Skip to content

Tampa Bay?

August 23, 2007

Yep, I said it. The quotes were all exact that I can remember, it’s just that the context and the full conversations of the interview(s) somehow didn’t come through, or make print.

 

The other morning on the radio the topic of next year was brought up, and I am not sure by whom but I was asked about it.

 

During that conversation, and in the two that followed, my response started the exact same way which was “Well obviously Boston is my first choice, this is where I’d like to be, but if that doesn’t work out then yes I have given thought to the other scenarios and possibilities.”

 

For some reason that seems to have been omitted from what’s gotten into print. Obviously putting that in the article pretty much makes it a non-article doesn’t it?

 

This is not news, not even close. The discussion turned to potential scenarios next year and when talking with Rob Bradford we discussed how my not having an agent means I have complete control and confidence in knowing exactly what is going on at any given moment. Right now, as it should be, nothing is happening. I am on a first place team trying to win a world series, period. There is no concern on my end about any of the stuff that will happen following this season.

 

That being said there are 24 hours in a day and I’d be lying if I said I hadn’t thought it through to some extent. It really will be an easy thing to do for a few simple reasons.

 

When this season ends, hopefully at some point after a world series parade, Shonda and the kids and I will sit down to decide the course of action. If the Red Sox decide that having me back here for another year is not the best option then we’ll decide what that means and go from there.

 

Then we draw up a letter and send it to the teams that would be the right fit for one more year, and wait to hear back. The funny part in many instances of media members playing GMs is their assumption that every team wants every player.

 

One of the side stories that really shouldn’t be is that past comments I have made about the Yankees and not going there. I find humor in the fact that no one ever thought to ask whether the Yankees would even want me. Regardless of where I want to go there has to be a desire on the teams part to want you and that’s not going to be the case with every team you want to play for.

 

I’m going to be a 41 year old free agent, and right now I am not pitching even remotely close to as good as I can, or should be. That is probably the most important part of the equation no matter what our choices may end up being. Going on the DL to basically relearn all there is to know about keeping my shoulder strong over the next 14-16 months certainly will raise questions with any team outside of Boston that might be interested, so I’ll have to answer those them as well.

 

As far as criteria goes on the family side of things that will play a very prominent part in the decision. The things I would look for as a player are pretty simple.

 

The only real criteria would be to go to a team that at least on paper is put together to get to October and has a front office committed to winning. If no teams in that position are interested then the only other one would be to go to a team that had a wealth of great young talent, good manager and a city the family would want to live in for a year. The reason Tampa did come up is because I’ve known Joe Maddon since I was 15, he was a very instrumental part of me ever getting a shot at playing professional baseball. Add to that the incredibly talented and strong young nucleus of starting pitching in place. They are by no means the only team in that position but Shonda and I also had a home in the Largo area for a few years and enjoyed living there. There are other factors involved such as what teams do during the off season to their rosters, that will factor into the decision as well, but by no means was this a conversation initiated by me or one that was intended to make anyone feel any pressure or direction about my current situation. I’ve talked at length with Theo, Mr Henry and Mr Werner and when the time comes we’ll handle it the way it needs to be handled.

 

The major pluses to all this are that I am only going to sign a one year deal. So it won’t be about maxing out on the financial side and at 41 and given how I am pitching right now and the fact that 2009 and our decisions on it won’t be made until after 2008, and I don’t think I could in good conscience ask someone to commit to more than that.

 

But most of the above really isn’t relevant if I right the ship and get to where I know I can be, and the situation here becomes one that allows it to work out and us to stay. There have not been any discussions or any ill will on either side. Now is not the time for those talks to take place anyway. We have 25 guys and an organization backed by something like 15 million fans working on a world championship. The other important factor is that other than me, no one in this clubhouse should care about anything other than what we are trying to accomplish. So the story gets written in a way that allows members of the media to ask questions of my teammates, and the manager and front office, when it had no reason to. It’s not an issue or a topic of discussion in any way shape or form, nor should it be, especially after this post.

 

The beauty in all this is that whatever is supposed to happen will. Trusting in God and his plan for my family and I makes it a non-issue for the most part. Whatever happens, it will all work out for everyone in the end however it’s supposed to.

75 Comments leave one →
  1. soxmax permalink
    August 23, 2007 4:21 am

    Thanx Curt for clearing the air.

  2. August 23, 2007 5:16 am

    As a Sox fan, I would be sad to see you in another uniform but at the same time, I’d be thrilled if you went to Tampa. You’d be a great addition to their staff and a great resource to veteran-ify a young team. It’d be a little weird, yes, but I think it would work out well.

    But until the off-season, it’s World Series focus time!

  3. thedoctorx permalink
    August 23, 2007 5:49 am

    Well stated.

    –J.D.

  4. August 23, 2007 6:07 am

    Curt -

    Hate to say it, but there’s a very simple way to never be misquoted or taken out of context – don’t talk to the media. I mean, what’s the worst thing that could happen if you did that? And this is from a guy who worked in sports media for quite a number of years. Do you know what happens when athletes don’t give guys in the media ammunition? The mediots then have to actually work to get a story instead of taking the easy way out and lifting quotes with the intention of selling newspapers or getting ratings.

    That said – and don’t take this the wrong way – right now I couldn’t possibly care less what happens in 2008. I’m more concerned with right now and maintaining/increasing a 5-game lead, and maybe even keeping the Yankees out of the playoffs. I mean, having once had a double digit lead earlier in the season, it would be a shame to revisit 1978 all over again.

