Skip to content

Curts Pitch 4 ALS GOES GLOBAL!

March 22, 2008

I had the privelage of meeting ALS patients and their families at the Tokyo Dome this morning prior to the exhibition game. There are 8,000 known ALS patients living in Japan. I would guess that there are 75% of that number living here undiagnosed as well.

The chapter has been here since 1986 and works in relative obscurity, which is unfortunate. We’re going to see if we can’t change that in 2008.

Curts Pitch 4 ALS is a program started 17 years ago. Basically Shonda and I donate $100 dollars per strikeout, and $1000 per win to the local ALS Chapter(s). What started as a program to benefit the Philadelphia ALS chapter run by our extraordinary friend and tireless advocate Ellyn Phyllips has now grown to encompass the Arizona and Boston Chapters of ALS.

The 2008 season, forgive the pun, of Curts Pitch has been thrown a curve. My shoulder problems are going to prevent me from pitching for quite a bit of the first half of the season. We were trying to find a way to insure that the local chapters don’t suffer because of this, and continue to raise money and awareness at the same time.

What I decided is this. Shonda and I will make donations to each of the chapters based on statistics of one of the local pitchers, you can see who I picked on the right. I have not spoken to any of these guys so they are probably not aware of this just yet. If they get involved great, but I would imagine they are likely already committted to charities of their own. No matter! We will donate to their chapters, and in 2008 we are adding the Japanese Chapter of ALS to the mix and will be donating to them based on Daisukes stats for the upcoming season!

In the very near future I will provide a link to a page that will allow fans of these players/teams to sign up for Curts Pitch to benefit the Chapter of their choice. I am hopeful that we can generate a massive amount of awareness for ALS in Japan as well, as I was told today none of the Japanese players is involved with ALS, and the ties are just too strong between the game and the disease to not try and make that happen.

In the meantime, anyone wishing to contribute or get involved with the Japanese ALS chapter please check out

67 Comments leave one →
  1. suesox permalink
    March 22, 2008 6:17 am

    Very, very cool!

  2. flsoxfan permalink
    March 22, 2008 7:36 am

    Awesome Curt. I think that is tremendous the way you are going be using stats from 4 different pitchers through out the year for the local chapters of ALS.

    You could also be on the hook for a much larger overall donation this year as it looks like you picked the staff aces for the 2 teams (both of Bostons aces), but I also know that you don’t care about that.

    Good luck with your rehab, I hope you are able to play some games this year. Good luck with 38 Studios as well, I have a feeling my brother may play your games when they come out (I don’t play bc I am worried about getting to hooked and not spending enough time with my family, so I don’t tempt it).

    God Bless you and your family and happy Easter,

    FlSoxfan

  3. March 22, 2008 7:48 am

    Very cool idea to work around the injury and yet continue to keep the donations going on an even bigger basis.

    Have a lovely Easter!

  4. Yankee 2.0 permalink
    March 22, 2008 8:08 am

    Very impressive – and you picked guys who are going to make you write pretty big checks! By my ‘in my head’ count, $145,000 if they match last year’s stats!

    Yankee 2.0

    http://yankee20.wordpress.com

  5. wonkawillie77 permalink
    March 22, 2008 11:27 am

    Good for you. Anything else you can do to pat yourself on the back?
    You are nothing but an oportunistic a-hole.
    I notice it is no problem to sign autographs when the cameras are rolling.
    When I asked you two weeks ago in City of Palms Park to sign a baseball you were way to busy. Doing what? You stepped into a store room that was accesible from the locker room and the outside concession area as I came in from there.
    Anyone I have ever talked to has said the same thing about you but I didn’t believe them…well I guess I was wrong.
    Take you WS rings, your bloody sock and your bad shoulder and shove them where the sun doesn’t shine. You pompous, egotistical a-hole!
    And that goes for your snotty wife, too!

    Boy I sure regret not giving a nice, kind, caring, compassionate and mature individual like you an autograph. My loss I guess. FWIW I remember this and you caught me in the middle of about 16 different things, not that it matters that much but I remember very politely telling you I was in the middle of doing something and I’d catch you as I left the park that morning. I don’t remember you responding to me in the above manner. Keyboard muscles?

  6. soxkensr permalink
    March 22, 2008 1:23 pm

    Curt,

    Your dedication to those of us with ALS is unprecedented, and I for one truly appreciate your commitment to my cause. Although ALS and baseball generally go hand in hand, there are only a few players (you and Mike T come to mind) that are willing to put their name on a disease that has such an unfortunate outcome.

    I am trying to raise ALS to a more known disease by riding my wheelchair from Orlando, FL to Washington, DC and will be wearing my Schilling jersey’s several days on the road for inspiration. We (my wife and I) will be leaving Orlando on April 19, 2008 and traveling through 5 states with the hope of getting to DC by May 11, 2008 for a wreath laying ceremony at the Tomb of the Unknowns to honor the Veterans that may have died from ALS.

