Skip to content

Millar answers…

March 23, 2007

Well I must say that Curt is right on with the curve ball talk.I have been ragging on his curve ball for a few years and today he called my bluff.

1st ab he shook 3 times and I had a feeling he was shaking to the curve ball but still didnt have the balls to sit 1st pitch curve ball on Schilling. Then, I did call time out, telling Tek “What the hell is Schill doing shaking to the curve ball?”, and bam! sure enough here came this hanging curve ball (Curt: I beg to differ, the first one wasn’t hanging) I watched for strike 1, and couldnt pull the trigger. Then schill came back with another (Curt: which I did hang) whiched I pulled foul (Curt: into the vendor selling lemonade, which for anyone sitting along the 3rd base dugout knows is no surprise, Kevin hooking a pitch foul) and yes he threw the 3rd one in a row which I layed off.

I then had a feeling he was going to throw all curve balls to me, as pedro martinez did to me the 1st time I faced him last year and i struck out on 4 in a row. But Schill caught me guessing and struck me out with a heater in.

So all the trash talking I did to him and all the text messages I ragged him with, he got me and I couldnt look at him after the AB, even though i wanted to laugh

Kevin (Curt: I can hook a fastball better than anyone but Sheffield) Millar

85 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2007 9:41 pm

    beyond special

  2. strike3 permalink
    March 23, 2007 9:44 pm

    Nice post (to the both of you). I hope you keep keep the window open to the lighter side of being a baseball player.

  3. bopsox permalink
    March 23, 2007 9:52 pm

    Awesome.

  4. March 23, 2007 9:58 pm

    Absolutely Classic Schill er I mean Millar! aside from following your team with passion…fans love to read about the players on real life and reading WHAT the players post is SO much better!!!

    We Live For THIS!!!!!!!!!!!

    thanks Ya!

    Tex

  5. rpalmer63 permalink
    March 23, 2007 10:03 pm

    I sure do miss watching you jack hangers way the heck out… if only they were about a mile to the right. Fun stuff. Is this going to be the blogging revolution of athletes or something?

  6. bloodyp permalink
    March 23, 2007 10:18 pm

    Cowboy up!!!

  7. cpurtz permalink
    March 23, 2007 10:23 pm

    Curt,

    This information is what we as Sox fans love to read about. We all love Millar and its awesome to hear about the dialogue between Jason and Kevin. This is the stuff we cannot read in the Globe. We want the personal battles/friendships between star athletes. I love Millar and it’s awesome he is willing to continuously contribute to the sox nation despite playing for an AL East foe. If anything can be said to help your blog garner more and more supporters, continue to let us in on these matchups. I, along with others, are interested in the personal battles with opponents. I would love to hear what was going through Johnathon’s mind when he struck out Ryan Howard the other day. Those are the things we can’t read in the Globe or see on ESPN. I know you are a smart guy and realize that monopolizing the red sox coverage in relation to individual insight will only help your site grow bigger. I love the sox as much as anything in the world and would love to hear your thoughts on locker room talk which is afformentioned in the papers. Keep up the great work and just know we support you as our ace. Hopefully we have multiple aces on this staff and your feelings on the correlation between SP staffs correlates with another ring on your finger. I’d love to hear back from you so if you get a free moment please email me back so I can brag to my friends about getting an email from Curt. Your word means a lot. I know you don’t want to talk contracts until the offseason but seriously Curt, what does a millionaire do with 17 mil that he can’t with 15?

  8. tommy2 permalink
    March 23, 2007 10:40 pm

    Hey Curt. I was fortunate enough make it to the game today, you looked solid. I was impressed how you got a lot of guys to swing into outs early in the count – very efficient. I could have swore that first pitch to Millar was a changeup, judging solely by the way he froze. It was hard for me to tell from left field, I guess.

    Anyways, no questions, I just love the blog.

  9. jgibson24 permalink
    March 23, 2007 10:46 pm

    Hello Curt,

    Love the blog. I have a question about the MLBPA. It’s been something like 13 years since the last work stoppage. Isn’t it time for the MLBPA to show a little compassion and forgive guys like Kevin Millar and Jamie Walker and let them join? Or was it a cardinal sin of such magnitude that forgiveness should not be an option?

