Skip to content

Up 2-0 and a mile high.

October 26, 2007

We landed in Denver around 4:45am this morning. Needless to say the flight felt a lot shorter after the win than it otherwise might have.

Papajima, that’s mine. It was that or Okibon. Whatever you want to call it those two guys, along with the HORRIBLY unheralded Mike Lowell, were pretty much completely responsible for the 2-1 game 2 win. If you go back and watch Okie’s 2 1/3 innings I think you’ll agree that it was pretty much as perfect and dominating a relief appearance as you could ever expect or imagine on the October stage. Paps was flat out dominating in finishing it up too.

A huge shout out to our advanced scouts as well. The pickoff of Holliday was on them, completely. Our pre-series scouting reports and meetings are far and away more detailed and in depth than anything else I’ve ever been a part of and things like that pickoff are material we cover. For the most part relievers do not throw over unless the sign comes from the bench. That exact scenario was talked about in detail prior to the series, and look what happens. It changed the game. Regardless of the fact Paps K’d Helton to start the 9th it was huge because he’s as dangerous a hitter as anyone in that 8th inning situation.

Mike Lowell, where to start. Throw away the error totals, the guys a consummate gold glove 3rd baseman. He’s a blend of Matt Williams and Scott Rolen to me. Matt Williams never, and I am not exaggerating when I say I don’t think I ever saw Matt drop a ball that hit his glove. Much like Dustin. He threw like Cal Ripken, always one step ahead of the runner. Scotty was far and away the most athletic 3rd baseman I ever saw. Mike seems to be a mix of the two and it’s a pleasure to be able to watch it from the mound. His clutch hitting this year I think has gotten lost in the mix as well as his heads up baserunning.

I find it continually amazing that given the coverage of our sport and the hype around things players do and say that it never fails to ALWAYS come back to fundamentals in the seasons biggest games. Detroits pitchers fielding their position, players throwing to the wrong base, not covering, etc., and then you have the teams that do it right. Mike going first to third won that game, period. Obviously it took Tek getting the ball deep to the OF as well, but if Mike’s not on third it doesn’t matter.

So here we are, 3 games in Denver, needing to win 2. No matter which side of the fence you’re on I would bet you’ll see two teams playing tomorrow that are playing for their lives. We’ll play this game as if we were down 2-0. We have to because the Rockies are backed into a corner and prior to game 1 of the world series they spent 22 straight games being backed into a corner and won 21 of them.

Much is being made of the altitude here. What I can tell you about it’s affect on pitchers is this. Your stuff changes, it’s different. Nothing breaks as sharply here and you have to work harder to make that happen. Changing speeds and keeping the ball down become much more important. The other side effect, for me anyway, was the extra time needed to recover after pitching here. You have to work harder to do the same things you do at sea level, and that being the case I am always sorer after pitching here, for a longer period of time than normal.

As far as how the game changes, that’s a bit different as well. The outfield here is huge, and I mean huge. There is almost an extra field tacked on here, at least it seems that way. The statistics back up the fact that it’s less of a hitters park than it once was, but it still remains a hitters park. The challenges though, are not what some think.

One of the major things that change, due to the size of the field and the long grass, is that you are always pitching with a runner in scoring position, regardless of where the runners are. The size of the field, the length of the grass and often times the depth the visiting teams play allows the Rockies to almost always take 2 bases on a ground ball hit. They play 81 games here and know that opposing teams often times play too deep and they are almost always going 1st to 3rd on ground balls through the infield.

Opposing teams often times have their OF playing deeper due to the parks reputation, when a lot of times the exact opposite approach is the way to go. Fly balls here that get over your head, most times are home runs, especially here. Playing deep is literally giving away ground that sees short pop ups become hits in this park much more so than any other parks out  there. Those short pop ups here are often doubles too, instead of singles, because of the parks size.

In any case it should be an exciting and cold couple of days. If we can have it our way we’ll fly home World Champions, but I am pretty sure Colorado plans on forcing a return trip to Fenway.

As to the question that’s often asked, and always answered the same way. Yes I have thought about the fact I’ve made my last start as a Boston Red Sox. It might be the case, it might not. Both sides know how the other feels and when the more important matters are taken care of, it will resolve itself. Neither side is worried or concerned and I’ve stated repeatedly why it’s a non-issue for me. My faith in God means that whatever the outcome here, is what is and was meant to be. It’s that easy. If it was the final game, who can complain? The last 4 years have certainly had their share of ups and downs but I can promise you Shonda, my kids, and I, would not trade a second of the experience. Being able to become a member of this 16+ million people family has been an absolute honor and pleasure. Filled with way more unforgettable memories and experiences than we could ever have imagined or deserved.

If it’s over for us here then the only thing we could honestly say is thank you.

78 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2007 8:47 pm

    Great job yesterday Curt. Only 2 more wins to go!

  2. October 26, 2007 8:58 pm

    God is good all the time. Great game last night. Congrats on the 11-2 playoff record.

  3. howiee permalink
    October 26, 2007 8:59 pm

    A very enjoyable read as always Curt.

    Congrats on the game 2 win. You pitched your heart out. It was a great game for sure.

    As far as your future with the Red Sox goes. I hope and pray that you will be coming back for another season.