    Thanks again for everything,
    Ken P
    kensr@kensjourney.com

  7. March 22, 2008 5:46 pm

    Very sweet! I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for the links to the local chapters, Curt. Hopefully, this will encourage a player in Japan to become involved. Chaiah (ToofarawayfromBoston)

  8. redsoxfanz permalink
    March 22, 2008 9:47 pm

    Curt,

    A heartfelt thank you for what you have done and what you continue to do on behalf of ALS. I lost my grandfather to the disease almost 10 years ago. At the time he was diagnosed, I had never even heard the acronym “ALS”. The disease was known to me only as Lou Gehrig’s Disease.

    Your financial contributions are admirable, but when I truly appreciate is your willingness to use your celebrity status to raise ALS awareness. Writing “K ALS” on your cleat was a simple, no-cost, and powerful message that reached millions of people across the world.

    I’ll proudly wear my Schilling t-shirt again at this year’s Positive Spin for ALS bike ride.

    Thank you.

  9. empirelady permalink
    March 23, 2008 12:27 am

    This is a message and reply to wonkawillie77,who left the message posted as number five. How dare you turn something like this into something that is all about YOU! For starters,do you have any idea of what this disease does to people? I have a friend who has the disease and this man,who was once a very prominent businessman,cannot even go to the bathroom by himself. This disease slowly takes away,strips the body of everything,so that not only can he not walk or do things for himself,but he is now finding it very difficult to speak,and soon will not be able to talk at all. While all of this is going on,his mind continues to function perfectly. That said,there is very little that someone like that has to live for but there is one bright spot, in the name of Curt Schilling. He has dedicated his life to helping people with this disease and to try to make life better for them,in any way that he can. Not only is he donating great sums of money financially to something that he believes in,and spending time,making time out of his own schedule to be with people who suffer constantly with the disease but when his own injury prevented him from donating money in the way that he wants to,he came up with another way to do it. In spite of his own injury and the problems that he is facing,he is continuing to help others,other human beings. There is nothing greater or more beautiful than someone wanting to take the time and the caring to help others,and Curt Schilling is a beautiful caring human being. By the way,you cannot compare your getting an autograph with what the people with ALS are going through;they may have gotten to meet Curt and have one day of happiness but if you consider what they have to deal with every day,sorry but I have no sympathy for you. Sure,we would all like to have a Curt Schilling autograph,or get to meet him in person,myself included,but I would never take away from the pleasure that these people will have,as they suffer every day far more greater than you or I ever will. You may have issues with Curt,which appear to be unfounded(I am sure that he had a good reason not to give you an autograph-and Curt,if you see this,you can respond)but posting it at this time was not the time or place to do so. At a time when he is talking about people suffering with a horrendous disease,that will never get better,only worse,and talking about what he is going to do to help the people who suffer every day,live with it every day,for you to turn it into being about you and how you did not get a #$#$% autograph truly disgusts me,turns my stomach. I do not agree with you trashing him in the first place but to do so after this posting is being truly unfeeling. Anyone who puts themselves first in a situation like this and makes it all about them,as you have is exactly what you called Curt-a pompous,egotistical, a-hole. I am too polite to say what I am truly thinking,so I will end this,but let me say that you truly make me physically ILL. I do not know how many more years I have on this earth,as I am 48 years old,but in the time I have left,I hope that I never run into someone like you,who has such total diregard for human life and suffering. Note: Curt,if you read this,I would appreciate it if you would give a response,to me,and would be very much interested to hear your thoughts on the matter.
    Donna,in New York City;empirelady87@hotmail.com

  10. March 23, 2008 3:25 am

    Curt

    Good on ya. If I were a Sox Fan I would have the Schilling jersey. Cant say I hope you beat the yankees as I am a Yankee fan. But I hope with your kind of work we can beat ALS. Lou Gehrig would be proud.
    Steve

  11. March 23, 2008 5:05 am

    5 wonkawillie77, so is that what the NYY are for playing Virginia Tech? Apprently, according to your asinine definition, fool.

  12. March 23, 2008 5:07 am

    5 wonkawillie77, and one more thing… with that attitude, Curt is smart for not autographing anything for you.

  13. treerex permalink
    March 23, 2008 6:55 am

    Curt,

    I lost my father to ALS in October 1994: it is a horrible disease and the work that you and your family do on behalf of research to combat it is admirable and very much appreciated.

    Good luck on the season, and enjoy Japan!

    TreeRex, Worcester

  14. neet76 permalink
    March 23, 2008 10:46 am

    Schill is due for his first weigh-in on the trip. Unable to pitch, he stands to make an extra $2 million in incentives if he comes in below weight for each of his six weigh-ins. Barring that, he can stay here, go summo, and hope the people give him his weight in gold on his birthday.

    CARE TO COMMENT ON HOW IT SOUNDS FROM A PRINCIPAL STANDPOINT TO COLLECT $ 2 MILLION IN INCENTIVES EVEN THOUGH YOU ARE NOT GOING TO PITCH A SINGLE PITCH until atleast aust 15th and that is optimistic.

    IT MAKES ME SICK FROM AN ETHICS STANDPOINT WHAT YOU ARE DOING TO THE SOX..Its like me collcting a bonus from my company even if I did not work for a single day for that year

    My e-mail address is ntimble@earthlink.net. you don’t need to post it here if your ego is hurt that someone can criticisize you and you can post only the praises here.

