Skip to content

Thank You..

February 28, 2008

To the incredible heroes at Walter Reed we had the honor and privilege of meeting yesterday, both staff and patients.

I hope you all understood each and every one of us meant it when we said the honor was all ours. People throw the words hero and warrior at professional athletes all the time, and I am not sure we could have said it enough yesterday; it’s embarrassing to  have those words thrown at us when we meet people like you.

God Bless each and every one of you and your families, and your brothers and sisters lost, and still serving. It’s people like you that make this country the great nation it is.

To those that I exchanged contact information with, please send along the stuff we talked about and we’ll make sure we take care of things on our end ASAP.

Thanks

Curt

45 Comments leave one →
  1. letsplay2 permalink
    February 28, 2008 9:10 pm

    Curt,

    As someone who works everyday with wounded Soldiers and their Families, thanks to you and the other Sox for taking time to visit the troops at WRAMC. I can assure you that the Sox visit made their day. My only regret is that I wasn’t there to thank you in person.

    Thanks to players like you who acknowledge the sacrificies of others; not just through your words or a lapel pin, but with your actions.

    Anyone interested in helping the families that were left behind should check out http://www.taps.org (Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors).

    Thanks again!

    Rob

  2. azpaul permalink
    February 28, 2008 9:12 pm

    Curt – you have the right perspective and get what really matters. The guys that showed up with you yesterday took the opportunity to make a difference, and be lifted up in the process. Thanks for representing Boston and America so well.

  3. mannyramirez1 permalink
    February 28, 2008 10:39 pm

    You’re so right, Curt. These people are the hero’s. For all they’ve done for this country, they will never get the accolades they deserve.

    I watched a bit of ya’ll visiting them at Walter Reed. The smiles that were on their faces were priceless. I hope you’ll all be back there next year!

    Go Sox! Repeat 2008!

  4. empirelady permalink
    February 29, 2008 1:20 am

    Curt-
    I read what you wrote and it brought tears to my eyes. Your beautiful words and thoughts,which you expressed so eloquently,really touched my heart and moved me deeply. You are a beautiful,caring human being,both on the field and off. The mark of a special human being is to do for others and to give to others. These people have given for their country and so have you,by being there for them. What you did for them is priceless,not only by your physical presence,and what you will do for them in the months to come(I know you-you will continue to do for them,have contact with them)but also by showing that they will not be forgotten,have not been forgotten,that they will always be remembered. My definition of a hero is someone who does for others,like a firefighter who risks his own life to go into a burning building to save another human being. You may not consider yourself a hero on the field(and I have to agree with that)but for everything that you do for other human beings off the field,for doing what you do for them emotionally.off the field it is a whole different ballgame and you certainly,with all of the work that you do for others,have stepped up to the plate. The dictionary describes a hero as being a man who is admired for his achievements and noble qualities or someone of extreme admiration. For all that you do for others off the field,you fit that description to me. I hope that someday our paths cross but in the meantime,thank you for touching the lives of so many. Hope you feel better soon,that the rehabilitation goes well(and this 48 year old knows it is not easy or pain free-I have been there,done that,after an accident totally shattered my ankle-I have a metal plate and nine screws in my ankle as a memento )and as I said,your words truly brought tears to my eyes,moved me,touched me more than you will ever know.
    Donna,in New York City(and I am absolutely NOT a
    New York Yankees fan-not at all!).

  5. kapust permalink
    February 29, 2008 3:17 am

    You are very right, words like hero and warrior are overused. I probably misuse them, not overly often, but perhaps weekly. The true heroes are those who fight for our way of life. Although i would like to use descriptors like those for some of you sox (and former sox), you, tek, trot, kapler, even going back to valentin. I will have to call what you do commendible efforts, and praisworthy, and leave heroes for those quite deserving, i.e. soldiers, police, fire, etc. I do appreciate you guys though.

    As i delivered chinese food tonight, listened to the sure sign of impending spring (thank god) the split squad collegiate doubleheader. WOOHAH!

  6. February 29, 2008 6:26 am

    Agreed. Everything we have, as Americans, is built on their courage.

  7. yankeesonshine permalink
    February 29, 2008 7:37 am

    Curt,

    I agree with what you have said about our brave Americans who sacrifice so much for our freedoms. While I have opinions way different from yours on most matters, your patriotism as a professional athlete is refreshing. Can you explain why Manny and Theo (two high profile Red Sox’) chose not to attend? It made your team very likable to see you give your time to our service men and women.

