifetime. Seeing Mike McQuaid, my little league coach and life long friend was icing on the cake. Thanks to my wife Shonda for making that all happen.

45 Comments leave one →
  1. jeffwhansen permalink
    May 6, 2008 10:15 am

    Keep up the hard work Curt. We are pulling for you.

  2. ahl0003 permalink
    May 6, 2008 10:24 am

    Hey Curt,

    It’s terrific news that you’re making progress towards a return to the mound. I realize it’s not your place, but how would you imagine a starting rotation reforming for your return? As you noted in a previous post, the staff is turning in some great performances (and I think the closer’s spot is firmly in hand unlike 2005). 6 man rotation? Let Clay or Jon skip a start from time to time to keep them fresh all season? Ask Julian to step aside so you can slide into the long-relief role? :-)

  3. empirelady permalink
    May 6, 2008 10:41 am

    Dear Mr. Schilling,
    Please read this. I have written things similar to it previously but this one needs to be read completely by you. Words cannot begin to express how thrilled I am that you are throwing,doing catch,today. As I stated previously(#11 on your last posting of a few days ago),my thoughts and good wishes are with you,now and always,and I know exactly how you feel. I also know that you still have a long way to go with the rehab until you are out on the field pitching but today is a major milestone and I am with you every step of the way. As for you describing it as being at the bottom of a mountain,you will climb that mountain and I look forward to hearing that you have reached the top. I know in my heart that you will reach the top of that mountain and that you will be able to shout from the top of that mountain that you are there (I also will shout,scream,when you are there,although not from the top,as due to physical challenges that I have written about previously,I will never be at the top-but you will be). As for the part about being good,DO NOT ever doubt yourself-you have always not only been good but you have been the best and you will be once again. I have never doubted you or your ability,both on and off the field, and never will,ever, so please do not do it either. I understand totally how you feel emotionally,that you question how it may be,but I am going to tell you that it will not happen like that,I believe in my heart that you will be great,as always. Good luck today,all the best always,as I wrote previously(#11 on your previous posting)I understand totally,exactly,completely, all of the emotions that you are feeling,my thoughts are with you,and do let me know how it goes. My thoughts and good wishes are with you always-
    Warmest Wishes,
    Donna Blanc,empirelady87@hotmail.com

  4. May 6, 2008 11:16 am

    That sounds great Curt. Hopefully we can get you back on the mound in a few months. Does that sound accurate? End of July? I have no idea what your time table is like but it sounds a lot sooner than everyone on ESPN is saying… (Sept/October)

    Keep us updated.

    -S

  5. ctsoxnation permalink
    May 6, 2008 11:23 am

    GOOD LUCK CURT!

    Don’t over do it on the first day throwing long toss. We’re all pulling for you to get back on the field this year.

    Regards,
    Derek

  6. May 6, 2008 11:44 am

    Hope it goes well for you Curt. Can’t wait to see you healthy and back doing what you love!

  7. soxfanindan permalink
    May 6, 2008 12:45 pm

    Good luck! We are still praying for your good health and return to the rotation.

  8. May 6, 2008 1:26 pm

    Good luck Curt. I’m a Yanks fan, but I’m also a fan of you and your blog. Sincerely wish you the best.

  9. cassy603 permalink
    May 6, 2008 1:29 pm

    Curt, so glad to hear you are making progress. I can’t wait to see you pitch again! Good luck and God bless.

  10. 16maydaymalone permalink
    May 6, 2008 2:07 pm

    Mr. Schilling; hey there, just thought I would send you a note to see if you know of a blog for Mr. Veritek? Being very formal here, have you got a web address or something I can follow Tek as I do you? Very curious about both your careers but even moreso you faith. Shoot me an email or post it on your blog.

    Thanks and get back soon!

    ABS

  11. steve0077 permalink
    May 6, 2008 4:32 pm

    Hey Curt, just thought i’d ask is 38 pitches all your gonna throw this year??

    HAHAHAHA GO CUBS!!!!!

  12. marchhare09 permalink
    May 6, 2008 6:17 pm

    Glad to hear that the rehab is going well. It’ll be great to get you back in the game at some point this season.