    Whatever happens, keep up the good work. Your efforts are much appreciated.

    God bless. :)

  4. October 26, 2007 9:15 pm

    Great outing last night Curt. Love the nickname for Hidekan Okipap.

    If you’re not back next year, I want to thank you for your years here. They’ve been quite memorable.

  5. mary1212 permalink
    October 26, 2007 9:22 pm

    You will never be far..no matter where you go!! You have won our hearts. I am proud to be a Red Sox fan! My God continue to bless you and your family . Thank you for a great season..!

  6. jeckie permalink
    October 26, 2007 9:30 pm

    Curt, great game yesterday! Congrats on the win…

    I can honestly say that no matter whether you wear a Sox uniform next year or not, Boston will always have a place for you! Aside from baseball, the work you and Shonda do is amazing, and this is a great place to do it.

  7. lupey1911 permalink
    October 26, 2007 9:43 pm

    Mr. Schilling let met start by saying that game 2 was a thrill to watch. The determination to give us Red Sox fans nothing but the best is incredible! You have given your heart and soul to this city, this team, and also the fans and I wanted to let you know that it is deeply appreciated. You have proven that you are THE big game pitcher and October is your month to shine.

    If you are not back in a Red Sox uniform next season it will be a shame. I want to thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for all the excitement, memories, thrills, and championships you have given to this city. I also want to thank you for being who you are. You love of this city and this team hasnt gone unnoticed by myself or my family.

    I also agree with you that Mr. Lowell doesnt get the recognition he deserves. He has been such an asset at 3rd base. I hope he is also back in uniform for us next season.

    Again let me thank you for everything you have done for the fans, the city and the team!

  8. dbetts permalink
    October 26, 2007 9:57 pm

    Curt, Why not experiment with the knuckle ball during the off season and see if you can harness it sufficiently to add it to your different pitches that use?

  9. coopermaro permalink
    October 26, 2007 10:07 pm

    Congats on the win yesterday. You pictched great, this is a reason you are the star you are. I will say this, I look forward to seeing you in Cooperstown someday.

  10. October 26, 2007 10:19 pm

    Gosh curt… that last paragraph left me all choked up. Nice writing!

    M@

  11. mbstedman permalink
    October 26, 2007 10:20 pm

    Great game as usual Curt! It’s been a pleasure watching you pitch throughout your career, especially since joining the Red Sox. I think I can speak for the rest of Red Sox Nation when I say that I hope you finish your excellent career in Boston. I wish continued success to you and your family. Thank you again for the great memories!

  12. yazisgod permalink
    October 26, 2007 10:27 pm

    And we honestly say “Thank You” to you.

    You came to a region mired in a state of depression 86 years in the making, and gave us hope, followed by salvation. You brought us joy and respect. You made brash promises and delivered.

    I sincerely hope you retire a Red Sox. But I have no control over that decision.

    Good luck in Colorado. And vaya con Dios.

  13. October 26, 2007 10:34 pm

    Curt, awesome team, as always you remind me of the late 90’s Yankees, you have a ton of talent, excellent pitching and can play any way someone wants to play you.

    I laugh at the people in the media worried about losing a bat in CO. You guys played a number of weeks with out Ortiz and Manny and still won.

    If this is your last season, I thank you. You are hugely responsible for doing something I thought I would never see, a Red Sox World Championship. Now you are on the cusp of another. My father whose 60 got to see one. My Pepere, born in 1919 and died in 2000, wanted just to see one.

    You are the man Mr. Schilling, and I really hope you end up face Meter one day and drill him in the butt, even if you fast ball could only “max out at 88 mph”.

  14. shemp permalink
    October 26, 2007 10:35 pm

    curt, thanks for loving the game.You pitched youre heart out.Keep the faith

  15. bflo permalink
    October 26, 2007 10:55 pm

    You’ll be back. You delivered as promised; why would “THEY” not reward you for that? 86 years turned into 3 … my kids don’t know how lucky they are!

  16. kit573 permalink
    October 26, 2007 11:06 pm

    Love your blog

    But love Colorado more

    Go Rockies!

  17. October 26, 2007 11:08 pm

    It drove me absolutely bonkers listing to Joe Buck and Tim McGarver go on and on and on about your last pitch as a Red Sox. Give me a break. Nobody, not even you, knows whether or not it’s your last pitch. Fox totally destroys the baseball experience with those two knuckleheads. I wish they would just stop talking and watch the game.

    Congratulations on Game 2. You did a great job and you should be so proud of yourself. It was a wonderful game, right on the heels of Game 1, which gave every Sox fan in the nation such a great feeling of pride and love.

    I hope to see you next Feb. in Florida, and in April at Fenway. In the meantime, have a great time in Denver. Our family can’t wait to see you all at the victory parade. More duck boats, perhaps?

  18. ljs1 permalink
    October 26, 2007 11:10 pm

    The pleasure has been ours, Curt.

    Thank you.

  19. morineko permalink
    October 26, 2007 11:20 pm

    Good luck! We enjoyed watching you pitch last night, and you all had a great game.