  8. goodeye6 permalink
    February 29, 2008 8:30 am

    Curt,

    This post really captures what is important to you and what should be most important to all of America. This really brings out your true character. We need more people like you. I really enjoyed reading this post. Good luck with the shoulder and the season! I look forward to watching another great season!

    Chris

  9. jehb02 permalink
    February 29, 2008 8:40 am

    Curt and all,

    You are so right about Soldiers at Walter Reed. I am in the military and live and work in the Washington DC area. My wife has been through rehab at Walter Reed. There are some people that say the military medical system is bad. I will say that Walter Reed Army Medical Hospital has the best rehab system in the world. I have gone over there with my wife several times. I have been able to meet some of the soldiers there and to here their stories. I have also been to the desert in support of both Operation Enduring Freedom (Afghanistan) and Operation Iraqi Freedom. I am not a hero. I would go back again if my military unit is called for duty there.

    It is great for me to see celebrities like the Championship Boston Red Sox and several NASCAR teams go and acknowledge the hero soldiers that have given their health for our country. Thanks for posting about your visit here.

  10. leah433 permalink
    February 29, 2008 10:35 am

    I’m so sad that i didnt realize that you guys were in D.C. yesterday–i would have loved to come out and see you guys with the President. I did read the article on MLB about your visit there–if anyone else hasnt read it, you should–it sounds like a fun visit and i would have loved to have been one of those fans on the south lawn. but alas, i missed it. :-\

    I’m glad that you guys made it to Walter Reed. I’m sure you made those guys day. It sounds like both sides (players and patients) were impacted by your visit.

    Good luck in Spring Training!
    I can’t wait for the season to start and get out and see some Sox games across the country. :)

    go sox.
    take care.

  11. trafsyst permalink
    February 29, 2008 11:43 am

    Curtis, It certainly has been a long time since we last chatted. I would love to hear from you. Brad Hill

  12. frodo1962 permalink
    February 29, 2008 12:30 pm

    Curt, thanks to you and your teammates for visiting our wounded heroes.

    Last October, I had the honor to meet many members of the Missing Parts In Action Team, made up of military amputees, many of them from Walter Reed. Like me, these soldiers participated in the Army Ten Miler in Washington DC and just showed tremendous courage and determination. We can not do enough to repay the sacrifice these people have made for our country.

  13. jonnyjbones permalink
    February 29, 2008 1:09 pm

    Thank you and the Red Sox for visiting our wounded soldiers. I think every politician who supported this invasion should have to go to a hospital like that everyday so they can see the human sacrifice caused by their ignorant or imperial foreign policies.

  14. jsosb1969 permalink
    February 29, 2008 2:18 pm

    Thank you Curt.

    I’m an active duty, USAF, officer – stationed in the NCR (National Capital Region). I thought I saw it all until they scheduled a appointment for me at Walter Reed. It was eye opening.

    I thought I understood this war, I thought I knew how bad it was – but I didn’t have a clue. As you now know – you CAN’T have a clue until you go to Walter Reed or Bethesda.

    Still, as an member of the Armed Forces, I understand that though injured, these men and women WILL ALWAYS carry the pride and honor of the uniform they wear and the country they serve. This is something the public cannot possibly understand unless they’ve served during a time of war.

    Wearing a lapel pin, or putting a patriotic slogan on your vehicle is an empty gesture of patriotism unless you back it up with action.

    We (USAF/JAG) have people all over the world – including MANY in Iraq. Even in the Green-Zone, you’re shelled daily – you receive fire daily – it’s not pleasant. I’ve lost people at the last two installations I’ve been assigned. It’s my job to understand the complexities of the situation in the AOR – but I hadn’t been exposed to the aftermath. Most people hear about the death toll – but there is a greater toll that will likely be forgotten by the zealots on both sides of the war debate 10-years from now – but not by those who truly care – those who served with honor beside them.

    I’m proud to have you on my favorite team – I’m grateful that you took the time to do what most people would never dream of doing. It’s one thing to support the troops with words – but actions speak so much louder.

    Your action – visiting wounded warriors – speaks volumes to your patriotism. Having experienced Walter Reed myself, I can only imagine how that experience impacted you. I don’t know a single person who has been to a place like Walter Reed and come out unaffected.

    For those of us who lace up our boots and report to duty every day – and have done so every day since the war began – understand the sacrifice of those who can no longer lace up both boots – or either boot.