    Thanks,

    JG

  10. March 23, 2007 10:50 pm

    That is too funny.

  11. illd permalink
    March 23, 2007 11:00 pm

    Great Start,you had me glued to the radio.Still hurt ya never answered my question about how relic cards get made but alas life goes on.Keep it up Curt!

  12. rsummr permalink
    March 23, 2007 11:09 pm

    A lot of us fans still miss ya Kev.

  13. soxsweepagain permalink
    March 23, 2007 11:41 pm

    Millar!

    My favorite ex-Sox. Awesome to see the repartee guys.

    Keep it going! It’s refreshing.

    Kevin, I’ll always love the way you seemed to drive the Sox in Game Four to the morale part of the victory. I don’t think we would have beaten the Yankees without that (nevermind you drawing that walk off Rivera for “Speedy” to come in for the Steal of the Century).

  14. zebelkinton permalink
    March 23, 2007 11:45 pm

    THAT IS AWESOME AND SO MUCH FUN READING!!!

  15. zebelkinton permalink
    March 23, 2007 11:52 pm

    Sorry for the CAPS and Kevin I know you read this!!! So post up!!

  16. gobosox04 permalink
    March 23, 2007 11:57 pm

    This is fantastic! Content like this is priceless and it brings a whole new level to the game for us, the fans. Curt, thanks so much for this new interactive medium. I really believe that the game will be furthered by this site and ones like it in the future. You are a pioneer.

  17. March 24, 2007 12:27 am

    So awesome. Thanks for posting this.

  18. acefox1 permalink
    March 24, 2007 12:34 am

    (((Tongue on cheek here)))

    Wow Curt, thanks for being brave enough to post Kevin’s comments so we could get the true story of what happened today. LOL Good thing Kev never embellishes or exaggerates. :)

    Seriously, that exchange was one of the coolest and funniest things I’ve seen in a long time. Look out Kev, next time Curt’s gonna start you off with the fastball in. LOL

    It would have been great to hear from just about anybody Curt faced, but it was all the funnier for us since we still remember Millah cutting-up from 2003-2005 like it was yesterday.

    Thanks again. You both brought this ST game to us in a way that was far more interesting, entertaining and fun than a lot of regular season games.

    Millar, if you read this, thanks for drawing that walk off Rivera that set-up Dave Roberts’ steal. I’m not sure if you get enough credit for your part in the turning of the tide in the 9th inning of Game 4 of the ALCS. Sincerely… Thank you!!

    There, now that that’s out of the way, next time Curt are you going to use the changeup to make Kevin look silly? Or does he not need any help from you to do that? j/k

    Thanks guys!

    Deane

  19. acefox1 permalink
    March 24, 2007 12:59 am

    I still likeed your answer regarding Millar the other day. I think you should get Wake to teach you the knuckleball and then do what you said; throw him all knucklers next time.

    Whatever the result is, in Spring Training it would be freaking hilarious. Once the season starts though, keep dishing out the curves. (As long as it doesn’t result in a Jason Kendall/Vuk-type incident. LOL)

    My other question is, does Millar have to pay to replace the lemonade he spilled when he hooked that ball into the vendor? Or does he have to sell the lemonade next time and let the vendor hit? :) Inquiring minds want to know…

    Comic Book guy sez:
    “BEST… BLOG… EVER!”

    Goodnight and thank you!

    Deane

  20. jimmayvv permalink
    March 24, 2007 1:17 am

    Hey Curt.

    I just wanted to join the 10 million or so ‘good’ and ‘sane’ Red Sox fans for the greatest 3 years I can remember. Being a fellow member of the human race all I can do is thank you for your openness, honesty, and selflessness for the past 3 years. I can completely understand every point you are making in terms of the Union in regards to your contract and actually appreciate your not being angry at the organization at their stance regarding your contract situation in 2008.

    I can only wonder why some people would criticize your asking for $13 million but I can only wonder how people acting that way might affect your willingness to play in Boston. If it makes you feel any better in July I am moving to the Bay area and will spread the love for Sox nation! Perhaps in ’08 you could pitch in the Bay area for you are one of the few people I would enjoy financing the people who sign your paychecks! Much appreciation and let’s get another title!

  21. poltroop permalink
    March 24, 2007 1:28 am

    Kevin, wouldn’t it be great if you came back to Beantown?

