Skip to content

Q&A XIII

May 25, 2007

Some of these questions are obviously from earlier posts. I’ll catch up if time permits this week. 

Q-Who do you think is a better closer at this point, Papelbon or Rivera?

A-Not a question that can be answered with anything but opinion really. Mariano is, in my opinion the best closer of all time. His resume better be a unanimous first ballot Hall of Fame one. On the other hand I think Paps is the best closer in the game right now.

Q-What do you think is different about Alex this year? Is it because he’s thinner, doesn’t care since this is his walk year, has learned from his first 2 years NY? Did you handle Alex differently tonight knowing on the tear he has been on then in season’s pass?

A-I think the biggest change is based on what he stated early in the year. He trimmed down and feels like he’s quicker this year.

Q-I noticed that everytime you walk to and from the mound, you deliberately do not step on the first base line….why is that? A superstitious thing, an OCD thing?? Just curious…..

A-Both

Q-I was wondering what your opinion of the job Hideki Okajima did. Did he pitch his butt off or what? I mean, he had to face Jeter, Abreu, and A-Rod (and Thompson as well) and only gave up the walk.

A-He’s been nothing short of phenomenal this year. A huge lift for us and given how well our pen has been as a whole it’s been one of, if not the reason we have gotten off to the start we have.

Q-do you think Mo has maybe hit some sort of wall, mental or physical. the man has been hands down the most dominant closer of our generation(I’m 28). and has done so for 10+ years…he has to eventually fade away.

A-Not at all. Having closed I can tell you one of the hardest parts of closing, and relieving, is staying sharp while not consistently pitching. Most relievers will tell you that being able to throw on a semi-regular schedule far outweighs any other factors when it comes to staying sharp.

Q-Quick question. I know it was brought up on SoSH a lot, but A-Rod currently looks like he’s so comfortable in the batter’s box that he may as well bring a laz-y-boy chair and a pitcher of margaritas. Is there any reason why not to try and brush him back once or twice and make him think a little more?

A-This was written after our first series obviously. Bottom line is that you go into a game with a plan for everyone, and guys that are as hot as he was that’s no different. You have smaller margin for error obviously but you have to execute. Coming in on guys to make them uncomfortable is one way of doing it for sure, but the only pitches that have an effect on a hitter on the inside part of the plate are pitches that something happens with. Breaking a guys bat, jamming him badly, knocking him down on occasion. If you aren’t getting one of those results then most times you are wasting pitches.

Q-Do you think any umps read your blog to see what you say about them? Do you think it would influence how they call the games? I’d love to read an umpire’s blog. Would he admit the bad calls he made after each game?

A-I don’t know either way. I am not going to sit here and hammer a guy for having a bad game. A large majority of umpires are good, and they are good guys. I’ve always felt that the real bad ones are going to be bad regardless of what you say or do. A few are bad enough that it really doesn’t matter what you say or do, but most of them are working hard to do it right and make the right call.

Q-With the sappy stuff out of the way, how do you feel about your velocity right now? Does it feel natural or are you easing into it/trying to extend to reach it? You made a comment earlier about “going to the well,” how much does this actually take from you physically? And how much does the situation/adrenaline/moment play into your ability to tap into that resource?

A-My velocity is certainly different this year, no question. Bottom line is that I need to make the proper adjustments to win with what I have.

Q-John Flaherty on the YES network stated last night that you really work the umpires. I think this is a good thing. The hitters work the umpires too. As long as it doesn’t get personal, this has to be a good thing. You mentioned the good umpires will often approach a player after the game and admit a mistake. Can you approach a home plate umpire the day after and say something like,…”Hey, in that tough inning last night, I think you missed a couple strikes there?” Do the umpires really control the dialogue?

A-Umps are human, they have good days and bad days. There is a line there though, that you don’t want to cross. I never want to kiss their butts but I also want to make sure there is dialogue during a game. I want to be able to ask them about a pitch without showing them up, or them thinking I am trying to show them up. Doing that, home or away, is a recipe for disaster. It’s hard enough trying to get hitters out and adding an umpire that’s pissed off to the equation makes it that much harder. You like to be able to talk to them and work with them. As players you look for them to be as consistent as possible, for hitter and pitchers both that is the #1 priority in my opinion. Show me what’s a ball and what’s a strike and in my mind I can work within that box. The problem comes when strike one is called ball three, or ball one gets called strike three. If you aren’t sure a pitch is being called one or the other then it makes it hard to work in the zone, not knowing what the umpire considers ‘in the zone’.
Q-Do you think these come from behind dramatic wins HAVE to happen early for them to happen at all? Whats the clubhouse feeling like on one of these teams that seems to comeback alot–I guess 2004, 2001 d-backs, 93 phillies? At what point in the season did you know you were part of something “special”?

A-I think they do. I know in 1993 when we swept the Astros to open the season, coming back in the final game of the series, we knew we had something special. We felt it in spring training but that game confirmed it for alot of us I think.
Q-No kidding. It was all I could do not to throw the remote right through the plasma. Unacceptable. In your little notebook, write 100 times on A-Rod’s page “no fastballs down the middle.” Pettitte threw smarter pitches to Pedroia, for crying out loud.

A-Thanks for that, I’ll note it.

Q-In A-Rod’s 2nd at bat, Tek set up outside and #13 swung and missed on a FB riding up and in for strike 2. Flaherty said you missed your target, but with men on, it looks like you might have been trying to cross up A-Rod if he was getting signs from Jeter at 2nd. Which was it, and do you ever (aside from ‘Tek rotating signs) concern yourself with ways to cross up the hitter with men on?

