Skip to content

Plugging along

November 16, 2007

Playing catch up here at 38. Meetings meetings and more meetings. We are working diligently to put some very important pieces in place, as a company and a family. I look at the people working under this roof and feel an immense responsibility not just to them, but to their spouses and their children.

Saying you are giving them a chance to have this be the last job they ever have, or want, is one thing, proving it is entirely different.

Also looking forward to the opportunity to meet and get to know Nile Rogers is coming up and it’s going to be a blast. We are shooting to get Todd, Nile and myself in one room. Hearing that will be one to tape given the energy these two guys bring to the table.

Shonda and I are attending the Medfield Coalition Dinner tonight to support our towns efforts in fund raising and then it looks like tomorrow may be the first day in awhile that we’ll be able to sleep in past 7am! Sweet!

Tomorrow we’ll be attending Manny Delcarmens event http://www.bostonmagazine.com/arts_entertainment/event/bowlin_strikes_for_schools?return=/arts_entertainment/index.html

Manny is a great kid and a local kid as well. Not to be overlooked this year, even though it did somewhat, was the tremendous season he had and the huge leap ahead he made. I enjoy the hell out of him because he’s respectful, and honest. Can’t imagine that he won’t be an enormous part of this team going forward in whatever role he serves.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2007 2:31 pm

    Del Carmen was awesome this year, I totally agree with you. I look forward to seeing how he matures and grows over the next few seasons. He could end up being one of the best middle relievers in the game hands down!!! Great season Curt, glad to see you back for another season.

  2. signcurtandlowell permalink
    November 16, 2007 2:59 pm

    hey curt…

    sorry this isnt about your most recent blog…it was interesting though….haha. but what is the deal with mike lowell? i dont understand why he is considering to go play in new york when the only thing he is getting there better then in boston is a guarunteed fourth year. theo has even given him the option of a possible fourth year if he meets requirements.

    new york wants him to play first base! what is the deal with this? why is mikey considering this? we all thought he wasnt in this for the money. and if he meets requirements which he should then he would get his precious fourth year with the bosox. this really puzzles me. i think you need to go knock some sense into him, curt. thanks a million.

    cam from sturbridge

  3. desertsox permalink
    November 16, 2007 3:31 pm

    Curt – I’m living in your home town and you are living in mine. I agree with your comments on Mike Lowell. You showed great creativity in your own situation when you structured your contract the way you did, and true to your word you tried to figure a way to finish your career in Boston which was your desire. Assuming that Mike also treasures Beantown, RedSox Nation, his manager and his teammates I urge you to speak to him and/or the brass about trying to achieve a similarly structured deal for that fourth year. How much of a fall off do they expect from him offensively or defensively ($5,000,00 premium?) that it would be worth losing him to the evil empire while we spend even more money trying to replace with another veteran – $$ plus players? If that be the case I would rather go with a Pawsox upgrade.

  4. yanksrdaclassofbball permalink
    November 16, 2007 5:09 pm

    Hey Curt,

    In a previous blog you spoke of A rods new terms (10 yrs 275) and talked about how he’s always an MVP in waiting. It almost sounded like admiration for his skills.. I thought you didn’t like him??

  5. bobwal permalink
    November 16, 2007 5:55 pm

    I saw your picture of the soldier holding the baby and your obligatory pro-military comments. I also heard you on WEEI the other day applauding George W. Bush for “being the same guy now as he was when he was elected”. God if only that was true.

    Don’t you remember how Bush campaigned against nation building and saying the U.S. should be humble leaders on the world stage. He also said he was a “compassionate conservative”. Bush has proven to be none of those things. He invaded a country that did not threaten us to disarm them of weapons of mass destruction they did not have. He told flat out lies to the American public and other world leaders to invade Iraq, something that Richard Perle, Paul Wolfowitz and Dick Cheney had been planning long before 9-11. If that wasn’t bad enough, he allowed torture to be used against prisoners of war, something that is prohibited by the Geneva Convention. Not to mention sending soldiers into battle without armor protected vehicles or flak jackets, and forcing them into extended tours of duty.

    I respect you as a pitcher, and am very glad you will be on the mound for the Sox next year. You are entitled to your opinions just like me and the other 72% of this country are entitled to not favor the George Bush presidency.

