Skip to content

7/26/07 vs Toledo

July 26, 2007

I’ll give a game run down shortly but wanted to pass along this message from Kevin Despain, Pete’s dad, regarding Pete’s surgery on Monday. He’s incredibly appreciative of everyone’s emails and posts and I thank anyone that went there from here to do so.

 He is doing pretty good.  He had a long day.   His surgery lasted 14 and a half hours and he got into his room this morning around 1:30am. Petey is in a lot of pain in his arm and leg which was expected.The doctors feel everything went well.  The first 48 hours will be key and we hope to find out by the weekend if he will have good use of his right arm.  If the nerves and blood vessels hold up he should be in good shape.  We hope to get the results by early next week on whether there were cancer cells in the bone. 
Pete was one brave guy.  We were proud of him.” 

So thanks again and please keep the Despain family in your prayers.

  

So all in all the day I had was a win no matter what. Why are kids so much better at this life thing than we are?

The day went well. I felt ok warming up but certainly better than at any time early in the season. Didn’t have a curve ball in the pen but it showed up during the game as we started, I think, 10 hitters off with it of the 16 we faced.

Velocity wise things went well. George and I moved the ball around pretty good and the rhythm and tempo he set was a huge part in me feeling good about today.

Two things I took away, above all else, were the fact that I felt I threw my best fastballs in my last inning, and that my split, even the ones that got taken, was better than it’s been in years. The life and velocity, or lack of, on my fastball early in the year were key reasons why I think my split stopped splitting, and when it did split I got very few swings and misses.

I would venture to guess I got more combined swings and misses in the last two games than I did in a months worth of starts this year. I know it’s AAA but that doesn’t change some aspects of matchups and results when gauging stuff like this for me.

It seems they have me making one more rehab start which I am guessing will happen next Tuesday in Columbus, Ohio. I would hope the plan would be to move the pitch count to around 90 to be able to stretch it out and give them confidence in allowing me to throw when I come back with no restraints pitch count wise.

 

As for 38 Studios stuff. The group is in San Diego at Comicon this week but contrary to published reports we will NOT be revealing any information about our initial IP and product line. There will be a few snippets of art there but the leadership team is there for business meetings and to speak on a few panels being run during the convention.

 

Stop by and say hi to Brett, Todd, R.A. and the team if you are out there and get a chance.

I will grab some Q&A over the weekend here in Tampa Bay.

60 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2007 11:38 pm

    My thoughts and prayers go out to Pete and his family as well. Let’s hope he makes a quick recovery.

    Great outing again tonight. Was it your decision for the third start in the minors or was it something the Red Sox brass wanted for you?

    With the way you’re throwing the ball, don’t you think you’d be better served helping the Sox out or is it a matter of getting full arm strength back and pitching without restriction when you get back.

  2. July 27, 2007 12:15 am

    Excellent performance tonight. You should give your blog faithfuls the first sneak peak of your game when the time comes…I’m certainly excited for it!

    Adam

  3. harborwolf permalink
    July 27, 2007 2:57 am

    Just wanted to say good luck and keep up your spirits to Pete and that everyone in my family is pulling for him to get well soon!

    it’s great to hear that your feeling good about your arm Curt. We cant wait to have you back in the starting lineup and fanning hitters

    GO SOX

  4. July 27, 2007 6:07 am

    “Why are kids so much better at this life thing than we are?” I think it’s because their innocence allows them to believe – really BELIEVE – that everything will turn out OK in the end. Especially if those kids are surrounded by caring, loving adults.

    Nice outing last night. Looking forward to seeing you back on the hill for Boston in (hopefully) 10 days.

  5. July 27, 2007 6:52 am

    I Can’t wait till you make your next start back with the sox. I bought a bottle of Schilling Schardonnay to celebrate. Good luck !!!!

  6. July 27, 2007 7:24 am

    I too pray for Pete and his family, and Curt, we can’t wait for you to get back. You were so dominant last night against those “young kids.” Be well, love to your family, and RSN has turned its eyes to YOU. Peter N. From Connecticut.

  7. July 27, 2007 7:26 am

    Hey, believe it or not, WE LOVE YOU!!! We do……

  8. July 27, 2007 8:34 am

    Nice job yesturday Curt. It was good to see a 93 mph out of you.