  5. jbran66 permalink
    August 23, 2007 7:16 am

    Dear Mr. Schilling,

    I am a person with a disability with a great sports & business mind that once could play and coach and work deals for players, but now cannot anymore and it is my opinion that you coming back to the Red Sox for 2008 should be about you and your family wanting to win another championship. Nothing more. And that would be just great!

    Boston recently is developing about one new player each year and has a nice nucleus of pitching now. With pitchers like Beckett, Matzusaka, Wakefield, Lester and maybe Buckholts or a free-agent, signed for the near future, you coming back makes them stronger, but not as much as you could help another team delevop their young stars.

    I know some Red Sox fans might perceive this as me trying to run you out of town, trust me, nothing is further from the truth. I’ll take you everyday as my #1 guy until you decide to call it quits. My comments are meant to give my opnion on the best welfare of the Schilling family.

    So, if Boston decides to move on or you decide to try moving on to a rebuilding scenario, the Tampa Bay Devil Rays make perfect sense. With Kazmir and Shield striking out everyone at their young age and if the kid who pitched well last night vs the Sox can find some consistency, you’d be a great mentor to mold those young minds and still have a chance to build something.

    Tampa Bay is almost always in last place. There’s a lot to work to do there. Lots to improve upon and I know you’re just the teacher to get the pitching going in the right direction. In addition, with the other young talent they have now in Upton, Crawford, Iwamura and Gomes, just to name a few. A big name commitmemnt, like you, by their ownership might show their willingness to win and keep those young stars right there in TB for a long time to come and get to the point were they can challenge the Sox and Yankees in 3 or 4 years from now.

    Whatever you decide I know will be for the best of the Schillings – Good luck the rest of this year and when we win, hopefully, I’ll have enough strength to come see you with the trophy and you can sign my hat.

    Sincerely,

    James Brandon
    Nashua, NH

    jbran66@comcast.net

  6. dadhampton permalink
    August 23, 2007 7:27 am

    I would say you are candid, open and forthright – others might characterize it as outspoken, rash and careless. I don’t think you are adding to your positive image when you always need to explain what was said (or what was heard).

  7. game6sockwasfake permalink
    August 23, 2007 8:03 am

    curt –

    the sox are not going to sign you as I am sure someone as smart as you can figure out. Although given past theo mistakes (arroyo, clement, gag-me, renteria, ) they should certainly respect your contributions.

    Than being said comments about not going to the yankees or any other team are not prudent for you… who else in the East would pay you big money to stuff it in theo’s face – the devil rays?! oooooo the drama… (insert heavy sarcasm here)

    you can go ride bikes with millar in baltimore which is probably another team that would cowboy up, but toronto is getting a little fat in the payroll and a little short on the wins to meet your reque$ted money I am sure.

    you could go to an NL team and hit cruise control, but I would think continuing the duquette “twilight” curse would suit you better…

    principles are fine but it is all a business and becoming the furthest thing from a sport…

    as a yankee fan i was disguested to see posada and rivera get ignored or “politely turned down” this spring when randy johnson, carl pavano, jason “the albatross” giambi, igawa, farnsworthless and countless others have gotten rich

    tampa bay doesnt scare the sox into re-signing you at all… in fact they would prefer it!

    you want to scare the sox into paying you for the only ring they’ll see before 2090?! there’s only one team that can do that…

    get an agent man – sheesh…

  8. frodo1962 permalink
    August 23, 2007 8:10 am

    Excellent post Curt, I didn’t hear the interview but caught a bit of the spin … I suspected it was as you wrote, and glad to read that I was right.

    Frankly no matter what you say now or who initiates the conversation, there will be certain members of the local media with axes to grind and known for vindictiveness who will spin it as negatively as possible (you could say its cloudy today and it would end up in certain columns that you criticized Red Sox management for not building a domed stadium).

    Stay tough, we have faith in you.

  9. August 23, 2007 8:40 am

    Somehow, I suspected there was more to the quote than we were given, via the media.

    But Tampa? You really want to wear a vest-style uniform? Ew! ;-) (LOL! Couldn’t resist. I have a personal vendetta against the vests.)

    You’re right though. Whatever will be, will be, and you’ll get there. But for now: it’s full speed ahead, destination: October.

  10. ilovethe2oo4sox permalink
    August 23, 2007 9:23 am

    Curt – Thanks for 2004 but what have you done for us lately? Last year you were out most of the year and this year you have been sub-par. I wish you well in your next venture and once again thanks for helping us get the series in 2004.

  11. badger99 permalink
    August 23, 2007 10:08 am

    Curt – I love you. You will always be on of the 25. I can never thank you enough.

    But, really, you have to know that *anytime* a player talks about his impending free agency during a pennant race it will be blown out of proportion. No matter what you say about it. It always is blown out of proportion. It is always turned into something that your teammates will be asked about even if it is prefaced by “I love it here”….as long as there is a “but” in there, it will become a story.

    So – I wonder – as much as the story has been misreported and as much as Boston is your first choice, etc. Why doesn’t a smart person such as yourself have a canned answer prepared for anytime you are asked about your contract and next year? Why can’t you just say, “We’re in the middle of a pennant race and I really don’t want to publicly talk about my contract or where I might play next year. Ask me anything about baseball and this team I am on right now and I will answer you.” ? Why do you say something when you must know that eventually all your teammates will be asked about it? You are smarter than this, aren’t you?