A-Never

Q-After the ‘Tek/A-Rod skirmish in ‘04, what happens at the plate when A-Rod comes up? Do they exchange pleasantries or is there lingering animosity there?

A-I don’t think there is any exchange there.
Q-Flaherty said you are not “one of the most popular guys in the league”. Could you comment on what you think he means by that? (Not that it matters to us in the Nation one damn!)

A-Honestly I don’t. I spent about two weeks with John in spring training and got to know him a little bit, but I don’t know him that well. I am sure I’ve played with guys I didn’t get along with, but I don’t think I’ve ever been a bad teammate to anyone. Being opinionated has by no means won over people, but it’s who I am. The funny thing is I’ve never had anyone say anything to me about it, other than to ‘hear’ things like this. I certainly have fun in the clubhouse, I prepare to take the ball every fifth day and do what it is they pay me to. I don’t do drugs, I love animals, I don’t hit my wife or kids, I don’t talk trash on my teammates (except Millar), carry a gun,  or wish bad things on people. I answer the questions the media asks me, sometimes to a fault, but other than that I don’t do much.

One of the things I find somewhat ironic is that people give opinions of others and the public takes those opinions and makes them facts almost. Ed Wade used the quote “He’s a horse every fifth day and a horses ass the other four” about me when I was in Philadelphia. That’s followed me every since. My question is, who is Ed Wade to call me out? What did he do that gave his opinion credibility? Ok he was the GM, but what does that mean in the grand scheme of things? Does that make him smarter than anyone else? More insightful? He GM’d a team that never won anything yet his comment was taken to be fact.

I’d certainly like to think no one dislikes me, no one wants to be disliked, but I also realize that’s not the way life works. People are going to dislike you regardless. The bottom line is I am who I am and I’ve never changed that to change peoples opinion of me. For better or worse I’m myself. There are times when being myself doesn’t work out and something I say gets me in trouble, but again that’s part of life. Ask me a question about baseball, the game I’ve played for the last 35 years of my life, and chances are you won’t get a no comment.
Q-I see where the CHB got in a dig in his column today where he said you needed an editor more than a pitching coach.

A-Shocker. I expect that to be the norm. No one’s happier when I don’t do well than he is. Not something I worry about though.

Q-how come your “bloody sock” stayed red, is it just me or is it a known fact that blood turns a brownish color when it hits the air……..do u have “super blood” or are u just a phony????? im gonna go with phony,one reason for that is because before the 2004 season u were photographed wearing a yankee hat because u hoped to be traded to the yankees, then when u got to boston u professed how much u hate the yankees(u went as far as wearing a “Yankee Hater” hat with the interlocking YH instead of NY)……..i understand that you are a red sock and that the yankees and the red sox are the biggest rivals in sports, i just do not understand why u have to be a total phony????

A-If you had an ounce of truth in here it would be worth answering.
Q-When you have an outing where you’re rocked for a couple of home runs like yesterday, how hard is it for you to regain composure & focus to go back and get to work with the next batter?

A-Depends on the person. SOmetimes it’s easy, other times it’s next to impossible. You grind it out. I am certainly going through that phase right now, trying to grind it out and get back to being the pitcher I know I can be.

Q-Do you ever notice the lack of respect the Sox get, specifically people like Ortiz? When A-Rod gets a few walk-off’s, ESPN rolls the footage for about 3 hours straight, flipping out, praising him, praising the yankees… it seems to me that Ortiz has done this consistently for almost 4 years now.

A-I would disagree. I think we get as much, if not more, national coverage than anyone. Almost to the point where people are sick of hearing and seeing it.

Q-I’m no scouting expert, but I’ve noticed that Alex is not a good high and inside ball hitter,

A-I don’t know of anyone in the game that is a ‘good’ high and inside ball hitter. I also know that 4 straight high and inside balls is a walk.

Q-1 – As a father with kids that enjoy catching me saying things I shouldn’t – do you ever catch grief from your kids when they see you on replay like after that first A-Rod homer?

A-My oldest son Gehrig is very much into the game now. I’ll talk to him before starts and he’s usually got some ‘tips’ for me on how to pitch certain guys.

Q-It’s no secret that you have had your troubles with quitting chewing tobacco in the past. As someone who’s been dipping for 8 years now, I know what it’s like. I’m 26, and it’s getting to the point where it’s starting to scare me.

Any pointers on how you kicked the habit? I’ve been trying, but it’s tough.

A-I’ve only really quite one time. I stopped for over a year back in the late 90’s. I did it with the Nicotine patch. It’s by far the hardest thing I’ve ever tried to do and failed at. I know I need to quit, but I have had so much trouble getting there.

Q-I read some story awhile back that said Manny Ramirez is such a good hitter than he “sets up” pitchers. In one example, it was written that he would “miss” on a particular pitch on purpose & then crush the same pitch in the later AB. I know that pitchers will often set up hitters but I’ve never heard of such a thing for a hitter. Is this bunch of BS?

A-Not at all and especially as it pertains to Manny. He is one of the best in the game at setting pitchers up. He studies pitchers as much as anyone I’ve ever played with and I’ve seen him go into games sitting on one pitch he knew he’d get, wait until he gets it for a strike, and crush it. He’s done that countless times. It takes an extreme level of confidence to take that approach and there aren’t alot of hitters that can do it like he does.
Q-Torre handed you a couple this weekend and actually probably more times than anyone can count in the past…(04 and much, much more)

While your bats warmed up quite nicely, torre’s relief motto of “every pitcher, every day” doesnt exactly translate into victories.