    Just curious – how do you balance the desire to compete and win it all with the potential for irreparable damage to your body? For instance, in ’04 with your ankle – clearly you pushed things beyond what many would see as wise for your long-term health. And from the fan’s point of view, you wanted to do anything just to win it all without regard to the consequences (clearly over-simplifying here).

    But with the potential to be hobbled in your later years when you might rather be running around with your grandchildren, it would seem to be at odds with what might be best for you and your family in the long run. I would imagine your faith would help to reconcile this, but it still seems like a difficult path to take.

  13. kfish25 permalink
    May 6, 2008 7:46 pm

    Good luck, Curt! We’re thrilled with your progress. You’ve always displayed an amazing amount of tenacity and courage. You’re as tough as they come.

    Be well!

  14. mannyramirez1 permalink
    May 6, 2008 8:16 pm

    Hey Curt!

    Fantastic news! I guess slow and steady would be the appropriate word here. I know it’s the beginning of a long process but when I first read that you’d be playing catch, I got giddy!

    This is great news, indeed!
    Onward and Upward!

    Peace,
    Kim

  15. empirelady permalink
    May 7, 2008 4:29 am

    Mr. Schilling,
    PLEASE DO NOT BELIEVE THE WRITINGS OF ONE PERSON,AS THE REST OF US ARE NOT LIKE THAT AT ALL AND ARE WITH YOU EVERY STEP OF THE WAY. PLEASE READ THIS MESSAGE TO THAT ONE INSENSITIVE PERSON AND THEN PLEASE COMMENT….

    To steve0077,
    Clearly you have never been through rehab or have tried to recover from a serious injury. Clearly you do not know what it is like to fight through a physical problem,or know what it is like to be physically challenged,be it temporary or permanent. Believe me,as one who has been there,and as Curt is currently experiencing,it is NO JOKE or something to laugh at,make fun of. I hope that this is the case,that you just do not understand the seriousness of it all and that it is not that you are just an insensitive person,uncaring and unfeeling towards what others are experiencing. Regardless of what team you support,you should support Curt Schilling the man,the human being, and what he is doing physically,what he is going through,which is not an easy thing to do. Did you not read the part of climbing the mountain? Curt Schilling has always given his all to everything he does,both on and off the field,both physically and mentally,and he will always continue to do that. I know that he wil be great,as he always was and will always be and he will do well,but while he is recovering-and I give him much credit for his “keep fighting” attitude,which is the absolute attitude to have-for you to make fun of his physical condition disgusts me totally. I understand wanting to root for another team and there is nothing wrong with that but to make fun of a man’s physical situation and make fun of the temporary physical limitations of another human being(which in this case is temporary,VERY temporary,and Curt will be fantastic once again;for the record due to my accident I will always have physical limitations, and will always be physically challenged-you want to make fun of me as well?)is truly insensitive,unfeeling,and truly makes me ILL. Curt Schilling will ALWAYS be a much better human being than you are,both on the field and off. As I said,if you want to support another team,I have no problem with that,although I disagree and support the Red Sox,but take your HA HA’s that were making fun of Curt Schilling the man,the human being,the physical condition of a human being,the physical condition of others as well(because when you make fun of him you also make fun of others,those of us who are not physically perfect),and get them,your HA’s HA’s,as well as yourself, out of my sight. You are truly a disgrace to all mankind. Curt,I welcome and look forward to any comments that you want to add regarding this.
    Donna Blanc,empirelady87@hotmail.com

  16. May 7, 2008 9:36 am

    What a performance by Wake last night! Damn!!!!

    Curt, ever consider a daily game blog in addition to your personal updates? That way we can comment on each game as they are played out. It would be kind of cool to discuss the small stuff that happens in games over the season.