  9. eric1414 permalink
    July 27, 2007 12:19 pm

    Hey Schil, first time poster – long time reader. During the Sox-Indians broadcast last night I think they had mentioned you threw something like 66 pitches w/ 8 Ks, I’d concur you’re back in good form =]

    I certainly understand getting one more AAA start under your belt to push the pitch count a little higher – but as Ian asked, was it your decision to do so or management’s?

    The Despain family will be in our thoughts and prayers and folks around here can’t wait to see you back in action – keep up the good work.

  10. spkrause permalink
    July 27, 2007 12:49 pm

    Great post Curt, this is a great way to engage us Sox fans.

    Looking fwd to having you back in the lineup. It’s great to see such a dominant pitching staff, and it’s hard to imagine whether the Sox ever had one this good.

    Do you have any thoughts on the upcoming trade deadline?
    Scott K, NYC

  11. curtswift permalink
    July 27, 2007 1:00 pm

    From one Curt to another, great job last night. I hope your return to Boston is a triumphant one. We will definitely need you down the stretch. I don’t think the team needs anything that it doesn’t already have either in Boston or Pawtucket. Best of luck and bring us home another World Series.

    Thoughts and prayers to Pete and his family…

    Also to my son-in-law Bennie Jost who is headed for Iraq…

    God bless!

  12. firedannyainge permalink
    July 27, 2007 2:52 pm

    Glad things are going well baseball wise. I hope we take advantage of Tampa Bay this weekend and Baltimore after that. Hope you get back healthy and soon

    http://firedannyainge.wordpress.com

    http://www.firedannyaingenow.com
    (not my site)

  13. richie1978 permalink
    July 27, 2007 3:46 pm

    Curt,
    I listen to you call in WEEI and I am a Huge RedSox fan as well as a Huge Curt Schilling fan. The reason for my admiration is your truthfullness and your honest opinions you give on public subjects. It is my opinion that you do this to draw attention to the organizations that you and your family are involved with. I am a 29 yeard old adult, married with a child and I have MD. I use a wheelchair, but I am otherwise healthy and work full time. MD is a very broad disease with many many variations of physical and mental impairment. To see a stand-up guy working and plugging for donations is truely remarkable and even though it is not for Freidrich’s Ataxia (which I have). I appreciate your time towards any advancements in the medical community.

    Go out and mow them down!

  14. tombo713 permalink
    July 27, 2007 4:01 pm

    Hi Curt, have u gotten over Theo’s comments? You seemed a bit angry in what he had to say about going on the DL.

    ty

  15. toofarawayfromboston permalink
    July 27, 2007 4:07 pm

    Great news regarding Pete – and he will continue to be in our thoughts. Kids are awfully resilient and I think we parents (adults) tend to be much more affected by their illnesses than they are. Of course, we also get to experience the joys of their doing well in a special way that they, perhaps, cannot comprehend. (By the way, I like the smiley face at the bottom of the page. Nice touch. )

    I’ve been listening/reading the reports of your rehab assignments and everyone seems to believe you are doing very well. Of course, the one who counts is yourself. It is likely in your best interest to remain “down on the farm” for one more start; although, I am sure you are mentally geared up towards coming back to contribute with the Red Sox. The guys are holding the fort down so do what you need to do – and then come back and whiff some batter for us in the stretch.

    This is a fun season. I cannot recall, in my lifetime, a Red Sox team with as much pitching talent. Shoot, it’s just packed with talent all the way around. It makes this trade deadline just a wee bit painful to me. Honestly, I’d be happy if we just sit tight and let this team do its stuff. The pieces, imo, are all there. Makes me feel very good…

    Have fun in TB! (and good luck to your peeps in San Diego… I cannot wait for the sneak preview. )

  16. schillingsdivagirl permalink
    July 27, 2007 4:11 pm

    hey Curt,
    my husband and I have the DeSpain family in out thoughts and prayers. what a brave little guy. I can’t even imagine going through all that!
    I also have to get a bottle of your Schilling Schardonnay reading the guy’ post from above.
    Rumor has it you are coming back soon, I don’t even have to type that as you know.
    I also saw the CostasNow on HBO! You are a hot ticket and I agree with everything you say and I am not just saying that! Now that Barry has responded that Bob is a midget of man, that just shows what a bigger loser Bonds is. Maybe he responded to the show and picked on Costas since it was mentioned if you don’t fight with something said about you, then it must be kind of true, LOL! So KUDOS to Costa for his response to Barry’s silly and lame comment. I love the fact the Bud Selig s in Cooperstown this weekend and hope if it happens now for Barry this weekend, it can just be over and that Hank can enjoy what ever he is doing this weekend. We love you Curt and hope you are back soooooon!!! I miss you!!! take care, Sharon

  17. schillingsdivagirl permalink
    July 27, 2007 4:13 pm

    ps… love the fact you said it would be “Disingenuous” if you ever left to go the Yankees, that is a perfect response to one of Costas’s questions, thank you again!