A-Someone has to pitch the innings.

Q-Question for you, who is the hitter you dread to face today and why? As well, I know you are into watching videos of the opposition, how much time is invested in doing so, and how much of a difference do you think it has made on the game today?
A-I don’t think there is any one hitter you dread facing because the situation is as important as the hitter. You never like to face contact guys with a runner on third and less than two outs, or guys that don’t strike out with RISP and no outs.

As far as watching video it depends on the team. A team like NY that I have faced so much I will watch less than someone like Tampa or Anaheim. It also depends on how you are feeling about your stuff as well. Right now I am watching a lot of video….

I’ll grab more up to date Q&A over the next week and do some when we get home.

73 Comments leave one →
  1. rubbersuitman permalink
    May 25, 2007 2:01 pm

    2 posts in almost 30 or so hours, see what off days do for you.

    Keep working at it Schill, the last few starts have not been your best, but you are on the cusp on something.

    Of course, could be worse, you could Danny Ainge

    Best Regards.

  2. skinnyman2007 permalink
    May 25, 2007 3:27 pm

    Curt If I send you two baseballs to fenway park and a box to return the baseballs in would you sign one for me and could you have David Ortiz sign the other for me? Would you answer this Question for me Curt. I like your Blog. It is great!!!!!!!!. Have a good Memorial Day weekend and Curt this weekend when you get a chance could you pray for all the people that fought in wars and lost their lives? I hope you respond to my answer about sending two baseballs and if you would rather you can send me a personal email to me at riley101hot2000@yahoo.com and let me know OK Curt. Curt I am doing great on my weight loss I have lost 95 pounds on nutrisystem. Curt keep me in your prayers wihile I am doing this diet and all the challenges also. Take care Curt and God Bless you.

    From, Jeff Riley

  3. cursedtofirst permalink
    May 25, 2007 3:56 pm

    here’s one for the next Q & A – i’ve heard you refer to the ideal “pitcher’s body” a couple times. what exactly do you mean by that? is there a “breed standard” everybody goes by or is it your personal term?

  4. rikthib permalink
    May 25, 2007 4:16 pm

    Curt, I hope this post doesn’t get lost in the plethora of other comments. I’ve been a fan of yours for years and have been reading this blog since you started it. I have come to really hate the Boston media lately and I’ll tell you why;

    In 2003 I was an Army sergeant in Vicenza, Italy getting up in the middle of the night to watch my beloved Red Sox take on the Yankees (or, as I call them, the “Yank-me’s”) in the ALCS. We had a team that I knew could go all the way. I don’t have to recap what happened in Game 7 but suffice to say I was utterly shattered. Devastated. When Aaron Boon hit that ball I turned off the TV and put my arm around my pregnant wife wondering if my unborn son would suffer as I had my entire life as a Sox fan.

    When Theo managed to sign you in the offseason I was ecstatic but leery because the Pedro debacle made it obvious that we needed not only a starter but a bona fide closer. When Theo signed Foulke I was in 7th heaven.

    I had to work a military planning conference in May 2004 at Scott AFB outside of St Louis and I was lucky enough to take in a Cards-Cubs game at Buswch while I was there. The atmosphere was nowhere near as awesome as Fenway but it was enjoyable nonetheless. When the playoffs came around I was transitioning out of the Army but I still got up at 2am for every game that AFN (Armed Forces Network) televised. When you guys went down 3-0 to the Yankees I defiantly wore my Red Sox shirt around the base to the joy of several Yankee fans. Obviously I had the last laugh. Even though I had lost hope I still got up at 1am to watch the games because I figured each game might be the last chance I had to watch my beloved Sox that year. I normally would have given up on Game 7 because I simply could not take the hurt of ’86 again but after seeing what you did in game 6, there was no way I was not getting up for it. You can imagine how I felt the next morning.

    After the ALCS, the World Series was a blur. What I remember most is that there were two outs in the 9th of game 4 and my wife got up and started moving the furniture away from me because she thought that I would jump up and start going crazy. But when the ball went onto Doug’s glove, I couldn’t move. I just sat there and cried like a baby and I’m not even ashamed to admit that. I was 33 years old and had lived through 78, 86 and 2003. After 86 I thought it would never happen but it did.

    So what’s the point to all of this? The point is that everyone on that team, in my eyes and in the eyes of many Sox fans, will forever be a hero. I never had a bad word to say about Foulke when he had his troubles because as far as I’m concerned, we never would have won it all without him. Ditto Bellhorn. So I’ve noticed that you seem to be getting worn down lately by the Boston media and the all around negativity. I just wantto make sure you realize that what you did in 2004 will forever endear you Boston fans all over the world. If you never won another game with the Sox you would still have a place in our hearts for what you did in the ALCS and the WS. It killed me to see what the media did to Foulke. I hope he knows that he is still loved by most Boston fans forever who recognize how important he was to us in 2004. As far as I’m concerned, the 2004 team gets a free pass. Except Damon, he broke our hearts by dissing us for the Yank-me’s…lol…

  5. nitricangst permalink
    May 25, 2007 4:18 pm

    Hang in there, Curt. You’ll be back on top of things in no time.

    Q – In the case of a minor “slump”, does the 35 years of baseball help provide a positive in the sense that it’s happened before or a negative in that you might have a bit more trouble pulling yourself out of the hole?