    Thank you for your post Curt – your words carry weight with many people – hopefully they will inspire others to do something with their patriotism and respect for the troops beyond waving a flag and yelling at those who disagree with them.

    God speed.

  15. billsg permalink
    February 29, 2008 2:31 pm

    Curt — Very touching and well said. It reminds me of a great quote from Bobby Orr: “I’m lucky, right? I’ve been gifted. But the world is full of people who not only haven’t been gifted, but have had some things taken away from them. All I have to do is see one of them, some little girl who can’t walk, and then I don’t think I’m such a hero anymore. I think that compared to one of them, I’m a very small article.”

  16. johnb121454 permalink
    February 29, 2008 3:16 pm

    Had the privilege of meeting you and many of your teammates while covering the Red Sox visit to Walter Reed during spring training in 2005: http://www.defenselink.mil/news/newsarticle.aspx?id=31291

    Just so everyone knows, that was no “drive-by meet-and-greet,” and I’m sure this week’s visit was just like it. To see you and the other players and coaches interacting so sincerely with these great young Americans was beyond inspirational. And player after player was almost embarrassed when one of the patients would thank them for coming. “We’re the ones who need to be doing the thanking,” many a player said. And it was clear from the way they talked with these brave troops that each ballplayer knew he was in a room full of heroes, and that the heroes wre not the ballplayers.

    A while back you gave an award to the Bergquist kids from Norwell, who have been running “Cell Phones for Soldiers” for three years. I’ve gotten to know them, and they were thrilled and surprised that you were their presenter. I told them that from what I saw at Walter Reed three years ago, you no doubt were just as thrilled to meet them.

    Thanks for all you do for our men and women in uniform.

  17. ilovebigpapi permalink
    February 29, 2008 4:31 pm

    In the brief clips that were made available it was certainly beautiful to see you guys there and the joy that you brought to them, I saw that one man from MA who said he hadn’t been out of bed in a few days but when he heard the Red Sox were there he had to get there. It brought tears to my eyes. It must have been very moving for all of you, and it sure is quite a way to get proper perspective on life. You are all very lucky, and even luckier for being able to do that for the soldiers. I do what I can do but something like your visit is very special. Made me proud.

  18. tom34 permalink
    February 29, 2008 4:37 pm

    Mr. Schilling,

    As a soldier myself I am rather uncomfortable with the title of “Hero” I am a Warrior but “Hero”, no I am not a “Hero” I am a simple soldier. Please do not take this as being beligerent to us who are Soldiers, Sailors, Marines, and Airman of the Armed forces the “Hero’s” are the men and women who give the ultimate sacrafice and do not make it back. So just as the atheletes are made somewhat uncomfortable with the title of Hero some of the soldiers uncomfortable with that title. You guys get to play baseball the best game in the world for a living and I know that you all love what you do, it is the same way with us all of us who serve love what we do or we would not be doing it. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to visit my brothers and sisters in arms while they are recovering from the injuries they have sustained while doing something that they love to do, and that is Serve the RED WHITE AND BLUE. I am and always have been a Red sox fan. I love everything about Red sox nation and watch as often as I can sometimes that is difficult living in another state but I watch as often as I can. Good luck with the season this year and I hope that everything goes well with your shoulder it just wouldn’t be the same without seeing you pitching for the organization that you started your career with. Again please do not take my comments about hero’s as anything but an explanation it was meant as nothing more than an explanation.

  19. February 29, 2008 4:38 pm

    Curt : My best Friend is recovering at home from surgery # 24 since returning from Iraq, It means so much to our service people that their sports heroes take a few minutes to say thank you for all they have done for our Country. Also I wanted to chime in about Manny not going, I am tired of the media giving him a hard time (Do you think he knows?) when he does not show up at things. The best part about being from th US is you have the right to make your own decisions, and the media should let up. They act like he was the only one not their. I hope next year the SOX are honored by President McCain ( KNOCK ON WOOD).

  20. February 29, 2008 4:54 pm

    It was great fun watching you all on television with the President. :)

    How were the conditions at Walter Reed, btw??

  21. lethrneck permalink
    February 29, 2008 6:51 pm

    Curt,

    As a combat veteran with the Marines in WWII, So. Pacific, I would like to thank you and your fellow Soxers for your great kindness for our modern day combat veterans with your visit to Walter Reed Hospital this week.