    Do-it!

  22. yakdude01 permalink
    March 24, 2007 1:46 am

    Excellent post Curt/Kevin!

    I think it’s great that most if not all of the 2004 team keeps in touch and rags on each other. Especially Kevin Millar! Mr. Cowboy Up.

    I’ve worked a few “special” places with people, and those people have become long term friends of course because of that place and who they are. Most of us keep in touch the same way, email, IM, text messaging. Almost always there is some kind of ragging going on.

    Thanks for taking the time with the blog!

  23. tomafield permalink
    March 24, 2007 2:41 am

    Perfect.

    No other medium — TV, radio, newspapers — could’ve or would’ve accommodated an exchange like this. It’s informative and just plain fun to see your anatomy of an at-bat — especially w/color commentary.

    Thanks for chiming in, Kevin. And, yeah, we miss you at Fenway. You were a huge part of what Pedro started, which is making Sox games *fun*. Baseball was such a dour, serious affair in Boston before the arrival of Pedro, Damon, you. ..

    Two things I’ll always remember you for: Rally Karaoke Guy & running around before 2004 ALCS Game 4, saying “Don’t let us win tonight!”

    best,

    Tom

  24. papasote permalink
    March 24, 2007 3:40 am

    Millar- I hate whiskey, but every time I’m given a shot of Jack or Crown it’s dedicated to you and the rest of the Idiots. I’d shoot turpentine if I thought it would show you all the honor due the guys who sit in your particular section of my pantheon. 2004 wouldn’t have happened without you, and I’m still thrilled to have been able to witness it. Thank you for making it a reality.

  25. March 24, 2007 3:40 am

    Love this dialog, Curt, and the window into the mental game that’s happening on the field.

    Please give us “more like this”.

  26. skisox24 permalink
    March 24, 2007 5:29 am

    This is inside baseball at its best. How refreshing, I’m cancelling my Boston Globe subscription today.

    Red Sox nation wishes you the best, Kevin, except for 19 particular games.

  27. conig25 permalink
    March 24, 2007 5:53 am

    Kev,

    There are a lot of chemicals in haircoloring. Be cool you’ll want to pass your tests this year. Really good to hear from ya.

  28. soxdc permalink
    March 24, 2007 6:07 am

    Curt, one question regarding your move from Arizona to Boston…

    After the success you enjoyed in Arizona pitching alongside another top-notch pitcher in Randy Johnson, how important was the presence of Pedro Martinez in regards to considering Boston as a potential destination?

    If Pedro had not been on the roster (and his spot had been occupied by an average MLB pitcher), would you have seriously considered Boston?

  29. March 24, 2007 6:30 am

    Fantastic reply to Schills earlier comments! Love the banter between you both, excellent!
    You guys seemed to have such a great time in 2004, I had the best time watching too. I was lucky enough to come to Boston in 04 with my husband and see the Sox play (we live in England). We were even lucky enough to meet Mr Millar one rainy Monday afternoon in the Prudential centre.
    I love this blog Schill, it’s excellent. As other people have commented, you get to say what YOU want here and no-one can stop you.
    Keep it up and good luck for this season!

  30. acemaker permalink
    March 24, 2007 6:49 am

    Hi Curt, I just wanted to say keep up the great work and I am glad to see someone in sports has started to blog. I know this has taken off quite well for you and I think it is great for the fans.

    I too have a wordpress blog and in my business it has helped my clients get more exposure.

    I have been a Red Sox fan all my life dating back to when another Schilling started playing for the Sox.

    I admire your work with ALS as I had an aunt who passed away with this disease.

    Congrats on a great game yesterday and I am sure this will be another great year in Red Sox Nation.

  31. dadhadals permalink
    March 24, 2007 7:13 am

    beautiful!!!!!

    I’m still chuckling

  32. mainefan permalink
    March 24, 2007 7:27 am

    I am just lovin’ this! I hope to see more of this interaction during the season! Love ya, Kevin!

  33. March 24, 2007 7:35 am

    Millar rules! Damn, I wish he was still trolling around the Sox clubhouse …

  34. March 24, 2007 7:43 am

    Hah ha that was awesome. Thanks for posting that! This is why this site rules.

    Sup, Milaaaaahhhhhhh!!

