Skip to content

Week 3, Meter goes down….again and Demarlo squeeks by.

September 24, 2007

The resident “expert” at EEI was throttled once again by a dumb jock. The third week of the season saw these lineups..

 

Meter had

Brady/Palmer

vs

Brady/Manning

At RB/WR Meter took

W Parker/Addai/R Moss/S Smith

I had

Ladanian T./W Parker/S Alexander/S Smith

We both took Gates at TE

Meter took J Elam I ahd R Gould

And I won the day on D/ST as Meter took the Ravens and I had the Pats….

 In other news 3rd Base Coach Demarlo Hale sent my team to it’s first loss of the season as my unstoppable backfield of Gore, Edge and Benson got stopped. I sat Cutler and Trent Green and went with Eli Manning, not that it would have changed much but combined with sitting my Steelers D in favor of Denver he had more than enough firepower to beat me. Other than Kitna he had no huge days but steady production from the entire lineup netted him an easy W.

43 Comments leave one →
  1. keepmikelowell permalink
    September 24, 2007 5:48 pm

    Congratulations! On getting into the postseason.
    This year’s Boston Red Sox are an amazing group of guys ( I wish I could say “and girls”, but hey I don’t think that there’s one girl involved :-\) Anyway, I cannot wait to watch you guys play in October. It should be amazing.

    Sorry, this has nothing to do with you.. but if you could just tell Mike Lowell that NO ONE, absolutely no stores, sell his t-shirt jersey thing (the navy blue t-shirt that says red sox on the front and “25 Lowell” on the back. He deserves for people to buy his shirt. And it’s not like the stores wouldn’t make any money, they’d sell about 9 billion in a day. I sent a letter to him to let him know, but I have no idea if you actually read the mail you get.) Thanks, if you could. If not, it’s not like it’s really that important.

    Congratulations again! And good luck the rest of the year.

    OHH.. P.S. Do you guys, the Red Sox of course, read the mail that is sent to you at fenway?

  2. September 24, 2007 6:28 pm

    And, in other exciting baseball news………
    Yankees lost today, 4-1.
    :)

  3. ngruk permalink
    September 24, 2007 7:26 pm

    You’re going to the play-offs, you’re still fighting for the pennant, you have a huge entertainment company gaining steam, are heavily involved in numerous charity groups and we get… a fantasy football update?

    *palm on face*

  4. syphax permalink
    September 24, 2007 9:46 pm

    Curt,

    I hate to sound ungrateful but there are many people who can play fantasy football and play it well. There are very few that pitch for the Boston Red Sox, and fewer still that have helped lead them to a World Series victory.

    Please stick with the baseball?

  5. September 25, 2007 8:48 am

    Curt,

    You obviously don’t need us to give you permission to blog about whatever you feel like blogging about, whether it’s fantasy football, pitching, or the gold-encrusted special “celebrity edition” of Halo 3 I assume has been delivered to your locker.

  6. Jay LaChapelle permalink
    September 25, 2007 9:55 am

    Congrats to you and the Sox on your post season birth, and also to Tito for being the first Red Sox manager to bring the Sox to three postseasons!

    I learned something interesting yesterday. You are the all-time carreer leader for Strikeouts per Walk (K/BB) with 4.37 K’s for every BB. Who’s in second, you ask? The former Sox ace Pedro Martinez with 4.27 K’s for every BB.

    Congrats to you! That’s something to be proud of.

  7. September 25, 2007 10:53 am

    Meter is bad.

  8. tomstaff permalink
    September 25, 2007 12:31 pm

    Curt, just in case things dont work out this offseason as I hope they will, I would just like to thank you for the past 4 seasons and the effort you always gave when you out on that Red Sox uniform. I have always been a fan of yours going back to your Baltimore days and was thrilled when you signed to come here. You have given me the best memories of the ’04 playoffs and helped in giving us all that elusive championship.

    If you dont end up your career here, I wish you and your family all the best. Is it true that you have put your Medfield home up for sale?? If so, that sounds like you know that you will be moving on.

    I have a life size cardboard cutout of you in our den. That will always stay there regardless of how things end up. I even got my wife, who used to say you talked too much, to start rooting for you too!

    P.S. Before you leave, how about 1 more Championship????!!!!!!