  18. b4andbeyond permalink
    July 27, 2007 4:14 pm

    Steady progress! That’s a good sign. Red Sox Nation both wants and needs you to return redovered and ready to win our way into October.

  19. lefty9er permalink
    July 27, 2007 4:40 pm

    Hey Curt,

    I think its very funny how pitchers are complaining about steroid use. Pitchers are the ones that can benefit the most from it. You may or may not use steroids, but the pitchers are failing the test more than hitters. Yet you only want to blame Bonds and McGwire. Say what you want about Barry, but he doesn’t go to the media and start talking bad about people or teammates, unless provoked. He keeps his mouth shut and plays baseball. One more thing, why do you think that Bonds and McGwire should be in trouble for steroid use, but pitchers who cheat like using scuffs on the baseballs or putting something foreign on the ball is ok? Professional athletes will always find ways to cheat, its there problem, not yours. They have to live with the consequences. Sorry Curt, but I can guarantee you have cheated in baseball one way or another. Get off your soapbox, paint your socks red and pitch!!

  20. July 27, 2007 6:28 pm

    Curt, glad it’s going well. Can’t wait to get you back and kick this rotation up a notch for the playoff push.

  21. July 27, 2007 6:41 pm

    Hey Curt –
    So, the gap between you and the Evil Empire is getting a bit smaller…. since you’re doing some Q&A (maybe) from Tampa, I’m wondering how much you guys pay attention to the hype regarding the race. Or do you just stay focused and not get caught up in it all?

    Thanks! :)
    Rebecca

  22. utvolvet permalink
    July 27, 2007 11:44 pm

    Great job Curt – as the father of two sons, I appreciate that you are willing to be strong in your personal life while still having the humility to do what your doctors, trainers, and managers recommend regarding your pitching health. You’ve shown my boys that confidence is rewarded and ego has no place. Thanks for being a team player that my boys can look up to – Zach and Cole love ya Curt!

  23. jbran66 permalink
    July 28, 2007 1:43 am

    7/28/07 – Magic number is 42 :)

  24. ngruk permalink
    July 28, 2007 4:20 pm

    Copy-pasting some questions from the July 7th post:

    Q- Did you build your own gaming rig or did you buy a pre-built system (e.g. Dell, Alienware, Gateway, etc.)? What are the specs on it?

    Q- As an MMO player what is your preferred playstyle: raiding, small groups or soloing?

    Q- Are you open about whom you are when you play a game (for example, do your guildmates tend to know/figure it out)?

    Q- When should fans expect some more substantial information to be released on 38 Studios’ flagship title? A year? Two? More? Less?

    Q- Do you play games the day/night before you’re due to pitch? If so, have you ever gotten sucked in so deep you lost track of time (and maybe a little sleep as a result)?

    Q- E3 is coming up and, while it’s certainly too early for you guys to have something ready for it, are you interested in attending it in the future? What are your three most anticiapted games at the expo this year?

    Q- How do you pronounce my name?

  25. ukbaseball permalink
    July 28, 2007 6:12 pm

    Hi Curt,
    One of the extended members of the RSN who wanted to say hi and am glad to hear things are coming on well in your recovery.
    I believe you’ve got One more rehab start with Pawtucket before you make the trip back to Fenway.
    Great also to see Jon Lester back in uniform, I was lucky enough to catch his start live over here on T.V. and the interview with his father was amazing. Jon really is a remarkable guy.

    What do you think will happen with the rotation when you come back, Kason has done a great job in your absense, and with Jon back too. I don’t think I can remember us ever having such strength in depth.

    Good Luck and keep strong
    Simon
    Medway Mariners Baseball Club
    England
    UK

  26. tkdemc1 permalink
    July 29, 2007 4:37 pm

    Thank you for the update on the Pete. Glad to hear your rehab is going so well. And THANK YOU for your comments on Bob Costas show. I have a 14 year old nephew who understands so much more about integrity and what it means to not compromise it after listening to you. I have had him reading your blog and he understands what it means to admire someone in professional sports now.