    It means so much to know that busy people such as yourselves always have time for the common touch with those who put themselves on the line for our country.

    I know when I returned home from the war in the Pacific aroung 65 years ago and was greeted by my hometown neighbors, I couldn’t have been any happier. It made all the bad days over there seem trivial with the love my town showed me.

    Thank you sir for being such a patriotic and wonderful person and may God Bless you and your family for your actions as well as those of your baseball colleagues.

    Jerry McConnell
    Hampton, NH
    lethrneck@comcast.net

  22. dwightthegun permalink
    February 29, 2008 8:06 pm

    schill,

    rest, rehab and work
    october focus ahead
    give the rooks some love!

    sorry, just a little spring training haiku.

    GO SOX

  23. skinnyman2007 permalink
    February 29, 2008 9:48 pm

    Curt that was great that you and some of your team mates went to Walter Reed Hospital. I hope you guys will do that every year. I saw the smiles of those wounded soliders. Did you enjoy your visit at the White House Curt? How is your rehab going Curt? I believe you did not know about your sholder when you signed the contract. I feel bad that a lot of fans did not send you nice replys when you posed the blog about you sholder. You have done a lot for the RedSox Curt and If you don’t return I wish you the best to a really Classy Guy!!!!!!!!. Thank you for everything and you hard work Curt!!!!!!!. Number 38 is the Best.

    From, Jeff

  24. igod316 permalink
    March 1, 2008 12:27 am

    I try to thank all the soliders I see it does’nt matter what branch or even if they have gone over and fought in the war. My father served in the army for 35 years, my family and I lost him to Cancer in 1997 but everytime I see a military person I thank them for there service because without them I couldn’t write this post.

  25. mattlenny permalink
    March 1, 2008 3:29 pm

    Curt,

    Always nice to hear people of your stature giving back to the heros of our country. Thanks.

    Matt

  26. ikswerd permalink
    March 1, 2008 4:46 pm

    Curt,

    I am in middle school and doing a science project on physical therapy and sports injuries. I would really like to use some of your comments and experiances with physical therapy in my report and presentation. Would you be willing to answer some questions or give me some comments?

    What injuries have you had that required physical therapy?
    Have you had a time when physical therapy has not worked?
    Is physical therapy hard work?

    Thanks so much – GO SOX

    Drew Sidell
    Tower School, Marblehead, MA

  27. warbler44 permalink
    March 1, 2008 11:59 pm

    I hope when your son serves this great country Curt he will return in one piece.

  28. kathiemkm permalink
    March 2, 2008 6:48 am

    Thank You!!
    It is so nice to see you & the team helping out America’s Heros!!
    Love you guys.
    Can’t wait to see you pitch later this year. I have high hopes for you.
    GO SOX!! Repeat in “08!!

  29. xosob permalink
    March 2, 2008 8:28 am

    hi curt,
    you are right about the hurt soldiers. i hope your arm feels better. take care
    Kevin

  30. March 2, 2008 5:13 pm

    Curt,
    Your post was very touching, and those soldiers certainly are the very definition of the word hero. They have sacrificed so much for their country. It was very touching to hear them talk so highly of you guys while they are the ones in wheel chairs, or in a bed they can’t get out of.

    The guy who said he had not been out of bed since he arrived there and when he heard you guys were coming he got out of bed, he really made me think what they do, they look at it as just their job.

    I hold the word hero with the highest regard and those men and women who serve our country and give so much for my, your, and everyones freedom are true HERO’S, and they deserve all of our support whether we agree or disagree with this war. let us not forget them in our prayers and may God watch over every one of them while they are over there and thru the healing process when they come home to us..

    Curt, Thank You for all you and your wife and the rest of the Players do for the children, and all the other people who you help. May God bless you and keep you healthy whether you are able to pitch again or not you have truely been an inspiration to me, and I will never forget you…

    I would also like to say to the other heroes here at home, the Fire Fighters, and the Law Enforcement and anyone else who would lay there life down for others as part of their chosen career. THANK YOU…
    My husband and my brothers and my father are hero’s, and our friends who have made the ultimate sacrifice in protecting the citizens of Marion County, Florida. Thank You and you are never forgotten….

  31. suesox permalink
    March 2, 2008 5:37 pm

    Do you think it’s appropriate to thank everyone I see in military garb for their service to our country? That’s what I traditionally do, but recently I spoke on the phone to a Marine, who happened to be a friend of my son’s, but whom I had never met, and when I thanked him for his service, he told me he was sick of hearing that. He’s already done 2 tours of duty in Iraq and is going back.