  15. March 23, 2008 5:58 pm

    Hi Curt, I am hosting a fundraising event in my community as a benefit for “ALS”. I am so excited that we have sold over 650 tickets for our event. Can you please tell me how I might be able to get an item signed by you to be placed in our Silent Auction? Our organization is located in Bucks County Pennsylvania and we were big fans of yours when you were a Philadelphia Phillie. I hope so much you might be able to help us. Check out our website to see all the details of our May 10th event.
    Thanks so much for your consideration….please show this poster above that their comments are ridiculous and you are not giving yourself a pat on the back. This illness is just horrific and needs all of our help to find a cure. Thank you so much,
    Lizzie
    http://www.threearches.info

  16. billyerin permalink
    March 23, 2008 9:01 pm

    wonkawilly, i started reading your post, its unfortuante that i cant get back the 5 mins of my life i waisted reading your sewage. im not going here to defend curt, because hes a big boy and doesnt need defending at this time from yourself. however, my wifes aunt is losing her life to this awefule disease. in the past 4 years we have seen her lose her ability to walk, move her arms and yes and is now having issues with breathin. whats more aweful about this is, she/they will lose everything but there mind. there mind will be awake and functioning when they will die. they have been handed a death sentance for no reason. this woman was a nurse at mass general hospital and dealt with patients just like herself.

    curt and his team curts pitch is doing wonderful things, getting the word out about this disease, i can tell you this… it wasnt a big topic around boston before he got here. ive got the pleasure of seeing curt at 2 als functions, the last one at the marriot long wharf in boston….no media, no hoopla, no cameras….yes he did sign balls , hats etc…but yet there wasnt any media there. from what you say he only does this for a pat on the back???

    the schillings revamped a play gound in medfield, to put trees and shades arond so others wont get skin cancer…where was the media for that?? they also did this in Az as well …..where was the media for that???

    now wonka, just because you didnt get an autograph from curt, oh well life will go on. well atleast yours will.

    folks remember everyone has a right to his or her opinion, its called free speach wonkwilly77 is expressing his, be greatful we have this right….sorry about all the typos !!!

    billy t BTan99@aol.com

  17. warbler44 permalink
    March 23, 2008 10:34 pm

    maybe stem cell reserch may provide relief to those that are suffering.

  18. jehb02 permalink
    March 24, 2008 8:43 am

    Curt, I Think it is awsome that you picked other great pitchers to base your donation on.

  19. jonnyjbones permalink
    March 24, 2008 8:43 am

    Keyboard muscles! That was great. WTF is an adult doing getting autographs anyway? If my little boy ever decides he wants an autograph then he can ask for himself. I mean I’ll help him but I think it should be up to him to ask his hero to sign something. Or am I way off base here?

  20. March 24, 2008 10:07 am

    Good stuff as always Curt. I know the folks at the MA Chapter will be very excited about this news!

    Plans for the 5th annual 100 Innings event are almost finalized. I’ll let you know when things are concrete so we can start spreading the word.

    Best,
    Mike
    http://www.100innings.com

  21. rsbatboy permalink
    March 24, 2008 3:31 pm

    Curt,

    I had the opportunity to shadow you at an event in November for a few hours. I don’t know how you do it? Autographs, autographs, autographs. I wasn’t even signing and I was ready to kill myself. You got no break. Everywhere you turned you had someone shoving something in your face to sign.

    It was absolutely ridiculous! You did the best you could and I still don’t know how you did it!

    Now I know what happened to your shoulder this off season.

    No break from continueously having to sign, sign, sign your autograph!

    RS Nation: Give the players a break, will you. before you run them all out of town!

  22. ghostlab permalink
    March 24, 2008 4:29 pm

    That’s a great idea to leverage support and awareness for the different chapters with the different starters. In addition to all the front line work that the chapters do, if you could find a 5th starter for your rotation, perhaps he could pitch for an ALS research fund of some kind. Wherever a cure could come from, we need it as soon as possible.
    ALS is a horrible disease. I watched a relative slowly die from ALS when I was a teenager. Seeing someone in long term care and knowing that things will only get worse, it’s so hard. Thank you for raising money to help people in this fight.

  23. prcinwbro permalink
    March 24, 2008 4:39 pm

    Curt,

    May you be richly blessed for your generosity.

    However, I wonder if you will run into any conflict of interest in the June games where the Red Sox may face those pitchers from Arizona and Philadelphia.

    I hope you are back on the mound soon with this awesome and together team!

    PRC

  24. rjh95 permalink
    March 24, 2008 7:22 pm

    dude can u please put rjh95.wordpress.com and mejh1.wordpress.com on your blog roll. I’m your hugest fan. You’re so so so so so so so so so so so so awesome.
    please comment on those sites

  25. bristolsox permalink
    March 24, 2008 8:05 pm

    Wonkawillie77 seems like an IDIOT I am sure Red Sox players can’t sign all the autographs requested of them due to time restaints or bad day etc. I remember a few years ago a buddy and myself saw Manny getting out of his Big old Mercadez behind fenway I yelled Manny Knock one out of the park tonight He looked right at me and my buddy and waved. That was cool that he even heard me because everyone was making alot of noise etc. People should cut the players some slack they are playing in the biggest baseball town in the country were people hound them day in and day out. Yes they do make big bucks but they earn it to. Curt the 8mil your getting this year you will find a way to earn it even if you never pitch a game this year. The advice you give to young pitchers is priceless. I wish there were more people like you who work hard for groups like ALS.