  27. awfulwaffle permalink
    July 30, 2007 4:55 am

    First time reader, and poster. Just found your blog, and stoked to read about what you have to say about what’s going on with baseball and everything else. I hate to say, but haven’t really been following what you have been doing since the Diamondback days, helping us win the championship, but hopefully through this I will be able to keep up with what you are doing. I don’t really venture too far out of my Diamondbacks.

  28. benji56 permalink
    July 30, 2007 2:55 pm

    Hey curt my wife and I wish pete and his family all the best. All so as a member of red sox nation would like to thank you for everything you have done for us. I have been to alot of games, But when i walked into Fenway and saw you warming up in the bullpen I got chills and new that this was going to be the year. Thank you again and god bless. The Benjamin Family Rochester NH

  29. thebloodyredsox permalink
    July 30, 2007 10:21 pm

    WTG pete!!! the whole nation is pulling for you kido :) now, curt nice to hear you got the zip back into the ass end of the splitter :P maybe dice-k could use a few starts down in triple-A to find what ever he has lost. hey, if it worked for you it might work for him. of course i know that wont happen. i have a feeling that the late season games with the spankees will show us what DK is worth. from this fans view from the couch he has been serving up meatballs when he misses his spots. that and the fact of run support when he pitches are making him look like he isn’t worth the cash he is making. oh well enough for now guess im just pissed we lost game 4 in tampa :P look forward to your next start so i can pick on you :P J/K hehehe

    +hE $0Xz0rz

  30. allen1thor permalink
    July 31, 2007 12:46 am

    At times Baseball seems a little trivial to what life has to throw at us. My prayers are with the Despain family. BTW liked the interview on costas NOW. Go D-Backs were not the same without you curt, almost put 9 wins together then those braves bats went crazy. Well God bless all.

    Allen

  31. justbaseball permalink
    July 31, 2007 2:32 am

    Hey Curt:

    I have so much respect for you as a MLB player and what you and your wife do for others on and off the field.

    In my opinion you should keep pitching and make them drag you off the field. You have nothing to prove but then again neither does Brett Favre but you both are unique because you play through anything, speak your mind and make those around you better teaching them by example and proving people wrong.

    You and Shonda have raised more money than many will ever know. You play the game the way it is supposed to be played with heart and passion. That is why you are still among the elite in the game today. I think you have 3 to 5 years left easy so go for 300 wins just make sure you are on a good team if Theo and the Red Sox forgot about 2004. What many don’t know is that you would be close to that 300 mark now if you left Philly because you played on some really bad teams but were loyal. Hopefully the Red Sox will be loyal to you but it’s a business right.

    We have much in common I am a pitcher in College and had the same MD that you had in 2004 and it took a year for me to recover only to get injured again and rehab is tough. Quitting would be easy but I have a goal to play MLB baseball and right now my fastball is back to 90 and my other pitches are sharp. There were many who gave up on me and that is when you find out who remains loyal and who really cares about you most and it starts with your family and a lot of prayers.

    You inspire people and made a difference for the little boy with cancer as you have for so many others and that isn’t talent it is a gift and may God Bless You and your family because to a little boy you are a hero and to this College Pitcher you are an inspiration. SD

  32. jebar52 permalink
    July 31, 2007 6:35 pm

    Mr. Schilling;

    Long time fan of yours. I saw you on Bob Costas’s show today. Thank-

    you for speaking your mind. We all say something that maybe should have

    placed a better twist but never sugar coat. Godbless

  33. phillyfan38 permalink
    July 31, 2007 9:27 pm

    hey curt,

    im a first time poster

    i have been watching you play for many years
    from philly to arizona to boston

    good luck with your rehab process

  34. 84thefenway permalink
    July 31, 2007 9:43 pm

    Curt

    Great game tonight in Columbus. We were sitting along the 3rd base (Pawsox) dugout and were thrilled to see you do so well. You were gracious to the fans after the seventh inning (especially to the one to whom you gave your cap). Congratulations on getting the final batter. I was afraid Ron Johnson was not going to let you face him. Nice grab on the “come-backer” for the final out.