  32. lettercarrier permalink
    March 2, 2008 6:27 pm

    These people certainly are the unsung heroes Curt. It’s too bad your teammate Ramirez was too busy practicing his yoga to make the trip. If I were the owner of the RedSox I would send Manny packing after this season if only for the WhiteHouse snub. He was once among my favorite players but I have had a bellyfull of this degenerate!!! Someone should tell the sissy to get a damn haircut also…this guy is a disgrace!!! I really hope your shoulder heals Curt and if you can;t pitch this year then hopefully next year either here or somewhere else. You are a lock for the Hall of Fame as far as I am concerned. Bobby Orr, Larry Bird, Carl Yastrzemski, Tom Brady and yourself are tha classiest sports figures to ever come to Boston. GOOD LUCK to you.

  33. amazinggrace777 permalink
    March 3, 2008 12:34 am

    This is a message to Curt Schilling and others : Colossians 3-17 And whatsoever you do in word or deed do all in the name of the Lord Jesus giving thanks to God and the father by him.

  34. bflosox permalink
    March 3, 2008 8:54 am

    Curt,

    The most enjoyable part about reading your post’s is that you get it. You get it that you have been blessed with an incredible talent to play baseball at the highest level but are concerned about our soldiers, our injured soldiers, the poor and even those that have lost hope in life.

    BB happens to be what you do and the rest is who you are. Thank you Curt for standing up for what is right in life and having the courage to say what you believe. I hope that your integrity rubs off on all who cross your path this season.

    On a side note, my son returned from a second tour of duty in Iraq last March. We attended a Sox game in April and the team was gracious enough to allow us early entry into the stadium to watch BP. Thought we would watch from behind the dugout but instead we were brought right on the field, Yep, stood right on the grass. The Fenway ambassadors treated us great from the time we arrived until game time. The only thing missing that day was a Red Sox win!

    All the Best!!

  35. mstarvin permalink
    March 3, 2008 1:13 pm

    Curt any truth to the rumor that Manny is a pro-Castro guy? I have heard this on a few radio stations.

  36. billhasascreenname permalink
    March 3, 2008 7:16 pm

    Dear Curt Schilling, Hello my name is Bill!

    Wow this is pretty cool that I am talking to you, Curt Schilling. So far the highlight of my life was one time when Matt Morris waved at me. I mean… it wasn’t like a real wave ,but I’m pretty sure he knew I was there. That was awesome. I mean he actually didn’t even really look over. but whatever. anyway today i was in college. at my history of rocks class, and the prof. was making us make speeches. and everyone was making these boring speeches that they just printed off wikipedia. and I was like…”this is totally lame”. Then it was my turn, so i went up and started talking about my country which was Russia. and you know how it’s really corrupt with Putin and how he spent 21000 dollars on an army of mice. listen. i mean if i had 21000 dollars to spend on an animal army, mice would not be my first choice. i would probably go with great white sharks. but then again the place where i work is very dirty, so there are probably russian spies everywhere. So I was talking about that, and then my prof is like.” what does this have to do with rocks!” and i mean i had this whole speech ready about the stupid government and then I was going to start talking about kate hudson and how beautiful she is, and tie that into all the mining they do in Russia, and he was just acting completely like a fat old deusch bag. i mean if u want me to make a speech, i will do it. but dont try to cut me down and interrupt me before i even have the chance to finish. thats just rude, and totally uncalled for. am i right? hey do you know Matt Morris? He is my favorite player. I think your good too though. I was a big Arizona fan when you played for them. and by big fan I mean I owned a hat with a snake on it and I got really mad at Karl Ravich one time when he said that the diamondbacks weren’t a good hitting team. o wow its 7:15 PM. I have to go. I have to go live life. Take it Easy Curt Schilling.
    FROM: BILL

  37. warbler44 permalink
    March 4, 2008 11:49 am

    Very nice of you Curt….ever wonder why they were put in a situation that would shatter their lives? …you think Jesus would drop cluster bombs ? Read your bible Christian boy….learn something…..this country was not founded by sheep……if it was god and country George Washington wouldn’t have fought against his king….His country was Britain….you “Christians” would have labeled him a terrorist and bowed before King George to protect you from the insurgentcy…

  38. lisa1525 permalink
    March 4, 2008 2:50 pm

    Curt – Thank you for your update. Until you’re back, I’ll miss watching you pitch. I’d rather watch you pitch on your worst day than most other pitchers on their best day. Your fans know you are a man of integrity and will do everything you can to come back 100% as quickly as you can. All the best.