  26. cdaniels1 permalink
    March 24, 2008 10:03 pm

    Hey Curt:

    Thanks for the championships, the work you do with ALS, and all the fantastic memories you have provided us fans throughout the years. I am really looking forward to this season! I wanted to ask you, have you ever heard of this guy, Dr. Mike Marshall in FL? I just saw a piece on his clinic on “Real Sports with Bryant Gumbal”. He has a pitching method that supposedly reduces arm injuries of major league pitchers like yourself. Just wondering what you thought of his techniques and whether or not you think you can bring the 90+ heat with his method. Thanks. -Chris in Albuquerque, NM

  27. warbler44 permalink
    March 25, 2008 6:50 am

    what happened to j d drew?…..i thought he was going to be the next mickey mantle….his head must be small these days..

  28. avidsoxfan permalink
    March 25, 2008 7:39 am

    Thank you, Mr Schilling. Having a mom that was just diagonsed with ALS a month ago, it warms my heart to know that there are caring, thoughtful, and generous people out there, such as you, helping to fight this terrible disease. My mom is 78 and never in a million years did I ever think that she, or anyone in my family, would be affected by this. It kills me to know that she is going to suffer and the one person I talk to everyday will someday not be there. I often wonder how am I and my family going to get through this. People like you and Mr Timlin are a Godsend. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for your support. I will be helping at the Sharon Timlin Road Race in June and I hope to meet you and shake your hand.

    God Bless and a speedy recovery to you.

    Chris

  29. pitpat71 permalink
    March 25, 2008 11:01 am

    I’m amazed as to what lengths people will go to try to set themselves apart from the rest of herd and resort to attacking any and all things regarding Curt Shilling.

    I’m not sure what exactly their inner dialogue is, or even their twisted logic, but the motivation seems pretty clear. It’s obvious they’ve spent way too many years on this Earth being unheralded and unnoticed by the rest of us because all they’ve ever really accomplished in life has been perfecting the art of being unremarkable.

    Sadly Curt, your blog allows people a chance to unload all their anger at you for becoming what they’ve only dreamed of becoming, and thier envy is so transparent that it almost ruins my enjoyment of your blogs.

    I have my own issues with wanting to becoming more than I am, but I’ll be damned if I resort to taking a shit all over your tireless efforts at finding a cure for ALS to make my pathetic attempt at life seem a bit more rosy.

    As a fan of you as a ball player, and even more so as a person, I kindly request you stop allowing these haters to post. This is your blog and those of us who read it do so because we’re interested in what you have to say. This is your fourm, not a substitute for psychotherapy for some underacheiving ream head with a bug up his ass against the world.

  30. baseballfan48 permalink
    March 25, 2008 2:27 pm

    Curt, it is a very good thing that you are doing with the ALS. Hopefully you can get more pitchers to help you. If you want a lot of money donated try to ask Johan Santana to contribute. He’ll get a lot of strikeouts!

  31. markiemark22079 permalink
    March 25, 2008 4:54 pm

    Curt,

    You have got to be one of the greatest if not the greatest guy on the face of this earth !!! Most people would have been like what the hell, But not you. You and your wife have to really be honored for what you too do for the ALS cause. Most guys would have taken the cheap way out and just waited till they pitched in the second half to start to donate, But like I have already said NOT YOU TOO….So ill end this here, but GOOD things Come to Those with the Heart of Gold like Yours. I have a feeling that the man upstairs will be looking down over you getting that shoulder of yours ready to have the GREATEST second Half Of the Year that you have ever had in all your years in baseball and boy do YOU Deserve it…..Good Luck Getting Better wheather you pitch or not this year, Just Get Yourself Healthy and Come Back When YOU KNOW YOU ARE READY, NOT WHEN SOMEONE ELSE THINKS YOUR READY……lol lol

    Good Luck and God Bless you St. Curt…..

  32. qrnm156 permalink
    March 25, 2008 5:43 pm

    Good job on splitting things up among guys who should get you some pretty sweet numbers (and money!). While I am a Yankees fan and hold fairly opposite political views I still enjoy reading your blog–I have a load of friends that are Sox fans and I blame them for this as well as for me owning a Josh Beckett t-shirt. ;)

  33. bosox4eva permalink
    March 26, 2008 11:12 am

    What a Tool WonkaWillie77 is!! I am embarassed for his family. You have done so much for RSN, your Community and more importantly , people who are less fortunate. To attack your wife, verbally is uncalled for and unexcusable. You and Shonda (an absolutely beautiful woman, both inside and out) have blessed us here in Boston and all around the World, with all you do. Thank You and God Bless. To all the people who have friends or family struggling with ALS, Thank God you have a “True Warrior” in your corner, that will hopefully make the fight a bit easier to bear.