  12. August 23, 2007 10:15 am

    There goes the media twisting and omitting things AGAIN! I get so tired of seeing it! Regardless of whether you end up staying in Boston or end up elsewhere (as a Red Sox fan I hope you stay), I’ll still be rooting for you!

  13. August 23, 2007 10:42 am

    If by chance you don’t see yourself pitching at 100% next year, maybe you could go to the Yankees and suck hard over there next season.. you know, for us. Then you could come back and enter the hall of fame in a Sox jersey. :)

  14. curtswift permalink
    August 23, 2007 11:20 am

    You seem pretty level headed, in spite of what some of the haters out there say. I would love to see you back next year. You have become a Red Sox legend because of your performance in 2004. You said you came here to bring the championship home to us and you did and on one bad ankle no less. You will always be a hero to the Red Sox Nation and all the true fans of the team. I hope you come back, but if not I wish you the best wherever you wind up. That having been said, don’t pull a Damon and go to the Yankees and saying you never would. We might not let that one slide…;-)

  15. capecodtek permalink
    August 23, 2007 11:24 am

    Of course we want you in a Red Sox uniform next year. On another note your team is in a pennant race here. To even suggest anything about where you will play next year should deserve a “NO COMMENT” We know your a leader Curt. Start leading like we know you can. Please carry us into another World Series. Not where you will play next year. Yes you should know by now how reporters will twist what you say around to make a good story. Show them with your gift as a Pitcher and a Leader.

  16. jimmykc permalink
    August 23, 2007 12:55 pm

    To explain statements directly is a good reason for a blog, although Manny and Coco just avoid problems by not talking to the media. You have not really mentioned how your shoulder feels, though. Is it as good as when you were at Pawtucket?? I hope so.

  17. montpelierfan permalink
    August 23, 2007 3:04 pm

    Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuude . . .

    When posed questions like that, there is only one acceptable answer for the Nation:

    “Right now I get to play in the center of the baseball universe. All other clubs, and all other cities, cannot hold a candle to the intelligent, witty, and good looking fans of Red Sox nation. If I can’t play baseball in Beantown, I don’t want to play, cause it’s all downhill from here.”

    or perhaps . . .

    “I would rather castrate myself with a toenail clipper than play for a team other than the Red Sox. My dreams of becoming a successful politician depend on my relations with The Nation, and if that means I can never play for another team, ever, for the rest of my life, well then so be it.”

    I’ll be your agent, Curt, and here’s the line: one more year, reasonable but not astronomical salary with performance benchmarks. Do your best, and we’ll vote for you when you inevitably run for political office in New England.

    No joke, move to VT, you’re the one of a handful of level-headed types that could run and win up here . . .

  18. ericx1973 permalink
    August 23, 2007 3:04 pm

    I love all these sycophant, kiss butt fans you have on here Curt, the bottom line is your an over grown selfish child, with foot in mouth disease. Ho many years and teams, you have been on and gone threw, where you have continually made comments that get under everyone’s collar, but Oh you always have an excuse, like a 3 year old. It’s time to look in the mirror buddy, it’s not everyone else it’s YOU!! We’re sitting here trying to win a world series and all you can talk about is where you’re going to play next year because poor last minute decision Schilling decided he wanted to play another year, and the Sox didn’t jump out of there shoes to not only sign you, but court you, which is more of what your ego was looking for. Hey listen up guy because i’m on to you, i’m on to the fact, you’re only using the rest of the season to, re-invent yourself, so you can be like a Tom Glavine say. Thanks for using the Red Sox to practice your new stupid curve ball, and practice re-inventing yourself at the expense of your teammates the fans, your manager, the organization. You didn’t win the world series in04 all by yourself my friend. And i’m sickened that you can’t keep your mouth shut long enough to finish the season. Not only that you can’t help but ruin the team focus of winning one again this year, with your selfish team distracting comments. We might as well call you Tiki Barber.

    p.s. I have a 32X22 framed classic photo of you with the bloody sock, I loved you and what you did for our team, sorry I got to see the real you afterwords.

  19. curtlovescurt permalink
    August 23, 2007 4:23 pm

    Curt,

    I like how you constantly feel the need to clarify stories – saying you were “taken out of context” or “quotes weren’t printed in full.”

    Here’s my advice: Stop talking. Nobody cares where you’re going to be next year. As of this moment, I’d guess you’re going to be getting shelled every fifth day because you’re old, you can’t strike anyone out anymore, and you should’ve retired before THIS season.

    Keep talking, Curt. That’s the only way you’re making headlines.

  20. frodo1962 permalink
    August 23, 2007 4:29 pm

    Funny how they dismiss and ridicule this blog, yet when those folks were discussing this tripe the last thing out of one of their mouths was “you know tomorrow we’re going to look like bad guys on that blog page”. Seems you have them worried!

  21. lughlamfhada permalink
    August 23, 2007 5:41 pm

    Hi Curt,

    Let me start off by saying that I truly hope you remain with the Red Sox. I know that there is undoubtedly some concern about your durability and consistency, but I hope that you and the management can come to terms that will be beneficial for all involved. You will ALWAYS be a monumental hero to this team, and I will still wear the authentic Schilling jersey my fiance got me to every game!

    With that aside, please kick some Yankee tail this week and let’s win that world series!!!