  17. Momoftriplets permalink
    May 7, 2008 10:12 am

    Hey Curt:

    Glad to hear things are moving along… What a great start for the Red Sox!! You can’t ask for better pitching and their bats are coming alive! I haven’t posted in months but have previously made you aware of my 9 year old son Justin, who is battling leukemia. He is doing well, currently in the maintenance part of treatment. He’s back playing little league after missing all of last season. He simply loves baseball and the Red Sox. I’m taking him down to Camden Yards next week for a game (we live in Jersey). Would love it if you could post on his blog again as you have in the past.
    http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/justincondoluci
    God Bless,
    Amy

  18. May 7, 2008 12:21 pm

    ….who let the Yankee’s Fan in here?!?! Just kidding, it’s nice to see diversity!!!!
    Curt (Mr. Shiwig as my 2 year old says), I’m so excited to see that your shoulder is coming along. Can’t wait to have you back in the rotation. Good Luck with your continued progress!

  19. caskandflagon permalink
    May 7, 2008 9:29 pm

    Great to hear how that things are on track. Boston is behind you all the way. Watch out for Empirelady-she kind of sounds like she might be watching your house. God bless.

  20. empirelady permalink
    May 8, 2008 2:37 am

    I fail to see how wanting the best for someone or voicing one’s opinion,thoughts,can be translated as “watching someone’s house”,and in terms of that comment being made,nothing could be further from the truth. Mr. Schilling,if I have come on too strong or have upset you in any way at all,I truly sincerely apologize. That was never my intention. I have always and will always just wish the best for you(as a creative writer I tend to write too much, but that is all that it is, just getting carried away with the written words). I assure you that I am NOT,nor will I ever be,”watching your house”. Mr. Schilling,if you agree with the comment posted above,and I truly hope that you do not,hope that you do not believe what was said,then please accept my sincere apology.

  21. upstateyanksfan permalink
    May 8, 2008 7:26 am

    Glad to hear you are on the road to recovery, look forward to seeing you pitch. I have been a fan since your D’back days (despite being a Yankee fan!)

  22. May 8, 2008 12:16 pm

    GOOD LUCK CURT!!!

  23. evenina permalink
    May 8, 2008 3:50 pm

    Curt,
    I wish you the best of luck and hope to see you pitching soon. I don’t know how often you get a chance to read all the comments but I work at Hanscom AFB in Massachusetts. On June 27th we are having a Summer Bash/Heroes Welcome Home. Summer Bash is held each year and is for the military and their families, there are rides, games, food, bands, fireworks, etc. This year we are having a Heroes Welcome to welcome home the service members who have been deployed. There is a ceremony planned for these fine men and women. Would you and your family be able to participate at this event? Your kids would have a blast and your wife would enjoy the festivities as well. My thought was we could have you and the General hand out the medals to these service members. What do you think????
    Thanks!

  24. May 8, 2008 4:52 pm

    So this is good news!! Looking forward to the update to see how you’re feeling after this little bit of a workout. :)

    I know you’ve got a slew of people to aide you in your physical therapy, but I’m curious to know if you’ve considered or have been recommended to try yoga? I don’t know whether it would be beneficial for your kind of injury or not – but I know that I take class with alot of athletes who are recovering from injuries, and from my own personal experience – it’s amazing.

    I’m also just now trying acupuncture for migraines, but again that’s another kind of holistic aid that I wonder if you’d ever considered incorporating that into your wellness program either?

    Just curious to know…..

  25. 4everredsox permalink
    May 9, 2008 2:31 am

    This is so wonderful! I hope all goes well. I got all choked up, and excited for you. Thank you for the good news. Take your time; don’t rush it…I’ll wait patiently for your return to the field!

  26. ellenx permalink
    May 9, 2008 9:48 am

    go for it curt you will do the right thing. you can get in there before you know it . i will be pulling for you just as all red sox nation is !!!!!!

  27. wally97 permalink
    May 9, 2008 10:45 am

    Glad things seem to be progressing so far. The Nation is pulling for you. GOOD LUCK!!!!

  28. amy4kids permalink
    May 9, 2008 6:27 pm

    Hi, Curt!

    Hooray! That’s great news…and what an honor to have a youth baseball field named after you! Very humbling, I’m sure. As you can see, we in Red Sox Nation are really pulling for you to get back out there on the mound…I could go into lots of detail about my daily struggles with my surgically repaired right knee, but I will save you the agony of reading such a long-winded rambling of a story. We are all waiting in anticipation to see how this all works out for you during your rehab. Godspeed to you, Curt. Can’t wait ’til your back in the rotation, whenever that will be.
    All the best to you and your family…Amy in CA.