  34. mannyramirez1 permalink
    March 26, 2008 5:45 pm

    That’s awesome, Curt! This will really spreads the word about ALS.
    You’re response to willie wonka (the toolbag above) actually made me laugh out loud!

    I hope you’re coming along with your rehab, I can’t wait to see you out on the field again and depending on how much notice we get, I want to fly up to see you pitch.

    I’ll be there at Fenway’s opening day. My son and I are camping out to get (crosses fingers) game day tickets. Be a pal and come by with coffee : D
    So excited to see you guys!

    Peace

  35. March 26, 2008 5:56 pm

    It is amazing how full of jerks this world is. I love what you do Curt and what you have done for the Sox. Do not listen ot these morons or even give them the time of day.

  36. conncase permalink
    March 27, 2008 4:46 am

    Curt,

    Love your response to wonkawillie!! Years ago when I was a kid, my fathers best friend passed away due to complications from ALS. It is a devastating disease and it cripples families.

    Best wishes on a speedy recovery. Looking forward to seeing you on the mound when ready.

    soxkensr, God bless and good luck on your journey

  37. warbler44 permalink
    March 27, 2008 7:19 am

    jerks that support wars they won’t fight themselves..

  38. rhielm permalink
    March 27, 2008 4:43 pm

    My dad died of ALS in April of 1992. I was 7 years old, one of my happiest memories with my dad while he was sick was watching the Twins win the Word Series the October before he died. Anytime somebody does something to benefit ALS research, it warms my heart and makes me happy. Thank You, Mr. Schilling. Don’t stop doing what you do to bring an end to this awful disease.

  39. March 28, 2008 1:46 am

    Leave it to you to find a great solution to the problem. Way to go.

  40. emichalopoulos permalink
    March 28, 2008 2:11 am

    I’d be ashamed to be that person (willywonka). Not kissing your tail, but just wanted to say, Curt, you’ve done nothing but great things for the community since you’ve come to Boston. As a life-long Sox fan and New Englander it means a lot. Thank you and get back to that mound, we need number 3!

    To Willywonka: Shut your pie hole. His job is to play baseball and go about it professionally, not sign your stinkin’ ball. Everything else he does is OPTIONAL. Go buy yourself a Pacman Jones jersey so you can celebrate each other’s selfishness, maybe you can get HIS autograph while getting a lap dance or “making it rain”.

    http://www.dictionary.com
    Optional
    op-tion-al
    –adjective
    1. left to one’s choice; not required or mandatory: Formal dress is optional.
    2. leaving something to choice.

    Signing autographs, giving his hard earned money to a good cause, being personable, and being a positive role model = optional

    THANKS AGAIN!

  41. lynnmau22 permalink
    March 28, 2008 8:42 am

    Curt, Just a quick question I am wondering about, if you would be so kind . Why are you and Shonda selling your house? Hope you are not leaving the area. L

  42. March 30, 2008 9:03 am

    Curt, I saw on the news that you are selling your house as well. I know this is your last season with the Sox, but I hope you would reconsider staying in the area. Are you moving back to Arizona? Anyways I love all the work you have done in the area and thank you for the way you have treated us fans

  43. cardsox04 permalink
    March 30, 2008 6:21 pm

    Now that you have put your house on the market, you should do an “open house” fund raiser. Have a weekend where peopel can tour the house for a certain ticket price. Could raise a lot of $.

  44. dhaines permalink
    March 30, 2008 7:13 pm

    Curt.
    Anyone who doesn’t think you are a dedicated and caring person should put their money where their mouth is and that would make the Chapter grow huge.

  45. redsox4eva permalink
    March 30, 2008 8:53 pm

    even tho im just a kid ur already the man i look up 2. thank u.

  46. skinnyman2007 permalink
    March 31, 2008 9:02 pm

    Curt A friend of Mine sent me this email and this viedo is simply amazing!!!!!. When you check this out foward this to as many people you know. This viedo really touched my heart Curt.
    http://flashdemo.net/gallery/wake/index.htm This will touch your heart. Let me know what you think.

    From, Jeff

  47. redsox4eva permalink
    April 1, 2008 4:56 pm

    good luck 2 ur team 2nite!

  48. yankeeguy0242 permalink
    April 2, 2008 12:31 am

    sry for the last post let me start over hello mr schilling. I am 18 years old and have been a baseball fan all my life. I have spent the ast 7 years hating you but I, at this moment, find myself having more respect for you than any one right now. I have not agreed with many things that you have said in the past and I know this has nothing to do with your original post, but I wanted ti let you know that I am so happy for standing up to Jose Conseco. The guy is going to ruin this country’s favorite sport and someone needs to stick up to him. Thank you so much. Now although I am and will always be a yankee fan I will no longer not show you the respect that you deserve for being a stand up figure in baseball through this incident.

  49. havefundoingood permalink
    April 2, 2008 7:59 am

    Curt,

    Great stuff. Heal up soon. What you and Shonda do to generate awareness and raise support is so very important and valuable to so many.

    On a smaller scale, I am involved in a local group that raises money to support kids scholastically and athletically. The Red Sox, thru one of their sponsors, has granted us permission to host the 07/04 trophies for a fundraising event. We are expecting a few thousand from Danvers, MA and area communities to show up. My thought was, since you probably won’t be going to Clev on 4/15, if you and or Shonda wanted to come out, we’d set up a table for you to offer autographs for a donation to ALS or SHADE.