    Japanese-style name smashups <3 <3 <3

    Thanks for the comments re the altitude–I’m going to Worldcon next year and I really don’t know how long it’s going to take my family to get used to being up there. My coworkers who have gone out to Denver for business really didn’t grouse that much about it, but they didn’t do the tourist thing or any activity besides looking at computers for 9+ hours a day.

  20. October 26, 2007 11:23 pm

    Amazing run… we would love to see you back next year… but if not, thank you Curt!!

    Last nights game still has us amped… talk about stressful as a fan… we cant even imagine what its like as a player!!

    Our hearts; while beating hard – are with you and the Sox!!

    2 more wins… 2 more wins!!

    cheers,
    kc

  21. ianbeyer permalink
    October 26, 2007 11:26 pm

    I gotta say, I’m torn this season. I’ve been a Rockies fan for a while, hainvg lived in Denver and seen them when they played at Mile High, but Red Sox blood runs deep in my family.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Game 2 – I’ve always enjoyed a good pitching game, and last night was great. Keep up the good work.

    This WS is a great cap to a baseball season that started for me at Kaufmann Stadium for the 2nd game of the opening series and I got to see Dice-K’s debut. What a great ride it’s been.

  22. joelyness permalink
    October 26, 2007 11:31 pm

    Great job on the mound man, as a boston fan all of my life, you guys sure have given me one hell of a ride.
    Hope to see you next season as well as retire #38 in boston.

    (and about 38 studios–don’t forget about the competive team-PvP aspect !)

  23. Jclope permalink
    October 26, 2007 11:56 pm

    That was a great win last night. You credit Oky, Papelbon and Lowell along with others for the victory, but you can’t look past your performance. You were great on the mound, and your post season dominance continues!

    Good luck to the team in the rest of the series, bring us back another World Series title!

  24. brynot permalink
    October 27, 2007 12:13 am

    How am I going to find out the insides of each game if you’re not a Red Sox pitcher anymore? Nothing wrong with pitching for the Sox till you’re fifty, right?

  25. October 27, 2007 1:03 am

    Thanks as always Curt.

    And, as much as I love you being a part of Red Sox Nation, what I love even more is that you’re so right – on, and know God is going to bring you where you need to be. I’m going to hope it’s right here with the Sox, but more than that I’m going to know you will end up where God wants you, and that is the ultimate.

    Bring us another World Series title! Wow… we can say it… another!!

  26. October 27, 2007 2:04 am

    Thanks so much for taking the time to post while you’re in the middle of the World Series.

    Congratulations on your terrific start yesterday. It’s still mind-blowing what you’re doing, entirely changing the way you pitch in the middle of the season, and coming back to dominate.

    Sure hope you stay put. Good luck the rest of the Series.

  27. matt426 permalink
    October 27, 2007 2:27 am

    Curt,
    If this was your last game as a Red Sox, thank you for the hard work, guts and determination you’ve shown throughout the years. You are truly a post-season legend. I hope you’ll consider going in to the Hall as a Red Sox since you embody what Boston baseball is all about.

  28. db54 permalink
    October 27, 2007 5:17 am

    Curt, whether it’s boston or florida we have our version of Mr. October that equals anyone else. I know you, shondra & the kids will be happy wherever you land. Hopefully Boston and the good things you both do for ALS.

    What I feel many pitchers don’t do is what you do to study the game. While you may not have the heater of old, it still has some giddy-up.

    That’s funny – papiJimi, OkiBon. Especially appreciate the Coors field analysis. If you hang up the cleats, FOX is looking for Broadcasters to replace Buck & Mcarver. The latter referred to the BoSox as the whitesox more than once but he got Fenway right!

    With your insight it will be interesting how the pitchers keep the rockies off balance and how manny patrols the pasture and gaps

  29. calsgal permalink
    October 27, 2007 7:48 am

    Dear Curt:

    First, don’t underestimate what you did the other night. You looked a bit tired and tight to me, but you kept the vaunted Colorado Rockies to 1 run in 6 innings. That gave Oki and Paps the means to keep them there. And let Lowell and the rest of the team do their magic. So we love you for that, as we have always loved you here in Boston.

    As for the last game nonsense — Please come back. And even if it doesn’t work out you will always have a home in Boston. ALWAYS.

    Good luck this weekend. GO SOX!

  30. jimmykc permalink
    October 27, 2007 8:52 am

    Curt: I’m not ready to think about next year yet-except to look forward to reading Salvatore’s autographed book when the Series is over. For the time being, let’s all enjoy the moment, hope Dice-K has his stuff and the hitting shoes are on tonight. I do have one last question for you: Is it harder for a starting pitcher to pitch in the AL and face the DH, or in the NL and have the distraction of going to the plate regularly?

  31. tmccall44 permalink
    October 27, 2007 8:57 am

    Thank you Curt….the entire Red Sox Nation loves your heart….and passion. You bring the the competitive fire out in everyone….I really hope you are back for another title run in Boston….if it wasn’t for you we would still be waiting…. God Bless you and your family.

  32. mainefan permalink
    October 27, 2007 9:09 am

    Curt, speaking for the fans, I thank you for what you have given us in your time with the Sox which I sincerely hope is not over. Your value to this team as a smart, veteran pitcher is immeasurable. I have a question though. I read that the Phillies are interested in Farrell as a new manager. If that happens, would you ever consider a pitching coach position with the Sox? I know it’s probably not even on anyone’s radar right now with the games going on, but it’s on a few peoples’ minds.

