Skip to content

There's some pitching going on.

May 2, 2008

Great starting pitching wins games, except, when the other teams starting pitchers are matching your guys. The rotation is coming along and the guys are starting to ramp it up. Any time you can be on a staff that sees each starter pushing the other, especially with a talented mix, great things happen and young pitchers get better faster.

John Farrell has positioned these guys in a way that they are all getting better, and will continue to do so. His teaching style is perfect, regardless of the student, and with the mix we have you could not ask for a better situation.

Josh is rounding into form, and I expect him to start running out there every 5th day and throw ‘can’t miss’ games more often than not. Jon Lester is getting it. His command is coming and when it does he’s going to be a force. Clay is just so damn natural you have a chance to see a 1-hit shut out any night he takes the ball. Dice is Dice. He’s got a year under his belt and is doing things that to me show he has learned and is continuing to learn how to get better here. Wake, well what can you say about Wake. He takes the ball every 5th day and you have a chance to win. Teams pay a premium for ONE guy like that on your staff.

Don’t fret the bullpen, every teams pen goes through stretches and ours is no different. They’ll figure it out and given how close Tuck has those guys they’ll do it together and this staff will start to do some pretty special things.

As far as offense goes, I know what I’ve watched. we’ve run up against some fantastic arms. I’ve thought Jason Shields was VERY good from the time I first saw him. Playing in Tampa means the world’s going to catch on to him later than others might. Doc was Doc, a horse and a stud. John matched him on a night when a lot of guys couldn’t and that was a great game. The McGowan kid has as electric an arm as any young pitcher in the game and on his good nights you’re lucky to scrap across 1-2 runs. A.J. is and always has been a no-hitter waiting to happen. I hope for our sake he never figures out that fastball command thing to any degree because if he does he takes it to another level.

Anyway, this team is going to hit, and score runs, and when it does I would bet the staff will be righted from front to back. Staying healthy is the key.

Rehab is going well. I am nearing that first day of throwing, just waiting impatiently to get the go ahead.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. princ3ss13 permalink
    May 2, 2008 2:33 pm

    Curt, I definitely think you’re right. The bullpen is loaded with talent and it’ll all come together. I was in Boston a few weeks ago to see you guys play the Yankees (my first trip to Fenway) and I am continually impressed by balance of vetern players and young guys willing to step up when needed. Can’t wait to see you on the mound again! I’ll be cheering for from my homestate of Virginia!

  2. May 2, 2008 2:35 pm

    Hopefully the starting pitching continues like it is and the bats come around at the same time so y’all can run off a nice little win streak.

    Continued success with your rehab.

  3. sharples permalink
    May 2, 2008 3:17 pm

    Mr. Schilling,

    This whole ongoing circus with Roger Clemens makes me appreciate your character and integrity more than ever. There have been other great players who are in your league talent-wise, but not many can match you as a person. I am so glad you became a member of my team! You are a player that every Red Sox fan can truly be proud of!

    You didn’t say it in your post, but I am sure you are spending some of your down time mentoring our young pitchers. I have seen both Lester and Buchholz improve as the season goes on. Keep talking to them!

    The hitting has me a bit concerned though. Is it really possible for 5 different pictures to throw their “A” games at us the past 5 games? Or are we helping them? Seems like a key to our success last year and earlier this year was running up pitch counts to get rid of the starter by the 6th inning…then feasting on the other team’s middle relief (a weak point on most teams). It troubles me to see recent pitchers go so deep in the game against us. Makes me wonder if we are not being disciplined and patient at the plate.

    Can’t wait to see you back on the mound toeing the rubber for us! You may have played more seasons in Philly, but you will always be a Red Sox to me!

  4. rachelciprotti permalink
    May 2, 2008 3:36 pm

    Good luck with that first day of throwing! I hope it comes soon and have all my fingers crossed that it goes very well.

    It’s been a really amazing string of games lately. Some incredible pitching from everybody.