  35. March 24, 2007 7:45 am

    Kevin, really appreciating the post. I knew you wouldn’t disappoint!

    Thanks for passing it along, Curt.

    Now we just need to get Damon making guest appearances here, too. Man, what an epic blog this could turn out to be.

  36. chillyme permalink
    March 24, 2007 7:51 am

    Ok, I’m hooked. Thanks for bringing Sox Nation to a whole new level. Truely appreciate your time and efforts here.

  37. March 24, 2007 8:20 am

    “I know you don’t want to talk contracts until the offseason but seriously Curt, what does a millionaire do with 17 mil that he can’t with 15?”

    I think he’s made it pretty clear that it’s not about dollar figures at this point (and I don’t think either the Sox or Curt have mentioned any number besides the $13 mil he’s currently making), but just not wanting to deal with contract negotiations once the season starts. Do we have to keep asking the same questions over and over again? :-P

  38. doats permalink
    March 24, 2007 8:47 am

    Love the guest columnist!

  39. mdwstrslvr permalink
    March 24, 2007 8:48 am

    Awesome – one of my forever favorites – Millar – I can hear him speaking those words, with a smile on his face.

    I realize that baseball is your job, but I tend to believe it is also a way of life, you live it and breathe it. Teammates come and go … ** so how hard is it to pitch against those FOREVER AWESEOM 2004 WS teammates who play elsewhere? ** I realize the aspect of:

    1. I am out here to do my job and pitch well – to get a win for my team
    (which is wicked important, don’t get me wrong)
    2. It’s hard – but you do what you have to do – doesn’t mean you cannot
    remain friendly with those that you have shared a momentus occasion
    with, ie: 2004 WS

    Does it take awhile to get used to seeing those familiar faces, in another uniform?

  40. bosstown123 permalink
    March 24, 2007 9:19 am

    Mr. Schilling,

    You better be careful what you throw to Millar; we all know what he gave Mr. Francona for his birthday last year. I’m not sure if this is the place to ask you a question, however, I’m going to take a chance and post it here.

    I’m from Somerset, MA (home of the great Jerry Remy and Greg Gangne…lol) and i was reading in the local spectator about this website that has a petition to get you a new contract. I’ll post the site below, but i was wondering what you thought the impact fans may have in the “front office” of any baseball team in any situation for a case like this?

    The website: http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/signcurtnow/

  41. deadhead2k5 permalink
    March 24, 2007 9:20 am

    “Born in the USA” will never be the same!

    We miss you Kevin!

  42. jstorerj permalink
    March 24, 2007 9:32 am

    great blog curt! thanks for sharing the inside story on the game. brings us a little further from “spectator” to “participant”… awesome!

  43. March 24, 2007 9:33 am

    Millar pulls pitches down the third base line like it’s his job. :)

  44. uckphay permalink
    March 24, 2007 9:35 am

    Curt–

    Two things.

    First, what’s this in the Globe about you “apologizing” to Francona? Another misquote, I assume.

    Second, I saw your SI appreciation for Silva. You are so right. I especially liked this time that he used a 60s-era picture of blacks being water-cannoned to illustrate how the media treats players. I’m sure you would agree that the two situations are analogous, no?

  45. canadancaa permalink
    March 24, 2007 9:39 am

    I liked the Curt inserted comments. Made a little comedy routine out of it.
    At least Millar came out with it and admitted to the whole thing and he thought it was funny. Wonder if this will keep him quiet for a while.

  46. ace1307 permalink
    March 24, 2007 9:56 am

    This is my first time reading this blog after seeing it talked about in Rob Neyer’s blog on ESPN and seeing the SI article you did. I dont know if you hear this often or not, but this is beyond special what you do here. You are not just being open, you are being an innovator.

    I know that in professional sports, athletes need to be careful about what they say. The media twists things out of porportion and the “so called” fans buy into it. So, for you to post about what you think and to be completely honest is truly something special. Especially for me, where I am a huge Red Sox fan, and a student of the game, and though I dont always have time to learn, I try to learn as much as possible. And this blog for me is a great way to learn, from someone who loves the game and knows it well.

    That is all I say, because I dont want to be like some people and blow smoke about how great this is, because I know myself it just becomes to much a**-kissing.