  39. jsosb1969 permalink
    March 4, 2008 3:46 pm

    Bill – that was the funniest thing I’ve read in a long time. Thanks. By the way, Matt Morris waved at me once too – I mean, he was on TV and I was just sitting on my couch eating a bag of Doritos that someone left over on Friday night after the hockey game. It was sort of sticky. I don’t understand why Doritos get sticky; maybe it’s because the guy who bought them kept licking his fingers after he ate one. I don’t know. Anyway, Matt Morris waived and he was sort of facing the direction of the camera – and since I was looking at what the camera was looking at, it was like he was waiving at me. Right? Anyway, I’ve got to go feed a squirrel. Take It Easy Bill.

  40. FireDannyAinge permalink
    March 4, 2008 7:22 pm

    Seeing the pictures of the men without legs was heart breaking.

  41. bosox4eva permalink
    March 5, 2008 6:28 am

    First, let me express my most heartfelt Thank You, to all the Men and Women of the Armed Services. Without you, where would this World be? Also, to all the Sox Players and Personel, who put a smile not only on those Soldiers Faces, but mine as well, Thank You. To watch men, like Wake, Tek, Lowell, Timlin and of course Schill, light up when they greeted the Soldiers, was amazing, to say the least. I’m smiling right now just thinking about that Young Man from MA. God Bless You. Now, onto Manny. I’m not sure how many of your readers listen to WAAF, but sometime last week, after the Sox visited Bush and the Soldiers, they had a bit of a debate whether or not Manny, owes it to his fans to participate in events like these. Anyway, somebody called in, saying they knew Manny personally, and him not going was a snub to George Bush. He claims Manny, is a big fan of Fidel Castro and Che Rivera, and their political ideas. Please, somebody tell me that’s not true and they were just playing a joke. (the Hillman Morning Show is infamous for playing jokes) Don’t get me wrong, I respect Manny as a ball player, but if this is true, I’ve pretty much lost all respect for him as an American. I, wonder what Mike Lowell thinks or anybody else for that matter? For arguments sake lets assume it is true. Why wouldn’t he at least go visit the Soldiers? No Excuses, for that one. You do not have to like or even respect George Bush, but you must respect our Soldiers, who have given so much, and receive so little in return. That is unforgivable.

  42. soxsweepagain permalink
    March 6, 2008 3:34 am

    McCain wants American boys to die in Iraq.

    Plain and simple.

    Love you, Curt, but you’re dead wrong here.

    US out of the Middle East.

  43. jacobysgirl46 permalink
    March 7, 2008 5:10 pm

    Hey, Curt

    I was really happy when i heard that you and the rest of the team were able to make it there. My late grandfather was in the military. Unfortunately, I was never able to meet him, being that he passed away before i was born, but it feels great to be able to say that my grandfather served our country. I am also very glad to be able to say that my older cousin is now training to be a Marine. I am extremely proud of him and everyone else that is brave enough to serve our country. I definitely agree with you that they are all heroes. Good luck recovering from your shoulder injury, hope to see you pitch this season,

    Theresa ;)

  44. hondo196 permalink
    March 17, 2008 8:21 pm

    Mr Schilling:

    I am inquiring as to wether or not you currently know what is going on between MLB and the Cape Cod League.
    I would like your input and would also like you to try and remedy this situation.
    The CCBL can not afford to pay royalties to MLB and can not survive without MLB influx of the very low $100000.00 that is provided each year.
    As many MLB players have come from this leagie I am wondering why no one has stepped up to help this league.
    If MLB has its way we will see the demise of this premier league here on Cape Cod.
    When the league started my dad, now 88, was a player as wel as many other native Cape Codders. Back then it was Town Team Baseball.
    It is now a rich enviroment for future Hall of Famers.
    I am hoping you can maybe get the union to help stop MLB from ruining this league.
    Thank you.

  45. dhaines permalink
    March 30, 2008 7:20 pm

    Curt,
    I’ve a friend who lost her son in Iraq. I also have a Navy family involvement. I am so proud of you that you take time out to praise our military. They are awesome and we all need to praise them.
    Thank them when we meet them on the street. It is the least we can do for all they do for us.
    Di

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 639 other followers