  6. yank22fan permalink
    May 25, 2007 4:38 pm

    mariano is the best ever. you however are the worst pitcher of all time.

  7. williemays24 permalink
    May 25, 2007 4:42 pm

    Above you point out how great of a teammate you are…I know someone who disagrees with that point. Mitch Williams…..

  8. williemays24 permalink
    May 25, 2007 4:46 pm

    also there’s nothing wrong with being a legal gun owner. you make reference to “you don’t carry a gun”. does that mean someone who does is a bad person? there is nothing wrong with the many lawfully armed americans in this country. it’s our constitutional right. you know that thing that your hero george bush is trying to destroy.

  9. nicky321 permalink
    May 25, 2007 5:28 pm

    Curt, wish DiceK luck for me tonight. I hope he wins his seventh game so badly. He seems like such a nice guy and I hope his first year pitching in America is a blast.
    GO RED SOX!!!

    Nickyneeds

  10. May 25, 2007 6:48 pm

    Hey it’s really great to read about what pitching is really like in the bigs leagues, thank you for taking the time to answer questions.

    I agree that this is a very useful way to avoid media bias and get the “true story” out there.

    Keep up the good work!

  11. seabass36 permalink
    May 25, 2007 7:18 pm

    Understanding that it was a tough start,how do you go about preparing for the rebound? Do you leave it behind you or take the loss a little more personally?

  12. shill1310 permalink
    May 25, 2007 7:25 pm

    hey schill i play freshman ball and ive been a pitcher all my life and ive noticed ive been having a bit of trouble with my accuracy lately im throwin about 70-75 ive thrown two 1 hitters and then the other two games have just been atrocious with accuracy do you have any pointers, id really appreciate it? email- shill1310@aim.com

  13. nattytim permalink
    May 25, 2007 7:25 pm

    Hey Curt- You are first ballot hall of famer material to me brother, but lay off the political comments. I don’t know the last time you worked for a paycheck, but rubber stamping a lot of bad policy that is getting young men and women killed is a bit out of your realm. For the record, my pops died in the Vietnam era and if we just took a step back from jingo istic things like supporting the troops, we’d realize that we better get them the hell out of Iraq before more folks have to say the same about their dads. I love your work on ALS, my brother works for one of the main research firms. Now focus on the good stuff, go get us another ring. Best. ts

  14. redsawx73 permalink
    May 25, 2007 8:25 pm

    Yanks Fans are phony, they have no class for posting here.

  15. firedannyainge permalink
    May 25, 2007 8:37 pm

    I posted two things in the last 3 days and none of them showed up. Maybe the blog is having problems.

    http://firedannyainge.wordpress.com

    Q- Do ou ever read other blogs on this site?

  16. ericbainbridge permalink
    May 25, 2007 8:39 pm

    Curt,

    Everyone gets rocked; even the great Cy Young (record for most wins AND losses). Get back to not thinking and just throw the ball where and how Tek tells you, and you’ll be fine. Or you can listen to Gehrig.

    As for your foot-in-mouth syndrome, it makes you seem more like a real person that the rest of us can relate to.

    Q: With all of the double headers you guys have been playing as of late, isn’t there some concern that this will wear down the bullpen? I know the Sox been dipping into Pawtucket, but sooner or later do you think this will catch up?

  17. poltroop permalink
    May 25, 2007 10:20 pm

    Mr. Schilling,
    I was wondering how I could get one of the charity wines that Manny, Wake and yourself have. (Schilling Schardonnay, Caberknuckle, and Manny being Merlot) I remember seeing them on the BDD website a while back. I live in Vegas, so I wont be able to go to any stores in New England to get one, will there be any way to get them through delivery?thanks

  18. May 25, 2007 10:56 pm

    Don’t be so hard on Mr. “do u have ‘super blood'”, it’s not easy being 14 years old.

  19. mmcmbill permalink
    May 26, 2007 12:42 am

    No question. Just want to say that I think it’s great how you stay in touch with the fans through your blog and by calling in to Boston sports radio. By the way, I’m a diehard Yankees fan but I still am amazed by your gutsy 2004 LCS performance.

  20. suesox permalink
    May 26, 2007 8:42 am

    Is there a reason so many players wear necklaces? I’ve noticed that even Okajima and Matsuzaka are sporting red and white ones. Fashion statement? Superstition? Team decision?

    Also, not that there’s necessarily a place for politics or religion in baseball, but do you think God plays a role in the outcome of games or players’ performances? I notice you and a lot of others kiss their crucifixes or cross themselves before pitching or batting and point skyward after crossing homeplate. I think religion and prayer are good if it helps a person cope and live a good life, but I just can’t picture God favoring one team over another.

    Meanwhile, I got my Red Sox license plates AND my Red Sox Nation membership card last week, so I’m psyched! I am so hooked…

  21. okajima37 permalink
    May 26, 2007 8:45 am

    Curt, one question. Who do you fell is more dangerous to pitch to, a player you’ve seen a ton (Sheffield for instence 70AB) or someone who you’re facing for the first time (say a Carlos Pena 0AB). Good luck Monday vs. the Tribe.

  22. May 26, 2007 12:23 pm

    Here, I went back and found it, it was buried in the NY thread.