    FYI: It’s Jon Lester, not John =)

  5. May 2, 2008 4:13 pm

    You are not kidding. Pitching has been fantastic! Esp. the last three or four games – they’ve been duels. Which makes for such exciting baseball!

    Looking forward to hearing updates on your first day of throwing! :)

  6. hardcoreraysfan42 permalink
    May 2, 2008 4:49 pm

    Curt, you’re great and I thank you for recognizing Sheilds as a beast, but it’s James not Jason. How do ya like the rays finally giving the sox some competition at the top?

  7. darrenpardee permalink
    May 2, 2008 5:41 pm

    Pitching related question: Which frustrates you more: An umpire with an inconsistent strike zone or a perfectly executed pitch that the batter just slaps out and gets lucky with?

  8. ricknp permalink
    May 2, 2008 7:52 pm

    Killing time here waiting out the rain delay. I definitely agree with hardcoreraysfan42 that it is great fun to see the Rays play so far in this young season. When the Red Sox aren’t the opponent, they definitely have my support. (BTW… his name is spelled Shields.)

  9. fenwayfranks permalink
    May 3, 2008 3:48 am

    The Rays are off to a good start but they don’t have depth to sustain. Which brings me to my question for Curt, does Masterson have a shot at the bigs this year or are they jusy gonna option him when players need rest? I thought with you in the rotation we had a good depth chart, but not so much now. I heard the rumors obout trading coco for Blanton from Oakland, would he be a good #5 when we shut Clay down for the year? One last question, I loved the fact that Delcarmen didn’t get traded this spring but as I watch him more I don’t see anything but a mid 90′s auto pitcher, meat fastballs, how good is he and what am I missing? Thanks Curt, get better soon we need ya!

  10. thedoctorx permalink
    May 3, 2008 4:24 am

    Hopefully with last night the bats have “woken up.”

    Good pitching from Clay–got into a few “scary” situations and pitched right out of them.

    –J.D.

  11. empirelady permalink
    May 3, 2008 6:07 am

    Dear Mr. Schilling,

    Please read this completely(even though you may not want to)as it is very important and seriously comes from my heart. Words cannot begin to express how thrilled I am to hear that your rehab is going well(something that I have been praying for)and that you will soon be throwing again. Your starting to throw is definitely a major milestone in the course of your recovery,and it is totally,completely understandable that they do not want to rush it. In terms of your thoughts,feelings,and emotions regarding throwing again(and I know that there is a range of emotions that you are feeling),there is nobody in this world who understands more than I do what you are going through. As I have written in the past on your blog,which you may or may not have read,I had been involved in a life threatening accident which totally shattered my ankle. My ankle,as a result of surgery,is being held together by a metal plate and nine screws(yes,nine!) and so I will admit that as a result I am permanently screwed. Anyway,for the first two months following the surgery,I was told that the ankle needed to heal,mend,so I was not allowed to put any weight on it at all;I spent the two months in a wheelchair and standing on one leg. During this time,I did not know whether I would be able to ever walk again,much like at the start of rehab you were not sure whether you would ever throw again. Finally came the time when I was told by the best orthopedic doctor/surgeon in New York City that I should try standing on it. My thoughts were much like those that I imagine you are feeling with the throwing-exciting to be finally able to do it,try to do it,very hopeful,and yet at the same I am sure that you have nerves as well(I was not sure if I would be able to stand and I am sure that you must have some thoughts about how your throwing will go,when you attempt it for the first time). Correct me if I am wrong,but I think that the anticipation of throwing for the first time,much like my walking for the first time,must be bringing a great deal of emotion that is not so easy to deal with. Well,so far your recovery seems to have mirrored that of mine(although I hope that yours will be much,much less time than mine was,and you are in much much better physical condition that I,not to mention that I am 48 so I have the age factor to deal with)so I will tell you the outcome. I did stand on the ankle and although I had great pain,I was standing. I attempted a few steps and although it was very difficult to do so,I was walking. It took months of rehab,using a walker and then a cane,to learn to walk again(and I hope that you will not need as long to recover once you start throwing)and while I will never be the same as I was(hopefully you will be back to your fantastic self) I am walking,something that I thought I would never be able to do. So I have total confidence that soon you will be throwing again and although it will take time once you start throwing to complete the rehab process,I am sure that you will be dynamite in the end,as you always have been. So,while this period in your rehab is bringing emotions of joy,anticipation,trepidation and some anxiety,hang in there,I have every reason to believe that it will go great when the time comes(and I look forward to hearing that you are throwing again,which will be cause for us to celebrate)and remember,you are not alone. I am here for you every step of the way and if ever there is anything that I can do for you,even just to talk,I am here for you always,for all time,24/7(and while I am currently in New York City,Boston is not that far and I do get there frequently). My thoughts are with you,as always,be well,continued best wishes for your recovery(as I said,I am looking forward to celebrating)and as I said at the start,please know that all of my thoughts come from my heart. Hang In There!