  9. soxfanhan permalink
    September 25, 2007 1:16 pm

    Hey Curt,

    We love hearing about baseball from you, not football. Personally I could care less how your fantasy football team is doing. I’m sure most of us here feel the same way! Please stick with baseball, please.

    I have a fantasy football team too, but why should I hear about yours?

    Good luck in the post season! Go Sox!

  10. September 25, 2007 1:35 pm

    The fact that you made a post today on FFB is freaking awesome, I love it. Too bad I decided to bench D-Nabb last week, bad choice on my part!

  11. soxoct27 permalink
    September 25, 2007 4:58 pm

    don’t worry you don’t sound ungrateful, just ridiculous. because somebody is an athlete or pitches for your local team, he cant participate with millions of others in fantasy football. as if he will spend so much time preparing his weekly lineups his play will suffer. just when you thought you heard it all.

  12. sdredsoxfan permalink
    September 26, 2007 5:56 am

    Curt,

    Cogratulations on the win and it was so good to have Manny and Youk back. With 5 games remaining the magic number is 3 to win the division. I am really glad that the Yankee’s helped us out by getting beat last night. I can’t believe that another season is coming to a close. I really hope that you are with us again next year. In case you are not. I want to say thank you for everything you have done for us during the years you were here. Hopefully you and Theo can come to terms. Good Luck to you and the Sox in the post season. I will be watching.

  13. falcon64 permalink
    September 26, 2007 8:01 am

    The ass kissing on this blog is pathetic. Do you people really thing an adult wants to hear people idolizing him??? It’s embarassing, and really awkward to even read.

    Tomstaff, if you really have a life-sized cardboard cut out of Curt Schilling in your den, you are a sick man. I think the traffic has slowed considerably on this blog because people like me are sick and tired of the lovefest.

    Congratulations on a nice team win last night. I’m not convinced yet. Give us reason to believe.

  14. brendinater permalink
    September 26, 2007 10:39 am

    Nice call picking up Edge. I didn’t think he’d be able to bounce back, especially as the Cardinals offensive line was a question mark.

    If I were you I’d never drop the Steel Curtain unless they’re playing someone like the Colts. That whole team seems to be flying under the radar. I know they played weaker teams but they have looked very impressive.

  15. theotherm permalink
    September 26, 2007 10:42 am

    Thanks for a great game last night! I must say, the energy in the Park was amazing!

  16. September 26, 2007 11:57 am

    I’m with sox. The posts on topics other than baseball add color to this blog. I had long suspected that even baseball players have a life – this proves it!

    So for those who don’t get what a blog is about, go over to espn or foxsports for your uncut baseball fix. I hope to continue enjoying whatever parts of his life Curt chooses to share.

  17. jetta30c permalink
    September 26, 2007 9:42 pm

    Hey Curt…. great game last nite vs As. You are awesome! I am a big fan… I was just down in Tampa to see the Sox and had a great weekend. I attended the two wins fri and sat nites. I had the pleasure of staying where you all stayed at the Loew’s Don Ce Sar Resort in St. Pete’s. What a great place! And had the fortune of seeing you Sat nite in the lobby getting on the elevator! I was the silly fan who yelled “and there’s Curt Schilling!!!!!!!” just like a kid seeing Santa for the first time! I am such a huge fan and I wished I had gotten to actually meet you! That would have been my dream come true! I wanted to get on the elevator but the security guy whisked you away. Sunday I swapped “Curt’s biggest fan” stories with Patrick Brophy (mgr at the Don Ce Sar) who said he is not a Sox fan but a fan of yours from your Phillies days. Anyway… I think I won the biggest fan story as my new license plate read “RSox38″. I am doing your ALS walk in October and would love to meet you some day. I am an OT who works with multiply disabled children in RI… I would love to get you to come to school some day and meet one of my students who is a HUGE Sox fan! ??Maybe in the off season? Well, I can’t even think ahead to the post season and where you might be…. want you here in Boston and if it was up to me, I’d grant any request you made! IF you end up in Tampa…. I like the dome at Tropicana Field… the Don Ce Sar is a cool place to stay… and green is my favorite color, so I wouldn’t object to purchasing a Tampa Bay jersey with your name and number if that so happens….. but I will always be a Red Sox fan first and foremost. Doesnt mean I can’t keep up being your biggest fan!! :) Colette