    -Lugh

  22. soxfanindan permalink
    August 23, 2007 6:20 pm

    I was listening on the radio when you made those comments, and I knew that they would be blown all out of proportion. Well, It gives us all something to talk about I guess, but I am one fan who hopes you will be here next year. I know its a business for both sides, but as a fan I hate that part of sports. For now its (hopefully) into the final stretch and into the playoffs! GO SOX!

  23. August 23, 2007 7:04 pm

    Curt, I hope your back next year, but would not surprise me if the Sox go the way of arbitration. To me, you are in the top three of Red Sox Pitchers of my time (right up there with Pedro and Clemens). I have always wanted to meet you. I loved meeting Beckett and standing on the mound with him during Disability Awareness Day. I did want to meet three other people . . you, Remy, and of all people, Micheal Holley.

    Win one this year for Malach!

  24. cursedtofirst permalink
    August 23, 2007 8:28 pm

    oh, yeah, manny has totally avoided problems by not talking to the media. give me a break. that really worked out for pedro, too, didn’t it? it never ceases to amaze me that the same people that ripped the greatest pitcher on the planet apart for *not* talking to the media are willing to turn around and rip the world series hero apart for talking “too much”. what exactly is it that we want around here?

  25. angelkatie413 permalink
    August 23, 2007 9:01 pm

    Well said as always, Curt. Really sorry about how the media warps things.

    As far as next year, you have the best idea – just keep your faith in God as to what to do next, and He is going to lead you and your family to where you’re supposed to be. As much as I love you with the Sox, you need to go where you’re meant to go.

  26. redsox1918 permalink
    August 23, 2007 9:28 pm

    Curt,

    I would love to see a Curt FB around 92 mph for the next two months, along with a bunch of swings and misses from major league hitters. Hence, the Sox win the division, the Sox win it all, and Curt comes back next year in a Sox uniform. Works for me…

  27. skinnyman2007 permalink
    August 23, 2007 10:55 pm

    Curt I hope you are back next year. The media should not say things at this time in the season when you and the team are pushing to be in the playoffs. I know Rob Braford Curt. He went to Hamilton Wenham Regional High School. When I was a freshman in 1995 and I helped out the baseball team and that is when I meet Rob Braford. Just worry about the rest of the season not the offseason. If you are not back next year for the RedSox thank you for helping them win a World Series in 2004 and you did a great job Winning the World Series!!!!!!!!!. I wish you good luck to you and your family during the offseason where ever you go to.

    Jeff

  28. olyjack permalink
    August 24, 2007 12:55 am

    Of course you’ve thought it through, Curt. How could you not? But there’s a big difference between thinking it through and talking about it on the air. I’m one of your biggest fans, but I gotta tell you, that was a mistake.

  29. phishingphreak permalink
    August 24, 2007 1:54 am

    If it’s God’s plan for you to play for the Evil Empire, that is the greatest sports franchise in the world, would you do it?

    Can you imagine what it would feel like to finally play with a legit closer?

    Good luck.

    Personally, I don’t think anyone in NY wants you to play for them, but who knows, Boss George has done stranger things…..

    See you Tues.

  30. skisox24 permalink
    August 24, 2007 7:04 am

    There’s a reason why newspaper circulation and television news ratings are falling off the precipice. It’s not just the flood of information available to all on the internet….but rather its the consumer’s rejection of the packaged format that has evolved in those mediums that must adhere to the money masters. The content must sell, or it doesn’t appear in the paper or on the newscast.

    I suspect that your message serves two purposes, Curt. On the one hand, it allows you to convey your feelings with clarity and purpose. On the other, it probably also constitutes a therapeutic exercise that helps you organize and distill complex issues resulting in a comfortable expression of your thoughts.

    Thank you for respecting Red Sox fans by sharing these thoughts with us. I wish you the best, whatever happens. And the best means another October parade in the cold mist of Boston!

  31. maireq permalink
    August 24, 2007 9:34 am

    Did you go and say something to the media again? ;D

    I don’t care where you pitch next year (as I recall you once pitched for a team in Arizona… or did I dream that?) I just need to know where I’m driving to catch a game — uniform doesn’t matter.

    By the way, you’re the only person I know who posts attacks (on yourself) that are submitted to your own blog. That is pretty impressive, actually, as I can’t think of anyone else who does this — at least where the comments are monitored. Most people can’t bear to allow anyone to disagree with them, let alone publicly bash them. Immediately puts the lie to the ‘ego’ comments, doesn’t it? Says more about who you really are than just about anything else out here.

  32. theotherm permalink
    August 24, 2007 10:02 am

    When you’re facing a team like the Yankees and so much is on the line, do you get nervous or do you look forward to those games and step it up a notch. Obviously we saw what you did in 2004, but I just wonder what emotions you go through when you’re on the mound.

  33. kekich permalink
    August 24, 2007 2:01 pm

    First we had Charles Barkley misquoted in his own autobiography. Now we have Curt Schilling misquoted on the radio. Please. You were asked about playing for another team next year. An intelligent person would have said, “I play for the Red Sox; any talk about another team or another year is premature and inappropriate.” That’s what an intelligent person would have said. That’s not what you said.

  34. brigo8371 permalink
    August 24, 2007 7:37 pm

    Obviously the conventional wisdom is, we want you back, but only if you’re still any good. Can’t really argue with that. Once players were granted free agency in the 70s, organizations and fans were presented with that…

    Here’s a stupid question I would love to know the answer to. Do you notice the rolling ad signs behind home plate in pretty much every ballpark?