  33. October 27, 2007 9:10 am

    Curt,

    I was in Fenway for game two. I knew that seeing you on the hill might be the last time you’d be wearing a Sox uniform, as no one knows what will happen this off season. Right now, it’s all about winning the World Series and your focus on that. But I wanted to stop in and say “Thank You!”, for all you’ve done in Boston and the community as a whole.

    I’ve shared in the other side of your baseball life, where we found ourselves together for brief moments in Fort Myers at Springing for a Cure. You always came, spent time and helped us to help ALS; always!

    There is one story I’d like to share with you coming out of the event this spring. After you and Phil Cuzzi were finished talking, you signed your rookie card for me. The next night I met very good friends for dinner up near Punta Gorda. They have an 11 year old son, who is a real fan of the game, and loves to play. He’s a card collector, and has lot’s of great cards, but very few with signatures. His team is the Yankees (I can’t help that), and he knows of the long rivalry between the Sox and them. He did not know how you’ve devoted so much time using your celebrity for so much good.

    So I told him the story of the very first SFAC, where you, Shonda and the kids met us at the back room behind the bar at the Best Western, where it was all of thirty people and there was no real time to get things as organized or polished as we liked. I told him about your kids coloring pictures with some of the fans kids, how you spent a real lot of time, buying some of the auction items, and how you spoke to us more about ALS than baseball. I told him that aside your status as an athlete and big game pitcher, holder of World Series rings and MVP’s, that those things, as great as they seem are dwarfed by what you do for others. I told him that long past your playing days, with all you’ve accomplished on ball fields, what affected me most was your commitment to something that really mattered.

    He has the card you signed. He’s 12 now and has interviewed for, and hopes to be selected to as a student ambassador in Europe this summer in a program founded by former president Dwight Eisnhower. When I found out about this, I asked him why he wanted to do this. He said that he wanted to do something good for others.

    I do not know if his thinking was fueled by your example, but I’d like to imagine that that’s the case. I know you’ve inspired me and a great many others.

    Lastly, when you came out of the game, you tipped your cap to the Fenway crowd. I was unable to see the expression on your face from where I was in the park. But I wanted you to know that it’s me who is tipping a cap to you, Curt. I hope your back, but if that’s not the case, this old guy will never forget all you did for Red sox baseball and so much more.

    God Speed!

    Tom

  34. October 27, 2007 9:20 am

    You did a great job Curt! And Thank-you for everything. I think your presence as a veteran of the game alone is worth what ever you are asking. But is is not my decision to make.

    I hope that you, Wakefield, and Lowell will return next year. It makes me happy to think next year’s line up could be Becket, you, Dice-k, Wakefield and Lester.

    But that’s getting a bit ahead of things here. There are two more games to win. It’s been a whirlwind for the fans I can only imagine what this whole post season has been like for you guys.

    Well Red Sox Nation wishes everyone luck.

    -Diane.

    P.S. Please tell Wakefield that I miss his pitching during the World Series. It would have been nice to see the knuckle ball in mile high.

  35. btpmedia permalink
    October 27, 2007 9:43 am

    I am a true Yankees fan.

    However, you are a true gentleman.

    I wish you luck, no matter where you wind up next year.

    I’ve learned a lot from your blog about perspective, sportsmanship, faith and family.

    Thank you and Godspeed!

  36. csshuckster permalink
    October 27, 2007 10:08 am

    Hope you guys can come home withe the pennant and the trophy to boot!

    Curt,

    It’s been one of my best moments as a fan, watching you pitch for the Red Sox. Whether if I was living in Anaheim, San Diego, then coming back home, you’re one of my top 3 pitchers I have seen play all-time.

    I hope I can see you back in a Red Sox uni, but that will remain to be seen.

    We have more important matters at hand, and that’s bringing home a championship for ’07!

    Good luck, Curt and the rest of the team. I’ll be watching closely and my kids and I will be cheering you on every second!

  37. ilovebigpapi permalink
    October 27, 2007 10:09 am

    Mike Lowell is not at all unheralded by me, in fact I think I should have made my name here “IloveMikeLowell” but that’s the way it went..and I do love David too. Mike Lowell is such a classy man and a classy baseball player, I will be crushed if he’s not back here next year. And whatever happens I wish you and your family nothing but the best.

    Somehow I’ve been thinking that in 04 we wanted the WS win for us, and now we want it for you guys, for the team. Don’t get me wrong, it’s fantastic fun for us too. I woke up this morning still almost pinching myself that the Series continues tonight and that the Sox are there. Colorado is a very talented team, I have no delusions about that and I am humble and still cautious-just as I believe this team is. But I have all the confidence in you guys and all the hopes that it will be the best possible outcome. Being superstitious it’s a bit tough to say that or type it.

    All the best to you and the whole team. Your hard work and perseverance has paid off, and it has been incredibly fun to watch.

    I was able to get to 6 games at Fenway this year, including the Clay no hitter on my birthday. The memories will carry me through the dreaded winter, and it’s so good to know that you are so appreciative of your memories as well. You are blessed.