  29. soxsweepagain permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:39 am

    Curt, I can NOT wait to see #38 on the mound at Fenway again.

    Get there, big guy. We love ya.

  30. May 10, 2008 1:45 am

    Would you consider coming out of the bullpen if that’s where the club needed you?

  31. greyson321 permalink
    May 10, 2008 6:20 am

    I would bevery interested to learn of your rehab excercise regimen.

  32. kharma2301 permalink
    May 10, 2008 1:28 pm

    Mr Schilling:

    You say you support John McCain but your actions tell me loud and clear that you are, in fact, a Hillary Clinton guy. You obviously believe that the “Village” has to raise our children when it comes to baseball. You obviously believe that, despite the overwhelming evidence that the way you pitch is injurious, you will not change unless the baseball “village” says it is OK. It is not OK with me.

    I’ve written to you before on the subject of Dr Mike Marshall. The fact that you still have the injurious example of the incorrect biomechanical way to pitch a baseball at the top of you web site tells me that you are either not very bright or the “village” has not given the OK to pitch in a less injurious manner.

    The problem is that the kids and coaches in Boston think you know what you are doing so they emulate the way you pitch. I trust you would not have your sons pitch they way you pitch with all the evidence of how bad it is. And since you may have political designs, lets not be blaming God (“the human arm is not made to withstand pitching blah blah blah”). The human arm is perfectly designed for pitching baseballs. The problem is the “It takes a village” mentality of the baseball extablishment.

    My baseball pitching definition of insanity is to expect a different result when you do the same thing that caused the injury in the first place. If you go out there and pitch like the picture at the top of your web site then you will get the same result. PAIN. You are an adult,,imagine what they way you pitch does to kids.

    Perhaps you can get President McCain to pass a law banning the way you pitch much like we had to pass laws to get fathers to wear seat belts. You can call it the “It Take a Village to get fathers to smarten up law”

    I know you are a good guy and I know you mean well but we need baseball parents and those running for our highest office to first look at the facts. You clearly are not.

    I suggest you and your village go to drmikemarshall.com and start reading.

    Sincerely

    Steve Sullivan
    Certified Dr Mike Marshall Pitching Instructor
    770-490-6115

    You are in fact the problem with this country. In your mind there is your way, and no other way, period. It’s the main reason Mike has never been able to get clubs in the game to buy in, because it’s his way or the highway. Bringing politics into this argument is almost as ignorant.
    I’ve never heard of you, nor do I know your resume, so I don’t know who or what you do or are good at. Me? The only thing I can offer up in defense of my ‘injurious’ mechanics is a few thousand innings, and strikeouts, at the major league level or 22 years.

  33. tonypucci permalink
    May 10, 2008 4:07 pm

    Curt, a friend of mine told me about your charity work for ALS. My sister Jenny just passed away from ALS this week after a 5-year battle with the disease. I am working on assembling songs for a charity CD, “Songs for Jenny”, in her honor, to raise money for the fight against ALS. I just wanted to know you you have a brother in the fight. Check it out if you have time:

    http://www.songsforjenny.com

    Best of luck to you and yours,
    Tony Pucci

  34. diehardyank permalink
    May 11, 2008 3:20 pm

    HEY EmpireLady,

    You keep sucking up to curt the way you do, Sooner or later, you’re gona need a new set of lips.

  35. denisesoxfan permalink
    May 11, 2008 3:47 pm

    Hey Curt! Can’t wait till you are pitching again. Sure hope I can be at your first game back!
    Denise

  36. dahouse292 permalink
    May 11, 2008 6:55 pm

    big mistake buddy u shouldve gotten surgery like the doctors told u to. my bet is on u making under 5 starts before the DL.

  37. soxfaninky permalink
    May 12, 2008 11:09 am

    Curt. I hope your throwing continues to go well. I have done my best to keep up with what you are up to. What kind of excercises do they have you doing? I recently had a minor dislocation of my shoulder as well, and would love some pointers to help it recover. I know you are not a doctor, but any advice you could give would be very helpful. Thanks!