    Uh oh, you just gave up a homer while I was typing….Uribe.

  35. August 24, 2007 10:33 pm

    How does Curt make any sense for Tampa?

  36. theotherm permalink
    August 25, 2007 8:50 am

    Nice win last night!

  37. goon29 permalink
    August 25, 2007 11:07 am

    Come back to Philly!!

  38. b4andbeyond permalink
    August 25, 2007 11:37 am

    “And I say to myself what a wonderful day!” Quite a win in Chicago!

  39. August 25, 2007 6:08 pm

    Curt, you looked real good last night. Best location since you came of the DL and the velocity looks better. Sure would love to have you back next year and kick some butt this week at the Toilet.

    Peace,
    RTS

  40. August 25, 2007 9:46 pm

    These are some of the most unbelievable comments I’ve read in a long time. People, pull your cranium out of your posterior, specifically ericx1973 and curtlovescurt.

    game6sockwasfake probably has a decent enough analysis there (Yankees fan, figures), but I’m just blown away by the haters. Folks, if you really couldn’t care less, why are you here? You seem to feel the need to make sure Curt knows exactly what you think. Sadly for you, I’m quite sure he has no opinion on you – couldn’t care less, and frankly you don’t exist in his world. He doesn’t care what you think, yet you seem to think he does.

    RE: Going back and clarifying, etc. Look, that will happen when you’re not speaking through filters. Sometimes things get said in ways that don’t come out right. Curt, speak your mind. Look, I’m not always hip to everything you say, but you know what – you’re the only guy out there that says stuff straight up. If you have to clarify, so be it. I would rather hear what’s on your mind, unfiltered, than hear some kind of sanitized, wiped down version. I read and I listen because I want to know what you’ve got to say. I’m not reading and I’m not listening because I want to sit there an say what a jerk Schilling is; I’ve got better things to do with my time than that. Apparently though, there are more than a few people out there that have nothing better to do. I guess that’s why I don’t live in my mother’s basement.

    Keep doing what you do.

  41. August 25, 2007 10:23 pm

    I look forward to seeing you and the rest of the guys dousing each other with champagne in late October; the rest can wait.

    SoxNation.net

  42. cmac1973 permalink
    August 25, 2007 10:35 pm

    Mr. Schilling –

    I know you like to blame the media for the spin they put on the comments you make or the context they use to make whatever point you believe they are going for when you say something, but there’s an easy way to eliminate that: Stop talking to them. I’m a huge fan of yours – as well as a member of the (non-sports) media, but I often feel like you dig your own grave when you say things one day and attempt to spin them the next. It doesn’t work that way and it never has. You NEVER should have told any reporter about the list of teams you put together for 2008. Try focusing on 2007, and 2008 will take care of itself. If you pitch better, teams will be falling over themselves to outbid each other for your services, but you need to be focused on 2007 until this season is over. Bill Parcells had his eye on the Jets when the Patriots played Green Bay in the Super Bowl and the team got croaked. Maybe your wandering eye and anticipation of your freedom has something to do with the roller-coaster results you’ve put up this season. I have always been a huge fan of your pitching and I can’t tell you how excited I was when Theo got the deal done to bring you to Boston, but it seems like the more distractions and outside interests you add to your plate, the less effective you’ve become as a pitcher.

  43. sdredsoxfan permalink
    August 26, 2007 6:12 am

    Curt,

    You guys have been amazing against Chicago this weekend. Scoring 35 runs in 3 games all in a 2 day period. I hope Tavarez does well today. I would like to have a little cushion going into New York on Tuesday. That should be a great series and I pray that we come out on top. Regarding the games with Chicago, Beckett, you and Wake pitched very well and the offense really came alive. Beckett and Wake are now 16 game winners and you probably would be if you wouldn’t have been out for a while. I am really glad that you are back and seem to be hitting your groove again. About next year, I do hope that you remain with us for another year. I would really hate to see you go. Keep up the great work and keep striving for October and the World Series.

  44. inkfreq permalink
    August 26, 2007 8:44 am

    Come on back to ‘Zona Curt, we miss you.

  45. dreale permalink
    August 26, 2007 10:30 am

    Curt

    Not sure if you get to read all of these or not….
    but my guess is the Sox will resign you to your one year deal

    3 major reasons

    1) I doubt that the young arms they have in the minors are ready to come up and pitch full time in the majors (Bucholz etc.. I even wonder if Lester is fully ready but time will tell)

    2) Look at the free agent pitching list. You are by far the best option

    3) You said it yourself… Boston is your first choice

    Things will work out, Lets get that World Series Trophy first

    I may not always agree with what you say but I applaud you and this team for the hard work and dedication you put in.

    I also admire you for making these type of connections with Sox fans (emails)

  46. abqjohn permalink
    August 26, 2007 11:30 am

    Tsk, tsk, tsk. It’s too bad you are not nearly as intelligent as you think you are. Bottom line is that you continue to make an a** of yourself at nearly every opportunity that you get…and you do seem to get quite a few of those opportunities lately. Your season has been a microcosm of the macrocosm, right? It never changes with you…this is what you always do. As a true Sox fan, your act has grown tired. I like the future of class acts such as Jacoby Ellisbury, Paplebon, Lester mixed in with the class acts of the present such as Lowell, Varitek, and Youk.