  18. klovis912 permalink
    September 26, 2007 10:26 pm

    CURT! I have yet to buy a Kyle Kendrick jersey because I am hopeful that #38 will belong to its rightful owner next year! Your house is for sale? Did you ever sell your Chester house? Philadelphia would LOVE to have you back. You’ve always wanted to come back – we’ve always wanted you back. Come take us to the World Series. ~Frank klovis912@gmail.com

  19. tffcsonn permalink
    September 27, 2007 1:42 am

    What are all of you talking about? This is one of the greatest posts I have seen yet, this shows us how much Curt understands a personal connection on here with all of us. It’s like chatting with a buddy about your fantasy football team, what guy doesn’t like to talk about football? Don’t get me wrong baseball is most important to me too, as I’m sure it is to Schilling, but just because he gets on here and talks football with us you get upset?

    Yes the man pitches for the best team and baseball and yes I think he’s mind should be focused on getting ready for the post season, but lets not forget that he is a man and this is his job, being a pitcher, he can’t take a break and throw back a cold one and talk about football? Anytime you wanna talk fantasy Curt just give me a call, I’ll fix that meter for ya.

    And did anyone see hes last game? Exactly, obviously the man has his priorities straight. No one who takes the mound treats his profession more professionally than Curt Schilling, who else do you see keeping a written record of every pitch he throws to every specific batter every time he goes back to the dugout?

    Keep up the good work! October here we come!

  20. razzell2 permalink
    September 27, 2007 7:17 am

    I have no idea what your talking about, how fantasy football works, or who the heck Meter is.

    I do know that Ive never seen a more legendary performance in major league baseball than the one you put on back in ’04, with the bloody sock and all. (is it just me or does anyone else see the irony that the red sox won the world series with a guy pitching with a bloody red sock?)

    And finally, I am a HUGE LA ANGELS fan, and I will see my Angels take you guys down in the ALC game. Sorry Curt, it must be that way. Hey, why dont you and Space Manny come play for Mike Scioscia next season, and you can win your third ring?

    Keep blogging dude. Your musing are very cool

  21. sherus201 permalink
    September 27, 2007 8:26 am

    Hey Curt,
    SO psyched about the post season. Keep healthy and GO SOX!! Very thankful that you have chosen to blog, period…happy to hear about anything you want to talk about. And Philippians 4:13. :)

  22. bosox2004 permalink
    September 27, 2007 1:58 pm

    Curt great game and thank you.

  23. redsoxfan123 permalink
    September 27, 2007 4:46 pm

    Go redsox!!! Hope you guys beat Minnesota Twins tonight Its going to be tough to beat Johan Santana he leads the league in strike-outs: 335. Hope you guys beat them all four games good luck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. theotherm permalink
    September 28, 2007 10:58 pm

    Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AL EAST CHAMPS!!!!

  25. firedannyainge permalink
    September 29, 2007 12:49 am

    The name of the log is 38pitches not , Who the hell cares what you want him to write about

  26. firedannyainge permalink
    September 29, 2007 12:50 am

    Please turn log into blog. Thanks

  27. September 29, 2007 8:01 am

    Good Morning!!!!
    Can we all say…c-c-c-clinch?

    Great job. :)
    Thanks for helping to bring another exciting season of baseball to Boston. :)

  28. icequeen100 permalink
    September 29, 2007 11:56 am

    Congratulations are definitely in order for you and the rest of the team Curt on taking the AL East last night. Though I wasn’t at the Park last night (watched the game and the Oriole/Yankee fallout that followed in my dorm room) I thought it was very classy of you guys to come back out onto the field and celebrate with the fans that remained. Class acts, Red Sox all.

  29. skinnyman2007 permalink
    September 29, 2007 2:07 pm

    Way To GO CURT SCHILLING and The Rest of the BOSTON REDSOX 2007 American League East Champions!!!!!!!!. I woke up this morning and saw you guys won the East. That was great the Yankees lost!!!!!!. A bunt in the 10TH inning. 11 wins to go and one at a time and then World Series Champions!!!!!!. That would be great!!!!!!!!!. Curt I know a yankees fan in my family so I ordered a American League East Champions Hat and I am going to send it to him and say to him help us Celebrate the Victory of the RedSox. At his wedding he had a yankees cake. I did not eat that Curt. Good luck to you and the rest of the team in the playoff’s and GO REDSOX WIN THE WORLD SERIES!!!!!!!! You are a COOL PERSON CURT!!!!!!!!!