    Warmest Wishes,always,Donna Blanc at

    empirelady87@hotmail.com

  12. jeannasmom permalink
    May 3, 2008 7:30 am

    Curt, Can’t wait to see YOU back on the mound. Boston’s pitching has been great, but you are the one destined for the hall of fame. I can only get to a few games a year and my next ticket purchase depends on when you are back in the rotation. Best of luck with rehab!

  13. denisesoxfan permalink
    May 3, 2008 2:55 pm

    Hey Curt! I’m so encouraged to hear that you are closing in on the first day of throwing. Can’t wait to have you back in the starting rotation! Wishing you all the best.

    Denise

  14. mrdjk permalink
    May 3, 2008 4:59 pm

    Hi Curt, Great blog, I love hearing the thoughts of someone as respected as you right inside the game. Kinda reminds me of a book I read called “The Game” by Ken Dryden, (hockey though!) but in real time.

    Anyway, Im a Jay fan. I would have to say though that the Sox are my 2nd fave, simply because their fans are the way Ball fans should be. Must be a lot of fun playing there.

    I do think that the Jay rotation is the best in baseball now though. I think that the young guys with the Sox are good but are going to need another year in baseball. You can’t be too excited as a Sox hitter going against the Jays rotation of Halladay, Burnett, McGowan, Marcum and now Litsch. If we could only get our hitting going we would be right up there with your team.

    Itll happen soon.

    That was a great series we just played with you and the Sox pulling 2 out of 3 shows you they are going to be in it in the end.

    Whats your timetable to get back out there? Im looking forward to seeing you pitch and get back to the level we are used to seeing you pitch at!

  15. leo0from0me permalink
    May 4, 2008 7:45 am

    Curt – Hope the arm’s coming along as well as you’d like it to – I miss seein’ ole 38 sweating on the mound !

    I had an idea that’s probably been discussed before, but don’t know where to take it :

    Just as the NFL “projects” the line of scrimmage and the first down (yellow) line on the field, why can’t MLB project a “generalized” strike zone that shows the width of the plate, and the “average” heights for the top and bottom of the “average” player’s strike zone?

    Checking out the heights listed for the Sox batters, the mean height is 6’1″ (tough luck Dustin, but good things come in small packages !).

    If I can do this for the Sox I’m sure that a statician can do it for all of MLB

    and come up with one specific sized box for the TV channels to use.

    What do you think ?

    Leo

  16. May 4, 2008 8:27 am

    Congratulations on you and Shonda getting Ballparks named after you. You guys deserve it with all the work you do in the area. It would be a shame to loose your family after the season is over. Please consider staying…..you are a asset to the community

  17. May 4, 2008 10:08 am

    Get better soon Schill! I hope to see you on the mound when you and the boys are here in KC this August!