    You come into camp overweight, out of shape, and you immediately try to force the Sox’ hand on a new contract. What a joke! It seemed that you found it intolerable that none of the focus or attention was on you, other than the fact that it was extremely noticeable that you developed a penchant for donuts and beer in the offseason.

    As far as your intellect, you confuse the ability to spew opinion with sentient conversation. You have no sense of filter whatsoever, and you make yourself a complete distraction at every opportunity (i.e. the Bonds thing, you couldn’t resist being above it all with the bloody sock thing, now negotiating through the media).

    You have managed to take yourself from iconic status in Boston and transformed your image into being viewed as a pathetic fading veteran. You have focused on everything (i.e. other people, reacting to everything because you are so thin skinneed, your game company, your mouth, your mouth, your mouth…oh wait, I already said that. You get the point).

    The sad thing is that all you would have to do is work yourself on the treadmill and in the gym half as hard as you work your mouth, and you would be better than 98% of the rest of the pitchers in baseball.

    Dude…you can pitch. You are gifted beyond belief with that. Public relations? Not so much…definitely not your gift. You would be much more interesting if you would DO YOUR JOB with as much consistency as making an a** out of yourself. It’s not that you should shut your mouth…God knows you wouldn’t be half as interesting. I like it that thinking it and saying it are the same thing with you. However, every know and then it would be really nice if you could back up your BS with performances that you are capable of delivering.

    By the way…it’s interesting that when you are doing well, you blog on endlessly about Curt Schilling and how gifted you are as an athelete, statesman, and philosophical / intellectual giant. When you aren’t doing well, THEN you decide to blog about your charitable efforts. It seems rather suspect that you only have a bleeding heart when you put your foot in your mouth or you are struggling. Perhaps you should contemplate that.

  47. redsoxgirl07 permalink
    August 26, 2007 1:49 pm

    Curt,
    I’m happy to know that the rumours I’ve been hearing are false. This is my first REAL year as a red sox fan and you being my favorite pitcher would have been hard to hear you were leaving boston. I understand you being a free agent may direct you to other teams..regardless of the team..you’re still going to be my favorite pitcher.

  48. rummiesdummy permalink
    August 26, 2007 2:27 pm

    Yeah Curt, it is pretty funny how “Boston is my first choice” is left out. Personally, if it doesn’t work in Boston, that would be a good fit for you to go out. Get to tutor a guy like Kazmir that usually dominates us, and be around guys like Upton and Young who need to understand how to handle themselves now that their major leaguers. I just don’t see next years rotation without you, you may not be the number one anymore, but you’re a quality guy and the best part is, you say what you want and don’t hold things in like alot of guys who’ve come to Boston and been afraid to make a name for themselves in the media.

  49. justyhakubi permalink
    August 27, 2007 8:11 pm

    Hey Curt have you ever thought of re-inventing yourself as a power home run hitter?

    You guys better give some runs to Daisuke tomorrow. After scoring 46 runs in Chicago you guys better score more than 2 tomorrow. I know if I were Daisuke I’d be a little miffed. I know that he is a professional and has a team spirit, but jeez! Daisuke was pitching when Texas put up 33 runs on Baltimore in that pre-season football game. He must have been looking at the scoreboard and been crying.

    You looked really good in your last start. Granted Chicago is not on their game right now, but they are professional ball players. Good luck in your next start against the Yanks. You guys have a chance to nail the coffin shut on them.

    Concerning next year, as a fan I’d love to see you back. Experienced pitchers who know how to win are hard to come by. However, if it doesn’t work out and another team picks you up, you’ll always have a home in Boston.

  50. doug1122003 permalink
    August 27, 2007 10:16 pm

    Hey Curt!! This is off topic I know but what felt better, beating the Yanks in ’01 or ’04??

  51. terry14rice permalink
    August 27, 2007 11:55 pm

    I am a huge sox fan like all of us. And i am a little mad this year because many fans are unhappy because we are not winning pretty. I am amazed on the pitching performances by tavers, wake and dice k. If we would get them a couple more runs all three whould have 16 wins. the only thing I am mad about this year is (I am 37) for as long as i watched baseball you never give up a lefty never. i wish we never got rid of kabbard. I think that move will come back to hunt us. All I want this year is to win the east.

    southernmost redsox fan

  52. firedannyainge permalink
    August 28, 2007 8:31 pm

    The media starting trouble? What a shock. NOT

    About the Yankee series just do it. Sweep them and put the nail in the coffin. I really am past hearing excuses it is about time the hitters hit for Matsuzaka. It is also time that the pitchers do their job and if the hitting only gets one run don’t give up a run. We had 86 years of excuses it is time to just do it.
    Other teams do not have the pitching we have and they can manage to win 2-1 games so I don’t understand why we can’t.

    Good luck.

    http://firedannyainge.wordpress.com

  53. joei71 permalink
    August 28, 2007 9:35 pm

    Hey Curt,

    Forget about all this crap. Just go out there and beat NY and the rest will take care of itself!

  54. redsox38 permalink
    August 29, 2007 5:18 pm

    Curt- I would love to see you back in a Red Sox uniform next year because I must say that you are a big part of the Red Sox team and it wouldn’t be the same with out you I hope for the best and that you stay with the Red Sox.