    I also heard you made a nice donation to the Coolbaugh fundraiser and signed some balls for them to auction. It was a class thing to do and the locals appreciated it, as Coolbaugh briefly played in Columbus.

    All in all a fun night, even if the Pawsox let the Clippers back into it – they did win it in the tenth inning.

    Thanks for providing a thrill to me & my family.

  35. boston38 permalink
    July 31, 2007 11:36 pm

    I’m glad you are feeling better Curt. I knew you could do it.

    But I had a question for you, I’ve been a Sox fan since I was a kid and my 18th birthday is coming up. The Sox mean everything to me and since you came to them in 2003 you have been my favorite player. I decided I was going to get your name and number tattoed to my back with Boston Redsox above it on my birthday. I was wondering if you would be willing to sign your name so I could get it between your printed name and Boston? I know that may be an odd request but this is the only way I could think of asking you. Thank you.

    Go Sox!

  36. sboyajian permalink
    August 1, 2007 6:53 am

    Ok Curt.. Rehab over.. time to bring home another Ring!

  37. mcnabbortiz534 permalink
    August 1, 2007 2:37 pm

    J D DREW | I HATE YOU.

    Curt,
    How much money can we waste on hacks who are either on the DL or in the lineup doing nothing?!! I am so pissed off about him it isn’t funny. I mean we are the best team in baseball right now and all year Manny & Ortiz have underachieved (until now for ManRam) and our right field spot may as well be omited so the pitchers can hit for them. Another 10M on Lugo! .222 average YAY! keep up the good work jerks god knows I have put a lot of money in your pocket. Then we give up the next tough guy with a lot of heart on this team (Nixon-type) Gabbard for a rent a player who will probably be on the DL. Thank god we didn’t give up Delcarmen. Is Hanson ever going to do anything? So we could put Paps back in the rotation where he belongs? Because it would be nice Hanson. So Do Something.

    I heard your fastball has been in the mid 90′s Schil…Thank God! Because the Yanks are hitting like crazy AND Tavarez is back in the rotation! So there’s a guaranteed loss tonight. Hurry back.

  38. franklgl permalink
    August 1, 2007 2:38 pm

    Was lucky enough to see Curt in Columbus last night. He looked awesome. Can’t wait to see him back in the rotation.

  39. bish6364 permalink
    August 1, 2007 8:23 pm

    Hi, Curt,
    You are missed!!!
    I still wear my Schill shirt all around town (Jax, FL), and always get comments, mostly positive!

    Your rehab starts have been very encouraging – take care, we need you in October.

    Can’t wait to see you go on Sunday!!!!

    Love,
    MA

  40. skinnyman2007 permalink
    August 1, 2007 11:32 pm

    Curt I will continue to keep Pete in my prayers and This Friday when I go to promise keepers in Columbia SC I will keep him in my prayers. Curt have you heard of Promise Keepers? If not go to http://www.promisekeepers.org This will be my second time going there. I am glad you are doing much better and pitching well. Curt do you like the other Boston teams? What team do you like better the Celtics, Bruins or the Patriots? I was wondering? Curt will you post on the blog during the offseason and keep everyone informed? Curt when you first started to play baseball did you step over the chalk line when when you started off in little league or did you first start that in Major League baseball. Curt who is you favorite past time baseball player and why? Take care Curt!!!!!!!. Can’t wait to see you back soon.

    From, Jeff

  41. rmf194278 permalink
    August 2, 2007 12:50 am

    Curt,

    I wanted to send my best wishes to the Despain family. It seems like the news is as good as can be expected.

    I know you’re probably sick of the steroid thing, but I just saw the Costas Now show. During Costas’s interview with Selig, he asked the commissioner about the asterisk situation with the HR record. Selig wasn’t keen on the idea, saying that everyone will have to make their own judgements, and that’s the way it’ll have to be. I don’t understand this response. He is basically the only person right now who can make a difference here. As fans of the game, we can say that we disagree until we’re blue in the face, but it won’t make a difference whatsoever. Why is everyone so “nervous” about being honest with this issue? I don’t think it’s enough that fans of the game simply have it in the back of their minds that Barry Bonds most likely took steroids. We need the most definitive answers we can get, and it just seems like the “big guys” in baseball keep skirting the issue. Also, why can’t baseball simply say, “if you get caught taking steroids or HGH, you’re OUT?” That would clearly be the best answer to this steroid era. Guys are willing to take the chance of getting caught because they really are not held responsible for their actions.