    I do have a question for you regarding Matt Clement. Does it look like he might be healthy enough to pitch this year and if so where do you see him fitting in? With the starting rotation looking solid and Lester waiting in the wings do you think he’d be moved to the pen or bumping someone out of the rotation.

    http://www.bostonsportsfans.net

  23. kusnider permalink
    May 26, 2007 12:34 pm

    I love what you’re doing with this blog. Ever since i was about ten I wanted to be a Major League Pitcher for the Boston Red Sox. But not only that, I also dreamed of writing a column for the local newspaper so i could stay close to the fans in way(much like your blog). You’re living my dream and doing a damn good job of it! Good Luck the rest of the year…nothing would make my family happier than to see you win it all again!

  24. custom65 permalink
    May 26, 2007 4:24 pm

    Thanks for answering So many questions, It makes fans like us really appreciate you all the more.

    I’ll be looking forward to your next start, get ahead in the counts and kick some butt!

  25. jbridges permalink
    May 26, 2007 6:44 pm

    Curt, your postseason record is unbelievable; 2.06 ERA, 104 K’s in 109.1 innings… obviously you relish the oppourtunity to play centre stage.

    For you, what was the more exhilirating postseason; sharing the 2001 World Series MVP with the Big Unit, or the 2004 ALCS and World Series?

    I also heard you’re a WWII buff/collector… what’s your favourite piece???

    Just thought I’d break up all the baseball chatta.’

    Thank you for taking the time to respond to so many questions on your off days.

  26. alaskasoxfan permalink
    May 26, 2007 7:28 pm

    Curt, Maybe you can help me out. I’m traveling with my family from Alaska this summer and would love to take them to Fenway. We would be in Boston for the 7/20 game with the White Sox. Unfortunately the game is sold out. Any ideas on how to score some tickets without having to sell a kidney? As a firefighter I can’t afford to spend $300 dollars a ticket that they ticket agencies want. Thanks.
    Greg Taylor
    gltaylor@ci.fairbanks.ak.us

    btw my Alaska license plate is FENWAY

  27. kathleen38 permalink
    May 26, 2007 9:49 pm

    Curt
    My name is Kathleen and my boyfriend Kevin’s Uncle suffers from ALS and is currently confined to a wheelchair. Kevin is trying to buy 5 tickets to any game so that the men of the family can enjoy one last game before the disese progresses too much. We are willing to face for the tickets

    please e-mail me at kmh4kathleen@verizon.net.

  28. kathleen38 permalink
    May 26, 2007 9:52 pm

    We are willing to pay for the tickets.
    Sorry for the typo

  29. thedannyboy permalink
    May 26, 2007 10:52 pm

    Okay….I got a question….whats your thoughts on censorship?

  30. redsoxgirl07 permalink
    May 26, 2007 11:11 pm

    Curt you’ve become my favorite red sox pitcher..I hope ure pitching July 14 against the Blue Jays!! Also i think it’s really cool how you answer ur fans questions..ure so awesome curt!!!

  31. b4andbeyond permalink
    May 27, 2007 8:07 am

    Alaska, you could try that huge electronic flea market that shall remain nameless but which is reputed to have everything for sale. Or google Red Sox Tickets.

    About listening to Gehrig’s advice, I say go for it! Many children are very perceptive as well as multitalented these days. My nephew said in Little League when he threw strikes, it was as if home plate was about 18 inches in front of him. That lasted until a car wreck on Halloween night of his senior year in high school left him with a plate in his throwing arm (left) and a rod in his thigh, ending his dreams of a baseball career.

    Curt, do many players experience being “in the zone” like that? Maybe that is the way you pitched those two “bloody sock” games. Someone quoted Ted Williams as saying when he hit his home runs, he could see the seams of the ball as it came toward him.

  32. May 27, 2007 8:41 am

    Hey Curt,
    I have been a Red Sox fan for years, and do appreciate all the pitching you have done for this team. I have to say, however, that this year, I am very disappointed by you. You did apologize, but come on man, you had no right talken abt barry bonds’s wife. I just hope you get your ass kicked around a bit because I just think you’re too arrogant: Beckett is the best pitcher on the red sox and shud be the game 1 starter of the playoffs. Time to take a backseat curt.

  33. socksfan permalink
    May 27, 2007 1:17 pm

    hey Curt, just wanted to thank you for the blog. it’s a joy to read, and i’m glad you keep it up despite the junk you get from some of the posts. have a great season man ;)

  34. 1creativemind permalink
    May 27, 2007 6:13 pm

    Q – Curious about your thoughts on Tek? You’ve obviously had some great catchers to throw to over the years, and curious at to where Tek ranks. Has he met/exceeded your expectations?

    Great Blog btw!

  35. Rob Mo permalink
    May 27, 2007 7:34 pm

    6 yank22fan

    mariano is the best ever. you however are the worst pitcher of all time.

    That takes the cake for “Most uneducated post”…

    Keep up the good work, Schill. I’ll be at the game Monday, 1st time seeing you pitch in person… Don’t let me down! =)

    -Rob Mo

    http://mosox.wordpress.com

  36. corylidlelives permalink
    May 27, 2007 8:15 pm

    Curt, what made you think your opinions mattered? For once you actually said something worth listening to about Bonds and you take it back? Why don’t you bend over, and I’ll show you where you can affix your bloody sock, pal.

  37. redsoxfan7111 permalink
    May 27, 2007 9:57 pm

    i will aways love you for what you did in 2004 and you are right the 2004 team was the best red sox team ever

  38. ata99 permalink
    May 28, 2007 1:55 am

    I happen to listen to AM talk radio in the morning and since Imus has been fired, I’ve been listening to Barnicle on the way into Boston each morning and I was wondering what your opinion of Barnicle is, especially knowing your feelings towards CHB-additionally, as a regular listener, CHB has been pretty neutral if not praise worthy in your direction, so what do you think is leading to the change of heart? I stopped reading his articles in the Globe years ago, but on the radio, when not making an ass out of himself talking about politics or literature, he’s been making a pretty good effort to make his views/comments about you either neutral or complimentary….so what do you think about this sudden change and what do you think is the reason (is the fact that its on radio the only rational basis)?