  38. eric1414 permalink
    October 27, 2007 10:16 am

    Hey Schill,

    I think ljs1 put it best:

    The pleasure has been ours, Curt.

    Thank you.

    I couldn’t agree more and as I said in my last post management would be insane not to bring a future hall-o-famer and definite Red Sox legend back for at least 2 more seasons. Great job in game 2 – 2 more wins to go… though I’m going to be pretty sad when the season is over and I have to wait until April to watch this entertaining team put it all together again.
    <3

    Eric

  39. johnb505 permalink
    October 27, 2007 10:28 am

    Re: Learning to Like Schilling in the 10/26 NY Times, Will Leitch’s admission that he’s never met you and probably never will is as perfect an example of the extraordinary arrogance of journalists as you’ll ever come across. Only they can dissect the character, personality and motivation of people they’ve never met. And they wonder why they’re held in such low regard.

  40. dbetts permalink
    October 27, 2007 10:38 am

    If Joe Buck’s dad was not a famous broadcaster, Joe Buck would not be calling the World Series or the number one weekly NFL games. He talks on and on about trivia and doesn’t seem to understand that those of watching the game on television know that Curt Schilling is pitching, that we know the pitch count, that we know that Curt played for the Phillies and Diamondbacks and that we know this is the last year of Curt’s contract. So Joe feels the need to tell us this again and then again and then again.
    Instead of hearing an endless phony commercial for Taco Bell, why not show us an interview with Curt Schilling in which we can hear how this Sox team compares and contrasts to his two other championship teams?

  41. October 27, 2007 11:29 am

    I really enjoy your blog! Your last paragraph in this post is very moving.

    I wish I could say my husband and I could afford tickets to see you play in Fenway, but we’ve been enthusiastically watching the games from our apartment. We stood and cheered for you as you left the mound in the last game… but we are hoping you’ll be back to pitch another season.

    Thank you for all you represent, not only in baseball but also in faith, beliefs, and character.

  42. rightstuff permalink
    October 27, 2007 11:51 am

    Curt this was a great blog you posted and it touched my heart after reading the last paragraph. Thank you for everything you have done for Boston and in 2004!!!!!!! and the years after that also. Curt I have a cool friend and he is a great painter. I am going to have him paint something and I would like to give you the painting to thank you for everthing you have done in Boston for all the wonderfull fans like me. I used to live in Boston and the Red Sox are my number one team!!!!!!. Curt where would I sent the painting to you? I really want to do this for you for everything you have done for Boston. Should I send the painting to Fenway? If not where? God Bless you Curt. Thank you again for everything!!!!!!!!!!

  43. October 27, 2007 11:56 am

    Curt –

    Loved the analysis of Coors Field; given the Red Sox speed in center and right, and Manny’s penchant for playing shallow to begin with, it will be interesting to see how deep the OF’s play tonight.

    I love the intensity this year’s team has shown, too. Maybe it’s my mind playing tricks on me, but I can’t recall the last season a Red Sox team won so many 1-run games. And to watch it happen in a World Series game makes it even all the more impressive.

    Finally, allow me to add my cyber “thank you” to those already posted here. What the Red Sox have given us these past few years – combined with your own personal efforts – has been an absolute joy to watch and cheer for.

    Best of luck to you in whatever direction life takes you. You will always be a part of my love for the game and the Red Sox.

  44. fridaygirl permalink
    October 27, 2007 1:04 pm

    Curt,

    The Red Sox needs you. Boston needs you. Please don’t go! Thanks for another great season of pitching and thanks for being such a class act. You will go down in baseball history as one of the best. Good luck in Colorado. We know the Sox will pull it off!

  45. pawsox permalink
    October 27, 2007 1:33 pm

    I am a 3rd generation Sox fan. Grew up in Pawt, RI. I was the only one in my family who had not visited Fenway. Now I live in Indpls. My mother is 92, still in Pawt., watches EVERY game. My dad, HUGE FAN, passed away 2 years ago but got to see you win the series in 2004. We all called each other and screamed with joy over the phone. This year, for my 60th birthday, Sept 1st, my husband took me to Fenway. It literally took my breath away. I saw a no hitta. I had chills for 2 weeks. Good luck to the team. Good luck to you whatever the future. Thanks for everything. I wish my dad was still here to watch you win!

  46. October 27, 2007 1:37 pm

    Thanks for being spectacular in the playoffs as usual. Good luck in Denver. I hope we get to see Youks play.

  47. wordof permalink
    October 27, 2007 2:23 pm

    Mr. Schilling,

    Hi. I’ll try to be brief. Heard about blog, finally time to see it.

    Hard work 4 Family, Charities, pitching + spirit of excellence = well done job for being faithful to the Lord’s calling on your life.

    Always appreciate a player who puts his full mind and heart into the game at all times. True passion only helps make the game more real to enjoy.

    I’ll tell some friends to check out 38pitches.

    Keep up the good work and best of success.
    Sincerely,
    Jason Brown

    PS: Go Steelers!