  18. May 4, 2008 4:33 pm

    I was at Sat nights game (it was cold as hell) and I’m very impressed with the last 7 starts by Red Sox pitching… 3 runs or less in all 7 starts…. amazing… We’re really started to roll now… Hopefully this can translate well in road games…

  19. dphillis permalink
    May 4, 2008 5:18 pm

    Wishes and prayers for your rehab. Your quotation from Proverbs in April was an inspiration for me and my ankle. I’m walking great, and have my eyes on my bicycle. What you wrote, made know I can only do what I can do (and pay attention to what I can’t…. temporarily).

  20. loisrgriswold permalink
    May 5, 2008 8:36 am

    Dear Curt,

    Greetings from OHIO…near Cincinnati…

    We really like it here in Ohio…people have been very welcoming to us. Our son in law got a new job in OHIO — so we all moved, to be close to our granddaughter, Emma. She’s a dolly and we have lots of fun here.

    We are making preliminary offers on the condo that we hope to buy. We hope to close in the next three months…we will be patient.

    We are in an apartment near Wyoming, OHIO for three months….Wyoming, OH is where we hope to live — they have very good schools.

    Hope to see you all in June — when you come to the Great American.

    My love to everyone there at Fenway…I miss you all and follow your progress. I’m so proud of you all. I’m praying for you all.

    Love,

    Lois (“Former Mom” to the Boston Red Sox — 12 years)

    Curt — please copy this message for the guys…Thanks..(“Mom”)

  21. May 5, 2008 3:00 pm

    i’m just glad the season has gotten momentum! i love knowing that when i get home, a game will be on.

    GO BO SOX!!!

  22. May 5, 2008 8:12 pm

    Hey Curt,

    I am totally stoked about our pitching so far this season. Everyone looks great and the rotation is good just like you said. I am glad that our bats got going, I thought I would have a stroke there for awhile. I almost took my husbands blood pressure meds. I am ok now.

    I am really happy that you are nearing your first day of throwing, good luck and I can’t wait to see you on he mound again I miss you not being up there on the mound. I wish you all the best and please tell the team that I feel another WS coming on.

    On a personal note please let Brandon know we are praying for a speedy recovery and we are glad that his surgery went well, I almost lost my son to the same surgery. His had ruptured and he was hiding the pain. I am a very lucky mom, and I am happy that Brandon is doing well.

    Good luck and God bless…

  23. techsoldaten permalink
    May 6, 2008 12:57 am

    Dear Curt -

    Excellent news to be back on the road to pitching in the majors. I cannot wait to see you pitch again and will be buying tickets to whatever game you choose to come back. I predict it will be you throwing a perfect game against the Yanks.

    You are an inspiration and your determination, faith and integrity keep me going. Keep it up!

    M

  24. dff13 permalink
    May 6, 2008 3:26 am

    Hi Curt.. I have written you before. I want nothing from you except verification that you are descended from Tom Montague Lindsey. He is descended from Thomas Jefferson Lindsey who had three wives. I am descended from his first wife, Rachel Malinda Edwards, and I think you are descended from his second wife, Hulda Jane Crow. That makes us some kind of cousins. I promise you I will not exploit this relationship. I just want to fill in my genealogy gaps. By the way, I loved you as a Diamondback and wish you still were. Also, I’m glad you are a republican. We need more of us. God’s blessings on your rehab.

    Donna Friedrichsen

    Sun City West. AZ

    kfriedrichsen@cox.net

  25. empirelady permalink
    May 6, 2008 5:03 am

    Words cannot begin to express how thrilled I was to hear that you will be throwing today. As I stated previously(#11 above)my thoughts and good wishes are with you now and always. I know that you still have a long way still to go with rehab but this is a major milestone and I am with you every step of the way. As for you describing it as being at the base of a mountain,climb the mountain and I look forward to hearing that you have reached the top of the mountain! I know in my heart that you will reach the top of the mountain and will be able to shout from the top of the mountain that you are there! Good luck today,all the best always,and do let me know how it goes. My thoughts are with you…

    Donna Blanc at empirelady87@hotmail.com

  26. May 6, 2008 5:36 am

    Curt, I see in the news this morning that you’re scheduled to throw for the first time today. Good luck, and here’s hoping you don’t have any pain. My thoughts will be with you.