  6. denisesoxfan permalink
    November 16, 2007 7:40 pm

    Hey there Curt! Have a blast at Manny DelCarmen’s charity event! Some time if you do another Q&A, here is my question: Of any ballplayer past or present, who would you love to have as a teammate that you never had the opportunity to play ball with? (And I’m not trying to tell you what to do, but please don’t say A-Rod! Curt, I love you man, but you’re killin’ me with your A-Rod admiration!) :)
    Denise

  7. papelbon permalink
    November 16, 2007 11:47 pm

    Hi Curt,
    I just want to tell you that I think all of your work, both professional and charitable, is amazing. I’m always impressed by the way you take your time to take care of other people. You don’t seem to take your status and place in life for granted. :) Cathy
    PS- SO GLAD YOU’LL BE BACK NEXT YEAR!

  8. wedisney permalink
    November 17, 2007 12:27 am

    Mr. Schilling,
    My wife and I expecting our first child after a long time trying. We have settled on two names. The girls name is set but the boys name is one that I believe you gave to one of your sons (Gehrig). Being a huge baseball fan I was wondering if there were any negative ramifications that you encountered with this name. I do understand that being your son, might have made him privy to certain respect ,but kids are always kids and I was wondering if he had problems with the name. I know this is a weird request but I wanted to give it a shot. Thanks for your time.
    Dan
    WEDisney@gmail.com

  9. ryawntr permalink
    November 17, 2007 1:30 am

    Hey Curt, I just wanted to throw in my 2 cents inregards to everyones concerns about Mike Lowell. As you have spoked so highly about the owners and Theo I have given them my complete faith and trust. Not to long ago we had a centerfielder that want another year on his contract. theo said no John Damon signed with the other guys and he got to watch COCO and ELLSBURY win rings. I love Lowell and would love to see him back. If he goes west so be it. His lose. I will wait eagerly to see what THEO pulls out of his bags of tricks. As great as our players are, I still say the mind and knowledge of THEO is why we will go back to back. Mike if your reading this, get on board. I would hate to see you and John watching us win AGAIN next year. Curt as always thanks for being so availible to your fans. Keep it up. Til next time.

  10. mrclutch34do permalink
    November 17, 2007 3:45 am

    Hello Curt,

    Can I please work out with you?! In all seriousness after reading your post from a few days ago, it has re-energized me to continue persuing my basbeall dreams.
    About 2 years ago I was throwing in a side game in the fall and seriously injured my shoulder. I was feeling weakness and an inability to throw above about 70%. I have been to at least 5 doctors since than, all for not. 1 would tell me its a rotator cuff tear. 1 said labrum and rotator cuff tear, yet some have said its nothing that cant be fixed with some rehab. I tried everything before I picked up a baseball again after that. Lifted some, did the exercises I was given, ran 5 miles a day, even bought all sorts of training equipment for my shoulder. Ice/heat every night after a workout. This summer I finally thought I was ready to give it a go. 2 throws later I was almost forced to go to the emergency room from the hot pain and numbness I felt in my right arm. It was a tingeling all down my arm like I had never felt. After I read your post the other night I have a feeling I may have the “S.L.A.P” tear as well, yet I can find no doctors who can diagnose my problem. I actually had 1 surgeon tell me I had no problem at all after looking at the X-Rays he took. Im not sure you can give out the information you probably have, but if you can help with anything I would have a world of appreciation.

    Thanks in advance Curt.

  11. vietnam68 permalink
    November 17, 2007 8:54 am

    I just saw the link for Manny’s charity event. Is there a way you can put together a spot on your blog of all the events held by Red Sox players? For whatever reason, I’m not very good at finding these events until they’ve passed. My family and I would love to have gone but we’re 3 hours away in a small town in northern New Hampshire and don’t get the local Boston newspapers. We rely on NESN, redsox.com, and your blog for our information concerning the Red Sox.

    Thank you,

    Derek

  12. November 17, 2007 12:20 pm

    Hey Curt –

    Congrats on coming back, as a nation this has been a sweet millenium in Beantown. I sent Mike Reinold a congrats email, on a great season. He’s a great guy.