  39. brendinater permalink
    May 28, 2007 2:41 am

    I have a few questions I’d love to get your insight on:

    In the Yankee game today, Mientkiewicz faked getting hit by a pitch to get on base. Do you view this as doing what it takes to help your team to win or is it just cheating?

    Do you think “number of pitches” is the most overly used metric in baseball? It seems to have increased in use/reliance over the last number of years. What I don’t understand is starting pitchers throw so many pitches in the bullpen before the game and before each inning, and then before the start of each inning, the number of pitches is not really reflected anyway. Plus pitchers can have outings where they rely a lot more on fastballs and so have greater effort. Isn’t the number of pitches thrown sort of an arbitrary statistic?

    Finally, when Yankee fans come on and say “you’re the worst pitcher ever”, doesn’t this just restore your faith in mankind?

  40. okajima37 permalink
    May 28, 2007 9:44 am

    Curt just curious, whats it like pitching to a former teamate (Millar, Damon, Mietkivich). I ask this since tonight you’re pitching against Trot for the 1st time since he joined Cleveland. Best of luck vs. Trot and the Tribe.

  41. May 28, 2007 10:46 am

    I love the Blog Curt. I have always respected you for saying what your thinking. Thats hard to come by nowadays.

  42. jimed4hof permalink
    May 28, 2007 11:35 am

    After several attempts, I was able to quit dipping after 17 years… but not without a lot of help from my Quit Group. I can’t tell you how many 3am chat rooms were filled with guys going through various stages of awful withdrawal… I would have caved without them.

    It has been 636 days since my last dip and I still get a craving (especially watching the Sox) now and again. But, thanks to sites like “killthecan” (and others), you don’t have to go through it alone.

    I encourage anyone who wants to quit to try… again… and again… and again. No matter the reason… your health, your kids, or the cost… Pick a quit date (I chose Aug. 31, my Dad’s birthday… says it’s the best present he’s ever been given) and find a Quit Group. Good luck!

    http://www.killthecan.org/

  43. thewarison permalink
    May 28, 2007 11:59 am

    I am sick and tired of everyone always talking about the 1978 season. Where the Red Sox blew a 14 game division lead to the Yankees and Bucky Dent… yada, yada, yada. With the Red Sox up 12 1/2 games on the Yankees on May 28th, 2007, you know every Yankee fan and Media person is going to keep bringing up this “collapse” and say, “the Yankees did it before, they can do it again.” I don’t usually live in the past, but this one has always got me. First, Red Sox outfielder Jim Rice, who was the MVP that year, went down with an injury. Rice was tearing the league apart. Very much the heart and soul of that team, his injury devastated a team that was built around him. Taking him out of the lineup had more of an impact than anything the Yankees did. Secondly, the Yankees PAST the Red Sox in the last two weeks and it took a HUGE effort by the undermanned Sox to catch them, tie the Yankees and force the infamous one game playoff. And lastly, no current member of the 1978 Yankees is currently on the 2007 Yankee roster. I do, however, count at least eight players (Jeter, A-Rod, Matsui, Mussina, Riveria, Cairo, Giambi and Posada) and the Manager (Torre) from the 2004 ultimate collapse Yankee team. Keep up the good work and best of luck the rest of the season, Curt.

  44. bigmikelewis permalink
    May 28, 2007 12:05 pm

    Good luck and God Bless tonight versus the Indians. That was an awesome sweep of the Rangers.

    Someday I am going to come see you guys in Boston. I live in Oregon, so the only times I have seen you play live is in Seattle. Once in Texas too, but I only lived there for 2 years.

  45. schillingsdivagirl permalink
    May 28, 2007 1:13 pm

    First of all, good luck tonight Curt, if you even look at these posts on your day of pitching. I just want to post that I dislike when some Red Sox fans talk to me and ask “did you see Curt’s last outing?” of course I did! Everyone knows and I tell them, do not even go there or any other player on the team. If you are a real Red Sox fan, you are there for the good times and bad times. Ya we don’t always agree with the decisions made with managing of the team, but don’t be a “fair weather fan!” Go Red Sox and for all you true fans out there, look at what the Sox have done this season! Sincerely the Diva

  46. May 28, 2007 2:14 pm

    You suck Schilling! Go Cardinals!

  47. redsox38 permalink
    May 28, 2007 3:15 pm

    Curt you are amazing! Thanks for answering all these questions. Keep up the good work. :)

  48. redsox2006 permalink
    May 28, 2007 3:45 pm

    Hey Curt,

    First time writer, long time Red Sox fan for about 15 years now. I am 25 years old. I am writing from New Orleans, Louisiana on this beautiful Memorial Day. I listen to WEEI on the internet from my work. They even sent me a shirt. I e-mailed one of the guys at WEEI, and they sent me a shirt. I am a die hard fan. It is weird because people ask me how can you be a Red Sox fan living in New Orleans? I tell them it is the loyalty that attracted me to the Red Sox organization. I just wanted to let you know that you are doing a great job pitching, and I watch every Red Sox games on MLB Extra Innings. Hope to see you guys in the World Series, as I have two free airline tickets waiting to be used for the series.