  27. May 6, 2008 6:09 am

    Curt, you were quoted (regarding Roger Clemens) in the Globe with the following statement:

    “We [mess] up the same things you do, we make the same mistakes, a lot of times we make worse ones because we have a lot more at our disposal to make our mistakes. I think a lot of it is people assume that because you have more, you want less. Obviously that’s not the case for a lot of people. All of this stuff coming out, I don’t know if it’s just a feeding frenzy. It’s at a time when you don’t know what to believe. Do you believe some, all, none? How can you tell? That stuff just snowballs.”

    You have not commented much (if at all) here regarding that entire situation but I would like to point something out, which I am sure you are already aware. There is a verse in the Christian bible (Luke 12:48) that states:

    New American Standard Bible (©1995)

    “but the one who did not know it, and committed deeds worthy of a flogging, will receive but few. From everyone who has been given much, much will be required; and to whom they entrusted much, of him they will ask all the more.”

    You and other people in the public eye are given much and should be held up as examples, period. Should you be heroes to my children? No. I should. However, you (speaking in general terms of those who have “been given much”) need to be that much more concerned and aware of your actions.

    Clemens knew better. This was no “accident.” He didn’t just fall into this mess. He made the mess and now has to deal with the consequences. Are some of the accusations false? Perhaps. (However, I think that there is likely much more truth to all of this than falsehood.) Given that, Clemens should have never placed himself in the position to be blamed like this. He has given this patronizing “apology” and it’s disgusting.

    He gets no free pass on this one just because he is just like the rest of us and makes “mistakes,” Curt.

    I am not a Christian but raised both of my children with the thought that “to whom much is given, much is required.” We all have to own up to our faults and not make excuses by calling our lousy decision making and amoral/immoral decisions “mistakes.” A mistake is when I add/subtract something incorrectly in my checkbook. It was not done with intent… What Clemens did was with intent…

    Please, please, please… call it like it is, Curt. You shoot straight as an arrow. Continue to do so.

    Imo, forgiveness is not required but can be granted ONLY when the person who has offended contritely requests it. Clemens, because he has been given much, owes not only his wife, children, and those with whom he had affairs (and their families) a real apology – but he owes the rest of us and needs to knock it off. The Clemens Charade has gone on long enough…

    Chaiah

    (ToofarawayfromBoston)

  28. ctsoxnation permalink
    May 6, 2008 7:26 am

    Good luck today Curt!

    Hope all goes well.

  29. dahouse292 permalink
    May 8, 2008 9:11 am

    its JAMES shields and dustin MCGOWAN. and they are both better than you, so i think you should know their names.

    and your comments about the bosox pitching are ridiculous-

    dice-k walked 8 GUYS LAST GAME. he walks a ton and therefore isnt as good as everyone says. wakefield isnt a guy that u can go out and win everytime. not even close. 1 game he will go out and throw a shutout, the next he will give up 6-7 runs because he doesnt even know where his pitch is going. lester and buccholz, very young, if history has taught me anything, its that major league hitters will figure them out very very soon. Beckett is the only reliable guy in the rotation right now and face it, other than okajima and papelbon, the bullpens a joke. now will all u bosox fans get off of phil hughes’s blog and stop making retarded comments? thank u

  30. 2244slayer permalink
    June 18, 2008 4:13 pm

    6-7 runs is better than what old Schill can do at this point. Schilling really needs to “hang ‘em up.” Plus, the RED PAINT scandal is embarassing. As an American, faking/cheating should be frowned upon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 638 other followers