    My first (of hopefully many) questions for you is, can you go into as much detail as possible (and pardon me if it has been asked of you before) about pitching in game 6 of the 2004 ALCS with the injury you had? Many people consider that to be one of the best pitching performances of all time, and I’d like to hear your take on it and what you thought, felt and did to adjust to have the performance you did in that game? thanks in advance if you answer this question (if you dont I understand).

  47. mediarojas45 permalink
    March 24, 2007 9:58 am

    this is great guys!

  48. omnislash16 permalink
    March 24, 2007 10:33 am

    Curt,
    Good post. I’m new to your blog but was turned on to it by one of my favorite columnists, Bill Simmons, who highly recommended it. Just wanted to say I thoroughly enjoy reading. Keep up the good work….Just wondering, have you had Dice-K try to teach you the gyro-ball yet? :)

  49. soxjox permalink
    March 24, 2007 10:37 am

    hey, how did Pinero look from your vantage point. seems he threw a good inning. where they going to use him now that you squeeled on Paps. ;)

  50. danindelray permalink
    March 24, 2007 10:47 am

    I’ve never understood why in Spring Training players don’t give in and just go ahead and laugh. I guess the need to keep the game face on is too strong – you can joke before the game, like when Tito called Kevin “cupcake” but not during. I was at the Fort Lauderdale game when Tavarez made a play that should have had everyone laughing at him. Ball was chopped into the ground, and it looks like it may carry over the pitcher’s mound, so instead of backing up and watching the ball, Julian turned his back on the plate and ran toward second, like a wideout looking for the bomb over his shoulder. Only the ball didn’t carry as far, and now Julian is beyond the mound, can’t see the ball, doesn’t know where it is, so what does any player do? Puts his glove on his head to protect himself, meanwhile the ball is falling harmlessly in front of the second baseman. :0)

    I guess ST is meant for moments like that, and the big battle between Curt and Kevin.

  51. cactusjack1966 permalink
    March 24, 2007 11:03 am

    Nice to see that Millah still has that great sense of humor that made me always enjoy his stay in the nation. Great site with lots of insight . Screw the written and televison media. They are all media whores, especially the Big Show morons. Stopped listening for good when they said Dice-k wasn’t coming here cuz Boras wanted to break the system for bringin Japanese ballplayer. Keep up the good job Curt.

  52. sully07 permalink
    March 24, 2007 11:24 am

    Classic stuff there. Gotta love the give and take hopefully the rest of the leauge catches on and millar see’s nothing but curve’s all year. just kidding best of luck too you kevin

  53. manny4mvp permalink
    March 24, 2007 11:32 am

    I enjoy this site even more every time I log on. Kevin you always were a “Jack” of all trades.

    How bout showing Kevin some deserved love on Schill’s blog? What is you favorite Kevin moment or Story?

    Mine was the story on the dirt dogs site in 05 when he was struggling for homers. The story goes he promised a waitress during lunch that he would hit her a homer and of course Kevin “cowboyed up” and delivered on the promise.

  54. thankusox04 permalink
    March 24, 2007 11:35 am

    Millahhhhhhh!!! You see, THAT’S why we love this guy. When he retires he needs to go to NESN and replace Orsillo. Can you imagine him and Remy calling games? All of RSN would need Depends for sure.

  55. oriolemagic permalink
    March 24, 2007 11:45 am

    From the Oriole perspective, I must say that it’s nice to see this kind of honesty from Millar. For the few years that he’s been here in Baltimore I think no one would describe him as anything other than open, honest, and forthright.

    I think it’s cool that he’s willing to admit that he couldn’t catch up with the curve. Especially after all the trash talk.

    Millar is easily the best clubhouse guy we’ve got in Baltimore. I still can’t figure out why Boston let him go.

  56. cursedtofirst permalink
    March 24, 2007 11:47 am

    Kevin, I’ll never forget your “Don’t Let Us Win Tonight” speech–nor will I forget your last game with the Sox in 2005, the playoff game we lost to the White Sox at Fenway, how you sat in the dugout with tears in your eyes. It always seemed to me that you loved the Boston Red Sox the way the fans did, and having you on the team was like having a fan on the field. Millar, you’re always welcome in our city, as I’m sure you know. I personally would buy you a beer if I ever saw you. So here’s a virtual raise of a glass for the time being. :)

    Fantastic post, guys. This is the kind of stuff that will get us Sox fans hooked on this blog very quickly (as if we weren’t already). Keep it up, Curt, both the K’s and the posts!