    The question I have for you is, how would I get in touch with a young player yet to choose a charity? My wife has lupus and we try to do alot to help research and aid in the bettering of quality of life for patients etc. But as we all know figures in the public eye are much more successful in making an impact difference due to their national exposure. And in Boston all players can make a difference. I would love to try to work with someone in the Red Sox organization to aid in Lupus awareness and help patients suffering from the disease. We are huge fans of baseball at all levels. We are an active host family of the NECBL (New England Collegiate Baseball League) and host 3 players every summer. And we ALWAYS bring a group down to Fenway to experience the Pahhhk for the first time. We just want to make a difference in helping some people, and I know with your background in ALS and Shonda so active with the SHADE foundation that you may be able to provide us with a good place to start. Anything you can do is helpful.

    Hopefully we will get a chance to say hey to you at spring training as we plan to take our new daughter (born almost the same time as Delcarmens) dwon to Florida to show our ball players from the NECBL who will be playing college ball down there at the same time you are training.

    Thanks again for picking up with the blogs, you were slacking a bit there…but its great to see you back. Keep up the good work.

  13. tonygoprano permalink
    November 17, 2007 2:53 pm

    Congratulations Curt on your World Series title. As a D-Back fan, we are so proud of you and what you have accomplished. I also want to Thank You for your endorsement of Sen. John McCain. He is the ONLY Republican who can defeat Hillary Clinton and your support of him will help him become our next Presdent.

    Tony GOPrano
    Phoenix, AZ

  14. November 17, 2007 3:51 pm

    hahaa, to be told that it’s an opportunity of a lifetime…to have this be the last job one would ever want in a lifetime IS a huge promise to fill. But, truth be told, many people stay in positions FOREVER despite it being something they truly want. So the mere fact that you even want to have a position be all that to a person – is a good thing. :)

    Have fun at the event w. Manny DelCarmen. I made it to the Beckett Bowl…and that was a ton of fun. Maybe next year for Manny… ;)

  15. sherbs58 permalink
    November 17, 2007 6:07 pm

    Curt, any response on the Barry Bonds situation now that he has been formally charged by the govt. for lying under oath about his “alleged” steroid use. You of course got a lot of flack for your comments months ago, but in all honesty, no one else had the guts to say what everyone knew was going on with him….Do you still feel those comments were something you regret, especially if (when) he is finally caught for his contiuned denials and lies???

  16. rightstuff permalink
    November 18, 2007 12:07 am

    Curt could you talk to Mike Lowell and try to have him stay with Boston? I Hope Hilarry Clinton Does Not get elected the next President. I hope you and your Family have a wonderful Thanksgiving and You and your family have lots to be thankful for. Curt could you do a special blog and say what you are thankful for? That would be cool. I can’t wait untill next season starts and keep up the great work caring for other people.

    Jeff

  17. dcorny permalink
    November 19, 2007 9:26 pm

    Hi Curt’
    Sooooo glad your staying in Boston for another year .or more… I hope.It’s so good to see the vetrans helping out the rookies,especially you , get established and gain confidence as they come into “the big leagues “.
    It is also inspiring to see that you are not ashamed of your Christian Faith,as you start each game..
    Last summer you hosted a very special woman ,Mrs.
    Concemi,at Fenway . Her husband had died from ALS and
    she raised her boys alone . I am friendly with one of them and they visit her often.
    A friend’s mom was taken by ALS a few years ago . It was horrible watching her deteriate and not being abel to do anything except try to make her more comfortable.
    I wish you and your family a happy thanksgiving ,and a great Christmas and New Year . Be carefull to stay away from the deserts, I want you to get those insentives .
    God Bless ,

    Dennis, ( from Methuen )

  18. November 21, 2007 3:43 pm

    Curt its great to see your commitment to the community. Alot of pro sports players don’t give back with that extra effort.

  19. radiotrotter permalink
    November 21, 2007 4:51 pm

    Hey Curt, not sure how to start a note to you, but i seen the other day about you owning a horse in harness Racing. THUNDER STORM N.

    I have lots of Trainers in the industry who live in NJ and De. I have been around the barn a few times and love the Horses.

    You have any plans on trying to get some serious horses to compete for the big races in Harness Racing.

    If so look me up and i have some great Contacts of some very successful trainers that would be awesome for you. Trotters or Pacers.

    I have your horse on my virtual stable and will be watching him race when i can.

    Take care

    Ted

  20. yankee88 permalink
    December 19, 2007 11:12 pm

    RED SOX SUCK……………….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 638 other followers