    Jeff

  30. ilovebigpapi permalink
    September 30, 2007 9:40 am

    I just wanted to say that I got one of those navy Mike Lowell tshirts at Modell’s a few weeks ago, so they are available. I agree wholeheartedly, the Sox absolutely have to keep him. Who the heck gives away the team MVP? I admire him so much as a player and a person, I will be extremely disappointed if he leaves here. I don’t think Curt minds me saying that here..

    Good luck Curt, and go Sox!

  31. schillingsdivagirl permalink
    September 30, 2007 8:54 pm

    Congrats to The Red Sox and thank you Curt for another great season and winning the division! Look forward to your start in the playoffs!!! Went to the Bruins last preseason game today and my niece and I wore our Schilling jerseys and alot of patrons had their Red Sox shirts and hats showing their support!
    Good Luck to our Red Sox from your fans in Red Sox Nation!
    Sha Sha

  32. Rob Mo permalink
    October 1, 2007 2:43 pm

    To reply #1, I own a Mike Lowell shirt. I bought it at the official souvenir store by Fenway, and I’ve seen them all over Olympia Sports amongst other places.

  33. maranara permalink
    October 1, 2007 4:32 pm

    Hey Schill! Congrats on an amazing season, and best of luck in the playoffs. Thank you for your continued hard work, and the amazing celebration that followed the game on Friday. It gave me a personal Red Sox highlight…my uncle (who lives in Boston) called me (I live in VA) towards the end of the 9th in the Yanks game, and the two of us watched the division title unfold together. We talked about my grandmother’s love of the Sox, how my mom still doesn’t understand the wild card, and how great it will be to take my kids to Fenway for the first time together (he took my husband to Fenway for his first game a few years ago…so special!). It’s memories like the one we made Friday night that makes sports so special. THANK YOU!!!

  34. Moon permalink
    October 1, 2007 8:06 pm

    Congrats to you and the rest of the squad on the division win; you guys earned it, and we’re proud of the way you all hung in there through the slumps and the injuries and got the job done. From this Sox fan’s point of view, it’s been a supremely enjoyable regular season.

    Just heard the pitching matchups for the ALDS, and I hope you see it as I do – that by giving you the always-critical Game 3 start, Tito is showing that in what is usually the pivotal situation in the first round for a team with home-field advantage, there’s only one person he wants on the mound. You.

    Obviously, there are three ways we could go into that game: 2-0, 1-1, or 0-2. In the first instance, a solid start from you puts us in position to sweep the series. In the second, a solid start gives us a shot at the huge advantage of a 2-1 lead. Under the third scenario, a solid start could well save our postseason.

    I also note that if he goes with the same rotation in the serieses to (hopefully) follow, with the addition of Wake as the fourth starter, you’d get the first road start in each of them also, as well as being in line to be our starter should either of them go to seven games. Right guy, right places, right times in my book. Go get ‘em!

    As for the recent whines by some commenters here about your fantasy football posts, frankly, I think they’re being a little silly; you are a man of many enthusiasms, and your stated purpose with this blog is to share several of them with the public, You’ve never once said that this space would be baseball-only – in fact, quite to the contrary; you’ve made it very clear that it wouldn’t be. I have no problem at all with the FF posts (even though I’ve never been bitten by the FF bug myself), nor with any of the ALS/SHADE info, nor with the occasional 38 Studios updates. These are all parts of your world, and the blog is essentially a little window into that world through which we can peer. Thanks again for taking the time.

    Lastly, I want to comment on all the hullabaloo surrounding the fact that your house is now on the market. People, especially the rumormongers in the local sports media, are reading all sorts of things into this action, everything from “He’s firing a warning shot over Theo’s bow by doing this” to “He’s already decided to leave here, and now he has one foot out the door”. Patently ridiculous, all of it.