  55. comininside permalink
    August 30, 2007 12:46 am

    Being that Cashman is commited to getting younger and more financially flexible I don’t think there is any chance that you come to the Yankees. (thankfully).

  56. phishingphreak permalink
    August 30, 2007 6:18 am

    Kirt,

    Good Luck today. You will need it.

    I predict you get knocked out in the 3rd or 4th, and the RS will lose again.

    A-Rod will have another big game at The Stadium, and the Yanks will roll…

    Why? Because you and the rest of your club are headed for what will become the biggest collapse in the history of baseball. And I will be proud that I said it first.

    Now go order yourself a sammiche and a coke. Tape your heel, and stretch out your limbs you old man, and prepare for a whipping!

    GO YANKEES!!!

  57. soxfanintx permalink
    August 30, 2007 9:46 am

    Curt, you act as your own agent so likewise moving forward skip the media interviews and give the exclusive story to 38pitches.com.

  58. nebber100 permalink
    August 30, 2007 1:42 pm

    Curt,

    How does it feel to have endorsed the president who in all likelihood will go down as the worst president in history?

  59. August 31, 2007 6:56 am

    Ouch.
    This was not a good series.

    And it wasn’t the pitching that was so off, because everyone was “okay”, with the exception of DiceK whom I thought was kept in far too long. He was off the whole night. But no run support.

    JD Drew. Could’ve come up huge….

    Moving on…………………

    I don’t have time this a.m. to really read this post, and going to have to come back and re-read it this evening. Personally, I think it would be ideal for you to stay in Boston for the extension. But – there’s certainly far more to it than what I feel/think.

    Looking forward to re-reading later….

  60. nb34 permalink
    August 31, 2007 3:57 pm

    Dear Curt,

    You are the only pitcher I have ever liked more than Pedro, and that is saying something. However this is entire situation has been very discomforting as not only a fan of you but more importantly the Red Sox. There are a lot more things than you as a member of the Red Sox should be thinking about rather than your plans for next year.

    I would love to see you back next year, especially since you helped us back in 2004 (how could we forget about that?), but you should be more concerned with the way you have been pitching lately than playing for the D-rays or whatever next year.

    Don’t get me wrong, my utmost faith is placed in you when you take the hill, but this is definitley not the Curt Schilling we have come to know, or should expect.

    Thank you for the explanation but this entire controversy could have been avoided with a better thought out answer, especially from a smart person like yourself.

    Thank you and good luck in October.

  61. sonic24batramirez permalink
    September 1, 2007 2:04 am

    Its great to see these loser Yankee fans leave you messages reading your blog and seeing what you have to say.Says alot about what they are worried about. If some one is going to go as far as making there blog screen name the sock was fake, then they have happened to be a victim of the media. Im actually a member of the media, and Im a hater of the media. All we do is manipulate, edit, pick and choose what will bring you ratings, and benefit the media. What kind of sick bastard would walk in to the clubhouse of yankee stadium and put ketchup on his sock. If I walked into Yankee stadium, there are alot more things I consider doing than putting Ballpark dog condiments on my sock. Its the AlCS, Bostons Curt Schilling has a few more other things to worry about than the Heinz 57. What about striking out arod and Jeter.

    Even though yall lost tonite, its alright, the offense came through in the late innings and put up some runs. Next time Joba is in pinstripes against Big Papi, I think He will give up his first major league run via the 3 run shot

    peace
    fellow yankee hater – Sonic

  62. sonic24batramirez permalink
    September 1, 2007 2:09 am

    and these schmucks that attack your political views on your baseball Blog. How Genius is that. Pot is an Herb, Bush is a Dope. I Live right by you Curt, so when your hanging at home in your house close to my radio station check out my show, It has nothing to do with baseball, just music, its on 88.3 FM , It should work where your at

  63. yankeeworld permalink
    September 1, 2007 6:22 am

    Curt i hope you stay in Boston, and so does the Yankees………lol……especially Robbie Cano……..holy cow…….well see you in the playoffs if you guys make the wild card that is lol, and someone tell Manny to cut his hair, not only is he playing like a bum he looks like one

    Yankees Rule

  64. September 1, 2007 8:12 am

    Okay. Now that I’ve re-read, I’ve got to say that I still stand by that I think it would be ideal for Boston to extend the 1 yr. offer. I’d much rather have you be in our starting lineup – than have to face against you in someone elses.

    It’s one year. Short committment. And you’re still pitching well. Not as good as you like or feel that you are capabale of – but still good enough to be in the top 5! Personally, I think it’s a no-brainer and should be as such to the front office management.

    This isn’t nostalgia speaking. It’s common sense to me.
    Eh, you can always retire to Florida!!! :)

  65. keepmikelowell permalink
    September 1, 2007 8:48 am

    Hey,
    I was wondering what the team thought of Mike Lowell. Is he, along with others, one of the so-called leaders on the team?

    Though this really has nothing to do with you I just wanted to tell someone..
    Lowell is one of my favorite players on the Red Sox and I don’t want to be looking at anyone else playing 3b next year..

    Thanks for reading, even though it really doesnt seem like it has anything to do with you. :-) .

    Oh, and good luck on your next start.