    Drop me a line if you are interested and I can fill you in on the details.

    Keep pitching, on and off the field because you make a difference.

    Dick Taylor – dickeit@mac.com

  50. bosox4eva permalink
    April 2, 2008 8:22 am

    After, the game last night, was the first I heard about the “Canseco Chronicles. ” Is it me or is he like a small child who is not getting enough attention ? It doesn’t matter what kind of attention, as long as they’re getting it. Every week he’s complaining about somebody different. The thing that kills me the most, is that he’s guilty of 99% of the crap, he’s always accusing others of. I guess the old adage of “People in Glass Houses shouldn’t throw Stones”doesn’t mean anything to him.As for what he said about A-Rod, the 2 of them have all the Morals of an Alley Cat, so it’s anybodys guess who’s telling the truth. Sure, A-Rod will always be known as, an amazing ballplayer, but not a man of great character. Canseco, he can claim neither. Then we have people like Tek, Schill, Wake, Timlin, Lowell and many other Sox Players, who can claim both. They are why we are so proud to be members of RSN. We have a group of players, that give back just as much as they receive. I know Canseco, will be on WAAF, tommorow morning, and I can’t wait to hear what L.B. and Greg Hill, have to say to him. They were all amped up about it this morning, so it should make for a hilarious commute.

  51. April 2, 2008 8:50 am

    Once again you have gone above and beyond for the people in these communities. You are a class act and are a role model for all.

    I am so happy you decided to finish your career in Boston. Thank you for all you have done and continue to do.

    I hope you don’t let idiots like that willywonka guy who posted earlier in this discussion discourage you. I can assure you he is in the extreme minority. Idiots like that are a waste of perfectly good air.

  52. mannysps2 permalink
    April 2, 2008 12:46 pm

    I just wanted to say that a few years ago I called out “G38″ when you were tossing warmups in the BP in Chicago and you looked up, winked and tipped your cap. This was a day you pitched (I’m sure you won, because the Red Sox swept that series)…

  53. April 2, 2008 5:19 pm

    curt,
    you sure can attract the maggots of the world. I think you are doing a good job for charities and baseball.
    good luck on your rehab.

  54. humano53 permalink
    April 2, 2008 7:23 pm

    I don’t know any other was to contact you and I’d like to know how to request help from the Shade Foundation.

    I just read a story of a 7 month old boy in Puerto Rico (El Nuevo Dia Newspaper) who suffers from a rare skin disease.

    Jadahi Hommy Galíndez suffers from a rare skin condition that keeps him constantly at risk. Epidermolysis bullosa, dominant dystrophic is a rare disease that causes blisters all over the body. When the blisters burst the skin goes with it. The baby is being treated as a burn victim. The health plans DO NOT cover this genetic condition…parents spend $2K a month. The raw skin must be protected by bandages as infection could happen and he would then have an 80% chance of dying.

    If you think the foundation can help I’d be happy to provide you with a full translation of the article. I do not know these people but I think I know a little bit of you. I’ve felt your heart and compassion. As I read about this poor child you were the only person that came to mind. I don’t have a lot of money but I think this note to you might help them as well.

    Thank you for taking the time to read this.

    BTW. I do hope you heal in time for the All Star break. We are all behind you!

    El pequeño de siete meses padece de epidermólisis bullosa distrófica dominante, una rara condición que le provoca bolsas de agua en su cuerpo y que al vaciarse le dejan la piel en carne viva.

  55. amy4kids permalink
    April 2, 2008 10:21 pm

    Hi, Curt!

    This is my very first post here, although I have been a frequent reader since 38pitches. was born! I hope we get a new “blog entry” from you soon, with your always insightful thoughts, on the back-to-back wins in Oakland. Dice-K looked fabulous! What a great outing for him. I was very pleased, indeed. Just wanted to say this is a very special connection that you have with us, your dedicated fans. The selfless work you do, both you and Shonda, for ALS is absolutely incredible. I know firsthand how busy life can get with four kids…we have 3 boys and a girl as well. God bless you and your family, Curt. Hope your rehab/recovery process, albeit a slow one, I’m sure, is moving along well. GO BOSOX!

  56. thedoctorx permalink
    April 3, 2008 1:01 am

    I think we have determined that wonkawillie77 is Jose Canseco . . . and neet76 is his latest leech. Apparently she has never actually read your blog, else she would realize people who have written far worse get posted. The desire to “PWN” a celebrity must burn within them.

    Nevertheless, kudos for your work in raising awareness of and $$$ for ALS. Far more good than either of those idiots have ever done.

    –J.D.

  57. enderandrew permalink
    April 3, 2008 9:10 am

    While everyone is busy accusing you of being greedy and selfish, in reality you took a pay cut this year, and you’re concerned that local ALS chapters won’t be getting money if you’re not pitching. I recall an SI interview you did some years back (I think it was SI) when you said that personally you thought it was pretty crazy that you made $10 million a year (at that time) where as your kid’s teacher made $25k a year. I don’t believe for a moment that it was ever really about the money for you, and I think your true character does show.