  57. natei33 permalink
    March 24, 2007 12:51 pm

    I love the camraderie between former teammates! Both this post and Schilling’s description of the AB were priceless. Love to see that you guys can still mess with each other.

  58. tapadance permalink
    March 24, 2007 1:48 pm

    Dude!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hearing from Kevin just rocked. What a great guy, he became a star player based on his love of the game and his personality. That’s while we will always love you.

    Kevin, how about starting your own baseball blog. I bet you would get a lot more readers than Curt, and it would give you something else to trash talk him about.

    You could tell guys at first base that your writing a blog, and you will talk about them if they steal second. LOL

  59. kevinfenwayblogger permalink
    March 24, 2007 2:23 pm

    Curt/Kevin

    This is a bit redundant to previous posts, but this inside look of what happens on the field is tremendous. With friends whether they are Yanks fans, Red Sox fans or just friends period, pulling each other’s leg is one of my favorite things to do. Hearing the s&*@ you where each going through on the field is a riot to know! Keep up the great “blogging”!

    Kevin

  60. March 24, 2007 3:13 pm

    If baseball fields were built 30 feet to the Left, Kevin Millar would be Hank Aaron.

  61. March 24, 2007 6:13 pm

    This is the most awesome blog. Thanks Kev, for letting us all know your point of view. We miss you so much. You made the Sox fun to watch again after a long drought. I hope Curt lets you blog some more. Or maybe you could start your own blog? Hint hint!

    This is what makes me a 3rd generation and lifelong Sox fan. You guys rule.

  62. unexpectedjourney permalink
    March 24, 2007 6:14 pm

    Mr. Millar, maybe you can get a job after baseball as the Assistant Traveling Secretary for the Sox. Your presence back in the Nation would be welcome. Or maybe as a Minor League Coach (for Morale and Humor). I hear Mr. Kaplan may need a bench coach. Thank you Mr. Schilling for providing us with this forum.

  63. tcull33 permalink
    March 24, 2007 9:22 pm

    Hey Guys,

    Honestly can’t explain how cool this is. Thanks for doing it, good to hear from you Millar. You guys truly understand what Red Sox fans want from their players and thats what makes me so happy about being a fan. Keep it up! We love it!

    Tim C

  64. jeterslacky permalink
    March 25, 2007 9:34 am

    The Shcill is gone! It’s time to move the old man to the bull-pen, The sox lie about his fastball too, its 88 on the real gun, but they lie and say its more when they post it for Shcills friends and family

  65. fredsox permalink
    March 25, 2007 1:00 pm

    Mr. Millars comment gives credence that major league baseball is still a little boys game played inside of mens bodies. I was born and raised in Manhattan, and have been a Red Sox fan since the 1975 Sox were in that 4 team race for the pennant. None of you could know how much s**t I’ve put up with being a Sox fan in the heart of Yankee land.

    Thank you Kevin Millar for giving me that storied 2004 year. You will never be forgotten along with the rest of that amazing team. When you come to LA the beer’s on me at Sonny McLean’s. You will be welcomed there as a conquering hero by ALL the members of the Red Sox nation west.

  66. March 25, 2007 2:37 pm

    Thanks Kevin and Schill for that post. That was classic. I always liked Millar and even though his numbers dipped in his last season, he deserved more credit for helping us in 2004 and less of the negativity from the press and certain websites that he got in 05.

    Good luck to you, Kevin and thanks for everything you gave us.

  67. jviner4 permalink
    March 25, 2007 6:53 pm

    Yeah, thanks for the post ! As Strike3 said above it is nice to hear the lighter side of life.

  68. vermonster permalink
    March 26, 2007 7:45 am

    Millar almost ran me over with his Harley once… you should have buzzed him. Do miss that guy, and everyone from ’04 of course.

  69. March 26, 2007 8:12 am

    It’s bits & pieces like this that makes this blog a real gem! It’s awesome to get a peek into the actual personalties of the players we watch, to see the real interactions & feel like we’re in on the joke. Thanks so much for sharing this with us! =)

  70. March 26, 2007 8:21 am

    Classic Millar! We sox fans miss you Kev!