    Has it occurred to anyone, I wonder, that it’s equally likely – if not more likely – that the reason could be as simple as, “Curt and Shonda have decided that, whether it’s around here or somewhere else, they’d really rather live in a different house”? Have none of these people ever chosen to sell their house and move in their lives, for precisely that reason? Sheesh.

    I can’t imagine, in this down market, that even a house with that one’s illustrious ownership history would sell quickly for anything approaching its real value, so it makes sense to me that you’d get it listed as early as possible to maximize your chances of getting the best price for it. Even if you (God forbid) play somewhere else next year, there’s no guarantee that you wouldn’t still find yourselves owning that house well into next season, whether you wanted to or not.

    You’ve said in the past that your family enjoys living in this area, the business that is likely to be the primary focus for your energies once your baseballl career ends is located here, and you certainly have the financial means to be able to rent pretty much any house you want to for a year or two in any of the other MLB cities; if we’re going to speculate at all on this topic, I think those three facts combine to make my theory at least as plausible as are any of the other ones that I’ve heard bandied about. Only you and Shonda know the truth of the matter, and said truth is really none of our business, IMHO.

    Well, that’s my $0.02USD. Keep up the good work, Curt, and good luck!

    PS: If next year doesn’t find both you and Mike Lowell wearing Sox uni’s, I’m going to be very, VERY disappointed in both Theo and Larry. ‘Nuff said.

  35. pansearedmeatus permalink
    October 2, 2007 3:46 pm

    How does the self proclaimed Ace of the staff only get one start in the division series despite a 3 man rotation? This is an outrage.

    Sincerely,
    Dumfounded in Newton

  36. October 2, 2007 10:06 pm

    Curt – Good luck to Josh, Daisuke, and you as well as the rest of the team. The pitching has been dynamite all season, give or take. Just another word of thanks for sharing yourself and your time with us all year – this has been great.

    I had a nice little Brady –> Moss thing going on.

  37. Hugh Jass permalink
    October 3, 2007 8:26 am

    How could Dice-K and Beckitt be getting the ball over the best postseason pitcher in MLB history???

    I do not understand this decision one bit. Sad.

  38. October 5, 2007 9:33 pm

    I’ll pretend like I understand fantasy football and smile and nod! ;)

    The beauty of YOUR blog is you can talk about whatever YOU want.

    See you Sunday and *maybe* Monday at Angel Stadium, Curt!

  39. October 7, 2007 6:49 pm

    Grats again, old man. You really went out and dealt, no rust or nuthin’. For all the lethargy you guys displayed there at the end of the season, you played some hella good ball the last few days.

    Enjoy the nice rest with your families this week, and we’ll see you guys on Friday ;p

    Good luck in the ALCS, and grats on another pummelling on the California Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim Which is Near Disneyland But No Longer a Subsidiary Thereof(tm).

  40. mrgringosuave permalink
    October 22, 2007 12:11 pm

    Good luck in the WS Curt! You’ve got all of us fans in D.C. at Rino’s cheering you on!

  41. curttola permalink
    October 30, 2007 11:17 pm

    Curt in Dodger Blue is very exciting…

  42. kjwaterville permalink
    December 18, 2007 8:09 pm

    Hello Curt,

    I am a lifelong Red Sox fan, and I am appreciative of all you have brought to our team. A dear friend of mine passed on Sunday…I believe you may have had the pleasure of meeting him. Al Hendsbee of Fairfield, Maine was a coach, mentor, and, most importantly, a friend. Al lost his fight, but he never lost his determination or “happy-go-lucky” attitude. I know you are a businessman on top of all of your major league responsibilities and extremely busy at that; however, I was hoping you could find it in your heart to post a good word or possibly contact the grieving family as I know they held you in the highest regard for all your selfless work with ALS. One of my best friends and his mother (along with half the state of Maine) are mourning the loss of gentleman and kindhearted man. They are holding a wake on Thursday the 20th with the funeral on the 21st. I realize that it is not realistic for you to attend, but any kind words you could offer would be a genuine blessing for this family. I will leave it at that. I truly admire the way you handle your public affairs as well as your charity contributions. Please forgive the length of my request.

    Sincerely,

    KJ

Trackbacks

  1. ask the magic 8 ball

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 639 other followers