  48. October 27, 2007 2:48 pm

    No, no, no – I’m not quite ready to think about a Red Sox team without you. Playing chess with players and guessing the managements moves — thats what the off season is for! And I’d like to think that considering some of the moves that have been made with players in this organization, that some sort of agreement that is mutually beneficial to both sides will be made. There, I’ve said it. :)

    I’m so excited for tonight’s game. Truth be told I dont’ know how much attention I paid to the games played against them this year – so, I don’t recall much about the stadium or it’s impacts. Thanks for outlining them – because truthfully all I’ve been hearing is that the ball flies out of there easier than at other parks. I didn’t realize the affect on pitching, and truthfully that makes me a bit more concerned w. Dice K on the mound.

    I’m hoping you guys fly home champions as well. Though it would be lovely to have a Fenway finale, truthfully – the late nights are killing me! Plus, I’d much rather a mid week parade to be able to attend than a Saturday one. Finding a sitter can be difficult! hahaha. But I’m getting ahead of myself. One game at a time.

    Thanks for the post – it was great to read. :)

  49. theotherm permalink
    October 27, 2007 3:12 pm

    As so many have stated before me, the pleasure is ours, watching you and Papajima pitch the other night was fantastic. I truly hope you’ll be part of next year’s team as well. This BIG RS family wishes you and your family all the best!

  50. dirtdognumber7 permalink
    October 27, 2007 3:24 pm

    There is not one person that could tell me that Curt Schilling is not a class act. That was gutsy performance in game 2 and I look forward to watching the rest of this series. I would not want to see you retired anywhere but in Boston. Thanks for everything, Curt. I will be at Cooperstown the day of your induction.

  51. October 27, 2007 3:53 pm

    Curt, good luck in the playoffs. Even though I am not a Red Sox fan, I appreciate seeing you pitch in Game 2 using guts and guile.

    What do you think about Millar taking part in the ALCS festivities? It seems like a sizeable minority of fans in my part of the world are not happy about it.

    As well, I caught something about your gaming company, 38 Pitches.

    How is that coming along and you will be spending more time with that venture once your baseball career winds down?

    I have a litany of photos that I took of you and the Red Sox team, BTW.

    Be well,
    Anthony

  52. 1alberich1 permalink
    October 27, 2007 3:54 pm

    You’re good, Curt, but not a patch on Sandy Koufax!

    Alberich

  53. soxfanpj permalink
    October 27, 2007 5:13 pm

    Curt, I just want to add to everyone else and say thank YOU for coming to Boston. I hope you stay, I think the Yankees/Clemens scenario this year showed us how scarce pitching can be. But beyond the mound, you have brought so much more to this organization. You’ve had a sense of The Moment, a direct engagement with your fans, and an appreciation for Red Sox history that is so rare among players. All you guys end up working for so many different teams, it’s impossible to develop a connection with a city and a fan base. Or at least, I thought it was before you came along.

    Thank you for your part in ending 86 years of misery. I see all the articles about “new” Sox fans and bandwagoners – and I say hop on board. I’d rather deal with annoying newbies than the old bitterness and pain that came with being a fan of the Red Sox.

    Now, just one question – do you think you could convince Fox to broadcast the games a little earlier, so we East Coasters can get some sleep in October? Haha. Kidding – good luck and help our guys bring home another World Championship! Hope to see you in a Duck Boat soon.

  54. October 27, 2007 5:16 pm

    Curt, great game on Thursday. You were great after you settled in. I really hope you play next year with us and retire a Red Sox. It would seem strange seeing you elsewhere. Really hope it works out.

    Lowell’s been great this year. I hope that Tito’s not going to sit Youks out all 3 games. I would sit Youks out tonight, Lowell tomorrow and Papi against Francis, if the game is needed, which I hope it isn’t.

    Peace.

  55. katemckinnon permalink
    October 27, 2007 5:50 pm

    Curt, I enjoy reading your blog. You pitched a great game and although I’m rooting for the Rockies all the way, it was amazing to see you perform, and I especially liked the way you were the first out of the dugout to congratulate Okajima on getting out of the inning.

    I hope you pitch next year, I don’t really care where. I’ve learned a ton about pitching from your blog.

    Joe Buck and Tim McCarver are unimpressive and repetitive as announcers, yes, but at least they aren’t Tony Gwinn. He was AWFUL. And they aren’t Jeanne Zelasco- the way she interrupts people constantly drives me nuts. It’s like she is just waiting for those noises to stop coming out of their mouths so she can talk again. I like Joe Morgan, why isn’t he up there too? He works for Fox.

    And Dane Cook ain’t no Tommy LaSorda, either. Bring back the great “get out of the tree” ads and get rid of that goof.

    Speaking of lousy commentators, aren’t we all glad that Lou is set up with the Cubbies so he isn’t calling games? That commercial of him and the ump at third base is hilarious. More of that!

  56. richard93 permalink
    October 27, 2007 6:53 pm

    Curt,

    You have a lifetime pass in Boston for what you have done on & off the field. Hopefully, the front office can throw away all the science of #’s and just sign you so you can finish your career here. This is the way the story should end!

  57. rollinsox007 permalink
    October 27, 2007 8:31 pm

    Curt, you have been the epitome of class to these fans all the years you’ve been here. You are one of the few players in the game who I can say has gone out there to give his best every single game all for the fans. Sure you say some things sometimes that make people scratch their heads, but you are honest. I’ve been saying since the beginning of the year that no matter how you did this year, we need you back. I love Wakefield, but he has not stayed healthy all year. I’d love to both of you come back and then Wake take over in the pen because with a young rotation we’re gonna need some insurance.