    Strike ‘em out,
    Chris from New Orleans

  49. bostonblogger permalink
    May 28, 2007 4:05 pm

    Hey Curt, red sox are having a great season so far and I hope you guys can keep it up but how do incidents like the one doug mirabelli started in baltimore effect a team, more particular the clubhouse and moral? Thanks.

  50. ahl0003 permalink
    May 28, 2007 4:23 pm

    It looks like you may well be lined up to face the Rocket next week against New York: any thoughts on that? I know it runs contrary to everything you’ve written or said to this point, but how about — just for us — you call your shot and talk about how you’re going to pummel him? ;-)

  51. gorny540 permalink
    May 28, 2007 7:35 pm

    Curt, great team start to the season thus far, really the last Yankee game was your only start besides opening day which wasn’t truly strong. You’ve looked very impressive and phenomenal tonight(I’m writing this in the 5th) I can’t wait for what the season has in store.

    Question- I know you never want to think of playoffs this early, but it ultimately will likely happen, I want to know if you were to pitch a game one how conditioned do you fell right now, could you possibly throw a game 4 or start a game 5(if it happens), and just basically how well conditioned are you compared to your 2001 and 2004 playoff stints? thanks best of luck

  52. sheehan16 permalink
    May 28, 2007 8:03 pm

    Curt,

    Just saw the piece on NESN about 4 Pete’s Sake, and just wanted to say thanks again for all you do. My wife and I were very touched. It takes a special person to do what you do. If you ever need volunteers for any event you do please feel free to add my email address to the list you have..

    Sincerely,
    Christopher Sheehan
    sheebo16@yahoo.com

  53. marjoriehunter permalink
    May 28, 2007 8:07 pm

    Curt,

    While watching the game tonight I see that you are helping to support a boy who has Ewings Sarcoma. I know all to well about sarcoma as I lost my sister 3 years ago. I commend you for bringing awareness to this rare form of cancer! My family and friends of my sister have created a foundation in the hopes of finding a cure for this disease as well as supporting families who are currently fighting it. The foundations name is The Jennifer Hunter Yates Sarcoma Foundation, Inc. We recently had our 3rd fundraiser and should be presenting Massachusetts General Hospital with a check in the very near future. If you would like to read more about our foundation you can check out our website at http://www.jenniferhunteryatessarcomafoundation.org/ . Again, I commend you for all of the work that you and your family do to raise awareness for all of your very worthwhile causes.

    Go Sox!!!!

    Margie

  54. goredsox07 permalink
    May 28, 2007 8:10 pm

    Curt,
    Congratulations to the great success the team is having this season.
    I appreciate that you are a leader of the great pitching staff you have this year. I coach high school sports; we talk to the athletes about composure. The camera continues to show you dropping F-bomb after F-bomb when you do not get a call, let up a hit etc. I think this is unacceptable and would think this is something you would be aware of. I do not notice this being an issue with other red sox players.

    I Looking forward to your response.

  55. evilempirerules permalink
    May 28, 2007 9:24 pm

    Im wondering,were you shocked that Clueless Joe didnt send anybody up there to bunt on you when you were bleeding?…2004 playoffs.
    I still havent gotten over that choke job,your team was totally dominated then you guys started throwing up and in on our guys and that was it. I dont blame you guys for that,I would’ve done the same thing.I honestly think Clueless Joe should’ve gotten a WS share and a ring from you guys.THX…great blog!

  56. theotherm permalink
    May 28, 2007 9:47 pm

    GREAT game tonight! Way to go Curt!

  57. disturbedfkr permalink
    May 28, 2007 11:03 pm

    Way to go curt . Very nice outing vs. cleveland.Did you get a chance to talk to Trot prior to the game or do you prefer not to talk to an opponent your going to face in the games your pitching.Also how did you feel or what were you thinking when trot came to the plate the first time.I think you purposely left the change-up up in the zone for him to get a hit.Any truth to that lol j/k Again great job keep it up.

  58. jmannin6 permalink
    May 28, 2007 11:05 pm

    Great outing for you tonight. Great weekend for the team (other than the rain…….especially getting completely drenched after the game on Sunday). If he doesn’t do it already, tell Josh to start taking some oils (fish oil, borage oil, evening primrose oil, etc.) for his skin issues.

  59. thedoctorx permalink
    May 28, 2007 11:15 pm

    Curt:

    Quick congratulation on what sounded like a great outing on the radio. Glad to hear Trot receive a warm welcome in Fenway and recognition. Congrats to YOUK! and everyone for an exciting win and all of that!

    Q: Can you discuss the ritual of purposely hitting a batter? I have asked it a few times, but it has been in commentary buried by “UR blud must B supernatural!” and other crap. I understand the “brush back” as you describe above. What I am interested in is “retaliation.” ESPN wonks often criticize Manny for “admiring a home run.” What is he suppose to do? Pitchers pump their fists and point to the sky when they get a guy looking or end a rally.

    As you may know, when A-Rod “elbowed” Dustin there was a lot of predictions that you would “nail” him in your game. Obviously you did not. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

    Suggestion for this blog for people who want autographed balls from you, Big Papi and the rest: other than for people in the military, people who are sick, and all of that, perhaps they should donate $$$ to one of your charities?

    –J.D.

  60. nbarnes permalink
    May 29, 2007 1:12 am

    Q-No kidding. It was all I could do not to throw the remote right through the plasma. Unacceptable. In your little notebook, write 100 times on A-Rod’s page “no fastballs down the middle.” Pettitte threw smarter pitches to Pedroia, for crying out loud.