    Alright, I’m preaching to the choir here. Steroids, HGH… it’s all a bunch of BS, and it hurts me to know that this great game has that kind of blemish. I realize that there are plenty of other more despicable things in the game’s past (race issues at the top of the list), but this one is an individual player’s choice. It doesn’t make it worse in the grand scheme of things, but it’s disturbing to know that there are many, many capable players who are left behind because they’re not willing to do the same thing.

    I apologize if this is not the appropriate place for a LONG comment like this, but I needed to write. Thanks for the spot! Good luck, can’t wait to see you on the mound.

    ryan

  42. soxfanforlife1960 permalink
    August 2, 2007 7:48 pm

    All the best for the rest of this season and the future. God bless you and your family. I have been a fan of the sox all of my 47 years and was so glad that they got you to come east. I wish I had recorded your commercials, especially the one where you were hitchhiking to Boston to end a 86 year old curse! The whole of Red Sox Nation appreciates what you have already done and, look forward to a long future of successes. What are your thoughts on giving up Gabbard for Gagne? I was completely impressed at Gabbard’s performance and even though Gagne has an impressive resume, I was sad to see Kason go. I guess it is part of the game and you have to give some to get some.

    Kindest Regards,
    Kevin

  43. thebloodyredsox permalink
    August 4, 2007 9:23 am

    mcnabbortiz534, i got to say you make a very interesting point that i totally agree with. although, i do not hate drew (never met him) he just is not doing what we got him for hitting!!!!! i feel he should ride the pine and let willie mo play more, i mean lets face it he cant whiff more then JD(67 times) perhaps give hinske the starts he seems to make something happen when he is in the game. furthermore, giving up kason to texas well……..bad idea!! WTF now he will be pitching against us…..enough said. i think theo hit his head on his desk in the off season. to his credit the 2nd base spot pedroia is doing a great job fielding and hitting. i feel that this road trip will make or break the season(which is off to a bad start) i would hate to see us come home and have the spankees right up our butts. curt is going to come back,swoop in with the da the bloody sox,and save us from the evil empire. well enough of me spouting off see yas for now

    +eh $0Xz0rz

  44. tianxi permalink
    August 4, 2007 10:26 am

    just finished watching a replay of your interview on CostasNow. even though a lot of other players refused to give their opinion, i’m glad you did. even if you are sometimes wrong (who isn’t?), it still takes guts to stand up and say what you think or feel.

    at what point, he asked, “if the red sox don’t give you a new contract where would you go?” let me be one to say come home. come back to philly…we still love you here, and we’d love to see you again.

  45. sboyajian permalink
    August 4, 2007 3:39 pm

    Curt,

    It seems like you read these, so I just wanted to pass this along. I read the article the other day about JD’s son and I nearly broke down from the wave of emotion. I can understand and appreciate the things that must have been going through JD and Sheigh’s minds. My 19 month old son has a rare heart condition that requires frequent monitoring to determine whether or not he will need surgery. So far we have been lucky and nothing has been needed, however whenever checkup time comes, the worries set in.

    Being a father I am sure you know the ones I am talking about.. you don’t start to think “He’s been ok up until now”.. you start to worry things have changed.. I have woken up many a night with nightmares picturing my toddler having open heart surgery.

    Please pass my warmest wishes to the Drew family, tell JD we’re rooting for him, happy to have him and keep his head. I was very pleased to find out Jack David’s surgery went well and he will be ok.

    Best wishes and good luck the rest of the season.. hoping to catch you guys when you come back down to Baltimore (I miss being able to catch a Fenway game since moving to Virginia).

    Stephen Boyajian
    s.boyajian@1337designs.com

  46. jak123 permalink
    August 4, 2007 7:17 pm

    hey curt…i hope you read this…if Jose should give back his 98 MVP then why dont you give back your ring and mvp from 01…we all know Gonzo was using…so then what you guys accomplished should be whiped out right? you are an arrogant idiot curt…

  47. suesox permalink
    August 5, 2007 10:36 am

    The Red Sox lost one of their biggest fans here in Northampton (MA) this past week. David Holman, a 19-year-old college student, died in a car crash minutes from his home. At the memorial service, attended by hundreds, many of them high school classmates, David’s father implored those gathered to always wear seatbelts, drive the speed limit, and not talk on cell phones while driving. On the tables there were white tablecloths with red napkins, in honor of the Red Sox. At the crash site someone left a Red Sox pennant. This was a sad week in our town, and I feel I owe it to David to let Red Sox Nation know that we’ve lost one of our own.