    I’ve been a BoSox fan since I was 6 years old. For my 30th birthday in a few weeks, my wife bought us plain tickets to Boston and got us seats for Yankees-Sox. We’ve seen the Sox play in places like Anaheim and KC (we went down to see your first game back from injury in KC because we’re both big fans of yours) but we’ve never been to Fenway. A big reason we root for the Sox has nothing to do with geography, but rather because of the character of the organization as opposed to other ball clubs.

    I almost feel bad asking (especially in this thread) but it just came up in conversation the other day. My wife and I were talking about the upcoming trip with her buddies in the College Republicans meeting, and in turns out several of them are also big fans. They’re currently doing fundraisers for the various chapters here in Nebraska. Is there any chance you might be able to donate perhaps an autographed ball or something we could auction for the Nebraska College Republicans? Specifically my wife is in the UNO chapter. If you’d be willing, you can email me at enderandrew@gmail.com

    And lastly (sorry this is such a long post) I’d love to see you help this team win another ring, and you’re such a dominant post-season pitcher that I believe you really can, but at the same time your health for the rest of your life is important. You already pulled some heroics once with your ankle. Make sure you do take care of yourself this time around.

    Thanks!

  58. brendinater permalink
    April 3, 2008 11:08 am

    Neet – just curious but if you had it worked into your contract that you would earn a certain amount of money if you reached and achieved certain goals, would you then refuse this money if you felt you did not deserve it? Would you (or, even better, have you ever) refused money from an employer?

  59. pilatesgirl permalink
    April 3, 2008 3:00 pm

    Keep it up Curt.

    As for comment 14 neet76, you are wasting your time trying to get this ball players attention. Not only do you post a negative comment where it clearly doesn’t belong, you tag on your e mail address and a bad picture of yourself to boot. Good thing Curt’s beautiful and witty wife has a sense of HUMOR!

  60. tahoesoxfan permalink
    April 3, 2008 8:14 pm

    Hey Curt, you dont sneak into the stands ar RedSox games do you ? Check out this guy next to me at the A’s game Thursday.

    http://picasaweb.google.com/rfugitt/RedSoxVsOaklandApril22008/photo#5185189853669569714

    Ray

  61. syphax permalink
    April 4, 2008 2:22 pm

    Off topic:

    Hats off to you, Curt, for taking it to D&C re: the Obama/Wright thing.

    Especially after their whole “gorilla” incident in 2003.

  62. curtfansincephilly permalink
    April 4, 2008 2:46 pm

    Hey Curt, I have wanted to get in touch with you for a long time; actually since you made that (now legendary) Ford commercial where you were “hitchhiking to New England to break an 86-year old curse.”

    I heard Shonda speak about SHADE at Stonehill this week. She’s amazing and she did a great job of communicating with the students and impressing upon them the importance of sun protection. I was standing at the back of the room and watched as the students were riveted by what Shonda was telling them. That’s not an easy thing to accomplish with kids these days and she will probably save lives by sharing her own story.

    I just wanted to tell you about your biggest long-time fan (for most of his life) here in NE. It’s my son Tom who is 23 and special needs (he has a form of autism) and has been following you since 1992 in your Philly days (even though we live in Mansfield, MA) His aunt in Philly made him a fan of yours (and of another great player, Darren Daulton) when Tom was only about 9 years old. His room is more a shrine to the Phillies than the Sox and we still go to Philly to take in games every other summer. He even decided to try community college when he read that you had done that. It took him 4 years instead of two but he did it and graduated last year. When you won the Series with the D-backs I had to go on E-Bay (my first and only purchase) to get him a D-Backs World Series cap for his Christmas present because of course there were none available around here in Sox country. He was even at the Sox game when the D-Backs were here and you pitched against Pedro. Tom had his Schilling shirt on and I think he was the only one cheering you on!!

    Tom was SO excited when you came to Boston and was confident that you would help us finally win the world series in our lifetime (his dad and I are life-long Sox fans and Tom could see the agony we were going through year after year). Tom assured us that “Curt will do it for us!” and you did, in such a heroic fashion. Tom was right, as he often is :)

    Anyway, as I told Shonda from the audience the other day, I want to thank both of you for contributing SO much to our area and for sharing yourselves unselfishly with so many people. You have brought a tremendous amount of joy to many Sox fans and to ALS patients and have made a huge impression on one special kid in OUR lives. You really brought excitement back to our beloved Sox :) We look forward to seeing you play again!

    Thanks for everything and keep up the great work you do!

  63. dphillis permalink
    April 4, 2008 10:52 pm

    Dear Mr. Shilling
    Dr. Raikin just repaired my dislocated brevis and longus peroneals, and compared my injury to yours as very similar. i skiied all winter, ran 2 mi day when raining, and never felt pain if I controlled the movement; but any lateral movement of the heel brought the tendons dislocating over the ankle. Dr. Raikin said they would eventually fray.

    Plese tell me about your recovery. I’m in the boot 4 wks after, it’s great to shower, but I can only do upper body, crunches, push-ups sit-ups, leg raises, barbells. It is hard not to be able to walk.