  66. yankeesonshine permalink
    September 1, 2007 3:03 pm

    Hey Curt,

    Are you the one who determines who gets to post here? Or do you have henchmen do it for you? I have been blocked from leaving a post from my own computer. And for what reason… did I use foul language? No. Did I try to post spam? NO. All I did was sat that MAYBE the Sox front office knew what thet were doing when they didn’t sign you before the end of the season.What a horrible thing for me to do. And yet now it seems all but certain that you will be doing your thing in another uniform next year. At least it won’t be in Yankee pinstripes- as much as you claim to not want to play for the Yankees, I think it’s fair to say you are (and always have been) enamored with them.You didn’t name your son Ted, did you? Anyway, I do wish you luck in the future, you have a good heart when it comes to charities.

  67. lilpapi1 permalink
    September 1, 2007 7:28 pm

    I wouldn’t leave this club if I was in your place. I would end with my favorite team and root when I retire. As I think I heard from you, start a red sox, end a red sox.

  68. ncsaltydog permalink
    September 2, 2007 9:27 am

    & to the guy above my previous comment. I endorsed John Kerry and the ambulance chasing Edwards so what’s your point? I don’t share a common ground with Curt in respect to politics.Curt nor Bush are infallible. Lets talk baseball not politics.

  69. theotherm permalink
    September 2, 2007 4:40 pm

    Haven’t heard from you in awhile, but all I can say in WOW, between Buchholz no hitter and the Kids getting it done today, WOW!!!!!!

  70. schillingsdivagirl permalink
    September 3, 2007 1:05 pm

    hey Curt,
    wow, after reading some of these posts, and think I know who CHB is, man some people just say what’s on their minds! but that is what this site is for I guess. all I can say is that the Yankees fans are BRUTAL and boo their own players while sitting in the stands, which I can honestly say I have NEVER done that and really have not heard anyone here at Fenway boo our guys at any game I have attended or watched on tv at home. Just look at all the Red sox fans at the other parks we play away games in! Everyone has an off day or days as I have typed before, and continue the faith this year! I hope you can work out whatever deal is going on to stay here in BOS, but like I said before, I have been a fan of yours before you came here to Beantown. Kudos to all our guys, hope Manny and Wake are ok and what a catch from Coco the other night!!! Man I kept saying I hope he is ok!!!!??? I liked Coco in CLE and was happy he replaced that evil DAMON LOL! yes JD has been diappointing, but I still feel it is a team effort and you all wil try to get us another World Series Win! I love Red Sox Nation and always will!
    thanks, Sha Sha

  71. bosocker permalink
    September 5, 2007 9:57 pm

    Brother Curt,

    All you need to know, as you so perfectly stated is, God has a Plan and He will fulfill it. Praise God that He allowed you to be part of the Plan for the Red Sox to win the World Series in our lifetime. I trust your life will go just fine whether in Beantown or elsewhere. God forbid you should ever go to the Evil Empire, but I must admit, “His ways and thoughts are greater than my ways and thoughts. Haha.

    Brother Mike

  72. raysgo2ws permalink
    September 24, 2007 8:28 pm

    Hey Curt, huge Rays fan here. We’d love to see you in Saint Petersburg, although I don’t know how well you and Joe Magrane would get along :D.

    I believe the Rays offered five million to Mark Mulder last offseason. He was younger and injured at the time; you are older and healthy. Call that a wash so that is about what you should expect financially if the Rays go after you.

    The Rays may make a decent push this offseason and pick up some bullpen help whether it may be Linebrink or Cordero. I’d like for them to get Bonds to bolster one of the best young lineup in baseball but that’s not going to happen.

    Would you mind being the number three starter in Saint Petersburg, because that’s what you might be due to the success of Shields and Kazmir.

    Here’s the pros of going to the Rays:
    1)More net salary because of no state taxes.
    2)Think of the legend status you will achieve turning the Rays into a contender (we are already halfway there, but most people don’t know it)
    3)The obvious reasons for moving to Florida (lifestyle, weather, etc)

  73. cameronm82 permalink
    October 25, 2007 9:30 pm

    Curt,

    I’ve been thinking this over for the past few months, and I’ve decided that you should go back to Arizona for a reunion with the Big Unit. I know, I know, its different now, but come on… wouldn’t it be sweet to try it again? This time, Webb leading the way and Byrnes instead of Gonzo. Can’t you see it? You’re used to wearing red by now, so that will be an easy switch.

    Think about it, Curt. I think you already have. This would be awesome.

    -Cameron.

  74. tarrbaby101 permalink
    October 31, 2007 8:06 pm

    Curt,

    What else can Red Sox Nation say, we’d love to have you back and retire in Boston. Then you could run for senate and we could get rid of John (I’m a coward) Kerry. I know I’m speaking for Red Sox Nation when I say thank you from the bottom of our hearts. I still vividly recall the Ford commercial from 2003/2004 when you stated that you were on your way to Boston to break an eighty six year old curse and you fulfilled your promise. So, thanks again, and we wish you and your family the best.

    Charlie

  75. actionjackson73 permalink
    November 1, 2007 2:50 pm

    Curt,
    Congrats on winning your third championship. As A Philadelphia fan I long for just a chance at a world series. I can remember as a teenager wathing you and the ’93 crew of misfits taking us as fans on a wild ride.That being said, what a great wu to finish you wonderful Hall of Fame career back where you started your success. Speaking as a life long phillies fan you are the best we have had since Carlton. I can only imagine you and Cole Hamels at the top of OUR rotatation. so in closing congratulations to you and letting you know this phillies fan would love to have you back in the city of brotherly love. See you at the news confrence Curt!!

    Keith Jackson

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 639 other followers