  48. schillingsdivagirl permalink
    August 5, 2007 1:01 pm

    hey Curt,
    Do I even need to say how excited I am that you are back Monday night! I will even stay up to see the whole game! The best of luck in ANA against Jered, too bad it isn’t Jeff, LOL! I’ve missed you, all Sox fans have missed you! Again I love how you speak your mind especially on the Costas Show and Barry’s comment back to Bob was as pathetic as his “fantasy” HR mark! I am so glad that Lester is back, picked him up in my AL only Fantasy league and some of my others too. I was saddened to hear that Gabbard, a wonderful leftie was traded, but I do like the fact that Gagne is here! I was skeptical at first, but then to learn about Donnelly, and that Timlin still has some kinks to work out, met him in person at Krispy Kreme back a few seasons ago in Saugus and he signed my Red Sox ball. He was very nice to make that afternoon appearance and that to learn his mother’s name is Sharon, was very touching to me. I have a special place for all the players through good times and bad and glad to see JD was back in the lineup as well. Hope all is well with his son. Well I guess I rambled, but happy in Boston,
    Sincerely,
    Sharon

  49. theotherm permalink
    August 5, 2007 7:10 pm

    Hi Curt
    Just want to pass along good luck wishes on your long awaited start tomorrow!

  50. redsoxnation1 permalink
    August 5, 2007 9:58 pm

    hey curt this is Dan Maloney coming to you from Syracuse, New York right in the middle of yankee country. I used to live in boston and have been a die hard sox fan all my life same with one of my friends in NY named Matt Murphy. He is 15 years old. He has just recently been diagnosed with cancer, lymphoma to be exact. Matt eat sleeps and breaths baseball and i know that he is a big Curt Shilling fan. I would much appreciate it if you or some of the guys could send a thing or two up to him. Even somethin small such as a baseball would help out tremendously. Thank you for your time if you do come around to read this. If you do decide to send anything you can contact me at minimirra@aol.com or send it to 112 wellwood drive. Fayetteville, New York. zip code -13066 ……. and good luck the rest of the season

  51. msw613 permalink
    August 5, 2007 11:19 pm

    Hi Mr. Schilling, or Curt,
    I am a born again Red Sox fan. Every time I get to go to a game in Boston we win. You see, I grew up in Boston. I never was a baseball fan, until the day, when I decided to see what my sons were watching. EVERY NITE. I wasn’t a parent to let my kids watch too many tv shows. Well, as a good parent, I sat down, and watched. (Every night they had to finish their homework, and could watch a game. Every night???? What is this????So of course I sat down and watched. Good old Nomar sucked me in. That was it. Diehard fan. I am so embarrassed of my reactions. I go dancing around the den screaming. One night, the slider (No pun intended), was open, and my neighbors heard me. No one was home, and I lost all control. They almost though I was being beaten up, until they glanced in the slider, and saw the game. I believe it was in 2003, my first year. Well, ds said to me at the end. “Welcome to Red Sox nation. Maybe next year” My sons were so loyal, that they were the only Red Sox fans in NY. Could you believe, we won the world series, the year my older son left for Israel.? He took such ribbing. Good thing, he has a great sense of humor, and is tough. He is one loyal fan. (So is my younger boy.) I loved the commercial the next year, of you coming to Boston to win a world series for Boston. You did it.

    How did I find this website? I am training for life coaching, and this is the blog my school uses. I love my work.

    We are going to the Baltimore-Red Sox game on Sunday, AUG.12th. I think you are pitching. We didn’t get great seats, but we are thrilled to be going. It is just DH and I. I bet you get so many fan letters. I figured if I didn’t write, you wouldn’t see it anyway. Got to play if you’re gonna win. That’s my motto. I hear you are probably pitching. How awesome. I can’t wait. I told my son, I would get an autograph. He giggled, and said, “Not from where you’re sitting.” I am glad that you are such a role model. I respect you alot, and that is something coming from someone who is very honest related. Do the right thing. That is my motto. Arod blew that, when he knocked the ball out of Arroyo’s hand. Ych, I hope the red sox don’t aquire him. I wish you have a full recovery. You are certainly an inspiration.