    It was going to be a process to get you from a power pitcher to a finesse guy and your stats at the end of the year prove that. We are going to have an entire rotation under 30 years old and we need your experience. I want to see you in Cooperstown and want to see you end your career as a Red Sock.

    Also Curt if you ever get the chance, bring the World Series trophy (providing you guys get 2 of the next 5) to Raleigh NC. I wrote the Sox front office after ’04 about taking it around to other major cities, but I didn’t get a response.

    GO BIG SCHILL!!

  58. manateepunch permalink
    October 28, 2007 1:14 am

    Hey Curt, congrats on 3-0! I hope you can use a comedy break. Several days ago I made a bet with a Yankees fan that the Red Sox would win the ALCS and go to the World Series. The bet was for $20. Well, as you now know I won that bet, but to make it more interesting I made a special web site for the LOSER to pay me my winnings…. and here is that site!

  59. yankeeinthehub permalink
    October 28, 2007 4:50 am

    you are a class act Curt! It’s been a gift to be able to see you pitch, and an honor that you allowed us into your personal feelings here. Whatever laundry you wear I’ll be a fan.

  60. jbruno51 permalink
    October 28, 2007 6:05 am

    Curt you are by far the best acquistion of player red sox organization has ever picked up to date. You changed the face of Red Sox Nation and our Baseball identity in New England and MLB for the better. I hope Red Sox management, just out of our respect for what you have done for the betterment of your team, your organization and your dedicated fans, lines you up for a multi year deal, or reoccuring one year deals in excess of 10 million extended until you decide to retire from baseball. You have made all of the fans here in Boston and New England very proud! Keep up with the great work. Regardless of how many wins obtained and hard fought losses during the regular season and in the playoffs, Red Sox nation is behind you 100%.Thanks for putting the red sox back on the map for years to come. – JB

  61. redsoxnum7 permalink
    October 28, 2007 7:20 am

    Curt,
    You are an inspiration to those young and old. Thank you for taking the time to blog your thoughts for all to read! I have loved watching you these past years, and if this is the end I’d just like to say Thank-you! Boston will not be the same without you! Good luck and God bless in whatever the future brings to you and your family!!
    Much Love and Luck,
    Erin

  62. sawxblogcom permalink
    October 28, 2007 12:42 pm

    Curt you were a monster in Game 2! So efficient. You’ve been so amazing to us Red Sox fans, and when all is said and done it looks like you’ll be bringing 2 championships to our city. So grateful everything worked out that fateful Thanksgiving day.

    No matter what happens next year I hope you know this Sox fan appreciates everything you’ve done for us.

    GO SOX!!!

  63. bish6364 permalink
    October 28, 2007 1:05 pm

    Curt,
    I want to thank you for an awesome season, for your one hitter, for all you have done on the field and in the clubhouse/dugout – you are a class act and I love every minute of your pitching and watching you give to the team and thus the fans when you guys are in the dugout – you are always watching intently, cheering, firing the guys up, even when you are not on the mound.
    I have learned so much about baseball this year from your blog and I appreciate it. It has a way of making one feel like a personal friend when reading your blog regularly and it has been an experience I treasure…. if you are NOT with the Sox next year, PLEASE keep your blog up so I can follow you… and don’t go to an AL team, because I don’t want to ever pull against you!!
    Best of luck on this Sunday afternoon as you and the guys go face t he Rockies, perhaps for one last time… wow…. didn’t take long to get to a second series and you are a crucial part of both. Beckett, Schilling and Matsuzaka all game winners in the World Series. How cool is that??? And of course YOU with the winningnest post season record….
    It is such a pleasure to be a Sox fan, and you are such a major part of that. Curt, oh, how I hope you are back and can retire a Sox…. still, even if not, thanks for assuring us you will never go to the Yankees, and thank you for everything you have done for the Sox….
    You’ll always be my favorite, Schill, with Lowell a strong second….
    Best of luck on the sweep, take care and my best to you and your family…
    Mary Ann

  64. syphax permalink
    October 28, 2007 11:32 pm

    Curt,

    Thank you for helping to bring another World Series Championship to Boston. We know how much you gave of yourself in 2004, and we appreciate that you did all that you could do this year.

    I hope to see you in a Sox uniform next year, but regardless of what happens, it’s obvious that you belong in the panteon of Red Sox greats.

    You stole the Yankee’s mojo in 2001, brought it to Boston, broke the ‘Curse’, and here we are. Well done!

  65. manderson99 permalink
    October 28, 2007 11:33 pm

    Thank you Mr. Schilling for an excellent outing in Game 2 and for the SWEEP! Mr. Lester is one hell of a pitcher, as is Papelbohn and all the rest of the crew. Congratulations!

    Been a Sox fan since I was around 4 years old and attended my first game in 1980. How sweet it is.

  66. October 28, 2007 11:36 pm

    Congrats to everyone! I’m so happy for the team! You guys rock!! It was great to see Lowell get the MVP. I was so thrilled to see Lester pitch so well. What an amazing year for the Sox. What an amazing year for baseball!!!

    The Rockies were a great team.