    A-Thanks for that, I’ll note it.

    I have this image of Curt reading this question and saying, ‘Oh, yeah, that’s right. No thigh-high 88 MPH four seamers to ALEX FRAGGING RODRIGUEZ! THAT’S what we were doing wrong!?!?’

  61. nbarnes permalink
    May 29, 2007 4:04 am

    Oh, and, I love the blog, Curt. It’s amazing to get a shot from the inside like this. I think you’re doing all of baseball fandom a service by opening the doors to how a big-league pitcher thinks, especially in how you post your reactions after starts, good and bad both. I’m looking forward to your post on your start against Cleveland tonight.

    Don’t let the haters get to you.

  62. Hugh Jass permalink
    May 29, 2007 5:52 am

    Curt, you are simply the best. We love you, not only for what you do on the field, but for the fact that you play the game right and you and your wife do so much charitable work and the fact that you do not speak in cliches like so many superstars. Thanks for being an original, Curt.

  63. May 29, 2007 11:02 am

    Wow. Thanks for answering my question.

    As a guy who loves the game, it gives me much better insight into how a pitcher preps for his start.

    BTW – did you leave a comment on my blog about Millar?

    Good luck to you all up there!

    Anthony – The Oriole Post

    http://oriolepost.blogspot.com

  64. podiatron permalink
    May 29, 2007 3:04 pm

    Curt,

    I was born and raised in NJ. Saw you pitch in Philly. I am an avid but not fanatical Yankee fan and a huge Steeler fan. I just wanted to say that I love your fire and grit and honesty. It is also refreshing to hear you get right back on after having a momentary lapse of reason and apologize. The media here is so bipolar when it comes to you. Perhaps they should be medicated. I apologize for the Yankee fans who post thoughtless comments directed towards you they are the minority.
    Interestingly being a foot and ankle surgeon I followed your injury quite closely and while I understand your nerve was sutured up the first time and I commend you for your valiant effort. One question I have for you is; Don’t you find it interesting all the “Anti-Yankee”stuff for sale in Boston? Also what is your opinion of the Yankees Suck” cheer?

    Keep up your good work and best of health to you!

    Doc

  65. May 29, 2007 4:27 pm

    Curt, this question is probably more appropriate in a few weeks but thought I would throw it out there now. With interleague play you get to play the NL west and the Padres again. Do you have any hard feelings towards the Padres because of the bunt that ruined your perfect game (May 26, 2001). Even though that was 6 years ago you couldn’t have forgotten about it. Do you “cowboy up” a little more when you face the Padres?

  66. furtigan permalink
    May 31, 2007 11:52 pm

    Curt:

    This is a repost of an earlier comment/question that got lost in the flood.

    I’m enjoying the blog a lot, and want to say thanks for the best sports-fan experience of my life –the miraculous summer of ‘93. I spent most of the summer in China, and was mailed box scores every week. I agonized through the midsummer swoon, seven thousand miles away, and returned to the US just in time to be in the stands when you nailed down the huge sweep of the Cardinals that turned the corner.

    Anyway, my questions: The sabermetric/results-based/”Moneyball” school of analysis questions a lot of baseball’s recieved wisdom, and has been embraced by a number of front offices. Speaking as a guy whose career has pretty much spanned the change (from Jim Fregosi to Theo Epstein and Bill James … there’s a contrast), I’d love to hear:

    1) What you think of it
    2) What (if anything) other players think of it
    3) To what extent have you seen this type of thinking enter the clubhouse, either in players changing their approach or in managers changing their tectics?

  67. mam1 permalink
    June 2, 2007 7:57 am

    Hi Curt,

    I’ve left this message before and apologize for being redundant, but, this is my first blog experience and for me it’s a work in progress. Anyway, the question is; I’m involved with a Christian radio station in RI called shine 1220 and was wondering if you’d be interested in doing an interview? If so, you can email me at mam1684@aol.com. You can check out the shine website at http://www.shineradio.us/

    God bless,
    Mark

  68. curtisaseeyounexttuesday permalink
    June 2, 2007 9:20 am

    The only thing bad about last nights game was that Proctor didn’t drill that sob in the head. You should give him some of your fake blood Curt! I can’t wait until you get bombed once again today with that 86 mile an hour fastball.

  69. blabbe permalink
    June 3, 2007 6:19 pm

    Curt,

    Q – Just coming back from Phili’s new ballpark, which is amazing, do you think they should build a new Fenway or complete refurbish? or do you feel it should stay as is?

    Thanks, and I love what you are doing with the site.

  70. andyfox1979 permalink
    June 4, 2007 9:33 am

    takashi saito is the best closer in baseball right now. Anyone who disagrees, meet me on the corner of 1st and Main street in thirty minutes.

  71. jrsweny permalink
    June 8, 2007 7:08 am

    I never realized you chew tobacco. Your not as obvious as others. Then after last night when you where the… “STOPPA” I had to watch the locker room interview and I’m like oh ya he’s got chew in. Bad habit! Good Game.

    John

  72. redsoxfan permalink
    June 25, 2007 5:42 pm

    What are all the pitches that you will throw during a game?

  73. April 23, 2008 3:31 pm

    in response to the quit dipping question — if you’re looking to quit there’s some great information at KillTheCan.org – http://www.killthecan.org/

    additionally, there’s a quitter’s community located at http://forum.killthecan.org/ where you can get all the support that you need.

    all are welcome!

    chewie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 638 other followers