  38. May 13, 2008 8:25 am

    Hey! GO ROCKIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  39. warbler44 permalink
    May 13, 2008 10:44 pm

    beat the yankees Curt.

  40. empirelady permalink
    May 14, 2008 10:57 am

    Not that I need to defend myself or explain myself to you and quite honestly I do not think that your comment is worth my time,but my question to diehardyank is this: why does it bother you so much what I write? I am not “sucking up” to Curt nor have I ever. If you fail to see that all I am doing is giving my support and encouragement,as well as expressing my belief that Curt will be back pitching and doing great,as always,then that is your problem,not mine. Curt is a beautiful human being,both off the field and on(a much better human being than you seem to be)and I fail to see how my saying that I am here for him in thought,that I support him,both off the field and on,can be construed as “sucking up”. But again I ask the same question: why does what I write bother you so much? There have been a lot worse things written on this blog than what I have written and quite frankly the only one that I feel I have to answer to is Curt Schilling(who has not expressed any problems with what I write). So I do not know why what I write bothers you so much but get over it and move on…

  41. tdwhitney permalink
    May 14, 2008 5:12 pm

    Curt, you are definitely a man that I admire, but why the heck would you vote for McCain? If he had his way, we’d be in Iraq for another 100 years. For him to compare the situation in Iraq with our bases in Japan or Germany is ridiculous. Last time I checked, the Japanese and Germans aren’t shelling our military bases over there. Our country can’t afford this war, and it’s not even allowing us to properly deal with Afghanastan or other hot spots. Iraq is a financial black hole for the US and a big graveyard for our soldiers, and we’re accomplishing nothing but pissing off the Muslim world even more by imposing our will there.

    How about some new blood in the oval office? Go Obama!!!!!

  42. thedoctorx permalink
    May 15, 2008 4:44 am

    dahouse292 big mistake buddy u shouldve gotten surgery like the doctors told u to. my bet is on u making under 5 starts before the DL.

    One should exercise caution in evaluating medical advice given on the internet, even advice rendered as eloquently erudite as that.

    –J.D.

  43. May 15, 2008 10:23 am

    Curt,

    On your next entry, could you address the commercial they are showing on ESPN about Karl Ravech dropping a ketchup packet into your sock in the 2004 playoffs…

    Did they ask you to do the commercial? Did you refuse? Do you laugh about it? Are you upset about the commercial?

    In case you haven’t seen it;

    It isn’t even that funny… more like beating a dead horse… And the actor they got to play you, doesn’t even look like you.

  44. rustysox permalink
    June 9, 2008 11:22 pm

    you are an inspiration curt, i havent picked up a ball in nearly 10 years and because of you i have organised a pitching coach so i can play this year.

  45. philadelphiabowtie permalink
    July 3, 2008 12:43 pm

    Wow, Kharma’s comments here are more than a little offputting. Unlike Kharma, I train with Dr. Mike everyday and I think his “satellite” followers misinterpret his tone in attempting to mimic his contentions. Marshall doesn’t revel in the continued injuries of traditional pitchers like some of these “advocates” do, which obviously does nothing to help anyone’s cause.

    I would say that your assertion that it’s “his way or the highway” is only half true. If an affiliated team were to bring Marshall in, it would obviously be for the purpose of curbing pitching arm injuries. Bringing him in only to not defer the conditioning of the team’s pitchers would waste the time of both parties. However, Marshall has stated that all long as a pitcher under his guide did the bare minimum to prevent injury, he “wouldn’t tell them how to live their lives.” If they wanted to do a leg kick, over stride, stride closed, reverse rotate, they could. He’d make good to inform them of what that might do to their body (years of driving sideways off the pitching rubber has left Dr. Mike with a pitching knee that needs replacing), but the pitchers can do what they want.

    I wish you well in rehabbing your shoulder, I tore my labrum two years ago and that was not a fun recovery. If you play next year, you’re always welcome back in Philadelphia.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 636 other followers