    Congrats!!!

    -Diane.

  67. amclane permalink
    October 28, 2007 11:44 pm

    Congrats on the Series, your whole team is a classy bunch!

  68. handyworks57 permalink
    October 29, 2007 12:54 am

    Mr Shilling,
    It is my sincere hope that your time here in Boston is not about to come to a close. I would very much like to offer my thanks to you and your family for accepting ownerships offer and making the journey east. For your part in accomplishing your goal and making one dream for so many come true I believe a simple thank you does not suffice. Especially now in that we are once again champions. What ever the future has in store for you and your family be it in or beyond the sport, I hope you experience the type of fulfillment you and your team mates have provided for the faithful here. I wish I truly knew you and yours Curt that these words would not ring hollow but “all the best” comes from my heart.

    I say one ore year!
    Tom

  69. agentsteel53 permalink
    October 29, 2007 1:28 am

    Mike Lowell: no longer horribly unheralded. Good to see the powers that be recognise his contributions with a World Series MVP trophy.

    congratulations to the world champion 2007 Boston Red Sox!!

  70. manateepunch permalink
    October 29, 2007 1:49 am

    CONGRATS ON YOUR WORLD SERIES WIN!!! WOOOOOOOOOOOO F’ING WOOOOO!!!!!!!!

  71. brynot permalink
    October 29, 2007 2:00 am

    CHAMPS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  72. thedsmmaniac permalink
    October 29, 2007 3:37 am

    Curt, what can I say. I am in awe of this incredible moment in history and this incredible team. That finally clicked on ALL cylinders when it mattered most. I have so much more that I know I want to say, especially since this is my first post here. Not to mention I’ve followed this blog since day one.

    But at the moment(3:30am) I am still just too happy, excited. Caught up in the moment, just too many emotions right now. Thank you Curt for everything you’ve done, not just for Boston but for baseball. Thank you for this blog and reaching out to the fans, in your way.

    THANK YOU SOX, 2007 WORLD CHAMPS!

  73. pawsox permalink
    October 29, 2007 10:28 am

    Thank you for the sweep! Finally, my 92 year old mother can go to bed at a decent time.

  74. ctsoxfan permalink
    October 29, 2007 10:46 am

    I guess Mike Lowell is “unheralded” no more! :)

    Here’s hoping that both you and Mr. Lowell are heralded by the Sox in the only way that matters: with new contracts! Would love to see the whole group back to defend (in a way that the ’04 champs, through the departures of so many, were never allowed to do).

  75. October 30, 2007 2:27 pm

    Curt,
    Thank you for helping to make the Red Sox the team that they are. As a central NY red sox fan, well life can get ugly at times. But what the 04 and the 07 teams have done, make it that much more fun to live here.
    I need to thank you for the MLB Premium package this year. I was one of the lucky ones that won your sweepstakes at the beginning of the year. Because of that I was able to watch every game possible. Again, living in central NY they only broadcast the Yankees. I was able to share it with my adult children, my in-laws and of course my wonderful bride.
    I know that God will bless you and your family with whatever plans He has for you.
    Thank you for all you have done for Red Sox Nation and the Red Sox team.

    In Him
    Roger Bayne

  76. mick60a permalink
    October 30, 2007 7:42 pm

    Curt;

    Thank you for all that you for all the great things you have done on and off the field for us the fans.

    I would love to see you back for one more year. I wish you luck with this.

    The first year you did that Dunkin Donuts Commerical where you were learning a Boston accent.

    “Pack the carrr!”

    Best to you and yours always. See you in 2008 back in a Red Sox uniform. I am keeping the faith

    Mick

  77. kenmoresquare permalink
    November 1, 2007 12:07 am

    I grew up in Vermont, too young to catch Babe Ruth and his transition from the smaller financing of Boston to the deeper, more vast pockets of the bigger New York Market. After he left they called it the Curse of the Bambino. It wasn’t any such thing. It was an unlevel playing field caused by deeper pockets that caused so many generations to endure disappointment in Boston as the New York machine enveloped and digested each team on the way to their next crown. We still live with a bit of the after taste, having to listen to Joe Buck, who is immersed and impassioned for and with the Yankees down talk your consistent and well crafted performances on the way to this year’s World Series Championship.

    I was in college when the Sox won the pennant and came downstairs as the crowd emptied out of Fenway Park. They were tipping over a car and the guy in it said “well, at least, let me get out of the car!” Next thing the police show up with German Shepards and one bit the guy next to me in the fanny and I went back up stairs. That was the year of Yaz and so many others and while I love all of them I extend my hand and heart to you to thank you for seeing a need, feeling you could fill it and by golly you surely did in absolute class fashion, crafting every single pitch to match your pregame preparation.

    I had the deep pleasure of rooting for you here in Phoenix too as the Diamondbacks’ version of the Twin Towers (you and Randy Johnson) dismantled what we all call the Evil Empire.

    I hope you stay but like you said, it’s God’s world and whatever happens is the way it’s supposed to be but I can tell you that YOU have truly added to the lustre of this magnificent team that finally could and you and your family have my eternal respect, appreciation and total best wishes.

  78. kenmoresquare permalink
    November 1, 2007 12:10 am

    Over but never out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 644 other followers