    I’m a 61 year old woman, but active. Please tell me about your training to get your groove back! I’ve never blogged, but here is my e-mail: dphillis@pa.net (or tell me how to get your answer on your blog or how you do it)

  64. alsbenefit permalink
    April 28, 2008 11:37 pm

    Hi Curt –

    We have a friend who has advancing stages of ALS and we know this is a charity near to your heart and the hearts of the Phillies organization.

    Would you be able to point us to the right people to arrange a personal appearance by you or possibly one of the Phillies for a community benefit on Sunday, June 29th, 2008? The event will be held in Bucks County, near Philly.

    Any help you may have for us would be greatly appreciated! Please email a response to mirrorimagesllc@comcast.net.

    Thanks
    Marty Wolfe

  65. billsch permalink
    June 2, 2008 8:02 am

    Hi Curt and fellow fans,
    The work Curt and Shonda do for ALS is truly admirable. Keep it up! Hope to see you back in the second half Curt.
    Close to home here in Sudbury, MA, my daughter’s classmate’s Mom’s story is an example of hope, but also of how difficult the battle against ALS is. Anyone who can help locally, please see http://www.ellenshope.org
    Here is Ellens’ personal plea:
    Dear Friends,
    >
    > The good news is that between my diaphragm pacer, supplement cocktail,
    > luck and a strong desire to live, I am every bit as healthy as I was a
    > year ago. This is actually quite miraculous for someone with ALS. I am
    > able to continue to play an active role in the every day lives of my
    > children. Through the wonders of technology, I can help with homework,
    > keep track of their schedules, and most of all, be there to hear about
    > their day.
    >
    > The bad news is that the price we have paid to allow me to live is exorbitant.
    > My
    > life is literally bankrupting our family. Put yourself in my shoes for a minute.
    > How would you feel if you were fighting for your life, all the while
    > knowing that your family would lose everything as a result? Not real
    > motivating is it?
    >
    > Many of you are familiar with our struggle, but John and I have tried
    > to put a positive spin on our situation. Despite outward appearances,
    > we are drowning. Four years of battling this brutal disease have taken
    > their toll. My care is physically demanding, emotionally trying, and
    > financially draining. Even with expensive hourly help, John bears the
    > brunt of this burden along with household management and childcare,
    > which severely affects his ability to earn a living. He can’t get to
    > the office when he’s helping at home and so he works late into the
    > night to make up the time. He is suffering from caregiver burn out
    > which is very common in these situations. There is no easy way to care
    > for an ALS patient and there is a shortage of competent healthcare
    > workers capable of handling such a complex and rare disease.
    >
    > These circumstances have again led to the foreclosure of our home.
    > There is no way that I can move; we have invested tens of thousands of
    > dollars to make our home handicap and technology accessible. If we
    > lose the house, there will be no place for me to go except an
    > institution where they will undoubtedly take away what’s left of the
    > quality of my life. So you see why I have to ask for help.
    >
    > Our situation is not unique. The cost of ALS care at later stages is
    > upwards of $200,000 per year. Most families caring for an ALS patient
    > are financially destroyed or emotionally torn apart, sometimes both.
    > We are a strong family but we need help.
    > The need to fund my care is on going. To this end, we are kicking off
    > the first annual Ellen’s Angels fundraising campaign, and we are again
    > asking for your much needed support.
    >
    > Our goal is to have 200 people donate $1,000 dollars or captain a team
    > and collect 10 $100 donations. We need to reach as many people as
    > possible to make this happen.
    > Please forward this e-mail to family, friends, businesses and anyone
    > who can help a family in crisis. All money raised will go directly to
    > help Ellen and the Sutherland family. If anyone has contacts/personal
    > connections with any pharmacies, grocery stores, or any other
    > businesses/companies that would make donations in supplies or larger
    > corporate donations, please contact them as well.
    >
    > Words cannot express our gratitude. Your generosity is literally
    > saving our family from devastation.
    >
    > The Sutherlands
    >
    > Visit http://www.ellenshope.org

  66. lucky23davis permalink
    June 21, 2008 12:01 am

    Hey Curt!

    My name is Lucas and I think what you do with ALS is amazing. I have personal experience with the ALS disease. In 2003 my father was diagnosed with ALS. At the time I was entering the 6th grade, and like parents didn’t know much about the disease. As the years went by my dad got worse and worse. It got to a point where he was in a wheelchair and was only able to move his left hand and his head. Unfortunately my dad died this January of ALS. My dad was great, he never once missed one of my baseball games no matter how far away they were he was always there. Ill never forget the first game of the season this year on my high school baseball team. I looked into the stands and my Dad wasn’t there. I don’t mean to make this a sad note but doctors told me that I might be next. As you might know ALS is very uncommon to be passed down, but not only did my dad die of ALS but so did my grandfather. If you get this note I just wanted to say thank you. OBTW I hope you return from your injury I hope this isn’t the end.

    Good luck and God Bless you.

  67. John permalink
    July 28, 2009 2:21 am

    Hi Curt, I want to than you for all that you do for ALS.. I have a brother with ALS and his time is very short. What you do is very meaningful. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 644 other followers