    Warmest regards,
    Evelyn R. You can find me at

    Evelyn

  52. msw613 permalink
    August 5, 2007 11:25 pm

    Oh, you can find me at http://msw613.wordpress.com/
    My kids will be so impressed. They love to laugh at me. LOL
    Evelyn

  53. jetta30c permalink
    August 6, 2007 12:23 am

    Curt: I am so looking forward to your return from rehab and debut game tonite against LA. I am a HUGE fan of yours…. borderline obsessed with you as everyone says!! I practically gave my soul to see you in Pawtucket at McCoy… you were awesome!! I will be glued to the TV tonite to watch your comeback game. And if I have it right, you will be pitching Sunday in Baltimore?? And I will be there cheering in the crowds!!

    I am an Occupational Therapist and I work with multiply disabled kids… I have a student who is a huge Red Sox fan… would love to talk to you about coming to meet him in the offseason. I am going to be joining you and Curt’s Pitch for your ALS walk in October.

    I am awaiting my new license plate: RSOX38 :)

    :)COB (a very committed fan)

  54. frodo1962 permalink
    August 6, 2007 12:07 pm

    Curt:

    I see his trollness, CHB throwing another jibe at you today in his column. I have to commend you for taking the high road lately on his attacks. Makes it very clear what a pathetic and vindictive person he is.

  55. gnick55 permalink
    August 6, 2007 10:55 pm

    Curt, I’ll vote for a Republican in the 2008 elections for every great game you throw for the Sox, so throw enough great games for the Sox to win the WS, but don’t throw so many that I’ll have to swallow my beliefs and vote for a ton of Republicans in 2008.

  56. thebloodyredsox permalink
    August 7, 2007 2:24 pm

    hey guys and gals! suesox NOHO native here. heard about that car crash sorry for your loss. no curt you need to get on a few shows and see if you can get the umpires to be tested for LSD,weed, or whatever they are taking out their in LAA. that double in the 7th was a foul ball!! and lowell got ripped off at the plate, and manny got booted and the ump did not even check 1st for the call. i hope you did not hurt your hand trying to grab a comebacker????? was a good start overall things looked sharp. i dont want to get into the whole run support thing.(im in a good mood right now). anyhow hope the hand is ok and you get some run support next time

    +eh $0xZorz

  57. b4andbeyond permalink
    August 8, 2007 8:29 am

    I believe everything that is was a divine idea first. Sometimes we bury the divine under so much stuff that the ego self cannot find it. But the soul knows. I hope your soul can find the divine hidden under the disappointment of your loss against the Angels. For the divine contains the beauty that will heal. You have given us all lots of beauty through the years, not only with what you on the mound but also in your daily life. Here’s hoping you find the beauty that will heal you.

  58. msw613 permalink
    August 8, 2007 1:24 pm

    Hi Curt,
    I’m sorry you had a bad night. I am still looking forward to the Sunday Baltimore game. We are in CT, so are traveling. The lady we use to buy our tickets from died, and didn’t leave us in her will. Those were great seats. I’ll take what I can get. Just wanna be at the game.
    PS. We are republicans also. I really admire your sense of responsibility and doing the right thing.
    Evelyn
    PS. We always win when I am in the stands. Soooo….See you on Sunday. (I’ll bring my binoculars.

  59. relvigsdaughter permalink
    August 8, 2007 1:42 pm

    curt… question for you.

    do you see a chiropractor? i know you’ve been going through a lot of p.t. and rehab for your shoulder, but chiropractic can work wonders! i know pap sees one (he told me the first time i met him). just curious if that’s also a part of staying well for you.

  60. August 19, 2007 9:21 am

    listen to this schilling i had game tickets to the make up game double header. my mother must of thrown my tixets outs so i went to boston fenway faithful show them my seat numbas and everything the wouldnt let me or my cuzin in i spent my hard working money on these tixs 200hundred dollas man im just a kid and i lost out on the game i care less about the money i wont to go to the game and its gunna be a while b4 i can save up again.i cant belive fenway would do sumthing like this to us kids and soxs fans. if i could climb the monsta i wouldve schilling man u looking good the otha night man hang in there and please help me bring this to attention about my tickets i lost out on no game me or my cuz. thank you sincerly a dier soxs fan. len camz

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 636 other followers