  71. March 26, 2007 8:30 am

    Ha…we miss you Millah!

  72. redsoxlady permalink
    March 26, 2007 9:45 am

    Great to hear from you Kevin. This was a fun read. We do still miss you. This really is stuff you don’t read in the Herald. Good Luck to you.

  73. costaricanvaritek permalink
    March 26, 2007 6:12 pm

    I have to agree with everyone here, this could be the start of a revolution.Imagine a world where athletes were thought of as human again.Instead of being an observer looking into a fishbowl ,maybe we could finally eliminate the need to read bad articles written by resentful and bitter sportswriters.And that goes for Dirt Dogs too, I have to agree thatI’m tired of reading negative headlines conjured up by people so lazy that you have to wait till Monday to hear about Friday nights game.I think the Red Sox brass should pony up and create a real website where we could get all of our information and listen to players feelings on topics rather than some shmucks twisted opinion. This world needs more people like Big Schill and Kentucky Fried Kevin.Now if only we could get Trot to stop by and say hi so we could let him know just how much he is missed.Those weren’t raindrops running down our faces buddy on that last game at Fenway.Speaking of which, where the heck was everybody that day?

  74. soxrex permalink
    March 27, 2007 12:11 am

    This beats reading the journalists any day of the week. You guys may not look at this as replacing the sports pages, but it darned near does for me. Give me a box score and a couple of good guys (whatever team) blogging it up.
    Oh, and Kevin, you are still deep in the RSN reliquary of heart and soul. Nothing can change that, you must know it.

  75. jpow22 permalink
    March 27, 2007 9:19 am

    When’s Manny posting? :D

  76. sdl1 permalink
    March 28, 2007 11:46 pm

    Kev…

    Geat to hear from you. You never fail to make us smile, even tho you’re now about a 8 hour drive S of Fenway now.

    Oriolemagic…understatement about Kev..he’s the perfect guy to have in a clubhouse

  77. btmore permalink
    March 29, 2007 12:24 am

    April 25, 26… can’t wait to see you both!

    — Sox fan in Baltimore

  78. March 29, 2007 4:14 pm

    If Kevin could hit a curveball(even when he knows it’s coming) he’d still be in Boston. I always liked him but he should start looking for coaching opportunities in the Boston organization.

  79. rdsxfn4lf permalink
    April 3, 2007 5:20 pm

    Kevin – I hope you’ll get a chance to read this. First of all one of your friends happens to be my cousin Chris D. Second my son Chris is your biggest fan and you sent him an autograph picture through Chris. I am hoping to either get to Baltimore or get to Fenway one way or another he wants to meet you.

  80. kouffaxxk32 permalink
    April 4, 2007 4:31 pm

    man i wanna have millar back
    he s the best

  81. thedoctorx permalink
    April 13, 2007 1:51 am

    Late reply to Kevin Millar, but thanks for the memories. I had the opportunity to watch your wonderful tribute to Dave Roberts during his induction in the Red Sox Hall of Fame when I was “home” in New England. Great sense of humor! This is why Sox fans will always love you and other no matter what team you play on.

    Thanks for your part in making 2004 a great season for Sox fans . . . and a nightmare for fans from a certain city.

    Best wishes, unless you are playing the Red Sox :D

    –J.D.

  82. bigmikelewis permalink
    April 27, 2007 6:04 pm

    Man! I miss Kevin!!!!

    Do this again Schill.

  83. steve82 permalink
    November 7, 2007 9:05 am

    Curt,

    I’m happy to hear that you’ll be staying on with the Sox. There is no doubt that you’ll continue to contribute on the field but even more important are the contributions that you and your family make off the field. I’m glad they you’ll be sticking around.

  84. mattlenny permalink
    December 24, 2007 11:50 am

    Curt (Kevin),

    Very funny. Again and again I will say, “good stuff!!!” Although this post calls for a round of Jack!!!

    Matt

  85. Neil permalink
    March 3, 2009 8:00 pm

    Curt,

    This is one of your best columns-great stuff with Cowboy Up Kevin.

    Kevin, you su*k and you’re probably the best thing that ever happened to baseball in Boston. Red Sox Nation loves you man..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 639 other followers

